Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

University of Phoenix

2.8
398 Reviews
5 84 
4 99 
3 46 
2 46 
1 123 
0 0 

 

University of Phoenix Reviews:

This MIS degree is worth it ~

Master of Information Systems - June 25, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my Masters in Information Systems degree in May of 2015, and it was very much worth every effort. I have been with my current company for approximately six years before I completed my masters degree, and two months prior to graduating, I was promoted to Director of Information Technology. Overall, I have 15 years of experience in the IT field and a couple of certifications that helps to boost my net worth. Nonetheless, I had the opportunity to attend the University of Pennsylvania, Pace University, and NYU, but I chose the University of Phoenix based upon their information systems curriculum.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

MIS program

Master of Information Systems - March 31, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I understand everyone is not happy with their experience with the University of Phoenix. But I have never had any bad experience with financial aid and the military paid for my education. I took courses at National University, SDSU, and Maryland. But this program is almost identical and the only difference is the exams. When I put Masters degree on my resume, I started getting calls from IT recruiters. But the IT field is structured towards certifications and experience. In this field, you need education,certifications, and real world experience. So no matter what school you attend,please do not assume it will get you the job. A degree will only get you a interview, and the rest is on you. I finished my Masters of Information Systems on March 23, 2015 and I'am proud to be a Phoenix!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Good overall experience

Master of Information Systems - September 10, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started at UoP after having 25 years in IT and learning that it would be difficult to find a job without a degree. I found the experience very difficult at times, however there were some classes that were not very difficult - because of my many years of experience. For those who have negative comments, it appears they did not have a good experience and I attribute the majority of the negative comments to financial challenges - generally based on dropping a class and then still having to pay for it. It takes a very strong personal commitment to attend an online university and unless you are willing to put in the many long and late hours, this is not for everyone.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

My degree has served me well

Master of Information Systems - November 16, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated in 2007 from the UoP on-line with a MIS degree. For me, results are what matter the most and I am happy to say that my degree has served me well. When I first started the program I was earning 60k, then after many promotions and now starting my own IT company over a year ago, I am happy to say that I have more than tripled my income. I mention this because I remember wondering if the ROI was there when I was looking into it, I can tell you now that it is. Even though I was a programmer during the time and well versed in IT, the courses were tough and the instructors were very good! The degree expanded my knowledge of IT (and related areas) to the point that I quickly moved into upper management. Taking the time to earn the degree was well worth it for me and I highly recommend it. My advice to new students... Be prepared to work very hard.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

It is worth it

Master of Information Systems - February 27, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my Masters in Information Systems degree in 2013, and it has provided for me with an challeging, yet excellent academic experience. The courses are relevant and are taught by individuals that are fully functional in the particular fields.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Don't go looking for a challenge

Master of Information Systems - April 8, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The classes do not require you dig deep and learn. It is a series of reading assignments and surface level papers. The only programming class I had the professor did not bother to post most days. It was obvious he had another job and the UofP was not his main, second, or third concern.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with University of Phoenix in any way.