Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Amberton University

  • Ranking: #7
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: SACS - Southern Association of Colleges and Schools

4.4
23 Reviews
5 14 
4 8 
3 0 
2 1 
1 0 
0 0 

Amberton University Reviews:

It is all worth it!

MBA-Management - August 26, 2018
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This institution offers distance learning and brick-and-mortar classes, and every single distance learning class is customized to enhance working students to learn about the required courses/topics. All the graduate courses' professors have many years of working experiences and all have PhD degrees from accredited institutions. There are enough online discussions, writing assignments and graduate projects to finish within 10 weeks per semester/session. At the end of each session/semester, most of the students feel elated and content to have learned copious and ample information simply by researching and writing APA-format papers. The university enforces strong Christian ethics, and also it incites students to improve in APA writing. The website for assignment submission is user-friendly and accessible. I have never encountered any issues with the administration office, and the staff members are supportive and helpful. Overall, this university is great for commuting/working students because if you opt for distance learning, you can complete the entire degree online without the need to step into the institution for residency. It worked for me, and it can work for you too.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

MBA in Project Management

Master of Business Administration - Project Management - November 29, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great University! It was challenging to start my Masters in the United States because the education system is totally different back with my home country (Afghanistan) but Amberton gave me opportunity to challenge myself. The education methodology is the same as other US institutions, but it takes most of your daily hours. It is not easy to get high scores because you have to read a lot, write course papers, take quizzes and tests, and give presentations on your course project. This is my last semester at Amberton and looking for a Phd degree in construction project management

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Amberton University Excellent Choice

MBA - Strategic Leadership - November 2, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Amberton University is an excellent academic institution. The cost to obtain a Masters degree is an amazing value. The course material is equal to other major institutions in the country. I strongly recommend Amberton University for any degree you are seeking.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Was indeed worth it

MBA - Strategic Leadership - October 10, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I earned an MBA from Amberton about six years ago. The curriculum is about the same as other institutions. It is definitely more self-paced than some traditional programs so you MUST have the discipline to dedicate time to your studies without a formal setting. Lot's of reading, lots of writing, but indeed it was well worth the money spent. I have never second guessed the decision to attend this program.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Extremely Poor Experience with Liberty University

BBA - IT - May 16, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a current Liberty University online student in a Masters Degree program. I have one last class to complete which is an internship. The individual courses have been informative and helpful. The intensives were definitely a unique experience. The communication within the school is horrible. When I needed to contact a specific department, I was never allowed to speak to anyone. The only people you can speak with are the academic advisors and they do not have the authority to answer questions. When scheduling the intensives (you travel to Virginia to take week long classes) I needed basic information regarding parking for a rental car, obtaining a parking pass, local hotels, etc. The academic advisors did not know how to obtain a simple parking permit and would not provide me a phone number to speak with anyone. I finally found the Liberty University Police Department phone number through an intern search and obtained what I needed. The internship department refuses to speak with anyone on the phone, the advisors are told to tell you they have no phones. However, one advisor let it slip that I can email them and request a phone call. They do have phones, but the advisors are not allowed to give out the phone number. I sent the requests on three separate occasions and never received a phone call. It takes days to get responses via email. Professors do not return phone calls either, despite providing their phone numbers to the students. I have one class left and it looks like they are going to refuse to let me complete it due to an ego issue between their internship staff and a local agency who is willing to let me complete the internship at their agency. I was told if the internship department does not allow me to complete the class, I will lose my tuition money for the class. This is despite my completion of all the student requirements. Liberty does not work with students, despite what they promise you when you enroll. Do not believe them when they tell you what a great experience it is. The advisors call you constantly, until tuition is paid or there is a problem. The only reason I am still with Liberty is because I do not have the funds to start over at another University. Yes, I did contact other Universities to explore my options. Do not attend this school, find another one!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 43 people found the following review helpful

Best Affordable Professional University

MS Family Studies - September 27, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I can not say anything negative about Amberton University. I received my Masters of Science in Family Studies with pride. The school is affordable compared to many other schools, it has professional educators and the experience was just amazing. Like all schools, it was not a walk in the park but it was definitely a walk worth taking. I love the fact that it's a Christian school based. I am very proud to have obtained my MS at Amberton University and will recommend them to everyone I know.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Best Value, no easy ride.

MS Managerial Science - March 3, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from a top university in Florida, Florida Tech, where I also took some graduate courses, over 10 years ago. I picked Amberton because I was looking for an affordable and fully accredited university that would allow me to get a Masters Degree, while working full-time. This is my third semester at Amberton University, through Distance Learning, and I found it more challenging and time demanding than I ever anticipated. The lack of verbal skills does affect the intensity of the program since extensive and intensive reading and writing assignments are routine. I am very pleased with the program, and I will stay enrolled by taking only one course per semester, in the future. BEWARE, even one class and a full time job would keep you very, very busy. Last semester, I took 2 classes and it was madness; I had time for nothing. Overall, Amberton University is the best value you can get: the best education (very demanding) for the best price (it is the most I can afford without incurring to debt).

Was this review helpful?

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Great University, Challenging Workload

Master of Business Administration - Project Management - January 16, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great university. I am almost done with my MBA in Project Management and it has not been easy. Lots of work and challenging assignments, but at the end it is rewarding.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Challenging School.

BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION MANAGEMENT - November 29, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Very challenging school. This is why it is one of the most respected universities in the U.S. Finishing my MBA in Project Management. Great experience. Just be ready to read a lot, write papers. The workload is big. Great university

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

GREAT EXPERIENCE

BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION MANAGEMENT - August 11, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Excellent choice for anyone seeking a school that caters to working adults. Every course was challenging, but was doable for working professionals. The price is great for a regionally accredited school. Excellent education, and excellent pricing...............

Was this review helpful?

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Great experience to finish my BS

Bachelor of Science in Applied Studies - July 31, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great experience at Amberton. This university really has their act together to deliver learning to working adults, and their experience and professionalism shows. I completed my BS in Applied Studies by transferring in 39 hours from a big state school. Took 81 hours at Amberton to finish, and was pretty impressed at how knowlegeable and professional my profs were. As many have mentioned--Amberton is definitely a serious school. You will work, but you really get a great education. Another thing--Amberton *is* a brick and mortar school as well, so it's not just some ephermal "web entity". I have re-enrolled after a 1 year break to finish a Master's degree. That's how much I have enjoyed Amberton and the quality they provide for the investment. Don't hestitate.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Great School

Human Relations and Business - March 9, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The only negative thing I can say about Amberton is that there is NO job placement.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

MBA

MBA - Strategic Leadership - January 22, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is a solid well run program. I went through the MBA program in 9 quarters while I was working. The Campus Book store was fantastic and reasonable. I would suggest checking this school out if your not wanting to spend a absorbent amount on a Masters degree. I had a great time going through the program from 2001-2004. I never had to leave my home. All research was done though the portal.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Great Experience so far!

Master of Business Administration - Project Management - June 6, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am an MBA student who just reached the half-way point in my degree plan. Thanks to Amberton's accelerated course structure I am due to complete my degree within the next 9 months. Overall, my experience with Amberton had been excellent. The coursework is challenging, the instructors are fair, highly knowledgeable, very supportive and help bring out the best in you, and any time I have had a question about my degree plan academic advisors have always returned my call or emailed me back very promptly. For the money, this program provides tremendous value.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful

MS in HR & Business, 2011

Human Relations and Business - May 16, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The professors offer challenging assignments that really bring the subjects home and allow for transfer of training to one's professional career. As others have said, the support staff are very helpful, and the book store's Mr. Black is extremely helpful. Fees increased this year to $700 per semester ($233.33/sh), but this is still an extremely good value. My expected graduation this fall is not the end of my education; I'm a lifelong learner. If they were to offer a PhD in Industrial/ Organizational Psychology, I'd return to them in a heartbeat for my doctorate degree. This has been a very rewarding experience, and I encourage others to request information and seriously consider continuing their education at Amberton U.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Wonderful Educational Experience

MBA - Strategic Leadership - January 20, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended large traditional colleges in the past but I learned more at Amberton than the other colleges. The professors at Amberton are unique as they all have their own expectations of their students which are extremely high! Amberton is no easy college, in fact I found it much harder than traditional college. This institution provides a very useful educational experience that students can be proud of!! One of the most relevant comments I can provide to new students is to never procrastinate while attending Amberton's distance education courses. Follow the curriculum and schedule provided by the professor and make sure all assignments are submitted on time. Even with family medical issues I endured I was never late with any assignment during my time at Amberton. This is because the syllibus provided by each professor is clear with a recommended schedule and instructions on what is expected. They are also very consistent on processes and for email submital. So when attending each new class the procedures are transparent to the student! Also, if you have questions don't be afraid to ask. They are more than willing to help but some of them may be vague as they want you to work for the answer using research instead of taking the easy way out. I enjoyed Amberton so much that I completed a BBA and an MBA in three years taking two classes each quarter. I agree with the other comments that if Amberton some day offers a PhD program I would definitely consider and most likely attend! I recommend this college to anyone and have expressed this to others wanting to return to college who asked me about my experience!! With a family including small children Amberton was my answer to returning to complete my education and I thank them for what they provide students!

Was this review helpful?

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Great value in real education

MBA - Strategic Leadership - December 31, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

An on-line education at Amberton requires student commitment. Professors will not let you slide by; in-class learning often allows you to read non-verbal clues as to what the professor considers important enough to put into the final exam. Not so with Amberton on-line learning. Still, I have found my Amberton education useful every day in my professional life. The education holds its own against highly-rated bricks-and-mortar institutions.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Professional counseling

Professional Development - November 18, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Amberton has a wonderful and caring faculty. They do challenge the students to reflect and think. This is great. I have almost completed the professional counseling program. It has been a great experience in many ways.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Master of Arts Professional Development

Professional Development - May 7, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This was a very rewarding learning experience. The Professors challenge you in every facet of your degree program. The support staff are very helpful and friendly and Dwayne Black at the book store is awsome! I completed my program while residing in Japan, Oklahoma and Germany. I attended the commencement ceremony (traveled from Germany)and it too was an amazing experience. In the future, I plan to obtain my PhD and return to Amerton University as a professor!

Was this review helpful?

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

A VALUABLE RESOURCE

Human Relations and Business - November 10, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I found Amberton University when I had to leave the program at a bricks and mortar program in a neighboring city so that I might spend more time with my aging, infirmed mother. It was truly a God send. The courses were challenging, but the instructors extremely accessible and fair. The rotation of courses allowed for a steady progression through the school. I would and have recommended them to others. My only hope is that the program will engage additional and more creative uses of technology. All in all it was a good experience and worth the time, and a value for the money. With my degree in hand, I have found several doors open that otherwise would not have been.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

I would do it again

MBA - Strategic Leadership - October 28, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Graduated in 2006 with MBA in Strategic Leadership. Nothing but good things to say about the program and instructors. Not easy, lots of work; more than on-gound classes I have attended, but well worth it, and would do it again. In fact, if they every start an online PHd or DBA...I will be back.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Great College

BBA - IT - March 20, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Don't overlook Amberton because it's a private college or think it is easy. The standards and expectations are just a strong as a traditional college. Without Amberton it would have been very difficult for me to return to school and finish my degree. I am going to graduate in May of 2008. I then plan to continue at Amberton for my MBA. The professors are wonderful and most of them care about their students. Again this is a tough challenging college and not at all easier than tradition large Universities. I highly recommend Amberton to anyone especially working adults with families!

Was this review helpful?

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Give serious consideration to this grad program!

Human Relations and Business - June 4, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Amberton University is a wonderful institution offering rigorous curriculum, and phenomenal faculty and staff. I recently completed my Masters in Human Relations and Business in May 2007 and found my program both gratifying and rewarding. Every step of the way I received great support and guidance from my professors and was challenged by interesting, relevant courses. As previous reviewers have noted, Amberton’s availability online complements its on ground courses and in no way detracts from the quality or robustness of its programs; it simply offers greater accessibility and convenience to the working adults it serves. With undergraduate and graduate tuition at $225.00 per credit hour, it also makes good financial sense to consider Amberton for graduate level study. I also hope doctoral level programs will be introduced at Amberton one day – if so, I will be the first to enroll!

Was this review helpful?

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Amberton University in any way.