Amberton University Reviews

Sort By

Most Helpful
Newest

Bachelor Programs:
BBA - IT (2)

Masters Programs:
Human Relations and Business (4)
MBA - Strategic Leadership (6)
Professional Development (2)
Master of Business Administration - Project Management (2)


To link to this page:

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Pworkathome (Graduate) on November 2, 2016 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Amberton University Excellent Choice Amberton University is an excellent academic institution. The cost to obtain a Masters degree is an amazing value. The course material is equal to other major institutions in the country. I strongly recommend Amberton University for any degree you are seeking.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on October 10, 2015 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Was indeed worth it I earned an MBA from Amberton about six years ago. The curriculum is about the same as other institutions. It is definitely more self-paced than some traditional programs so you MUST have the discipline to dedicate time to your studies without a formal setting. Lot's of reading, lots of writing, but indeed it was well worth the money spent. I have never second guessed the decision to attend this program.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 29 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 16, 2015 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Extremely Poor Experience with Liberty University I am a current Liberty University online student in a Masters Degree program. I have one last class to complete which is an internship. The individual courses have been informative and helpful. The intensives were definitely a unique experience. The communication within the school is horrible. When I needed to contact a specific department, I was never allowed to speak to anyone. The only people you can speak with are the academic advisors and they do not have the authority to answer questions. When scheduling the intensives (you travel to Virginia to take week long classes) I needed basic information regarding parking for a rental car, obtaining a parking pass, local hotels, etc. The academic advisors did not know how to obtain a simple parking permit and would not provide me a phone number to speak with anyone. I finally found the Liberty University Police Department phone number through an intern search and obtained what I needed. The internship department refuses to speak with anyone on the phone, the advisors are told to tell you they have no phones. However, one advisor let it slip that I can email them and request a phone call. They do have phones, but the advisors are not allowed to give out the phone number. I sent the requests on three separate occasions and never received a phone call. It takes days to get responses via email. Professors do not return phone calls either, despite providing their phone numbers to the students. I have one class left and it looks like they are going to refuse to let me complete it due to an ego issue between their internship staff and a local agency who is willing to let me complete the internship at their agency. I was told if the internship department does not allow me to complete the class, I will lose my tuition money for the class. This is despite my completion of all the student requirements. Liberty does not work with students, despite what they promise you when you enroll. Do not believe them when they tell you what a great experience it is. The advisors call you constantly, until tuition is paid or there is a problem. The only reason I am still with Liberty is because I do not have the funds to start over at another University. Yes, I did contact other Universities to explore my options. Do not attend this school, find another one!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 27, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Best Affordable Professional University I can not say anything negative about Amberton University. I received my Masters of Science in Family Studies with pride. The school is affordable compared to many other schools, it has professional educators and the experience was just amazing. Like all schools, it was not a walk in the park but it was definitely a walk worth taking. I love the fact that it's a Christian school based. I am very proud to have obtained my MS at Amberton University and will recommend them to everyone I know.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Airmatador (In Progress) on March 3, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Best Value, no easy ride. I graduated from a top university in Florida, Florida Tech, where I also took some graduate courses, over 10 years ago. I picked Amberton because I was looking for an affordable and fully accredited university that would allow me to get a Masters Degree, while working full-time. This is my third semester at Amberton University, through Distance Learning, and I found it more challenging and time demanding than I ever anticipated. The lack of verbal skills does affect the intensity of the program since extensive and intensive reading and writing assignments are routine. I am very pleased with the program, and I will stay enrolled by taking only one course per semester, in the future. BEWARE, even one class and a full time job would keep you very, very busy. Last semester, I took 2 classes and it was madness; I had time for nothing. Overall, Amberton University is the best value you can get: the best education (very demanding) for the best price (it is the most I can afford without incurring to debt).
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Perrugachi (In Progress) on January 16, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great University, Challenging Workload Great university. I am almost done with my MBA in Project Management and it has not been easy. Lots of work and challenging assignments, but at the end it is rewarding.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 29, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Challenging School. Very challenging school. This is why it is one of the most respected universities in the U.S. Finishing my MBA in Project Management. Great experience. Just be ready to read a lot, write papers. The workload is big. Great university
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Collegebato88 (Graduate) on August 11, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
GREAT EXPERIENCE Excellent choice for anyone seeking a school that caters to working adults. Every course was challenging, but was doable for working professionals. The price is great for a regionally accredited school. Excellent education, and excellent pricing...............
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Jhull54 (Graduate) on July 31, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great experience to finish my BS Great experience at Amberton. This university really has their act together to deliver learning to working adults, and their experience and professionalism shows. I completed my BS in Applied Studies by transferring in 39 hours from a big state school. Took 81 hours at Amberton to finish, and was pretty impressed at how knowlegeable and professional my profs were. As many have mentioned--Amberton is definitely a serious school. You will work, but you really get a great education. Another thing--Amberton *is* a brick and mortar school as well, so it's not just some ephermal "web entity". I have re-enrolled after a 1 year break to finish a Master's degree. That's how much I have enjoyed Amberton and the quality they provide for the investment. Don't hestitate.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

143kgerlach (Graduate) on March 9, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great School The only negative thing I can say about Amberton is that there is NO job placement.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Steve11640 (Graduate) on January 22, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MBA This is a solid well run program. I went through the MBA program in 9 quarters while I was working. The Campus Book store was fantastic and reasonable. I would suggest checking this school out if your not wanting to spend a absorbent amount on a Masters degree. I had a great time going through the program from 2001-2004. I never had to leave my home. All research was done though the portal.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 6, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Experience so far! I am an MBA student who just reached the half-way point in my degree plan. Thanks to Amberton's accelerated course structure I am due to complete my degree within the next 9 months. Overall, my experience with Amberton had been excellent. The coursework is challenging, the instructors are fair, highly knowledgeable, very supportive and help bring out the best in you, and any time I have had a question about my degree plan academic advisors have always returned my call or emailed me back very promptly. For the money, this program provides tremendous value.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Mary.fitz (Graduate) on May 16, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MS in HR & Business, 2011 The professors offer challenging assignments that really bring the subjects home and allow for transfer of training to one's professional career. As others have said, the support staff are very helpful, and the book store's Mr. Black is extremely helpful. Fees increased this year to $700 per semester ($233.33/sh), but this is still an extremely good value. My expected graduation this fall is not the end of my education; I'm a lifelong learner. If they were to offer a PhD in Industrial/ Organizational Psychology, I'd return to them in a heartbeat for my doctorate degree. This has been a very rewarding experience, and I encourage others to request information and seriously consider continuing their education at Amberton U.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Rp357m (Graduate) on January 20, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Wonderful Educational Experience I attended large traditional colleges in the past but I learned more at Amberton than the other colleges. The professors at Amberton are unique as they all have their own expectations of their students which are extremely high! Amberton is no easy college, in fact I found it much harder than traditional college. This institution provides a very useful educational experience that students can be proud of!! One of the most relevant comments I can provide to new students is to never procrastinate while attending Amberton's distance education courses. Follow the curriculum and schedule provided by the professor and make sure all assignments are submitted on time. Even with family medical issues I endured I was never late with any assignment during my time at Amberton. This is because the syllibus provided by each professor is clear with a recommended schedule and instructions on what is expected. They are also very consistent on processes and for email submital. So when attending each new class the procedures are transparent to the student! Also, if you have questions don't be afraid to ask. They are more than willing to help but some of them may be vague as they want you to work for the answer using research instead of taking the easy way out. I enjoyed Amberton so much that I completed a BBA and an MBA in three years taking two classes each quarter. I agree with the other comments that if Amberton some day offers a PhD program I would definitely consider and most likely attend! I recommend this college to anyone and have expressed this to others wanting to return to college who asked me about my experience!! With a family including small children Amberton was my answer to returning to complete my education and I thank them for what they provide students!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on December 31, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great value in real education An on-line education at Amberton requires student commitment. Professors will not let you slide by; in-class learning often allows you to read non-verbal clues as to what the professor considers important enough to put into the final exam. Not so with Amberton on-line learning. Still, I have found my Amberton education useful every day in my professional life. The education holds its own against highly-rated bricks-and-mortar institutions.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 18, 2009

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Professional counseling Amberton has a wonderful and caring faculty. They do challenge the students to reflect and think. This is great. I have almost completed the professional counseling program. It has been a great experience in many ways.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Lwaller35 (Graduate) on May 7, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Master of Arts Professional Development This was a very rewarding learning experience. The Professors challenge you in every facet of your degree program. The support staff are very helpful and friendly and Dwayne Black at the book store is awsome! I completed my program while residing in Japan, Oklahoma and Germany. I attended the commencement ceremony (traveled from Germany)and it too was an amazing experience. In the future, I plan to obtain my PhD and return to Amerton University as a professor!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Palmerh (Graduate) on November 10, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
A VALUABLE RESOURCE I found Amberton University when I had to leave the program at a bricks and mortar program in a neighboring city so that I might spend more time with my aging, infirmed mother. It was truly a God send. The courses were challenging, but the instructors extremely accessible and fair. The rotation of courses allowed for a steady progression through the school. I would and have recommended them to others. My only hope is that the program will engage additional and more creative uses of technology. All in all it was a good experience and worth the time, and a value for the money. With my degree in hand, I have found several doors open that otherwise would not have been.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on October 28, 2008

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
I would do it again Graduated in 2006 with MBA in Strategic Leadership. Nothing but good things to say about the program and instructors. Not easy, lots of work; more than on-gound classes I have attended, but well worth it, and would do it again. In fact, if they every start an online PHd or DBA...I will be back.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 20, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great College Don't overlook Amberton because it's a private college or think it is easy. The standards and expectations are just a strong as a traditional college. Without Amberton it would have been very difficult for me to return to school and finish my degree. I am going to graduate in May of 2008. I then plan to continue at Amberton for my MBA. The professors are wonderful and most of them care about their students. Again this is a tough challenging college and not at all easier than tradition large Universities. I highly recommend Amberton to anyone especially working adults with families!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Smishii (Graduate) on June 4, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Give serious consideration to this grad program! Amberton University is a wonderful institution offering rigorous curriculum, and phenomenal faculty and staff. I recently completed my Masters in Human Relations and Business in May 2007 and found my program both gratifying and rewarding. Every step of the way I received great support and guidance from my professors and was challenged by interesting, relevant courses. As previous reviewers have noted, Amberton’s availability online complements its on ground courses and in no way detracts from the quality or robustness of its programs; it simply offers greater accessibility and convenience to the working adults it serves. With undergraduate and graduate tuition at $225.00 per credit hour, it also makes good financial sense to consider Amberton for graduate level study. I also hope doctoral level programs will be introduced at Amberton one day – if so, I will be the first to enroll!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No


You can help by Writing a review