American Sentinel University Reviews

Sort By

Most Helpful
Newest

Bachelor Programs:
Information Systems (8)

Masters Programs:
Computer Science (10)


To link to this page:

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 21, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
My Experience There are a lot of schools out there and after a long search, I chose ASU for one reason, the price. It is cheaper than any other school out there for a computer science degree. I am almost finished with my degree and there have been some consistent problems and some consistent benefits. Despite some of the other reviews, I have found the teachers to be great. Most have been very helpful and quite knowledgeable in the material. That has been the only plus for me though. My biggest complaint is the management. They schedule these courses for 8 weeks. If you need more time, they will charge you for it. It can be a tight schedule to get all the work done. They will not give you the syllabus for your next class even if you finish the previous one early, which means if the class runs you longer than the 8 weeks, you will be paying more. There is just no reason to put these kinds of restraints on online students. They have completely removed the flexibility that makes online learning a good option. My next biggest complaint probably stems from the first, and that is the staff. They are horrible. It takes a ridiculous amount of time for anything to get done. The "student success advisor" will not help you out in any way other than to get you in a class and take your money. It took 3 attempts and a lot of time to get my degree plan right from the registrar's office and all I can do at this point is hope it's not so bad that I wont be able to graduate. When I try to get an invoice, which I need for reimbursement from my company, half the time they are wrong and sometimes they forget to send them to me. Not to mention the annoying fact I've had to type in a lot of redundant information just to get one sent. Before I finish up, I would like to talk about the classes. They are challenging. Some because of how much reading there is to do, some because of how much writing and some because the math is hard to grasp in such a short timeframe. I am excellent in math but Discrete Mathematics and Theory of computation both did a number on me. All in all I would say that the school is not fun to deal with. I would liken it to going to the DMV. You don't deal with them because you enjoy it. You deal with them because you have to. This is still the cheapest school to go to though. Just know what you make up for in tuition cost, you pay for in frustration. I would have made a different choice if I had known this school would be such a pain to deal with.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Anonymous (Graduate) on July 20, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Education standards I've read several reviews about ASU and found that most of the negative information is totally incorrect. One writer wrote that ASU is not nursing accredited. ASU is accredited by CCNE, not only is it nationally accredited but it receives my vote of confidence. I believe that regional accreditation is a way that our government allow the so called prestigious schools to practice segregation. The sad part about it is that we continue to allow it. CHEA stamps approval for college educational value. National and regional schools accept the same government reimbursement however regional colleges are allowed to create so called different standards to reject what they call substandard individuals......modern segregation.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Shyb (Graduate) on June 11, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
NOT RECOGNIZED BY BOARD OF REGISTERED NURSES Unlike the title states, this school is not regionally accredited and WILL NOT be recognized by any Board of Nurses in this country. Most likely, if your employer is serious about education they will not accept the degree from American Sentinel University. I found out the hard way that this school is a joke and they lower the price of tuition to lure students to the university (term used loosely). Do your research and read all the reviews before deciding to attend this school. You'll be surprised by what you unearth.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Manal95831 (In Progress) on May 23, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great program with reasonable cost I have joined a MS in computer science and the program now is updated to be the degree I dreamed on. The cost is reasonable and I think it is the best choice for me because I like the plan and the convenient time schedule .. I am free on my time to arrange it plus new degree courses are wisely selected. Not sure if it will be suitable for other but for me YES it is suitable and I like it.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 6, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MGIS Student The only issue with the program is the lack of instructors in the new program. After more instructors are teaching, it will allow more classes to be offered at one time. The course is very challenging and I recommend it to anyone interested in GIS. The University is also offering ESRI Student Software with a new contract with ERSI. This is a VERY big PLUS for American Sentinel.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

14 of 21 people found the following review helpful

(Graduate) on October 4, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
STAY AWAY FROM AMERICAN SENTINEL UNIVERSITY I just recently completed my BSN degree from American Sentinel University; how exciting I felt. That was until my employer (Kaiser Permanente) apprised my that university is not BRN approved. I was devastated. I thought, how could this be. There is no way I can tell my husband as he was initially opposed to me pursuing my BSN. Not only will I not receive a raise but my employer will acknowledge my further education. To top it off, how can I tell the nurses I work with that the education I received is worthless. I am still in such shock. September 9, 2013 was supposed to be a day of remembrance of completing my BSN. What do I do with the piece of paper (diploma) that isn't worth !%?&*. I am warning anyone contemplating attending ASU, please don't. You'll just be disappointed in the end.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 6, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Not Regionally Accredited I made the mistake of dropping thousands on their CS program many years back. WARNING: Their degrees are not regionally accredited and will not likely be recognized by any commercial company in the real world (maybe various departments in the U.S. government or political position but that’s about it). Do yourself a favor and look at UoP or NJIT.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 8, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
No GIS courses offered I have applied to their MS GIS program and have been accepted, however there are only 3 courses offered this year for GIS at the 500 level, so it would take ?? years to finsih. They are apparently not serious about this program.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on February 27, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Very Good University I have a bachelors degree in computer science from American Sentinel University. Everything about this university was great. Expect a lot of hard work and a well deserved degree. I have since worked for a couple of fortune 500 companies and they respect my degree by all counts. I am thinking about doing my masters there as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on December 10, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
accreditation American Sentinel is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE),The U.S. Department of Education as a national recognized accrediting agency and The Accrediting Commission of Distance Education (DETC).Registered Nurses are already licensed. This degree will allow them to move forward in their career.This online University in no way "gives" you a degree.I spend at least eight to ten hours a week on research and papers.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Vicromanlaw (Graduate) on September 26, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent MS Program I completed my Master's degree in Computer Science in 2010. It was a very stimulating and rewarding experience for me. I needed the additional knowledge to help my career as a Patent Attorney. I had previously earned my BS in Computational Math from a private college in the Midwest, and I had nearly 20 years of professional experience as a Software Engineer. I went on to earn my JD. The school was more than adequate for my needs. About accreditation, the process to become regionally accredited takes a long time. No surprise that very legitimate online schools haven't obtained the honor yet. ASU is nationally accredited by the DETC. I found this to be adequate for my needs. What you know is more important than where you learned it.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 21, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
lacks regional and/or national accreditation for MSN program Part way through the MSN and have been informed by employer they will not acknowledge the MSN degree because the university does not have regional or national accreditation ! Make sure your employer or potential employers accept this universities degree!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on May 21, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
I regret getting a ASU CS degree My degree from ASU is worthless. I can't get into any regionally accredited MBA school, aside from crappy online institutions like UOP and Capella. I called every single AACSB university only to be told Sorry. Do not go to this school...yes it's cheap (affordable) and convenient but totally worthless. But at least I can say I completed my bachelor's...congratulations idiot.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on January 23, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Vanderbilt should be proud of its online-experiment... ASU is not for the undisciplined or unmotivated. However, the school does allow for maximum flexibility for working adults to complete their assignments and coursework at a reasonable pace. The tuition costs are very competitive with similar colleges. It is accurate to say that some professors there are clearly better than others at the online interactive environment format when it comes to overall helpfulness or their responsiveness to students. But, this is not unusual; I had very similar experiences at Strayer University, too. ASU could also benefit from continuing to move beyond the asynchronous format for some programs and course selection to help further enhance and expand collaborative learning principles.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on December 10, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Need to Be Sel-Motivated It took me some good time to finish my degree. Did this school add value? definitely yes. This school requires you -the student - to be 100% committed and self-moivated, so I can understand why some people may give this school poor reviews. Irrespective, and overall, I think that ASU is a good place to study at.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 20, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Don't bother The university was great at first. As a military memeber, they provided the books for "free" with tuition. I initially found the online university somewhat pleasing. Over time it become obvious, this is just a step above paying for a degree. One class I took, the teacher didn't even bother looking over anything. I knew I had errors in some of my questions answers but still recieved a 100%. Other times I knew my answer was correct but missed some points based on technicalities in a difference of opinions on how the question should have been answered. I recently will be leaving this college after taking multiple classes with them due to not only average at best online environments, but have ran into multiple professors that won't help that much. The most recent case, the professor wouldn't even take a call from me (claiming they didn't have a phone and that since they were adjunt... they weren't required to call me). Disappointed to say the least.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on May 18, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Anon Best for the independent learner type who read their textbook at home in high school and wished they didn't have to waste time in class.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on April 22, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
American Sentinel University MIS program I completed my Bachelor's degree in MIS over a year ago, and I am now enrolled at ASU for my MS in Information Systems. As another reviewer wrote, if you are not self-motivated, you will not obtain your degree in this college. 3-credit classes are 8 weeks long, the 4-credit programming language classes are 12 weeks long. You read the book, complete assignments and finish a final. There are no videos of professors to watch (a big selling point for me). I can complete the work on my schedule. I had zero issues with the professors and staff. If you're military or retired, the tuition is inexpensive and your books are free (yes, FREE!) for undergraduate programs. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Vromansf (Graduate) on April 5, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent Computer Science Masters program This is an excellent school to earn a Masters degree in Computer Science and it exceeded my expectations. I am studying to become a patent attorney and it was critical for me to earn my degree at a school that I felt was challenging and legitimate. It's nationally accredited and incrementally making changes to become regionally accredited as well. Regional accreditation is inevitable since I can't imagine a better place to earn a Masters degree. I had been a software engineer for over 17 years when I applied and flexibility was very important since I had to work. Each class was stimulating. Every professor was very knowledgable in the subject matter and many of the course textbooks were the same books being used for the graduate classes at Stanford University. Nearly every textbook was a leading book on the subject. The programming assignments were challenging. The professors worked hard to encourage creativity and novel approaches to the homework problems. Excellent program. The professors were always available and helpful. Technical support readily available and the school staff treated me as though I was party of a family. The degree has boosted my career and enhanced my knowledge in the field. I would highly recommend this school.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Anonymous (Graduate) on December 24, 2009

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
BSCS degree Received a BSCS over the course of 3 years, basically like independent graduate study work you'd have to do at a major university. If you are not self-motivated and able to work through problems and tasks on your own with some or indirect help from teachers (they will not give you the answers only point you in the right direction), then online education and ASU isn't for you. ASU is much harder then going to a brick and mortar university (I started my degree at large one). With my degree I landed a well paying job working for the govt. and in the aerospace industry side of it.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 12, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Don't waste your money like I did. I attended American Sentinel for 9 months at the Master's leve. I found the school to be not well organized. Some instructors are good and some are horrible and I have doubt that they are qualified. The academic advisors are definitely not qualified and may not even have any degree. How can someone like that advise a Master's degree student?
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on September 23, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Poorly run school This school is such a disappointment. The majority of the teachers don't care about teaching their students as much as just giving out grades. Courses are offered, but not ready for students. I paid for one degree path and the teacher just stopped replying. After talking to the CEO of the school, who promised to help me....nothing happened. The degree path was put on hold and my money was returned after numerous phone calls and emails. Degrees and official transcripts are not delivered in a timely fashion. It almost takes an act of congress to get support from the school when it is needed. This school is an IT school that uses the excuse, "we are currently upgrading our records" so I haven't received my transcripts for over 5 months. Really it takes 5 months for a database upgrade?? My recommendation would be to choose a different school, one that will support its students.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on March 25, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great, affordable program I completed the Bachelors in Information Systems over the course of 6 years. The courses were relevant, thorough, and challenging. You have to be able to learn on your own from a book. I rarely asked for help from my professors, but when I did they were helpful. They have one of the more affordable tuition rates out there. Also, they do a commendable job of consistently improving the course delivery and services technologies.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 10, 2008

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Overall Overall the cost of tuition is too high compared to other schools. My experience has been OK, but the staff has not been that great.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No


You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about American Sentinel University