Anthem College

Review Averages: 4.5 out of 10 (32 reviews)
Ranking: #84

Anthem College operates a network of campuses nationwide and awards a number of career-focused degrees for online study. Anthem’s options include associate’s and bachelor’s degree programs in: accounting technology; business management; criminal justice; healthcare management; medical billing; and paralegal studies. Students must pass Anthem’s Entrance Assessment Test to be admitted.

Accreditation:
For-Profit: Yes
Country: USA
Website

Learn More about Anthem College

Request Information »

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Anthem College Reviews:

CERTIFICATION/JOB PLACEMENT JOKE OR FARCE
x-ray tech - January 12, 2015
THE OVERALL SCHOOL WAS OKAY, PEOPLE WERE FRIENDLY, I HAD AN EXCELLENT TEACHER, THE TESTS WERE THOROUGH, BUT YOU GO TO COLLEGE TO GET AN EDUCATION AND THEN YOU WANT A DEGREE! WELL YOU CANNOT GET CERTIFIED, AND YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO GET A JOB! THAT IS DISHEARTEN! SIMPLY DEVASTATING! GOING TO SCHOOL FOR ALMOST 2 YEARS, AND NOT BEING ABLE TO GET CERTIFIED, AND YOU KNOW THE INFORMATION! KIDDING YOURSELF, YOU CANT GET A JOB, NO LEADS FROM THE SCHOOL, DEAD END!! GOD PLEASE HELP US

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
I Love Anthem, Awesome teachers and ITT dept.
Business Management - August 2, 2014
I am currently attending Anthem online. I have had zero problems. I plan to finish my BM degree in one year.

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Truly awful!! Don't waste your money!!
x-ray tech - October 27, 2013
RUN from them! A total rip-off. Their X-ray Tech program is limited scope and will not prepare anyone in the real world. The teachers do the best they can with the material they have, however their approach is often sophomoric at best. I wish I had never given them a dime. A total waste of thousands of dollars! I was getting straight A's when I left after completing about 4 months of the program. It was only then that I learned I would not be able to find a job with the "degree". Friends who completed the program did NOT find a job. Most physician offices are using digital equipment. If anyone would be willing to pursue some sort of class action suit against them I would so gladly join!!!

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Find another school!!!!!
Business Management - October 2, 2013
I have been attending Anthem online for the past year. little did I know they do not release any funds left over after they take what is owed, instead you must fill out a loan increase form, yes this means you must barrow more money while they keep the left over positive balance(they are a for-profit school)I requested a loan increase in march of 2013 it is now October and every time i have called the financial aid department to figure out what is going on i keep getting the run around. this school will make you crazy!

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Waste of time!!! Don't go here!!!
criminal justice - July 30, 2013
Anthem College is the most dumb pathetic waste of time school. Excuse my language in this post but they have pissed me off the last time! They've withdrawn me today because I supposedly didn't meet their academic standards. What the heck??? I attended their classes, the "instructors" were giving me good reports on my work and they made me retake my course. I felt like I was taking 1 class. So NOW I'm withdrawn... when I started school back in May on the 27th. I was feeling good... doing good until on some of the work they said that they didn't want to accept it but yet once again give me good reports on it! I also had some trouble with internet issues when I very first started so I understood why they made me retake the course. I retaken my course and I was doing really good as well as what I saw on my graded paper and what the instructor has said to me. I asked for help plenty of times before that they didn't seem to even bother as well. In their stupid lectures they pretty much talk about the same thing and they don't seem to want to help anyone at all. The instructors Do NOT know what their doing at all. It doesn't make sense to tell a student and give the student good grades on their paper work but yet they want to "fail" someone??? Now I'm withdrawn from their crappy school and they said that I can retake the course again. But this time I'm not going to... I regret taking my course. Another reason why they're a waste of time and money is for example before I was withdrawn I was doing online school for the Paralegal studies. Their assignments seemed to have nothing to do with what I was attending their stupid school for they also told me that I have to complete other forms for financial aid. I went to my FASFA and it says it's completed successfully. Don't go here PLEASE DO NOT!!!

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
This school is a scam
Business Management - June 13, 2013
This school is a scam. Credits earned here are worthless..good luck transferring! Also, they don't have real college instructors like I had my first time in a state school. The have a bunch of UOP grads who just facilitate. They have no idea what they are talking about. My son's high school is more like a college class than Anthem. In most of my classes most of my classmates just copy stuff from google. This school is a joke and a waste of your time and money.

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
medical assistant
Medical Billing and Coding - March 6, 2013
I attended anthem a year ago. I had to drop classes due to picking up custody of my lil sister. When I returned I was asked to contact a number to recieve some more money to cover the last 3 classes that I needed. I had already did a day in a class and was loaded with work that I had already completed. So I couldn't get the money and now have to wait 6 months...all that school is really concerned about is money..the director of financial aid made me seem like there was no hope for my life..i couldnt sit out and refresh what i needed to know or nothing......I will not be going back will be looking for another school

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Worst money ever spent
x-ray tech - February 18, 2013
they are a total gyp. they are so nice to lure you in,but once your in they harass you about payments. when externship comes around they take long in placing you so you have to sit (pay) for another class. [name omitted] is terrible and she makes this place a sad facility,her mood is always down and she shows it. she doesnt treat the students with respect. once they have your money,your garbage. the campus pres, only cares about how hot the receptionists are. this is a terrrible place. xray instructor does not care about you. they make you pay for his self ran business (online)during your course,just so he can make money. Tis palce is the worst money ever spent.

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
Bad. Just Bad.
Medical Billing and Coding - September 26, 2012
I didn't actually go to this school, but I did take a tour and talk to a representative about it. I will protect names and all that but it was an awful experience. I felt very pressured and calling 5 plus times a day and harrassing will not make one want to go to the school any faster. At least not with me anyway. Thumbs down.

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Instructors are sooo unprofessional
Medical Billing and Coding - June 28, 2012
We have a husband and wife duo thst seams to think they run the department. The husband at the memphis campus seams to think when his can't control a student she says looked at her funny and with disrespect because she twisted her head as she was talking and also looked at the time on her cell phone like she was saying b***** will you please hurry the F*** up. "WHAT!" I've never witnessed so much childishness. So she runs out of the class room crying, because she feels disrespected,at that point she goes to her husband he then goes in her class room chastising the whole class about being disrespectful to his wife and how they allow everybody to get away with things they shouldn't. Holding her class up for over an hour. Counting it up, that was 2 hours wasted on foolishness. Is this what we are paying for we really deserve a better education from Anthem. I really wish someone would do something about this. I'm ready to throw in the towel. If she can,t stand the heat she needs to get out the kitchen, stop running to her husband interupting his class as well. Too much DRAMA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Read all 32 Anthem College reviews...


Programs:

Read all 32 reviews...

Write a Anthem College Review


Learn More about Anthem College



Learn More about Anthem College



Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Old Comments

Nov. 26, 2010, 5:51 p.m.
+2 votes/
Wow and I was just thinking about attending this school too. All of the negative reviews I've read here has sure opened my eyes. I can't afford to go to a lackluster school and waste money. Always good to do research before doing something. Well my search for a school continues I suppose. Thanks for the heads up!
Oct. 23, 2010, 10:04 p.m.
+2 votes/
As a former employee, I can tell you that most of the sentiments posted in these comments are based in fact. The online division of Anthem absolutely overstates their ability to place graduates after graduation. They charge very high prices for a very low quality product.

One of the reasons why the studetns suffer is that capable managers are unceremoniously fired, or forced to resign (8 in 2010 alone) once the manager refuses to further their dubious agenda. 

There are MANY very good college programs available online but Anthem is absolutely not one of them.
Nov. 2, 2010, 9:52 p.m.
0 votes/
I just started at Anthem, and so far everything is great.
Oct. 20, 2010, 7:54 p.m.
0 votes/
Learning is a gift. Anthem College is an accredited school (which says a lot about them). Individuals who write negative reviews should probably re-think their study skills, ambition and learning habits. In college, professors are not required to hold your hand and teach a student everything (that is the students’ job). The text books and vocabulary are meant for students to take home, read and deeper research the material so a student can pass an exam. Professors are here to help students better understand the material that is being read by discussing the material and hands on in a classroom setting. I believe that if a student gives 50% they receive 50%, and if a student gives a 100% they will receive 100%. You are not a child anymore and you should know that their job as a school and as professors are not there to hold your hand through everything, they are there to simply guide you. And for students who have failed and wrote negative reviews just remember that defeat is not the worst of failures; not to have tried is the true failure. I’ve observed these postings (it’s hilarious) when you stop and look at the grammar; it’s no wonder why these students failed or had a bad experience. This isn’t high school anymore.
P.S. Google and Wikipedia are NOT proper resources to turn too. Any college professor from any college will tell you that. To gain proper knowledge it is best to research scholarly articles and texts. Also, whatever college you decide to attend, you will see negative and positive reviews. I’m sorry for those who didn’t push themselves hard enough to succeed; however, there is always next time.
Sept. 14, 2010, 11:33 p.m.
0 votes/
So I left Anthem. Thank God. Wow, I am really shocked with how dumb the staff is there! (Except for my student services rep.) The dean said and I quote... "Google is not a valid search engine." Haha Also, was told that "I shouldn't base my opinion on what I read or hear." And to top it all off I was also told and QUOTE... "We are not a perfect school, do we have students that complain? YES. Do we have TEACHERS that don't do the job like they should? YES." Haha... All I have to say is do your research before enrolling in ANY school!!! I'd say its a 2,200 hundred well spent to get out of this mickey mouse joint!!!!
Sept. 10, 2010, 9:37 p.m.
+1 vote/
Well i attended this school for a month and a half. After problems with the financial aid, and classmates saying that this school is a joke and waste of money I looked into it. Thank God I did!!!!! After all the reviews, and personal experience with this school or should i say "joke factory" I decided to have them pull my financial aid. I should of seen this from the beginning when the recruiter didn't know anything about his job, and talked to me like i was a "homie!" Glad i got out before it was too late!!!
Aug. 23, 2010, 8:42 p.m.
+2 votes/
this school is a JOKE!!!!!!!!!!!! Monkeys could run a education program better !!!
April 13, 2010, 5:04 p.m.
+2 votes/
I learned more about my teacher's personal life than anything else, everything was VERY unprofessional. They lie about a lot of thins like; tuition, job placement help, and home work load. They constantly made curriculum changes throughout my program increasing the workload and then some of the work we did didn't count.
Nov. 17, 2009, 1:23 a.m.
+1 vote/
I too have just been taken by Anthem college (or should I say Anthem kolij). I was assured before finishing they would be accredited again and all would be well, yet they have had their accreditation revoked again. Now my degree is as good as scrap paper for a grocery list. Not one job I have gone for (out of 9 now in the same city as Anthem) has heard of them or even been able verify my education, as the school doesn't return emails or answer phone calls (other than the sales call center and the less than helpful main operator).

Once I went to speak w/ my design teacher in person and when I met up with him at Anthem campus he was watching X-men on his computer!!! He even joked about that's what he does every day. I looked around and 2 others were playing HALO! I drove from Tucson for this!! I brought up what I saw and how I felt with some education department manager and they blew me off saying they "didn't agree with my opinion" and I was getting a "good enough" education for the money and then hung up on me after "I didn't have anything worth while to say". When I called back a day later to talk with that same teacher, I was told he was "on vacation or something" by his out-of-it sounding manager, and "he would probably be back in 2 weeks or so dude."!!! Yep, he called me dude, and I'm a woman. The class ended in 1 week, and hes gone for 2, so needless to say I scored very low on that final. BTW, they had no substitute teacher, just my teacher Josh's voice mail and email (he never did return any of my contacts when he got back, in fact I never heard from him again). After all this happened is when I knew I just wasted my time and money. Please don't do the same.
June 16, 2009, 12:31 a.m.
+1 vote/
They ripped me off big time, go to a better known school that's more organized.
Sept. 16, 2012, 8:06 a.m.
+1 vote/
DO NOT GO HERE. Im a former student who just finished here. It's a waste of money. The staff treats the students like they are in high school. Save your money and go to a REAL COLLEGE, this place is a JOKE. I wish I went to a real school, but I wasted all the time and money for nothing, WORTHLESS. 
Sept. 3, 2012, 3:30 p.m.
0 votes/
As a former employer at Anthem Online, I believe part of the reason students report dissatisfaction is due to employee dissatisfaction. The employees are paid incredibly low salaries and are expected to work long hours, any day of the week. My particular department was responsible for "student satisfaction" and management viewed employees as specifically responsible for whenever a student voiced he/she was unhappy or wanted to drop out (even for reasons beyond ACO control). For instance, Advisors have been reprimanded for students wanting to drop or take a Leave due to health reasons, family issues, etc. Every lower level employee I've ever met working at ACO truly cares about student success and the quality of education. However, it doesn't appear that management cares about those things nor do they show much respect for their employees. I left the company in June and am very happy that I did!

I do believe the structure of ACO really works. The students that try and are accountable for their own education (like adults SHOULD) really excel and can enjoy doing so in a quick time frame. The majority of student complaints I heard while working there (or read here) are from people who probably shouldn't have been in college in the first place- those adults that expect handholding and get upset when marked low scores in classes when they can barely do simple tasks like form a sentence in proper English. I once had to explain to a student twice my age what "proper English" was and why you can't write "text speech" in an essay and expect to get an A out of class. 

A lot of students complain about Financial Aid because they make you apply for a "stipend" loan for expenses other than tuition and you must hve a 2.0 to do so. Again, the complaining is due to those with unreasonable expectations. It's a LOAN for extra expenses, not free money you are entitled to. And having a process to get this money is GOOD that you don't end up in further debt. And if you're failing all your classes, takin out extra loan money should not be top priority. 
Aug. 14, 2012, 2 a.m.
0 votes/
I would not recommend  this school to my worst enemy. I graduated High Tech Institute (now known as Anthem College) in 2008 from the Criminal Justice program. The job placement department "tried" helping for almost a year to try and land a job in my field of study. I worked closely with the department as required and I of course applied for jobs ect. After a year of searching, they " helped" me land a job doing loss prevention at a retail department store, FOR MINIMUM WAGE. I took the job out of desperation to try and at least earn some type of experience in a related field. What ended up happening was that the job placement department counted that job as a "placement" and I was never contacted again. This school is not nationally accredited neither.I now have an Associates Degree that is useless. Companies would not hire you because they know this school's reputation. I'm now stuck with a very expensive loan and was never hired in the field of study. I also tried continuing my education by trying to enrolled to a number of state(nationally accredited) colleges/universities and not one of the credits would transfer. Basically, I would have to start all over with my education, because this degree doesn't count for anything. This is basically a waste of time and money. I wished I would have done a better research.  If you take anything from this comment, PLEASE do not go to this "college". The school was called High Tech Institute, the name was change due to horrible reputation. Just save your money and time, and go to a state college/university. It's cheaper and legit. 
April 6, 2012, 2:51 p.m.
0 votes/
I told them to stop calliing me and trying to get me to go there, stupid college needs to stop harrassing i already have my degree i want.
Jan. 5, 2012, 5:52 p.m.
0 votes/
This school is a total crock! I finished the DA program back in July and I figured, it'll take a few weeks for me to find employment... Yada yada yada... Well, I have never found employment and I've been out of school since June... 7 months... Nobody will hire someone from a school they've never heard of... WARNING: For those looking to go back to school, pick a local community college... They just want your money... All I have are bad memories from the place and a huge pile of debt that'll take me at least 20 years to pay-off. I DON'T RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL TO ANYONE! DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!
Nov. 2, 2011, 10 p.m.
+3 votes/
As a very recent former employee of this so called online school I must warn people about how they pray on people that will never be able to pay their loans back. Most of the employees are very immature and make fun of the people they have to contact and inappropriate harrassment is a joke with this school. A supervisor in the online department in Phx, Az and I will call him Josh has had or is still having a inappropriate relationship with a co worker in his department. When supervisors are having intercourse with co workers is their focus really on the business of making the school a better place for learning?
Oct. 10, 2011, 9:42 p.m.
+1 vote/
all the Anthem college campuses are profiting off disadvantaged people and getting these people to take out lots of student loans that they'' never be able to pay back.
Oct. 6, 2011, 10:07 p.m.
+1 vote/
Teachers allowed certain students to change answers on their test scores to get an a. I tested her by trying the same thing and I wasn't allowed. Others even confronted her about it. It was definately a racial thing. They don't even teach they just read from the book and basically do study hall. WAISTE OF TIME
Oct. 6, 2011, 9:12 p.m.
0 votes/
This school is a waist of time and money. The teacher and financial aid is unprofessional. If you go through a rough time in life they won't care!! All they want is their money. DON'T GO HERE
July 15, 2011, 3:04 p.m.
+2 votes/
Dont waste your money or time on this school. When I went the school was called High Tech Institute. They made these promises that I would be entering a career that would sustain my cost of living. Total B.S.
   DO YOURSELF A FAVOR - GO TO A JR.COLLEGE OR STATE.
THIS WILL SAVE YOU MONEY AND FRUSTRATION PEOPLE!!
April 14, 2011, 3:54 a.m.
+2 votes/
This school sucks one teacher gives you all the answers like come on u came to school to learn not cheat!!!! but i do have to give props i had one of the best teachers mrs judy hale she helped us with out work and didnt just give the answers to all the test and questions actually worked through it with us and she is what made that school but yet everybody all the other teachers gave her hell for no reason. otherwise if you do not have her as a teacher i wouldnt reccommend this school.
March 30, 2011, 6:22 p.m.
-3 votes/
Anthem is a wonderful school. I work for Anthem and the family orientated atmosphere is what I enjoy the most. Everyone looks for out for everyone's success whether it is a student or employee. I think the ones who are being negative are the ones who want things handed to them and do not think they have to do work. Anthem is like any other college you have to do home work and study and some people are just not dicipline enough to realize it is not Anthem that failed you. Anthem is by far a good company and school for anyone who takes there success seriously.
April 4, 2008, 9:19 p.m.
-1 vote/
I have been going to school here one year and before that I was taking classes with UTA. I have had no problems with the school or classes, I have learned more than my classes at UTA and any problems I have had with tech issues have been resolved in less than 12 hrs. I hope this school does not loose its accreditation because it is a great school. I do think they are too expensive but what school is not these days.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Anthem College in any way.