Anthem College

Anthem College operates a network of campuses nationwide and awards a number of career-focused degrees for online study. Anthem’s options include associate’s and bachelor’s degree programs in: accounting technology; business management; criminal justice; healthcare management; medical billing; and paralegal studies. Students must pass Anthem’s Entrance Assessment Test to be admitted.

Review Average: 4.4 out of 10 (31 reviews)

Learn More

Anthem College Reviews:

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
WASTED MY MONEY
April 16, 2010
I really do wish I had listened to these reviews before signing up and wasting $30K on a degree program that has yet to help me get a job. I attended the ST program at Anthem College and was basically told to teach myself the program. Instructors do not care, my main instructor used our class time to mostly text on her phone more than teach her attending students. The program coordinator only cared about ... [Read more]

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
Bad. Just Bad.
September 26, 2012
I didn't actually go to this school, but I did take a tour and talk to a representative about it. I will protect names and all that but it was an awful experience. I felt very pressured and calling 5 plus times a day and harrassing will not make one want to go to the school any faster. At least not with me anyway. Thumbs down. [Read more]

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
BS..lies lies lies !!!!
November 22, 2011
completed xray program, passed state board test...school never ever helped me get even 1 interview....they say that they are trying to look for u...lies lies..they are more concerned about getting u in and getting u hooked but dont help u after u graduate....school is full of it...career dept. is BS... [Read more]

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
They lie about what degree you get! Huge ripoff!
May 28, 2009
I enrolled and finished my degree with Anthem a few years ago. I explained in VERY high detail that I needed to graduate with an RHIT or RHIA or else I could not get a job locally. I told them I did not want to enroll unless I would be able to take the test through AHIMA when I was finished for rhit or rhia. They guaranteed me on enrollment that the courses were accredited ... [Read more]

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
pharmacy tech
November 21, 2010
Anthem College was the worst school I had ever attended.the Finical Aid Department and Career Services weren't very helpful. Make sure you inspect your financial award letter carefully because they will rip you off, and will short change you. [Read more]

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
Don't Waste Your Money
September 15, 2009
Do not waste your time and money with this school if you are interested in pursuing a career in medical billing and coding. The advertising and staff makes Anthem College Online is such a great school to attend. There were only two textbooks used for the medical billing and coding portion of the associate degree program. These were used off and on during the entirety of the program.I could have saved money and just bought ... [Read more]

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
there crooked only in it for the money
February 15, 2012
I would not recommend anyone to go here they just want to get you in the door inrolled so they can take your money they dont explain that there xray program is only limited scope mean can only work in doctor office or orthopedic there not simpathy for what going on in your life they will try to kick you out for the littleist thing my son was sick amd in the hospital and they ... [Read more]

Read all 31 Anthem College reviews...


Learn More

Programs:

Read all 31 reviews...

Write a Anthem College Review


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Old Comments

Nov. 26, 2010, 5:51 p.m.
+2 votes/
Wow and I was just thinking about attending this school too. All of the negative reviews I've read here has sure opened my eyes. I can't afford to go to a lackluster school and waste money. Always good to do research before doing something. Well my search for a school continues I suppose. Thanks for the heads up!
Oct. 23, 2010, 10:04 p.m.
+2 votes/
As a former employee, I can tell you that most of the sentiments posted in these comments are based in fact. The online division of Anthem absolutely overstates their ability to place graduates after graduation. They charge very high prices for a very low quality product.

One of the reasons why the studetns suffer is that capable managers are unceremoniously fired, or forced to resign (8 in 2010 alone) once the manager refuses to further their dubious agenda. 

There are MANY very good college programs available online but Anthem is absolutely not one of them.
Nov. 2, 2010, 9:52 p.m.
0 votes/
I just started at Anthem, and so far everything is great.
Oct. 20, 2010, 7:54 p.m.
0 votes/
Learning is a gift. Anthem College is an accredited school (which says a lot about them). Individuals who write negative reviews should probably re-think their study skills, ambition and learning habits. In college, professors are not required to hold your hand and teach a student everything (that is the students’ job). The text books and vocabulary are meant for students to take home, read and deeper research the material so a student can pass an exam. Professors are here to help students better understand the material that is being read by discussing the material and hands on in a classroom setting. I believe that if a student gives 50% they receive 50%, and if a student gives a 100% they will receive 100%. You are not a child anymore and you should know that their job as a school and as professors are not there to hold your hand through everything, they are there to simply guide you. And for students who have failed and wrote negative reviews just remember that defeat is not the worst of failures; not to have tried is the true failure. I’ve observed these postings (it’s hilarious) when you stop and look at the grammar; it’s no wonder why these students failed or had a bad experience. This isn’t high school anymore.
P.S. Google and Wikipedia are NOT proper resources to turn too. Any college professor from any college will tell you that. To gain proper knowledge it is best to research scholarly articles and texts. Also, whatever college you decide to attend, you will see negative and positive reviews. I’m sorry for those who didn’t push themselves hard enough to succeed; however, there is always next time.
Sept. 14, 2010, 11:33 p.m.
0 votes/
So I left Anthem. Thank God. Wow, I am really shocked with how dumb the staff is there! (Except for my student services rep.) The dean said and I quote... "Google is not a valid search engine." Haha Also, was told that "I shouldn't base my opinion on what I read or hear." And to top it all off I was also told and QUOTE... "We are not a perfect school, do we have students that complain? YES. Do we have TEACHERS that don't do the job like they should? YES." Haha... All I have to say is do your research before enrolling in ANY school!!! I'd say its a 2,200 hundred well spent to get out of this mickey mouse joint!!!!
Sept. 10, 2010, 9:37 p.m.
+1 vote/
Well i attended this school for a month and a half. After problems with the financial aid, and classmates saying that this school is a joke and waste of money I looked into it. Thank God I did!!!!! After all the reviews, and personal experience with this school or should i say "joke factory" I decided to have them pull my financial aid. I should of seen this from the beginning when the recruiter didn't know anything about his job, and talked to me like i was a "homie!" Glad i got out before it was too late!!!
Aug. 23, 2010, 8:42 p.m.
+2 votes/
this school is a JOKE!!!!!!!!!!!! Monkeys could run a education program better !!!
April 13, 2010, 5:04 p.m.
+2 votes/
I learned more about my teacher's personal life than anything else, everything was VERY unprofessional. They lie about a lot of thins like; tuition, job placement help, and home work load. They constantly made curriculum changes throughout my program increasing the workload and then some of the work we did didn't count.
Nov. 17, 2009, 1:23 a.m.
+1 vote/
I too have just been taken by Anthem college (or should I say Anthem kolij). I was assured before finishing they would be accredited again and all would be well, yet they have had their accreditation revoked again. Now my degree is as good as scrap paper for a grocery list. Not one job I have gone for (out of 9 now in the same city as Anthem) has heard of them or even been able verify my education, as the school doesn't return emails or answer phone calls (other than the sales call center and the less than helpful main operator).

Once I went to speak w/ my design teacher in person and when I met up with him at Anthem campus he was watching X-men on his computer!!! He even joked about that's what he does every day. I looked around and 2 others were playing HALO! I drove from Tucson for this!! I brought up what I saw and how I felt with some education department manager and they blew me off saying they "didn't agree with my opinion" and I was getting a "good enough" education for the money and then hung up on me after "I didn't have anything worth while to say". When I called back a day later to talk with that same teacher, I was told he was "on vacation or something" by his out-of-it sounding manager, and "he would probably be back in 2 weeks or so dude."!!! Yep, he called me dude, and I'm a woman. The class ended in 1 week, and hes gone for 2, so needless to say I scored very low on that final. BTW, they had no substitute teacher, just my teacher Josh's voice mail and email (he never did return any of my contacts when he got back, in fact I never heard from him again). After all this happened is when I knew I just wasted my time and money. Please don't do the same.
June 16, 2009, 12:31 a.m.
+1 vote/
They ripped me off big time, go to a better known school that's more organized.
Sept. 16, 2012, 8:06 a.m.
+1 vote/
DO NOT GO HERE. Im a former student who just finished here. It's a waste of money. The staff treats the students like they are in high school. Save your money and go to a REAL COLLEGE, this place is a JOKE. I wish I went to a real school, but I wasted all the time and money for nothing, WORTHLESS. 
Sept. 3, 2012, 3:30 p.m.
0 votes/
As a former employer at Anthem Online, I believe part of the reason students report dissatisfaction is due to employee dissatisfaction. The employees are paid incredibly low salaries and are expected to work long hours, any day of the week. My particular department was responsible for "student satisfaction" and management viewed employees as specifically responsible for whenever a student voiced he/she was unhappy or wanted to drop out (even for reasons beyond ACO control). For instance, Advisors have been reprimanded for students wanting to drop or take a Leave due to health reasons, family issues, etc. Every lower level employee I've ever met working at ACO truly cares about student success and the quality of education. However, it doesn't appear that management cares about those things nor do they show much respect for their employees. I left the company in June and am very happy that I did!

I do believe the structure of ACO really works. The students that try and are accountable for their own education (like adults SHOULD) really excel and can enjoy doing so in a quick time frame. The majority of student complaints I heard while working there (or read here) are from people who probably shouldn't have been in college in the first place- those adults that expect handholding and get upset when marked low scores in classes when they can barely do simple tasks like form a sentence in proper English. I once had to explain to a student twice my age what "proper English" was and why you can't write "text speech" in an essay and expect to get an A out of class. 

A lot of students complain about Financial Aid because they make you apply for a "stipend" loan for expenses other than tuition and you must hve a 2.0 to do so. Again, the complaining is due to those with unreasonable expectations. It's a LOAN for extra expenses, not free money you are entitled to. And having a process to get this money is GOOD that you don't end up in further debt. And if you're failing all your classes, takin out extra loan money should not be top priority. 
Aug. 14, 2012, 2 a.m.
0 votes/
I would not recommend  this school to my worst enemy. I graduated High Tech Institute (now known as Anthem College) in 2008 from the Criminal Justice program. The job placement department "tried" helping for almost a year to try and land a job in my field of study. I worked closely with the department as required and I of course applied for jobs ect. After a year of searching, they " helped" me land a job doing loss prevention at a retail department store, FOR MINIMUM WAGE. I took the job out of desperation to try and at least earn some type of experience in a related field. What ended up happening was that the job placement department counted that job as a "placement" and I was never contacted again. This school is not nationally accredited neither.I now have an Associates Degree that is useless. Companies would not hire you because they know this school's reputation. I'm now stuck with a very expensive loan and was never hired in the field of study. I also tried continuing my education by trying to enrolled to a number of state(nationally accredited) colleges/universities and not one of the credits would transfer. Basically, I would have to start all over with my education, because this degree doesn't count for anything. This is basically a waste of time and money. I wished I would have done a better research.  If you take anything from this comment, PLEASE do not go to this "college". The school was called High Tech Institute, the name was change due to horrible reputation. Just save your money and time, and go to a state college/university. It's cheaper and legit. 
April 6, 2012, 2:51 p.m.
0 votes/
I told them to stop calliing me and trying to get me to go there, stupid college needs to stop harrassing i already have my degree i want.
Jan. 5, 2012, 5:52 p.m.
0 votes/
This school is a total crock! I finished the DA program back in July and I figured, it'll take a few weeks for me to find employment... Yada yada yada... Well, I have never found employment and I've been out of school since June... 7 months... Nobody will hire someone from a school they've never heard of... WARNING: For those looking to go back to school, pick a local community college... They just want your money... All I have are bad memories from the place and a huge pile of debt that'll take me at least 20 years to pay-off. I DON'T RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL TO ANYONE! DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!
Nov. 2, 2011, 10 p.m.
+3 votes/
As a very recent former employee of this so called online school I must warn people about how they pray on people that will never be able to pay their loans back. Most of the employees are very immature and make fun of the people they have to contact and inappropriate harrassment is a joke with this school. A supervisor in the online department in Phx, Az and I will call him Josh has had or is still having a inappropriate relationship with a co worker in his department. When supervisors are having intercourse with co workers is their focus really on the business of making the school a better place for learning?
Oct. 10, 2011, 9:42 p.m.
+1 vote/
all the Anthem college campuses are profiting off disadvantaged people and getting these people to take out lots of student loans that they'' never be able to pay back.
Oct. 6, 2011, 10:07 p.m.
+1 vote/
Teachers allowed certain students to change answers on their test scores to get an a. I tested her by trying the same thing and I wasn't allowed. Others even confronted her about it. It was definately a racial thing. They don't even teach they just read from the book and basically do study hall. WAISTE OF TIME
Oct. 6, 2011, 9:12 p.m.
0 votes/
This school is a waist of time and money. The teacher and financial aid is unprofessional. If you go through a rough time in life they won't care!! All they want is their money. DON'T GO HERE
July 15, 2011, 3:04 p.m.
+2 votes/
Dont waste your money or time on this school. When I went the school was called High Tech Institute. They made these promises that I would be entering a career that would sustain my cost of living. Total B.S.
   DO YOURSELF A FAVOR - GO TO A JR.COLLEGE OR STATE.
THIS WILL SAVE YOU MONEY AND FRUSTRATION PEOPLE!!
April 14, 2011, 3:54 a.m.
+2 votes/
This school sucks one teacher gives you all the answers like come on u came to school to learn not cheat!!!! but i do have to give props i had one of the best teachers mrs judy hale she helped us with out work and didnt just give the answers to all the test and questions actually worked through it with us and she is what made that school but yet everybody all the other teachers gave her hell for no reason. otherwise if you do not have her as a teacher i wouldnt reccommend this school.
March 30, 2011, 6:22 p.m.
-3 votes/
Anthem is a wonderful school. I work for Anthem and the family orientated atmosphere is what I enjoy the most. Everyone looks for out for everyone's success whether it is a student or employee. I think the ones who are being negative are the ones who want things handed to them and do not think they have to do work. Anthem is like any other college you have to do home work and study and some people are just not dicipline enough to realize it is not Anthem that failed you. Anthem is by far a good company and school for anyone who takes there success seriously.
April 4, 2008, 9:19 p.m.
-1 vote/
I have been going to school here one year and before that I was taking classes with UTA. I have had no problems with the school or classes, I have learned more than my classes at UTA and any problems I have had with tech issues have been resolved in less than 12 hrs. I hope this school does not loose its accreditation because it is a great school. I do think they are too expensive but what school is not these days.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Anthem College in any way.