Art Institute Online

Review Average: 2.6 out of 10 (3 reviews)

Learn More

Art Institute Online Reviews:

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Art Institute Las Vegas
May 18, 2010
This school is a shame. They have people teaching courses that they do not have training in. I went to a design class and they had a G.E. teacher babysitting. It seems like a cult. All of the people that teach there are friends and relatives. They don't tell you who is teaching what and they have people in the catalog that are not even there. [Read more]

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Game Art & Design - Nice Idea, Bad Execution
February 3, 2008
I took on this program in the hopes that it was what I have been waiting for all my youth - a degree in a game related field. What this program is, however, is just a general approach to all facets of games creation minus the programming. It covers all factors of game art creation at a mostly beginner level with a few other classes thrown in there that are challenging to learn in respects ... [Read more]

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Not for single parent
May 14, 2011
The art institute says they will help and support but if you are a single parent beware. My son got really sick and I had to travel to hospitals 1 to 4 hours away to see specialist. I told my adviser I am finishing classes this semester but I need to take a semester off. My sons health comes first and I cant handle traveling see specialist like the cancer one and classes. Its a ... [Read more]

Read all 3 Art Institute Online reviews...


Learn More

Programs:

Read all 3 reviews...

Write a Art Institute Online Review


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Old Comments

Sept. 28, 2010, 6:56 p.m.
-1 vote/
I have just spent hours on the phone giving these guys my social security number drivers license number and more. They said I could review the costs before i made my decision, was that a lie? Will they charge me anyway? I said I wanted time to think about it and they pushed but said they would call back in 2 days. I can still say no right? Are these people going to charge me 6,000!!!
Sept. 2, 2010, 4:45 a.m.
0 votes/
This school is a joke. Don't waste your money, seriously.  You don't get any real instruction you are pretty much teaching yourself with the limited amount of information they give you.  I was unfortunately suckered into this school and have been attending for a year.  The "teachers" should be called moderators as they really don't teach you anything.  The classes are organized by someone else and the "teacher" just grades the assignments.  Not to mention that your "advisors" don't return phone calls or emails.
Aug. 14, 2010, 8:56 a.m.
0 votes/
Obviously, this is just the South, so just imagine how many non-profit schools across the country offer online courses and/or programs.
Aug. 14, 2010, 8:54 a.m.
0 votes/
Even more traditional schools with online courses and/or programs.

Texas
Alvin Community College
Amberton University
Central Texas College
Dallas Baptist University
Dallas TeleCollege
Grayson County College
Lamar University
Midwestern State University
Northwest Vista College
Odessa College
Palo Alto College
Panola College
Prairie View A&M University
Sam Houston State University
St. Philip's College
Stephen F. Austin State University
Tarleton State University
Texas A&M University, College Station
Texas A&M University, Commerce
Texas A&M University, Kingsville
Texas Wesleyan University
University of Houston, Clear Lake
University of Houston, Victoria
University of North Texas
University of Texas, Brownsville and Texas Southmost College
University of Texas, Dallas
University of Texas, El Paso
University of Texas, Health Science Center at Houston
University of Texas, Permian Basin
University of Texas, San Antonio
Wayland Baptist University
West Texas A & M University
Western Texas College

Virginia
Blue Ridge Community College, Virginia
Central Virginia Community College
Dabney Lancaster Community College
Danville Community College
Eastern Shore Community College
Germanna Community College
J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College
John Tyler Community College
Longwood University
Lord Fairfax Community College
Mountain Empire Community College
New River Community College (Virginia)
Northern Virginia Community College
Old Dominion University
Patrick Henry Community College
Paul D. Camp Community College
Piedmont Virginia Community College
Rappahannock Community College
Southside Virginia Community College
Southwest Virginia Community College
Thomas Nelson Community College
Tidewater Community College
Virginia Commonwealth University
Virginia Highlands Community College
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech)
Virginia Western Community College
Wytheville Community College

West Virginia
Blue Ridge Community and Technical College (West Virginia)
Bluefield State College (West Virginia)
Bridgemont Community & Technical College (previously Community & Technical College at WVU Tech)
Concord University
Eastern WV Community and Technical College
Fairmont State University
Marshall University
Mountwest Community & Technical College
West Liberty University
West Virginia Northern Community College
West Virginia University
West Virginia University at Parkersburg
West Virginia University Institute of Technology
Aug. 14, 2010, 8:53 a.m.
+1 vote/
More traditional schools with online courses and/or programs.

Louisiana
Baton Rouge Community College
Bossier Parish Community College
CALL
Delgado Community College
Grambling State University
Louisiana State University and A & M College
Louisiana State University, Alexandria
Louisiana State University, Eunice
Louisiana State University, Health Sciences Center, New Orleans
Louisiana State University, Shreveport
Louisiana Tech University
McNeese State University
Nicholls State University
Northwestern State University
Nunez Community College
River Parishes Community College
South Louisiana Community College
Southeastern Louisiana University
Southern University and A&M College
Southern University at New Orleans
Southern University at Shreveport
University of Louisiana at Lafayette
University of Louisiana at Monroe
University of New Orleans

Maryland
Anne Arundel Community College
Capitol College
College of Southern Maryland
Morgan State University
Towson University
University of Baltimore
University of Maryland Baltimore
University of Maryland Baltimore County

Mississippi
Alcorn State University, Natchez Campus
Coahoma Community College
Mississippi State University
Mississippi University for Women
Mississippi Valley State University
University of Southern Mississippi

North Carolina
Alamance Community College
Central Carolina Community College
Cleveland Community College
Coastal Carolina Community College, NC
Durham Technical Community College
East Carolina University
Elizabeth City State University
Fayetteville Technical Community College
Haywood Community College
North Carolina State University
Pitt Community College
Randolph Community College
University of North Carolina, Charlotte
University of North Carolina, Pembroke
Western Carolina University

Oklahoma
Cameron University
Northwestern Oklahoma State University
Oklahoma Panhandle State University
Oklahoma State University, Oklahoma City
Oklahoma State University, Stillwater
Rogers State University
Southeastern Oklahoma State University
University of Central Oklahoma

South Carolina
Clemson University
Limestone College
Medical University of South Carolina
Piedmont Technical College
University of South Carolina, Aiken
University of South Carolina, Columbia
University of South Carolina, Upstate
York Technical College

Tennessee
Austin Peay State University
East Tennessee State University
Middle Tennessee State University
Pellissippi State Community College
Tennessee Regents Online Degree Programs
Tennessee State University
Tennessee Technological University
The University of Memphis
University of Tennessee, Health Science Center, Memphis
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
University of Tennessee, Martin
University of Tennessee, Space Institute
Aug. 14, 2010, 8:51 a.m.
+1 vote/
All of these tradition schools offer online degree courses and/or programs.

Alabama
Amridge University
Auburn University
Calhoun Community College
Enterprise State Community College
Jacksonville State University (Alabama)
Lurleen B. Wallace Community College
Northwest-Shoals Community College
Troy University
Troy University, Montgomery Campus
United States Sports Academy
University of Alabama
University of Alabama, Birmingham
University of Alabama, Huntsville
University of North Alabama

Arkansas
Arkansas State University, Beebe
Arkansas State University, Jonesboro
Arkansas State University, Mountain Home
Arkansas State University, Newport
Arkansas Tech University
Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas
East Arkansas Community College
Henderson State University
North Arkansas College
NorthWest Arkansas Community College
Ozarka College
Phillips Community College of the University of Arkansas
Pulaski Technical College
Southeast Arkansas College
Southern Arkansas University
Southern Arkansas University Tech
University of Arkansas, Community College Hope
University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
University of Arkansas, Fort Smith
University of Arkansas, Little Rock
University of Arkansas, Monticello
University of Arkansas, Pine Bluff
University of Central Arkansas

Delaware
Delaware Technical & Community College
University of Delaware

Florida
Brevard Community College
Broward College
Daytona State College
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Florida Agricultural & Mechanical University
Florida Atlantic University
Florida Gulf Coast University
Florida Institute of Technology
Florida State College at Jacksonville
Florida State University
Gulf Coast Community College
Indian River State College
Northwest Florida State College
Nova Southeastern University
Palm Beach Community College
Pensacola Junior College
Saint Leo University
Santa Fe College
St. Johns River Community College
St. Petersburg College
Tallahassee Community College
University of Central Florida
University of Florida
University of South Florida
University of West Florida

Georgia
Albany State University
Armstrong Atlantic State University
Brenau University
Columbus State University
Darton College
Georgia College & State University
Georgia Institute of Technology
Georgia Southern University
Georgia Southwestern State University
Georgia State University
Georgia Virtual Technical College
Gwinnett Technical College
Kennesaw State University
Middle Georgia College
North Georgia College & State University
Southern Polytechnic State University
Southwest Georgia Technical College
University of Georgia
University of West Georgia
Valdosta State University

Kentucky
Eastern Kentucky University
Midway College
Morehead State University
Murray State University, Kentucky
University of Louisville
Western Kentucky University
Aug. 12, 2010, 3:40 p.m.
-1 vote/
I attended the Art Institute of Pittsburgh Online Division (AIPOD) and have never been more disappointed! Before even signing on, I explained to my enrollment officer that I was unemployed and had two young children. My husband did not have enough income to cover any cost. he assured me that financial aid would cover all tuition, and it did. However, he told me that the only out of pocket expense I would have is a book now and again. This was a HUGE lie, considering the thousands of dollars that was needed for software. I had to shell out $400 dollars for software that I only used once! Needless to say, I have dropped out and am cautiously looking for a new school.
July 17, 2010, 1:35 a.m.
-1 vote/
Ok, first don't let yourself be pushed into enrollement like i was.  i requested information and filled out an application to see if i would get in, because i still wanted my options.  well when i changed my mind, they would not take no for an answer.  they kept calling and pushing and pushing.  so when i finally caved because ty it the first week its a drop period and i wouldn't be fined, i decided to withdraw on the last day because i discovered learning online was not for me.  i called and emailed proffessors, admissions representative, and academic representative for 1 1/2 hr to 2 hrs, and no one responded or was there once.  finally i had to get on a live chat and talk to student services after being on hold for like 1/2 hr because i didn't want to be fined, bceause it was on the last day of the drop period.  so when i finally spoke to someone in student services he said he would write a ticket and he gave me the number and said he would send it to my advisiors notifiying them of my withdrawl and said i wouldn't be fined for anything.  but i am still a little skeptical.  so only time will tell if he was true to his words.  

believe me, i am not a confrotational person at all.  i really do try to avoid it.  

so hopefully everything will be ok.  honestly i try to find the good in everything, but i would not recomend Art Institute Online becuase of there pushiness to meet there needs, and the class was very poor in quality and confusing.  but thats just my opinion.  others have probably had different expierences with AIO
May 30, 2010, 4:08 p.m.
-1 vote/
Well im tottaly confused. Personally I disliked ai from the comercials. I once heard why a schools advertismeent is so low is because a truly good school needs none. That it's students our the only advertisment they need.But I truly don't understand what to think about this school. I might go ahead looking at the next one on my list just in case.
May 12, 2010, 1:11 p.m.
0 votes/
I've seen firsthand how classes are run at AIO, being a former instructor. You must adhere to exactly what the so called "instructional designers" put in your class - and when you are assigned a new class, it's done without any explanation or background on what the class is. You're basically thrown into a new class and are supposed to "guess" what the instructional designer was trying to accomplish with their discussion questions. You pretty much have a week to a couple days at most to review the classroom information, assignments, and text books.

Yes, EDMC is totally for profit - they don't care what type of caliber a student is as long as they're getting their money at the end of the day. It's not a school like SVA or Julliard where you actually have to have talent to get through the admissions process. Admissions representatives? What a joke - more like "sales representatives." 

Part time instructors like myself are given just as much "care" as students are. So if you feel that you have an instructor who isn't giving you a quality education, it's probably just because he's in it for an easy paycheck, because he's past caring at this point. It's sad, but true.
April 23, 2010, 2:37 a.m.
0 votes/
Having read the many reviews of Ai, I find something particularly disingenuous and suspect about both aio_junkie and Kopyrritte. Both are wolves in sheep clothing, pushing an agenda. Insidious insiders.

Of all the favorable and (mostly) unfavorable reviews, those two are the only to attack the students making legitimate claims. Why is that? Most counter-point arguments take the form of "Well this is your experience, here's mine"; not by leveling a personal attack against someone else. What you're trying to hide is revealed in plain sight.

aio_junkie doesn't write from any actual student perspective; in fact, the only insight one gets is that aio_junkie might just be working for Ai. Imagine that.

As for Kopyritte, how could you know _everything_ aio_junkie says is true? It's all very vindictive and written in a challenging (read: threatening) tone. And then you follow up with petty personal attacks on another student. Are you the same person? If you're trolling, you could at least throw a better smokescreen.

aio_junkie is a fraud, an insider with a bone to pick and a dog in this fight. Too bad he or she reacts so unfavorably to criticism; it's revealing of both agenda and character.
Oct. 19, 2011, 4:04 p.m.
-1 vote/
The Art institute of Pittsburgh online division might as well be a very
High priced diploma mill. Don't take anything at face value.
The tactics used are  always manipulative
And are always to increase the schools income. The students best interest
Does not matter.  Do yourself a favor and do not
Enroll in any Art Institute. There is a whistleblower
Lawsuit pending. Trust me!! Google it. 
Feb. 20, 2011, 5:23 a.m.
+1 vote/
Like everyone else said, this school is a JOKE. First they stuck me in courses for a degree I DID NOT WANT. They also messed up on my placement test and my Adviser blamed me! The people won't call you back. The classes are useless. I was there for a year and have gotten NO WHERE! Save your time and money and don't go there.
April 18, 2010, 12:40 a.m.
-3 votes/
I think AIO is a great school. Ive learned a lot from there and just like the AIO junkie said everything is true. C_Eve is probably a horrible artist or whatever she is pursuing and doesn't want to study her text books or have the time to. I just recently took perspective and it was a great experience. Of course it was a refreshment from my high school years. But I gained more then 2 days worth of knowledge from the class. Because I read the text books. The only thing that bothers me about the school is buying textbooks. Which is something you have to do at any school. Otherwise it has been a great experience for me and I have learned better online than on campus. It has been more on hands for me and also the teachers focus on you more personally when grading your work. And that has been with every class I have taken so far. Right now I am in a math class and most of all my other students in my class have been at AIO for two or more years and have had a great experience.  Goodluck to everyone
April 15, 2010, 8:46 p.m.
-1 vote/
I'm trying to figure out why are art classes being taken online? Art is hands-on. In a field like this your better off attending an actual school.
March 25, 2010, 7:07 p.m.
0 votes/
I've been taking classes at AIO for half a year now and I'm really fed up.  I knew the classes were only 6 weeks long but I'm barely learning anything.  Most of our grade is based on the kind of feedback we provide other students - wether its right or wrong.  What does a beginning student know about perspective or design?  I don't want feedback from new students.  I want it from an experienced teacher.  And I don't like providing comments that are probably wrong.  The amount of actual design is very little and the teachers comments are usually vague or unhelpful.  Some of the teachers do not give comments based on the assignment criteria but only based on their personal opinion.  'I don't care if you don't like the color purple or my subject matter, did I use the right rules of perspective and design?'  I am learning but I don't feel like I'm learning enough from each class.  I feel like I'm getting 2 days worth of knowledge out of each 6 week course.  To top it off my awesome admissions advisor has been replaced with a jerk for a student advisor.  He keeps signing me up for classes I don't want or classes I've already taken.  He keeps telling me my credits from good brick and mortar schools won't transfer but after I complain they are.  They are just hoping I won't notice the extra classes so they can make more money.  I'm really frustrated and I plan to switch to SCAD e-learning to see if their classes are any better.
March 23, 2010, 11:07 p.m.
-2 votes/
You can complain all you want that you had to teach yourself something to do well in a class, but I dare you to find another school that will have an instructor with his hands over yours on the keyboard teaching you software. Who are you to give a curriculum evaluation when you don't even have a degree? You learned what you needed to learn to advance yourself for the class and earned a grade. Good, now use those in your portfolio, stand out from the rest and have a degree on your resume. EDMC owned or not, for profit or not, whether or not instructors are standing over you telling you play by play how to use the software, you can choose to advance yourself into a position you desire if you work towards that. I don't care what school you go to, yes, a lot of what you're paying for is resource: library, tutorials/tutoring etc etc etc. And give me a break. Computer based design courses will transfer from 20 years ago? You really expected that one? Suck it up and do what you have to do and stop blaming everyone else for your failures. You get what you pay for. You are obligated to teach yourself, regardless of institution; don't consider yourself a sponge that's going to absorb everything an instructor says. It's not good enough. There is no easy way out. Earn it.

Oh and by the way, no one can legally ask if you are a student with disabilities; that information must be provided by the student. There are ways to get help.

What are you going to do to help yourself today?
July 13, 2010, 11:47 p.m.
0 votes/
I have reviewed portfolios from Art Institute students over the past 25 years and they are consistently the least educated and most poorly trained designers I have ever met.  It's not their fault, the school's a diploma mill with fun TV commercials.

Wherever you live, go somewhere else.  Avoid the Art Institute chain at all costs.  

Think hard period if you really want to go into a field overrun already with too many practitioners.  Unless you're supremely talented there are few jobs to find in many design and multimedia fields.
Jan. 29, 2010, 11:15 p.m.
-1 vote/
One of my relatives is an AI student. She has learning disabilities. She has done well in some areas but horrible in others. No one at AI seems to notice that she obviously needs help/maybe even a curriculum change in some areas. As long as her mother keeps paying the sky high tuition they don't seem to mind.
Oct. 19, 2009, 11:46 p.m.
-1 vote/
I attended AIO and received a certificate in web design. After completing the course (and maintaining a 3.8gpa) I find that the only thing I truly gained from my experience was a ton owed in student loans. Since the classes are only 6 weeks long, you are just touching on subjects, but not really sinking your teeth into any of it. Do I know more now then when I started? Yes.... but I did NOT come away with the skills needed to help me gain employment in the field of web design.
Sept. 28, 2009, 11:39 p.m.
-1 vote/
I attended the AIO for two years until I couldn't afford it. I plan on returning. It was really great when I went and I learned far more than I ever did on an actual campus. Yes, they changed my advisors a lot but the teaching was really great.
July 20, 2009, 7:08 p.m.
-1 vote/
I just recently withdrew after completing about 75% of my classes towards an Associates in Graphic Design.  I found myself basically teaching myself everything, using the class required books and the software and the internet for even more support.  It's just not worth the money.  I know I'm not getting the same quality education as being in a classroom.  I think AIO would be worth the $ for someone who has been working as a Graphic Designer and just needs the piece of paper to move ahead with their career.  But literally, I was teaching myself and although I have a 3.91, my work was not portfolio worthy to this point - the assignments were pretty lame. VERY EXPENSIVE lesson to learn.  (I only took the art courses, my other credits transfered from my previous colleges.)
July 7, 2009, 12:27 p.m.
-1 vote/
I made it through 2 of the 4 years in the BS Media Arts and Animation program at Art Institute Online. My GPA thus far is 3.82. I am a good and dedicated student.
I am also an alumni with an Associates Degree in Visual Communications from the Art Institute of Pittsburgh (1989-91)

I am now withdrawing from the college to seek my education elsewhere.

Art Institute of Pittsburgh back in 1989 was fantastic. Now that they are owned by Education Management Corporation, all that they care about is the $$$.

While some of the instructors were absolutely great, most were not... I found myself actually learning more about the software I was using (3DS MAX, Adobe CS4, etc.) from tutorials I found all by myself online (like at YouTube) than what the school/my instructors were providing... Basically I was paying AIO, but teaching things to myself.

In the two years I have been with AIO, I have had my student advisor changed on me 5 times. Most of them could never even remember my name.
Last year my mother passed away at the very beginning of the session (2 days into class). I was told that I could take the bereavement leave, BUT I STILL HAD TO PAY FOR THE CLASSES I would be missing, and then pay for them again when I returned to retake them. Ridiculous & insensitive. That should have been my first clue.

Actually, my first clue should have been all the credits that they would not accept from my previous degree towards this one, EVEN THOUGH THEY CAME FROM THE SAME SCHOOL!
I was an Art Institute Alumni, and thet were basically telling me that the degree that they gave me then was worthless to transfer credits from towards courses in a related field. (Graphic Designer degree to digital design).

AIO's tuition rates are also 3-4 times above the national average for similar "on-ground" courses at other colleges. In fact, almost all of the "Education Management Corporation" schools tend to be a much higher cost for tuition on avaerage. Plus EDMC has been accused of a lot of unsavory recruiting and business practices... Please, take the time to research this research this yourself.


My advice is to do some extensive research about AIO before making any desicion about going there. There are plenty of other colleges out there that are a lot more trustworthy and a lot more considerate of their students.... and will cost you a lot less as well...
May 20, 2009, 7:14 p.m.
-1 vote/
I attended AIO for a few quarters. They changed my academic advisor 3 times and my financial advisor twice. They promote creativity, but then they don't allow it. I was in the Fashion and Retail Management Program. I did not care for the instructors as they did not really teach, they implemented thier online reading and textbook reading and left it at that. When you had real questions they didn't seem to be able to do anything but send you to a website where you can read about it. If thats all education was I would have several degrees by now. I also did not like how they preapproved my financial aid, and then when it was not approved they foot me with the $2500 bill. Shouldn't make a promise that its covered unless they are willing to cover the bill. I was already through the first week of class when they told me it was not approved and by then I was stuck paying the bill. Very unprofessional attitude at AIO. I have called in to their billing department a few times and have recieved nasty attitudes. Overall, bad school, they are more interested in money and enrollment then making qualified educated professionals for the work world.
March 11, 2008, 11:01 a.m.
-1 vote/
To me the AIO was worthless. I withdrew mainly because of misguided information and poor career services. After my first month,they repeatedly switched my academic advisors and it took me three of these so called advisors to answer my questions.I had bills coming in from AIO that were unstated and got worried.They dont care about your education,they just worry about how many people they can convince into their program.
Oct. 19, 2011, 4:09 p.m.
-1 vote/
So True! Now the Art institute of Pittsburgh online division
Is being sued by whistleblowers. 
Oct. 3, 2007, 3:55 p.m.
0 votes/
What are the requirments for getting into this school ?

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Art Institute Online in any way.