Aspen University

Aspen University is a nationally accredited school offering undergraduate and graduate training in business, criminal justice, information systems, nursing, and technology management. Credit is awarded for Aspen University coursework, competency exams, portfolios, and credits earned at other institutions. Proctored exams may be taken at one of 700 testing sites nationwide.

Review Average: 6.8 out of 10 (83 reviews)

Aspen University Reviews:

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
Aspen University gave me a tremendous education
August 30, 2011
Years ago I completed my BSN at Ohio State University. Since then my background has been in hospital critical care nursing and nursing leadership and legal nurse consulting for close to three decades. Perhaps because I am driven and eager to apply the offered material, I worked very hard for each module while working full time. I just completed my MBA. For those considering Aspen compared to a brick and mortar program, I started previously ... [Read more]

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
Aspen is indeed a great school, highly recommend
February 10, 2012
Anyone who has posted a negative review probably has not attended this school, or was unable to finish, or did not really immerse themselves fully into the program. It's not Harvard Business School. It's an online MBA, which is especially good for working adults. It's convenient, and not extremely demanding. But one can learn a great deal from the program, and apply it to their job. The professors were all around very good and helpful. ... [Read more]

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
If you can read books to learn, you learn through Aspen
February 25, 2013
I have learned a lot despite having an undergraduate degree in business management and substantial experience doing project management (PM) work. My goal is to obtain a Master's Certificate in PM, become certified as PMP, and then finish my MBA in project management. The classes are all online. If you enroll in the "Flex Scheduling" program, you essentially have 10 weeks to complete 8 Modules. Each module consists of reading 2-3 chapters in a couple ... [Read more]

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
Great University Experience
October 1, 2012
I am not sure why some people have had bad experiences at Aspen but I can say that for me it has been a great learning experience. The instructors have been willing to help in every way I have requested and the University Admin has been great to work with. After I began the pursuit of my degree, I read a review where the student said all he did was cut and paste from others ... [Read more]

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
GREAT SCHOOL !!
February 8, 2012
I am amazed at the users that gave Aspen poor reviews. They could not have actually been students because the school is terrific. I am just finishing my Capstone project for my MBA-Finance now and have learned so much from the program. The professors are great, the technology is great, the curriculum and materials are great, and the staff are great. Before entering the program, I searched diligently for a good online MBA program to ... [Read more]

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
Challenging curricula if you apply yourself
January 26, 2012
I'm currently in my third MBA-IM class at Aspen and I have learned a ton! I love that I can work at my own pace as long as I have the assignments done within a 10 week time frame. My modules have typically been around 15-20 pages for each one (typically 8 per class but Qualitative Analysis had 3 really long papers). You can do less and probably pass if you turn in the work, ... [Read more]

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
MBA in Finance.
January 2, 2013
I just completed all my course requirements for my MBA in Finance. I am waiting to complete my last examination and a Cap Stone. The classes are not a walk in the park..requires a lot of time to complete the assignments. I have read all the negative comments and tend to think that these individuals had personal issues and had nothing to do with the school or its program. I would recommend people to take ... [Read more]

Read all 83 Aspen University reviews...

Programs:

Read all 83 reviews...

Write a Aspen University Review


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Old Comments

Oct. 8, 2012, 8:20 p.m.
+1 vote/
Aspen is a good school, but not for everyone.  If you need a lot of personal guidance you will have problems.  The online classes are presented through second-rate technology.  Regardless, the courses are rigorous and the staff are helpful.  If you are academically competent you will love Aspen.  If you need a very structured format with handholding, look elsewhere.
July 8, 2012, 8:41 a.m.
0 votes/
Hi All,
i have just made up my mind to pursue my higher education with Aspen from MBA to full Doctorate, i didnt see any -ve review on quality of programm instead i see people complaining about money, money refund as scam, i don't see where quality education if free, they will have to pay their staff and proffs, give me a break!!
July 3, 2012, 6:42 p.m.
+2 votes/
Very good university with great coerces. I'm having an awesome time in doing MSIS.
Feb. 23, 2012, 10:04 a.m.
0 votes/
Students Beware! We are finding that registrar Suzanne Partain and Aspen University have pulled the same scam they did to me on MANY other people. I paid in full, in advance and have absolutely nothing to how for it. They refuse to refund thousands of dollars. SCAM ALERT!!!
April 6, 2012, 3:29 p.m.
0 votes/
How is that? I am planning to attend and my last step is to sign my financial aid form. 
Dec. 13, 2011, 11:56 p.m.
-3 votes/
@Disappointed - all schools charge numerous, usually small, non-refundable fees now, not just Aspen.  Airlines too.  And my water/gas/electric bills.  And phone service.  Sucks, but what are you going to do?

Calling the school a SCAM seems a bit petty for someone who earned (bought?) a doctorate.  A ULC honorary doctorate doesn't count by the way.  I would expect a more eloquent analysis and evaluation from someone with your pedigree.

The Aspen studies in my program so far requires a significant amount of writing and research.  I was able to talk with the instructor by phone and received responses to emails within a day.  Administration has always gotten back with me same day on most questions and issues.

I agree that the website and student portal could use some (ok, a lot of) improvement.  The word I heard last is that change is coming to the website in early 2012.  For contrast and compare, take a look at NCU's student portal if you can get access.  Makes Aspen's site look downright user-friendly.

Dec. 7, 2011, 4:07 p.m.
-3 votes/
School is a SCAM. I was enrolled for exactly 4 weeks for the MBA/Pharm for learning enrichment. Professors didn't teach you anything. Their school website for turning in assignments and discussion forum is incredibly out-dated and very dis-organized! Come on now! This is a graduate program. When I requested a refund, the main person who is charge of the Bursar office, Tina Bear, she never responded for 4 weeks. The head of the school, Susan Partain, quote me a different refund amount than what was said by 2 other different people. I just find it disgusting that this school can charge you so many different fees. I paid upfront $2700 and got a refund back for only $1000. It was pathetic charging me the technology fee that I didn't even use. This school is a rip-off and the administration is all about money. I am serious! I already have a doctorate degree and trust me my review of this school is legit. Get your MBA education somewhere else that is worthy!
Oct. 29, 2011, 10:46 a.m.
0 votes/
The only thing which is clear is they are nationally-accredited but the +Ve and bright part is CHEA.ORG has their listing and they have doctors on board ! 

Oct. 7, 2011, 7:54 p.m.
+4 votes/
Great value and it's not easy.  Be prepared to work for your degree (mine is MBA).  Must be disciplined to work the process each night to stay on course.  I would recommend to freinds, and I have.  
April 8, 2011, 6:57 p.m.
-1 vote/
Aspen was great to me! It got me into the MLB. They offered me a full scholarship to play tennis in the mountains. You're great Aspen!

I also love that we were able to film Dumb and Dumber here. Great Movie!

Capa-sci-tem Class of 2011!!!!!
April 8, 2011, 6:43 p.m.
-2 votes/
aspen univercitie helped me get a job werking with animals an i love animels 
April 4, 2011, 1:41 p.m.
+1 vote/
The website could be better... much much better.
April 2, 2011, 3:20 p.m.
0 votes/
Aspen University is an awesome university. If you want to get a good degree without incurring debt, this is a great place. Supportive staff and professors. Highly recommend 
March 26, 2011, 5:04 p.m.
+1 vote/
good online school but the website could be better...
Feb. 24, 2011, 6:52 a.m.
+2 votes/
Check out HETA (Higher Education Transfer Alliance) for the list of RA schools that accept NA degrees into their graduate programs. It's true that some will accept NA credits/degrees but the majority will not. Then again, there are rare cases wherein really good RA universities accept NA credits and degrees. Ultimately, if you have the money, go to an RA university. If you don't have the money, have adequate work experience, and want more flexibility, get an NA degree. In the end, employers will look and assess your entire resume and not just the school you went to when you apply for a job...
Jan. 12, 2011, 4:55 p.m.
0 votes/
Anyone considering an NA degree program must understand that the majority of RA universities will not recognize the credits and degrees earned at an NA institution. Therefore, research this very carefully before attending an NA university. If you plan to attend graduate school at a RA university after earning an undergraduate degree from an NA university (for example) I would recommend that you contact the universities you are considering for graduate work before attending an NA university. You will find that there are some (a few) that will accept NA credits/degrees but the majority will not. That is a simple fact of life! The reason for this fact is that RA universities do not feel that NA curriculum is equal to RA curriculum.
Dec. 2, 2010, 2:39 p.m.
+1 vote/
I'm well aware of the debate NA vs RA.
Not all NA schools are the same, some are much more challenging then others. The same for RA, some are lousy others are awesome.
As to exams, well in the name recognized B&M RA / ABET  university about 70% of professors when putting exams together use extended versions of the text book, the kind that come with problems and answers.

I personally compared the proctored exams of the same class, using the same text book and to my surprise, one NA school was more challenging , they used 3 part exam, that included essay, and design portion that was not in the text book.

In all other instances the exams were word for word identical, RA or NA.
Dec. 1, 2010, 7:02 p.m.
-5 votes/
I believe most of you will be sorry in the future that you attended an NA university. Only time will tell! Do remember my words!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Nov. 29, 2010, 10:40 p.m.
-3 votes/
I proctored some of those NA exams. They are so easy that a 12 year old could pass them!
Nov. 29, 2010, 10:35 p.m.
0 votes/
I don't believe you. If it is true, you must have gone to a really bad RA university!
Nov. 28, 2010, 11:32 p.m.
+4 votes/
To all you Aspen haters.

I have done a Masters degree in Engineering from a very reputed RA university before I did an MBA/IM at Aspen.
I only have the Capstone project and the proctored exam remaining. From my experience, I had to put in atleast 4 times (this is not an exaggeration) more effort into my Aspen degree than my well reputed RA college. The knowledge I gained from my RA school is nothing compared to what I gained through Aspen. 

I would hire an Aspen graduate any day over any RA graduate.
By the way, the RA university I studied in, in the top rated in the region for Engineering.
Nov. 24, 2010, 8:56 p.m.
+8 votes/
Aspen MBA is accepted for US Government Civil Service purposes.  An MBA gets you 30 more points than a BA in the promotion process and that is a critical discriminator, so I'd say the NA/RA issue is unimportant for government employees.
Nov. 21, 2010, 5:59 p.m.
0 votes/
I knew that!!!:-(  thats why I'm so jealous of you.
My RA degree that cost me 100K didn't lend any jobs. I wander if the HR department knew that I came from a partying and cheating kind-of RA schools.
WHen I tried NA university I actually had to study, I'm a drop out so I hate NA.
Nov. 21, 2010, 5:56 p.m.
+4 votes/
Actually as soon as I graduated with my NA degree I got hired by leading high tech company.
I was selected out of hundreds candidates for the job.
Nov. 20, 2010, 6:29 p.m.
-6 votes/
I believe your NA resume will be in the trash as soon as it gets to a HR department!
Nov. 18, 2010, 10:23 a.m.
+11 votes/
RA Gold standard :-)- yea right!

UCF Professor Busts Students For Cheating

w w w.wftv.com/news/25746350/detail.html

A University of Central Florida professor found out hundreds of students cheated on his mid-term and Wednesday he spoke with WFTV. He said 600 students were given until midnight to retake the exam.

The UCF College of Business professor noticed abnormally high scores. Soon afterward, students came forward saying someone had all the answers.

This is what got me...

This is college. Everyone cheats. Everyone cheats in life in general. I think you'd be hard pressed to find anyone in this testing lab who hasn't cheated on an exam. They're making a witch hunt out of absolutely nothing, as if they want to teach us some kind of moral lesson," student Konstantin Ravvin said.
--

Place to party and cheat - RA
Nov. 16, 2010, 11:42 p.m.
+1 vote/
NA degree acceptance:

Federal government (civilian)--yes
Military--yes, usually
State and local governments--lots of them, yes
Private (commercial and not-for-profit)--hit-and-miss; I suspect more hits
Academia (administrative)--hit-and-miss; I suspect more misses
Academia (faculty)--almost always no
Nov. 7, 2010, 11:30 p.m.
-2 votes/
Let me make it simple so all the Aspen students can fully comprehend! NA=BAD  RA=GOOD
Oct. 29, 2010, 12:42 a.m.
0 votes/
Well, probably you're not heard correctly MR @.    There is no RA/NA ratings in most foreign countries.  Most countries the colleges are affiliated with some local universities. Every year 1000s of people moving from foreign countries to US to take technical and management positions in all fields. How are they getting into US companies? They just do education evaluation and compare their degree with US degree and will take them board.  They don't look that degree is RA equivalent or NA equivalent.

I agree that getting RA degree's are better, but it doesn't mean NA degrees are worthless.  Don't think RA degrees will help you buy Ferrari.  But, I can gurantee NA degree will help you by Honda.
Oct. 26, 2010, 5:17 p.m.
0 votes/
"I have heard that HR managers will not even look at NA candidates!"
You've heard.  That makes it rumor, which is unsubstantiated.

"Most employers and RA universities simply will not accept an NA degree!"
While the university part is true, you need to provide facts and statistics to back the part regarding employers.
Oct. 25, 2010, 1:48 p.m.
+1 vote/
Just completed the MBA program.  Good school, great price, and the learnings were invaluable.  I recommend this school and program.
Oct. 24, 2010, 5:47 p.m.
-11 votes/
I don't think you completely understand. I have heard that HR managers will not even look at NA candidates! It is not a question of RA students wanting to justify anything! It is a question of recognition by future employers and other universities! Most employers and RA universities simply will not accept an NA degree! Period!
Nov. 2, 2010, 9:10 p.m.
0 votes/
I completed two degrees and I have been considering a Masters Degree from Aspen University. The most amazing part of my career is that not even one emplyoer in my 5 year career asked me what degree I graduated from and what was my GPA. I totally agree it all depends on the person being interviewed and the person interviewing. I have seen idiots from around world unable to speak English working in USA without USA degree and qualification. Currently I work for a very prestigious multinational research company.
Oct. 21, 2010, 12:58 a.m.
0 votes/
Well said Mr.Why. I do agree with your comments. Some RA students just want to justify and please themselves for their high investment education. Just ignore them.

Your knowledge is the key to success not RA degree. It's just Aspen or any community college, just give your best to learn. In my opinion, ASPEN format is good, affordable, worth for the money that you pay. No regrets.
Oct. 19, 2010, 8:14 p.m.
0 votes/
Why criticize people who are trying to better themselves?  I have 2 Bachelors degrees from RA schools and am working on my MBA at Aspen.  It's no less challenging.  As a hiring manager for a very large corporation, I would not "throw someone's resume in the trash" because their degree is NA.   The President of Aspen, himself, has 2 NA Masters degrees.  

These type accreditation topics are only important to the individuals involved.  I say good for anyone wishing to obtain an education of any type.  RA, NA, free courses from MIT and so on.
Oct. 18, 2010, 9:56 p.m.
0 votes/
TO Shark Part II  -  Not all management students are going to reach at corporate level. Then why everyone study business management? because apart from corporate, we have functional level, and business level managers.  Its the same case for RA universities.  Not all the RA University students are going to selected by so called "prospective employers" or corporate level jobs.   Just giving 70k to some business school is not going to fetch a job.   My only point is, if you think studying at RA Universities is the only option to  fetch a  good job, then you're wrong and you can still get good positions by doing at NA Universities.  Instead of spending 70k, I will spend my time to build network to fetch good job with the education I have from NA.

BTW, I am not writing English essay here to mind for grammar and spell.  I am good, as long you readers understand what I am saying.
Oct. 13, 2010, 5:28 p.m.
0 votes/
What is the MBA tuition?
Oct. 13, 2010, 6:45 a.m.
0 votes/
I am planning to do MBA (Pharmacy)from aspen , How difficult its to complete their courses.How many hours per week do I need to spend If I enroll two courses per semister ? Are the proctored exams essay or MCQ type ? All I need is an MBA and doesn't really care about acceditaion etc.I work full time with a family and has very less free time...
Oct. 13, 2010, 4:40 a.m.
0 votes/
Hi all,
I am planning to book MBA-Fin from Aspen U. What do you guys suggest? Would it be a good investment?
Oct. 11, 2010, 11:42 p.m.
0 votes/
The vast majority of prospective employers will throw your NA resume in the trash.
Oct. 8, 2010, 7:13 p.m.
0 votes/
I am in the middle portion of my MBA at Aspen. I have to admit that I was apprehensive at first, but it's been excellent. I cannot say enough good things about it. The workload is very manageable. I am a mother of 2 also! I highly recommend this school
Oct. 5, 2010, 5:59 p.m.
0 votes/
Common guys. Just think before you Ink.. Don't come with stupid messages.  Whether you do in RA university or NA university, its up to individual caliber to learn and practice what they learned.   What book you're reading in RA universities?  What level of support you're getting? Are they giving any thing special apart from the brnad ??

In fact,I see the Aspen MBA Text books are the best in the market.  People learn things by reading good books and guidance. I feel so sorry for people spending their hard earn money 40k to 70k for getting MBA.  In this current world, education is also a investment, so think before you spend huge amount of your dolors.    

No one going to recruit you just because you completed your education form RA universities.  No one going to give you 1000s of dolors just because you graduted from RA universities  If that is the case only HARVED/ DARDEN  university students can only survive.   I see RA universities are only a BRAND and nothing more.
Oct. 28, 2010, 8:41 p.m.
0 votes/
What type of weekly time commitment was involved?
Sept. 8, 2010, 2:50 a.m.
0 votes/
Excellent Post!!!! I know what you are saying is fact. I have a BA and MEd from RA universities. NA 'universities' are a joke!!
Sept. 3, 2010, 5:50 p.m.
0 votes/
Before you commit yourself to Aspen, or any other school for that matter.  Ask your employer what they think of the degree you would obtain.

As best as I can determine, Aspen strikes me as just another  Phoenix, without the reputation.  For kicks and grins, check out their address on Google Maps.  Apparently, they are located in a Bally's fitness.(in Denver, not Aspen.)

Aspen is accredited by DETC and CHEA and DoE, but standing alone, that does not mean very much.  Before you attack me about not knowing what I'm talking about (because I do), do the research on your own.   Go on over to the DETC website and you can do a search for schools that they have accredited.  Do it.  This will give you an idea of the company that you will be keeping. Keep in mind that many or the Regional accreditors base their stamp on the program, not on the school per se.   What that means, is although a school may be accredited for their BS program, their MS program may not be.  Do your homework before writing your check. 

Generally speaking, Regional Accreditation (RA) is the heavy hitter and the most recognized.  For CO, that would be the NCA  (North Central).   Ask yourself, if Aspen is so great, why have they not pursued the RA?  Additionally, more and more employers are beginning to require more specialiazed Programmatic accredited degrees (AACSB, ABET, etc).   To drive home the point, an MBA from Aspen would not even land an interview at the Fortune 100 corporation I work for, as they require RA as a minimum (and yes, I verified with my HR before posting here).  

Good luck to all as you pursue your further education!
Sept. 1, 2010, 4:43 p.m.
0 votes/
If Aspen is an NA school you want to stay away.........
Your degree will be nearly worthless!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Sept. 19, 2010, 3:55 p.m.
0 votes/
I wouldn't say an NA degree would be worthless-- many people have them and are doing well-- but NA degrees CAN limit your options.  Consider carefully before diving in.
Aug. 21, 2010, 2:05 p.m.
0 votes/
Dear Friends - I am thinking about doing my MBA with Aspen.  I been going through all of you comments and learned that, this school is not Joke/waste of money.  Its giving more confident to pursue this.

Well, do you guys know how difficult this exam and capstone project.  I am a full time emloyee, do you think 3 hours a day could help me finish this on-time.   Please let me know your valuable suggestions.
July 20, 2010, 9:09 p.m.
0 votes/
How is the capstone administered, is it proctored?
July 8, 2010, 8:55 a.m.
0 votes/
New rates are great only 3600 USD for the Masters degree.
May 1, 2010, 1:07 p.m.
0 votes/
I have studied in traditional colleges of very high caliber reputation before joining Aspen. I had to put in atleast 4 times the effort and time in every course offered by Aspen U and it was very satisfying because I learned 10 times more than what I learned in traditional universities.

I think a Aspen U graduate has far more knowledge and better managers of time than traditional graduates.
March 11, 2010, 4:24 a.m.
0 votes/
I have worked for top MNCs but never been asked about NA or RA accreditation of my MBA. Stop worrying and join MBA from Aspen. You will not regret.
Jan. 15, 2010, 2:58 a.m.
0 votes/
Hi Raj,

How is MSIT program? I am planning to join MSIT, Need your advise....
Jan. 7, 2010, 3:56 a.m.
0 votes/
Taking my mid-term exam in 2 weeks. Just re-reading and re-understanding concepts on modules and lecture notes. I hope I'll do okay. Send me some luck-dust all ;-).
Dec. 19, 2009, 3:19 a.m.
0 votes/
Nowadays it's hard to reach registar. If you call, the operator will ask tons of question and if the registar wants to take the call, she will connect to registar otherwise she will say that registar is in the meeting/left for the day (I've tried to reach her couple of weeks before. I'm sure registar is at office and my colleague just spoke with her 2 mins before and it was 2 pm their time and operator said that she left for the day :) rediculous). There is no student advisor and there is no one to answer any general question and you will not get opportunity to talk with registar. VERY BAD
Dec. 6, 2009, 8:11 a.m.
0 votes/
NA degrees have about 40% acceptance as policy and another 40% as maybe vs RA degrees that are 90 to 100% acceptance by employers and other universities.

What DoE or CHEA state and what is really accepted in the real world is not the same.

Today NA DETC degrees are increasingly accepted and a lot was done by DETC to increase such acceptability.
Nov. 13, 2009, 9:39 p.m.
0 votes/
Hello everyone. I recently took the MBA Essay Final Exam at Aspen.  My exam covered my entire program since I started before the mid term was introduced.  I was glad to take the essay since I enjoy writing and I dislike multiple choice tests. Why?  I believe an essay exam is a key indicator demonstrating you know the material.  After completing my capstone project I studied for several months for the final and glad I did. My advice to you is this.  Don't memorize anything; know the material and how they integrate into the other course subjects such as understand how economics plays a role in marketing and financial management. If you just do the assignments for the sake of doing them you may have a problem. I walked out of my proctored exam feeling confident I had passed it.  It would not be fair or ethical for me to provide an example of how my essay was structured nor should anyone else!  If you know the material you have nothing to worry about.  If you have little experience writing essays then  I suggest you do some research on the web about how to write an essay since part of your score is based on organization, content, and formatting.  Good Luck ?
Oct. 20, 2009, 1:17 a.m.
0 votes/
Has anyone recently taken the mid-term proctored exam? Can you kindly shed some light on where, how should I start preparing? Are lecture notes/assignements allowed?
Sept. 3, 2009, 1:51 a.m.
0 votes/
I just started the MSCJ. Does anyone have any experience with the credit by exam.
Aug. 18, 2009, 12:47 a.m.
0 votes/
Just completed my MBA-PM from Aspen university. I am completely satisfied with the quality of education and the course curriculum.
July 29, 2009, 3:58 a.m.
0 votes/
I completed my MBA-IM at Aspen back in March.  I took the essay format, as I had the option of Essay or MC (it was a no-brainer for me - I enjoy writing!) 
 
For the Capstone course, I decided to treat it as a research project (I had never done a research project before).  To prepare, I went to MIT's website (they have their course syllabi out there for the downloading), and downloaded their research 101 and 102 courses...  in there, I found a set of data, along with the question "what conclusions can you draw from this set of data?"  That got me thinking about data in a 'different way'... 

I also have two friends who are professors at different schools, and I picked their brains on 'how do you approach something to research?' 
 
The best advice came from my friend who's a professor at U of Chicago...  his advice was 'spot on' - he suggested starting with a general area, then hone in on a more detailed piece of that general area, until you reach the point where you have a 'single question' to ask, which becomes your hypothesis... in refining the question, you have the chance to weed out variables which are mostly 'noise', and get down to a few variables which are direct and 'survey-able'... then, research the heck out of that area, figuring out the depth of existing research and/or whether you have found a niche which has received little research.  Once I had done that, I was ready.. I set up my proposal according to the format in the text, submitted it, and received immediate acceptance, with some compliments on how well-organized and detailed it was...  

by the way, I had waited a few weeks while I was talking with my friends, and then enrolled (and purchased the text)...

As far as the rest of the project, I was told there would be monthly assignments, but when I approached my faculty advisor about it, I was far enough along that he told me 'just keep me posted'... I had some direction-setting questions to make sure I wasn't straying, and also ran some of my statistical analysis questions by him, and received well-thought-out responses... took about three months to complete, and the APA-style papers we had to do for all the courses made it very easy to format for the Capstone Project doc...  

all in all, a worthwhile expenditure of $$ and time... for me, learning about forecasting methods had the most immediate benefit (my undergrad was in MIS, but heavier on programming and AD than on 'business' courses...)
July 17, 2009, 2:22 a.m.
0 votes/
Just completed my final exam for MBA-PM and started capstone project. My experience with Aspen university is wonderful. The faculty is supportive and course material is challenging.
June 28, 2009, 11:48 p.m.
0 votes/
Can anyone provide an example of the proctored exam questions? I will be taking the exam soon.
May 26, 2009, 1:44 p.m.
0 votes/
JK, Thanks for your contribution. So if someone joined the MBA before they change it to two proctored exams ..it is still just one exam. Is it? Did you do the Capstone. How did you manage to pass capstone? How many A subjects you got?
May 10, 2009, 2:59 a.m.
0 votes/
How are AU degrees recognized in Europe or India.
I know that US RA degrees are widely accepted what about DETC?
AMy one had to evaluate their AU degree by official recognized agency such as NARIC UK etc?
If so what was the outcome of such evaluation.

Thanks
May 8, 2009, 3:42 a.m.
0 votes/
I took Proctored exam and received my MBA degree. In my case (according to "old" system), it was just one exam. The exam questions that I received were selected out of assignments from the respective courses. One per course. Next to each assignment there is an indication which course it corresponds to. If you carefully review the material for each course while preparing for exam, then you should not have any problem in writing essays. One suggestion, watch how much time you spend on each assignment and follow the suggested time allocation, i.e. one hour per assignment and one hour for reviewing the material. You can use just textbooks and lecture notes. Nothing else can be used during the exam. Hope that sharing my experience helps.
April 13, 2009, 2:48 a.m.
0 votes/
I believe the proctored exams have been changed. I understand that the first exam is half-way through the program and then the second at the end. 

As far as the regional and national accreditation, I have checked into some regionally accredited universities with online doctorate programs and 2 of the 3 will recognize the Aspen University degree. It appears there is still some discrimination against the nationally accredited degrees but not enough to deter me from Aspen University. I feel I am getting a quality education and that is what counts.
April 10, 2009, 10:19 p.m.
0 votes/
Anupam, How did you felt about the capstone project.  Can you tell us your story how you succeeded in Capstone project.? Thanks
April 10, 2009, 10:17 p.m.
0 votes/
By looking at the cost of MBA in other places this is a life saver. Most of the so called accredited places charges 20-40k. I may change my mind and get over the DETC issue. I am sure Aspen will be very popular in the near future becasue the learning process is tougher than many other schools.
April 10, 2009, 9:43 p.m.
0 votes/
VJ, I did general MBA, and I am in process of re-reading my assginments and books. Yes, you do have a choice of taking either multiple choice or essay type exam
April 10, 2009, 5:08 a.m.
0 votes/
Anupam, Which MBA did you do? Finance or PM?
Did you read all the books all over again.?
Do you have a choice for proctored exam? Multiple choice vs essay.
April 7, 2009, 6:23 p.m.
0 votes/
VJ, I am about to take my exam and their is only one proctored exam
April 6, 2009, 5:09 a.m.
0 votes/
Are there 2 proctored exams or just one exam? The MBA PM page says there are 2.
April 6, 2009, 4:55 a.m.
0 votes/
Almost March 19, 2009 at 3:51 p.m.

Almost, Can you please mention what you do for capstone project. How long it will take?
April 6, 2009, 4:30 a.m.
0 votes/
Somone mentioned that the Capstone project takes 5 months? That is a good reason enough for me to drop fro mthe course. I value my time that I can spend on technical skills. I may drop from the course. FInance topics are way difficult without proper guidance.
April 6, 2009, 4:21 a.m.
0 votes/
This is very affordable way to get a degree. But will all this effort be worth it to get a DETC degree. I am in the 4th course for MBA. Text book is a mess to read and understand. Important topics burried in lots of clutter. It would be nice if they give lecture notes and explain the topic.  I have paid full tution. How can I read all these text books all over agin after 2 years.
April 4, 2009, 7:09 p.m.
0 votes/
All, I have just finished my last course for the MBA program at Aspen, and was wondering about the Proctored exam. I am told by the university that I should take the exam in the next two weeks as things are still fresh in my brain...not sure how much though! Please guide me if anyone has recently taken the Proctored exam! Thanks in advance
April 2, 2009, 9:07 p.m.
0 votes/
completed MSIT essay based exam and got Masters today :)
March 21, 2009, 3:34 a.m.
0 votes/
I am in the MBA program in my 7th course. So far so good. The textbooks chosen for each course are great, usually they are the most popular texts in the given field of study. The instructors have also been of high caliber to date. I have not had a single issue with staff since starting in 2007, they are very helpful overall. The program does take a fair bit of time out of the week so budget 15-20 hours.  

I can also say that I have been promoted in Business since taking this program from a sales engineer type role into management. This MBA was one of the reasons I was promoted, it helped for sure.
March 19, 2009, 3:51 p.m.
0 votes/
Well Im almost done with the MBA PM ,taking exam soon. And already working on the Capstone...
I read comments by LINDA, I am sure she hasnt finished any schooling on a upper level and thats why she is bitter. I can say that the MBA program is very time consuming and not a walk in the park. So if she completed the program I would be surprised, as I spent hours on the courses. And I am very pleased with the information Ive learned. At this level who really needs lectures after lectures. Getting to the meat of the material takes concentration, which the online format allowed me to do.
March 11, 2009, 5:47 p.m.
0 votes/
Max,
Thanks for your reply.  I am on my last class now and will work on the capstone through the summer.  Glad to hear they are helpful with putting the project together.  Keep me posted on how the studying and final exam goes.  
Bob
sixbee11@hotmail.com
March 11, 2009, 9:50 a.m.
0 votes/
Does anyone has experience with taking Aspen proctored exams outside of USA? On the site it's mentioned that international students will get additional information about this...
Feb. 28, 2009, 5:35 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi Bob
I am getting ready to my final exam - hope to take it in late March but I am opting for an essay.
Capstone was ok, it took me about 5 months to get it in and required some ground work research and interviewing different people (I did a case study) etc, but the advisor was very helful (I have contacted him about once a week with partial work) and i ended up getting an A.
Feb. 13, 2009, 2:48 a.m.
0 votes/
Hi. I am almost done with my MBA classes and am getting nervous about the Capstone and final exam after reading these reviews.  What did the capstone consist of? How long did it take? How was the grading?  Anymore advice on final exam? I'm in my third year and there is no way I can recall all the material from my earlier classes...I will probably opt for the essay if the multiple choice is that hard but am looking on insight as to that portion...Thanks all...
Feb. 1, 2009, 5:53 p.m.
0 votes/
I also just passed the MBA-IM exam. I agree with GL, the coursework had very little to do with the answers to the questions. I got all A's on my work and learned so much but I found the exam very difficult "Who wants to be a Millionaire" factoid type questions not in the index's either. Facts I would not have normally committed to memory. There is no mention of what course the question is from, you can't isolate what book the fact might be in such as "a total sale of 200X for a certain company for a certain event". Maybe it was in the lecture notes but they were not required years ago when I first started the MBA-IM so I had none to help me. I studied for weeks, the exam took hours to complete and I barely passed. I am so glad I passed because I don't want to ever take it again it was so hard. Good Luck, Take the essay!
Jan. 29, 2009, 11:01 p.m.
0 votes/
LA and others..answers to you questions:
1) No...questions are just one after the othher with no indications as to what course they came from.
2) No...can not bo back...when you leave the question, that is it..no going back.
3) No...if you skip it...you miss it...because there is no going back.
4) When you answer the last question...on your computer screen it will display you test score and the word: PASSED or FAILED in large letters.
5) Questions are terrible and how very little to do with you course of study....such as:  " What year was the MMM Modolde develooped for application in the U. S?...you would have 4 choices to choose from.
I pasted the test with an 82, but it was terrible...it was open book, but most of the answers are not in the index, and how does one memorize dates, names, and places from hundreds of pages of various textbooks.

I check the Aspen Website, and it appears they must be getting a lot of FLAKE from their new testing process and are going back to the Essay format Proctored Exam....check out their Website under proctored exam....GL
Jan. 24, 2009, 6:07 p.m.
0 votes/
M or Meg, 

Congrats on your success about the proctored exam. I have specific questions hope you will answer.

Is that each question labeled with its subject name? 

Can you go back and change your answer?

Can you skip a question and attend next?

When do you know you passed the exam?

What is the depth of question? Could you please post a sample at least one question?

I am scared the way you described to prepare for Proctored exam.

Anybody who appeared the exam please help.
Thanks.
Jan. 5, 2009, 8:03 p.m.
0 votes/
What Ed.D. programmes do you offer if any?
Dec. 29, 2008, 5:49 p.m.
0 votes/
Max,
PP presentations are part of online course material, these are links within module(s) and gives an high-level description of the module/chapter.
Dec. 24, 2008, 1:50 p.m.
0 votes/
M,

Congratulations - I am happy to hear the exam went well!
Were you allowed to bring the lectures notes? Was the exam Internet or paper based. If Internet: were you able to go back to finish the questions you found most difficult? Would you mind sharing the PP presentations? I don't recall getting any during my course of study...
Dec. 22, 2008, 7:45 p.m.
0 votes/
Hello everyone!   The final exam I took went very well.  It was multiple choice and it was a very traditional multiple choice test.  I definitely recommend re-studying every subject thoroughly ( I re-read every book and restudied the lecture notes and powerpoints the professors provided)and bringing the books as you should always take advantage of an open-book test.  It took me about 2 and a half hours to complete the test.  I found the test to be fairly difficult and definitely what I expected of a masters-level exam.  I am excited to be able to finish my thesis and graduate soon.  Good luck to everyone!
Dec. 22, 2008, 9:20 a.m.
0 votes/
Hi Meg
Good luck for your exams. Let us know how it goes!
Also tell us how were the quality of question & coverage wrt course and course materials (like simple/high-level/in-depth questions) & format of the exam (how many questions, does it cover all the courses).
If you could remember the URL of the exam, let us know.
Waiting to hear from you:)
Dec. 17, 2008, 8:25 p.m.
0 votes/
Hey Max,

I had jury duty and had to postpone the test.  I believe I may take it this weekend before the Holiday season because I know I wont get anything done if I wait another 2 weeks.  I have re-read all of the books, gotten all the lecture notes and tomorrow plan on reading over all the notes one more time and doing it again on Friday.  This will be the second time I have read the books cover to cover so I hope I am prepared for the test.
Dec. 14, 2008, 6:05 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi Meg,

How did it go?
Dec. 7, 2008, 11:13 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi huh?
Thanks for the comment from the "you people" AU-faculty!
Dec. 7, 2008, 8:13 a.m.
0 votes/
Is there some reason you people are complaining about a multiple choice test?  If you know the material you should have no problem passing. If you fail it twice you have no business being granted the degree.
Dec. 4, 2008, 5:48 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi Meg

I am in "general MBA" program...I actually ordered few lecture notes from the aspen bookstore so I hope they will be at least somewhat helpful...
Good luck prepering...I will keep my fingers crossed

Max
Dec. 4, 2008, 2:13 p.m.
0 votes/
Max

I am actually looking for mine right now.  I had to get a new computer and I put them all on etiher a CD or a flash drive and I cant seem to find them.  Right now I am re-reading the books and taking note of everything that is "fuzzy" and going over the (very few) lecture notes I have.  If I find them I will contact you.  Are you in the MBA PM program?
Dec. 3, 2008, 8:37 p.m.
0 votes/
Meg

Thanks a lot and once again good luck...would you happen to have a list of assignments (just the questions) we had to do for each course (i have lost my hard drive and all my notes)

M
Dec. 3, 2008, 7:44 p.m.
0 votes/
Max

I will let everyone know how the test goes.  I spoke with someone at the school and was told not to worry.  Others have taken the test and done well.  I feel better about it but dont feel I can be prepared enough in 2 weeks.  We will see.
Dec. 3, 2008, 2:08 p.m.
0 votes/
Meg

As you can see from the emails between JH and myself, you are not the only one concerned about the new format of the final exam, however it looks like you will be the first one to take it...Could you please keep us posted how it goes and what types of questions are being asked?

Good luck 

Max
Dec. 2, 2008, 3:02 p.m.
0 votes/
Has anyone finsihed their Capstone project?  I am about 3 months in and being very slow in developing it and now I am freaking out about if they will like it.  I am also taking my "final exam" on the 13th of December, which is in less than 2 weeks.  I am atually VERY scared about this because nothing as of yet has been multiple choice and I have no idea what type of questions will be on the exam.  If anyone takes it let us know how it went.  I am just very scared to have 10 questions from each class decide my degree.
Dec. 1, 2008, 12:02 a.m.
0 votes/
Thanks JH and good luck!!!
Nov. 30, 2008, 5:22 p.m.
0 votes/
MAX

Will do.....my plan is since you get to take the Proctored twice...I will take it the 1st time to see what it is like. If it is too difficult to pass, before taking it the 2nd time, I will approach Mr. Alley about the difference in protocol of the courses & Capstone (Essay) versus the Proctor Exam (Multiple Choice) and see if I can change to a format as they used previously (Case Study & Essay) and especially since their Website and Catalog still state they still use that format as on of the three ways to administer the proctor exam....I am not going to settle for completing courses with "A" grades and then not get my degree, due to a multiple choice test at the end.

Due to them counting previous course work from my 1st MBA toward my 2nd MBA...I only had to take 4 courses, plus, the Capstone for the 2nd MBA..my Lecture Notes are for 515, 525, 545, and 685...after I complete my Proctored Exam..if those would do you any good...you are more than welcome to them at no charge. I will have no need for them at that point, but need them until after this proctor process is completed....I will stay in touch and let you know how the Proctored Exam goes and what steps I take next.  JH
Nov. 30, 2008, 4:02 a.m.
0 votes/
Hi JH,

Let's stay in touch than I totally don't see any rhyme or reason in how they decided to approach the test... Lecture Notes...well apparently you can only purchase them once you are enrolled in the course so I am out of this option too...any chance I could buy yours once you are done with the exam...

I still think we should approach Jerry Alley the president and speak to him. 

Max
Nov. 29, 2008, 9:49 p.m.
0 votes/
MAX...

Sorry!  I didn't keep my papers after getting my grades and completing the courses.  I have the Lecture Notes that you purchase from Aspen for each course, and since you are allowed your Lecture Notes and Textbooks in the Testing Center to take the test....I will take those items.  So, I will be reviewing basically the Lecture Notes for each course.

Hard to believe the courses are ALL essay based responses, plus, the Capstone, yet, the Proctored Exam now is Multiple Choice!! I completed my 1st MBA with them a couple of years ago, and the Proctored was a Case Study + 3 Essay questions just like the course format. Doesn't make since to me to have the courses and Capstone in an Essay format and then have a Multiple Choice format for the Proctored. The really bad thing, according to the Registrar (S.P.)...if you don't pass the Proctored Exam on the 2nd attempt...that is it....you are stuck with just courses and No Degree and Aspen has your money!! So, many months of courses and study for a Degree ALL boils down to you passing a multiple choice exam on two attempts at the end.  This just does not seem right to me...will let you know after I take the Exam in a month or so...JH
Nov. 28, 2008, 11:45 a.m.
0 votes/
JH

I have just finished my final courses and with the necessity to review all the books again, i can not see taking it till sometimes spring...If you need some help dealing with the administration of the school I will be more than happy to join...I would even fly to meet the president and discuss - if you are up to it let me know. also is there any chance you have the assignments from the courses stored on your computer? Not the answers even but just the questions. I lost my hard drive few months ago and all my assignments were stored there - now, since Aspen is not willing to send me those or let me pull them from their portal, I don't have any start point for the preparation....

Please let me know

thanks

Max
Nov. 27, 2008, 12:18 a.m.
0 votes/
Kevin....did you take the new multiple choice Proctored Exam??  How was it?? Any advice for preparation?? thanks!
Nov. 26, 2008, 7:35 a.m.
0 votes/
Just graduated BS in crim. and was truly impressed with the program.  I had instructors who were very knowledgeable and always providing additional assistance if requested.
Nov. 25, 2008, 10:34 p.m.
0 votes/
MAX.......don't know if this helps, but in various emails with the Aspen registrar-(S.P.).....it is like "pulling teeth" to get answers.  She did state that you get 2 times to take the Multiple Choice Proctored Exam and that is it!! No more chances. So, I guess if you don't pass it on the 2nd attempt, you have 11 or 12 courses to show for your efforts and no MBA Degree!!  Even their Website still states "essay exam."  The "thing" I dislike the most is all of your MBA course work is in essay/case study format and so is your Capstone Project. Plus, until a few months ago the Proctored Exam was essay.  Plus, as you said....the Aspen administration gives you NO Guidance as to what the Exam will be like or how to prepare for it, yet, you get all these Lecture Notes for each course.  If I do fail on the 2nd attempt, I will contact the Aspen President and ask about a recourse to get my MBA Degree.....it is just not right for them to have my money for all those completed courses and all I have is a bunch of completed courses.  If that doesn't work...then I am making a formal appeal to DETC. It is not right to spend months or years completing courses and then you "getting" or "not getting" your MBA degree all "boils down to" passing a multiple choice exam that takes a few hours.  If their eLearning methodology is essay for all of their MBA courses, the final proctored exam should be also.  I plan to take it the end of December or 1st part of January.  If you take it prior to me....place post as to your experience. If I take it first, I will do the same...GOOD LUCK!!
Nov. 25, 2008, 1:28 p.m.
0 votes/
Has anyone taken Aspen's Proctored Exam, since they have changed it from a Case Study/Essay Question format over to their new format of 10 Multiple Choice Questions for each course completed and 2 1/2 minutes to answer each question?  As per information from their Registrar, you can only take the Exam two times, and failing on the 2nd time...that is it..no more chances and no degree.  If anyone has taken their new multiple choice Proctored Exam, I would appreciate any comments/information relative to difficulty of questions, is it 2 1/2 minutes for each question or is that an average for the over all testing time, e.g. 50 questions x 2 1/2 min. = 125 minutes to take the test, and best approach to study/prepare for the exam...THANKS!
Nov. 24, 2008, 9:33 p.m.
0 votes/
I have just learned that the proctored exam for the MBA program is a multiple choice set of 110 questions (covering all the courses)...Has anyone taken the proctored exam in that form? I have asked for a set of questions I could use to prepare for the exam or the some test link but nothing is available...I must say I am a bit disappointed - any other program I have attended provided me with some sort of guideline... My computer crashed about a year ago and I lost all of my assignments and I can even get them to send me the assignment that we are given at each module (never mind the answers I sent)...

Any advice

Max
Dec. 8, 2008, 9:04 p.m.
0 votes/
Could someone share their experience with multiple choice proctored exam.
Im done with course and project work, got to take proctored exam next.
Nov. 7, 2008, 10:19 p.m.
0 votes/
Ben, thanks for answering that.  I am intersted in possibly teaching at a University in the next 10 years.  I was going to take my BS, which I should complete in the next 6 months, then get a Masters from an RA school locally.  I figured to "teach" I would need a RA Masters degree.

Any insight?

Thanks,
John
Oct. 6, 2008, 9:51 p.m.
0 votes/
I noticed the debate between the regional accreditation (RA) and national accreditation (NA). I contacted an RA university about my degree that I am getting from an NA university (Aspen) and was advised that as long as the accredidation is recognized by CHEA, there is no problem and the RA university would recognize my degree from Aspen. Aspen University is recognized under CHEA and is accreditated by DETC which is recognized by CHEA and the US Department of Education.
Sept. 9, 2008, 2:24 a.m.
0 votes/
I recently earned my MBA from Aspen University in order to take my career to the next level. Aspen University enabled me to study for my MBA while balancing my other commitments to my career & personal life.

Aspen University’s MBA program helped refined my abilities to strategically plan, set, and achieve organizational goals from concept to completion. In my view, Aspen University’s accredited degree programs are exceptional and provide the necessary information, structure, & tools that busy professionals need in order to compete & win in today’s fast-paced business environment.

I was so impressed with Aspen University  that I'm interested to get more involved with Aspen University's Alumni Association, volunteer programs, and other helpful related ways to become more involved.
Aug. 14, 2008, 8:51 p.m.
0 votes/
You are right Pete.  My friend is a cop and tried to sign up for Criminal Justice and he told me they didnt keep their word on how he could get his degree.  They told him he could get almost all his credits from the police academy and he only got less than half of what he was told.  He is really down on Aspen and so are his fellow cops.
Aug. 7, 2008, 11:35 p.m.
0 votes/
the detc is not one of the six national accredidations.   thats the bottom line.  these six are the only real recognized accrediting agencies.  so all of you get real or get taken.
June 11, 2008, 12:40 p.m.
0 votes/
Aspen University seems to be the logical choice for continuing my education to advance my career.  I have only heard positive things about them over the past year.  Does any other university offer this program online at these low costs?
May 20, 2008, 6:59 p.m.
0 votes/
I have enrolled in the Aspen MBA program and am well into the program.  I hold two bachelors degree and have found the course material not only very informative and challenging.  The intructors are very helpful and respond quickly to questions.  The caliber and course content is comparitive to other universities.  Aspen university however, offers the best value for your money.  Its a great school.

JC
April 23, 2008, 6:36 p.m.
0 votes/
I am planning to enroll for MBA in Project Management with AU.  Can anybody share their experience with me?
March 29, 2008, 8:18 p.m.
0 votes/
Sorry everyone but I have not taken my medicine lately and I have too much time in my hands, I suffer from personality disorder and I have several personalities that takes over when I am not taking my medicine. Sorry for all the stupidity and other things.
March 23, 2008, 10:28 p.m.
0 votes/
CHEA and US DoE should be the focus here, not RA or NA accreditors. If the US DoE or CHEA stated RA accreditation was in fact the “Gold Standard”, I’m sure the argument would conclude in RA favor. Unfortunately, neither the CHEA nor US DoE have supported that stance! So, if the degree meets the person’s needs, it’s recognized by CHEA and/or US DoE, credits are accepted by the RA college they wish to transfer to, and their employer accepts the degree..........
March 21, 2008, 6:58 a.m.
0 votes/
DETC does not transfer easily.  I found that out the hardway at CSU.  This article from my favorite know-it-all website explains the ins and outs.

http://distancelearn.about.com/od/accreditationinfo/a/DETC.htm
March 20, 2008, 4:21 p.m.
0 votes/
Sachin,

Your question: Does it give same credits as full time (on campus) MS/MBA as needed by Industry?

Answer: On campus are RA Schools. The RA schools have their own policies and procedures in accepting credits from other RA and NA schools. May be you would want to find your target University and find if the NA credits are transferable.
March 20, 2008, 4:15 p.m.
0 votes/
Sachin,

NA and RA accreditation is equal when it comes to US Govt(http://ope.ed.gov/accreditation/Search.asp). If it is for PhD.. then you would want to find more on your target University for your PhD needs. This site will provide information on the US Univesities that transfer NA School credits (www.chea.org/HETA/)

Other NA Schools in the USA: www.detc.org
March 20, 2008, 4:03 p.m.
0 votes/
Sachin,

Can you be more specific on your expectations from work permits (is this to get work permit to work in the USA?) and jobs
March 20, 2008, 9:59 a.m.
0 votes/
Thanks Raju for your valuable inputs.
Appreciate your help.
I still need answers to my other questions
1), 2) and 4) keeping work permits & jobs in mind.
My first target is to complete MS / MBA 
again keeping work permits & jobs in mind.

Thanks,
Sachin
March 18, 2008, 1:34 p.m.
0 votes/
I have very positive experience with Aspen University. The course structure for MSIT is very balanced and very appropriate for my job and future professional growth. The courses at Aspen are very economical. The faculty are very helpful....
March 18, 2008, 1:28 p.m.
0 votes/
Sachin,

For more details on Aspen Univesity (www.aspen.edu). Aspen University is accredited by DETC, which is recognized by CHEA and USDoE. In the US there are Regionally Accredited(RA) and Nationally Accredited(NA) Universities. Aspen is NA. The credit transfer is subject to each University's policies and others. Aspen MS/MBA have the recognition by the USDoE. All the legitimate universities in the US are recognized by USDoE and CHEA. If your goal is PhD and credit transfers then... explore the scope of any University that you consider is eligible for your future needs and others...
March 18, 2008, 12:09 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi Friends,

My college group of seniors in US have recommended Aspen University
to complete my higher studies while working.
I’ve completed my bachelors in Comp Science & Electronics from University of Pune - an Indian university.
And would like to persue MS / MBA through distance learning, while on the job.
I’m a control engineering systems expert and working as a Business Analyst – Solutions architect with a
engineering co. in Asia-Pacific.

I would like to know 
1) whether Aspen’s MS/MBA courses are valid master’s courses in US / Europe – to qualify
for work permits and next higher studies. Like Phd, Research.

2) Does it give same credits as full time (on campus) MS/MBA as needed by Industry?

3) Where can I get the fees structure for MS and MBA?

4) Which are other USDoE certified universities that offer these courses in distance learning?

Please guide.

Cheers,
Sachin
email: sachin_dm@yahoo.com
March 1, 2008, 10:56 p.m.
0 votes/
Current student. Very happy with the program. Everything I expected.
Feb. 29, 2008, 7:46 p.m.
0 votes/
Ziad, it is good to know. I have completed MSIT from Aspen and I feel it is a great university to accomplish graduation while working. The course structure is very well balanced and practical. I really enjoyed learning and earning my degree from Aspen University. Wish you all the best!!!
Feb. 29, 2008, 2:24 p.m.
0 votes/
Aspen University is great! i am on my second course of my MBA program and it already adds value to my career and improves dramatically my business and communication skills! i recommend it to anyone who's seeking quality education for an affordable price!

cheers mates,
Jan. 25, 2008, 3:44 a.m.
0 votes/
I would go to elearners.com guide to online education, and lookup regional vs. national accreditation! It'll answer all your questions concerning accreditation. Thanks!
Jan. 24, 2008, 3:14 p.m.
0 votes/
I'm considering AU for my MBA. Can anyone tell me from experience how an MBA from a Nationally accredited institution v a Regionally accredited institution will affect the way employers view your degree/resume? All signs point to AU for me right now simply for the value and what appears to be an equal curriculum to that of other schools. Thoughts? Thank you!
Jan. 24, 2008, 2:32 a.m.
0 votes/
Linda,

I’ve noticed you’ve attacked not only AU and CCU, but also CSU! I must question your motives concerning these three DETC accredited institutions. I understand your lack of comprehension concerning the accreditation process, but why attacked DETC accredited schools and not even one regionally accredited school on probation? You have yet to question any regionally accredited schools. They’re numerous regionally accredited schools that were or are currently on probation by their respective accreditors.

Am I saying these probationary colleges are bad schools? No! Why, because some newspapers don’t conduct their research just like some gov’t agencies. Case in point: A State was calling a recognized accreditor’s degrees substandard before the courts got involved, they figured out they were going to lose and changed their position.

It should be noted, AU, CCU, nor CSU has ever had their State approval or accreditation revoked, suspended or been placed on probation by any entity. Furthermore, both CCU and CSU are listed as PONSI recognized schools by the New York State Board of Regents. If you don’t know, the State of New York is the only State in the USA (Union) recognized by the USDOE as a degree granting State just like regionals. No other State has ever achieved this status, and by these two schools being recognized shows they’re definitely no D mills in DETC's listings.

PONSI History: The first step in the development of National PONSI came in 1973 when the Board of Regents of the University of the State of New York initiated a pilot study to assess the potential of a college credit advisory service. This project was a direct outcome of recommendations made by the Commission on Non-Traditional Study, a two-year venture supported by the Carnegie Corporation, to provide a national perspective on the future of higher education, including recognizing and granting credit for postsecondary learning undertaken in noncollegiate settings. Comprising renowned educational and business leaders, the Commission called for a system to establish college credit equivalencies for courses offered by government, industry, and other noncollegiate sponsors. 

Please do your research and weigh your findings before posting derogatory information. These sites are for prospective students, educators (professors), employers and alumni, not recognized accreditation bashers! Try a RA superiority forum, they’ll love to agree and call all non-regional accreditors D mills and all that stuff! Thanks!
Dec. 26, 2007, 6:04 a.m.
0 votes/
I have finished all courses of MBA-PM program at Aspen Univesity and now preparing for Proctored Exam, which I am scheduled to take up at UMASS Boston on 28th December 2007. 

Has anybody appeared for Proctored exam yet? I am curious to know the overall structure of exam.

After having done good in all courses since 3 years, I feel it is too much of asking to undergo revision of at least 4 courses. 

To release from taking unnecessary stress and sleepless nights....please convey the structure and toughness of exam.

Thank You.
Yogesh.
Jan. 17, 2008, 1:30 p.m.
0 votes/
Aspen is a DEGREE MILL, stay away!!! You will be waisting your money here!!!
Jan. 17, 2008, 4:46 p.m.
0 votes/
Linda,

Then USDoE and CHEA are accrediting Degree Mills.... in that event all the schools/colleges/universities are degree mills in the USA. This comment from Linda is insane and not valid. Linda please keep off of this site.... and respect the importance of this forum.
Jan. 17, 2008, 6:14 p.m.
0 votes/
Linda,

Would have wasted lot of money elsewhere and obtained a degree from a degree mill and thinks all others are waste of money and degree mills. Aspen is accredited by the US Department of Education and CHEA through DETC. Aspen is a legitimate school accredited by the highest accrediting orgnaizations and the USDoE. The courses are well structured and challenging. The faculty are with high standards and very knowledgeable in their subjects. I have completed my masters from Aspen University and it is the best... if you are ready for the demanding/challenging course work... I strongly recommend Aspen..
Dec. 5, 2007, 12:19 a.m.
0 votes/
An excellent program for knowledge and value:

This is an excellent University for MS in Information Technology (MSIT) program. I am close to completing my MSIT program from Aspen University. The course structure is well balanced and very effective for learning the intricacies of the subjects covered. Knowledge gaining is on the high order from this program (MSIT). The responses and student services from Aspen University's staff and the faculty is timely and helpful. I strongly recommend to those who inspire and eligible for distance learning.
Nov. 27, 2007, 4:14 p.m.
0 votes/
Amanda, 

Can you be more specific in your assessment of Aspen University? Please help us that have no idea what to expect.
Nov. 19, 2007, 10:49 p.m.
0 votes/
I love aspen university, it rocks!!!
Sept. 22, 2007, 8:45 a.m.
0 votes/
Great school! Superior customer service! Fantastic value!
On my second course and the instructor was easy to contact and responded to any question promptly!

I too give it a 10! 

My last comment didn't post for some reason.
Sept. 27, 2007, 3:03 p.m.
0 votes/
Ronnie, Can you tell me more about the "Capstone Project" that Aspen U requires from students.
Sept. 27, 2007, 2:54 p.m.
0 votes/
Ronnie, Thanks for the help. The University that is in my home city has a testing center but thier times that they are open not good for me due to me having to work during the day. I wonder if this would be problem for Aspen's proctor requirement. This high school prinncipal that agreed to help me would meet me at his school on Saturday morning to admister any test.
Oct. 9, 2007, 1:47 p.m.
0 votes/
I wanted to hear from a Aspen Student that has done a project. But I will call her anyway....
Oct. 8, 2007, 8:11 p.m.
0 votes/
Jeff.. I have not asked about the capstone yet but if you are interested in the university, send an email to Anna Perez. She is an admissions representative and is very helpful in answering questions about the university and programs. 

Her email is aperez@aspen.edu
Oct. 8, 2007, 7:36 p.m.
0 votes/
Can you tell me more about the "Capstone Project" that Aspen U requires from students.
Oct. 8, 2007, 12:26 a.m.
0 votes/
I am glad to see all the positive remarks about Aspen University. So far the staff has been very informative and helpful in my decision to attend Aspen University.

I did ask about the proctoring of exams and was told that the university will do all they can to assist a student in taking it local. I was told that one stipulation was that the person proctoring the exam could not be a relative. 

I am looking for anyone who has taken the Master of Science in Criminal Justice. I would appreciate some feedback on the prorgram.
Oct. 7, 2007, 5:30 p.m.
0 votes/
Hello...I see only good things about Aspen University in this thread. I like to talk to a student who is currently doing their MBA program and also someone who graduated from Aspen. Any guidance will be helpful. Please suggest
Sept. 27, 2007, 5:59 a.m.
0 votes/
Jeff, 

Aspen will work with you on a proctor. I am sure that this will not be a problem. Aspen will send the proctor information by e-mail so that you can take your exams. I am in the process of finishing my degree and I have nothing but postive things to say about Aspen University.
Sept. 26, 2007, 2:52 p.m.
0 votes/
I have found a Principal at a local high school in my area that has agreed to proctor my exams if I enroll into Aspen University. I was wondering if this would satisfy Aspen U requiement to have the exams proctored. Anyone have any idea's on this.
Sept. 7, 2007, 4:54 a.m.
0 votes/
This is a great school! I am almost half way through the MBA program at Aspen. I have studied at many schools, and I must say the coursework and customer service is excellent! I will give this school a 10 rating! For some reason, I could not post a rating? 

Best regards,

Abner
Aug. 8, 2006, 5:13 p.m.
0 votes/
Now known as Aspen University www.aspen.edu 
Founded: 1987
Accreditation: DETC

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Aspen University in any way.