Aspen University Reviews

Sort By

Most Helpful
Newest

Bachelor Programs:
BS Business Administration (2)
BS Criminal Justice (3)

Masters Programs:
Master of Science in Information Management (2)
MBA - Project Management (13)
MBA (43)
MBA Information Management (4)
MS Information Technology (5)
MS Information Management (1)


To link to this page:

Anonymous (Graduate) on September 20, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great School Aspen is a great school for distance learning and individuals who cannot attend traditional college classes. The courses are challenging and I found my experience at Aspen to be very beneficial and rewarding. However, it does take dedication to participate in distance learning that is self directed and some individuals simply do not have the ability to self motivate without attending classes. I would recommend (and have) Aspen to anyone that is looking for a quality education at an affordable price.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on August 2, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
BS in education This college is a rip off and you can not use the degree because it's not a regional accredited school. When I first started taking classes the advisors indicated I would have no problems using my degree in the state that I live in (nj). This could not be the furthest thing from the truth. NJ will not even recognize my degree so this school was a waste of time
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Omegamarg (In Progress) on July 9, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Value, Excetionally good, Quite flexible The Aspen is a great online school, I worked very hard to complete my MBA in Pharmaceutical Marketing and Management. I am Pharmacist in USA, passed several Pharmacy board exams in Canada as well as in USA, this MBA isn't an easy one. It pains me to see some negative comments. The Material offered by Aspen, and the text books as well as professors maintain good standards, and offer a well laid out MBA. You simply can't float through the courses without spending considerable time on modules. I am quite bewildered, that they were able to offer such a quality course for such an affordable cost. My knowledge has increased tremendously, by applying the principle learned, I was able to negotiate the right price for any business deal. This course has made me to look into a multi dimensional view of everything before making a decision. I thank Aspen to made me a real master in many areas of the Business.... Max
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on July 8, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MBA -Finance My experience with Aspen University was great. The assignments were challenging and relevant to the real world. Teachers' support was superb. I got timely feedback from the Aspen's Administration. The graduate level is no more where people should expect to be hand-led and at Aspen, serious and hardworking students enjoy their studies and make it to the end. Those who had good basis at the undergraduate level and are willing to learn with minimum guidance will surely make it at AU. There has been great improvement in the quality of IT tools and students' access to Faculty members, other students, class assignments and forums is easier. Aspen University has one of the best MBA (Finance) programs and student follow up is remarkable. Prior to seeking admission into Aspen University, please exam yourself. If you feel you are not self-disciplined, cannot work hard and independently, then you better find some other place where you will be spoon-fed. I highly recommend this University to all individuals who can well plan their time to meet both their professional and educational objectives. It is a place to realize your academic dreams while you work.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Adeljack (Graduate) on May 21, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Perfect online school I studied at Aspen University during 2005 through 2008. What I like is the application requirements are very strict to qualified candidate; for out side US BSc degree holders to obtain a master degree you need to have 15 years of relative experience. This is very importan to select qualified professional for Aspen University programs. Also the Teachers are all qualified in their fields. Project management courses are taught by PMI-PMP certified teachers and so on.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

LauraLMay23 (In Progress) on April 9, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Almost done with my MBA I wanted to follow up from my post last May 2013. I have worked very hard to complete my MBA within a year. Working full-time and going to school full-time. I am quite pleased with my education at Aspen. I have had nothing but positive interactions with all of my professors, the Aspen staff have been friendly and helpful. I have not had any issues with ordering my text books either. I have a few co-workers who are also completing their Masters degrees with other online universities and they have several issues. If you are a smart, determined individual who can prioritize and learn well on your own you will not have any problems. I am starting my Capstone then I will be finished with my MBA and by the way debt free too. Lastly, I have a new job even before I am finished.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Krebman (In Progress) on February 8, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Need hand-holding to get a degree? Gratefully, not here. Do you need professors to hold your hand while you learn and earn your college degree? If so, look elsewhere and pay more. Aspen University is great value for a Masters degree and you can learn as fast AND as much as you want - it is all up to you. I've read the posts in this forum and the common thread for the low-rating posters (other than complaining about fees) is they want professors to hold their hand. Grow-up! This is not high school. Put in the work, get the grades, graduate. Any of the few messages I have sent to my professors over the past several years have been responded to promptly. Course material is real world - I have decades of experience in my field and the subject matter being taught at Aspen can be applied at work today. I highly recommend the online independent format - 8 modules in each 10-week course. No hand holding, no online meetings. Do the work, get the grade. (Strong recommendation - get Perrla(dot)com APA formatting software - it is a big help!!). If you can follow the course directions and read the assigned materials, you will know exactly what is required for an A-grade. I am getting close to graduation and I like what I have learned at Aspen University. I may even go for a second degree in a tangent field depending on my schedule and finances.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 31, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Online - Company Nobody seems to know anything once you are enrolled. Same cut and paste remarks with grade each paper. Financial aid - good luck on getting the excess. Staff is spread around the country. The required participation in class online forum is the hardest part - there is nobody else in your class. I find the text books excellent, even if they are a decade plus old. The instructors guide with test answers can be found online hahahaha -- what a joke.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Mr.mlucas (In Progress) on January 25, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Aspen MBA I started this program almost 4 years ago and I am now in the process of completing the final Capstone project. I have completed all course work and exams. The courses, texts, and assignments were excellent. The majority of the work required for each assignment is NOT from the text. You have to research the questions/issues yourself. I found the work/assignments very interesting. Hard to name a company I didn't learn about - Nike, Apple, Chevron, AIG, etc. The flexibility worked for me - we had our second child while I was working on the program and taking time off between courses was no problem. I wasn't looking for group work or a lot of discussions so this worked out well. Some prof's provided great feedback and others not so much but I was learning on my own and the lack of interaction was what I was looking for. There are forums, lounges, etc if you;re looking for that but I wasn't. I recommend this program.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Cheskyack (In Progress) on December 5, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Terrible education These people will not teach you anything. There is no online seminar. The teacher's do not appropriately respond to emails. This is only half the problem the other half as you can see from other reviews is that they are unethical about money. They add on extra fees and are not honest about money. Another problem: they are not very clear about the academics either. I switched academic advisors many times, and was often left hanging because the people in the office could not help me. Don't fall for this scam.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 14, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great experience so far This program affords me to continue to work full time and pursue a MSN/MHA. The first instructor for the first two courses was excellent and was available by email or phone and responded within 24 hours. The second instructor is not measuring up to my standards. The school is now changing to a new online format for completing courses and haven't gotten all the kinks out yet. Overall, for my experience with this online university, I would rate it a 7 out of 10 with 10 being the best experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 12, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
you get what you paid for :( Aspen was a complete waste of time and money. The "teachers" seem to do nothing more than skim the required assignments and give a grade, the feedback is horrible from everyone involved in this school. I had 5 student advisors in the first semester, had to wait for 2 weeks after the class started to be able to access my classes. (This continued on on the second semester)There seems to be a lot of busy work that isn't up to date. I felt the whole experiance I had was run by elementary students on a field trip. I dropped the program and transferred to another school that was repauled by my experiances there. I have since had to call for about a week before finally Aspen took me off the program. I will actively encourage others to look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 6, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
DON"T DO IT!!!! This school is nice. However, I have had many problems with the staff. They are unhelpful and take too long to get issues solved. The staff never know what they are doing. They tell you anything just to get you off the phone. I would not attend have attended Aspen if I would have been warned first. There is always new staff and they cannot help with the problems. This really drives me crazy! I can't wait until I am done!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 28, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Run Away from here Do not go here. They lost my application so I had to send it again. As soon as you enroll the customer service is horrible. Financial aid was supposed to charge me a certain amount and over charged me by $10,000 more than the program costs. They wouldn't respond to my emails. You arent supposed to play with peoples money. Do not go here. It is not worth it.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on August 26, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
I enjoyed my time at Aspen, give it a try! I graduated last year with my MBA from Aspen. For those of you who are seeking a rigorous highly academic program, this is probably not that school in my opinion. If that's what you are seeking, you will probably do better with a bricks and mortar school, not an online program. I was interested in a school that was within my budget, and doable within my already busy week with my full time job and family. I work at a small food company and travel for work too. I didn't want to be in a program where after a hard day of work, I had to spend all my leftover time buried in books and studying for tests. I still wanted to spend time with my family, which are my priority and have a social life. This isn't an Ivy League business degree. You get what you put into it, it's true. If you can set aside a couple of hours a day and read and do some assignments but do it on a regular basis, you shouldn't have a hard time finishing this program. I can't see why anyone should fail out of this school. They want you to succeed. The program is probably overall easier than most of the online programs I researched, but like I said, I wanted a life too, in addition to learning business concepts. Plus I have zero debts. Why spend $25k more for other online degree programs, which are probably similar in terms of "prestige"? Lets face it, most Fortune 500 companies are looking for top 25 business school grads, but you will work your butt off there plus spend $125 grand or more. And there's no guarantee one will even get a job! I think you should give Aspen a chance if you want to learn some business aspects, possibly apply them, live sanely, not go into debt, and earn a decent MBA! Try a class or two, see if you like it. It's inexpensive. My two cents worth.....
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on July 19, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MBA -Informaiton Management I completed my MBA in Information management and successfully graduated from Aspen University, CO in the month of July, 2013 with 3.86 GPA. The courses and instructions are highly competitive and instructors are highly ranked to meet the educational goals. I recommend anyone who pursues MBA in any specialization may consider Aspen University to accomplish your educational and career goals quickly and efficiently.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Lauralmay23 (In Progress) on May 31, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
So far I am quite happy! I have been pleased so far with my interactions with the Aspen Staff. I started my MBA at a traditional University but felt I needed more flexibility with my time. I did not want to spend hours in a class room at night after working all day. Don’t be fooled into thinking that getting your online degree from Aspen is going to be easy it requires work if you want to really do well. I have just finished one class and I am currently taking 2 classes now. The best advice I can give is; dedicate yourself each night to your reading and homework. The professors have responded back fairly quickly when I have asked questions and the staff have responded back quickly too. Remember you will be an independent student who will manage your own course work and assignments. You are the master of your own fate.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Tinabuttelwerth (In Progress) on May 28, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
BA Psychology Just finished my first course. I was quoted a price of $150.00 per credit hour, I paid for three course long with library fees, etc. Now when I talk to my advisor, he states he knows nothing about the price I was quoted, and when trying to sign up for a second course, I am expected to pay another $750.00, which is $250.00 per credit hour. When I first talked to my advisor, he told me I had to sign up in about 2 days, the course price was one price for pre-paid students, and that system didn't do well, so the price was going up. I borrowed money from my mother and boyfriend to pay this entire BA degree course up-front. While the actual class was just fine, their sales tactics, and memory of what they tell you is a little shady. Thank goodness I kept a file of all the e-mails I was sent. I hope this works out, but I will be surprised if it does.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 18, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
An Excellent Programme , Great School This is one of the best investments, I have ever made other than on my pharmacy education. I enrolled in Pharmaceutical Marketing and Management. It’s flexible enough to do for a full time pharmacist Business owner. At the same time, It’s very demanding and needs full commitment for 2 years. Every course has 8 modules; each module needs at least 8-12 hours of study, and also need to participate in discussions. I am half way thru the course, and highly recommend any one to join Aspen. The knowledge I gained so far is simply splendid, I am very thank full for Aspen to offer such a valuable course in such a reasonable price.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Bharath.vasireddy (In Progress) on April 16, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Wonderful and happy, almost at finish line When I started this program I had mixed feelings about distance education and how it works. But now I feel more comfortable and happy to be part of this University. Flexible, friendly professors and very good environment. Personally I had good experience with Aspen so far. Bharath Vasireddy
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 25, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
If you can read books to learn, you learn through Aspen I have learned a lot despite having an undergraduate degree in business management and substantial experience doing project management (PM) work. My goal is to obtain a Master's Certificate in PM, become certified as PMP, and then finish my MBA in project management. The classes are all online. If you enroll in the "Flex Scheduling" program, you essentially have 10 weeks to complete 8 Modules. Each module consists of reading 2-3 chapters in a couple of textbooks (in the case of the PM classes the PMBOK, the book used by the internationally known Project Management Institute, is one of the textbooks; but it is supplemented with others) and then writing an official APA research paper that addresses 4-5 main topics. The key to doing the research paper is to demonstrate you read the assignments and fully understood the concepts being presented. Before looking into it further my impression was that an online class would be an inefficient process of online chats; thus, I was pleasantly surprised to learn it is not like that. For the most part you just read the assignments, turn in the paper, then get a grade in 2-3 days. You're also required to answer a question online for each module as part of your "course participation" grade: which is easier since those questions don't have to be in APA format (no need to cite references or worry as much about formatting), and you get to see how others have answered the question too. Therein one does get a little more interaction and one could probably utilize it more than I do if that's your thing. I enjoy writing and so for me it's a very solid way to learn. It took me the full 10 weeks to complete my first class: mostly because I had learning curve for the APA research paper (I eventually found a template that helped a lot) plus had more activities going on with my kids (football season, etc.). I was able to complete subsequent classes in about half the time (you set your own pace as long as you finish in at least 10 weeks). Flex Scheduled classes start every 1st and 15th of the month, so starting new classes is easy.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Todd.coxe (In Progress) on February 16, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Affordable, Respected Online Education Say what you will about distance learning, but as a military veteran, current public servant, and father of three, it is this type of education that makes it possible for me to achieve my goals. Aspen University has been outstanding, challenging me beyond the other three colleges I have attended did. The framework for online classes is a little outdated, but the delivery is on point. The military benefits and cost analysis were two of my largest selling points, but the quality is unexpectedly well. I would recommend this school to those who are aware of the perceptions of online education but also recognize that this is a viable competitive means to receive higher education. WTC EdD Candidate, Aspen University (est. 2015) MACJ (w/ Honors), American Military University (2009) BSCJA, University of Phoenix (2006) AAGS, University of Phoenix (2004)
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 2, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MBA in Finance. I just completed all my course requirements for my MBA in Finance. I am waiting to complete my last examination and a Cap Stone. The classes are not a walk in the park..requires a lot of time to complete the assignments. I have read all the negative comments and tend to think that these individuals had personal issues and had nothing to do with the school or its program. I would recommend people to take the MBA programs in this school.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 1, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great University Experience I am not sure why some people have had bad experiences at Aspen but I can say that for me it has been a great learning experience. The instructors have been willing to help in every way I have requested and the University Admin has been great to work with. After I began the pursuit of my degree, I read a review where the student said all he did was cut and paste from others work and received a passing grade for that little effort. Just so others know, I do not know what course the person was in or what instructor he had for the course BUT I have to say that I tested that theory on an assignment. I can say that when I used this method, my work was returned with comments about using others works. I was so glad to learn that the negative words from a former student were not true. I am at the end of my MBA program and I can tell you that it has been a challenging and rewarding journey.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 10, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
faculty provides no support sometime Few faculties at Aspen University do not provide enough support to students who are into self mode. When I joined the degree program at Aspen University, I thought I will learn something with this degree program but you will be left alone without any support from faculty sometime. Generally, faculties check your assignments and grade you online with very common feedbacks. Not much learning I can say.. Registrar will be happy if you withdraw from course because withdraw brings more benefits to University
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Saleemkkf (Graduate) on March 10, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Good University offering quality Programs. I have completed my MBA from ISIM University (now Aspen University) back in 1997. All courses, lectures, discussions and feedback from teachers were of good quality. Based on my ISIM MBA, I have obtained various senior position jobs in USA, Canada, Tunisia, and Pakistan. Currently, I am a Project Director of a would-be-University in Pakistan. Thank You- Aspen- Good Job- Keep it up.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Jsyost (Graduate) on February 14, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MBA I finished my MBA in December after 2 years. As an independent student, I found the courses to be fast-paced but well-worth the effort. I have been in the business world for many years and found the materials covered to be very relevant. The faculty and courses are exceptional and the tutition is reasonable.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 13, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Let the Students Beware I had been considering Aspen as well as some other colleges to pursue another Masters degree when Aspen University sent me an email in 2011 stating that tuition was going to rise after July 15th and that if I was considering this University then I should enroll prior to this date. If I enrolled then I would receive a locked in tuition rate that would continue until I earned the degree, provided I was continuously enrolled. I verified the terms of this offer and was told in no uncertain terms that the tuition would remain the 2011 rate until the degree was completed. I have held up my end of the bargain and maintained continuous enrollment with a 98 GPA and am paid in full.After I invested some time effort and money into the degree, I have been informed that the tuition was going up 200 dollar per credit. If you are considering Aspen University consider the ethical standards that allow them to do business this way
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 13, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Let the Student beware I was a fully committed student with a 98 GPA. Aspen University offered a tuition deal to students that if you started the program before the 15th of July 2011 then you would pay the tuition rate at the time. If you started after that date the tuition was much higher. Aspen University advertised that if you enrolled before July 15 2011 you were eligible for a locked in tuition rate that would be fixed as long as you maintained continuous enrollment. I verified this offer with Aspen University administration and was reassured this deal was legitimate. I was told by Aspen University that locked in tuition rate would continue until the completion of my degree. 7 months later I was recently told that the Board of Directors voted that tuition would be raised for those who started before July 15th even though they made a bargain with these students. They waited until you put in a significant amount of effort and were invested in the program then raise the tuition. Not a very ethical business practice . Beware if you are considering , Aspen University !!!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on February 10, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Aspen is indeed a great school, highly recommend Anyone who has posted a negative review probably has not attended this school, or was unable to finish, or did not really immerse themselves fully into the program. It's not Harvard Business School. It's an online MBA, which is especially good for working adults. It's convenient, and not extremely demanding. But one can learn a great deal from the program, and apply it to their job. The professors were all around very good and helpful. I would highly recommend this program.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

10 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 10, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Devious business pracrice beware Devious business practices. Con you in with a guaranteed tuition rate until you complete the degree then after you invest the time and effort, they increased the tuition 2.5 time higher then the guaranteed rate.What a scam!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

CJ.biamonte (In Progress) on February 8, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
GREAT SCHOOL !! I am amazed at the users that gave Aspen poor reviews. They could not have actually been students because the school is terrific. I am just finishing my Capstone project for my MBA-Finance now and have learned so much from the program. The professors are great, the technology is great, the curriculum and materials are great, and the staff are great. Before entering the program, I searched diligently for a good online MBA program to supplement the CFA designation that I am also near completing. Aspen's program mirrors many top schools in North America. Moreover, in terms of difficulty the material is on par with the CFA program, which is commonly accepted to be one of the hardest programs out there. I received my BBA from a good university here in Canada and Aspen's MBA curriculum is much more difficult.Additionally, I have friends that have received their MBAs from very good brick and mortar universities (60K to 100K) and the level of difficulty is close. And, I have also had the opportunity to see Kaplan's material (40K) and it is virtually identical to Aspens. Finally, Aspen is unquestionably the most flexible school out there. So, to those few naysayers, your comments do not hold water. Of course the Aspen MBA will not have as much weight as the top business schools. However, that is not what they are about. They cater to working adults and do a GREAT job of it!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Taylortaylorat2020 (In Progress) on January 26, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Challenging curricula if you apply yourself I'm currently in my third MBA-IM class at Aspen and I have learned a ton! I love that I can work at my own pace as long as I have the assignments done within a 10 week time frame. My modules have typically been around 15-20 pages for each one (typically 8 per class but Qualitative Analysis had 3 really long papers). You can do less and probably pass if you turn in the work, I guess it just depends on what you want to get out of it. In a master's program I don't believe the teachers are there to babysit you...they provide challenging questions and it's up to the student to research and learn from the class. My one critique is that I would've liked more feedback on one of my classes. When I turned in each 5000+ word module, I received very generic sounding feedback which I believe was the same for each student that turned the work in. Overall, I believe this school to be challenging and an excellent value!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on January 26, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
ASPEN MBA = what a joke! Maybe I am jaded because I expected too much from the program and I received my undergraduate degree from one of the top ranked universities in the nation. The courses Aspen offered were easy and the assignment were nothing more than busy work. Every course has modules and every module consisted of questions from the end of each chapter. Each module would consist of 8 to 10 questions that Each response required a minimum of 250 words. They assignments were easy but time consuming. I finally got to my breaking point about half way through the program. I knew I was spending hours working on these assignments and the professors were not taking time to review them or leave constructive comments/reviews. I started submitting assignments that were simply ridiculous and complete nonsense and was still receiving 100s. If you want an easy MBA choose Aspen, if you want an legitimate MBA that does not waste your time and that will actually help you advance in your career - choose a different institution. The old saying is true - "you get what you pay for!" In fact, the Masters Program in Education is such a waste of time, many, many, many public schools will not accept teachers with a Masters in Education from Aspen. It is a joke! BEWARE!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on January 25, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
good option I just completed the requirements for the MBA finance program. This school was the best option for me to continue my education while maintaining work and family responsibilities. Flexibility and low cost were my main decision points. This school makes you work to figure out concepts based on materials, with minimal input from the profs, which prepares you for application of the material in real contexts - there won't always be a prof around to help out if you run into a problem in a job setting. I think this is the way of the future of education - a great cost saving technique that more schools are starting to embrace. Yes it takes self motivation to do this type of learning, but that is also a skill that is needed to excel in the workplace. I would have liked to see a bit more critique from the profs on my assignments, but was generally happy with the program. Administrative staff were always excellent to deal with.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on December 7, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Disappointed! School is a SCAM. I was enrolled for exactly 4 weeks for the MBA/Pharm for learning enrichment. Professors didn't teach you anything. Their school website for turning in assignments and discussion forum is incredibly out-dated and very dis-organized! Come on now! This is a graduate program. When I requested a refund, the main person who is charge of the Bursar office never responded for 4 weeks. The head of the school quote me a different refund amount than what was said by 2 other different people. I just find it disgusting that this school can charge you so many different fees. I paid upfront $2700 and got a refund back for only $1000. It was pathetic charging me the technology fee that I didn't even use. This school is a rip-off and the administration is all about money. I already have a doctorate degree and trust me my review of this school is legit. Get your MBA education somewhere else that is worthy!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Nmesproject (Graduate) on November 4, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Dont go here. I finished MSIT a few years ago when they had tuition for $3K. I never purchased a single text book. Copy-pasted all the Q&A from wikipedia. Got 'A' in all the classes. There was no 'mentor' interaction. Its a self copy-paste program.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful

Ladydi776 (Graduate) on August 30, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Aspen University gave me a tremendous education Years ago I completed my BSN at Ohio State University. Since then my background has been in hospital critical care nursing and nursing leadership and legal nurse consulting for close to three decades. Perhaps because I am driven and eager to apply the offered material, I worked very hard for each module while working full time. I just completed my MBA. For those considering Aspen compared to a brick and mortar program, I started previously at a well reputed brick and mortar Business school in Northeast Ohio, but had dropped it after doing well in two courses for its lack of application in health care in that setting - I got nothing but a good text out of the class, as banking, marketing majors and the like were taking it fresh out of undergrad, and I had trouble relating the class focus to what I did for a living. I wanted the general MBA exposure and to apply it to leadership in Nursing. Since I attended Aspen, each and every course had to be mastered then adapted with my professors' help to business interests related to health care systems in order to get the most out of the experience. I believe that you get what you put into it - so perhaps the ¨Shocked" blogger did not apply him/herself and skated by. I was serious and got a great education. And I prefer Aspen hands down to the brink and mortar university. It is the way of the future to keep educational programs focused, cost effective and specific for individual learning needs. I was so surprised to see that someone wrote about this program being lame; although I am reasonably intelligent, being a nurse, it was so difficult for me that I had to drop accounting and finance in order to shore up my basic understandings of these subjects before taking the classes. They did not go easy on me. Eventually I got an A in each through hard work. Overall, it took about 25 to 30 hours a week for about three years. But it was worth every minute of the effort in terms of my understanding of the business of health care. For those wondering if Aspen is taken seriously by employers, I have had employers who happily reimbursed for classes there because of its accredited status and credibility. More importantly, I was hired in March as a Director of an ICU in a for profit hospital, the health care business model in which I wanted most to participate. My Aspen Capstone project has improved the quality of life for patients in the ICU. It has been accepted by a professional organization for presentations at a conference this November, so I am pretty sure that the application of offered concepts has been right on target. I hope to submit it for publication soon in two professional journals. I wish anyone well who is considering Aspen, and would say to them to go for it!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 9, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Experience/ Exceptional Value I am 50% through MBA Finance and I think that the program is excellent. I would like to dispute the "shocked" guys comments. I completely disagree with him. The finance questions in the modules give ample room for calculating problems like Beta, NPV, IRR etc. The questions are designed to take a simple question which could be answered in one sentence and expand to over 250 words. My modules were about 3500 words on average with major use of graphs charts and calculations. The calculations are easy anyway. I am also a level III CFA candidate. The exams are approximately 80% theory. Any monkey can do the calculations. What is important is the comprehension of the theories and the ability to communicate those theories to an audience. You are not getting all that you could from the program.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 7, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Shocked I am almost done my Aspen degree and shocked that you can get an MBA degree where only the accounting class requires you to actually pickup a calculator and perform some math. They got rid of their business stats class; I guess because too many of their current students couldn't handle actually doing business analytics and the finance class is a joke! All theoretical and no practical use of finance theory. Writing a short 250 word easy on NPV does little for your actual application in the real world! In fact I swear most of the instructors do not even read the material I submitted and I always got 100% as long as it met length requirements. Overall if you are looking for an easy cheap cracker jack MBA this is the program for you. If you are looking for some real practical business skills that will help in your professional life keep on looking.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 28, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Program if you are playing professional sports! I have been on the tennis circuit for a while now, and a traditional university would not have done me any good because I am travelling more than 3/4ths of the year. I played tennis for my university during my undergraduate years, graduated, and started playing on the circuit. I am doing well, but not great, and wanted a back up plan, so I decided to enroll my self at Aspen. I started a few months ago, and all I can say is that it is great how flexible it is, and at the end of it, I will be doing something I love (playing on tour) as well as getting a masters degree in business, which I can fall back on later in life. Thanks Aspen!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Elia.dragone (In Progress) on June 27, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Value if you are disciplined. I am one class away from my Capstone project and completing my MBA degree (ETC of Summer 2012). Greatest attributes for Aspen University are: excellent flexibility in learning (I preferred independent studies versus interactive), value (actual cost of tuition), good use of technology, quick response from professors, similar material of much more expensive brick and mortar colleges. Long distance learning is not for everyone, you may feel isolated and loose enthusiasm. There is a lot of material to cover and a lot of writing, you just have to commit to a schedule so that you can complete the work in the 10 weeks allowed. Basically there are 8 modules per class so if you complete one per week you will have a 2 week buffer just in case you need it. I would definitely recommend the school. One note of caution for very busy people, you must finish the entire program within 5 years from start date. Wish you the Best!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 3, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great education I am close to finishing the MBA-PM program. I have found it to be a great program. Studying online takes a lot of discipline. It is not for everybody. For me, it was a great choice. The administration has been very responsive. The assignments are challenging and the support has exceeded my expectations.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Bennrg2001 (Graduate) on April 9, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
No Issues, Worked well for me as I travel a lot I was debating between several universities including bricks and mortar universities and was just about to apply to one in Canada when I found Aspen, and I am very glad I did. The price was right and the flexibility was exactly what I needed. I could start on the 1st or 16th of every month without issues which helped me set my pace for studying to ensure I could get it done quickly. I found the administrative staff to be very good. I note below that there were prior issues with admin staff and some forms of testing. These problems have since been resolved. The exams in the MBA program (I did MBA - Finance) were well representative of the course material (most of which is essay based, sometimes peppered with online discussion work, which I personally don’t care for). As for the technology system, submitting MS Word and Excel docs was very effective and should continue. They changed the online system over to a newer one while I was a student. There were a few glitches, but they were fixed within 4 hours of me calling them in, so response time was great. My only critiques would be that two of the seven professors I had (some profs taught more than one class) were not as responsive as I would have liked. However, on the opposite end of the spectrum, I had some that were very, very responsive and were exactly what I needed and are partly responsible for my engaging in a DBA later this year. My second critique, which is common amongst many universities both online and traditional, is that there needs to be a final course that focuses on case studies which assesses business problems based on what has been taught. These thinking challenge courses need to be increased across the board. I did one of these at another university and it has helped me extensively throughout my career. They now have a DBA program (to start fall 2011) which I am considering. I would go back to Aspen without reservations and have recommended it to several friends who are soon to be Aspen students. I would suggest that if you are considering on online program, you must have self initiative and time management skills, if you don’t you will have difficulty. I also note that some students below were dissatisfied because they were not given their degrees until all their fees were paid. This is common policy for every university and does not reflect the quality of the university, just the ignorance of the student to the academic policies in force (which are out in the open before you sign up). These people should just be ignored. For employers, my degree has already helped in my employment. My employer did reimburse me for my MBA, but was rewarded soon after when I saved the organization probably triple the tuition rate in less than a month on one project alone, not to mention other projects later on. My experience was highly positive and I have no hesitation recommending this university to anyone. It was excellent value for money and really demonstrated the power of online education as Bill Gates has stated. I would go back again without hesitation should I require further education in an offered area study. I just wish they would get their DBA program up and running faster (currently in progress I am told).
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on April 4, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
I Give Aspen an A+ I recently completed my MBA at Aspen and must say that I enjoyed the experience. The support from the instructors as well as the administrative staff is excellent and even though the classes are online, you don't feel alone. Aspen has succeeded by offering a quality education for a reasonable fee. I would recommend Aspen to anyone!!! NOTE: If you are reading some of the reviews, pay close attention to the post dates, since many of the negative reviews are from several years ago. Aspen has definitely changed their image!!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 17, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Program! Great experience so far. I just passed the halfway mark!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Lisamortensen1 (Graduate) on March 15, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
I really enjoyed Aspen I really enjoyed the knowledge that I gained. The professors are like many, some are great and some are just ok. But the over all education was much better for the online then I have received from my other in class masters. I would recommend it to others. As a matter of fact my son is also starting his Bach. degree through them.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 16, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Nice courses and Assignments I am currently persuing my ONLINE MBA-IM in ASPEN University. The Course modules are excellent. The assignments are very good and productive. Nice support from the Instructures and collage staff also. The Capstone Project sounds very challenging, looking forward to it.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on February 6, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Good School I was debating between several universities including bricks and mortar universities and was just about to apply to one in Canada when I found Aspen, and I am very glad I did. The price was right and the flexibility was exactly what I needed. I could start on the 1st or 16th of every month without issues which helped me set my pace for studying to ensure I could get it done quickly. I found the administrative staff to be very good. I note below that there were prior issues with admin staff and some forms of testing. These problems have since been resolved. The exams in the MBA program (I did MBA - Finance) were well representative of the course material (most of which is essay based, sometimes peppered with online discussion work, which I personally don’t care for). As for the technology system, submitting MS Word and Excel docs was very effective and should continue. They changed the online system over to a newer one while I was a student. There were a few glitches, but they were fixed within 4 hours of me calling them in, so response time was great. My only critiques would be that two of the seven professors I had (some profs taught more than one class) were not as responsive as I would have liked. This does happen at traditional universities as well. However, on the opposite end of the spectrum, I had some that were very, very responsive and were exactly what I needed and are partly responsible for my engaging in a DBA later this year. Kudos to them. My second critique, which is common amongst many universities both online and traditional, is that there needs to be a final course that focuses on case studies which assesses business problems based on what has been taught. These thinking challenge courses need to be increased across the board. I did one of these at another university and it has helped me extensively throughout my career. They now have a DBA program (to start fall 2011) which I am considering. I would go back to Aspen without reservations and have recommended it to several friends who are now Aspen students. I would suggest that if you are considering on online program, you must have self initiative and time management skills, if you don’t you will have difficulty. I also note that some students below were dissatisfied because they were not given their degrees until all their fees were paid. This is common policy for every university and does not reflect the quality of the university, just the ignorance of the student to the academic policies in force (which are out in the open before you sign up). These people should just be ignored. For employers, my degree has already helped in my employment. My employer did reimburse me for my MBA, but was rewarded soon after when I saved the organization probably triple the tuition rate in less than a month on one project alone, not to mention other projects later on. My experience was highly positive and I have no hesitation recommending this university to anyone. I would go back again without hesitation should I require further education in an offered area study.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Sonuship (In Progress) on November 13, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent I am half way through the course work. I find it very useful. you definetly get more than what you pay here at aspen. the school is very helpful when you call to talk to them. some professors get back to you with comments in 2 or three business days. course work is graded fairly with comments. I am happy I made a good decision joining Aspen.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 26, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Good so far I am just now half way through and I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised with how on target the classes are for middle managers. The information has definately given me better insight as to why and how my large organization operates. I have only taken online independant so far, but I have been very pleased with what I have learned. However, you must make a commitment to the course work. If you don't take it seriously, you will easily get behind. I thought I could do two classes at once, do not do this. One class is all you should attempt. Also, find youself some type of APA formatting software, it will save you a lot of time and heartache. Overall, I'm very pleased but a little nervous for I will be taking my first exam soon. You only get two chances per test..MBA student
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Mr.mlucas (In Progress) on August 22, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Aspen MBA review I live in Canada and have completed six of the eleven required courses, excluding the capstone/thesis project. The school's website was recently overhauled. Technology is not extremely advanced - assignments written in word or excel are uploaded and graded by the professors. Discussion groups are pretty standard. All courses require substantial additional reading/research beyond the text provided. I find the extra research interesting along with the numerous real examples and case studies within the text books. Independent learning truly is independent...which is fine with me. I would recommend this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 31, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Enjoying school! I have been doing online independent classes due to my whacky schedule. I started in the MBA and took MBA-PM course - my goal was to get 18 units beyond my MA so I can teach in a subject area. Then, after getting my 18 units, Aspen got the EdD approved, so I applied to that program. I'd like a little more specific feedback from some teachers, but I found the school staff wonderfully responsive and I enjoy all the courses. I am totally happy with my progress and the price is a huge relief. I never thought I'd be able to go for a Doctorate. Compared to the school where I did my MA, a big huge institution - in every way for the most part(books, teachers, technology, support) - I can only say that I would definitely have been happier if I had found Aspen sooner.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Jeron51 (Graduate) on July 24, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
ASPEN UNIVERISTY GRADUATE DEGREE - EXCELLENT VALUE GRADUATED MSIM PROGRAM WITH FLYING HONORS MAY 2010 - GOT EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MY DOLLAR. THE UNIVERSITY HAS HIGHLY QUALIFIED AND VERY HELPFUL FACULTY. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND ASPEN TO ANYONE SEEKING ONLINE DEGREE WHO WANTS GOOD VALUE FOR HIS MONEY.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Shirlster1 (Graduate) on July 7, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Superb School I greaduated from Aspen Unviversity in June 2010 with honors. It was one of the best decisions I have ever made. It took me 3 1/2 years to complete the 2 1/2 year program, bearing in mind that I work a full time demanding job. Top notch educational experience! I would definitely recommend this school to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Jeff.Richmand (Graduate) on April 28, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Good School and Very Good Faculty It took me just over 2 years to finish my MBA with Aspen. At the end they upgraded their technology platform which is much better than the old platform. The courses were great and the faculty was great. Overall this is a good school if you are willing to go 100% online. A few changes of tuition while I was in the program but they honored my initial tuition rate so no complaints from me.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 27, 2010

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Good experience with Aspen MBA-PM Program Aspen's MBA-PM program compares well with non-online programs. The case studies are great reading and th text books met my expectations. I would agree that the lecture notes are not needed. Overall, Aspen provides a solid education for the cost.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 23, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Aspen I had assumed that there would be lectures. I found the reading material sub-par. I would recommend Aspen for those hoping to gain a basic business understanding. I came from a different field and found the material introductory and occasionally very informed. I would suggest having a good library of resources to pull from so as to supplement your learning.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 23, 2010

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Exceptional service and coursework I have currently completed 4 classes within the BSCJ program and I have to say I am very impressed by the books and instructors in all classes. FYI-lecture notes are no longer required to be purchased and when I enrolled under the prepayment plan, my lecture notes were given to me free of charge. Actually, they do not provide the amount of info you can get in the book. So do not bother with them. This school has provided me the determination to complete a degree that has eluded me for nearly ten years. I urge anyone who is interested in online schooling to enroll here. It is amongst the cheapest and most effective curriculums one will come acroos, not to mention that this school is nationally accredited.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 18, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Aspen University final exam I just finished my proctored exam at Aspen and I will tell you it was tough! I did prepare pretty well reviewing all of my subject material over a 6 week period. If you study and prepare,you should do ok. I was fortunate enough to pass it on the first try and am very excited about starting my last project.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Wlassalle (Graduate) on November 8, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Does not care about Students or Alumni only $$$ First off let me get to the facts. The school gave me an institutional loan to get my MBA. I was very grateful to the school and made my $90 monthly payments against the loan. Every class I took I had to purchase worthless lecture notes with grammatical errors and excerpts from the texts at $100 a pop. Nothing even remotely resembling a lecture or notes from any lecture. After graduation I was laid off from my job due to the current economic situation. I was told I could not receive my diploma until I paid off my loan in full. As I was now collecting peanuts on unemployment which could not even keep my household afloat I could not make payments and let the school know this. A few months afterwards I finally land a great job, pending a full background check. Aspen University told the prospective employer that I did not hold a degree from Aspen. Crippling my chances at the job as my credibility was shot. After speaking with the horrible administration there and not even receiving a response from the new President of the University. I was told they would not confer my degree until my loan was paid in full even if it took 3 years. Now the job offer is being rescinded as I failed a background check. So not only can I not begin making payments again to Aspen but I have to go back into the job market and look for another job. Remembering to Omit my hard earned MBA. Nice job at holding my MBA hostage Aspen University.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Gurmitpg (Graduate) on June 3, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent School I just graduated with an MBA degree (May 2009) from Aspen and it was an excellent experience. I have a double major in Chemical engineering and chemistry prior to starting the MBA and found the courses to be challenging and real life relevant. The instructors and staff were very helpful and responded to questions promplty. The MBA courses are similiar to those found at other universities but Aspen University offers the best value for the cost. I would recommend the school to prospective students. I was able to complete the entire program in 13 months full time (alot of work) and have gained a strong business background.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 18, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Course structure and website need improvement The courses need better structure and clarity, and the website needs to be updated. Overall, what you receive is about right for the amount you pay.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Rl08681 (In Progress) on January 19, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Fantastic Experience I must say I have had a wonderful experience thus far with my Criminal Justice program. I have been in law enforcment 17 years and the books and instructors have been very effective. The staff at Aspen have always returned my emails quickly and respectfully. The discussion board for Independent learners is new, but honestly it hasn't been that burdensome. My instructor and I both pose questions and have a good time with it. I would encourage anyone to matriculate into Aspen. I've been to several schools and none have been perfect, but Aspen certainly does a good job.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on January 6, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Agree with Below....False Advertisement!! Agree with the below writing...as to misleading information. As per their Proctored Exam, their Website and Catalog states: "the exam may entail a written examination, objective assessment through computer-based testing, or preparation of assigned papers." However, they only allow you to take the objective assessment...the other two forms of Examination DO NOT EXIST!! Yet, all of their course assessments for learning are via written or assigned paper evaluation. Aspen gives NO guidance for the objective assessment Proctored Exam....yet, you have to buy their "worthless" lecture notes. Forget the lecture notes and provide "objective assessment practice test" for each course you complete that prepares the student for the Proctored Exam, since they only provide "one" form of final examination and not "three" as they so state on their Website and in their Catalog!!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 5, 2009

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Agree with below.....Aspen's Quality is BAD!! Agree with below remarks....Aspen's quality is decreasing and what they write/state versus deliver are two different things. Their Website & Catalog state the Final Exam is either "a written examination, objective assessment through computer-based testing, or preparation of assigned papers." However, when the time comes to take the Final Exam...your only option is the objective assessment!! Why state the other three, if you are only given one choice?? Plus, all of their course work is essay and case study (written evaluation), yet, they grade your ultimate knowledge via objective assessment, with NO GUIDANCE as to how to prepare for the Ojective Exam....NONE!! No study guide, advice, prepartion, etc. etc....like they give for each of your courses. Aspen's quality for adult students is really going down hill rapidly....even though their price is very very cheap...so is the quality of their educational delivery system. I advice anyone considering an online degree to go somewhere else, where they do what they say!!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 3, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Aspen lied about independant classes When I first registered, I enrolled in the independant online studies. This is suppose to be at your own pace with the choice of taking a final exam or writing a research paper. About 3 classes into the program they changed the rules. It is mandatory for you to participate in the discussion board which is a part of the interactive studies. That was the biggest difference between independant and interactive, the names say it all. Now we are being forced to work at the schools pace and the other students paces instead of our own. There is no way you can work at your own pace a participate in the discussion because the discussion comes from the reading assignments and the discussions are due weekly. If you don't participate, they will drop your final grade by a letter. They might be cheap but the way they conduct their online program is WRONG. They should only advertise that they have a interactive class.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Edragone (In Progress) on January 2, 2009

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MBA Program It is by far the best value for an accredited on-line MBA degree program. The lecture notes are kind of redundant but with the amount of material and pace of the course, it is nice to focus on the "meat and potatoes" of the lessons besides them being helpful in studying for the inevitable final exam. The staff is helpful and the process simple. The use of on-line technology could be improved but it is ok. The courses so far are fairly demanding (on my 4th class out of 11 before completing the capstone/thesis project). The time allowed for each class is 8-10 weeks and they offer independent or interactive courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on December 10, 2008

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MBA-Project Management Teachers are basically very good. The problems exist with some of the administrative staff, which appear less concerned about your success and concerns, but more concerned about collecting your money.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on November 7, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
If you're PMP certified - enroll The Aspen MBA PM program covers foundational MBA courses seen in all MBA programs. There's case studies and research like other MBA programs. If you're PMP certified, you'll get up to 9 credits toward the degree. Faculty support is really good - I never waited more than a day for feedback and grades. The costs / fees are compatible with other online schools. Would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Jagr123 (In Progress) on November 4, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Pleasantly Suprised I am currently half way through the MPA-PM at Aspen U. I am pleasantly suprised with the support and courses that I have taken. I do agree that the lecture notes are not needed unless you are studying for the mid and final exams. Aspen gave me a deal in that if I paid for 4 classes upfront at the normal price, all lecture notes would be free. This was a good deal since I feel that lecture notes are not necessary. I would say this is a great education for the price.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 30, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Not so great.... They have some serious internal problems. If price is the only criteria, this is the cheapest. Administration is not very responsive or helpful. Teachers are mostly part time. They don't always provide enough information on what is required to pass a course.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 11, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
No Lecture Notes - Yes Web Portal!! I have taken several courses at Aspen. I do not like to purchase the lecture notes that are never used and do not add value to the overall experience. The instructors do not use the lecture notes either and only utilize the text. I would recommend that Aspen shift the dollars spent on lecture notes to the web portal. I have taken classes at other online schools and their portals have Aspen's beat hands down. Aspen could really improve the overall experience by improving the web portal.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 8, 2008

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
previewing I am enjoying my experience at Aspen and find it right up there with Phoenix for online U's. I especially liked the Lecture Notes that pointed me to really useful stuff for the final exams.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 27, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Good Program Made Poor By Requiring "Lecture Note" I have been taking MBA in Project Management courses since early 2005. The curriculaum is good. Selection of text book is good. The cost is low. Delivery is not as good - even though it supposed to be an online program very rudimentary technology is used. Student read course assignments online, submit assignments via email and participate in discussion groups. No interactive contents, online tests. I was satisfied until late 2007 or early 2008 when the introduced what they called "lecture notes". They require purchase of this "lecture notes" at the time of course registration. These "lecture notes" are very low quality, full of typos and other mistakes and often word for word copy of major points from the test book. They were useless to me but I had to purchase them paying $75 to $100 since they are required. IMHO, this is a very agressive way of quickly making a lot of money without providing any values in return. I have lost my respect in this university as a result of this.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Rajusurapuraju (In Progress) on December 5, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
An excellent program for knowledge and value This is an excellent University for MS in Information Technology (MSIT) program. I am close to completing my MSIT program from Aspen University. The course structure is well balanced and very effective for learning the intricacies of the subjects covered. Knowledge gaining is on the high order from this program (MSIT). The responses and student services from Aspen University's staff and the faculty is timely and helpful. I strongly recommend to those who inspire and eligible for distance learning.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 11, 2007

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Caveat emptor I'm two-thirds complete on the MBA-PM program. Aspen provides generous credits to existing PMPs. Otherwise, the rest of the MBA PM curriculum emphasizes heavily and possibly irrelevantly on the accounting / finance side. Materials include Aspen-made "lectures" notes (there are no lectures - this is an online school), replete with spelling and reference errors and coming with a hefty $100 price tag - essentially for 30 pages of copy paper - no doubt to make up for the tuition they lose in charging $4500.00 for the entire program. You can test out, but Aspen still require you to purchase the text and lecture notes for the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Lureho (In Progress) on August 7, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Flexible Very flexible, and you can choose between Interactive,where you exchange ideas with other peers, or Independent on your own. Also the price if affordable, because after you complete an MBA you shouldn't go broke, and some of MBA programs online charge you an incredible price. The staff is very supportive, the books are similar to other MBA programs.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 9, 2007

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Aspen MBA is well worth it! There is no better value in today's MBA marketplace than Aspen. The accredited degree is as extensive as others for a fraction of the cost. For $4,500, its worth the education in any field. It has been a great experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on December 12, 2006

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Pleasantly Surprised I am very happily surprised with the quality of the MBA program at Aspen. I have two friends who have just finished their MBA at better known schools (UoP and UCLA) and on the core MBA courses (accounting, finance, economics) I have found that I was able to equal at at time exceed the more traditional programs. Aspen requires a class in Business Ethics that UoP doesn't and seems to provide at least as solid a background in basic business for middle-management people like me as the other two schools.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 8, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MBA-PM The school is now "Aspen University" as Ted mentioned. There are two options, independent learning or interactive. If you go independent the program is what you make of it but no matter how much education/experience you have you still have to work. The material is very similar to what I have done at other schools but it’s flexible to go at my pace/timing.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No


You can help by Writing a review