Bellevue University Reviews

Sort By

Most Helpful
Newest

Bachelor Programs:
Criminal Justice Administration (6)
Management (6)
Business Administration of Technical Studies (2)
Business Information Systems (8)
Management Information Systems (3)
Marketing Management (2)
Health Care Administration Leadership (2)
Global Business Management Management of Human Resources E-Business (1)
Core and Electives (2)
6-9 Hour Course Clusters for Fulfillment of Core and Electives
Masters Programs:
Master of Arts in Leadership (3)
Master of Business Administration (12)
Master of Science in Health Care Administration MS Health Care Administration test Masters in Management (1)


To link to this page:

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

T1wGl (In Progress) on February 1, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Criminal Justice I am a Criminal Justice major in the last class of the Kirkpatrick series (graduate in four weeks). I was originally a Security Studies major, but switched because of concerns in federal government cut backs. Still torn about that decision. After reading other reviews, I would say it is certainly not a diploma mill. I learned a great deal in this degree. Our first three classes were taught by a lawyer and the CJ portion was taught by a retired police chief of three fairly large police departments. The part I enjoyed the most was the individualized feedback I got from each assignment. The CJ instructor also took time out to personally counsel me concerning career choices. Most every class had a final paper and many of the CJ classes required local research as well as going out and personally interviewing people. I'm 35 so it took me awhile to come around to fully appreciating the personal enrichment that comes from higher learning. I'm very happy with Bellevue in this regard. I transferred in the maximum allowable credits. I actually went over the amount of credits I needed. I believe the max was 82. The transfer of credits was the reason I chose Bellevue. That said, it has taken every bit of 19 months to finish. (Lost a month in between the major and KSS because of schedule) Also, the Kirkpatrick series has been a very enjoyable and at times challenging experience overall. I can see why they included it as a requirement for the school. It gives the degree a liberal arts component that helped round out the degree instead of it simply being a degree concentrated solely on the major. This is something I very much appreciate now though at first I felt like it was a waste of time. Overall I highly recommend the school. I have certainly enjoyed my time as student.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Josephlabrecque (In Progress) on January 18, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Clinical Counseling This program takes effort and dedication. I feel it is a better fit for working adults that are motivated and focused. You get what you put into the work.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on December 8, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Just Horrible....Community College Honestly I come from Wayne State which was good for my minor in criminal justice but average for my business management major. Bellevue University hands out degrees. It's an honest joke. People that shouldn't be in a college are getting degrees from this place. It's honestly a community college. You don't have to show up to get all "A"s but the problem you have no direction in any of the classes. I mean all of them are just up in the air. In the MBA program you just kinda do whatever. The worst class was the MBA 610 class. I'm not very good at statistics and I was trying to teach myself everything and was doing okay but I then realized, I'm paying a lot of money to teach myself something. I would avoid this place at all cost. Other schools in the state like UNO, Wayne State, and UNK are all great schools. Then on top of that UNL and Creighton are top tier schools for certain programs. Try any one of those 5 instead. They're actually places of higher learning. Plus people there speak English. They're not places that give degrees to thugs.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 25, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
bait and switch kind of college, not "culture" friendly. classes are ok Let me start off by saying the admissions counselors will promise you the world to get you into their college and then switch on you the moment they have your dollars locked in. I was told there would be FREE e-read college books provided for my program and that the school obtained the licenses to do so. So this program would not incur book costs. The first couple of classes required we purchase books. I asked the college about it and they told me "Oh, well, it's instructors choice." Then the next few classes were the same way. I contacted the school again who informed me "Oh well the e-reads were decided against because they weren't working out." I also talked to the college in great length about the fact I am Orthodox Jewish and that over the High Holidays I would not be on or around a computer and they swore up and down they'd work with me. Anyone who's Jewish or knows the faith knows that around September is a gauntlet of holidays from Rosh Hashanah to Yom Kippur, Simchas Torah, and others. I was told they would accept late assignments to accommodate my religion without penalty. The CJ instructor at first said he would work with me when informed of this. Then he began deducting large amounts of points off my work for being late and said that religion wasn't an excuse to be late. When I contacted the head of the CJ dept, Mr Butera, he mobbed me with a conference call with 5 other administrators and they refused to address the issue head on. He stated they were religious friendly, and I must have misunderstood the instructor. The instructor very clearly emailed me "Just because you're Orthodox doesn't mean you can't get on a computer." I don't think I misunderstood that kind of racism at all. I felt like I needed a lawyer for this conference call. They made me feel awful for being a Jew going to their college. The blamed everything on me and backed the instructor. When I asked for an official transcript and help in leaving the schools program, they refused to talk to me anymore. I am still working on a degree at the school without any help from the higher admins. I have reported the college and gone to the state about them and turned them into their accreditation board for bait and switching practices on classes, book promises, and the program. I would leave the school to go elsewhere and pull my dollars out except they will not cease my student loan or give me transcripts so I am being forced into finishing there. The Pros: Yes, there are some pros... Some of the classes are very well thought out and some of the assignments are very good. This is not a degree mill so to speak. At least I haven't seen what the degree looks like yet but they do make you work for it. They were accredited by the same board that accredited my junior school so 100% of my credits transferred in. They also gave me an additional 24 semester hours for my police academy time. They did ask me not to turn in any of my CE hours for credit though, as I was also credit top heavy. I had no electives to take and only 9 core classes plus a Kirkpatrick signature series to take. I have 3 classes left after the 1 I'm currently enrolled in at the time of this post. The other students in the cohort really make this a better experience. Cons: They lie to you. Hardcore. They are not helpful once they have your money. You're deadlocked into staying with the college because they will do everything under their accelerated program to keep you as a student. Their accelerated program makes it hard to get transcripts if you want to leave. The college is a bunch of racist pricks if you're Jewish. If you have a problem with the instructor they won't help and you're probably stuck with the same guy throughout your entire online program. There is no college president to go to so to speak. So you can't really go above your department head. I got award money when I first enrolled that they claimed was suddenly in error and tried taking back from me. I wasn't having any of thought and fought them hard and got to keep it. The cost of the program went up and then the price went higher when I got stuck buying books. Overall, I would not have entered this college knowing what I know now. There are better friendlier options. This will still prove to be a decent college for some though who really can't afford to go anywhere else and want something better than University of Phx or Capella. I'm still hoping my outlook can improve on this place but with me still contemplating legal action for discrimination against them, who knows. All I can really say is ASK a lot of questions and make sure you get an official credit audit done before you agree to anything. Get EVERYTHING they promise you in writing. That's what some of my saving grace was with this. I got them to write down what they said they were going to do in part. Be prepared to budget a lot of time for interviewing people and outside agencies. This isn't just a sign on and do work kind of school. So the CJ program is at least teaching me something. My background: 17 years in law enforcement and criminal justice, the last 4 years as a Houston Deputy. questions email: miscohen@my.bellevue.edu or baronmalice@yahoo.com . this will prove I'm not a troll poster.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Preubin1 (Graduate) on August 20, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Program The Clinical Counseling program was very intense and required much time and dedication. I thought I learned quite a lot and was just as prepared as my counterparts from other local universities. I had no problem acquiring an internship etc. It does require that the student do some legwork to secure a site though. We had some courses that used technology so that we were able to have live classes. I enjoyed these and hope that Bellevue will add more of them to the curriculum. It allowed us to interact with our peers and learn from each other. Bellevue is not a diploma mill. I also had great support from the staff without any issues. They promptly called back and helped me with whatever I needed. The online library was very extensive and useful for the many papers that are written throughout the program. I attended the university for two years, but the program can take three depending on how many courses you feel you can handle at a time.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 10, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Bellevue University MBA Just graduated from Bellevue's MBA program in May 2013 and let me you that it was an excellent experience. The courses are less than $500 per/credit hour and it was worth every penny! I believe that this is one of the best deals that one can find for solid online MBA degree. Even if the classes were $700 per/credit hour I would still pay it! Overall, this was a very challenging program and I felt that I was able to apply a lot of the material to my current job. I would recommend this program to anybody as long as they are willing to put forth the effort needed to complete this program. There are definitely a few “weed out” courses that will eliminate anyone looking to breeze through their MBA studies. If you like being pushed and don’t mind a challenge, I would recommended Bellevue University for your MBA. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Vease1999 (Graduate) on June 8, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
CIS Program Review Overall, I would say I enjoyed the program. I consider myself to be a fairly unbiased and knowledgeable source of information considering this is my second Master's (I completed my undergraduate degree at Embry Riddle Aeronautical University and my MBA at Regis University, which are both well respected institutions of higher learning). The only reason I mention this is to convey that I've studied elsewhere and have a reasonable point of comparison. While there were some classes that I didn't feel I got too much out of, I did end up gaining some very valuable information from a lot of the course work I did there. Some of my personal favorites involved programming, system analysis and design, database design and networking. I thought it was pretty well rounded, as the program allowed you to take elective courses after the four core courses were satisfied. However, I do have a few gripes. First, I wish there were more programming courses offered. Second, I wish there was course work available in cyber security. While the school does have a cyber security program, they're not available to CIS majors, which I found to be frustrating. Third (and this may sound silly), I wasn't overly fond of the course names. Instead of survey of system development, why not just name the course system analysis and design? I know this may sound silly, but when someone is reviewing a transcript, it would be nice to be able to get an idea of what was learned by the title of the course instead of having to look at a syllabus. Recognized industry terms would be my preference. Another example and then I'll shut up about it: business system programming.....why not just call it object oriented programming in C#? I'll get off my soap box now. Overall, I had a positive experience and I would recommend it to someone looking to gain a useful knowledge base in information systems.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Nicholasuszaki (In Progress) on June 4, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Happy I have been taking online classes for about a year now. I am very happy with the classes I have taken so far as they do teach me something new. I love that the academic adviser actually knows me when I call and calls once in a while. Same with the financial aid person. I am only two classes away and only regret I didn't know of this place sooner.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

(Graduate) on May 23, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
GREAT! My experience at bellevue has been great. It is just like a traditional college- because they do offer more than just online courses. over the last three years attending bellevue, i went on campus and it felt like just a bigger university campus. I am now two weeks away from completing my masters in clinical counseling.. and seriously considering going for another masters in criminal justice. i love bellevue and the process is so easy. my classes weren't easy and i felt like i got real world application for what i was learning. It helped me through my career and now i am going to get my supervision for me PLPC.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on May 2, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Masters in Clinical Counseling - EXCELLENT This masters program offered everything I wanted from a masters in clinical counseling. I wanted to have an accredited program, be able to get licensed in my own State ( Ohio ), online teachers who were responsive and supportive. I wanted predictability with the online schedules ( usually two homework deadlines per week ) so I could still work part time while finishing my degree. I wanted the push to learn but still feel like I was in control. I had to finish a practicum and three onsite internships at locations of my choice ( which were awesome). Finding sites are hard in some areas but if you live in a major city you should be able to find many internship opportunities. Some of the poor reviews are from folks who gave up due to the online format. If you have discipline and are willing to work hard...go for it!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Baszczyk (Graduate) on April 9, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
THEY DONT PUT MAJOR ON YOUR DIPLOMA!!! Fun enviroment Nice teachers, well organized classes, the only thing when you get thru it you get a piece of paper saying "you got bachelors" doesnt state what major? what science? nothing! lol I was calling everybody there asking if they could put the major for me or write me a letter I gratuated with Business Management ...-nope.... So i have a plaque that soednt mean too much lol The university is fine, the end result for what you are paying for - useless -because no employer will know what you majored in....BA in arts...dance...paper gluing...could be anything... wish I knowe before I would pick a different school....
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Qtboy05 (Graduate) on April 3, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
BS/MS Comparison to Public, State Universities… I possess a bachelor degree from North Carolina State University in Engineering and have also attended grad school at University of North Alabama (not complete). In 2011 I enrolled in Bellevue University’s accelerated bachelor in business degree and completed it in 9 months. I must say that this program was a complete breeze. Open book test, professors stating that they are “pleased” with every posts (even if they do not provide mitigating circumstances), books are not needed as the assignments are extremely easy, lazy group members that receive full grade for team projects submitted…you get the idea. While there are many aspects that are disappointing in the program, I completely understand the target audience for this program. If you are recently out of high school looking to learn a great deal before entering into a proposed career field, the accelerated programs are NOT for you. These programs are aim towards individuals with significant experience within a chosen field looking for a degree to eliminate promotional barriers. For instance a non-degree holding, EXPERIENCED banking associate that is seeking a promotion and does not possess the educational credentials may want to look into the accelerated option. For my purpose I believe this program is a great resume marketing tool for future endeavors as I am a design engineer turned government financial analyst. The master level programs are much more rigorous than the undergrad accelerated. I am currently in the MPA program, taking two courses at a time. During the course of a week you may have two writing assignments and two discussion board requirements, or group requirements, along with the necessary readings for the week. These requests mixed with full-time work and family will be challenging at times. The master level program is comparable to state university as far as expectations; Bellevue does issue more coursework in comparison to my stay at University of North Alabama. Overall I have been pleased with Bellevue University and am excited about taking the last term.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 29, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Unorganized I would never recommend this school to anyone. The classes are filled with busy work, teachers don't return emails, accounting requires the use of my business course online site that does not coincide with book & has constant issues. I do not like anything about this school anyone that says it's better than UNO has apparently never attended it. Oh and the charge for inter library loans you would think that would be in the high price they charge for tuition. Save your money
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Archekhat (Graduate) on January 26, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Convient and challenging I found the Kilpatrick Series to be rewarding and giving an in-depth understanding of America's origins and or possible direction, I found respect for all views. The course requires that we examine perspectives, go beyond black an white and below the surface to appreciate America's heritage.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on December 18, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MPA degree from Bellevue University I found my time spent at Bellevue University was challenging and rewarding and I find that review of Andrew Hennebery academic advisor to to be untrue! He helped me progress through my degree plan and the faculty and professors at Bellevue University care about their students and are willing to work with their students on completing their degree programs. I know that there are some people out there who believe that Bellevue University is a diploma mill but it certainly isn't. The work load and some of the instructors can be a pain, but thats what you get at any institution. There are far more people who will give you a positive experience at this school than any other online institutions and hopefully this review helps someone make the decision to attend.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on December 5, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
NOT a diploma mill NOT A DIPLOMA MILL!!! I PERSONALLY FIND IT HARD TO BELIEVE THAT ANYBODY WHO ACTUALLY WENT THROUGH A COURSE HERE WOULD CALL IT A DIPLOMA MILL. THIS IS THE FARTHEST THING FROM A DIPLOMA MILL. THE MATERIAL IS HARD AND VERY DEMANDING!!! THERE IS NO WAY A PERSON COULD JUST SKATE BY DOING THE BARE MINIMUM. YOU REALLY HAVE TO WORK FOR THE GRADES YOU GET. IF YOU DO A WORK YOU WILL RECEIVE AN A AND IF YOU DO F WORK YOU WILL RECEIVE AN F. THE CLASSES ARE CHALLENGING BUT YOU GET WHAT YOU PUT INTO IT. I LEARNED A GREAT DEAL OF NEW INFORMATION AND I WOULD DO ANOTHER BACHELORS AT BELLEVUE IF I DECIDED TO GET A SECOND ONE.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

22 of 27 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 27, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Not happy at all My primary complaint is the required Kirkpatrick Signature Series. Why would an IT person seeking an IT degree have to take a mandatory three month course on government and go through the pain of the VERY intense reading and writing workload in the accelerated program?? I understand accelerated and all that it entails but week one of the series is this: Read 80+ full pages of articles, write a 400-600 word essay on values, respond to five other people's essays with no less than 100 words, choose a topic for the final project (which involves volunteer work) and by the way, site all mandatory references.....Way too much in my opinion and definitely not for the working adult with family responsibilities!! Why is this three month course required at a $3,400 price tag when the University is already more expensive than other online programs almost $20K for nine classes?? Diploma mill no, but not being upfront about the intense workload and requirements, yes. If you are like me, an older adult looking for finish a degree and have a family and other responsibilities, you may want to consider another University. PS: I am NOT lazy or not willing to contribute time and effort to finish a degree, I just can't understand why this particular series is a requirement when other Universities do not have such a thing...
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 24, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Henneberry - Advisor Conceded/Arrogant I have not been overly impressed. Seems more like a paper mill than really trying to prepare you for a real job. Try to ask advisor Henneberry a question and the response I got was, " I have 48 hours to get back to you." Some classes have been very good and challenging but a few I have actually taught the class myself as the instructor was not familiar with the subject.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Eric (Graduate) on October 8, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Bellevue MIS Program - Excellent I was not sure what to expect but decided to go with a full online program to fit my work/family balance. Bellevue was a great experience to complete my B.S. I had attended University of Texas at Austin previously, and Bellevue is definitely not an "easy" alternative. The coursework was extremely challenging and required a lot of dedicated effort on my part, much more than I had planned on. In most classes, somewhere between 1/3 and 2/3 of your grade will depend on participation and interaction with the class. This also set it apart from my experience at UT Austin, where participation in the class was rarely necessary. Bellevue puts a high emphasis on interaction. Your writings will often be reviewed and critiqued by other students. So, while the program can be completed 100% online and on your own schedule, you are far less isolated than many traditional in-person courses would be. I marked a 5 for support because some professors are not very responsive. Some are. The online tools (Blackboard) could use improvements. Most useful would be the ability to get email notifications when there is activity on the course discussion board. Finally, I've seen a lot of reviews regarding what is listed on the diploma. I received mine in October 2012, and it listed my degree (Management Information Systems) as well as my honors status (Cum Laude). If I decide pursue an eMBA, I will go with a traditional, local and ranked program since the personal connection and alum network are often more valuable than the content. If I were to pursue another bachelor's, I would pick Bellevue again.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 17, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Definitely a diploma mill! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY! Once I graduated from Bellevue University with my Bachelor of Science degree, I immediately started looking for a new job. I received not ONE call back from the many job applications/resumes I had submitted. Degrees from Bellevue are frowned upon in the Omaha area. It has a reputation of being a "diploma mill" and employers do not respect the degrees from there. I went on with my education and eventually completed a Masters Degree at a large, known, university and after that, I had MANY job offers and landed the job of my dreams. I am not the only one this has happened to. One of my classmates completed her B.S. and M.A. from Bellevue University and is now working at the China Buffet because no one will give her a chance.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 13, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
not titled the only negative I have had is with the financial aid department, very unorganized and un-knowledgeable....and the academic adviser who is never available besides that the teachers are great, the material is great the support and feedback from the teachers is also great. I would highly recommend the school. I have learned so much and had to work hard for my grades. I would also recommend people to watch their financial aid closely.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on April 10, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MBA is better then UNO or Creighton If you want an MBA from this school, you better have some talent. Take the classes in the recommended format, they build on one another. There are two weed out courses, if you make it past them you'll do just fine. I've seen 10-20% of the class drop during those classes. Some changed their major and others enrolled at a different university. Bellevue stresses their, "Real Learning for Real Life" slogan. The MBA professors there, not only have their doctorates but extensive backgrounds in the fields they teach. One Prof. has even been on CNN several times and they were asking her opinion. Learning from them I can say that I out shine my friends who went to Creighton and UNO for their MBA. My friends just didn't learn real life applications. I remember we had an co-owner of a multimillion dollar company speak to us. After, barraging him with so many questions he just uttered, "You know... I go to UNO and Creighton and I give the same speech. You Bellevue students get really slam me with hard questions." I got through most my classes with a "B" average and I worked very hard for those Bs. 5-10% of the class will get As. I only know of one person who managed to get all As in his classes with the exception of one. To the guy who gave this school a low rating, he's doesn't know what he's talking about. He took one class and said it was easy. Yes, the first class. MBA 505 is an intro class. Yes, it was easy. Yes, I got an A. That was my only A. Before, the MBA I had taken advanced calculus courses, physics, and stats. The math classes were hard. In the stats class I got a C+. My worst grade in history. I was .01% away from a B-. Bellevue doesn't curve grades. Bastards. Try not to take the math classes online, it will be hard. I've met students who attempted online but withdrew to take them on campus. I remember one professor starting off the class with, "Welcome, to MBA ###. I will be seeing 30% of you in this same class next semester." Be prepared to put the hours in. The 30%, didn't put the hours in. A Masters degree is nothing like a Bachelors. One Masters class is equivalent 2-3 undergrad. This degree is hard. If you make it through, you will feel accomplished and educated. This school taught me how to trade stocks. In the 2 years that I was there, I made over $5,000 trading stocks with $12,000 in capital. This school, is one of the best.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on March 6, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
My experience with Bellevue University I can remember reading these same reviews prior to enrolling at Bellevue University and was extremely concerned with some of the negative comments about Bellevue being a diploma mill and the classes being sub-par. I figured since I finished the program last year, I could give my 2 cents on the matter-both good and bad! I don’t know who said that Bellevue was a diploma mill, or that the classes were sub-par, but that was not my experience at all. Before enrolling at Bellevue University I had around 90 hours from Texas State University in San Marcos Texas. Unfortunately, due to a new job I had to move to an area where finishing my B.S. at a traditional “brick and mortar” school was not an option. I obtained a B.S. in Criminal Justice Administration from Bellevue University and found the classes to be similar to what was offered at Texas State University. I am now completing my Master’s Degree at University of Nebraska-Omaha in aviation. (I would’ve continued on at Bellevue but UNO offers an aviation option to the MPA). Even after finishing my first year of grad school, I can say that Bellevue is NOT a diploma mill and is honestly equal to both Texas State and UNO. Now for the bad! It’s a little pricy but after looking at other “online” schools it’s definitely one of the better choices. I wish I could have finished traditionally and saved a TON of money but unfortunately that wasn’t an option. I didn’t see how taking the Kirpatrick Series was relevant to my degree. It really seemed like a way for the university to make money but it’s been my experience that degree programs at many universities have required courses that could be eliminated from the program. After saying all that, I really found the Kirpatrick Series to be extremely interesting and very insightful but just not relevant! The only other thing I would say was below my expectations was after I graduated dealing with the registrar’s office. I had the most unfortunate opportunity to deal with the biggest A-hole in the entire state of Nebraska who happens to work in that office. Other than him, I found the faculty and administration to be EXTREMELY helpful and willing to help whenever I had questions or concerns. Bellevue is like any other school, it’s going to have both good and bad points. I am just generally pleased with the education I received there and I am really thankful I picked Bellevue University.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 4, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Love Bellevue I loved Bellevue. I was referred to them by a director at work, and I thought I would check them out. After seeing the Accelerated programs, I called immediately and an advisor walked me through everything. I was only able to get unofficial transcripts from my community colleges, but I had no issues getting credit for this work. I finished everything in 9 months, and zipped through the program. I thought it would take me years to get my Bachelor's, but I had it in 9 months. Just like other universities the cohort piece of the degree had groups, and I had good and bad experiences. In a 4 person group, 1 person never showed, 1 person was so incompetent we couldn't let her near any of the work, and that left me and one guy to do all of the work. I still keep in touch with that classmate to this day. In another group, all 4 of us had our work posted first day and final assignment submitted by the second day. Each group is different, and you are stuck with your group. This is supposed to simulate the real world, real work environment, and I have to say, sadly, it does. In the program, you get out of it what you put into it. I received stellar grades, but I put more into some classes than others. I found that you don't have to invest much to achieve a high grade, but you are only cheating yourself. There is information in the books and class that you will miss if you don't put your all into it. This was great for me because I wanted to learn, but found myself so busy with work in a couple of classes that I had to just do the minimum. I went back and read the books later, and found invaluable information there I missed the first time. The fact that I had to take K series I found annoying because it was 12 weeks and just took up more of my time. However, once I started the class, I really liked it. Of course the paperwork, assignments, etc. weren't fun, but I did enjoy the fact that the class assignment was to participate in volunteer activities. I found this so rewarding, and continued my volunteer activities after the class. Finally, I have to note, I did experience hiccups like financial disconnects, credit holding patterns, etc., but if you make sure this is taken care of at the beginning, it won't hold up your degree. I since went to another university, and the service, instructors, finance department, etc. was simply unbearable. I didn't come walking back to Bellevue...I came running and screaming. Will try to remember to leave a review for my Master's as well, but that's going pretty well so far with 4 classes in!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 18, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent and Affordable School I am a current Bellevue University graduate student, closed to completion of a MBA program with concentration in Information Security Management,and I found this school excellent for helping me to achieve my educational goals. Course pograms are consistent and teaching staff is well qualified. Tuition and fees are affordable too. I honestly recommend this college to everybody for traditional or online study.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Bqw82_04 (Graduate) on November 18, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Spent a ton of money for NOTHING I have never felt so violated by an institution in my life. I went into this program with the hopes of furthering the education I received from Metropolitan Community College in Omaha, NE but that was absolutely not the case. I decided to take the "required" Kirkpatrick Series before starting my actual business program because my start date would have been pushed back otherwise. The K-Series was interesting but very biased as another reviewer stated before me. The assignments were very tedious since we had to include refernces from each assigned reading per week (usually 10 to 12 readings per week). Our instructor had an attitude with anyone who tried to challenge him and made me feel like there was only one way to view the readings. After that mess I started the business program. When I went in I thought I would have a similar experience to my time with Metro online classes. Again, not the case. Assignments were on par with high school freshman homework, quizzes consisted mainly of true/false questions that anyone with a bit of research experience could find answers to online, and the teacher seemed to regurgitate the same feedback in each of his posts. After the first three classes I stopped renting text books because I was never using them. I finished with 8 A's and 1 B in the program by only renting books 33% of the time. That doesn't seem like a good education to me. In my opinion, this program and others need a huge overhaul when it comes to the coursework, quizzes/tests, overall challenge, and instructor interaction. I wish Metro offered bachelor's programs. I would have gotten the same education if not more and spent a whole lot less there. DO NOT ATTEND BELLEVUE ONLINE!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Savviecat (Graduate) on August 21, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Pleased with the program This was a good, solid program with challenging assignments and good teaching. The staff was very willing to work with me and responded quickly to my questions. Cohort class style produced alot of good interactions among instructor and students. As with any college program, you get out of it what you put into it and learning is commensurate with effort. I would use Bellevue again and am considering it for my Master's degree.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Rwtrahan (In Progress) on July 28, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Master of Business Ad I am currently in session with my last semester with Bellevue University’s Masters of Business Administration. The program was challenging and would be surprised to find individuals who finished it within 18 months and worked full time. The program is demanding, but rewarding. The pre-requisite prepare you for the follow on courses. The only negative I can say is the administrative problems can be frustrating. The business program has accreditation with the IACBE.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 30, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Bachelors of Science in Business Bellevue University is a great opportunity. Their tuition is inline with other universities, especially its online programs. I am employed full-time with a family of 4 children. Life is busy and for me attending a brick and mortar only school wasn't an option. I needed to be able to take most of my classes online. I did take 9 hours at the school. Whenever I needed help the professors were easy to get in touch with. All departments were quick to respond to me needs. I might have to wait 24 hrs for a call back, mostly around the beginning a new term. Look around and were their courses seem a little high priced, in the end they are compareble if not cheaper than others. If you can attend all classroom classes, then yes they are about $70 a credit hour more expensive, but for the onlines they are $100 to $200 cheaper then other online programs. As for the text book, they are in most cases custom made for the school, in the 12 classes I took, they always had new and used versions available. My books cost between $45 new to $115 new. That isn't more expensive then other schools. Used prices seemed to run about 60% of the new cost and you could resell them to the school at the end for about 75% of your cost. Roughly new $100 used $60 resell $45. That is pretty cost efficient.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Kalinjoujou (Graduate) on May 16, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
New graduate Bellevue has been more than what i have actually thought of. This school has given a chance to get a degree and start my career. The courses were very challenging to me and like some have said I did not encounter any of the problems as far is my transfer credits and my auditing.I had the exact amounts of credit I was supposed to transfer and the electives so i had no problem except to continue on with the bachelor Program. Look every school is not perfect, everyone has their flaws and you yourself , you have to be involved in every step of your education, so if something goes wrong then you know how to follow up with it. I had a great time here at Bellevue, Very honored to be graduating there and I will recommend this school to anybody in a heart bit. it is not as bad as what people say, do the work people and you will get the grades.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Hooni2006 (In Progress) on April 29, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Worst experience ever This school should be ashamed of itself for claiming to be a place of higher education. Yes, you will have the opportunity to gain a college degree, but do not expect any service or common practice from the administration. For the price of tuition, this college should be able to provide at least adequate customer service and a responsible customer experience. If you enjoy being misled about transfer hours, misled about enrollment requirements, misled about programs and availability, and misled about the reality of what you are paying for then this school is for you. Be prepared to FORCE them to do an OFFICIAL audit BEFORE you enroll or they will change things and you will be forced to take more hours from their institution than you are told. It was 7 months before I received mine and that was with constant pressure both by me as well as my professor and I still was forced into 9 hours that were not advised at the beginning of my program. I eventually was refunded through a service grant, but there were several more issues to be aware of. Just make sure you take an active roll in every step of your registration process, as this school is a business and business only and could care less about anything except enrollment and profit.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on March 9, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Marketing Management Review I love how this program, just like others, are able to count all of the credits that I took at a community college. This program was fun, gave me a lot of information valuable to assist me in future roles, and was fun to take. The teachers are understanding and work with you in order to help you succeed. The stigma of not working with you or that the student is taking classes at an impersonal institution does not apply at Bellevue University. I would and have recommended this program and school to anyone interested in marketing management.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on March 6, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
This is what's wrong with higher education When I registered for this school, I was persuaded into a bait and switch. The program I wanted had already started so I was asked to join the Business Information Mgmt accelerated program which later changed to Business Analysis Mgmt immediately following the completion of my cohort. The entire program taught what a business analysis would do and had nothing to do with information management. Halfway through the program, many of the students realized that program wasn't what the advisors described it to be. It was a nine month program with a teacher who was not in it to 'teach'. Very little feedback was given on any work and it really didn't matter if you copied, turned your work in late, wrote only single lined answers on your homework, or participated very little in group assignments, you would still end up with an A in that program. A huge portion of the grade consisted of groupwork, so if you can imagine how hard it is to work with people in groups around you, you can imagine how much harder it is to work with people who are across the globe. As it turns out, since a single grade was given to the ENTIRE group, many students slacked off. They didn't care that their individual grades would be affected because someone in the group would end up doing the group assignment thereby producing an A for the entire group. It sucked for the hard workers and it was an easy ride for those who didn't care. And the groupwork went on for the entire program. Needless to say, the students who genuinely wanted to learn at the beginning simply didn't care at the end. Before you can confer at Bellevue, you must take a three month program called the Kirkpatrick Series. I've read in different sites that this was an unbias view of politics, but this is far from true. It's extremely conservative and very much one sided. The author of the series is a professor at the university and I've been told that he is very bias. I had one professor for all three classes of the series. An essay was required each week, for 12 weeks, and a volunteering project was required for the 12th week. Because you had to quote the author's notes, it was very time consuming to try to argue his views, and sometimes your grades suffered, so many students just summarized his writings. The diploma was a disappointment. No matter what your major was, it would only say 'Bachelor of Science' or 'Bachelor of Art' on there, unlike almost all the other higher education schools out there, including Capella. The other universities will put your major on the diploma. Bellevue simply does not and you have to pay $100 for it. Summa Cum Laude, Cum Laude, and honorable mentions also do not show up on the diploma for students who take the accelerated cohorts. Student Records at Bellevue is one of the worst I've ever seen in my life. I knew many students who waited months before that office finally updated their credits from other schools. I had to ask my other school to send the transcript in three times because Bellevue kept saying that they never received it. It was on the third time that I also requested one sent to me. I called Bellevue and told them that I had my copy and that's when they said they finally received it.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on December 28, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
IT degree - very dissatisfied I received a bachelor's degree in Internet Systems and Software Technology (ISST) from Bellevue University through their accelerated online program. I completed this degree about two years ago. I am unsure if Bellevue University still offers this specific degree, because I am unable to find information about it on their website. I was very dissatisfied with the quality of the program. There were 12 classes on various IT subjects, (including Database Management, IT Accounting, Project Management, Systems Analysis & Design, Network Security, Linux Administration, Windows Administration, Web Scripting, Wed Design, and JSP, among others), yet none of the classes went into enough depth so that you could really become proficient in the subjects. E.g., there was one class that covered Perl, ASP, and PHP scripting. For those unfamiliar with programming languages, you could spend a whole course talking about each one of those. For each of these programming languages, we made an HTML form and did a database connection. This is not nearly enough information to become proficient in any of these languages, and woe to the person who puts that on their resume. Further, the professor didn't know many of the subjects that we were taking and therefore was unable to help when we had questions. In those situations, we had to rely upon ourselves or one of the other students to hopefully find the answer to our question. I also felt that the tests and other course material were very easy, yet time consuming. I got a high GPA but I don't feel like I worked hard enough to earn that. It just felt like busy work. I didn't feel challenged on most of the exercises. E.g., we took a Linux systems administration course and I didn't learn a single thing. I had been using Linux for a little while before that, but was by no means an expert. I remember thinking to myself before the course, "Sweet! We'll probably get to do some Bash scripting!" Instead, the exercises covered only the basics, such as the cd, pwd, mkdir, touch, and ls commands. I was also dissatisfied with the course because I realized in the middle of it that I would have preferred to take a computer science course, not an IT course. Because of the circumstances in my life at that point, I was funneled into taking the ISST course. This isn't Bellevue University's fault, of course. I'm going to go back to a traditional brick and mortar university to get a computer science degree. I will never take another class through Bellevue University, nor through any other online school.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on December 23, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great program I graduated from Bellevue this year. The leadership program was by far my best college experience so far. I enjoyed doing the research and the online debates tested each of us in the knowledge we learned. The professors were wonderful and seemed to care about our growth as students. The registar's office was even easy to work with and my advisor never left me waiting. I love Bellevue and am working on my Master's degree at Bellevue!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 19, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MIlitary AVOID THIS PLACE! I completed a degree and a half at this school before I could not take the administrative problems this school brought on me. After finishing my bachelors degree with them, as active duty military, I enrolled in their flouted MBA program. The program itself, while not challenging, was at least interesting. But that was not the issue. This school says that they work with military all the time, that they support the military... Then why can't they figure out the simple process of processing GI Bill payments? Why do I receive bills from the school when they KNOW my payments come directly from the Veterans Administration? This would not have been a big issue except every semester they would put a hold on my account, right around week 10 of a 12 week semester. This meant: No sending transcripts out and NO REGISTERING FOR CLASSES. This happened EVERY semester. When I called to request that this be changed, they said that there was nothing they could do about their computer system. They knew the VA would be making their payment within a few days, but they could make no exception for a veteran who had already spent tens of thousands of dollars at their college. Since disenrolling at Bellevue University, I have continued to receive letters saying I owe them money. I have been out of class now for about 8 weeks and I get a letter from the school every couple of days. Funny thing is, they sure can send bills and letters but they never return my phone calls when I try to find out what it is I'm being billed for. On top of this, I've been trying to apply to other schools to complete my degree and they won't send my transcripts out because I "owe" them money. Wow, Bellevue University. I recommend ALL stay away from this school. It's overpriced to begin with. But to my fellow active duty, reserve, guard, and veterans: Take your well earned money elsewhere. This will only cause you pain and suffering in the end.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on August 29, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Criminal Justice I would like to say that for any critic out there, you probably didn’t attend Bellevue. Bellevue is the best choice I have made in my life. I graduated with my B.S. in Criminal Justice and within months of graduating, I received a promotion at work. I work for a government law enforcement agency where I held the title of Police Officer. My salary was around $65,000. After receiving my degree, I applied for the position of Special Agent and received the position. My salary now is $95,000. So what is a degree from Bellevue University worth? You do the math. There were many options available for me to combine my previous college credit with my law enforcement training. Bellevue developed a program for the courses I needed to take and they were very challenging. I am extremely satisfied with the money I spent and would recommend Bellevue to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Lowryjlo (In Progress) on July 23, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
fantastic college for working adults I actually graduating Bachelor Degree in Human Services, which I believe, is no longer offered at BU. Bellevue University is a fantastic college for working adults whom are focused. The accelerated classes are fast and as soon as one semester ends, another begins. The down side is the high cost but that is the price you pay completing your degree sooner. I felt very challenged in my classes and worked hard for the grades I received. I have read many of the other receives on the internet and I just hope that when I do graduate next semester it does not take 3 months for the degree to arrive. I’m actually considering traveling to the college to participate in the graduation ceremony.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 23, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Recommend with comments I am currently attending Bellevue University – accelerated Bachelor’s degree cohort program with an emphasis on Criminal Justice, I am in my last class (Capstone project). Overall I have had a rewarding experience however there are some areas that I feel need to be addressed (and I would have liked to know before enrolling). 1. The online classes are very intense and time consuming, do not think that you will just be able to retrieve your assignments, then post them and be done. 2. The online classroom and discussion boards are user friendly and easy to navigate. 3. You do have the same instructor throughout the program which has its pros and cons, Pros – you know what to expect from this instructor, how demanding they will be, what type of submissions they want, and what type of interaction is expected from you. Cons – the instructor has a mindset of what they want and will not deviate from that mindset, the instructor doesn’t like for you to question their authority or opinions, and you don’t receive the diversity of new instructors. 4. Group projects – this was my biggest complaint throughout the program. Each class you were assigned to a group, only group grades were given for the assignments so therefore you had several in the group that would not contribute at all yet they received a good grade based on the efforts of the rest of the group. To me this is educational welfare, there should have been a grade for individual participation and a grade for group but this was not to be. Overall I enjoyed my experience and would recommend Bellevue to anyone wishing to obtain their degree but be prepared to work for it.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 8, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Consider other options before enrolling! Bellevue University is a very expensive option. They offer great options for military personnel to cash in on their experience, but take full advantage of the government's funding. I was forced to use my VA benefits on top of the government's tuition assistance to afford each class. The books required are hard to find and often wrote by the professors at the university. Expect to pay a fortune at their bookstore. Customer service was wonderful in the beginning. After my halfway point, I noticed customer service was near non-existent. Financial support personnel can't offer much support beyond taking your payment and looking at your account. They are still trying to find out why I was charged twice for a semester from 2009. If you contact them by phone, expect to leave a message and pray for a return call. Email support is not much different. The teachers are wonderful and very flexible, but the students working the various admin support functions make the experience somewhat unbearable.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 21, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Can't really complain I am two weeks away from completing the core classes for management. The course has been easy at times and challenging at others. It does encourage thinking for an online program. My biggest complaint with Bellevue is the need to take the "Signature Series" classes which is obviously just a waste of time and money maker for them. I am definitely moving on with a graduate degree. I am not 100% sold on Bellevue since I have no basis for comparison.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Torres.augi (Graduate) on October 22, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent Program. Rewarding Experience. I was hesitant to enroll in an online program at first. I researched online schools, and narrowed it down Bellevue University. The Marketing Management Program was challenging in several ways, but yet very rewarding in the end. The Capstone assignment was a great experience that allowed me to grow as a student. Was it easy? Not at all. Time management and participation were important for me to succeed. The best part about my experience with this program is that I was able to immediately use what I learned and apply it to my current job. I would recommend the Marketing Management program to students looking to challenge themselves while seeking a rewarding experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 1, 2009

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
GREAT SCHOOL! I am currently attending Bellevue University. It was one of the best decisions that I have made. The online format is awesome. Don't think that just because it's online, it's easy. Most of the courses so far have been very challenging. The support is great as well. It's really worth the money. I will most likely obtain my Ph.D from Bellevue as well because I'm leaning toward Human Capital Management although I wish they offered a DBA program. For me the deciding factor was Bellevue’s accreditation, the fact that they have a brick and mortar school and the affordability.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 31, 2009

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Beware Beware. Look elsewhere if you are looking for a resource for a Masters of Management program. This program is very inconsistent with instructor expectations. The institution is not interested in hearing about any problems or ways to improve.Their Likert Surveys give you no opportunity to indicate your experience - just fill in the circle... Some instructors are good and some have ego's like you can't imagine. Some have reasonable workloads (still hard work) and others have unreaslistic workloads. There is certinaly no work/life/family balance as they market. Recommend another option.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on July 27, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
criminal justice program I completed the criminal justice progam online and must say that it was overall a good experience. It was weird at first having the same teacher but as time went on I learned he was very informed on the subject(s). One dissapointment though was the cheap looking diploma that took months to arrive. Criminal justice was not listed anywhere on the degree and when I inquired I was told that other colleges omit the major also. In the end I would recommend the university just don't be surprised by the diploma.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 3, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Review before Enrolling was disappointed after enrolling and graduating from BU's online program. My disappointment came from a variety of concerns that I thought were of a valid nature. I will share them, not to be negative, but to allow others to make an informed decision about BU. To begin with, I did not feel challenged; I received A's in all my classes with little effort on my part. Next, my professor was the same person for all my classes with the exception of the Kirkpatrick series. In addition, I felt the instructor lacked work experience in the subject area and was instructing based upon text book knowledge only. Then there were diploma issues. The diploma was received 3 months after commencements and it was rather 'cheesily' looking and feeling. It failed to list my major, so I called to inquire why. I was told that 'they don't do that' and I figured it was a cost saving issue. I hate to give a bad rap to a school I went to, but in all honesty I would not recommend attending BU. If you care about your education, carefully investigate other options. Sorry BU; this is not sour grapes, but a true series of events that potential students should be aware of so they may make a well informed decision. I wish someone would have written this for me before I made my decision to attend BU
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 4, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great MBA Program Great school, graduated from Bellevue's online MBA program last August. The course work was quite demanding, most courses required a proctored comprehensive final in addition to weekly online quizzes, individual and group projects, and weekly homework assignments to be posted and discussed. A lot of work but a lot of learning! Most of the instructors (10 out of 12) were fulltime faculty and held Phd’s from schools like University of Nebraska at Lincoln, Texas A&M, and Purdue. Overall a great experience, I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Travelchick34 (Graduate) on May 29, 2009

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Accredited Diploma Mill This University is the biggest Rip Off. The comments must be from the faculty,because they are a substandard diploma Mill. I attended the University for one class and I withdrew. The Business instuctor claimed to have had world experience,however she lacked text book Knowledge.Your test are open book.The work is not a challenge. I passed the class with an A without any effort. If you desire a true Education don't waste your time with this school. Yes you do get your degree quickly but you don't learn to much of anything. The other programs may be okay but the undergraduate business program is horrible. Awards they have don't apply (read the small print) Do all your research,because the saying is true. You get what you pay for
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Kpbrew (Graduate) on February 3, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Very Rewarding Online Experience I completed the Bachelors program in Leadership. It was a very rewarding experience for me. I didn't have a lot of expectations from an online program. I was actually a little intimidated because all of my previous exposure had been in the classroom. Not only did I welcome the online experience but I have decided to get my Masters in the same fashion. This is a great school with knowledgeable professors. While the Kirkpatrick Series is mandatory and interesting in some aspects, I could have done without it. The professor who taught it wasn't a very good communicator and at times was unreasonable with his expectations. But my program professor was outstanding. Bellevue is challenging but I am proud that I was able to complete my program with honors. I didn't realize the discipline that I had until I completed it. I have recommended this school to others but I do advise that online is not for everyone. If you are not disciplined or lack time management skills, this may not be for you. Online programs require you to think outside the box and you do a lot of writing to illustrate your ideas and thoughts. If you struggle in this area, I would suggest utilizing the various resources the school offers to assist you with this. I am a proud Bellevue graduate and I take pride in the effort and hard work I put into achieving my degree.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on December 11, 2008

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Master of Leadership I will graduate with my Master of Leadership from Bellevue in January of 2009. I attended Bellevue for my undergrad and graduate degrees and they have continuously improved the online learning environment. The cohort based program challenged my thinking, time management skills, organizational skills and, research skills. My Professor was world class in his knowledge and ability to direct the class from afar. I will benefit from the program as will the people that chose to work for me. This is a wonderful, yet challenging and rewarding program!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 14, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Online Deggree Overall a good experience
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 11, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Challenging and Fast Pace Masters Program The MA in Leadership at BU is a challenging, but very rewarding program. I am in my last course, and I feel that I have gained knowledge that gives me the flexibility to pursue a leadership role in any career that I choose. I am at the middle point of my career, so there always a chance that I may choose a different direction before retirement. This program gives me that flexibility, and doesn’t “pigeon hole” my choices to any particular career field. This program also allows one to reflect on his or her life experiences and to prioritize what most important in one’s life. I conducted a lot of online research before choosing this program, and almost changed my degree to an MPA before completing my first course. However, now that I have almost completed this program, I am so glad that I did not change. BU is regionally accredited, which provides me with more choices and opportunities to pursue a doctoral degree with other regionally accredited colleges. The MA in Leadership program was a fast pace program, with no breaks between the courses. If I could have taken it over again, I would have liked to have had a one week break between each course. However, this would have extended to length of the program from 16 to 18 months. I guess this is why it is considered to be an accelerated masters program. I will be a proud graduate of BU!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Bvpowers (Graduate) on September 25, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Public Administration (MPA) Recently, I completed my second Cohort from BU - utilizing the cutting edge Blackboard learning system. The online format is challenging - yet rewarding for those who are disciplined to devote the necessary time! The cost benefit of the BU program compared to other big name programs is incredible. A colleague was completing their MPA from a University in Arizona (online). We compared our syllabus and work loads -- they were congruent in many facets. Imagine the surprise when we compared our academic costs -- BU was nearly 50% cheaper!! Additionally, the BU program affords students nearly 24 hour access for assistance. Throughout my program - there was never a time I could not reach an advisor or the Professor. Moreover - I developed a great collaborative exchange with the Program Chair - who values student input on curriculum development!! The online program still provided me ample opportunity to cultivate great friendships and professional contacts. The technology utilized in the Blackboard online setting is user friendly and reliable - minimal downtime experienced!! The books utilized were both resourceful and applicable to the study. The class size is minimal to allow for robust and engaging interaction! Finally, the BU staff (registrar; bookstore; technical assistance; academic advisors; etc) are all extraordinary professionals. Each time I placed a call or inquiry for assistance, my needs were not merely met - they surpassed my expectations!! BU is committed to enhancing education for their students in and out of the classroom!! A+++ For any working adult, Bellevue is an extraordinary resource not to be overlooked!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 8, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great MPA program. Excellent value solid education The best decision I ever made was enrolling in the Bellevue University Master of Public Administration(MPA)program. I am currently enrolled in the MPA program at Bellevue University and will be graduating this summer. I can tell you that Bellevue university program is more rigorous than other big regional universities that is the opinion of a friend who has the same degree from a different university. The teachers are great the assignments though tough but are stimulating, I can proudly say with confidence that I learned something. I enjoyed the experience, I wish they offered a PhD program so I can still continue with this great institution.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Stocks33 (In Progress) on February 23, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
The MBA program is rewarding, and worth the $$ I am currently in the last semester for this program, therefore I can provide you with some objective information. 1. The classes can be challenging. If you want to learn how/why an MBA degree is important (and necessary), this program provides a good overview. 2. It is true that the program can be completed in 18 months, two classes per semester- 12 week semesters. However, the classes are NOT "watered down". Make sure that you can handle the work-load before taking two classes at a time. 3. You WILL have homework, tests, group projects, individual projects, and lots of reading. Expect to have at least 10 hours of homework per week, and at least 3 hours of class interaction, for each class. In most cases, you will need to post/interact more than three days per week. 4. You WILL need to brush up on your math/accounting skills. This is a "constant" theme for most of the classes. Don't worry, they can provide you with some refresher classes to get your skills up to speed. 5. You WILL need to write a lot of papers. These are not the "typical" term papers, etc. from the undergrad degree. You will have to use the MLA/APA format with lots, and lots, of references. Again, don't worry- Bellevue has a world-class reference library (on-line) that makes writing and researching a relatively simple process. I was aprehensive before taking on-line classes, but am happy that I gave Bellevue a chance. I have learned a tremendous amount of information that will help my future business career. Keep in mind that on-line classes are NOT easy. They actually require more time than physical class programs. However, I feel that I have learned more than I would have by sitting in a classroom, and driving to class, etc. Whatever you decide, make sure that you do your homework before selecting an on-line school. Too many choices could turn into a difficult task. I have found that Bellevue has "perfected" the on-line format because they have been doing these type of programs for a while. I am not saying that they have been perfect (we have had some technical glitches from time to time), but they have performed over 99% of the time. The website is rarely down, and I have always been able to get technical help when necessary. Good luck, and I wish you well with your education!!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Ternst101 (In Progress) on October 15, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent Experience I began my MBA program in March of 2007 and will complete my degree in August of 2008. This institution is excellent! The teachers are highly motivated, the materials are challenging and the advisors are extremely helpful. I have thoroughly enjoyed my experience at Bellevue University.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Bvpowers (Graduate) on May 14, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
BU Online MGTC Cohort (12 months) I completed this rigorous online cohort in twelve months. BU staff assisted me in transferring maximum credits in addition to an intensive ELA assessment for missing classes. The online collaboration is exhaustive sometimes and is relentless if you "get behind" -- it is imperative to devote 15 hours weekly to this immersion/accelerated cohort. One cannot express enough, how thoughtful, helpful, and dedicated the BU staff are. As mentioned in previous blogs, the staff (admissions, business, advisors, bookstore, cohort) are exceptional and seek to put the student needs FIRST! Moreover, this is the best value found anywhere nationally! My ONLY complain is a silly requirement to spend nearly $3000 for a mandatory Kirkpatrick Signature Series (a delve in liberal arts) that added NO VALUE to the overall program, rather became an obvious money maker for the organization. The instructor lacked leadership skills and was less than ideal -- I have and continue to recommend BU over any other online learning resource. It is ideal for the professional who may not be able to devote countless hours in a traditional classroom setting. The online BlackBoard learning resource is user friendly and very easy to navigate. In fact, I enjoyed the undergraduate program so much, I enrolled seamlessly into a Graduate Program and will complete it in 14 months. US News & World Report ranked BU high in the online learning category. I highly encourage ANYONE to review the offerings carefully and give consideration to this hidden treasure!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on August 16, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent Value for a Great Program I completed my BIS degree in February 2005. Bellevue University gives you excellent value (pricing) for the program. I learned a lot, the teacher cared and worked hard to be more than some name on a bulletin board (have had this happen too many times at other online programs I'd been in) and the people from the school's administrative staff really care to help. Bellevue University sees you first as a person before the money it can make out of you. I would highly recommend this school to anyone who has a tight budget and is seeking to finish a very achievable program. It is quite an intensive program since it's accelerated and in a cohort method. You cannot get behind on your work or it'd be hard to catch up. I even went to Bellevue, Nebraska for my graduation.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Dpstravel (Graduate) on August 10, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
GREAT program Bellevue's on-line degree programs fall directly in line with their in-residence offerings (same papers, efforts, assignments, and program requirements), and offer the utility of having a degree from a “brick and mortar” college that doesn’t differentiate the program on the diploma (i.e. it’s not a “web” BIS degree, it’s simply a Bellevue University Bachelor of Science in Business Information Systems). The BIS program in particular offers a very thorough, highly interactive program that gives a thorough grounding in the "business" side if information system management, delves into system analysis, project management, networking theory, and supervisory practices. The cohort based nature of the program ensures camaraderie, and interaction/discussion of the issues with classmates is a graded component of the course. Group work/projects weren’t part of the course. The accelerated on-line programs/courses are intended for working adults willing to put in the extra effort to finish the courses in a “cohort”, focused order. You finish the specific degree programs with the same folks you start them with, and if you meet the prerequisites (Associates Degree, and all other general ed requirements met), the degree can be completed in a specific program in 15 months or so. In addition to the core class requirements for the accelerated programs, Bellevue also requires a three course Signature Series that essentially focuses on liberal arts for all of Bellevue’s Bachelor degree programs (unless you’ve already earned a Bachelors), with a western civilization and democracy/citizenship focus. This component was enriching, highly enjoyable, and one of my favorite parts of the program. It offered a nice break from the drier IT/business courses. It was a great personal growth experience, the school compares to any I’ve ever attended (either by distance or in residence), and I recommend it without hesitation.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Spmoran (Graduate) on August 8, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Solid Program This is a solid program. Bellevue University is a brick and mortar school in Bellevue, NE, that has a strong online component. I graduated with this degree in 2005 at the age of 42 and have benefited handsomely. I was able to transfer the maximum 82 semester hours into Bellevue, and I took the remaining 45 credits in accelerated cohort fashion. The program is 127 hours if you do not have a Bachelors degree already, and nine hours of that is a set of classes called the Signature Series. These are liberal arts courses and were, to me, the best part of the program. After all, information systems can be pretty dry stuff. Dry or not, the program was thorough and definitely not a walk in the park. There are eleven courses in addition to the capstone course, and they cover the business side of information systems very thoroughly. The capstone course requires a 25 page original research paper, which is a challenge. The rest of the work in the program is also very writing intensive. There was no group work in my program. There were also no exams; rather many APA-style papers. My belief is that if I can write intelligently about a topic, I have probably learned the material. The instructors at Bellevue seem to believe this as well, and since was Business Information Systems (non-technical), the lack of exams or labs was not an issue.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No


You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about Bellevue University