Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Bismarck State College

3.3
9 Reviews
5 2 
4 3 
3 2 
2 2 
1 0 
0 0 

Bismarck State College Reviews:

Great School, great program

Process Plant Technology - August 28, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just graduated from BSC in May with an A.A.S with my major being Process Plant. First off I want to rebuke someone else's comment about how this program is just for people who are already working in the field and about how they will not help you if you are not. Have to say the is not the case. I returned to school 20 years exactly after I graduated high school, and I had zero experience in the field. The staff at BSC did everything they could to help and encourage me. I had mainly been a carpenter for the 20 years between high school and starting the program. I am currently not working as of yet, I had C4 and C5 fused about 7 months ago and haven't gotten the ok from the surgeon yet. That being said, if you are taking the program online be prepared to learn a good portion of the material on your own. But unlike others I have had nothing but good experiences with staff from the instructors on down. Hope this helps someone out.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Electrical Grid Management Degree

Electric Power Technology - August 4, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Bismarck State College's Electrical Grid Management program is overall good, BUT the administration is very, very nasty and completely uncooperative or fair to their students. The staff in the Finance office, Financial Aid Office and the counselors are helpful, but the administration (management)is worthless at best. You have to threaten to go to the US Dept. of Education and the State College Regents before they consider treating you fairly. They want to cause problems for students or treat them badly when simple solutions are evident and requested.

Was this review helpful?

Good school

Power Plant Technology - May 14, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a current student at BSU presently, I want everyone who is planning to study there to know this. This school will only help you if you are currently working in plant Industry and want to improve your knowledge and have a degree. If you just graduate from high school and is the kind of student that can thought yourself and very smart, I will say go for it. I got an associate degree in mechanical engineering from an African country, and worked for 6 years as a piping designer, I already knew a lot about pumps, compressor etc., visually see them and know how they work, so when studying at Bismarck state college, it was like a review. I went there knowing what I wanted. A degree, 90% of my classmate work in the industry like me and are just looking for a degree. According to me, it the best school in the energy industry.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

not universal

Electric Power Technology - October 21, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This program is so out of whack. Teachers all require different approaches in writing papers. I completed a 2 year apprenticeship program and asked on day 1 about writing papers and was told all that would do is hold you back and slow down your learning and know I would agree since this job is 100% hands on. All teachers require different approaches in paper writing and the thing the blows me away is that 90% of them don't even have a bachelors degree. How are you going to require a paper when they do not have the education to back them up. I am sorry if u only have an A.A you should not be allowed to require a paper when you do not have the credentials to require it or grade it. One teacher wants apa format. One wants you to cite your sources on a 1 page or less paper but I'm sorry if you know the material at hand already it is going to sound the same as what is on the internet. I know of 1 teacher who used turnitin.com and I was like really this is an applied associate degree not a B.A or Masters degree it's actually worse then a A.A but better than a high school diploma. Some teachers are so full of themselves it disgust me and use their I have 20 plus years in the industry. OK sounds good but show me your credentials that shows you can in fact grade a paper and have you taken or passed an English class that has taught you these formats.its very sad when the student is more educated then the teacher. When enrolled into the program I was told it was a B.A (my fault should have looked into it more but was in a rush) then I was told it was an A.A then last year when I graduated I realized it was an A.A.S again my fault for not looking into it harder but was in a rush 2 get enrolled and get started. I was told it was about being a transmission operator and did not know you had to learn about BA, RC etc. Stuff if that was the case I would have taken my NERC in something more then just the TOP exam. Honestly It Did NOT Help ME 1 Bit 4 My NERC exam but some may differ. It was over 12 k for an A.A.S which in my opinion is highway robbery. Discussions are horrible again some teachers differ 9 n what they want and are not universal. Some want numerous responses to the same dam responses from other students. How much can you respond to on the same answer. Really BSU? If you don't have prior experience good luck on teaching yourself. Teachers email you late and are honestly crummy when you need help. Also, teachers are very RUDE in responses to emails and act like there stuff don't stink. I caught numerous teachers stating the wrong answers on test when they were blantently wrong and they new it. If you don't have prior knowledge you won't know the correct answer. The books are terrible and alot 9 them are per back and typed up by someone with alot of typos in them. Make sure if you go to check every class book requirements because if you rent books you may need them for other classes. I rented the same book 3 test then just bought the dam n thing but they do not inform you on this stuff. It's to bad no other colleges offer this program. Classes are 2,3 or 4 weeks and some teachers have deadlines for materials and some do not. If you have a teacher who has requirement deadlines count out a road trip or vacation because they will not work with you. I have been in this industry for almost ten years and know quit a bit about it so that helped me alot but this job is hands on and me, fellow employees and even my old instructors say it's a joke and how can you spend time learning when you have to write papers. The.papers are just busy work and if you wrote papers on all stuff associated with this job you would be writing them for 40 plus years. It's a hands on job and disagree with all the papers and again all teachers differ some want 2 short ones and some want six of them. Again if you have knowledge and understanding of a subject how can you cite yourself? If you work 12 hour shifts like myself and have required overtime Good luck because some teachers will except late work and some wont. This program needs to flow and be universal. Like in my bachelors degree program it all flowed and required the same things (like apa for all papers). This school needs to get their act together. If I could do it all over again I would not waste a penny on it. If your going to require something from a student you better have the credentials, education to back it up. I was absolutely disgusted with how this program operated and how teachers operated especially from being a ex teacher myself. Before you decide to go here read my review and be 100% sure you want to do this

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Production Technology

Process Plant Technology - September 5, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I actually enrolled in the Petroleum Production Technology program... Overall, I'd have to say that the program is good and does provide the student with the necessary information to begin gainful employment within the industry, however it does have its drawbacks. The program does a good job of introducing students to a variety of topics within the drilling, completions and productions operations spectrum but does not delve deep enough into some of the content. As someone that was working within the industry while enrolled in the course I felt like the program could have done a better job of explaining in more detail how some of the operations are conducted- but really is that practical outside of physically being on location and performing milling of plugs, running production tubing, or drilling a well- all of which I've done. In terms of the Prod Petro program, at first I was annoyed by all of the production classes as I started off in coiled tubing and then became a Field Specialist where I performed managed pressure and underbalanced drilling operations (which the programs covers-but not in detail). But, when I ended up working for a company that specializes in natural gas compression and production systems, I was happy to have that background from my studies. Finally, as someone that obtained my first bachelors degree through a traditional "brick and mortar" university / program (Bismarck fits the above as well), I realize that you will not know everything nor will you be an expert when you complete your studies. You'll have a platform or knowledge base from which to draw from or possibly seek additional information. Further, you'll have to learn more when you begin your job. One last thing :)... Bismarck State is a great school that has a great tradition and community that stands behind it. No, I do not work for the school (for the conspiracy theorists) but I am proud to have been affiliated with this institution. They're respected within the energy industry and your credentials will aid you-provided you meet other requirements- in helping you advance or start your career.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Wish I went somewhere else

Power Plant Technology - December 10, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

You teach yourself. No videos, no help. Wish I went somewhere else.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

One of the best Energy Programs available

Power Plant Technology - October 10, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I began the AAS program in fall of 2005. I was pleased with the quality initially, but even more so as I progressed through the program. The online and interactive content became better and better, and I was even able to operate a scale power plant from my computer at home. Instructors vary in quality and help as they do at all institutions, but overall I felt the level of education was very high quality and well worth the money. Many of the instructors come from the industry which, for me, adds value and respect for the program. I have completed two of the energy AAS degrees offered from BSC and was hired immediately after graduation. Overall I am very pleased and would recommend this school to anyone wanting to enter the power or process plant industry.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

On your own

Electric Power Technology - December 29, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The on line courses are well designed. Bismark is in the business of making money however. Credits offered to meet the basic math requirement for example are not awarded having completed Calculus-1 and 2 at another college. Also and most important, the advisors advocate the on-line concept in its entirety. You are mostly on your own for guidance. They give phone numbers but are rarely available and dont return calls. E-mail questions are answered with generic answers much akin to an FAQ page on any website. This school is not recommended.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Process Plant Technology Course is Good

Process Plant Technology - November 25, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

More vastness in information is required from basics.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Bismarck State College in any way.