Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Boise State University

  • Boise State University Reviews

    Ranking: #2
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities

4.6
20 Reviews
5 13 
4 7 
3 0 
2 0 
1 0 
0 0 

Boise State University Reviews:

True Blue Chip Program

Master of Educational Technology (M.ET.) - October 16, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated in May of 2015 from the Master of Educational Technology program. I also received certificates in Online Teaching and Technology Integration Specialist. I looked at Boise State because I was a fan of their football team, however I chose the school because their program met my needs at a very affordable cost. I was able to work through the program one course at a time to accommodate my full-time work schedule. The class are well-organized and taught by dedicated professors. There is an emphasis on hands-on projects and only necessary writing. Not a single assignment is just a filler. The support staff kept me inline with all my paperwork so I did not miss a deadline and was able to graduate as scheduled. My father passed away in the middle of the one semester I took two classes and both instructors were sympathetic to my needs for a little more time on a few projects. I utilized so many tools that were new to me, but made easier by a great collection of video tutorials to assist with the learning. A few of the textbooks were of nominal use, but the majority were an important part of my learning experience. The only negative I could say about the program is they don't give a higher weight for an A+ grade than an A grade, so my one A- grade left me with a final GPA under 4.00 (3.97). I also wish I could have taken a few other classes that I didn't have room for. I enjoyed my experience so much, I flew cross country to attend graduation; something I did not do for my two undergraduate degrees at local universities. I also became a lifetime member of the alumni association and will forever "bleed blue".

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Fantastic Program

Master of Educational Technology (M.ET.) - August 23, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my M.E.T. in December 2013. The program was very challenging but all the faculty I worked with seemed to truly care for the students. They want you to succeed. They offer plenty of contact info and digital office hours. In most every class, the instructions for assignments and projects were very clear. When there was some confusion, the faculty member typically responded within a few hours if not immediately. Boise State gave me the knowledge and confidence to move forward in edTech leadership. I am proud to be a BSU alumnus!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Exceptional Experience and Outstanding Professors

Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - April 23, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

BSU's IPT program is among the best online program currently available. The asynchronous delivery method provides the greatest flexibility while maximizing the students participation and education. The professors are amongst the best in collegiate education and truly care for each and every student's success.

Was this review helpful?

Exceptional program

Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - February 9, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The program in Instructional and Performance Technology was exceptional. The instructors were well known experts in the field, and modeled what they were teaching. The materials were the best thought out of any I've encountered in my years of higher education. Not only that, but the support staff was outstanding. I can't recommend this program highly enough.

Was this review helpful?

Lots of Knowledge

Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - March 19, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

When I was recommended this course I wasnt so sure it would be of much use. But the knowledge and insight it provided I find to be very valuable in every situation I find myself in

Was this review helpful?

Excellent Results

Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - January 19, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As someone with a BS and MA in Ed Leadership, I have never had to work so hard to complete classes...and I have never learned so much. The things I learned at the local university are items that are standard and have been in the industry for years. The things I learned in the IPT program are current in the business industry and have made me very competitive in the job market. It is nice to go in to an interview and know the processes that you can recommend to improve their performance.

Was this review helpful?

Excellent Program

Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - January 18, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

BSU's IPT- distance ed program is fabulous. I researched many programs around the US and no other program matched it. I wanted an advanced degree that was available completely online (many universities had only part of the curriculum online), that was accredited and high quality. Not only were the professors and adjunct staff well known experts in the field, my fellow classmates were professionals from academia, business and military that I never would have otherwise met in a class at a local university. The real kicker was when my new boss told me after I began the job that my experience was great, but it was my IPT degree that pushed me out ahead of the other candidates to get the job!

Was this review helpful?

Exceelent and Challenging

Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - January 8, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my degree in October of 2006. As with every program, what you put into the degree you will get out of it. I was able to work on many research projects and present at national and international venues. This is not an "easy A" program. You will work just as hard, if not harder, than any campus based program. The level of academic discourse was intellectually challenging and growth inspiring. This program is very well respected in the Instructional and Performance Technology field making the degree worth every penny. My one piece of advice would be to get involved early to get as much hands-on experience as possible. Every internship and project are possible portfolio options for furture employment searches.

Was this review helpful?

Excellent Program!

Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - December 26, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I do (and have) recommended this program to many people. When I was looking for a program, I wanted to attend a "real" university and the online program gave me the flexibility to complete the program while still working and not having to commute. The instruction was top notch and the fees were extremely reasonable compared to inferior programs. I have also hired graduates from the program!

Was this review helpful?

Didn't finish, but...

Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - November 10, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The two classes I took were exceptional and the support from the IT personnel is phenomenal. Staff and professors in the program are truly dedicated to making the online learning experience productive and enjoyable. (I transferred to a different program because my employer's tuition reimbursement goes farther in paying for a program in my local state.) I understand that a distance PhD is in the works -- I'm definitely interested.

Was this review helpful?

Excellent Program!

Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - November 6, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Boise State's IPT Master's program met my criteria as a fully-accredited university and a "techie" type of program. I wanted more than "just" the degrees in curriculum/instruction that I could find elsewhere, and this program's focus on performance improvement as a technology was the icing on the cake. I live in Virginia Beach, travel with my work, and have a vacation place in the mountains, so the flexibility of being able to hop on the Internet to read class conversations, get assignments, and post inputs worked well. It helped in this program that I like to write, as did most classmates. The computer support was excellent, as well as the administrative support. There is always someone at Boise who will personally call you and help. Best of all were the great classmates I "met" online and later at professional conferences and became friends with! And finally, GO BRONCOS!!

Was this review helpful?

Top Notch Program!

Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - November 2, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my Masters in IPT from Boise State University a couple of months ago. I can't recommend this program highly enough!! From the excellent support staff to the caring and very knowledgeable professors, BSU has it all. I really enjoyed the practical experience shared by the professors and their accessibility...even though I live across the country from the University. I also really felt welcomed into the Alumni community through their LISTSERV email service. The tight knit community also holds several social events throughout the year (including a dinner at the annual ISPI conference). It was really nice to meet my professors and classmates in person at the dinner, and I can't wait to meet up at this year's conference. If you want a great education and networking opportunities, apply to BSU's IPT program!

Was this review helpful?

Boise State University Best IPT Program

Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - November 2, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated several years ago from the IPT program at BSU, and can honestly say this was an exceptional program and I don't hestitate to recommend this to anyone who'll listen. I completed the on-campus program and was amazed at the flexible scheduling I was able to achieve and still work full-time. I am now a certified performance technologist and I use what I learned daily in my job. I plan to be one of the first to sign up for their doctoral program when it's operational.

Was this review helpful?

IPT Program at BSU

Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - November 1, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a first year student, I am already very impressed with the IPT program. The professors are supportive and the coursework is practical and realistic. In selecting a graduate program in this field, I was drawn to the fact that the IPT program at BSU focuses on instruction/training as well as other performance interventions that aren't necessarily related to training. It's been a very positive experience.

Was this review helpful?

Top Notch!

Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - October 31, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am almost finished with my Masters Degree and have been very satisfied with the quality of instruction and support that this program offers. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to enter a distance learning program.

Was this review helpful?

IPT Review

Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - October 31, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Enjoyed my time at BSU. The degree has helped me pursue new career opportunities.

Was this review helpful?

Richard L. Wood

Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - October 31, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This program is taught by instructors who are known throughout the industry as leaders in their field. This brings a "real world" approach to the program. I was able to use examples and situations from my job as "projects" in the virtual classroom. This allowed me real "hands on" application of the learning and let me apply what I learned immediately. I switched jobs during my final two courses. My new employer told me that one of the reasons I was considered for this job was my participation in an online degree program from a reputable institution like Boise State. I owe much of what I have achieved to my completion of the Boise State program.

Was this review helpful?

Excellent Program

Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - October 31, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

What a fabulous experience! The distance learning option made it possible for me to earn my Master's degree. It also allowed Boise State to bring in professors from other universities to round out their faculty. I find myself referring to class materials and books regularly - even 3 years post-graduate. Thank you for a fine program. I'm looking forward to one for a PhD.

Was this review helpful?

Boise State program

Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - October 31, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a graduate of the Boise State IPT Masters degree program. This program is not for the faint-hearted. It is a rigorous program that prepares you for Forture 100 level organizations. Upon graduation from the program, I was challenged to develop and manage an instructional design and development process for a global business that includes 11 manufacturing sites in three countries. Without my education from Boise State, I would not have been able to perform at an above-target level. Kudo's to Boise State... you made my career sky rocket !!!

Was this review helpful?

IPT at Boise State Best Educational Experience

Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - August 3, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The IPT program staff and faculty gave me the best learning experience of my life. I was thoroughly prepared for my later career and eventual PhD work. In fact, I found I was better prepared for my PhD than my colleagues in the PhD program. The IPT program at BSU is exceptional!! The University administration (apart from the IPT program) itself, however, was difficult to deal with. They simply weren't prepared or seemingly interested in dealing with distance students. I can't tell you how often someone suggested I just "come to campus" for something. It never occurred to them that a student might be too far away.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Boise State University in any way.