Boise State University

Review Averages: 9.3 out of 10 (20 reviews)
Ranking: #2

Boise State University is a research school located in Idaho’s capital city. Boise State offers two-year online bachelor’s degree completion programs in respiratory care and nursing (an R.N. to B.S.N. program), as well as online graduate certificates and degrees in educational technology and e-learning, instructional and performance technology, and nursing.

Accreditation: Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
Non-Profit: Yes
Country: USA
Website

Learn More about Boise State University

Request Information »

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Boise State University Reviews:

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
True Blue Chip Program
Master of Educational Technology (M.ET.) - October 16, 2015
I graduated in May of 2015 from the Master of Educational Technology program. I also received certificates in Online Teaching and Technology Integration Specialist. I looked at Boise State because I was a fan of their football team, however I chose the school because their program met my needs at a very affordable cost. I was able to work through the program one course at a time to accommodate my full-time work schedule. The class are well-organized and taught by dedicated professors. There is an emphasis on hands-on projects and only necessary writing. Not a single assignment is just a filler. The support staff kept me inline with all my paperwork so I did not miss a deadline and was able to graduate as scheduled. My father passed away in the middle of the one semester I took two classes and both instructors were sympathetic to my needs for a little more time on a few projects. I utilized so many tools that were new to me, but made easier by a great collection of video tutorials to assist with the learning. A few of the textbooks were of nominal use, but the majority were an important part of my learning experience. The only negative I could say about the program is they don't give a higher weight for an A+ grade than an A grade, so my one A- grade left me with a final GPA under 4.00 (3.97). I also wish I could have taken a few other classes that I didn't have room for. I enjoyed my experience so much, I flew cross country to attend graduation; something I did not do for my two undergraduate degrees at local universities. I also became a lifetime member of the alumni association and will forever "bleed blue".

Fantastic Program
Master of Educational Technology (M.ET.) - August 23, 2014
I completed my M.E.T. in December 2013. The program was very challenging but all the faculty I worked with seemed to truly care for the students. They want you to succeed. They offer plenty of contact info and digital office hours. In most every class, the instructions for assignments and projects were very clear. When there was some confusion, the faculty member typically responded within a few hours if not immediately. Boise State gave me the knowledge and confidence to move forward in edTech leadership. I am proud to be a BSU alumnus!

Exceptional Experience and Outstanding Professors
Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - April 23, 2013
BSU's IPT program is among the best online program currently available. The asynchronous delivery method provides the greatest flexibility while maximizing the students participation and education. The professors are amongst the best in collegiate education and truly care for each and every student's success.

Exceptional program
Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - February 9, 2008
The program in Instructional and Performance Technology was exceptional. The instructors were well known experts in the field, and modeled what they were teaching. The materials were the best thought out of any I've encountered in my years of higher education. Not only that, but the support staff was outstanding. I can't recommend this program highly enough.

Lots of Knowledge
Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - March 19, 2007
When I was recommended this course I wasnt so sure it would be of much use. But the knowledge and insight it provided I find to be very valuable in every situation I find myself in

Excellent Results
Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - January 19, 2007
As someone with a BS and MA in Ed Leadership, I have never had to work so hard to complete classes...and I have never learned so much. The things I learned at the local university are items that are standard and have been in the industry for years. The things I learned in the IPT program are current in the business industry and have made me very competitive in the job market. It is nice to go in to an interview and know the processes that you can recommend to improve their performance.

Excellent Program
Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - January 18, 2007
BSU's IPT- distance ed program is fabulous. I researched many programs around the US and no other program matched it. I wanted an advanced degree that was available completely online (many universities had only part of the curriculum online), that was accredited and high quality. Not only were the professors and adjunct staff well known experts in the field, my fellow classmates were professionals from academia, business and military that I never would have otherwise met in a class at a local university. The real kicker was when my new boss told me after I began the job that my experience was great, but it was my IPT degree that pushed me out ahead of the other candidates to get the job!

Exceelent and Challenging
Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - January 8, 2007
I completed my degree in October of 2006. As with every program, what you put into the degree you will get out of it. I was able to work on many research projects and present at national and international venues. This is not an "easy A" program. You will work just as hard, if not harder, than any campus based program. The level of academic discourse was intellectually challenging and growth inspiring. This program is very well respected in the Instructional and Performance Technology field making the degree worth every penny. My one piece of advice would be to get involved early to get as much hands-on experience as possible. Every internship and project are possible portfolio options for furture employment searches.

Excellent Program!
Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - December 26, 2006
I do (and have) recommended this program to many people. When I was looking for a program, I wanted to attend a "real" university and the online program gave me the flexibility to complete the program while still working and not having to commute. The instruction was top notch and the fees were extremely reasonable compared to inferior programs. I have also hired graduates from the program!

Didn't finish, but...
Instructional&Performance Technology (IPT) - November 10, 2006
The two classes I took were exceptional and the support from the IT personnel is phenomenal. Staff and professors in the program are truly dedicated to making the online learning experience productive and enjoyable. (I transferred to a different program because my employer's tuition reimbursement goes farther in paying for a program in my local state.) I understand that a distance PhD is in the works -- I'm definitely interested.

Read all 20 Boise State University reviews...


Programs:

Read all 20 reviews...

Write a Boise State University Review


Learn More about Boise State University



Learn More about Boise State University



Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Old Comments

Sept. 10, 2007, 3:07 a.m.
0 votes/
Took some classes in the MS-IPT program and they were very good.  The problem with this program is the cost, if you are an out-of-state student the tuition is steep. If your employer is paying then it's not a consideration. 

I'm not recruiting for them, but Indiana University, Bloomington has a Distance MS in Instructional Systems Technology (very highly regarded) that costs less than Boise State and IU is a top rated national university. Cost and reputation are big factors in selecting degree programs.
Nov. 3, 2006, 1:42 p.m.
0 votes/
BSU's IPT progam is really exceptional and I highly recommend it for someone who's wants to develop the highest level of business and educational problem solving skills.  This was my first distance learning progam and I was concerned that I would miss out on the social interactions with professors and classmates.  I can say after two plus years I have never had a better nor fuller learning experience.  There is plenty of thoughtful interaction with classmates, and the focused interaction with professors regarding quality and quanity far exceeds anything I have had in traditional classrooms.
Nov. 1, 2006, 11:32 p.m.
0 votes/
As a first year student, I am already very impressed with the IPT program.  The professors are supportive and the coursework is practical and realistic.  In selecting a graduate program in this field, I was drawn to the fact that the IPT program at BSU focuses on instruction/training as well as other performance interventions that aren't necessarily related to training.  It's been a very positive experience.
Oct. 31, 2006, 9:13 p.m.
0 votes/
The BSU IPT program has a lot to offer to any discipline.  Accounting, business management, Human Resources, etc. can all utilize the performance technology skills to help them provide value to their organizations by improving core processes, minimizing organizational performance gaps and even to enhance a rewards and benefits program through the scientifically designed evaluation and analysis process that is learned through BSU's IPT program.  It has definately assisted me hugely in acheiving my desired career.
Oct. 31, 2006, 8:47 p.m.
0 votes/
The IPT program gave me the chance to broaden my skills and helped me bridge a career gap that I was having trouble getting over without an IPT degree. The curriculum is challenging but realistic, the faculty is driven yet understanding, and the support staff provides support on many levels. It was a great experience that was rewarding and has helped to open several doors for me.
Aug. 3, 2006, 9 p.m.
0 votes/
I attended this program and it was the absolute best investment of time, money, and effort in my life. I learned a great deal, enjoyed the experience, worked full time while studying, finished in 2 years and have since enjoyed considerable career success!

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Boise State University in any way.