Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Breyer State University

3.5
17 Reviews
5 5 
4 7 
3 0 
2 2 
1 3 
0 0 

Breyer State University Reviews:

Great Business Program

B.S. Business Administration - August 16, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started the business program at the undergraduate level, and am now on to my master's. My employers have been supportive of my journey and have even offered tuition reimbursement even though it's unaccredited. I've learned a ton of business practices and the lecturers are awesome!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Educational, but don't try using it in the real world

MBA - September 18, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Treat it like continuing ed (non-credit) courses and you will be fine. Try using it for employment or other purposes, and you will run into a lot of roadblocks. It is not licensed, not accredited in the USA or other countries with equivalent regulation. I don't list the MBA on my resume because it will be recognized as such, but list the individual courses as continuting ed.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Great program

DBA - September 12, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I finished my PhD from Breyer State University although i have also completed a Bachelor and a MBA from other UK accretitated institutions. I reccomend it for a great experience and an affortable degree!! The support i received make me feel proud and strong for my knowledge i earned.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 8 people found the following review helpful

NOT A GOOD SCHOOL

MBA - February 27, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

They are not accrediated that is a not a good sign. My MBA in Human Resources Management won't allow me to teach in a college because the degree is not a real degree. Professors are nice and stuff, school does not have a NA accrediation. Good schools are either RA for a tradtional school or NA for a online school. Stay away if you want RA or NA, this school is not. Dr.Kolenich claims that they are getting NA this year. They move from state to state kind of strange. They started in Iowa, then to Alamaba, now in California.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Unusable Doctorate / DBA

DBA - April 13, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Unusable doctorate / DBA. I successfully completed the self-study doctorate program for personal reasons, unfortunately for most, you should be well aware that the credential is not recognized in higher education for teaching purposes or in the business world. For the price of the program thought, It was a good education experience that has helped me.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Candid Review

DBA - March 23, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Breyer State University has proved to be a high quality institution with exceptional educational programs, reading materials, virtual classrooms, and online student support. I have found the business courses at the doctoral level to be quite challenging and relevant to current day business practices. All queries to and from the faculty, staff, and administration have been timely and factual. The 590 page Doctoral Dissertation that I completed for my Ph.D. was most rewarding in terms of honing my research, writing, and presentation skills. BSU provided me with a quality online education at an economic cost. Its virtual classrooms were a great alternative to the drudgery of the traditional classroom experience. I was able to complete the classes at my own pace, in my own time, and wherever I happened to be, even while on travel. Accreditation is an issue I would love to see BSU address in the near future, for the benefit of the institution and their many students.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 8 people found the following review helpful

A very challenging and great experience.

Computer Systems and Information Technology - September 26, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had a great learning experience and BSU. Communication in all regards was absolutely mind boggling; they surely do understand the concept of customer service. Tuition is decent too. The downside to obtaining a degree at BSU is that they aren’t accredited by anyone recognized by the DOE, so most employers won’t recognize the degree. You will find though, that if you look hard enough (as I did), that there are human beings out there that will recognize it as long as you have some type of experience. Experience is very important to some people, often better than a piece of paper. The main thing here is that learning does take place at BSU. But I do not understand why they do not get accredited. People that run this school have degrees from many accredited institutions; Phd’s, MBA’s, you name it. These guys are like the FREE MASONS or something. If they want to I know they can get accredited…with ease.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Breyer State University: A Great School !

Business and MBA: Leadership - March 10, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Breyer State University is a great, exceptional school for those who wan't to learn and expand their horizons. I've just finished my PhD in Organizational Psychology and I am a happy and satisfied graduate. Teachers are both knowledgeable and friedly, textbooks are up-to-date and the work required is quite demanding though very challenging.

Was this review helpful?

Breyer State University - Grief Counseling

Business and MBA: Leadership - February 26, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The texts were great and current. The course curriculum material taken in all the courses was current/relevent/thought provoking/challenging. I did an enourmous amount of work that I put HOURS of study into. The courses well put together and built on each other BUT the PHD I graduated with IS USELESS. It isn't recognized anywhere AND if you attempt to USE this PHD it will only get you confronted and challenged!!!

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

My Experience at BSU past and present

Business and MBA: Leadership - January 29, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

All online schools are global in nature and are state specific. So that does mean you will automatically get hired cause you went to an accredited school. I have degrees from accredited schools but without the license or credentials there is not much I can do. The reason is to negate many of these so called allegations that keep coming up about BSU. I am alumni of BSU as I completed my Non Bar J.D degee in Dec 2007. While they were still in AL. The program was rigorous but I also came from another law school, that was unaccredited in CA. The only difference about that school it was registered with the state bar of CA. And did not offer a non bar program,and they were much more expensive for my needs,however this other law school did have a non-bar at one time, they stopped it. So they are no more govened the Breyer. The on a law degree, with viable curriculum supervised under a licensed attorney. One person asked why would want to go to NB law program, if they cannot practice law? Most people believe that. That is a preference maybe somebody does not want to sit through the bar, they just want a law degree, other then practicing law. So I did not get my JD degree over the week-end, you can within your pace within their guidlines, but nobody gave me my law degree I earned it. I had to send accredited transcripts and BA was required. In reference programs their PH.D that is another misnomer as I was NEVER ever offered an honorary degree for my Ph.D. Which I have been working on off and on, but due to the uncertain economy I go when I can that is a positive about Breyer you are not backed in corner to go quarter or semester without stopping yes they have a time frame, but I was given the normal that any school school would give, and I would have to finish the duration. I also have to a disseration, and its legal to hold that degree, the only thing is I cannot get licensed however as I said above with the accredited schools, you still have be eligible for licensure also. It is automatic the degree is one thing and the license or credentials or another. I went to another online for and almost three towards Ph.D and I could not finish because it cost me over 10 grand in residencies Breyer does not require that, and these other school should the same for people that are not position to pay out like that especially with schools today. So Breyer is my likely choice. I never once recall them implying that were accredited, they have said they were unaccredited. Online schools can be located one placed and be operating somewhere else. The wording that did come from Breyer was given to students when they re-located from AL to CA, and that they are pending an appeal. CA used to have POST secondary over them but schools out there had to sign a waiver agreeing to keep the schools and deal with the student under state statues. Some did not. However I have never Breyer as a dipolma mill. Thanks Torts

Was this review helpful?

Good School

Computer Systems and Information Technology - January 26, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently attending BSU and I have one term before graduating. The experience is overall great! The staff is really supportive and the student services have been excellent. I came from University of London and my experience here has made me stay through completion!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful

good level but unaccredited

Computer Systems and Information Technology - December 31, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

All the materials were quite nice.Up-to-date books nice communication with the professor but...unaccredited.I don't know in the future what will be BSU's accreditation status but for the moment before use the degree I have to mention it that it is unaccredited. As all the online universities, BSU should improve some points that they have been already discussed in this forum and also to the official BSU forum

Was this review helpful?

Low Cost MBA,Nice Courses!!

MBA - December 6, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Very satisfied by BSU MBA I recommend their degree for those that don't care about accreditation.Very useful courses, a lot of assignments and a 80 pages Thesis. Thank you BSU See you soon in Ph.D program

Was this review helpful?

Underestimated Value of Accreditation, useless

MBA - December 2, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Underestimated Value of Accreditation, useless. After working in my field for 20 years, I wanted to return and get my MBA to be able to teach at a local community college. With a Breyer State degree, I am unable to become professionally licensed, and unable to teach anywhere since my degree is not recognized. Out money and starting over.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

B.S. Business

B.S. Business Administration - December 2, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I found the courses at Breyer State University to be in line with other brick & mortar schools I have attended. The facility was great!! and always responsive. I plan to start work on my MBA next year at BSU..

Was this review helpful?

Breyer State University

Computer Systems and Information Technology - November 22, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have completed my BS in Business and found the program to be in line with other RA Universities. BSU has taken its share of bad press lately, but has always responded in a professional and informanated manner to its student body on all topics. I am not ashamed, nor do I regret to be an alumni of this institution and will return to complete my MBA.

Was this review helpful?

Personal

Computer Systems and Information Technology - July 20, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated with a BSc in IT & Computer systems.I have a lot of credits by RA universities and colleges.I didn't see any difference in their courses.I can say that in some courses it was more difficult than in my RA degree.Even if it is not RA the university asks a lot of work.The faculty is quite good and they answering in less than 12h(by email, else you can call the university). The only critical point is it's accreditation but that wasn't a problem for my employer. And something else...BSU is not a degree mill as several people in the forums says. Now, I'm planning for an MSc at BSU. cheers from France

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Breyer State University in any way.