Century University

American Century University focuses on adult education. The school is licensed by the Higher Education Department of the State of New Mexico, and its students either earn credits to transfer or complete full ACU certificate and degree programs. American Century University’s bachelor degree programs are limited to students who already hold an associate’s degree or have at least one year of experience in a field related to their major.

Accreditation: Accrediting Commission International
Non-Profit: Yes
Country: USA

Programs:

Read all 4 reviews...

Write a Century University Review

Reivew Averages: 9.7 out of 10 (4 reviews)

Century University Reviews:

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Ph.D. in Education
November 22, 2009
When I was still studying to earn the degree of Doctorate in Education, my prescribed curriculum courses contents were top courses offered by two outstanding universities, University of Californian,Berkeley, CA and Stanford University, CA. As a student, I was very focused,studied very,very hard in order to pass all the courses with flying colors, and I did. I received outstanding professional assistance from my dean and faculty members. I was provided technological assistance. I was provided ... [Read more]

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Century Unversity
September 15, 2010
I found Century University very valuable to my growth and development. There are many good professors and helpful people there. [Read more]

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Century University
August 3, 2010
I graduated in 1998 with a Masters in Healthcare Management. I found the credentials of the advisors and the materials outstanding. [Read more]

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
My experience at Century University
March 28, 2013
I graduated from Century University in December 1993 with a PhD in Business Administration with an emphasis in Marketing, and I have found upon graduation from my degree programs, which I received BS MBA and PHD, very helpful in my line of work and I was fully prepared for working in the business world and I had a much deeper understanding of exactly what is going on in the business world from my business studies ... [Read more]

Read all 4 Century University reviews...



Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Old Comments

Nov. 24, 2010, 4:58 p.m.
-1 vote/
We could earn more money by copying Century University and grant degrees also.

5 degrees a month = not a bad pension.
Nov. 11, 2010, 6:44 p.m.
0 votes/
i got a english degrie from CU. i dont tipe very gud and i cant spel ether.
Nov. 7, 2010, 10:09 a.m.
+1 vote/
I have a B.Sc. and M.B.A. from Century University. I managed to get many top paying jobs in my career, let's say the cost of CU does get reimbursed to me on a monthly basis.

May be it is easier for us 'non-US-residents'. What I would like to know from the US residents: Did any one get into real problems using CU degrees?   It should not happen, as the transcripts do clearly say 'non-traditional...'  CU is not pretending what it is not.

Just my thoughts....
Oct. 27, 2010, 2:41 p.m.
0 votes/
I have graduated from Century University in BSc and MBA in health care management. I am not sure the leaders of the University are not as such proactive in promoting the University and assisting their students. I was applied for PHD in University of South Africa to study health science. But, since I graduated from Century University they were not accepting me since the University has Internationally accredited. For this and other things which I have observed I am not recommending anyone else to consider century University as a first choice for their study.
Oct. 17, 2010, 4:32 a.m.
0 votes/
Re: June 6 - 8, 2008

What are YOUR names????

CU - You had to look up the correct spelling of the word, "mention." You had "mension" :)

MB - It should be criticism "is," NOT "are." There should be a comma after the word "substance," or just a period, then start a new sentence. But don't forget to take out the word, "but." (And, yes, this period SHOULD be exactly where I have it typed.) In addition, if you do plan to use the a connector, you should correctly use the conjection, "and," not, "but." Nope. My Ph.D. is not in English; it's in psychology.

MY POINT HAS BEEN MADE! Learn how to write. Your sentence structure is off also. I do NOT care where you're from and where you went to school. This is American Century University. My American born friend in Paris had to learn to write French grammatically correct! Think deeply about what you would say about inner-city born youth (or a  person of any age really) in  America when they write or spell incorrectly or speak in Ebonics. However, I am certainly not implying that this is the norm. I know too many absolutely brilliant people from this background. 

CU (is this someone from Century University?) and MB, please, get real!! Learn to write, then claim to be educated. Stop complaining and just do the work.

I experienced a beautiful and wonderful education at Century University; however, we all still deserve better accreditation than what is offered at ACU.
Aug. 13, 2010, 4:08 p.m.
0 votes/
Yes.  It is illegal to claim that you have a PhD from any organization outside of where there are accredited.  If you read Century University's own literature, it notes that:

"American Century University is licensed by the Higher Education Department of the State of New Mexico located in Santa Fe, New Mexico, U.S.A. and accredited Comprehensive Member with Honor from 1979 to present of The Accrediting Commission International, A.C.I. The A.C.I. Accrediting Commission has not requested a listing nor is it recognized by the U.S. Department of Education."  [Century University web site]

ACU is not accredited by any organization.  They are only "licensed" to operate in the State of New Mexico.  The state specifies on their web site that the license "is not an approval or endorsement of an institution’s academic program."  Essentially, you have a mailing address, you pay a fee, and you get a license.

No, you cannot claim you have a PhD from a university that is not accredited by an organization recognized by the Department of Education.  Yes, it is against the law in most jurisdictions.
July 31, 2010, 1:03 a.m.
0 votes/
Appreciate the unbiased posting above by CC.  Very concerning that people have bought these degrees and use them to seek employment.  Does anyone know what should be done when this happens?  Is it actually illegal to claim, for instance, that you have a PhD when it is granted by Century University?  If a university is not accredited in this country, can someone actually claim they have a PhD or does this constitute fraud?
July 6, 2012, 12:41 a.m.
-1 vote/
I was student at American Century University , I have never seen or felt like education at this university 
I have spent a verey good time in the USA the country I love more than any thing .

DR.Mamdouh Abdel Rahman
Jan. 5, 2012, 3:57 a.m.
-1 vote/
bogus university , i sent in the check took the test and later after submitting work found out my "professor" had died1 re submitted info again and now no will will answer my emails...maybe they do NOT want to refund my money.....
Oct. 30, 2011, 5:13 a.m.
0 votes/
Hi There

I am a mechanical engineer (production) looking for advice on how to go about obtaining my PE (Professional Engineer). 
I am also a Commercial diver class 2. 
I wish to combine my engineering and diving qualifications. Im having trouble finding what courses i will need to get my PE .... can anyone advise me?
I am also interested in Bridge inspection from a diving perspective. 
June 23, 2011, 10:52 a.m.
+1 vote/
All the earlier commemntors are just elling lies! How can an unaccredited university give you solid tertiary education?
Jan. 21, 2011, 5:32 p.m.
0 votes/
Edra, it matters not if you have more degrees than a thermometer from the best universities in the world -- your one CU "degree" is something that will follow you around for the rest of your life. I, for one, do not envy you a bit for it. 

hxxp://www.altreport.info/eng/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=78:nothing-for-something&catid=13&Itemid=26

hxxp://www.quackwatch.com/04ConsumerEducation/dm3.html
Jan. 19, 2011, 7:59 p.m.
+1 vote/
In reading this board, I find there are a lot of uninformed comments, half truths, and specific biases.

I have a PHD from Century University.  I also have four other degrees from very well accredited universities (including, for example, Duke University.

ALL of these statements are TRUE and they are on both sides:

1.  Century University is not accredited.

2.  Century university does not give degrees away.  They are just as hard as most other universities.  But they are nontraditional and unaccredited, so their degrees have value only for certain purposes.

3.  Century University has a very high student to faculty ratio.  It is probably best suited to students that can learn independently.

4.  My CU PHD dissertation was over 200 pages, it received a US patent without office action from a US patent examiner, and it resulted in $850,000 in applied research contracts from US government agencies and a successful entrepreneurial career.  But these achievements were mine and were neither bolstered nor hindered by the CU degree.

5.  I teach for two accredited universities as an adjunct faculty member.  I was not hired based on my CU degree, but on other credentials.  I was rejected for a teaching job once because I had a CU PHD.  I do have three accredited masters degrees and I was told if I only had those without the CU PHD, they would have hired me.  They didn't want to have a faculty member with a CU degree.  However, I do teach for two other accredited schools where it did not matter.

6.  CU is a good place to get a degree if you want to do it from home on flexible terms and you do not care about certification from an accredited university.  Use it for personal enrichment, convenience and self satisfaction.  Do not use it to get hired based on your degree.  (Not all people get degrees in order to get jobs - I did this just because I wanted to, I was already financially well off).

7.  There is no law against having a degree from a nonaccredited university or putting it on your resume.  It is fraudulent to advertise that you have an accredited degree if your degree is from CU.  But it is not fraudulent to advertise that you have a degree if you do not represent it as accredited.

8.  No lawyer would ever take a class action suit against CU without being paid upfront by the plaintiff group.  They are an LLC and they distribute all their profits.  They have no assets and a judgment would be completely uncollectable, even if obtained.

9.  If Century University had visionary leaders, they could turn this into an accredited organization.  They lack the drive and motivation to do this.

10.  My PHD adviser was well qualified as a professor, but not deeply knowledgable in my research area.
July 20, 2010, 4:44 p.m.
0 votes/
If you wonder about Century University (American Pacific University International, American Century University, or whatever name they are using this week), you simply should check the background:

When I received a resume from an employment candidate listing CU, I called their offices (800.240.6757) to verify.  What I found was a man who admitted:

1.  They do distance learning only
2.  They do not have a campus as advertised.  The photos posted online are not the same as the address listed in their literature for the Main Campus(acuniversity.edu/index.php?page=Locations)
3.  They occupy an office in a building in NM (615 1st St. NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102, U.S.A)
4.  They have 10 faculty members
5.  They have over 1,000 student currently enrolled in this academic year

With that ratio of students to instructors, it should leave you just enough resources to collect the checks and print the diplomas; forget about grading the papers.

Maybe he did not understand me, but I was immediately suspicious.

Their numerous web sites have not been updated since 2008 and the careers listing for the university only advertise for "Sales and Marketing" positions.  No academic staff positions are advertised for on their sites.

The school is not recognized by the Department of Education of any other Federal Agency and degrees will not be accepted once you graduate outside of New Mexico.  While the diploma may look good on the wall, I can reproduce 100 more at Kinko’s and have the same value:  ZERO.  

A degree is not an easy thing to come by and trying to go the easy (sleazy) route by going to a diploma mill will not cut it.  Unfortunately, I had to deny employment to a candidate because he lacked a real degree.
July 19, 2010, 1:51 p.m.
-1 vote/
TO ALL OF YOU, IF YOU NEED REGIONAL ACCREDITATION, THAT MEANS THAT YOU DO NOT HAVE KNOWLEDGE AND YOU ARE A COMPLETE STUPID.  A LOT OF STUDENTS GO TO REGIONAL COLLEGES OR UNIVERSITIES BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE AND THEY WANT TO EARN GRADES DOING NOTHING AND OCCUPYING A STUDENT CHAIR ONLY WITH THEIR ATTENDANCE AND BEAUTIFUL FACES.
TO STUDY ONLINE YOU NEED TO BE VERY RESPONSIBLE AND WORK VERY HARD.  ACCREDITATION MEANS MAFIA, NO MONEY NO ACCREDITATION.
March 23, 2010, 1:57 p.m.
+1 vote/
The only fradulent degrees, are those that people buy without doing the work!  End of story!
March 23, 2010, 1:55 p.m.
+1 vote/
I agree with the others, if we need to provide alumni support for the regional accreditation, then we should all support this cause.  No one sold me a degree, I worked hard for it....!
Feb. 16, 2010, 4:22 a.m.
+1 vote/
I do wish that the posters here had studied grammar, spelling, punctuation, form and style a bit better. Some of the posts on this forum are terrible in the areas suggested for study. Good Lord!
Jan. 4, 2010, 8:46 p.m.
+1 vote/
I earned by MBA and PHD from century and I worked very hard with my subjects to complete the requirements for my degrees, I do not consider Century a diploma mill, because the students have to work hard and study hard to complete the graduation requirements, all accrediation is about,  is money, money, and more money, the more accrediation standards that a school has to have, the higher the cost of tution will be as the school has to reap the high costs of accrediation standards and also there is no school whether traditional or non traditional that will promise you the job of your dreams upon completion of your degree, get a life and quit complainig about accrediation or go to a another school
Nov. 21, 2009, 3:04 a.m.
0 votes/
I earned B.Sc. Mechanical engineering at Century University; all the Mechanical Engineering courses offered from Century University were the same as regular University in Canada. However, I was very appreciated and thanked all the faculty advisors who I had been worked with. They were very knowledgeable and helped me whenever I need. I graduated my B.Sc. Engineering by 2002 and I have been working on Project Engineering job for over 7 years through bad time because of the world economy recession, I am still working there. I am so sorry for some of my fellow who had a real solid full time engineering school but had been out of job from my workplace. All credited I earned from Century were accepted by SME and final I passed a Certified Manufacturing Engineer. In short, I am proud of Century University who is given me a basic knowledge to help me to move forward.
Nov. 20, 2009, 5:35 p.m.
-1 vote/
anyway, I think as years are passing by employers become more choosy on what university is accredited and which one is not. When giving advice to others I always tell them: Go for an accredited University, but Century University is better than no degree at all. And know the limitations.
Nov. 20, 2009, 5:28 p.m.
+1 vote/
I did my MBA in 1982. It worked for me. I already had good working experience and with the CU MBA recruiters sort of could 'tick off' the box that he has an MBA. I have made it up to CEO of an international organization. Only once did I come across the 'non-accredition' thing. I was in between jobs and looked around Malaysia. I went to a University that was just opening up a new campus. While speaking to the Principal he took out a book from his shelves and said: "Your University is not listed here". He went on to say that I should continue with my application, if no better candidate would turn up he might still take me. 

I am not sure why CU is not taking the accredition issue seriously. May be they are making enough money as it is. 

Anyway, I do not think CU is cheating anyone. It is clearly stated on the transcripts which credits were given 'in exchange of experience granted'. Consequently we have chosen 
this University knowing its limitations.
Oct. 7, 2009, 4:30 p.m.
-1 vote/
Everyone & Ernie,
I would like to clarify the statements above regarding Edmondson, the Radio Shack CEO, as I believe the post is misleading to potential CU students. 

First, the post insinuates that Edmondson (the CEO) lost his job because the college he attended was unaccredited.  Completely false.  Edmondson had 2 charges of drunk driving then, shortly after RadioShack announced that he would be the new CEO, he was arrested on a third DWI. It was this last incident, that caused the credentials on his resume to be reviewed for accuracy. 

Second, the post insinuates that Edmondson's credentials were similar to Century University Credentials, and the same thing will happen to you if you attend CU.  FALSE AGAIN!
Upon reviewing Edmondson's resume, investigators found that his highest educational achievement was just a Bachelor's degree in Psychology --highly unusual educational background considering the business/finance/marketing acumen normally required to function as a CEO.   It turned out that this credential was not true. He did not have the bachelor's degree in psychology listed on his resume -- AND he couldn't produce the lesser ThG (theology) diploma he said he earned!

The moral of this news article is to be honest on your resume, whatever school or degree programs completed. Also, do not blindly believe all posts.  Do your homework.
Sept. 27, 2009, 4:49 p.m.
0 votes/
DMV: If CU is "a plus" in any way, shape, or form, God help this country and its educational standards. Would you mind sharing with us which two public companies wittingly hired you as a CU "graduate" for COO positions? I believe you, but I'd really like to know who they were. Here's what happened to the Radio Shack CEO when similar academic credentials came to light:

hwwp://www.businessweek.com/technology/content/feb2006/tc20060222_469912.htm
Sept. 26, 2009, 9:44 p.m.
0 votes/
I have to just say that CU was key in my working life to being the President and COO of two public companies and one large private organization.  I would have not had the opportunity of even being interviewed had I not had the CU diplomas.  I was very open about my degrees from CU when interviewed for those positions.  Of particular interest, the chairman of the bd of one of the companies was a Harvard MBA so we discussed the education and the program I completed.  I was ultimately selected.  My experience has been very good but I just recommend being up front about the degrees and if you are the right person for the job, CU is just a plus.
Sept. 26, 2009, 5:59 p.m.
0 votes/
Turbo: Yes! Century University does got accreditation from Accrediting Commission International (ACI). ACI a great accrediting agency based in Arkansas, USA. Century University also are licensed to operate by the State of New Mexico, USA, so you know they are real. I'm am sure Century University will be more than happy to enroll you in there university. Many people in USA have degrees from Century University and there accredited degrees are for real. I know this is truthful because you can read all about some of these successful people above. Some of them even have MS  and PhD degrees from Century University.
Sept. 26, 2009, 5:14 a.m.
0 votes/
Does century university got accredition?

Is that possible to attend a campus based education in century university from eastern africa like Kenya
July 27, 2009, 3:03 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi Holly (and everyone),

I have heard of a school in Arizona that accepts such degreees and life experience and they are accredited...you may want to search for it (prescott college?)but i don't know the name off hand. I'll look around and blog it if i find it. just fyi
July 9, 2009, 1:17 a.m.
0 votes/
OK. I really hadn't planned to post here anymore, but I like you all so much I just had to share my excitement over Microsoft's new "Bling" search engine. They claim it's better than Google, and you know what? It just might be. For example, here's a little diddy that Google doesn't turn up:

hxxp://www.altreport.info/eng/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=78:nothing-for-something&catid=13&Itemid=26

Have a nice day.
July 1, 2009, 7:57 p.m.
0 votes/
I just got off the phone with the admission rep., at St. Peterburg College in Florida, and I was told that they do not accept non-regional college accredit transfers.   Sorry!
July 1, 2009, 7:30 p.m.
0 votes/
Hello everyone! I live in CT, and graduated with a MS degree in elementary education in 2006 from an online (not accredit regional university called Madison University). Today I went to a local university to register for the Teachers certification program and to my surprise, I was told that my MS degree holds no value because is was earned at a non-accredited UNV., and that I have to start my degree over as an undergraduate. I spent the entire afternoon searching for an accredit local UNV., that would accepted and honor my non-accredit transfer. I spent two years completing my MS degree and graduated magna cum laude. I feel cheated and disgusted of my precious time obtaining such degree.  I also have a Bachelor degree that require a full four years to complete from the same UNV. My question is, Does anyone have an university referral for me that would accepted my credits??  Your response is appreciated.   Thank you! Respectfully,  Holly
June 25, 2009, 4:10 a.m.
0 votes/
Lol Ned chased him away.
June 25, 2009, 4:09 a.m.
0 votes/
we never heard from Ernie again ,probably he lost his job ,promoting accredited university.
June 17, 2009, 2:30 p.m.
0 votes/
I graduated from CU with a M.Ed in 2008. The required work was good. 

Now I pursue a B.Sc degree with an accredited university and the required study is incomparable harder.

I am not an American but from the very first day I knew the exact differences between the two kinds of institutions (accredited and state approved).

Stop the self pity for your decisions, stop beg or blame the CU admins for accreditation. 
It is ridicules; for you and for your past-efforts.
Even if they receive an accreditation and even if they issue to you transcripts which will refers this accreditation, you will always know that your degrees are legal but not accredited. If you are feel embarrassed for your degrees fissure and throw them to the garbage can. 

You all knew what you decide to do.  You all choose a legal but unaccredited institute wanting less work to do. Period
June 11, 2009, 12:44 a.m.
0 votes/
TELL THAT TO ERNIE .
June 9, 2009, 3:25 a.m.
0 votes/
The best idea is that the national graduate quality assesment examination like as Professional Engineer Examination should be arranged , It does not matter whether you got the degree from Harvard or from a non accredited college.Those who pass the graduate quality assessment examination should be regarded as holding the recognised degree.
May 31, 2009, 7:30 a.m.
0 votes/
Hey Ernie 
it says at the top page unbiased review ,and you are such a biase person ,I'am satrting to wonder who hired you from those highly expensive on-line university ,where you need a fortune just to finish 1st year ,and they offer the same methode of education and system and effort as Cu  ,I have attended one of those pricy 5 stars university ,was no difference then CU ,so who hired u , u are terrorising people here ,by telling them they can be arrested in the nort  west pacific ,oregon ,mars the moon ,u wanna say something say some thing we dont know .
May 31, 2009, 6:07 a.m.
0 votes/
Ernie,
you sure you are not a politician working for the congress ,you have changed your statments , positions ,linked ,articles ,over and over ,in a reply to my post ,you compared CU to the brotheles in Nevada , and the tarot card readers in kentucky ,which Iam sure you are a frequent visitor to these institutes ,since you are familier with their regulations ,you even threatened me ,that I will be arrested ,should I use my degree in the north paific ,CU is a licensed school ,I worked hard for my degree ,my thesis was returned 7 times to me befor it accepted ,i have a degree from villanova on line ,which is a highly accredited school ,the affords and time was almost the same .I use CU degree and Villanova degree on my resume ,I have worked hard for both ,and Iam entitle to use them in any way I wish.
May 30, 2009, 6:34 a.m.
0 votes/
Hello Ernie,

I agree with you in the fact that CU must get accreditation. I agree with you that it would be better if CU were accredited. Maybe you didn't say directly that CU is DM but in some link of these that you were posted above, CU is in a list of DM institutes, so it's false.

On the other hand, I do not agree with CU because they don't mentioning nowhere clearly (maybe I didn't see that) that their degrees may not be accepted in some states, as other unaccredited universities do.

Now about the high quality universities that you did refer above (capella, UoP etc)...they are not so high quality as you think...also these unis are very very expensive in order to obtain a degree so some person choose CU or other cheaper universities.

ps: sorry for my english mistakes
May 29, 2009, 9:50 p.m.
0 votes/
I don't see where much of what I said and linked has much of anything to do with your subsequent comments, but I'll try to respond. 

I have NEVER referred to Century University here or anywhere else as a "diploma mill." A diploma mill literally sells diplomas for no work. I have made it clear that CU requires a significant amount of work for its diplomas. CU is an "entity" (Oregon's word, as opposed to a "university") which issues "degrees" which constitute illegal documentation when used by the "degree holder" in at least nine states. Do you think there's some kind of sinister conspiracy between nine states to discriminate against poor Century University? If the people compiling these lists were to list a quality college as being illegal, they would lose their jobs and the states they represent would be sued for millions upon millions of dollars. Do you think if Century University had a prayer of getting off these lists they wouldn't have done so? Can you imagine how many times alumni have called or written CU to demand they become accredited? Can you imagine how much a lack of accreditation has cost CU and its alumni? Can you imagine how much CU wishes it WERE regionally accredited? I can only speculate on how FAR CU is from any semblance of regional accreditation worthiness. You're correct about one thing: Not ALL unaccredited schools are diploma mills or degree mills. For example, I cannot find where the service academies are regionally accredited, probably because of their national significance. But trust me, Annapolis is no Century University, and you won't find the Naval Academy on their lists. Virtually ANY college worth its salt is regionally accredited, or at the very least DETC accredited. Nowadays, any number of regionally accredited schools are available for quality distance education degrees. They include Capella, University of Phoenix Online, Jones International, Colorado Tech, and even programs at long-standing universities like Penn State and Texas Tech. For the life of me, I don't understand how an informed person can choose an unaccredited operation. 

I also don’t know why I bother to write these posts. Convincing CU people they have screwed up is like trying to convert the Mormons to Islam.  I’m serious when I say I hope you make it through life with your self-esteem, dignity, and even your freedom intact.  

Finally, my favorite movie of all time is “The Magnificent Seven.” In it, the bandit Calvaera says of his peasant victims, “If God had not meant for them to be sheered, he would not have made them sheep.”   Maybe he has a point.  Adiós, ovejas.
May 29, 2009, 5:04 p.m.
0 votes/
except of JB guide and oregon's website,all the other are the same, or almost the same articles written by the same persons or under the instructions of the same person...go(g)lin (even oregon's website is being updated by go(g)lin)...so...

and some other refers CU as unaccredited and not DM. Can you show us on the two official websites (texas + oregon) where CU is reffered as a diploma mill? Unaccredited, YES but not a mill!!

from Oregon's site:

"Are all unaccredited colleges degree mills?

Not all unaccredited colleges are necessarily degree mills in the traditional sense of the term. Some unaccredited colleges provide legitimate academic work. However, unless these colleges are approved by ODA, degrees from them cannot be used for public or licensed employment in Oregon. The reason is that state laws under which such institutions are approved vary markedly from state to state. Some states have high standards, some states have lax standards or no enforcement capability. Degrees from non-public institutions located in the latter states should be viewed with great caution unless the institution is accredited by a federally recognized accrediting entity. "
May 29, 2009, 1:01 p.m.
0 votes/
Well, I'm glad you are amused. Here’s just a few more of many for your reading pleasure. I would have thought some of the award-winning Century University computer science graduates would have done these simple Boolean algebra-based searches before they enrolled for their graduate degrees.  But then again…maybe they did.

Re: Accrediting Commission International:

hxxp://www.quackwatch.com/04ConsumerEducation/dm3.html

hxxp://www.nationmaster.com/encyclopedia/Accrediting-Commission-International

hxxp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_unrecognized_accreditation_associations_of_higher_learning

hxxp://www.credentialwatch.org/non/agencies.shtml

Re: Century University

hxxp://books.google.com/books?id=k67XC_7y5xEC&pg=PA195&lpg=PA195&dq=century+university+diploma+mill&source=bl&ots=PTR-fvSm8m&sig=-EL8rG1YXd6qU82kkiWPfaCPInI&hl=en&ei=K1YfSpHUOoXAyQW0mtXHDw&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=2

hxxp://www.philly.com/inquirer/health_science/daily/20090203_Doctor_who_checks_credentials_faces_questions_over_his_own_resume.html?page=2&c=y

hxxp://www.hackworth.com/sw01292004z.html

hxxp://www.tmz.com/2008/03/04/you-too-can-buy-lou-pearlmans-crap/

hxxp://www.contextmag.com/setFrameRedirect.asp?
src=/archives/200108/Feature1DegreesRUs.asp

hxxp://www.chicagotribune.com/business/content/education/chi-surgeon_generaloct01,0,6089647.story

hxxp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_unaccredited_institutions_of_higher_learning

hxxp://www.osac.state.or.us/oda/unaccredited.aspx

hxxp://www.thecb.state.tx.us/aar/privateinstitutions/notx.cfm

hxxp://diplomamillnews.blogspot.com/2008/11/marcus-einfeld-from-living-treasure-to.html

hxxp://www.consumerfraudreporting.org/Education_Degree_Scams_Unaccreddited.php
May 29, 2009, 11:49 a.m.
0 votes/
wow!!!!Impressive source :LOL !! this is a forum written by the self-called dm experts, JB and G.Go(g)lin...if this is your valuable source...ok then..you're right!
May 29, 2009, 2:31 a.m.
0 votes/
Fair enough. Here you go. Scroll about halfway down:

hxxp://www.degreeinfo.com/showthread.php?t=30196
May 28, 2009, 10:09 p.m.
0 votes/
ernie you can post it by starting : hxxp://.... this is not an active link...

so... we are waiting for your source...
May 28, 2009, 4:47 p.m.
0 votes/
To quote Dr. John Bear, who I dare say is regarded as the world's most highly regarded authority on distance education:

"The state of New Mexico has made clear that (1) they have been grandfathered in as a state-approved school, but (2) they would not have qualified for new approval.

They have long been one of very few secular schools accredited by the dreadful ACI."

I would provide the link, but that is a violation of this sites' policy.
May 28, 2009, 6:10 a.m.
0 votes/
@Ernie,

are these "tarot card readers" licensed by the department of education? I'm asking because CU by the Higher Education Department of the State of New Mexico. So, it's not the same...
May 27, 2009, 5:12 a.m.
0 votes/
I worked on my degree from CU as much as I did from others universities , . I did not buy my degree ,I have achieved it ,and I have the records and papers work to prove it ,why should i get in trouble for useing it ,CU has been around since 1979 ,if it was illeagel,why dont they go after CU ,Balony is on sale now in more then 9 states ,why dont you go and buy your self some .
May 26, 2009, 11:48 p.m.
0 votes/
Baloney. Tarot card readers are licensed in Kentucky. Brothels are licensed in Nevada. Licensing means little. Accreditation means everything. If what you say is true, is does not speak well of St. Petersburg College, and you can tell them I said that.  I’d be very careful about using my Century University degree. It can get you in big trouble in nine or ten states. Be especially careful in the Pacific Northwest. Oregon and Washington State don’t just talk the talk, they walk the walk. Google "Accrediting Commission International" and "Three Stooges." Go ahead.
May 26, 2009, 7:04 a.m.
0 votes/
I have a degree from Cu ,and I had no problem attending classes at St pete college in Florida ,it was accepted ,and the adminstrator told me then ...." a degree is a degree" ,then went and got a master degree from Cu ,and used that when i applied for my PMP from the PMI institute ,for project managment ,I took the PMP exam and passed it , no one ever questioned my degrees from Cu ,my porformance was the question ,I got 2 awards for my porformance and achieved the highest bonuse check in the history of the comapany and still is ,and i was promoted over the years to become   the Regional Vice President, and still  .Accredation no Accredation is non relevant ,once the school is licensed by the State and they are a legitimate institute ,your Degree is Valid ,your degree is a visa to enter a point of entery ,your porformance ,brain ,and attitude is the accredation.
May 10, 2009, 8:45 a.m.
0 votes/
Where are you Sharon???
April 16, 2009, 2:49 p.m.
0 votes/
I could write volumes about Century University.  A former colleague of mine “earned his doctorate” from Century, and several PhDs (from regionally accredited institutions) in our organization took exception with his claim to a doctorate.  The controversy generated political infighting and cost the organization a fortune in investigations and lost morale. Esprit de corps tanked. Worse, it tore apart lifelong friendships. Once a highly respected professional, he has since gone into retirement and is never heard from. Did he work hard on his “doctorate”? You bet he did. He spent many hours and many dollars in pursuit of his “degree.” He never bought his diploma. But the irrefutable fact is that Century is NOT a regionally accredited institution. 

Anyone who tells you regional accreditation is not relevant or important is either naïve or lying. More importantly, Century’s  (now “American Century’s”) association with ACI is a blight on its record from which it can never recover (in my opinion). I have nothing but respect for Sharon Fleiner for her admission that she made a mistake. Many Century graduates live in a constant state of denial and obfuscation. I would hire Sharon in a minute. As for those who say they "attend" ACU for an education and not a degree -- fine. Just don't use the degree.
April 5, 2009, 1:40 a.m.
0 votes/
My late wife, Carolyn B. Rocklin EARNED a Master's degree in business administration in the late 1970s from Century University. I witnessed her many hours spent evenings and weekends doing so. I also proof read her final effort, her thesis, which I, as an academic with a Ph.D., felt was a very well written and thoroughly researched effort. It helped her get her job with Air Transport Association of Washington, D.C. (they lobby for the airlines) in 1982. It also helped her get a job with First American Bank of Virginia a few years later (they were bought up by another bank since). Then in 1991 an MBA was totally required of candidates for vice-President, Human Resources, Visiting Nurse Association (VNA) of Northern Virginia. She won over all the other candidates because of her super brain, her leadership skills, her personality etc etc--but she'd never have gotten that 1st interview without the MBA, period! 

Some years later INOVA Health Systems bought up the VNA and discarded quite a few staff from the old VNA, as well as lost other staffers who did not like the change, but INOVA glommed on to my Carolyn. They moved her up in Human Resources and later made her administrator of their school for kids at risk, the INOVA KELLAR CENTER. Both jobs at INOVA required the MBA, and it did not make a bit of difference that she earned it by distance learning from Century. CENTURY IS NOT UNACCREDITED! In fact their web page indicates they are a Comprehensive Member with Honor from 1979 to present of The Accrediting Commission International, A.C.I. Century is registered with and licensed by the Higher Education Dept. of the state of New Mexico, located at Santa Fe, NM.

It's not so much the credentials you carry into the job interview as it is how you conduct yourself IN that interview, the image you present, and the checks they make on your résumé. Then when given the job, it's on your performance and ability to be a team member. The degree is just a door opener, the rest is all about YOU!
April 4, 2009, 4:43 p.m.
0 votes/
Ph.D. from Century University June 6, 2008 at 4:14 p.m.

Century University president, deans, administrators and other stakeholders, please, please get appropriately accredited. You OWE this to all of us.
March 24, 2009, 1:18 p.m.
0 votes/
Where are you Sharon???
Feb. 25, 2009, 5:14 a.m.
0 votes/
Sharon, Call the American Council on Education and the New Mexico State Government, which is obviously taking the same slow approach that Wyoming took to put an end to such institutions. You are probably exaggerating the penalties to which you would be subject. What normally happens is that people who claim such degrees and are caught must give up jobs or promotions. In the case of Century U, one of the more interesting stories concerns a major federal official who was found to have a CU Ph.D. In the subsequent investigation, which you can follow on the web, the head of CU claimed that the student's dissertation was not available for review by authorities because it had been destroyed in routine cleaning. I have never heard of a university that disposed of the archival copies of doctoral dissertations.  Draw your own conclusions as to why it might be advantageous for such a document to disappear. No doubt you taught yourself something in the course of your self-directed studies, and for that you can be grateful--to yourself.
Feb. 24, 2009, 8:56 a.m.
0 votes/
American Century University is licensed by the Higher Education Department of the State of New Mexico located in Santa Fe, New Mexico, U.S.A. and accredited Comprehensive Member with Honor from 1979 to present of The Accrediting Commission International, A.C.I. 

The A.C.I. Accrediting Commission has not requested a listing nor is it recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.


it is stated on CU's website: not recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, 

so????why did they cheat you? you probably, don't know to read...I'm sorry.
Feb. 23, 2009, 11:10 p.m.
0 votes/
I am trying to start a class action against them.  Why is it illegal in nine states to hold one's self outy as having a degree from CU - ACU (jail time and fines), but illegal for them to operate? I am not saying I didn't work hard, I did.  They are wrong for misleading us and pretending they are accredited by a legitimate source and they aren't.  Wake up! It is like getting a degree from the Wizard of Oz in thinkology.  It isn't something that I can put on my resume any longer.  If I orally or in writing tell someone in the wrong State, I can go to jail if I get caught. I am not getting any profit.  I lost my money.  I lost my trust in them.  You people are FOOLS to continue to state that what they are doing is just fine and dandy. I hate that I was tricked. Call when you you go to jail for having a degree from them.  I'll come and laugh at you for sticking up for them and not taking this seriously.  Do you want to lose your job, home, etc, by having what the Federal Government and many employers consider a fake degree? I went and shot holes in my Master's Degree today at a shooting gallery.  It isn't worth going to jail over. Look up the laws in your State.  Don't judge me for making this public.  They are the ones that are laughing at us all the way to the bank. I also have contacted Classmates.com, MySpace, and all the media I can think of. They need to be stopped. YOU ARE FOOLS TO DEFEND WHAT THEY ARE DOING, NO MATTER HOW HARD WE ALL WORKED FOR OUR DEGREES.
Feb. 22, 2009, 10:06 p.m.
0 votes/
AB...UP,

she made also a group in FB...it's unbelievable how she hates them...Don't know why...maybe as you said, she gets some profit from other uni's.

have a great day
Feb. 22, 2009, 6:05 p.m.
0 votes/
To Sharon Fleiner
Do you have any interest in talking nonsense about CU?
Are you making any money for this?
Feb. 21, 2009, 3:01 p.m.
0 votes/
I am not an American, I have never visited the US, my country like all European countries have not an accreditation system for universities and when I start to read about the American educational system, five or six years ago, the understanding of what is a diploma or accreditation mill, a state license etc, took me a day or two.

Stop to pretending the unsuspected victims. It is a disgrace for a person to pretend that he/she is an idiot, when a degree mill or a degree from a state approved school, stops to accommodate his/her purposes.
Feb. 21, 2009, 4:46 a.m.
-1 vote/
A degree from Century University or now known as, "American Century University" is like getting a degree or diploma from the Wizard of Oz in "Thinkology" (rather a "WhatwasIthinkingology" degree).

The State of Texas lists Century University as an "Institutions Whose Degrees are Illegal to Use in Texas." I quote,

"Consonant with its responsibilities under Chapter 61 of the Texas Education Code and rules promulgated pursuant thereto, the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board is reviewing the current status of institutions included on this list."

"Fraudulent or substandard degree" means a degree conferred in Texas in violation of the Texas Education Code; conferred in another state in violation of that state's laws; conferred in another state by an institution that was not accredited by an accreditor recognized by the Coordinating Board and that has not been approved by the Coordinating Board for its degrees to be used in Texas; or conferred outside the United States by an institution that the Coordinating Board determines is not the equivalent of an accredited or authorized degree. (Texas Educational Code, Chapter 61, Section 61.302)"

"The Texas Penal Code (Section 32.52) prohibits the use of fraudulent or substandard degrees "in a written or oral advertisement or other promotion of a business; or with the intent to: obtain employment; obtain a license or certificate to practice a trade, profession, or occupation; obtain a promotion, a compensation or other benefit, or an increase in compensation or other benefit, in employment or in the practice of a trade, profession, or occupation; obtain admission to an educational program in this state; or gain a position in government with authority over another person, regardless of whether the actor receives compensation for the position." Violation of this law is a Class B misdemeanor."

IF YOU HAVE BEEN A VICTIM OF AMERICAN CENTURY UNIVERSITY (FORMERLY KNOWN AS CENTURY UNIVERSITY), WE WOULD LIKE FOR YOU TO JOIN US IN INITIATING A CLASS ACTION. GO TO FACEBOOK, GROUPS, AMERICAN CENTURY UNIVERSITY CLASS-ACTION.

Please contact your senators, congresspersons, the President of the United States, the New Mexico and Arkansas Attorney General's offices, the New Mexico Governor's Office, the Arkansas Governor's office, the Federal Trade Commission, FBI, Department of Homeland Security, and anyone else that can make a difference and get this to stop.

Sharon Fleiner S. K.
Feb. 9, 2009, 7:37 p.m.
0 votes/
Maybe it is a language difference. With "logical how" I agree with that what you have said, because what you have said have a logical consequence and maybe they have changed their name in order to get a fresh three years in which to seek accreditation. I don’t have a PhD, and I don’t care about PhDs or for disputations on US degrees accreditation.  
If you think that the unaccredited universities, offends you, go ahead and suit them, by law.
Feb. 9, 2009, 5:11 p.m.
0 votes/
If CU is serious, then within three years it will have applied for regional accreditation and will gradually enter candidacy.

What is a logical how? Do you mean flaw?

Other institutions in this situation have changed names in order to get a fresh three years in which to seek accreditation. 

Supposing what you say is true--that the school can be a catalyst for some people to learn something--what is the point of selling credentials such as a PhD, particularly if that credential has little to no value in the international community?
Feb. 9, 2009, 12:35 p.m.
0 votes/
?rregardless of the aforementioned annotations, there is no doubt that CU is a very serious and very professional institute, which offers vast outcomes of knowledge.
Feb. 9, 2009, 9:40 a.m.
0 votes/
"As a rule, professional licensing agencies and USDOE accredited universities will not accept degrees from unaccredited universities. Nor can students at those universities receive certain types of aid, nor can those degrees be used to support an application for a visa to work in the US." This is a correct critical comment. 

"Could this be the reason that Century University has changed its name to American Century University?" And this is a logical how.
Feb. 9, 2009, 7:29 a.m.
0 votes/
New Mexico's licensing requirements for private or proprietary colleges can be found at the New Mexico Department of Education website. The New Mexico Department of Education states that a basic license for a college is not a certification of quality. To obtain the license, a school must describe its curriculum and procedures, post a bond, and pay a licensing fee.

New Mexico law provides that "an institution can claim to be accredited only if it has obtained accreditation from an accrediting agency recognized by the US Department of Education." In addition, New Mexico law now requires that any unaccredited school apply for appropriate USDOE approved accreditation within three years. This provision is similar to the new Wyoming law that has been used to put a well known unaccredited school out of business. Could this be the reason that Century University has changed its name to American Century University?
Feb. 9, 2009, 5:03 a.m.
0 votes/
State licensing accomplishes the registration of a business as a school. It's a specialized form of business license. You would need to check each state to see what the licensure is designed to accomplish. 

European universities and Australian universities are accredited by national agencies, as are universities in many other nations that have centralized control over education. There is a relatively new international accrediting agency in the Netherlands, and many nations are adopting versions of US accreditation to improve educational quality.

Because the US has a federal government--that is, a federation of state-- the US has developed a tradition of regulating industries through a combination of government and private agencies. 

In the case of higher education, this regulation involves the US Dept of Education, which directly approves some private accrediting agencies, and an organization called CHEA that is approved by the US DOE and then certifies other private accrediting agencies, such as the regional accrediting organizations. 

The issue of legality raised in this thread has to do with the response of individual states to degrees that are not accredited by any US DOE approved or CHEA approved agency. So a degree can be legal in a particular state without being accredited, yet in some cases such an unaccredited degree can be illegal in other states because of its dubious nature. 

Yes, universities voluntarily pursue accreditation, just as teachers voluntarily pursue certification and doctors voluntarily pursue licensure. Just as an unlicensed doctor cannot legally practice medicine, so a degree from a school that is not accredited by a USDOE approved agency is generally worthless and in some cases illegal to use as a credential. 

As a rule, professional licensing agencies and USDOE accredited universities will not accept degrees from unaccredited universities. Nor can students at those universities receive certain types of aid, nor can those degrees be used to support an application for a visa to work in the US.
Feb. 8, 2009, 8:52 a.m.
0 votes/
Note that accreditation is a voluntarily, process.
Feb. 8, 2009, 8:49 a.m.
0 votes/
To Tim,
A license issued by a state, is not an accreditation, but it is the legitimating process for a University. Degrees issued by unaccredited, state licensed universities, are LEGAL.

ALL accredited universities are also state licensed.
Feb. 8, 2009, 3:15 a.m.
0 votes/
So State Licensing of a University is not legitimate.What is the function of the State Licensing Board?.In the case of many Top Universities of Europe,there is no accreditation involved,the State recognises those Educational Institutions,which are controlled by State legislation.
Jan. 30, 2009, 5:26 a.m.
0 votes/
For those which are able to finance generously their studies, a Regional or National accredited school is definitely best choice.  

For those who are interested on TT's comments, above, you should note that stinky and   meritocracy lack standards, are similar for all -opportunities administrative- Agencies.  

For those which are involved in this stinky system, only the view angle differs.
Jan. 30, 2009, 3:46 a.m.
0 votes/
For those who are interested in FS's comment, above, you should note, as I do now, that the accreditation review he examined focused on adoption agencies, not the accreditation of universities. Great research there!
Jan. 29, 2009, 9:19 p.m.
0 votes/
What's your point? Are you suggesting that US accreditation agencies do not have adequate protection against nepotism and that has led to problems in the fairness or adequacy of accreditation?

While I think US accreditation is very good and that regional accrediting upholds an admirable standard of education, I also think the system is too complex. These days it is getting harder to understand the differences among the accreds granted by various USDOE and CHEA approved agencies. 

These facts do not constitute good reasons to attend an unaccredited school, however. 

Above all, if you are an international student who may hope to come to the US, you need a regionally accredited degree.
Jan. 29, 2009, 6:34 a.m.
0 votes/
I did a little study as you suggest to JS, Dr.TT and.....
This is a small part of publication about a number of concerns which have arisen by Hague Evaluation on US  Accreditation Agencies

US Agency Accreditation Critique

“Currently, the standards used by the Council on Accreditation do not give guidance about board membership and the other issues that emerge under conditions like nepotism.

State licensure law and resulting administrative policies may prohibit nepotism and that requirement--the more stringent requirement--would be the expectation in states that actually address this issue in agency licensure standards. This varies state-by-state. “

To whom it may concern about what nepotism means:
Nepotism is the showing of favoritism toward relatives and friends, based upon that relationship, rather than on an objective evaluation of ability, meritocracy or suitability. ...
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nepotism
Jan. 25, 2009, 7:41 a.m.
0 votes/
I wonder who the "they" is that you think paid for my doctoral studies. An accrediting agency? My doctorate was paid for by a university. Accrediting agencies themselves operate largely with volunteer labor. I have served with two of them, and in each case all of my work was voluntary. My direct costs for travel and lodging were covered. That's all. The members of the commissions themselves tend to be university presidents, attorneys, educational experts and private citizens who generally donate their labor, too. 

If you are talented, you can train yourself in almost any subject that does not require extensive laboratory equipment. Few people have that level of motivation.

I think you understand that accreditation matters a great deal. If you didn't understand that, your comments would not be so heated. If you are the same JS who has written several times on this thread, you have changed your views and have at times expressed frustration with CU and a wish that CU would get regional accreditation. As it is, other universities will not accept credits or degrees from unaccredited colleges, nor can you use such credentials as a foundation for taking professional exams.

As for Century University, from what I have seen of the faculty, they do not have the resources to offer real doctoral work in all the fields in which they offer degrees. 

Please do a little study about universities and quality control not only in the United States but across the world. US accreditation is being imitated in an increasing number of nations, and top employers and universities in other nations understand quite well what US accreditation means--and what kinds of programs are offered by schools that do not seek accreditation.
Jan. 25, 2009, 1:20 a.m.
0 votes/
To TT:

They paid your doctorate studies.  That is why you are talking like this.   You are saying that Cu is not a good university.  If you are talented it does not matter if the university is accredited or not.  Accreditation is all about money and for those guys to keep their job.
Jan. 22, 2009, 11:51 a.m.
0 votes/
I have to agree with Dr.TT. George W. Bush who’s unable to accomplish a sentence as he has confessed, has graduated, based on his effort and attendance from Yale, which is not a degree seller.
Jan. 22, 2009, 6:13 a.m.
0 votes/
Century University is accredited by a sham organization in Arkansas that will accredit virtually any school for an application fee and a short visit. I have worked as an accreditation visitor for one regional accrediting agency in the US and one national agency. I have also studied European and Asian accrediting models and worked with Arabian nations on new accrediting systems. The US system is widely imitated across the world and represents a very high though not perfect standard of education. Because Century does not have regional accreditation its coursework and degrees will generally not be accepted by regionally accredited schools. The exception might be an undergraduate college that would offer some credit after you have been enrolled for a year and have shown your abilities. Employers who pay for unaccredited degrees or give promotions based on them often find themselves embarrassed and terminate or discipline employees who present such credentials. No doubt some students learn something from the programs. You can teach yourself a lot. No doubt there are people around the world holding good positions on the basis of such degrees--and hoping they are not found out. Institutions of this kind often prey on foreign students who do not understand how the US accredits schools. State licensure is no substitute for accreditation, and in fact it is typical for colleges without CHEA or USDOE approved accreditations to list state business licenses, registrations with state agencies, membership in bogus accrediting agencies, approval by other organizations with little credibility and so on. If you believe that the accreditation conferred by teams of professors and executives from leading American universities, and approved by the federal government, is merely a kind of Mafia, then I suggest that in your next interview you explain your views carefully to your prospective employer and see how well you can defend your viewpoint. Look at the CHEA, USDOE, American Council on Education, and regional accrediting websites, such as Western Commission, North Central Commission etc. and get informed before you waste your money. If you are talented, you can probably get a good US state or private university to pay your way through a real Ph.D. The better the school, the more aid that is available. A Ph.D.from Century will cost you $5000 and a short period of study. My doctorate from one of the top 20 research universities in the world cost me nothing. I was paid to attend.
Jan. 17, 2009, 11:04 p.m.
0 votes/
To VS:

Go ahead and get your Ph.D. at American Century University.  This university is great and you will not have any problems.

I agree with Erik Jones.  It is all mafia.
Jan. 22, 2009, 4:57 p.m.
0 votes/
Indeed, FS, there are people who graduate from the best institutions who have not learned much. This may or may not be true of "legacies," people who are admitted because of family connections or a history of donations.

Here's a point that has not appeared in this thread. According to the CU website, the school has four faculty members, and yet the university purports to offer doctoral level training in a large number of fields. How can four faculty members have adequate expertise to offer guidance on the latest work in psychology, management, and a number of engineering fields? There isn't a legitimate accrediting body in the world that would take such a claim seriously.
Jan. 10, 2009, 12:40 a.m.
0 votes/
This whole legit/ legal degree issue kills me. Let me keep it short. CU is  state approved by the NM Dept of Education, it is properly liscensed and a legitmate Univeristy and internationally recoginized. The lack of RA, or Natl accrediation does not make it illegal, inferior or whatever. It is obvious it is not a degree mill, it has been a school for 35 years and has great programs. The United States DOE is not the end all, say all. I will use my PHD and title Dr when I'm Done. If the state I live in says I cannot, Screw em, I will move to another state or maybe country ( Germany ) that " gets it ". Its all about the money and Im not paying it. I have a M.S from a RA University and Im proud of MY PHD from CU. It all Government red tape with way too many state conflicting laws.
Jan. 9, 2009, 9:05 a.m.
0 votes/
I recently wanted to apply for PhD from ACU. Can anyone suggest?
Jan. 8, 2009, 1:50 p.m.
0 votes/
Can anyone can answer or explain the PHD learning method with this school? it seems unique at best?

Thanks
Dec. 22, 2008, 5:11 a.m.
0 votes/
web address: acuniversity.edu/index.php?page=history

Accreditation by  New Mexico Higher Education Department and Accrediting Commission International
Dec. 14, 2008, 10:46 p.m.
0 votes/
PLEASE DO ORGANISE AND GET REGIONAL ACCREDITION SO AS TO AVOID EMBARASSEMENT FOR CU ALUMNI.
 EVEN IF IT MEANS A FUND RAISING,PLEASE CU CANNOT AND WILL NEVER BE A DEGREE MILL.WE ARE IN A GLOBAL VILLAGE AND THE EFFECTS OF GLOBALIZATION ARE SPREADING LIKE BUSH FIRE IN THE HAMMERTAN.
 AMERICAN CENTURY UNIVERSITY OUGHT NOT BE LEFT BEHIND.COME ON THIRTY SOLID YEARS AND YOU HAVE NOT PUT YOUR HOUSE IN ORDER!.DO IT NOW!!!.
Dec. 8, 2008, 2:42 p.m.
0 votes/
Century gave the opportunity to achieve a PhD in business to support my Undergrad and Masters (both from tradition schools with traditional accreditation)  I did my research for an online program based on my family and work schedule.  Century offered the core porgram that was a challenge I would say 5 revisions on my disertation was not easy.  I learned topics from a wounderful advisor who took interest in my work; turned my work around in a timely manner and was always willing to communicate with me. 
I would highly recoomend Century.  For the people who need the traditional accreditation Century is not for you.  For those whould want to gain a body of knowledge for Century (who is accredited--not just the agency that most approve) I would say Century will give you a great education
Dec. 7, 2008, 10:07 p.m.
0 votes/
I live in Europe, I don't care about accreditation, I'm interested in their curriculum, do they offer real education on the described fields?
Dec. 7, 2008, 1:32 a.m.
0 votes/
You cannot receive a PE designation in Michigan from Century University. They are not accredited.
Dec. 3, 2008, 10:15 a.m.
0 votes/
Hello,

I'd like to apply for an MSc in computer engineering, what do you think? Did anyone already apply in this major? What was you experience?the course?I know that they don't offer textbooks, but did they proposed the right books?

thanks in advance

ps: duration?
Nov. 16, 2008, 7:13 a.m.
0 votes/
to MH

Unfortunately, engineer is out of my field of study.
Maybe you should ask directly to the university.
Nov. 14, 2008, 8:13 p.m.
0 votes/
MH to MB....I was waiting for your reply on my question?
Nov. 3, 2008, 7:42 p.m.
0 votes/
PE stands for Professional Engineer.  I am asking if anyone who has graduated from CU gone on to achieve PE status in any state and what did they have to do to convince the governing boards that the CU degree was equivalent to an ABET degree.
Oct. 31, 2008, 11:32 a.m.
0 votes/
to MH

define PE status
Oct. 26, 2008, 9:49 p.m.
0 votes/
Has anyone attained PE status with a CU degree and what hurdles did they have to overcome?
Oct. 17, 2008, 1:52 p.m.
0 votes/
Where are you "dr.gogllin"???you don't have any comment for this "unaccredited university"??

I wish to ACU the best!!I'll enroll in MSc in CS.their program is cheap and quite difficult as like other accredited unis.
Sept. 24, 2008, 4:03 p.m.
+1 vote/
The new name for CU is American Century University.  Also, American Century University has a new Campus to attend.  This is a great news and I hope they will get national or regional accreditation in the future.

Good luck!!!
July 10, 2008, 2:50 p.m.
0 votes/
Despite some problems in the past, I am very proud of Century University, and I wish a lot of success to Century University in the future.
July 9, 2008, 9:16 a.m.
0 votes/
I create a group (Independent Century University Alumni group) as a meeting point on facebook

All CU students and alumni are welcome.
July 9, 2008, 6:49 a.m.
0 votes/
Dear JS:

I have to disagree with you on loosing reputation matter. 

I think that because Century University has an excellent reputation the administrators don’t pursue accreditation.

And we can’t ignore the fact that they are honorable and clear to any they state. For example my BA in education report that is for teachers abroad. 

Accreditation is not important or even meaningless in many even European countries. 

None enrolled without awareness of the transfer credit problem.
July 8, 2008, 4:38 p.m.
0 votes/
To MB:

You are exactly right (100%).  They do not care at all.  They do not care if a student have problems to get a job or to get  accredited to continue with further education.  Century University care only for their business. To make money and have such and such programs.  They do not know about loosing reputation.
July 8, 2008, 3:19 p.m.
0 votes/
To JS:

I think that the mass e-mail will be meaningless. 
They don't care because they are convinced that the ACI accreditation and the state license plus the good work they provide is enough.
July 4, 2008, 12:36 a.m.
0 votes/
We all must send an email to Century University to ask them to obtain an acceditation.  It is urgent!!!!!
July 1, 2008, 8:19 a.m.
0 votes/
I agree with JS
June 25, 2008, 8:13 p.m.
0 votes/
To Greg:

You can bet on peers questioning the CU Degree,  I have been looking for a job since being laid off 7 months ago, and the Degree has been questioned in every interview thus far.

As far as Corporations recognizing the CU Degree the list is of those companies that have reimbursed employees for tution not an endorsement of the degree itself, one of my previous employeers participated in the program I believe based soley on a sales job from CU.  I know I got a high pressure sales job when I was applying.
June 25, 2008, 3:48 p.m.
0 votes/
Importante message to Century University Administrators to obtain some kind of accreditation for the benefit of students and the university.  Many students have problems because CU does not have accreditation or recognition from the USA Board of Education.  PLEASE PAY ATTENTION TO THIS MESSAGE.
June 24, 2008, 3:48 p.m.
0 votes/
I agree with Mr. Myron.  The greatest mistake of the Century University is not gain regional or national accreditation.  They are loosing students and reputation.  I hope they reconsider the decision to get accreditation.
June 24, 2008, 7:38 a.m.
0 votes/
One great mistake of the CU administrators is the exclusion of the communication between students. The creation of a classroom sense is fundamental in distance learning.
June 19, 2008, 9:11 p.m.
0 votes/
CU, Thank you for your candor. While consulting won't pose a problem my peers might question it and it wouldn't be long before the question arose. Interestingly enough, when I typed in the address of Century university on google earth the satellite photo show it in the middle of a highway, I double checked and it showed up again. As much as I like the hybrid aspect of courses I just haven't convinced myself that the non-accreditation won't get back to me at an inopportune time.
June 19, 2008, 1:29 p.m.
0 votes/
I did graduate from Century University in 1984. You will not be able to use it in education or licensing.  You will be able to use it in corporations or independent consulting. Pursuing a degree from Century University is not easy, you need  to work.
Get a Ph.D. degree and be proud of it.  Good luck!
June 18, 2008, 7:30 p.m.
0 votes/
To Greg:  

You can get this information from Century University.  They will provide with a list of corporations that have recognized it.
Good luck!
June 17, 2008, 9:57 p.m.
0 votes/
I looked up several names listed as faculty on google and only found one. Is the faculty listed in the catalog still active? I also researched the legitimate use of the title 
PhD in several states. New Jersey where I'm from, appears not to recognize the title unless it comes from a regionally accredited school and will not accept a degree from Century for any licensing. I would like a doctorate for my independent consulting in education and Century is appealing because of the shorter time frame. However, I don't want to be embarassed when pressed for the source of the degree. Does anyone know of any school systems or major companies that have recognized a doctorate from Century?
June 19, 2008, 1:30 a.m.
0 votes/
Thanks for the response, did you graduate from Century? I was looking for someone who graduated and didn't have any difficulties justifying the degree.
June 10, 2008, 10:19 a.m.
0 votes/
To Ph.D. from Century University:

I could say that you do not mention your name because your criticism are void of substance; but I think that you are off the point.
June 9, 2008, 7:09 p.m.
0 votes/
CU June 6, 2008 at 8:30 p.m.

To Ph.D. from Century University:

Why you do not mention who made the errors in grammar, sentence structure and spelling? Why you do not mention your name? Are you perfect? Most of them are from other countries, do you know it?
June 6, 2008, 8:30 p.m.
0 votes/
To Ph.D. from Century University:

Why you do not mension who made the errors in grammar, sentence structure  and spelling?  Why you do not mension your name?  Are you perfect?  Most of them are from other countries, do you know it?
June 6, 2008, 4:14 p.m.
0 votes/
Century University president, deans, administrators and other stakeholders, please, please get appropriately accredited. You OWE this to all of us. 

p.s. I am ashamed of some of the writing problems, such as sentence structure, spelling and grammar that so many respondents to this Website have. You are writing on this Website and stating that you have a degree! Make no excuses for any reason. You MUST work on this. 

Granted, many of my students at so-called "accredited" institutions write just as horribly as some of you. Come on, now people! You must work on this problem if you want to make yourselves and Century University proud.
June 5, 2008, 9:19 p.m.
0 votes/
Century University should acquire an accreditation to benefit graduates and future students.  I hope Century University listen and read this comment.  It is very importantant and very crucial for students.  The University become more important and they will have more students even if they have to cut some programs and increase tuition.
June 5, 2008, 12:40 p.m.
0 votes/
Graduated from CU with an MBA and it took me 31/2 years to complete 13 courses and a thesis, which was equal to an additional 3 courses. So, they do not sell the degrees. You must earn them. It was an excellent professional development but when it comes to accreditation other institutions do not recognize CU – it is a problem. It would beneficiary to graduates and to future students if CU obtains an accreditation from an accredited body instead of being recognised by A.C.I.
June 3, 2008, 5:42 p.m.
0 votes/
I graduated from CU with a BS in Computer Science,  now wanting to change careers into education I can not find any US Instution that will accept transfer credits from CU. I only wish I knew this going in,  but there was no internet back then. I also believe I was misled by the folks in admissions as to what I could do with a degree from CU, not to mention the fact that I was told they were pursuing accreditation. Make sure of what you want from your education and try to consider the future before entering such a program.
May 29, 2008, 1:27 a.m.
0 votes/
I finished my degree at CU and I can say, it is no cake walk, you have to work for it and I am very proud of it.  

Just my 2 cents regarding AB's or AT's (repeat guy) comments.  I disagree; you keep posting that non-accredited schools are illegal in some states, which is true but misleading in this case.  Do your research... A degree granting institution needs to be EITHER accredited by the US Dept of Education OR licensed by the state.  In this case CU is licensed by the State of New Mexico.  Thus, legal in ALL 50 states. 

Also, you keep repeating - avoid non accredited on-line schools, but you give no reasoning.  As far as I am concerned the only reason to attend a regionally or DETC accredited school is for the financial aid programs and the only reason to attend a school meeting GAAP standards is to become a CPA.  Therefore, if I don't need financial aid or I don't want to be an accountant, I still find no real reason to attend an accredited school.  The ultimate reason to attend school is simple… to learn, and I achieved that at CU.
May 22, 2008, 11:07 p.m.
0 votes/
I earned a PhD in Computer Science at Century University.  I subesequently was awarded a US Patent for my dissertation research and I obtained a two phase SBIR grant totaling $850,000 to continue the research through my own firm.  I teach Computer Science to graduate students at a top tier university on a part time basis.

Century University is accredited by at least one organization, but it is not accredited by the usual accreditation groups that rate US institutions.

Century is in no way a cake walk.  It is as good as the student and advisor make it.  They do not mill diplomas for money, they have to be earned systematically.

Despite all these favorable comments,. I did miss out on a job at one point because my PhD was form Century and not from a better known univdersity.

I do not advertise it on my resume.  I simply write PhD without reference to the school.  This serves fine for my purposes as an entrepreneur and consultant.  If / when i apply for teaching positions, i omit any reference to the degree.

I hope that mixed review is helpful.
May 9, 2008, 7:14 p.m.
0 votes/
Century University is great for working people. My M.B.A. program was of an excellent quality and it will help you to find a job and to implement your knowledge obtained in the program. I also, got my Ph. D. in Business Administration for which I am very proud of it.
April 23, 2008, 8:43 a.m.
-1 vote/
can anyone convice me to enroll at Century University
March 9, 2008, 8:29 p.m.
0 votes/
Century University is great for working people.  My M.B.A. program was of an excellent quality and it will help you to find a job and to implement your knowledge obtained in the program.  I also, got my Ph. D. in Business Administration for which I am very proud of it.
Feb. 8, 2008, 7:55 a.m.
0 votes/
Is there any one who graduated in MBA from Century University and can tell me about the quality of the program and job opportunity he/she found because of the MBA?
Feb. 7, 2008, 8:41 p.m.
0 votes/
The degree from Century University is widely accepted by different American employers.  The only problem will be if you want to transfer those credits to get a Doctoral Degree in a regional accredited university.
Feb. 7, 2008, 8:25 a.m.
0 votes/
PS to ETH:

Some Internet research could show you faculty members in great and ACCREDITED American universities, who’s hold Century University doctoral degrees.
Feb. 7, 2008, 8:17 a.m.
0 votes/
To ETH:

Depending of the company and the country.
Generally accreditation is an internal American issue more or less important for American employers and/or employees. 

In many countries accreditation as well as the US accrediting system (accreditation given from PRIVATE bodies which are private companies) means NOTHING.
Feb. 6, 2008, 8:25 a.m.
0 votes/
I am planning to do MBA Program in Century University. But I don't feel comfortable since it is not an accredited university. Is the degree from Century University accepted by differet employers (companies) world wide?
Feb. 3, 2008, 4:16 p.m.
0 votes/
To VC:

Not accredited DOES NOT  NECESSARILY MEANS they could not reach the standards for accreditation.  IT MEANS they DO NOT WANT TO PAY fees to be an accredited member.

ACCREDITATION IS ALL ABOUT MONEY OR A MAFIA.

I DID WORK 6 YEARS TO GET MY DEGREES WITH CENTURY UNIVERSITY, THEY DO NOT SALE IT.
Feb. 4, 2008, 12:35 p.m.
0 votes/
My faculty advisor returns my master thesis proposal for correction eleven times.
Feb. 1, 2008, 11:42 p.m.
0 votes/
Congratulations to VB for earning an MBA from Century University.  Be proud of it.  You really worked hard to get it.
Century University is an excellent university for working people.
Jan. 29, 2008, 12:36 a.m.
0 votes/
I did my MBA through CU for the convenience,you all know how iti is as aworking person. Although many may knock ?CU I will say that i worked hard to achieve and at times when the work was not up to scratch my faculty advisor had me redo it so I do not see what all the hullabaloo is about.I do not consider tit a diploma mill because i did not buy my MBA I worked hard for it.
Looking forward to hearing from other participants.
PS
I wou;ld the issue of accreditation adrssed by the powers that be though so that all my hard work would not go in vain
Jan. 22, 2008, 2:13 p.m.
0 votes/
I want to see comments from students that claim benefited from CU education system, especially from eastern africa
Jan. 19, 2008, 5:50 a.m.
0 votes/
Century University is an excellent University
Dec. 30, 2007, 12:35 p.m.
0 votes/
I worked in Africa since 2002 on HIV Medicine and GP medicine.
 I would like to find a MS or PH.D online university that
will help with a program with infectious disease health management.
I only return to the USA once every two years and don't have
 time for B.S.
I work 50-65 hours weekly, how about a idea ASAP
 also I am 64 years old ,not interested in things i already know !!

  Regards
Donald M Wells M.D.A.A.F.P.A.A.HIV Med
Dec. 27, 2007, 9:07 a.m.
0 votes/
stupid university
Nov. 20, 2007, 9:10 p.m.
0 votes/
Not accredited means they could not reach the standards for accreditation, they are worse than the accredited institutions. (But not necessarily useless.)
Oct. 2, 2007, 6:47 a.m.
0 votes/
Welcome to the independent CU students forum.

Here you can share your experiences, news and ideas. CU Independent forum, fully support and foster in its practices, and activities, the policy of not discriminating on the basis of race, color, creed, national origin, gender, sexuality, age, or disability between members. This policy is in compliance with all applicable international regulations and guidelines. Registering to the forum, and invite your classmates to participating.

http://centurystudents.open-board.com/
Sept. 8, 2007, 7:34 a.m.
0 votes/
You only  repeat "Avoid any distance learning "college" that is not regionally or DETC accredited "

But you do not refer your credentials, or any fact which could
composing that CU is not a very serious or a very professional school.
Aug. 5, 2007, 5:30 p.m.
0 votes/
Nice try but repeat..... unaccredited. ...avoid. Avoid any distance learning "college" that is not regionally or DETC accredited or meets GAAP standards. Such degrees are illegal in 9 states and counting. Also will not transfer to legitimate institutions.
May 15, 2007, 4:04 a.m.
0 votes/
Repeat..... unaccredited. ...avoid. Avoid any distance learning "college" that is not regionally or DETC  accredited or meets GAAP standards. Such degrees are illegal in 9 states and counting.
June 15, 2007, 3:51 p.m.
0 votes/
The debate over accredited versus non-accredited came up all the time when I worked for the U.S. Department of Education.  Because the academic world sees the nature of degrees versus experiences from a different perspective than does the workforce, neither is willing to budge much on their stance. And here's why: Statistics show that 60% of those who attend college, whether they be traditional universities, online universities, unaccredited or accredited, never actually use what they learned or were supposed to have been taught after they graduate from college. They use the degree to get in the door, end up doing something totally different or unrelated to their educational background, and actually do quite well.  Statistics also show that 43% of new hirees are retrained to do their jobs using concepts vastly differently from what they learned in college. The shocking statistic was the number of employers who actually verify educational credentials when hiring someone.  Only about 25% of employers actually check the educational credentials of new employees.  The other 75%  base their hiring practices on experience and word-of-mouth referrals (opinions) of your references or previous supervisors.  But of course, they don't tell potential employees that.

A friend of mine who sat on regional and national accrediting bodies for probably 15 years told me "accredited or nonaccredited, it's all about money and poeple keeping their jobs these days; school officials will promise or say anything to the accrediting bodies these days to keep their doors open."  I'm inclined to believe him at this point because I've seen some accredited institutions that should never have been opened!

Just some thoughts...

Robert
March 12, 2007, 9:33 p.m.
0 votes/
Century University-a pioneer in off-campus distance learning
degree courses.

Since 1978, Century University has been operating successfully in the market of distance learning courses.  It has continually upgraded its Degree Programs to meet the needs of learning adults and the challenging environment.  More than twelve thousand professionals have found their recognition through the CU distance learning degree programs, since the University was established.
March 11, 2007, 8:23 p.m.
0 votes/
The Mission of Century University is to provide Quality Higher  
Education to students who wish to study hard and to earn a genuine degree.  A degree from Century University is an Earned Degree.  The faculty, administration and staff at Century University are dedicated to the success of their students. Century University offers many programs such as:  Business Administration, Computer Science, Education for Teachers, Engineering, Food Marketing, Health Care Management, Accounting, Psychology, Marketing Management, etc.
March 11, 2007, 7:21 p.m.
0 votes/
Century University is very serious and very professional.  I will recommend it to anyone.  Century University is not regionally accredited but they have excellent reputation and excellent programs.  They have been in business for over 28 years.  They are excellent!
Century is a member licensed by the commission of Higher Education of the New Mexico State.
Oct. 12, 2012, 6:15 p.m.
0 votes/
I also agree that they are serious. You and your faculty adviser arrive at a study plan and you must complete. I worked very hard because I wanted to learn. After completing my BS I decided to go with a Masters and it also wasn't easy. I spent six months on the Thesis alone. Maybe some instructors tougher than others, But I have almost three years at University of MD and classes were so large it was hard to hear.

I graduated in 1992 and independent study was hard to come by. They have better accreditation now and suspect regional soon.
March 11, 2007, 7:14 p.m.
0 votes/
Century University is very serious and very professional.  I will recommend it to anyone.  Century University is not regionally accredited but they have excellent reputation and excellent programs.  They have been in business for over 28 years.  They are excellent!
Jan. 25, 2007, 5:10 a.m.
0 votes/
Unaccredited. Avoid.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Century University in any way.