Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Chadwick University

4.0
29 Reviews
5 7 
4 14 
3 7 
2 0 
1 1 
0 0 

Chadwick University Reviews:

Extremely Disappointed

Business Administration - November 23, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently retired from my county job after almost 22 years. Since I was busy in my working career, I put my studies aside from Chadwick for many, many years. Now that I have retired I felt that having time to pursue my degree at this time would be something that I could do. I only found out recently about the closure of the school. I was never contacted regarding the closure and feel that I have wasted my money when I only completed a few of the courses. I feel that I should receive a refund of my unused tuition. Is there any lawsuit against the former owner of the school much like the lawsuit against the Natural Medicine college? If so, I would be be interested in any information that is available.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Non- Traditional Education

Environmental Management - December 22, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated in 1996 with a BS in Environmental Management. I had attended the University of Richmond, VMI, and Boyce Bible Institute, but had completed no degree program. In 2006 I graduated from Trinity Theological Seminary with a Masters in Biblical Studies. With 8 classroom hours,up to 5 textbooks per class, and a 25 page research paper, real discipline was required to complete the MA program The Chadwick degree was completed in 7 months, the MA in 32 months. Neither degree is accredited, but I am debt free. Education should be for disciplined study, refining the ability to convey information in an orderly, focused manner to an audience or reader. Only 12% of Trinity students complete their degree. I have Chadwick to thank for the quality of the course work. The drive to excel was my choice. Many graduates today are saddled with student debt, no job prospects, and are living at home while their parents help pay the loans. A degree is not what should obtain the job, but the quality of the graduate should be the determining factor. Paul R Jones, BS 1996, MA 2006

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

MBA

Business Administration - March 23, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Started my program in 1996 and completed in 2002. Nice to be able to complete this on my schedule. I have a NA from a traditional CA university with a minor in Business Finance. Many of the books were the advanced versions of what I studied during my undergraduate years. No life experiences were accepted on lieu of class work. I am very pleased with the education.

Was this review helpful?

Chadwick University challenging and satisfying

Business Administration BS - February 4, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received my degree from Chadwick in 1997. I am in Law Enforcement and the only way to move up was to have a four year degree. I searched on line and found Chadwick. Our Chief was familier with ratings and accrediations. He researched this and found that Chadwick was okay for those of us who were going to use this program. I found Chadwick to be challenging and it took me about 2 years to finish. You have to be a good reader and apply that to your work. If you did not pass with 80% they would send it back to you to re-do. You also had much writing to do. Overall, it compared to the officers who were going to a local college. I was promoted to sgt and then to captain by having this degree and am very proud of it. Thanks for being there when I needed you the most. Captain Scott Newell Concord City Police Dept.

Was this review helpful?

Environmental Management Degree

Environmental Management - November 6, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Chadwick's Environmental Management degree program was one of the best distance learning offerings available. I have a traditional degree from Syracuse University in Environmental Engineering and the knowledge I acquired from Chadwick is a perfect complement to the 'on-campus' curriculum from Syracuse. It is very disappointing to hear that Chadwick University has stopped offering their programs.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great Choice for Those in the Workforce

Business Administration BS - August 28, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

While it’s disappointing that Chadwick University has stopped offering their programs to new students, the school operated and proved to be a great choice for independent learners for more than 20 years. So the big schools challenged the accreditation of Chadwick, so what? This was a the perfect place for productive members of the modern workforce to earn their degree – without having to go to school fulltime.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

I worked hard and earned a degree.

Business Administration BS - May 19, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from Chadwick University with a BS in Business Administration after being in the work force and attending seminars and college classes for fifteen years. The materials from Chadwick were thorough, relevant, and concise, not what you could call "diploma mill" junk. I am proud of having obtained my degree from Chadwick because I worked for it and earned it. In fact, the classes were far superior than the ones I took at a "state-owned and operated" university....and the support was better, too. The eighteen months I spent studying were worth the time and effort. Accreditation? That's the "Good Old Boys System" of excluding innovative schools. Too bad, too, because I value what I received from Chadwick more than the diploma I have from a major State University.

Was this review helpful?

Me Too

Criminal Justice - May 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

For some reason today I looked up Chadwick University. In the late 1990s I was an adjunct instructor in criminal justice when I was teaching full time at Troy University. I was paid very little, but never did I even consider it to be a diploma mill. I graded papers, corresponded with students, developed new courses and helped to design degree programs in criminal justice. I visited with officials in Birmingham, AL twice to see what they wanted. I never got the impression they were a diploma mill. Be aware, this was really before the Internet was even available to me, even at Troy State. I feel bad to see that possibly some students feel they were duped into this program. I never inquired about accreditation, as I was just a new academic - just starting out. I feel I gave their students a lot of attention. Now, after probably 12 years, I would know to inquire about their accreditation. Now I tell students to only take their graduate degrees from "real" schools.

Was this review helpful?

A good education

Business Administration BS - March 23, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Back in 1990 I was working full time and had two small children at home, so I decided to try Chadwick. I was working for a fortune 500 company and my management was very impressed by the corriculum. Studying degree gave me knowledge I needed to move ahead in the company. I've just retired after 27 years. No one ever questioned my degree and I was promoted often. I am sorry to see how Chadwick has been treated. There were a very good school and I am greatful that I was able to be part of their program. -James

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Hard but credits didnt transfer

Business Administration BS - December 7, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I went to Chadwick in the 90's and I will say that the course work is hard. Unfortunately I decided to change careers and become a teacher...none of my credits were any good because they were not accredited through SACS (Southern Association of Colleges & Schools)I had to start all over again from scratch...does well in the business world but will not help you if you need to credits to transfer or change careers.

Was this review helpful?

A Good Value in The 90's

Business Administration BS - November 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I worked for this degree. In the 90's Chadwick had state licensing from Alabama and provided a good education for the money. It was no diploma mill. Materials were standard texts, tests were standardized and graded although open book. If I did not read and understand the books I would never have passed the exams no matter how long I had the book open. Old fashioned mail order correspondence method but that was the predominant technology at the time and is still the main DL method in today's military. Hopefully Chadwick will return as an accredited school.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

hard work

Business Administration BS - November 17, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed an MBA in 1995. I did not receive any credit for life experiences. In order to pass I had to study long hours for almost 3 years, so I'm puzzled about some of the allegations that Chadwick was a "diploma mill." I didn't get that impression at all, it was hard work.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Worked Harder Than Traditional

Business Administration BS - June 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am simply disgusted that the school I put my efforts and money into is being called a diploma mill and deemed useless. I graduated in 2001 when they didn't even ask about experience and based entrance and graduation on classes passed. The coursework was current and took more effort than the "traditional" school I attended. To me, this method requires more determination and drive as there are no points for showing up. You have to want it and do it!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Institution

Business Administration BS - May 11, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated in 2000 after inttensive course work. I rememebered spending most of my lunch periods at work to complete my assignments and/or my test. Chadwick University was one of the pioneers of distance learning, they just were not as expensive as many others. As a matter of fact I did my research on the US dept of education website before I signed up, Chadwick was indeed accredited....at least at that time.

Was this review helpful?

Master of Business Administration

Business Administration BS - April 30, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed this degree in 1996 at the age of 67. The degree enabled me to continue working in my choosen profession until just last year when I turned 80 and retired to write my memoirs. I am still going strong and have continued to educate myself, having just received a Doctors degree in Marine Science. I dare say that without the help and cooperation of Chadwick University. None of this would have happened. Best personal regards. Dr. Frank Myers, ScD. Why not start an alumini association for Chadwick graduates?

Was this review helpful?

Chadwick Experience

Business Administration BS - April 13, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my B.S in Business Admin from Chadwick in Nov 1993. I can honestly say the program was worthwhile and it took me nearly 18 months to complete. I enjoyed the much different learning style, which I benefited from greatly given my work schedule.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Chadwick University Degrees

Environmental Management - March 31, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated in May of 2005. Immediately I recived a job promotion with a signifcant increase in my annual salary. This would not be possible without the degree from Chadwick. This was NOT a degree mill. I worked very hard over several years to complete this accomplishment. I have NEVER once been questioned about the legitamcy of the school or the program.

Was this review helpful?

Chadwick University - End of an Era

Business Administration BS - February 5, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Unfortunately, competition in the higher education arena made it difficult for many distance learning schools like Chadwick to compete. Well established academic institutions across the country frowned upon the notion that students could simply acquire knowledge without classroom walls. Chadwick recently lost it's license from the Alabama Dept of Education for failing to maintain financial reserves for tuition reimbursement. While short lived, Chadwick University gained accreditation on November 1, 2000 with the International Association of Universities and Schools (IAUS). This accreditation ran until November 1, 2003. Chadwick was not a diploma mill. They did not give credit for life experience and satisfactory completetion of course materials was requiresd to receive a diploma.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Chadwick University

Criminal Justice - February 4, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Upon receiving my BS in Criminal Justice (2000) I received a promotion to the head of my department. Excellent distance study education- accrediated by the World Association of Distance learning.

Was this review helpful?

Not Accredited by anyone who counts!

Business Administration BS - January 7, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Don't waste your money - this school is not accredited by any agency that is either legitimate, or that carries any real weight in the professional world. Try and transfer undergrad credits to a "real" school or university - NOT GONNA HAPPEN! Of course they don't point that out to you before you spend your money with them. On that subject - just remember that "YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!" Yes, they seem affordable - but wait until you try to use the degree you may actually earn from them. The books were old - not even new texts, there was minimal use of technologies that can benefit students, and the instructors seemed bothered to actually have to take a phone call or respond to an email.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Not afraid to buck tradition

Business Administration BS - December 31, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from Chadwick in 1995 and I was very pleased with the materials used by Chadwick then. My coursework was intense and up to date for the time and I learned as much from Chadwick or more than a traditional college. I am not paying back student loans like my friends who bought into the money mills at State Universities and today I am a Vice President of a major corporation as well as a Real Estate Broker not afraid to buck tradition.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Very Very Credible

Business Administration BS - November 3, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I earned my degree in 2002. I worked very hard for many hours. It took me 18 months of part-time studies while I worked. The same books that I studied from for each course were the exact text books that very well recognized colleges used for their coursework. My coursework was challenging and the material well planned. This is definitely not what a diploma mill is. I just learned of the inssues Chadwick has faced after graduating 6 yrs ago. Now I've got to go back to school to get a degree I've already worked so hard to earn because of detractors? Not fair to any alumni of this school.

Was this review helpful?

Very Real Learning

Environmental Management - May 30, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Having started the program in 1995 when distance education was in its infancy, I found this program to be challenging and worthwhile. Over time, accredition became an issue but nonetheless received a very real education in Environmental Management through this program.

Was this review helpful?

Environmental

Environmental Engineeering - April 14, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have attended the traditional univseristy class room what a bore. A professor teaching his narrow point of view only. If you are narrow minded it will fit you well. However, I have to admitt Chadwick's material and support by staff outperforms some other so called quality schools.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Unsure

Criminal Justice - March 20, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recieved a bachelors degree in 2000 in criminal justice from Chadwick. I had an associates degree from an accredited community college and didn't work as hard to get that. I did learn alot and it has helped me personally. But I didn't know that the degree to the outside world was worthless and an embarrassment. I think that degrees like this in our day of age should be illegal because without an accredited degree, it is most explicitevly, "nothing."

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

chadwick university

Business Administration BS - February 16, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I wish to add that I took the programme from chadwick university

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Program

Business Administration BS - February 13, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After attending the State University of NY at Albany and Richland College in Dallas, TX - I can tell you that the curriculum is challenging and that completing the program was enriching and satisfying. I highly recommend Chadick University as an alternative to traditional paths.

Was this review helpful?

My degree from Chadwicks (MBA)

Environmental Engineeering - January 16, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I GRADUATED FROM Chadwick IN August ON THE 28TH DAY OF 2001 with a MBA degree. It was a real challenge for me when I begin but I made it! I did this through books not on online. There for I still retain my knowledge because I actually learned it!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Chadwick University Distance Learning

Environmental Engineeering - May 12, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated with a BS in Environmental Studies in 1998. In spite of what many detractors say regarding non accreditation, I found the coursework challenging and completed my degree in about 13 months. I already had an AA degree plus 15 credits from UCLA extension. I was graded for each of my lessons and comments about my lessons were given to me after each submission. At the time of my classes, Chadwick was accredited by the World Association of Distance Learning. I worked many many hours each evening and the books provided me were more than adequate and all of the coursework dealing with global warming in 1998 is now being recognized at quite real. The effects of Over population, poverty, air and water pollution, and the overuse of non sustainable of finite resources were thoroughly explored. Chadwick, for me, is not a diploma mill.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Chadwick University in any way.