Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Colorado State University

  • Colorado State University Reviews

    Ranking: #48
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association of Colleges&Schools

3.3
21 Reviews
5 6 
4 3 
3 6 
2 5 
1 1 
0 0 

Colorado State University Reviews:

Diploma mill setting - They only care about MONEY

B.S. in Business Management - October 25, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated in 2013 with a Bachelor of Science in Business Management. This online setting is basically a diploma mill as you learn everything by yourself but are required to pay thousands of dollars so that you can have some online teacher in some random state "grade your papers." The teachers were all about the same - they would answer your questions as simply as possible without any engagement. I am not sure they even read half my papers because I would get 100 percent on papers that I know were less than stellar. While it is nice that it made it easy I think that is also the stigma that is given to online schools as no interviewer for any job has been remotely impressed with the "Global Campus" aspect of this school. I try to not bring up the online aspect but upon request of my transcripts it is perfectly clear. To be fair, I am sure all online schools have this same issue, however I wish I would have spent the money that I will be paying back for the next 20 years else wear. One other point- unless you are already on the start of a career path with some experience than this program is not for you, hiring managers DO NOT CARE about your degree you will be so proud of they want to know what EXPERIENCE you have in addition - there are thousands of applicants for the same job but the only difference is experience.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Great Value, Convenient!

Organizational Leadership - October 21, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just finished my degree in organizational leadership with CSU Global. I felt that this program was adequately rigorous, and you get good support from your teachers, fellow students, and administration. The topics and skills you learn is directly applicable to the currently business environment. If you make time for your studies and assignments, you should have no problem doing well. I am a widowed mom to 3 kids under 7, and work a full time 40+ hour job, and I still graduated with a 3.97 GPA.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Horrible

B.S. in Information Technology - August 16, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a current student at CSU-Global and this University's policy is setup to favor the University. I recently encountered a situation where I had to request an extension due to unforeseen circumstances. I followed CSU's Incomplete Request and the instructor failed to make the exam available. It is going on one month and the between the Instructor and faculty members this issues continues to be unresolved. Their lack of communication amongst one another is poor and they will try to put the blame on the student. Luckily, I am strong willed and I continue to stand my ground and advocate for current and future students. Run away and choose a more reputable University that treats its students with dignity and respect. The Instructors are not helpful and they also refer you to the internet instead of actually teaching the class. If you get stuck you'll have to depend of the internet as instructors declined to guide you through assignments. If I wanted to teach myself I would not have paid so much money to get the job done. Run, run, run, away fast.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Master of Information Technology Management

M.S. in Management - IT Concentration - March 21, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled in the Master of Information Technology program and I'm really enjoying it thus far. I finished up my undergrad degree at a local university, but I decided to do an online program for my Masters. After researching tons of school, CSU-Global had everything I was looking for- name recognition and a very good state school reputation, major and specialization I wanted, and also the 1 course per term format. I work full-time so I didn't want to overburden myself and I knew I only wanted a university that offered the 1 course per term format. The professor in my current class is extremely knowledgeable about what he is teaching and he brings real world experience to the virtual classroom as well. I also appreciate the enrollment and academic counselors, they are very informative about most everything. They've assisted me from step 1 (enrollment) to step 2 (financial aid) and step 3 (course registration). I feel like I'm receiving more guidance and support here than I did during my undergrad experience. I can't wait to graduate and put my degree to use. I am very happy I chose CSU-Global!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Nightmare Enrollment Advisers

B.S. in Information Technology - March 4, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I tried to enroll for Mar.7th start date, but the admissions rep Sarah Lipsett, pushed back my start date to April 4th without my permission. When I contacted her to tell her I wanted to start in March, she found another reason to push the start date back to April 4th. I ran around like a chicken with its head cut off getting transcripts and other documents notarized. Additionally, I spent about $40.00 getting transcripts sent in a hurry. I ended up discontinuing enrollment and going to another school. I'm sure the education is fine but the enrollment process and Sarah Lipsett are a nightmare.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

They don't offer an MBA, they offer a MBM

BS-Business Management - July 7, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated at the end of 2012 with a B.S. in Business Management from CSU-Global, The Master's program in business that they offer is an MBM, which no one has ever heard of, not an MBA. Also, your diploma states, "Colorado State University System" and the diploma does not reflect your specialization or concentration. It's an ok school, reasonably priced, some professors are excellent others are worthless. they accept virtually anyone(pun intended), non-profit, however they operate similar to the for profit schools. Now if you want the real deal try CSU-online, they follow the same curriculum as the on-campus students, even have web-casts of the daily lectures and your diploma is identical to the on-campus students. I would recommend CSU-Global for an undergraduate degree, but not a Masters. They now offer a B.S. in Accounting which was my original intent, so my specialization was in accounting, however it is not reflected on my diploma. BTY when I chatted with an advisor at the CSU campus they had never heard of a B.S. in Business Management or a Masers in Business Management, additionally at that time (2011) they were unaware of CSU-Global!!

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

This is a great school and is becoming more prominant.

B.S. in Information Technology - August 5, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

In January of 2013 I found my employer would be closing down in May of 2014. Fearing I would have great difficulties finding a job I began researching online colleges so that I could finish my degree and be more appealing to prospective employers. I chose CSU-Global over various schools and can't say enough about the university. Within three weeks of applying I was accepted, approved for financial aid and began my first term. That was February 2013. Classes have been demanding but I have learned a lot! With the help of my student adviser (Kristina) I was able to plan coursework to expedite my graduation and finished my Information Technology program in June 2014. My company closed in May 2014 and I started sending my resume to various places (highlighting my pending graduation from CSU-Global). Within three days of creating a Linked In account and sending those resumes I started receiving requests for interviews and two weeks prior to graduation I had secured a Business Application Support Analyst position with a great company. My degree from CSU Global also helped me to secure a place in this Fall's Arizona State University's online MS- Information Mgmt program, which is very highly regarded. I can honestly state my future would not be as bright if I hadn't made CSU-Global my college choice.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Good school for the money!

B.S. in Business Management - July 31, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is great for the money. The online format and grading system requires students to participate and think critically to be successful. I find this more valuable than regurgitating information on exams. As mentioned by another reviewer, this school is heavy on writing and critical thinking, not such much on analytics or math. The 8 week rolling semesters allows new students to easy enroll at any time.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Good school

BS-Business Management - July 15, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CSU Global is a great online school. You will write a lot! Discussion board and quiz are freebies, but the writing assignments are not. This school works very well for those who work and/or have kids. You will encounter a bad professor and you will encounter grading that seems unfair. But if you can write, you will succeed at CSU Global.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Good in theory, not great

Master of Science in Organizational Leadership - April 22, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was excited to attend an online college that was not a for-profit college. I have worked in the for- profit industry and that is not something I wanted to be a part of. Overall I did enjoy CSU-Global. I found that 95% of my classmates in the master's program were well educated and had real career experience. I learned from many of them. Though online college is supposed to be flexible it still is time consuming. There are reasons I have chosen to not attend my graduation this summer. CSU Global has a 90% acceptance rate per information found via Google. It is hard to feel like I accomplished something when really anyone gets accepted. I think I received "A" grades, but my work was more B quality and in some cases even C quality. Instructors have to use a rubric for grading and I understand it is important to have clear guidelines so students are graded the same, but the rubric grade is often all that is given, no additional feedback is provided. I do not feel prepared for my capstone and information received in prior classes seems to conflict with what is required. Instructors were very friendly, but no one pushes students beyond their limits. I have only attended CSU-Global so I can't compare to other colleges. If you are a true student of academia a this is not the college for you. This college is better for those that need to earn a degree in a short amount of time and avoid the negatives of for-profit colleges. Elementary kids are more likely to get graded harder than anyone at CSU-Global. Expect conflicting information regarding your capstone and pointless discussion posts -time wasters for the most part. Discussion posts are typical in online courses so I assume I would have the same opinion no matter what college I went to. I don't dislike CSU-Global, but I probably won't be rocking the alumni gear.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 22 people found the following review helpful

Not For African Americans

B.S. in Applied Social Sciences - April 18, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I should have researched more into this school. The course are helpful, but some of the instructors are terrible. They are very bias and will grade you according to their views on matters. The advisors are a joke and clueless. If you receive financial aide, they will screw you out of what's entitled to you. So beware of this school, not all that it says it is.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 53 people found the following review helpful

Good programs, terrible advisor and administrative support

Master of Science in Organizational Leadership - March 3, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am not gonna lie, I chose this program to further my education and do so while working a job that requires around 55-60 hours per week. I just finished my Masters Degree at the school and overall I was impressed with the things I learned and were able to apply to my current job. Yes I had a few bad professors who seemed inclined to give out an A to anyone who took their class, but I had teachers like that in my undergraduate degree at a top rated brick and mortar university so you run into that anywhere you seek a higher Education. What really made me angry is the lack so support and help from my advisor.. Or should I say advisors. I think I had 6 different advisors during my 3 years at the school and none of them really cared about me or my success at all. The student billing department is a joke and any times I had issues with a professor and I consulted fellow students about it I was told to stop discussing it or I could be expelled! What!? The administration is not student friendly and the advisors are clueless and treat you like a number instead of a person. Overall I'd say the curriculum is good if you want to up your game for a new career or promotion at work, but be aware u are pretty much on your own once you start because you don't get much help from advisors or support staff. The teachers overall are great, at least most that I had at the school, but just be prepared to have a few who are difficult just like at any other school.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful

The Real Deal

Master of Science in Computer Science - May 20, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Beware, do not take this school lightly, online or not makes no difference it is the same courses and requirements, it is serious stuff, quite difficult, be prepared to work your butt off. I am halfway through my Masters in CIS here and am BURNT. If you went to a for-profit type school before get ready to be rudely awoken. In fact if this is your case think twice about going here, this is the real deal and it is in no way pleasant.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 24 people found the following review helpful

Good Distance Learning Program!

Master of Business Administration - April 9, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my first semester as a graduate student in the online MBA program. Colorado State has a well-established online distance program that is well-run with helpful section coordinators and good professors. The section coordinators are accommodating to your work schedule and the classes are up-to-date. The technology in this program is user-friendly. I would recommend this school for working adults like myself who don't have the time to sit in a traditional MBA program.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Great value and support, highly recommended!!

M.S. in Organizational Leadership - March 4, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my final term and graduating in June. I have hopped around to several online and traditional schools including a traditional, very large and reputable state university. At another online school, just submitting the assignment would result in an "A" and I learned nothing. CSU is another story. The courses require a little work for me to pass - the academic quality is a little more challenging than the U of MN was, partially because there is nobody standing in front of me telling me to get my work done. My academic advisor is AMAZING!! Seriously, she deserves a raise for all she's done. Any changes to my degree plan, graduation plan, and so on were handled quickly and seamlessly. I never had any financial aid issues, and the team is proactive about making sure I have what I need. Now that Alicia is handling that too, I think the experience will only get better. I have not a single complaint about the school. It is not for everyone - online education in general takes self-discipline, but there are no better values online than this. It is seriously CHEAP and nobody has ever questioned the quality.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful

As bad as Phoenix University and other online schools

Organizational Leadership - February 2, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated in 2010 with a Bachelor's degree from CSU-Global. Since then, I have applied for many jobs utilizing this degree, but pretty much everyone looks at it the same... "oh, an online degree, ok." I can accept that, it's an inherent issue with all of the diploma mill colleges going around these days, however my real problem with CSU-Global is their terrible administrative staff. To start, the billing and accounting staff is completely incompetent. You have to walk them through baby-steps to get simple documentation. You cannot get directly in touch with anyone that can actually solve your problem, which leads to a nightmarish game of phone tag and voice mails (they say they will contact you within 24 hours, but it's about a 50/50 chance that you'll receive a call back). The thing that has frustrated me the most is that they stopped honoring a tuition discount that I had been receiving. After spending nearly $20,000 on my Bachelor's degree with their school, they have the nerve to discontinue my discount, enroll me in my next set of classes without telling me the difference in rates, only to find out at the end that my tuition rate was raised by about 33%. As another reviewer stated, their bureaucratic appeal process is worthless and a waste of time at best. The education you receive from this school is mediocre at best, with nearly every weekly assignment involving a 10 question quiz and a 1 page paper. There's not much actual LEARNING going on here. Presently, I am stuck with my degree on a wall plaque, an unjust bill of over $1000, and my transcripts held hostage by the school. To top it off, the school won't do anything to make this right after being in contact with them on several occasions. Find a better university to attend; don't give these scam artists a single penny.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 34 people found the following review helpful

Poor quality

Master of Business Administration - January 26, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Confusing requirements, conflcting information in course. Instructor attempts to get answers were unsuccessful. Instructor clearly frustrated by inability to obtain support. Reflected in quality of learning experience. They don't seem to know what they're doing.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 29 people found the following review helpful

In the business of education, not a institute of higher education

Organizational Leadership - January 8, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After a year and a 3.77 GPA encountered an issue with a single professor, the academic advisement department response was "online education is not for everyone." The solutions offered to me for dealing with the situation was to either withdrawal from the university or to go through a bureaucratic nightmare of an appeals process. I am no longer with the university and I now understand why their lower division courses are crowded (30 plus student) and their upper division courses are empty (2 or 3 students).

Was this review helpful?

14 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Good School

Master of Business Administration - October 6, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The school is highly reputable with classmates from all over the country/world with diverse professional backgrounds. Most students enrolled have a military background. Their first class is Accounting, which you are given the option to take a tutorial prior to taking BUS 615. Having an Accounting background really helps but for someone who hasn't kept up with the subject, has no interest, or has no background in it would be quite challenging. The professor runs the class and the lecture but there are designated DSC's (coordinators) who are responsible for 40 students. Yes, there are over 400 students in one class and they are broken into smaller groups. I didn't like that there is really no one-on-one with the professor online and that you have to go through the DSC first. This can be confusing and to think the professor is untouchable - so to speak - makes it more aggravating and impersonal. Interaction with students is basically nil. Not a lot of students are willing to communicate other than the basic intros in the start. I really wish there was more interaction in the start to make new students feel comfortable. The advisors were great and are there for you all the time - turnaround is quick. As for the class, the lectures are videotaped and sent to you via mail. On average, it takes 2.5-3 hours to watch (per week), plus the readings and the homework assignments. I had to withdraw from CSU for personal reasons and the fact that it did not work out with my current work schedule. The accounting class I took required a lot from me - I basically spent 30 hours a week studying...with no guidance really. But the main reason is that at CSU I am only able to take one class at a time, which means I would spend the next four years with them. I want to receive an MBA but in less than two years (fast track). I made my decision to attend this school based solely on their AACSB accreditation - without considering other reasons. Overall, this is a "GOOD" school.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Online Degree Review for CSU Global Campus

Bachelor's degree in Liberal Arts - Social Sciences - May 12, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a 46 year old single mom working full time. The CSU Global Campus online degree program has allowed me to work towards my goal of earning a Bachelor's Degree. By allowing me the flexibility to do my homework in the evenings and weekends, I am proud to say that I am a 4.0 student and the learning experience has been very high quality. The professors all have high expectations of the students and this has been a worthwhile challenge in my educational growth.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful

PhD - Industrial Engineering/Operations Research

Industrial Engineering/Operations Research - September 7, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Good program, but primary advisor is not really interested in IE/OR

Was this review helpful?

4 of 11 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Colorado State University in any way.