Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

ECPI University

  • Ranking: #73
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation:

2.7
32 Reviews
5 8 
4 5 
3 4 
2 4 
1 11 
0 0 

ECPI University Reviews:

TRANSFERRING OUT

Computer Electronics Engineering Technology - May 19, 2018
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The school is a very evil scam. You don't realize it at first. Then you're in denial. Here I am at 90 credits and I'm realizing that I've wasted my time. I was expecting things to get better after a handful of introductory courses. The fact is, that they never get more difficult. At 90 credits it's just the same old introductory nothing - I've learned it all already. It's horrible on a thousand counts. Worse, complaints are met with discrete punishment.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Love ECPI

Healthcare Administration - August 17, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have to say I have done my Associates and my Bachelors and are hoping to do my Masters and I love ECPI! I honestly would not be where I am today without the degree, credits DO transfer and their Master's Program is actually cheaper. The faculty has been amazing and communicative, and I am hoping for the same experience if I can do my Master's.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Alumni

Business Administration - June 15, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just graduated with my BSBA. I had wonderful and helpful instructors and staff. The program isn't easy by any means. You really have to study and put in the work and it's worth it. I am considering an MBA in the future. Only down side is the cost but no matter where you go for a Bachelor's degree, it is going to cost you some money. I have read these reviews on here and it seems that some are unhappy because they failed and were let go, or for whatever reason had issues with a staff member. Seriously, read the reviews. The negative ones sound so angry and hateful! To those who write negative, hateful reviews... Your failure is your own, get over it and work harder. Take responsibility for yourself and quit blaming others. I looked at University of Phoenix and they were hateful to me before I even gave them my name. But that was just my experience. ECPI is the best decision I have ever made in my life!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great for Online Learning

Electronics Engineering Technology - February 14, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I did the bachelor's Electronics Engineering Technology program from 2012-2015, online, while I was still in the Marines. I had absolutely no problem with admissions or financial aid, as they seem to be streamlined for veterans and active duty military to use Tuition Assistance and/or the GI Bill. I never had any trouble coordinating with ECPI and the VA. I liked the online program because it allowed me to study on my time. Some classes were harder than others, and the ones that really challenged me were the ones I found the most interesting. You might be able to pass some of the classes with minimal effort, but if you actually value your time and money, you can really get a good grasp of the subjects with the given materials. The online instructors were all very knowledgeable and pretty easy to get in touch with if you had any questions. I don't know why some of these reviews are so bad, but maybe experience can vary based on the campus and the course of study. In short, I worked my ass off, learned a lot, and graduated with a BS EET. It's already paying off in my career. I'll be going back to ECPI for my Master's Degree.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Choice for Me

Electronics Engineering Technology - August 17, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received a graduate diploma in computer technology from ECPI's Charlotte campus in 1996. I completed the online BSEET program in 2010. I’ve been working with industrial control systems for 30 years and my degree from ECPI is what sets me apart from all of my colleagues who come from VTech, UNCC, NC State and Clemson. The curriculum that ECPI instills in the BSEET program set me up for success right away. I had two classes in networking, two classes in routing and switching, and one class in network security. That’s what prepared me for the future and the IIoT (industrial internet of things). If you’re taking classes online, because the five week classes go by so quickly you need to set aside 20 hours a week for study and homework. Otherwise you won’t learn anything. You may pass, but you won’t learn anything. I have a great job with a nice paycheck and that’s because of my degree from ECPI University.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

RIPOFF ALERT - BEWARE!!!

Computer Information Systems - Network Security - January 14, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Please Sir or Madam, As a retired serviceman I am pleading with you not to waste your time. I first went to ECPI in 2006 for CCNA to which I completed the course after having 3 different instructors. They left because they obtained jobs in the IT field...and so here we are 9 years later and once again the class I was enrolled in lose its instructor and they had several people to sit in and class sit the students for the remainder of the term. By the way speaking of term pay attention to what you're signing should you decide to go here - I already have a bachelors degree and wanted obtain something in Network Security. They had me to take their orientation class and wanted me to enroll in English as well. They told me that the orientation class is required and until they had my official transcripts I would have to take English. I got a waiver for that but these folks will pick your classes and be serious about not letting you select what you think you can handle based on your personal schedule. As I stated earlier beware what you sign. I took the one class and decided that I had enough of ECPI's mess. Well that 3 hour class has cost 1,958.00. The finance department told me that they bill by the semester and when you breakdown the total cost for the semester... That's 1,838 for the class and 120.00 fee for the learning resource. That 120.00 dollar cost breaks down like this: Books and a used I-pad, however, there were no books for ECPIs orientation class. Again RIPOFF ALERT...DON'T BE TAKEN - GO ELSE WHERE. Robert. goodluck!

Was this review helpful?

9 of 13 people found the following review helpful

?

Criminal Justice Technology - June 22, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Those who are saying the credits are not transferable...they are. I graduated with a bachelor's and went to a local college across the country and I was able to transfer many of my classes. I went from Va to CT to Fl.......places where I continued my education and I had no problems at all with it. Those saying its a waste of money. Bachelor programs prepare you for an entry level job. You will need to gain experience with your degree if you want to make the money. This goes for any Bachelor degrees.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Loved my experience!

Computer Information Systems - Network Security - September 15, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Very hands on and instructors were great.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful

DOI NOT ATTEND this school!!!!!!!!

LPN - June 16, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended this school for a few months. Admissions are nice and always try to help you as much as they can. However other staff are horrible, very rude, and unorganized. Always changing standars and rules. Such a waste of money and VERY unorganized!!!!! Financial aid will lie to your face and say something completely different next time. This school is so expensive and they don't even care about you, all they want is your money. Some proffesor are very unprofessional and lazy. Most classes are just PowerPoins... really? I could do that at home. Program directors are unorganized and rude. If you need to talk to them either they are busy or forget about you. They charge you for everything and many times will not tell you. The practical nursing program is a waste!!!!! You can go to a better school and get a bachelors degree for the same price. If you fail one class you need to wait until next LPN program/class is available.... it's ridiculous sometimes you need to wait over 4 months. If you talk to other students attending this school most of them will tell you how much they regret going to this school. Think twice before wasting your time and money... there are better schools out there! As a current student of ECPI Manassas campus I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE! I'm trying to change schools because this is a RIP OFF!!!!!!! Good luck.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 26 people found the following review helpful

Please read this before going to this school

LPN - May 2, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I will share a few facts. I am getting a degree here but am seriously thinking about transferring due to the following facts. I am in the Manassas campus 1. I heard from a HR friend of mine that as soon as they see a resume with degrees from ECPI and Phoenix, they just throw the resume out. She said, this is more so for ECPI due to their reputation of giving grades where none are deserved. The school's image will be out in a few years so be careful with that since the stories are coming out more and more. 2. I have heard from at least four of the faculties that the place continually threatens them, micro management is unbearable and almost everyone is unhappy. I have been to two other colleges and never have I seen faculty so unhappy with their management. It seems to us that the faculty is either there for that they have no other place to go and need the money or that they feel committed to their students. And, overall, not that many faculty have doctorate level credentials and none that I know of with publications. 3. Overall, I heard many bad stories about the Manassas campus and how everyone is lied to and that there is no principle and sense of integrity. 4. Please do your own research but be careful. A lot of people just go here because they have free government money and want to get a certificate. If you want more value, this is not the school to go to.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 21 people found the following review helpful

ECPI

Electronics Engineering Technology - March 22, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended this school for a year to obtain a B.S. in Electronics Engineering Tech. A pattern that I noticed was that the instructors at this school didn't care. For several classes the instructors didn't interact with the students. I emailed a teacher regarding some homework and they responded two weeks later (after the homework was due) stating that they were too busy with a second job to respond sooner. It's nearly impossible to fail a class at this school also. The exams only account for 10% of your grade and "participation" accounts for about 50 to 60%. You also don't have any control of your schedule. The school will automatically schedule your classes. You can learn from this school, but just realize that it will be all on you. If you are expecting any kind of instruction from the teachers then this is the wrong school for you. If you can read a book and teach yourself then you should waste your money at ECPI. I have attended another online school before this (SouthWestern College) to accomplish my Associates and it was 10 times better. The biggest reason why ECPI's Electronics Engineering Tech degree is so bad is because it doesn't have the ABET accreditation. Don't expect to get any kind of worthwhile job without an ABET accredited degree.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Will not find a job easily

Registered Nursing - January 28, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

President, department heads and some of the staffs are a bunch of questionable characters and very fishy. They have very few exceptional faculties, the rest are questionable with no real credentials. Be very careful with this school. Do your homework. Don't get sucked in with what you hear, they would say anything to sell you the school. Do more investigation about the faculty, the school and the way they treat their own staff/people.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Loved it!

Business Administration - November 13, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I loved this University! They are incredibly supportive and it's a great place to go if you're military! In fact, I read an article on USA Today that they were number one in the ranking for the military.The teachers that I've had have been really experienced and love what they do. I love this school and what I love even more is that I am almost done! I have 2 more terms left. Their classes are every 5 weeks, which is nice because you're continually finishing and starting a new term, which I like, I feel like I get to start fresh. PLUS, if you take 2 classes a week, you can graduate in 2 1/2 years with your Bachelor's degree. So stoked that it took me a lot less time. I'd recommend anyone attend ECPI. ECPI Pride all the way!

Was this review helpful?

8 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Exceptional

Medical Assisting - November 9, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I went to the Charleston campus Receiving my Associates degree in Medical Assisting. I found the staff really exceptional except for a couple but for the most part it was awesome. Teachers here are always willing to lend a helping hand.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Stay away

Computer Information Systems - Network Security - November 7, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I highly suggest that if you go to the Manassas campus that you go somewhere else for a Network Security degree. All you have to do is look up 'ECPI employer' reviews to see that the staff here hates their jobs. First, the teachers for network security are hired because the staff doesnt care. I have taken classes where the professors dont know what theyre talking about and just beat around the bush. Classes are 8-1..you RARELY ever go to labs and get no hands on experience..all you do is sit in a classroom for 5 hours and get lectured. I have spoken to almost every student here and they all agree that GOOGLE.COM is their best friend because no one gets any knowledge from the teachers. From my freshman orientation class, i am the last one standing. It seems as though 90% of students here quit and transfer to make use of their time. The academic advisor for network security is no good. She never follows up on Emails -ever! I think ive emailed her 15 times since i have attended and have only gotten 2 replies, only because I kept bothering her..just shows the staff is lazy and doesnt care and just wants their crappy paycheck. There is a high rotation of professors. For the first few months I have had the same professor (who is the advisor) she has an accent, doesnt explain much but expects you to do a lot. Ever since, i have a new professor, and never see the old ones either because of termination or they quit cause this place sucks. The terms are 10 classes but only last 5 weeks, but in reality, its only 7-8 classes in 5 weeks. The first class you dont do much, the midterm you get to leave right after sometimes and then the final you leave right after..then you start a whole new subject in networking. Unless you have no life, no job, then maybe a 5 week term of sitting at home and reading 24-7 is ok but with a FT job its hard to..plus having a new class every 5 weeks of about 7-8 classes, you will not retain any information. YOU DONT GO TO LABS, they lie about that. I am almost done with school and the only thing i will thank is google and studying on my own and youtube videos. STAY AWAY and save your money!!

Was this review helpful?

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Rip off !!

Registered Nursing - November 1, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

dont waste your money !!! heres how they do it !! an 80 is passing so what they do is give you a 79.9 and yep you fail , but of course you can sing up to do the class again & pay for it again !! I know of several they have done this to !!

Was this review helpful?

11 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Exploited College Predatory Insanity University

Computer Information Systems - Network Security - July 10, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended the Manassas campus for two semesters a few years back and both of them were a joke. The faculty was not only unable to teach classes because there was no faculty available to teach many of the core college courses, but the campus itself had no real infrastructure or equipment for the Information Technology program that wasn't ten years out of date while the Medical program had whatever they needed. All the money was being made by the Medical Instruction program that churns out nurses and such, which meant that the Information Technology program got little in the way of resources and support. The main IT teacher was a man by the name of Daryoush Shafigi, an Iranian immigrant with absolutely no technical background other than an alleged degree from some Iranian university that couldn't be verified. He not only didn't speak English well, he had NO grasp whatsoever of technical concepts and his lessons were mostly unconnected gibberish he got from someone else that he strung together to fill the lesson time. Add to that his failing health - he's now dead and buried - and a serious inability to answer any technical questions, and you have a recipe for disaster. The other IT instructor, who taught the Cisco/Network stuff, was a guy they hired who runs an IT business out of his house in Loudoun County and he not only couldn't teach the classes well, he took phone calls from his customers and routinely broke up class to take smoke breaks or to disappear for 15-20 minutes at a time with no explanations or apologies. When I brought it up with the new campus President - the old one was ousted in an internal battle - he didn't give a damn and just rolled his eyes like I was wasting his time. Total waste of money, which is why their Admissions people are paid as "Sales Person". Also, ECPI is not straight on how much their tuition and materials cost and it is certainly far more expensive than going to a local community college for better instruction. Credits from ECPI also do not transfer to other schools and vise-versa, as ECPI is not part of the collective school systems in any state. From what I read online they are now sending debt collection agents after students who leave the ECPI program, trying to collect mysterious "unpaid fees", and I have been getting calls on my cell phone from mysterious debt collection agencies in the last six months though I haven't spoken to any of them for fear of them trying to take me to court like they have others. ECPI itself has been no help in getting a straight answer about any of it but I know that I don't owe them any money because I have records that state I paid everything in person in the finance office, including my separation costs. My advice is to avoid them at all costs! They will take advantage of you, especially if you are low-income, naieve, or have GI Bill/Government assistance to spend on their trash.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 22 people found the following review helpful

Great school but not for everyone

Computer Electronics Engineering Technology - May 17, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I’ve read a lot of reviews about ECPI and decided to put in my 2 cents as well. I’m an armed services veteran eligible for post 9-11 GI Bill. I’ve also worked as a field technician for 7 years after leaving the military. I just graduated from ECPI with BS Electronics Engineering Technology (online) a few months back. This is not an engineering degree, you can google "BSEET vs BSEE" if curios about the differences. Many of the ECPI reviews are from people who did not finish their degree and it feels like they just need to vent. I think I can be a little more objective and set the record straight on several topics. ECPI University is regionally accredited which is what you want. Even though it is somewhat counter intuitive, national accreditation is a lot less respected than the regional one. All big schools that everyone hears about are regionally accredited. With that said, ECPI does not have an ABET accreditation (EAC or TAC). Devry compares to ECPI favorably in this regard since it has both regional accreditation and ABET (TAC) for some programs. However, both of these schools are considered “Private For-Profit”. There are many great private schools in the US but most of them are not for-profit. Fairly or unfairly, but some employers will block you if you attend a private for-profit school such as ECPI, Devry, University of Phoenix, Strayer and many others that advertise themselves frequently. So, be prepared for that. Overall, quality of education is satisfactory. Many of the computer and network related classes use certification books as class text books. That way you can learn what’s needed to get certified and get a job afterwards. Some classes are less challenging, although several classes are really tough. If you think that you just take a test at the middle and at the end of the term to get credit, you are wrong. Final and midterm tests count for only 10-15% of your final grade. Many classes have course projects that you’ll need to write throughout the term and lab reports that need to be submitted every week. For an average person who is willing to put in the time, the degree can be completed with reasonable amount of effort. And yes, you will need to put in the time to be successful. Also, the certification exams can boost the chances of getting the job even more. The funny thing is, if you work in IT, having a degree may not even be necessary. Sure, having a degree won’t hurt, but you can get an entry level job and start a career with certs alone. There is a job placement assistance after graduation. I’ve been to a job fair at one of the ECPI campuses. Most of the companies were there to hire entry level medical assistants. The rest were hiring IT network specialists. Northrop Grumman was supposed to show up as well, but there was just a resume collecting cardboard box with their name on it instead. This was not superior to any of the job fairs that I went to which did not have any requirements to attend at all. One thing that I liked was the fact that there were a lot of employers in general at the job fair at ECPI. Some of those employers were state law enforcement and well known private companies, so no, it’s not just the Burger King that hires ECPI grads, lol. My personal job search is still ongoing four months after graduation. I’m currently employed with the same employer I was before I went to ECPI, mainly because I already have a decent job. Now I’m looking for a great job and this is going to take time which I do have. I had been invited to an in-person interview by two very impressive employers for junior level career positions and I got these interviews without ECPI’s help. I haven’t been hired by any of these companies, but the fact that I was even considered is telling me that some places won’t care as much about what school you went to as long as you have a four-year degree, the right experience and ability to get security clearance if required. Credit transfer from ECPI to another university is possible, but it depends entirely on that particular university. For example, both GMU and ODU accept ECPI credits. You can go to their respective websites, go to the credit transfer sections, pull down ECPI and see what credits transfer and as what. Of course not everything transfers, and what does transfer, it only does so as electives for the most part. This means that getting an associate’s degree from ECPI versus any community college in Virginia is a big mistake if you want to attend a public university afterwards. There is an agreement in Virginia between community colleges and public universities. After getting the right associate’s degree, you can go directly to junior year of a 4-year school and all of your credits will transfer. An associate’s degree from ECPI will not only cost around 20k more for a 2-year degree, but will likely only provide around 20 credits as electives instead of 60 towards the bachelor’s degree. The only time when it would make sense to go to ECPI knowing that you are not planning to graduate is if you find out what school you will attend afterwards and take only those few classes that are guaranteed to transfer. This could help someone who is deployed and can only take classes online until they come back to US. The landscape changes a little if you plan on getting a graduate degree afterwards. The schools are less picky when it comes to completed bachelor’s degree when considering for admission into master’s degree. Some of my fellow ECPI graduates were accepted into MBA programs at public universities. Somebody was provisionally admitted into an MSEE at a school that has ABET (EAC) accredited BSEE. The provisions were that they needed to take one semester of calculus and physics and get at least a B in both. Afterwards, they are cleared to take the 30 credits of graduate classes, write the thesis and receive their MSEE. This is possible because ECPI is a regionally accredited school. ITT Tech graduates with their national accreditation will experience a lot more trouble trying to get into a master’s degree program at a public school. ECPI is very fast compared to most schools. You can take 4 or 6 credits every 5 weeks. If your GPA is high enough, you can ask for overload and take more than 2 classes each term. You usually ask for overload during those terms that you are only scheduled for 4 credits (1 class and a lab) to have 7 credits total (2 classes and a lab). There are no breaks in between and you go straight into the next term after the current term ends. There are a total of 10 terms in a year, with two terms being 6 weeks long instead of 5. ECPI costs way more than a community college and comparable to a state 4-year university. It charges tuition per semester and it comes up to about $6800 every 15 weeks (as of January ’13). Regardless of whether you take 4 or 6 credits per term, the tuition is still the same. You can expect the bill to add up to about 60k if you go from zero to bachelor’s at ECPI and it is possible to complete it in a little over 2.5 years if you take no breaks. If you have post 9-11 GI Bill, ECPI is working out very well. It is yellow ribbon certified, which means you won’t have to worry about exceeding the annual tuition cap. Also, the benefits are based on the number of months. ECPI accepts credits from military transcripts which can make it possible to complete the entire degree in even shorter time period while receiving housing allowance every month and money for the books before each term. The remainder of the benefits can pay for a portion of the graduate degree. When it comes to professional engineer license, it is possible to get it with an engineering technology degree from ECPI. In Virginia, the requirement for such degree holders is 10 years of progressive engineering experience before being permitted to take PE exam. This is in contrast to only 4 years of progressive engineering experience for someone with ABET accredited BSEE or BSME. The point is ECPI way takes more time but still doable. Keep in mind that some other states are less generous and will not permit engineering technology grads to sit for PE exams at all. This can present challenges with your existing PE license reciprocity between the states in the future. Attending ECPI University can be a good decision if you are not planning to transfer credits out of it, manage to pay for it with grants, employer tuition assistance or veteran benefits. Paying the full price out of pocket or with loans can take many years to pay back without the guarantee that getting this degree will lead to a salary increase. In such case the risk is too high in my opinion. If you are currently not working, planning to attend ECPI and use student loans for that purpose, stop immediately, ECPI is not for you. You will be much better served by attending a community college or any public university. If you want to actually learn something to improve yourself and don’t care about the degree, stop immediately, ECPI is not for you either. Just buy the books you need on Ebay or Amazon and learn it yourself. This will be 80% the same as if you attended ECPI and a heck of a lot cheaper, however, this can easily be said about many schools. The problem for working adults is that their life is too busy and getting a bachelor’s degree in traditional way can take up to 10 years if taking only 2 classes per semester. If you are a working professional who already knows his job and just needs a piece of paper to ease the job search or get a promotion at work, ECPI might be for you but only as long as it’s done without interrupting your current career and preferably on someone else's dime. Bottom line, a 4-year degree from ECPI will meet the minimum job requirements for having a college degree *in some cases* and it can also open the door to a graduate school. But if you can complete any 4-year public school in a reasonable amount of time, it will be superior since you can get an ABET (EAC) Engineering degree and won’t ever have to deal with anyone questioning whether you went to a “real school” or not.

Was this review helpful?

51 of 59 people found the following review helpful

Check out other programs first...

LPN - April 8, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Before you waste $40,000+ make sure you check out other schools. I went to this school; and it was a mistake within weeks of starting. I just didn't want to wait on a list at the local college for nursing, their program was under $10,000. So what am I getting for all that $? NOTHING!

Was this review helpful?

12 of 16 people found the following review helpful

If I could start all over again, an go somewhere else I would:

Medical Assisting - March 26, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was in the medical assisting program and it was a huge waste of time and money. The school was a complete nightmare as and a huge joke as far as education is concerned. I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone unless your ready for a fight. The program director for MA's was absolutely unprofessional in every manner possible. I definitely wouldn't go back to the school at all.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 21 people found the following review helpful

GREAT- BUT THE COST RISES EVERY TERM AND THEY ARE SHORT ON TEACHERS

Medical Assisting - February 18, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been in the CMA program for 9 months now. Fortunately I am on Yellow Ribbon/Post9-11 so my tuition is covered. Unfortunately for my classmates, the tuition goes up every term. The problem that I have with that is that they signed a contract for XX $$ and now the school can breach the contract but the student can't. In addition, there are alot of people in this program that I see on a daily basis. These people don't pass classes, get pushed through and are nasty. They are RUDE, NASTY women who I would never give a job to, let alone treat me as a medical professional. Not to mention they don't know much because they get pushed thru the program. That completely cheapens the degree you get. I don't want to tell anyone I went to the same school as them. There is also a shortage of instructors. The ones they do have are great but they are taking so many students, the classes are oversized and there are not instructors available to teach other courses so when you are advanced and almost done, you only get one class- this makes your degree take longer. If you are a vet on your GI bill- it also throws away a month of your benefits.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful

The LPN program is horrible

LPN - December 7, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you are considering ECPI in Greensboro NC for the LPN program DON'T DO IT! The program the instructors and the people that run the program are unprepared. most of the classes I have had so far I have had to teach myself. The President of the University allows students to verbally and threaten other students with physical violence.They do nothing to protect their students from this behavior and after all the complaints we have made about the quality of the education we are getting they have done NOTHING. PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Pride

Registered Nursing - October 25, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended ECPI because I had been a CNA for over 5 years. After 5 years in the nursing industry I knew I wanted to move on to bigger and better things. I contacted ECPI and from the day I walked into that University my life has changed dramatically! My experience at ECPI was one that I will cherish forever! Here is why... First, my professors were extremely knowledgeable and helpful, they even would tutor me if I was unsure of something. Second, I completed my program in 14 months and was thrilled to get such a pay raise once I was state certified as a LPN. Third, the program prepared me for the nursing community, I feel comfortable in any situation. I would recommend ECPI to my friends and my family, I do believe that you get out what you put in and this was exactly what I was looking for in a school. Thanks to all the amazing faculty and staff! I'll see you guys soon because its almost time to start my registered nursing program!

Was this review helpful?

16 of 21 people found the following review helpful

It's OK, but if I could of went else where I would have...

Computer Electronics Engineering Technology - September 15, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am active duty in the Navy and have just finished my Bachelor's degree in Electronics Engineering Technology. This school was at times very difficult, but only in a select few classes. The majority of the classes were very easy. I graduated with a 3.9 GPA if that helps to enlightening anyone. My biggest problem with this school are the instructors. Yes, they are all qualified for the classes they are teaching IE have Master's or PHD's in the their majors, but most of them are working professionals. The school boasts this as a plus, but in my opinion it is not. Since they do have jobs other than being an instructor they are not near as focused on teaching. In fact, I really believe the majority of the teachers could give two SHITS about being a teacher and they are just doing the bare minimums to collect their FAT pay checks for teaching, which they clearly don't do. I honestly believe that some of these teachers do not even grade my coursework. I think they just see if it's turned in and just give me a 100% if it was. I have actually tested that theory before by turning in the wrong assignment and sure as shit I got a 100%. These teachers don't care about giving you any sort of help or education. They just want another pay check by doing as little as they possibly can. It's really pathetic actually. This school's entrance test is the biggest joke ever and that's part of the problem. Long story short, if you come to this school expect to pay a lot, get no help from the instructors, and if you are to be successful in learning anything that is 100% up to you. You can leave a class actually learning if you taught yourself. If you are leaving that up to your instructor then you will leave ECPI knowing nothing. The only reason I chose ECPI is because I have a full time job and am a father of 3. Going the traditional route wouldn't have worked with my schedule. Also, this school is regionally accreditted, unlike ITT. If you want a degree and you were in the same boat as me I recommend it if you are dedicated to teach yourself. If not, then don't waste your time. This school is a FOR PROFIT institution unlike what this web page says. For profit school's are more expensive and don't give you the same type of education as a traditional state university or community college would give, but they are the only option to many people like myself with hectic schedules and life responsibilities. I hope this review helps some of you out that are considering it. Good luck in whatever your choose.

Was this review helpful?

45 of 51 people found the following review helpful

GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!! credits don't transfer, lots of stress and money!!

Registered Nursing - August 8, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Okay well i have to say at first i loved the school. I thought it was amazing getting a degree in 16 months. Well things have changed I am a very good student i study a lot,and ask for help!. But it still doesn't help classes are 5 weeks long! Its a lot material some teachers do not care if you pass or fail. I have now failed 3 times! so there is a possibility i will not be able to continue. I have an 2.8 with failing 3 times that equals an 83%. But it doesn't matter to them. I failed three times end of story. Honestly i think it should be based on gpa not fails. They make you feel stupid and that your not good enough. AND NONE OF THE CREDITS TRANSFER!! THATS A LOT OF MONEY TO SPEND AND TO FIND OUT BY OTHER STUDENTS NOT EVEN THE STAFF THAT CREDITS DO NOT TRANSFER!. well once you fail 3 times you have to go in front of a review board of three department heads (THAT 2 OUT THE 3 HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH YOUR PROGRAM) if you get the PT guy he is an ass and makes you feel worthless and that no matter what you say he believes you should not get allowed another chance. because the hand book says after three fails your kicked out which it says if you fail 3 times there is possibility that your out. does not say that you are! Anyway he makes you feel stupid and like i said no matter what you say its the wrong answer. Well the president of the school gets to make the final decision. But just let me say this school has favorites some people have failed 4 even 5 times and they have been let back in. One person i know failed the same class 3 times!!! and was let back in and failed 2 before that one. but students who ultimately are good students don't even get another chance. Nursing isn;t about book smarts it is about hands on. this school they just sit you in a class room and read to you they do not make learning fun! (well some teachers do but it is a very few) like is mental-health nursing they should make the students act out the signs of the different mental disorders that will help them remember them instead of reading off the power point. the students can read the power points at home really!! well i'm just saying this school is not worth the money and the stress!

Was this review helpful?

26 of 40 people found the following review helpful

Took my money!!!

Computer Information Systems - Network Security - July 13, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

let me start by saying: my husband is an army veteran, with combat injuries. he is using his voc. rehab money, along with the FAFSA grant. That grant gives you a certain amount of money for school -per semester-. HOWEVER!! ECPI doesnt want to give us the money. We revieved an email 2 weeks ago telling us that our FAFSA money is at the school for us. He went to ask about getting it and was told he could not have it at this time. ECPI sent him an email later on saying that his semester would end SOMETIME between August 30 - December 3! How stupid does an admin have to be to not be able to count semester weeks. I looked it up and found out that his 1st semester is due to end at the beginning of August! Right now they are looking like crooks...but we will see what they say when his semester actually does in before I proclaim that they actually are in deed that!

Was this review helpful?

19 of 25 people found the following review helpful

Fantastic!

Business Administration - May 16, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am presently a student at ECPI- Virginia Beach - Online Campus, and I have to say that i'm impressed with them. I am seeking a BSBA and have received tremendous support from everyone. My only complaint would be the financial aid person (A.S.) that I have to deal with. In my opinion, she should not be in that job because she tends to come off as rude, unhelpful, unwilling to explain things, and is all round lazy. Her phone calls are short (if she answers) she doesn't return calls in a timely manner, nor email students when asked. Other than that, ECPI is awesome and I would recommend them to anyone. On a side note, the instructors and academic advisors are superb! I have never had a problem with getting questions answered, etc. they truly stand behind their word of wanting you (the student) to succeed.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Medical Assisting

Business Administration - January 16, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school was a waste of time. Do not get caught up being in it, esp the Charlotte Campus. There is so many lies and lack of telling you things, and once you get in this program you cannot get out. I advice you go to a whole other school for this one will make you wanna quit...waste of money and a waste of time. Plz trust me!

Was this review helpful?

14 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Awesome School!!

Computer Information Systems - Network Security - October 18, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It’s a pretty good school. As long as you stay awake and study it’s a cakewalk. Or at least it was for me. Job placement afterwards, in the IT field, was awesome. Not sure about the medical side as I am a computer whiz. Dave had me an interview setup during my internship. I was finished in June, 2010 and had an IT job less than a month later. I have absolutely no complaints with this place and will recommend it to anyone. PS: the place is SACS accredited, so most or all of your credits transfer. I learned the hard way by trying ITT Tech for a few months.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 21 people found the following review helpful

I had a great experience

Business Administration - September 24, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am very satisfied with my experience with ECPI online. They may not accept all of your credits, but that is because you ONLY have to get 120 credits to get your BS degree, not 180 like Kaplan or UOP, so there aren't as many classes to compare for. You can go to other places and get more credit, but I bet the cost will be more! For the cost, the services, getting help finding a job and having an accredidated degree, it can't be beat!!! Everyone I know who has attended ECPI has gotten a really great job when they are finished and usually has come back for 2-3 degrees. I am very happy and would definitely suggest online classes with ECPI.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 16 people found the following review helpful

BS CIS Network Security

Computer Information Systems - Network Security - July 8, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Materials were paid for in my tuition, but ECPI has apparently changed that and now tuition and books are separate. Some of the books were the study guides for certifications (A+, Security+, CCNA) which helps set you up for taking those test as well as getting your degree. Most of the teachers were good and helped out the students whenever possible, even late at night; others were only available during "office hours" and not on weekends. Support I did not really have to use, except with doing some of the labs in which I was dealing with the provider of the labs support and not ECPI's direct support. ECPI stated that Satellite internet was sufficient to complete the degree online, but with the labs I had issues and had to go elsewhere (Library, Starbucks, etc) to use their internet because of connection issues with some of the labs as I was told satellite internet drops too many packets. I dinged ECPI on Value because they are expensive in my opinion. I walked in with an AAS already and they took 34 of those credits. As of September 2009 full time (12 - 18 credits) ran $6,550, Textbook and Learning Resources ran $225, Registration - $100 (one time). So every 15 weeks you are charged $6,775, so a BS degree would cost around $45,000 (121 credits) and an AS would be around $23,000. I used my GI Bill and paid $1,000 a month from that, and transfered in my credits from my AAS and with Financial Aid I actually did not pay anything out of pocket (if GI Bill is not counted as out of pocket). So I was able to keep about $500 a month from my GI Bill. Use of technology - I feel that they used technology well for being online. I had to install and/or download different applications they provided which allowed me to do the tasks on the computer, but I believe that in seat you would be able to have the equipment in front of you (during the networking class I was given software that allowed me to configure virtual switches, in seat I would assume you would have actual Cisco switches and routers to run the commands on).

Was this review helpful?

19 of 23 people found the following review helpful

AAS - CEET

Computer Electronics Engineering Technology - April 18, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I found it worth my time and money.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 18 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with ECPI University in any way.