Excelsior College

Review Averages: 7.2 out of 10 (116 reviews)

Excelsior College (formerly known as Regents College) was founded by the New York State Board of Regents in 1971 and was chartered as a private, nonprofit college by the Regents in 1998. Excelsior’s degree completion program lets students apply prior college credits and military credits toward Excelsior College bachelor’s degrees in business, health sciences, liberal arts, nursing, and technology. Excelsior’s nursing program is especially renowned.

Accreditation: Commission on Higher Education of the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools
Non-Profit: Yes
Country: USA

Learn More about Excelsior College

Request Information »

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Excelsior College Reviews:

I understand
nursing - July 20, 2015
I understand the concept of Excelsior. Licensed practical nurses who already have several years working experience as a nurse would not necessarily need to go to a community college and start learning how to be a nurse from scratch all over again. Those with no prior nursing experience who are not already licensed nurses would not be appropriate for Excelsior. Excelsior builds on previous knowledge and upgrades the LPN skills to that of an RN. Its an extremely difficult program from start to finish, even the online portion. Definitely not something I would do again. But it is a quicker option for LPNs that are going to stay in their practice setting and advance to an RN. I worked at a local general hospital as an LPN for a few years through a temp agency before completing Excelsior LPN to RN. Its a good program if you do it their way and you can pass the CPNE. If you do decide to do it, please don't get rapped up in outside publishing companies. Their materials are really substandard and their is no comparison to Excelsior books and online resources. Trust me. working out here in the real world, and even to pass the NCLEX-RN, you will need every bit of that theoretical information. Brunner & Suddarth's is a must along with the other books. When in doubt, call Excelsior and speak to them directly. They may not tell you what you want to hear, but they will tell you right. As far as CPNE workshops, Sherri Taylors is good and so is Excelsior's. I did them both. Youtube has a lot of info and practice for CPNE too. Its not something I would do again. There are licensing restrictions by some states and California state board will no longer license nor endorsee Excelsior RN grads. It also may be harder to find a job as an Excelsior RN. The job market is very competitive and the traditional students will have first preference sometimes. But if you choose to do it, get all you can out of it. Its ultimately your decision. So do you boo. ;)

Excelsior College RN program should be for Licensed Practical Nurses and Parametics only.
nursing - July 16, 2015
Excelsior College should only admit LPNs to its program, as an LPN is already a nurse and usually has several years of clinical nursing experience and are prepared to easily transition into med-surg. Paramedics should also be allowed as they are already experienced in some aspects of critical care. Excelsior recommended nursing textbooks and online conferences should be a requirement for its students. Publishing companies such as Rue, College Network and such of the like really disservice students as they lose the depth of that strong nursing theory base. Don't waste your time with that nonsense. Also, the excelsior books have case studies in them and links to online case studies and interactive practice and learn exercises, skills videos, NCLEX-RN test bank and the list goes on. Brunner & Suddarth's Medical Surgical Nursing cannot be matched. Smith Duel and Martin Basic to Advance Nursing Skills and Taylor's Clinical Nursing Skills also a must have. Look at those Excelsior Study Guides for each exam and get those books and read them, even if you have to go to the library to get them. Absorb all you can from the online conferences or courses. There's a lot of hidden treasures in that stuff. If you do this, you will pass every Excelsior exam and the NCLEX-RN on the first try. As far as the CPNE, you MUST open Excelsior College study guide, practice and study it. Become it. Sherri Taylor has a wonderful CPNE workshop. Look her up on Youtube.

Good School!
nursing - July 3, 2015
I must say that for well motivated person, Excelsior is a nice school. I did my associate nursing between October 2007 and August 2008, after being frustrated in a so called nursing class. Bright student who are failed for their accent and skin color have found Excelsior a blessing. I was academically smart though, so if you are struggling then their program in nursing requires real critical thinking, okey. I am doing my MSN with them, and so far I am happy!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Quit complaining people
nursing - June 13, 2015
I am a 2000 ASN graduate of the College and have been working as an RN since that time-previously I was an LPN for 12 years-honestly, the CPNE was while challenging not all that hard for a well prepared student/LPN to pass-I studied the guide and it memorized and worked with other RN's including shadowing one at a local hospital for a day and working with RN's to write care plans. I felt the instructors were fair and were eager to help and they wanted you to pass. I was complimented on my care plans and using care plans many students do not use-I was proactive, I asked my charge nurses questions on my patients and I used reference materials. I also spoke up to my instructors when I was unable to perform a certain part of an assessment and gave them the reason why and they were supportive. There was even a question on my last patient and they conferred and passed me. I passed the first time-only one other in my group passed and I can tell you why the others failed-never looked at their CPNE book, did not prepare, etc. I am now working as an assessment nurse at a local nursing home submitting clinical assessments for reinbursment to the state-I have just again signed up to pursue my BSN degree and while overwhelmed at first I know I can do this-I have support and the BSN team has been a great support-so people get over it! There is a reason you did not pass the CPNE-maybe if you studied more-this is not something that can be handed to you-you must study and prepare-this program works great for those already working in the field and can apply every day experiences but again my must work and study to gain what you want.

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Nothing has changed
nursing - June 12, 2015
I graduated from EC in 2006. I should have graduated in 2004. However, I failed the CPNE. Then had to wait 18 months to take it again. All while doing nothing other than waiting. I took all of the classes at EC using my LPN textbooks. I never bought one of their books. I printed out the outline for the classes and created a study guide using it. I also took classes at a local college for general ed classes. Everything went wonderful, until I took the CPNE. it was a complete nightmare. I failed a patient because the instructor said I didn't wash my hands when I entered the room. ( I most certainly did)... and I failed the second one because the instructor said I gave a medication without checking the patients name band (bullshit). It was a total money scam. Did i finally pass?? yess... did I pass my boards... yes.... I also had been an LPN for 5 years before that, graduated LPN schooling with honors, worked in a busy ER as an LPN, and then became a flight nurse after getting my RN. I am not a dumb nurse. I am actually certified with so much alphabet soup behind my name (RN, PHRN, CFRN, and certified in ACLS, PALS, NRP, CPR, ITLS, NIHSS). Point being, the test did not measure any nursing knowledge... only if you could be trained like a monkey in a tree. Each time you take the test you pay more money... and have to wait to reschedule... it was TERRIBLE. I was done with everything as far as nursing classes and gen eds in 10 months... then it was another 18 months before i graduated due to the CPNE. COMPLETE RIP OFF AND NIGHTMARE.... I do not recommend this place to anyone. I am going elsewhere to obtain my BSN.. I could only imagine what kind of ridiculousness they have in store for those who attempt to continue with EC for the BSN program.

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Excelsior one of the worst experiences of my life
nursing - May 5, 2015
I made it through the program in less than a year. There is no financial aid. I paid for it all on my own. Then came the CPNE. One of six nurses on my cohort passed the CPNE. That's 17%. I am already a working LVN who graduated from a traditional LVN program as Valedictorian with a 4.0. I have completed all of my BSN prerequisites with a 3.9 GPA. At work, I float to ICU, ER, Tele, Med-Surge and other departments. I have years of experience and am a highly-awarded nurse who helps train other nurses. The Excelsior CPNE is one of the worst experiences of my life. The instructors are NOT helpful. I did not receive a SINGLE report from ANY nurse who worked at the hospital. I did NOT see a SINGLE patient. The Excelsior leader on site criticized all of my care plans, including one that used the exact criteria of the patient's nurse. After I made an argument to accept my third care plan, the leader had the nurse educator add a line to her critique to disqualify that argument as well. Upon walking me out, the "leader" gave me a letter and said "when you come back to try again" ... It's a money-making scam. Sure, a handful of people pass, but not many. I'm a pretty smart guy. The CPNE has nothing to do with knowledge or talent. It's about memorizing their 500-page manual and doing whatever the leader decides needs to be done that day. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE do NOT spend your time and money on Excelsior. It is NOT worth the trouble or tension. It is a terrible experience. Do yourself a favor and find something else. Excelsior is a money pit and the CPNE managers are cold, cruel and not helpful.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
You can pass CPNE
nursing - April 14, 2015
I passed the CPNE on the second try. The real secret is that you must basically memorize the study guide. Which is a 500 page document. If you do that then you will not fail. Everything you need to do or not do is in that book.I would also suggest obtaining outside nursing materials. Another thing I did it the second time was I got friends to play the role of a patient so I was comfortable in that atmosphere. I did the role-playing multiple times with other people. It really helped a lot. Lastly, I would say you must be very focused, serious,humble and professional when interacting with the nurse examiners. Do not debate them on any issue whatsoever. But you literally must memorize the study guide. I read it for six months and made extensive notes, flashcards, and did a lot of research. The last key I would sayis to become an expert at care plans the way that they want you to do them. Do as many as you can and submit them all. Do the phone coaching appointments. All of them! Have a list of questions and scenarios ready when they call you. Best of luck.! It can be done. It is definitely not easy.

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Spent
nursing - March 2, 2015
We have spent a lot of money at Excelsior. Took the clinicals 3 times=$7500. Materials that were not even helpful throughout the class portion$$$$$$$ The class portion was easy. Register for a test and be done.$$$$$$ more money for each test!!! Failed the first few times of clinicals due to nervousness or silly mistakes. It has nothing to do with the materials they give you to study, that was the easy part, it was nerves and everyday mistakes people make. They are quick to judge and not let you think through things. I am finally done and now I have another$$$$700$$$ graduation fee. For what?? We started with them so we will finish with them was our motto the whole time. You get stuck! It has been a 4 year process, because if you fail the clinicals it takes a year to get in. We even moved our life because this program wasn't offered in CA and we got such good word about. I highly recommend no one falls into this scam. It is a big waste of money!!!!!! Just go to a local city college.

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
I am so tired of hearing about this no clinical nonesense.
nursing - January 14, 2015
You must have previous healthcare experience as an LPN, US army corpsmen or paramedic to get accepted in the associate degree nursing program at Excelsior. To enroll in a local community college or university other than Excelsior, you need No previous healthcare experience. That's right, zero (0). This is why Excelsior's clinical is a competency based hands on exam. Excelsior builds on prior learning while instilling new learning and validates that via competency assessments by master's and PhD prepared nurses. Its just as safe, if not more, to have an LPN/Medic - RN grad with years of real world experience to take care of patients then it is for a new grad of a local college with no previous healthcare experience to care for patients. If a patient starts to crash, I don't know about you, but my money's on the nurse with the real world experience.

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Do Excelsior Nurses have clinical experience?
nursing - January 11, 2015
I'm an Excelsior ASN grad. When I was an ASN student, I had already been working as an LPN in an acute care hospital, nursing homes, clinics and homecare for many years. Being able to insert a Foley, an IV, do EKGs, empty bed pans and change wound dressings is already in the scope of an LPN. That's the easy part. I did a whole year of intense clinical training at my local general hospital for my LPN program. Just merely learning hands on clinical skills is not the only aspect of being an RN. You must have a strong theory base also. You must learn to assess, plan, and implement healthcare (To some degree LPNs must do this too). You must be able to evaluate, report, and intervene when patients have acute changes. That's what makes an RN, being able to assess. Excelsior sharpens those skills to the max. Some of my fellow nurses from traditional programs are not able to do this. They have little to no clinical decision making or assessment skills, and also highly lack hands on skills. They can't insert Foleys, IVs, do EKGs, or take blood pressures, have no concept of sterile and these are basic RN skills. I know those nurses would NOT have a chance of passing the CPNE. They wouldn't even make it through the first lab. I certainly wasn't spoon fed at my clinical exam. I had to know and perform like an RN. On RN orientation at the hospital, It was only a few weeks. Some of the other girls from traditional schools were on orientation for three months and still couldn't catch on. When an acute change or a code would happen, they would stand there and cry or freeze. Who do you think they would run to for help? When they couldn't do a skill, who do you think they would ask? Me, the Excelsior nurse. Of course they would come in cocky with their ego in the clouds, computer savvy, just all that and a bag of chips until they had to function in a real nurse situation. Clinical competence should be as judged on an individual nurse bases, not the school they graduated from. I guess my nursing degree and experience is good for something. There are competent and less competent nurses from every school, that's for sure. We are all at different stages of learning and maturity and it takes all of us working together as a team to get the job done. I also believe in hospitals having residency and orientation programs for nurses.

Read all 116 Excelsior College reviews...


Programs:

Read all 116 reviews...

Write a Excelsior College Review


Learn More about Excelsior College



Learn More about Excelsior College



Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Old Comments

Nov. 29, 2010, 5:15 a.m.
0 votes/
Paul Chesterworth, give me a break... First off how do "they" know if ur any of that crap u said.... U sound like a conspiracy theorist.  Im sure they are using the Patriot Act to find out all this info on u so they can ensure u dont graduate.  Or perhaps ur not doing the work.
Dec. 17, 2012, 1:22 a.m.
+2 votes/
 Excelsior, It is a Scam Nursing program,all they want from you is your money and nothing else, and one more think More Money, they will find way to fail you and take another 2000 dollars from you with big promises that this time you pass....(no they would not full me third time)
 I will dispute my charges that I put for two Cpne and their ridiculous fees. At the end I can say one word Scam College, rip off, liers, dishonest, fake pretenders with hiring retairment teachers who I am sure know whats going on but need to get their salary some way. It would be a good lesson for me to know that American dream may happened only in the dream.   
July 23, 2012, 5:34 p.m.
+1 vote/
The school used to be more friendly to working professionals. Unfortunately, it has virtually eliminated the ability to study independently and that work into irregular student schedules. Classes are full semester courses squeezed into 8 weeks. Also, classes require student interaction and group projects. 
July 2, 2012, 7:18 p.m.
+1 vote/
Ridiculously expensive for a questionable degree. They even charge a $400 yearly fee just for staying enrolled..are they kidding?? Support and guidance is close to non-existant too. Goodbye Ex..
June 8, 2012, 5:35 a.m.
+1 vote/
Hi I am planning to complete BA in Psychology from Excelsior College online.
Can anyone please tell the estimate fees per unit. I hope its not to expensive decision

Thank
Jaz
Jan. 19, 2012, 4:26 a.m.
0 votes/
College network was a SCAM! I was never informed that you i had to drive 1 hr to sit for my test! I am still paying for this. I do not recommend this college. I also learned that if someone else is interviewing for the same job as you with a RN degree from a ACTUAL college they are 95% to get the job over you. 
Jan. 19, 2012, 1:42 a.m.
0 votes/
Completed my BS here.  Professors definitely made you work for your grade.  Graduated magna cum-laude and had to bust my butt for every bit of my 3.84.  Definitely prepares you for the real world.  Worth every $.  All credits fully transferable to a university.
Nov. 10, 2011, 3:25 a.m.
+1 vote/
My Message Center - Once a day in responding. School fee's way off for an non profit institution. If you ask me, this school is probably a for profit rather then a non-profit.  Harharhar. Good School overall.
Aug. 3, 2011, 12:10 a.m.
0 votes/
I earned my Bachelor of Science degree from Excelsior while attending the US Army Sergeants Major Academy at Fort Bliss, TX. I transferred my credits from Loyola College of Baltimore with no problems. I am currently in the Master of Liberal Arts program and I can tell you it has been an amazing experience. All of my professors have provided detailed and thoughtful feedback on all of my submissions to this point. I didn't think it was possible but I actually received a butt-chewing of sorts for not providing a"data based" supported document in one of my classes. This feedback encouraged me to work harder and fix my shortcoming. The bottom line... I am genuinely learning, my professors and advisors care, and the admissions staff does a superb job of assisting me with any of my enrollment concerns. Lastly, I am certain my Bachelor of Science degree from Excelsior was key in me securing my current position as an Operations Officer. I am proud to alumni of this institution and can't wait to graduate with my masters with them.  
Feb. 16, 2012, 6:45 a.m.
0 votes/
Hey CSM Araiz, I too graduated with a BS from Excelsior. I recently received my eligibility for the post 9/11 GI Bill and am looking at their Masters in Liberal Arts. It has been  six months since your last post and I thought I would check in and see how it is going for you.  Feel free to email me at csmjvh@hotmail.com.  I am really interested in hearing your personal experience with there program.  Thank you.
Aug. 3, 2011, 12:13 a.m.
0 votes/
Hate to reply to my own post. But that let sentence should have read "proud to be alumni...".
May 14, 2011, 10:06 p.m.
-1 vote/
Excelsior has a built-in scam and  would not advise any young student (under 25) to use them.  They have you sign a detailed contract that is hard to understand and you need to know that you only have 3 days to drop the program/disenroll.  Otherwise be in for a nightmare because you will be caught up the rest of your educational career with chaos and loans.
May 3, 2011, 7:33 p.m.
0 votes/
Tuition here keeps going up and up, they even have a $400 yearly fee..for nothing, just to keep you enrolled. Support is abysmal. You're on your own as far as choosing and scheduling classes, academic path, guidance is zero. I'm outta here.
Jan. 19, 2012, 1:47 a.m.
-1 vote/
Dont look now but every school in America that is worth anything has raised tuition almost 40% the last few years, and not sure what ph# you used but guidence for me was flawless.  Accurately guided me all the way to a BS.
April 19, 2011, 9:49 p.m.
0 votes/
Another point of clarification:  The Cali state board of nursing has ruled that nursing degrees must include supervised clinical practice in parallel with the theory, and this was upheld in court.  A nursing degree from Excelsior or any other college that doesn't include concurrent supervised clinical work is invalid for nursing licensure in CA.  All other EC degrees are honored by the state university systems and by state of california human resources.

If you live in Cali or want to be an RN there, check out National University.
April 19, 2011, 9:39 p.m.
0 votes/
Point of clarification:  Excelsior is not a member of SUNY.  It is a member of NYSU.  Completely different.

Excelsior grads have been accepted to many high-level grad schools.  Check the excelsior.edu website for a list.  I'm a Gonzaga grad student halfway through my program, and while I can't credit Excelsior for preparing me for my graduate studies, I think the point is that isn't what Excelsior is there to do.  It's a great way to a fast regionally accredited degree for someone who has moved around between a lot of institutions.  If you are depending on the elite reputation of your undergraduate degree to get a job, you are looking at the wrong institution.  If you are seeking a degree as a basic qualification for a job, or for entry into a graduate program that has a name that stands on its own, Excelsior is for you.  It's regionally accredited, accepted by other institutions, and it's a flat-out lie that "California has banned Excelsior."
Nov. 19, 2011, 4:32 a.m.
+1 vote/
Hi. i found your post helpful because i'be been searching and searching for an "elite college" with a good reputation. unfortunately i have to do online right now because of my situation at home (kids,etc.) I am finding it very hard to find an online college that i will get a quality education with. i am going for my bachelors in psychology or sociology but not so i can be some everyday run of the mill socialworker. i will hopefully, eventually, get my doctorate and i want to go into research and do something big. so getting into a quality program where i will be at the top of my game is important to me. i don't want to just get an easy degree. any suggestions? (Also please excuse the quality of this message,I'm going from my phone.)
April 11, 2011, 8:43 p.m.
-3 votes/
Another one of these "life experience" schools, in fact they will give you credit for just about anything you ever did. Joke school. Expensive too so what's the point? There are many cheaper diploma mills out there.
Feb. 15, 2011, 2:40 a.m.
0 votes/
Sept. 17, 2010, 3:13 a.m.
I found the CPNE to be the most difficult experience of my life.

Did you pass?  If so how many times did you take it?
Sept. 5, 2011, 10:09 p.m.
+1 vote/
I am thinking about excelsior for the nursing program . Did you pass the CPNE? Can you tell me about it. Thanks.
Jan. 25, 2011, 3:37 p.m.
-2 votes/
I did well with Excelsior College. The problem now is finding a job.I don't know if it's just the bad economy, but I 've applied to multiple places and have not heard one call back.Some places do not take Excelsior College  graduates. So what do I do now?
Dec. 27, 2010, 4:44 p.m.
-2 votes/
Not the worst school ever but close. Expensive. Crappy online systems. Non-responsive staff. Stay away.
Nov. 27, 2010, 9:49 p.m.
0 votes/
I am an LPN intrested in the Bridge program to a ADN, i am looking for input and reviews regarding the CPNE and the Clincal experience from previous students....email me @ Cntrygal87005@gmail.com
Jan. 31, 2011, 9:18 p.m.
0 votes/
I am interested in applying, Can I chat with you about he college?  I just have some questions.  Email me at KimHubrich@gmail.com
March 14, 2011, 10:24 p.m.
+3 votes/
I'm a white, male, straight republican and had absolutely no problems graduating.
Nov. 16, 2010, 7:15 p.m.
+2 votes/
I did well with this school in completing a long-overdue Associate's degree.  This Associate's degree allowed me entry into what was an accelerated 3-year Bachelor's program.

Great school for mid-career folks who need to finish a degree cheaply.  You can finish quickly if you have good study habits and lots of discipline.
Oct. 5, 2010, 2:44 p.m.
0 votes/
It would be nice if Excelsior College contracted with a tuition management company that allows students to modify their billing information and make payments online. FACTS Management Company has this inflexible payment system that does not allow one time payments by phone or online. Instead, all payments have to be processed through a payment agreement. As an added service, they could allow students to make tuition payments online. For some reason, Facts Management was unable to charge one of my active cards. I updated my payment information with them and now they have to go from department to department to process the remainder of my automatic payment and make changes to my monthly agreement. On a positive note, they are responsive and professional.
Nov. 3, 2010, 2:57 p.m.
+1 vote/
I completed my Bachelors at Excelsior.  

Good experience, and Excelsior is part of SUNY.

I've gone on to a B & M Grad School program. Other schools on the list of where graduates have been accepted include Top-Tier Law Schools and Ivy League Schools. So, the degree is worth something...
Sept. 28, 2010, 11:25 p.m.
+1 vote/
Excelsior was a great experience.  They have great multimedia resources and many of them.  The CD courses are very challenging and you must have very good writing skills to attain an A or B.  The professors are, for the most part, very good.  Plenty of feedback on your papers and exams.  You're always going to have iffy professors, even in traditional institutions.  I have been in the Army for 25 years and can say Excelsior was liberal in awarding military credit and without them I would have had a very difficult time finishing my degree elsewhere. Just a comment on DALTONs post, nursing clinical exams are very difficult everywhere, and I'm glad they are at Excelsior.  Because one does not have the option of mistake in the real world when applying skills on real patients.
Sept. 17, 2010, 3:13 a.m.
0 votes/
I found the CPNE to be the most difficult experience of my life.
Aug. 31, 2010, 1:33 a.m.
0 votes/
Exceilsior College is a SCAM!!!!! Beware!  Their online courses are easy to pass, but when you go to their clinical exam sites, they find many ways to fail you.  If you miss just one little item, you fail! They don't use point system, the only thing they do is sorry pay anoth $2,000, plus hotel expenses, airfare and renatl car.  All I can say is, I told you so if you waste your time, money and hard effort on this school.  Do your self a favor and apply at a regular ADN program, you'll be much happier and you will actually learn something vs. paying your hard earned money to these "Crooks".  Why do you think California has banned Excelsior and won't recognize their pogram or degree, because of thousands of complaints! Exacelisior is a fraud!!!!!!! BEWARE!!!!!!
June 26, 2010, 6:55 p.m.
0 votes/
I am currently enrolled in the RN program (Associates) and I am nearly ready to apply for clinicals.  Is there any study material that I can attain to prepare for clinicals? In the event you haveany info at all upon the matter, please e-mail me at ABarfield001@yahoo.com.
Thanx!
June 14, 2010, 5:22 a.m.
+1 vote/
Here is why I regularly recommend Excelsior College to working adults. 

1, Regionally Accredited.
2, Extended hours for academic advisement.
3, Option to take classes at outside schools and then transfer them into their/your degree program effortlessly.
4, Extremely generous with accepting ACE, CLEP, and Military training courses.

I started taking classes while stationed at Quantico Virginia in 1999. Today I have an ASL and BSL from Excelsior College and I couldn't be happier. Being stationed overseas, the extended hours on Mon and Wen (8PM) really helped. I was able to call in and speak about my degree plan and get course approvals for courses offered at other institutions. In fact, I was so happy with the school that I joined the Alumni Organization and donated money to the group. I haven't put a purple lamp on my car or anything, but for military personnel no school can match Excelsior's flexibility and freedom.  

Class of 2010! Ooh-Rah!
April 18, 2010, 11:39 p.m.
+1 vote/
I can provide a little insight to the Excelsior experience of trying to get your RN if your an LPN.  Let me first say upfront that I am not a healthcare professional.  My wife just went through this program.  As a spouse I can say this was a long trying experience for my wife.  She started this journey a couple years ago.  You must be very disciplined regarding your study habits.  My wife studied consistently.  After each course she then had to go take a test at an approved location.  In her case, at one of the local colleges or an approved testing site.  This scenario played over and over again over a couple years until she was finished.  Then it was time to do her clinicals.  By the way the cost for all of this was not bad but still expensive for average folks of average income.  Clinicals alone were close to $2K not counting transportation costs and hotel costs.  If you live in a state that has a hospital approved to do your clinicals then it's not too bad.  However if you don't you could end up flying half way across the country to get there.  It can take several months to a year before you get a date and location where you will do your clinicals.  I will add that it is not very easy to pass clinicals.  It's definitely doable but you must be prepared.  You must also be prepared for the fact you may not pass your first time.  You are allowed three attempts. The kicker here is it's three separate fees of close to $2K plus travel costs and you again have to wait between each attempt for them to schedule you for a location.  My wife eventually passed but not on the first try.  She was heart broken to say the least.  This was the first time she did not pass a test of any kind! She is an excellent LPN.  She has been in nursing for a very long time. You learn very quickly that attention to detail is crucial.  Even a detail that is very minute in nature could end up in being failed.  So preparation is very important.  Use the resourses that Excelsior provides.  Study guides and so forth.  They are going to be your best source for information.  When She returned for he second attempt (it took almost 8-10 months to be rescheduled)she faired much better and was better prepared.  It was a very long journey to go through and in the end I suppose it was defintely worth it.  Just be prepared to make the journey.
Jan. 21, 2010, 10:27 p.m.
-1 vote/
I completed an AS and 
BS from Regents in the 90's. Great experience. My major was Psychology and I was accepted into two Graduate schools that I applied. Regional accreditation is the key. Highly Recommended.
Nov. 30, 2009, 1:45 a.m.
0 votes/
I am intersted at taking the RN associates program, and I was wondering how the exams were.
Oct. 29, 2009, 8:23 p.m.
+1 vote/
The credit exams aren't designed to give you an answer sheet and then have you regurgitate it for easy credit.  They are designed to allow you to display your MASTERY of a subject to the point that classtime isn't necessary.  It should be the culmination of your independent study and review of the topic, and the school is crystal clear that you may need to review materials beyond what they provide in order to master the topics.

To the other person who gave EC near-zero rating:  Excelsior accepts ACE/DANTES credits where they can be applied toward a degree.  If they did not accept yours, either it must have been because you had all your electives filled by other sources or because you didn't get the transcripts to them properly.  They accepted 18 of my 24 CLEP credits.  They didn't accept the 6 English because I had 6 credits in classroom composition.  I didn't submit my ACE military transcript because I don't need those credits, but EC accepts them if they are applicable.

Excelsior is among three unique institutions in the US that will gather transcripts fro other universities for you with no required minimum residency.  They are regionally accredited and must maintain academic standards of the transfers they accept, the courses they offer and especially the topic depth of the CBE they offer, because ACE also recommends their CBE to all other institutions.

University of Pheonix tried to sell me a bill of 15 COURSES I needed to complete my BSBA.  National University matriculated me with 9 courses remaining.  I will complete my degree at Excelsior with three full courses plus the 1-credit literacy course requirement, and the cool thing is that of the three remaining courses, I'm taking one at National, one at UoP.  Excelsior DOES require that the capstone course for my BSBA be taken from them.

If the above paragraph doesn't make you understand how valuable an institution like Excelsior is, then you probably don't have the specific need that EC is best at fulfilling.
Oct. 26, 2009, 10:34 p.m.
0 votes/
I just moved from National University to Excelsior to expedite my degree completion.  While National was going to require 7 additional courses, I only need 4 courses with Excelsior, and two of those I'm taking from National.

Kate in admissions and Chris in Business Dept Advisement are FANTASTIC.  After suffering a rude and self-important "academic advisor" at National University, I was pleasantly surprised how completely supportive and approachable everyone has been at Excelsior, even after I laid down the steep enrollment fee.  I get to cut at least 3-4 months off my degree completion track, I get to take the courses where I want to take them, and I get to deal with administrators who aren't full of themselves.  So far, so good at Excelsior.
Aug. 7, 2009, 5:32 a.m.
+1 vote/
Excelsior is an excellent college in the fact that they will evaluate fairly transfer credits, and provide a road map to your degree goal.  The courses that I have completed are mostly dependant upon the student to read the text material, write papers, and answer essay questions in ASA format.  If one has access to email, and follows the course scedule, and reading, a tremendous learning experiance is acheived.  My focus was to just complete my degree, however, the course material encouraged me to actually learn the material, and search more knowledge on the particular subjects.  
  As a BS-Liberal Studies grad, I can say without contradiction, that Excelsior was the best degree program for me.  I have been active duty in the armed forces for 28 years, and Excelsior has helped me "pull it together" to obtaining me degree.  Semper Fi.
Aug. 3, 2009, 8:27 p.m.
0 votes/
I'm very interested in the RN Associates program.Could anyone please give me some feedback? corina_balan99@yahoo.com
May 15, 2009, 3:51 p.m.
+1 vote/
To the actve duty personnel on here, how many credits did you receive through Excelsior for military exprience?
March 4, 2009, 11:30 p.m.
0 votes/
Anyone completed a psych major (BA or BS) with Excelsior?
What has been your experience?

Thanks!
Feb. 16, 2009, 3:26 p.m.
0 votes/
I am interested to attend the health sience BS program any one who attended the program please email your commient and experience at tgfcali@yahoo.com
Dec. 29, 2008, 9:50 p.m.
-1 vote/
I am seriously interested in the AS in Nursing and would like some feedback about the Examinations and the course format.  Thanks.
Oct. 17, 2008, 10:21 p.m.
+1 vote/
I just graduated from the ASN program at Excelsior and could not recommend it more!  It was an ASWESOME experience.  I did not purchase any books/materials.  I used the internet and purchased some of the practice exams (specifically in areas I was weak like Micro).  This is a very good program and I was able to find employment easily.
Sept. 28, 2008, 6:07 a.m.
+1 vote/
Great school! Fairly priced and accepted all of my CLEP, DANTES, and various college credits earned while I was on Active Duty.  The Excelsior College Exams were a godsend since I really didn't have the schedule to attend class or even be able to access the net for periods of time.  

After recieving my B.S. in Liberal Arts, I was accepted at every Grad program I applied for (most were traditional Tier 1 universities.
June 9, 2008, 3:06 p.m.
0 votes/
I'm interested in the RN associates program at Excelsior. I have finished enough clinical hours to be eligible for the program. I am curioius to how the exams are (without having to take the course) and how helpful the books are for those exams.
May 31, 2008, 3:16 a.m.
0 votes/
I have recently earned my BS through Excelsior College after transferring 100 credit points obtained at universities in three different countries. 

All staff at EC were very helpful and very prompt to respond to all questions. The academic staff were also top-notch and even inspiring. I expected less, but got more in terms of quality and service. 

I wish all colleges were as good as Excelsior College. It was a pleasure and an honor to have graduated from such a fine college. I miss studying there :(
May 19, 2008, 5:07 p.m.
0 votes/
Sonoma, I am a graduate of the BSN program and wouldn't trade my experiences or learning for anything. I liked it so much that I am now enrolled in the Masters Degree program. 

YOU should go for it!!
May 11, 2008, 3:34 p.m.
+1 vote/
Has anyone completed the BSN degree?
May 15, 2008, 12:21 a.m.
0 votes/
I am interested in their BSN program as well. I am curious if anyone has any comments about it. Is it worth it? Will their program prepare to work proficiently as a nurse? How long did it take?
March 18, 2008, 6:36 p.m.
0 votes/
Congrats Rick on finishing you MALS degree.  I completed my bachelors from Excelsior last August.  I have been seriously considering their graduate program.  I was able to take the graduate research writing course while being a undergraduate student.  My only concern is the cost of the graduate program.  Nevertheless, I love being a graduate of Excelsior.
March 16, 2008, 9:38 p.m.
0 votes/
I recently completed the online MA in Liberal Studies Degree.  It was a terrific experience.  The teachers were positive and helpful.  The education was on a par with any other I have taken at other traditional institutions of higher education.

I was an older student returning to school for the sake of knowledge.  Excelsior fulfilled that goal.

I would recommend Excelsior College to anyone seeking a degree.
Feb. 15, 2008, 6:40 a.m.
0 votes/
As a military member, I couldn't be more satisfied with Excelsior’s online program. Like most military members I jumped from school to school and duty station to duty station before I finally got serious with Excelsior. Excelsior accepted most of my pre-military college credits and the credits I earned while in the military. I was able to complete several classes either online or through Excelsior exams during and in between deployments to earn my BSL. Excelsior College was highly recommended by the representatives at the base college office where I am stationed and I highly recommend it to any working adult.
Jan. 28, 2008, 8:30 a.m.
0 votes/
Excelsior was a great experience. I needed 60 credits and completed in less than 3 months. Really top notch service (better than the traditional colleges I attended beforehand) and the degree is well regarded, Excelsior students have gone on to graduate studies at Ivy league universities and enjoy the special pride of demonstrating the knowledge they have gained independent of traditional classroom settings. I don't know of anyone who has anything bad to say about the place.
Jan. 12, 2008, 1:58 p.m.
0 votes/
Great college!

I earned my Bachelors of Liberal Studies after attending numerous online and on-campus programs.  Excelsior made it easy to transfer over and showed me exactly what I needed to succeed.  I applied and have been accepted to numerous colleges like OU, Liberty and North Carolina for graduate work.  Excelsior College degrees do work and they are well respected.
Aug. 13, 2006, 3:57 p.m.
0 votes/
Thanks for the correction.  The information has been updated.
Aug. 11, 2006, 10:46 a.m.
0 votes/
Yeah, the webmaster seriously needs to fix that, lol.
Aug. 8, 2006, 5:43 p.m.
0 votes/
Excelsior College actually has 28,000 enrolled students, not 7,000, and it was originally established in 1971 as Regents College.  The name change to Excelsior College in 2001 reflected change in status from a state institution under the Board of Regents to a private, non-for-profit college.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Excelsior College in any way.