Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Fielding Graduate University

3.1
36 Reviews
5 9 
4 10 
3 2 
2 9 
1 6 
0 0 

Fielding Graduate University Reviews:

Terrible Ph.D. program in Infant/Child Developmental Disorders

Educational Leadership - September 25, 2018
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Please research other programs especially if you want to work with families of children with developmental disorders. The master and Ph.D. program at this institution is not even adequate and the price tag is way too high. I am a parent of a child with a developmental disorder and I had a professor that was not qualified to teach an important topic and in fact, she didn't not teach the course and then, e-mailed harsh and demanding deadlines. She was completely unavailable to answer questions and give feedback and the price tag for not teaching and providing misery to her students: $800 per credit! I urge you to find another program and stay far away from Fielding!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Do not make this mistake

Clinical Psychology - June 8, 2018
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Stay away! Terrible financial decision, low graduation rate most students paying over nine years hundreds of thousands in combination of tuition loans expenses and lost income. Spent over $60,000 just continuing four years ABD with no services and terrible, neglectful management of dissertation process. Some lovely faculty but a disaster of a choice financially. Wish Id made formal complaints years ago.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Still paying and will be until retirement

Clinical Psychology - May 28, 2018
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Stay away! Some wonderful faculty but the institution overcharged and I have deep regret that I did not sue or make a formal complaint to recover some of the cost due to serious mismanagement of a six year dissertation process.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Good school if you are well prepared and proactive

PhD in Human Development - May 25, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently finished my PhD in Human Development at Fielding. As a mid-life student, I wanted the freedom to choose my own area of research and complete my degree in a reasonable amount of time. I was able to do both, but it took a great deal of focus and willpower for several reasons. The cost is prohibitive; I could not afford to be in school for more than 4 years, so I worked very hard to complete my degree while raising my kid and teaching part time. I chose dissertation research that was interesting and compelling, and was (mostly) supported and encouraged in my work by faculty. Most of the courses were good; a few were exceptional and a few were poor. My main complaint about Fielding is also endemic to adult education in general (the traditional school at which I teach is also guilty of this) -- adult students are deemed responsible for their own learning deficiencies, which provides a convenient excuse for institutions to admit students who are not learning-ready, take their money, and allow them to leave defeated and in debt when they can't meet minimum standards. I was well prepared for graduate work; I had two masters degrees and some journal publications upon entry. I didn't struggle with APA or formal writing, but many students do and need more support than is available from the school. I found a few professors who served as teachers and mentors. They supported my novel area of research while holding me to high standards of reasoning, research, and writing. Essentially, I got out what I put into the experience, but I also ran across faculty that were less than stellar. Having been in school for a good part of my adult life, this is not unusual or unique to Fielding. School is hard, not all your teachers will be good, and you will have to deal with adversity. My main criticism is that the school should not admit students who are unable to reason and write at a graduate level (regardless of the unethical norms in the adult education industry) and the school should provide more mentoring, tutoring, and support to students who struggle but have the ability to succeed. I would not recommend Fielding to students who are not critical thinkers - you will be expected to take criticism and vigorously defend your views. My advisor was excellent, but I was proactive about meeting with her. My dissertation chair was also excellent.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful

On the edge of unethical

Clinical Psychology - April 28, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

A very strange school. Often cold and indifferent, as so many others have noted (though there were a few exceptions) yet flying high with bloated pride about their moral superiority for their progressive ideation and posturing. I did beautifully well in my Master's program yet felt put down and adrift with Fielding. I did NOT find intellectual diversity with them. They taught the required courses on professional ethics yet dodged them when it came to lining their pockets. I was shocked, and hurt.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Excellent training

Clinical Psychology - March 22, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The quality of training and instruction I received at Fielding was exceptional. I found the faculty to be more engaged and knowledgeable than many with whom I have interacted with at other institutions .I discovered Fielding at a time in my life when family circumstances would not have permitted me to relocate in order to pursue my education post masters degree. APA accreditation was especially important to me, which was why Fielding was a perfect fit. At the conclusion of my experience I found myself to be a much more skilled clinician and researcher than many of my colleagues who are products of more traditional training models. The depth of knowledge and expertise in particular areas was also greater that what I would have been afforded in other models. Fielding is expensive, but students enter with appropriate expectations for how long it may take to complete the degree. I had several peers complete in much shorter times than average due to their circumstances permitting them to devote their full time to their education, myself included.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Unethical, to the max!

Clinical Psychology - January 16, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Mediocre intellectually, pretentious, closed to intellectual diversity. Indifferent to student needs - as so many other reviewers have noted. But worst of all, they mostly just care about raking in the dollars. Teach required classes on professional ethics, but when faced with a real world clinical situation, opt for money and client abandonment. Manipulating the APA with law suits and B.S. to keep their unearned accreditation. A scandal in the making.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Pros and Cons

Clinical Psychology - August 21, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I believe Fielding offers an advantage to those who are not able to stop working to return to school. I certainly fall in this category and my family does rely on my income. For this reason I decided to enroll with Fielding University. However, I must say the professor, while they do offer support, are extremely harsh in their feedback. The NSO online which must be completed prior to the NSO in person you are required to write an essay and meet the standards of doctoral writing and critical thinking expectations. The school will disqualify you if you do not meet this standard. I completely understand that this is a requirement as it is a doctoral program. However, I found the feedback provided by the professor incredibly harsh and quite frankly nit picky. I understand it is possible that my writing may have needed improvement but I felt the professor's reaction to the paper was unfair and I still want to know who is responsible for setting this "doctoral level" expectation. I have written papers and assessment reports under the supervision of licensed psychologists for over 6 years and never once did I ever have someone provide me with feedback that I do not meet graduate level expectations and I completed my masters at Adler University. In fact I always had psychologists who said I had excellent writing skills and presented relevant arguments. I'm sorry I was not impressed by the feedback and direction offered from the professor and quite frankly this was only the start of the program.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Excellent School Because It's Not Cookie-Cutter

PhD in Human Development - January 25, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been at Fielding for almost 3 years. The faculty are some of the most-accomplished and diverse thinkers around; they deeply care about their students at all levels. They truly believe in adult learning - requiring the *student* to be responsible for her/his own learning. This is *not* an easy school; you have to work to learn and learn to work at your own learning. Be prepared to explore the boundaries of your field and beyond. Be prepared to be challenged by some of the best minds in the field - including your fellow students! Be prepared to focus on understanding more than learning and 'simple' courses. But most of all, be prepared to be dedicated to your self, your learning, and your future; Fielding will not do those for you. Fielding has its own challenges and its own humanity. I have learned which faculty can help me in my own style of learning and which are less aligned. I have (mostly) learned which policies can be directly challenged and changed and which are not. But I am not there for Fielding; I am there for me, and I deeply appreciate the ways in which Fielding is helping me for me. Fielding is not like other schools; if you're looking for a 'me too' school that provides a piece of paper, Fielding isn't it. If you're looking for a lifelong experience that supports you well before and after graduation, Fielding has no equal.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 14 people found the following review helpful

I am having a great experience

Clinical Psychology - May 25, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I don't know what the disgruntled people that did these reviews are doing! If you got dismissed, guess you couldn't hack it. It is hard, it is NOT for everyone. You have to be motivated and you have to have the get-up-and-go to seek out help before you get to that point. I do understand the issue some reviewers had with getting practicum and internship - it is very difficult to get a practicum if you live near a major brick and mortar university. When I finally found a possible practicum at a prestigious neurology center, one of the newly hired psychologists turned out to be from Fielding (so you CAN get hired at competitive places). The staff did try to help me find a practicum, but honestly this is the hardest part of it for me. In addition, If I want feedback on my papers, I email and I get it. This is because I am seen as a serious student, I participate, I do not bristle at criticism, and I can write in clear English. The faculty are usually renowned, at least the ones I have taken courses with in forensic neuropsychology. They publish, they speak at conferences, and they occasionally can be eccentric but still approachable. I guess I just have a thick skin, but what are you really doing trying to be a psychologist if you don't have one?

Was this review helpful?

7 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Watch your credit card

Clinical Psychology - January 9, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended Fielding for 1 year, and completed 12 units. They charge by the month, but it appeared my credit card was being "churned" with charges, credits, and recharges. The year was 2004. After repeated attempts to get the office charging my credit card to address the multiple overcharges, I resigned. So…all I can say if you are giving them a credit card to charge, watch your statement monthly and correct any errors immediately.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Do not go to this school!!!!

Masters in Organizational Development and Leadership - December 2, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The Masters program in Organizational Development and Leadership - I am a current student - I wish I knew then what I know now. Total waste of money. Just a bunch of teachers collecting money - and no one running the program. No academic advisors, totally insulated - not because it's online but because there is no one in the school that guides you. I reached out to the Program Director and Master's Program Lead of this program all who didn't bother to ever respond or assist. The Program Dean cannot be bothered to assist and the online forum is from 3 years ago and no one uses it. Terrible schooling, costs WAY more than what it's worth, do not go to this school!!!

Was this review helpful?

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Great Experience This Far

Clinical Psychology - December 1, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a first year student, and I have to say that getting use to the format is a little challenging; however, I also believe that the challenge is better preparing me for the future. My professors have been amazing at working with me while going through some medical turmoil. I have been able to remain focused, and the response from my professors has been more than excellent. The tuition is more than many "traditional" state run universities; however, it falls in line with most of the PsyD and other private PhD programs out there. Additionally, they are the one and only APA accredited program that is blended with distance and face-to-face learning. My faculty adviser is more than supportive. One nice thing is that during two milestones of the graduate program, there are reductions in tuition, such points that I look forward to achieving. The only reason that I did not give a "10" on two of the review questions is because some of the professors do lecture (which I believe is a fault once in a while), and the cost of tuition. However, it is all what you make of it, and I plan on making it the best experience of my life. I am loyal to Fielding as everyone has been supportive and loyal to me.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Excellent but Rigorous

Clinical Psychology - September 19, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Fielding is an exceptional and unique institution. Faculty are free-thinkers and accomplished clinicians. Students tend to be very friendly to one-another and supportive. I found the experience to be very bonding and made wonderful contacts and friends. I lack the patience to provide an in-depth review but i did want to comment of some of the negative comments. 1) It is important to remember that simply because Fielding is "different" they will get disproportionate criticisms. 2) Fielding was on probation not because it is inferior but because the APA did not like the idea of this weird creature. 3) This an assumption, but I feel confidant to say that the negative comments are primarily from disgruntled and difficult students. Fielding has graduated 1000's of students and I think must had an overall positive experience. 4) I never experienced difficulties from professionals in the field regarding fielding. I actually had several experiences where clinical directors preferred Fielding students because of past pleasant experiences (I should mention that I did have one director that was not fond of Fielding). 5) It is true that Fielding students have a harder time with internships. This is because partially Fielding is not known to many of the sites and because there are so many other applicants it puts Fielding students at a disadvantage. Fielding (because of the nature of the program) puts more candidates in the pool of internships as compared to other programs. However, a significant percentage to get APA internships and besides APA internships IMO is not all that it's made to be. Good luck with whatever you decide. FIELDING ROCKS!!!

Was this review helpful?

12 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Good program for motivated learner

EdD - September 3, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Fielding was a great experience and the model allowed me to complete my degree while working full-time and completing required travel for work. Faculty were willing to meet with me in the evenings and in weekends and provided consistent feedback and support. It definitely is a model for someone who is driven to complete courses. I enjoyed the group classes and made lasting professional relationships. The only negative was my experience in the teaching in the virtual classroom courses. The instructor was the self-proclaimed online learning guru - however she displayed antiquated knowledge of modern e-learning trends and the books required referenced MySpace! Overall I highly recommend this program and school.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 10 people found the following review helpful

DO NOT ENROLL

Clinical Psychology - September 1, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Their online program is a total joke. They refuse to accept any responsibility for themselves. They like to pass you off to voice mail, which they do not respond to. They lie about what they say they are going to do. Once they get your money, forget about any assistance. Their is not academic adviser despite what they tell you. They are all promises and good news at fist, but buyer beware. Whatever you do, DO NOT ENROLL AT THIS SCHOOL.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 25 people found the following review helpful

Try a different program

EdD - July 8, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you have contacts within your profession and you already hold a position such as principal, school superintendent, director, etc and you just want the degree to compliment what you are already doing then Fielding may be the program for you. I attended fielding and completed one term then left. I receive little to no support from teachers or mentors. I felt insulated and received very little help or advice on writing my dissertation or picking classes. The only time I felt I got any real concern was when I decided to leave the program, only then did someone wanted to meet with me. If you don't mind an isolated experience where you will not get to know your teachers or other students then Fielding is your program. I don’t know if a degree will hold much weight with other universities and professionals within the greater community. A Fielding degree may hold as much value as a degree from Phoenix (expensive and worthless).

Was this review helpful?

16 of 25 people found the following review helpful

Impressive Program: Not entirely online

Clinical Psychology - June 21, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience at Fielding thus far has been tremendous. The program is rigorous, the faculty are great, and I love my peers. Coming from an ivy league master's program I was apprehensive before applying. I did some research, spoke with faculty and students and felt Fielding's program was the only one for me. I am confident I made the right choice. It has been an exceptional academic, personal, and professional experience. The faculty are truly invested in the students. The combination of face to face and online learning is quite beneficial. I feel connected to the faculty and my peers. I have learned a great deal and made some best friends along the way. I am proud to be a Fielding student and look forward to being a Fielding alum!

Was this review helpful?

16 of 23 people found the following review helpful

I am a Fielding Graduate

Clinical Psychology - March 5, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from Fielding and let me just say that I WOULD NOT recommend this school to my worst enemy. Way too many problems and issues that I care to write about. They paint a pretty picture when you initially start, but once you're hooked - it becomes an absolute nightmare.

Was this review helpful?

30 of 44 people found the following review helpful

stay away

Clinical Psychology - January 3, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Caveat emptor! This is a for profit school, though they are registered as a non-profit. Professors are more concerned about their reputations and keeping up appearances than your furthering your career. The program is led by one such individual of the latter description. Choose another program where the people are genuine, or as close to it as possible.The remainder of the staff are mere handsmaids in the scheming of these ill-intentioned individuals. Good luck with your studies, somewhere else.

Was this review helpful?

27 of 43 people found the following review helpful

It's a long way from the 70's

Clinical Psychology - December 1, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I began the program when it still had vestiges of its first incarnation as the Fielding Institute. It was idealistic about adult learning, but Many students couldn't- or wouldn't get finished quickly enough. Looking back, it was a remarkable and transformative experience, but I wish I had trusted myself to put myself into a brick& mortar school, making my professional and philosophical affiliations after i got my degree. Fielding has changed over the years to accomodate the concerns of APA by providing more structure. It lost a bit of its soul in so doing. But it was inevitable. It's a reflection of the times. I am glad I experienced some of its original faculty and ideals, but those days are gone. You can do this program if you are extremely focused. If you need more time to integrate knowledge, you might do better with a program near where you live- if there is one.

Was this review helpful?

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful

Buyer Beware

Clinical Psychology - September 22, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

They barely got off probation. They will not reveal to students the conditions to stay off it. They absolutely cook the books for their numbers they report to APA for practicums and internships. I met many fine people here, but found the administration to be pretty shady, and at times, unethical. There are many cult-like experiences at Fielding that you not find at a traditional school. It is bizarre. They have other students watch other students and report on them. They use a ton of adjuncts. Highly encourage you to read the vitas of their core faculty! Most of them are from third tier schools and most of them have not published much since their dissertations. Highly recommend you attend several cluster meetings before making your decision. I did and met very good and smart people, however this is their face-time learning process--not a classroom. You will compete for face time with other students at all levels in the program. In other words, you're not going to get much developmental feedback. If your idea of a doctoral education received primarily online and through Go-To-Meeting platforms, this could work for you. Be prepared for flights and hotels for week-long face-time experiences. Students pack classes/credits into a week so they can minimize these costs. Again, these experiences are all very cultish. There is a lot to be said for online learning experiences, but you do NOT develop as a professional in clinical psychology under this model. The VA will not take Fielding students for practicums or internships. This is the rule, not the exception. Other major hospitals and university programs look at this degree as a grade-up from the University of Phoenix. Think I am kidding? Ask. Do your due diligence. They are under pressure to graduate students faster. On paper, they say they can do it five years, but in person they will let you know this is impossible. Buyer Beware. They have been on probation several times. They will be on it again. They could make an adult learning model work, but they are too entrenched in their old practices to pull it off. Find an alternative! You may eventually get a Ph.D. but it will mean nothing. No one will hire you. Ask around.

Was this review helpful?

35 of 47 people found the following review helpful

Excellent university opened doors for national success!

Educational Leadership - September 19, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Fielding's Educational Leadership and Change program was an outstanding learning experience. Working with a cohort of learners who believe in social justice via the power of education was inspiring! The professors offered close, personal mentorship--a "must" during the dissertation process. It was expensive, but upon earning my doctoral degree, I was able to land a national, high-level education job. Now, in turn, I can help others and work toward the systemic change embodied in the program

Was this review helpful?

14 of 29 people found the following review helpful

Excellent program if you are organized, motivated, and have superior time management skills

Clinical Psychology - June 5, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Was able to work full time (in the field as an MFT) while getting my PhD from Fielding in four years. Couldn't do a traditional program because my work schedule (needed to pay for the PhD!) wouldn't permit unlimited hours. It required a LOT of work and organizing but is definitely do-able. I liked having professors that were experts in their field from all over the US. Attending as many national on-sites as possible (my first year I went to all four offered) was extremely helpful, as was doing a combination of small (sometimes local, sometimes not) groups, online courses, and a few individual courses. Completed so quickly because of the costs, so I put myself on a "regular" grad student schedule and planned ahead while doing each semester's coursework. Did a post-doc and got my Clinical Psychologist license a little over two years post graduating. Thanks Fielding!

Was this review helpful?

34 of 46 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Program

Clinical Psychology - April 1, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was initially skeptical about attending a non-traditional PhD program, but found Fielding to be a great choice. The faculty was outstanding and the overall experience far exceeded my expectations. I would highly recommend the program to anyone - even those considering attending a traditional in-residence program.

Was this review helpful?

20 of 30 people found the following review helpful

Not like the other cookie cutter programs

EdD - March 22, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you want a doctoral program that is tailored to your specific academic interests then you should choose Fielding Graduate University. Their model is unique and they do not hide that in any of their literature. So, if you get into the program and then complain because you are "on your own" you have no one to blame but yourself.

Was this review helpful?

20 of 29 people found the following review helpful

Not Easy-Street

PhD in Human Development - February 15, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my degree in 2002, after looking for a PhD program that would allow me to continue working while studying. I was a partner of a large consulting firm at the time, and I didn't want to give up my position to go back to school. Fielding allowed me to work while in the program, while helping me to find ways to incorporate my work into my research, which was very helpful. At Fielding, students must be able to take control of their own learning plan, which is difficult for many who are looking for an easy, and more structured program. It makes you think and plan, while holding each student accountable for delivering on his or her plan. The faculty are excellent mentors, as well as subject matter experts in specific fields. It is quite easy to find the right faculty member for each course. The integration of depth, breadth and applied learning provided me with a holistic learning experience. Fielding offers many other programs seminars that help the student to apply new skills in areas such as consulting, for-profit and non-profit management. A thriving alumni program helps me to stay connected, while meeting new students at the periodic residency meetings. I am grateful for the experience I had at Fielding, and am a better person for it.

Was this review helpful?

24 of 34 people found the following review helpful

Online Degree Reviews

PhD in Human Development - February 14, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a current student and my academic experience has been exceptional. The faculty are Fielding's strength and their scholar-practitioner model in the HOD program is outstanding. Alumns are unusually active in a marvelous way, as mentors, seminar providers and as pro bono continuous learners. The learning community is outstanding. The faculty is student-centered, but administrative services are lacking. The administration has improved from a rough time and customer service training of adminitrative staff is needed. You get what you need from them, but it could be done with a better attitude and customer service. We are the customers; they forget that. Overall,I have received great value and am proud of the education I am receiving. Almost done; would do it again.

Was this review helpful?

21 of 31 people found the following review helpful

Do Not Attend

Clinical Psychology - January 18, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school does not support the student. Only attend if you can work solely on your own and have enough ties to the professional community to find your own practica and internship.

Was this review helpful?

33 of 40 people found the following review helpful

Great School - you have to work and be proactive

PhD in Human Development - January 17, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from Fielding in 2006 with my Ph.D. I have experience with other schools (I have a BA, MBA and MA from other institutions) and Fielding is one of the best experiences I have had. The faculty is amazing – smart, responsive, student centric, and willing to go the extra mile for serious students. I really appreciated the support – particularly during the dissertation process. Fielding believes learning should be enjoyable – not infused with fear or constraints. To be in this program you have to be a self-starter, mature, organized, goal oriented, and proactive. If you are floundering you have to speak up. Because it is primarily remote learning your peers and instructors will not see what is happening if you are having trouble – so you have to communicate. Luckily this is primarily an adult learning environment and people know how to do this. I highly recommend Fielding and would be happy to talk to anyone about the experience. Remote and independent learning is not for everyone – make sure you are able to handle it.

Was this review helpful?

33 of 41 people found the following review helpful

Hard decision

Clinical Psychology - December 10, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall average. I have nearly completed my PhD. Tuition has almost doubled in the last ten years, with no improvement of any kind in quality. Good = they strive to make a difference in the world. Bad = very expensive, hard to get emails or calls returned, staff is mostly indifferent. Suggestion: NO ONE will be an advocate for you except yourself. If you decide to go, get in, make a plan and get out as fast as possible.

Was this review helpful?

33 of 36 people found the following review helpful

Currently a student at Fielding

Clinical Psychology - February 24, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have a MA in Psychology (3.85 GPA), and am currently enrolled in Fielding's Occupational Management and Development Certification program, and I am in the process of applying to the PhD - Clinical Psychology program. I agree that the staff and support workers/counselors/advisers at Fielding can be a bit snotty, particularly in the Financial Aid office; however, I did get a great adviser when I first applied 6 months ago. All of my instructors so far have been awesome! They have been warm, caring, and are hyper-knowledgeable. Most of the time I receive email responses from my instructors within an hour of sending them. FELIX Learning Systems is a bit clumsily, but all in all this is a great school! I will be proud to say I have a PhD from this institution, regardless of the cost. Do not hesitate!

Was this review helpful?

22 of 37 people found the following review helpful

Solid Program

Clinical Psychology - February 18, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

A non-profit program that incorporates in-person courses with independent study. Unlike for-profit, online programs, FGU is a student-centered program. The faculty is superior, the clinical psychology program is designed for mid-life, mid-career students who already have a background in psychology and desire further education. This program has exceeded my expectations.

Was this review helpful?

24 of 38 people found the following review helpful

Great program

Educational Leadership - February 14, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Just graduated from the Educational Leadership and Change program at Fielding and it was terrific. The best part was the interaction with the faculty, who were bright and caring. I feel very lucky to have found this school because they understood my professional goals and challenged me to learn.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 35 people found the following review helpful

Horrible Customer Service

Clinical Psychology - July 30, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have a huge problem with the fact that their staff is SOOOOO rude. Especially when you are paying so much money to attend the school and basically are paying their salary. They really need to work on training their staff on how to provide good customer service because the students are the customers. Every office that I spoke with was very rude and nasty including Admissions, Registrar and Student Records, and the Counselors in the School of Psychology! I was warned of this but was able to see for myself. I complained to the APA as well like many others have done. They act like you owe them something or you are bothering them. Major attitudes!

Was this review helpful?

40 of 49 people found the following review helpful

Transformative Experience

Clinical Psychology - August 8, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my Ph.D. from Fielding in 2007 (I began in 2003). My experience at Fielding was excellent. Fielding employs excellent scholars from many highly-rated universities from across the country. I read the one negative critique, but stopped reading after I got to the part where the individual mentioned "after my dismissal from the program." That explained the anger. Universities that have standards will inevitably dismiss students who do not meet the standards set by the institution. I highly recommend Fielding, as it has had a profound impact on my life, both professionally and personally.

Was this review helpful?

23 of 43 people found the following review helpful

Fielding Graduate University -BE WARY!

Clinical Psychology - February 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It was one of the worst mistakes of my life. I was determined to finish my Ph.D. degree, and became short-sighted in the process. Upon admission, I was encouraged by the financial aid staff to take out the maximum in loans (about $18,500 a year), with no counseling whatsoever about the long-term effect this would have on my financial health. The advisors that Fielding employs are some of the worst. Just before I was dismissed from the program, I tried to reach my advisor for SIX WEEKS, before he contacted me one evening at 11 P.M. No one is accountable for these issues - it is always the student's shortcoming. The amount of feedback given by instructors is negligible, even in on-line courses. The professors are very knowledgeable and well-experienced, but are not often accessible. sTUDENTS TEACH THEMSELVES AND EACH OTHER. Often, my papers would be returned with only a grade, or a few sentences of commentary, after days AND WEEKS of research! Although I passed my comprehensive exams n the first try, not one word of feedback was provided. The tuition is exorbitant, and for little educational value other than the privilege of attending an APA accredited school. Do your research carefully, and make sure this learning model fits your needs. DO NOT plan to work more than part time, as you are paying for full time attendance regardless! Demand that you get the service you need from those who are working for you (you are paying their salaray)! I didn't do this, and it was a grave mistake. In the end, I was acadmeically dismissed within the context of a letter - no ongoing support was offered or given.And my dissertation proposal had already been written and most of the course work completed. Be careful!

Was this review helpful?

67 of 82 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Fielding Graduate University in any way.