Franklin University

Review Averages: 7.4 out of 10 (19 reviews)

Franklin University in Central Ohio offers degree programs on campus and online. The virtual campus includes undergraduate majors in numerous topics from accounting to web development. Franklin also offers an online MBA program and a 17-month online M.S. degree program in marketing and communication. Franklin University’s tuition is especially affordable.

Accreditation:
Non-Profit: Yes
Country: USA

Learn More about Franklin University

Request Information »

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Franklin University Reviews:

13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
Beware of Franklin University Columbus Ohio
May 10, 2012
Franklin's curriculum is backwards to traditional colleges. Franklin University's classes have one teaching themselves first,then going to class and finding out how one did. Assignments are give, and are to be completed before one even starts a class, then you show up for your first class,and turn in assignments. Further,depending on how the teacher delivers the material, one may not get instruction for the next assignment until the following face to face meet. Imagine if you are learning to drive without instruction first. Just go ahead and drive on the busy streets and we will tell you how you did later. If you hit anything you fail, yet if you happen to teach yourself,then you pass! Good luck. They will gladly take your money though,and wish you the best. I have a good GPA above 3.5 by the way. If one already knows the courses and one just needs a degree go for it, but if you want to learn from the start, um well good luck, for it is very difficult...I would go somewhere else if I was not already invested into this money pit of a worthless college!...

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Service of Franklin University Staff
May 15, 2012
Typically every time I call into the financial aid department I received a different response regarding the same questions. Representatives answer the phone with not enough information to answer questions. I have a current teacher that yawns during her presentations via Franklin Live and conducts herself very unprofessionally. This same teacher fails to respond to emails. Hence causing me to drop the class. The Academic Advisers are not able to answer their phones and takes weeks to get in to see.

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Online IT is HORRIBLE
August 3, 2009
When something in the course is wrong, they don't care, and I have found multiple things wrong with every course that I have taken. I have gone to two schools before Franklin University, and I have never been this frustrated. I would have transferred out of here, but I can't afford it. The online material is weak. The teachers for the online courses are only part-time and have another full-time job so it takes up to a week to get an answer back. Its not all bad, but it is definitely more of a hassle than it is worth.

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
MBA 2012
March 27, 2014
I earned both my bachelors and MBA from Franklin. During my MBA I was using the Post 9/11 GI Bill and never had an issue with financial aid. Franklin took care of everything which made it easy for me to concentrate on school. In my undergraduate, I was using grants and student loans. Again, Franklin took care of everything. Scheduling was easy, I never had a single issue with financing, scheduling, any of that. I was a little skeptical of the MBA program at first because the courses are only 6 weeks long and Franklin doesn't require the GMAT. I took it in class and Franklin basically had us MBA students together for the whole duration. I had classes with the same people each week throughout the program and this made it easy to make friends and work in groups. Franklin does require MBA students take the Major Field Test for the MBA at the end of the program. This is an independent test administrated by a completely separate company. In my capstone class the teacher announced that the majority of the class had earned a 90% or better on the test and that one person in the class got a perfect score! (Not me, I was in the 90%+ people) To me, this validated the education I received. The fact that I was able to take an independent test of what I learned in the MBA at Franklin and not only me, but many of my classmates did very well on the test proved that Franklin had kept its promise to educate us. I would go there again anytime.

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Avoid this place like the Plague!
July 23, 2013
This place has me so furious I cannot see straight! I signed up for more information for a Bachelors degree and before I knew it they had me signing up for classes. The only problem is that's where they leave you, signing up for classes and nothing more. I called this university several times to get some assistance because there were no local offices near my home. I never received any support; in fact each time I called I had to leave a voice mail only for nobody to ever return my call. Well I ended up finally connecting with someone to let them know how frustrated I was and I wanted to cancel everything. You can only imagine how frustrated I became when I received a collections notice in the mail stating I owed this fraud of a place $5,800!! Now I have a collections department calling me every day telling me I owe money for classes Franklin University is saying I TOOK! I NEVER TOOK ANYTHING! This place is fraud! They will charge you a fortune to take classes even if you do not take them!! STAY AWAY!!!

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Franklin University (Columbus, Ohio)
August 8, 2006
I've found Franklin to be Top Notch in all respects. Very throrough and organized and all my expectations have been met. They offer classes in multiple lengths of 6 weeks, up to the traditional semester. I was impressed that everything was covered in 6 weeks in a depth that will really help me, instead of glossing over things to get thru it on time. Great professors. The online format is proprietary but easy to use. Credits run about $225 for undergrad. The only knock I have on it is the use of Franklin Live!, a voice Internet system, which doesn't add anything but hassle to the courses it is used in (which isn't all).

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Not the best choice if using Veteran's Benefits
April 24, 2013
Teachers and classes are okay, but support staff and their Veteran's Affairs support staff are less than competent. May be an okay school for regular students, but not so much for students using Veteran's benefits.

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Great programs; Support/Services Lack
August 29, 2012
Flexibility was my primary reason for attending Franklin. Nearly every degree is available online; on-campus classes are one-night a week. Their trimesters allow for lighter course loads. In my undergraduate (BSBA), I took a back-to-back six-week courses over a twelve/fifteen-week courses. In the MBA program, it's just back-to-back six-week courses, but heavier material. Though not highly accredited (with the "gold" standard like Harvard and Yale), the MBA is a quick 16-month program that is regionally accredited. With current tuition rates, it's under $25k, which is nearly impossible to find these days. Many of the books are custom Franklin books, making renting or buying used sometimes difficult. At this point in my academic career, I am choosing to buy over rent because the material is important for my professional career. During my undergraduate, I transferred from OSU. The teacher-to-student ratio was very refreshing. It is so nice to have one professor (instead of two TAs grading and a professor who only lectures). Not only that, but the professors are always available and have real-world experience which they constantly share and incorporate into the course. Communication in the online environment is outstanding; nearly every course requires discussion board postings or participation in a live session. Professors are quick to reply to emails. Group projects can sometimes be difficult, but that's usually due to other students inability to be a team member. The online formart is very straight-forward. Courses are all setup the same, making accessibility a breeze. There are two complaints I have about Franklin. The first is that the computers available in the classrooms are terrible. The university thrives on being technologically current, but the computers are completely inefficient. With a four-hour class, most of the students spend the first hour waiting for the computer to simply boot up. The computers in the labs and library work just fine and professors encourage students to bring their own laptops to avoid delays. The second complaint I have is with the academic support. The online support is lacking, but currently being update, which is nice. Printing, signing, and mailing/delivering papers is tedious, especially with technology that allows online forms/signatures. The actual on-campus support is ridiculous. Financial Aid is difficult to get ahold of; typically, you'll find yourself on the phone with a student worker who can only give you vague information and suggest scheduling an appointment -- same with Advising. Appointments with either are typically on a 2-3 week wait, regardless of the time of year. People from both departments will not give out their phone numbers and take a week to respond to emails. My first advisor was let go from her position, but I was not aware for nearly two months, and had been attempting to contact her the entire time. There are a handful of individuals who have helped me with timely issues, none of whom are my actual advisor. All in all, Franklin is a great investment. The main reason I was able to get the internship I have is because Franklin allows me to work full-time while attending school, and it is a very well respected university, especially here in Columbus. I have known many people to receive promotions after completing their MBA here.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
BS in Public Relations and onto to my MBA at Franklin
January 3, 2012
I found Franklin University the perfect school for a working busy adult learner. I can go on and on but as a veteran, single-parent and with working full-time, there was no better school in Columbus or pretty much anywhere else that could have done better. They are extremely veteran friendly, it took be 2 years to finish my BS, i started with 80-90 credits and had to fill the blanks to make it a true degree. The only drawback I can say was the capstone for PR, it was combined with the Organizational Communications and that proved challenging because the PR majors were forced to learn new things where the OC majors already knew the material. Outstanding and inspirational staff members.

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Quick / Low Effort Degree
February 1, 2010
Franklin is a good school for those looking for a quick degree with minimal effort. They have an extensive online course offering, almost every class available. The are a bit more expensive than their local rivals, but you pay more for convenience and ease in completing. They let a good deal of lesser quality work slide under the radar, so if you're extra busy you can still get by. Don't expect world class help with questions, though.

Read all 19 Franklin University reviews...


Programs:

Read all 19 reviews...

Write a Franklin University Review


Learn More about Franklin University



Learn More about Franklin University



Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Old Comments

Oct. 3, 2010, 4:17 a.m.
0 votes/
As anyone can see from the variety of posts, the school isn't all wrong, and there are some positives. Bottom line here (and in concert with my opinion) Franklin is inconsistent at best, and if you're serious about your education, search for a serious school. A school that hasn't managed to develop much in 100 years isn't going to provide a world class education.
Nov. 4, 2010, 2:38 a.m.
0 votes/
I enrolled in Franklin Univeristy after completing an Associates Degree from University of Phoenix. I figured this is a more traditional school in an online setting and would hold higher regards from potential employers without making me visit a classroom. I have worked in the I.T. industry for over 10 years, and currently hold a supervisory position that does not leave me with flexible hours for in-class time. Franklin has changed my attitude from definitely going after a Master's degree to I cannot wait for the Bachelor's to end. I am sure this is true of many University's, but I have a very hard time with the concept that college is supposed to train you for the business world, but business world experience either does not transfer into college, or barely transfers into college. I found that half of the course at Franklin did not even require a book to be opened, and those that did only required the book for arbitrary knowledge that is too abstract to matter. While it may be true that some random job performing some random task may require this specific knowledge, I would think that college courses should be geared towards more mainstream technologies in the field of interest. In this area Franklin University takes a skim the subject approach to their courses. For unwanted classes this was a blessing, since you never make it deep enough to remember the material; however for classes that are of interest and value, I found this extremely frustrating. I found myself doing additional research about topics that were brought up, just because they sounded interesting or were useful. This did absolutely nothing to help me in the classes, and I found that even taking three to four classes at a time could be accomplished on Sunday alone. I find it hard to hold any value in an education I supposedly gained when the depth of the assignments required a single day's effort to complete 3-4 classes.

I have read other reviews that mentioned the software was out of date, but I found quite the opposite. This was one of the few areas that I liked about Franklin. The Operating Systems and software in the Information Technology degree were current, even from an IT person's perspective.

Overall, if I could go back, I would have chosen another school or held fast at an Associate's degree. I graduate in a few months with a 4.0 and can honestly say that I do not expect to hold any more weight in my degree than the paper it will be printed on.
June 25, 2010, 11:44 p.m.
0 votes/
Gosh, I wished I'd spent the money elsewhere from the beginning.
May 27, 2010, 2:21 a.m.
0 votes/
I will say that Franklin really requires lots of extensive researching and group interaction. In saying that I have learned more due to the intensity of writing at least 6-10 papers per clas because I had to really work for it. Like every college some professors grade easier than others but, you will definately find those who tear you apart. They are accredited and very defined as a prestige business school by the locals in Ohio. The only problem with colleges out of state is that if there not the local fad they mean nothing. I will say that online is taking over and the respect is coming if not already here. If you think about it not alot of people know about small colleges here where I live in Texas, but here they are golden roads to success. This school is excellent. Just a word for the wise though, a good place that has an online MBA is Texas A&M University-Commerce. Cost about $1038.00 after books. Check it out as well!
March 20, 2010, 1:28 p.m.
0 votes/
I love Franklin! I am in their Community College Alliance program, which accepted 80 credits from my local community college.  What I love about the school is that it is very challenging.  I am able to apply my working knowledge to each course, and my I'm forced to apply the concepts from the leanings.

I have other friends who are going to Strayer and other online schools and are getting 4.0 in every semester....but all they are doing is making weekly opinion posts on a bulletin board.
Jan. 31, 2012, 5:50 a.m.
0 votes/
While the school seems to be pretty decent, I'm pretty saddened to see how long it takes them to handle student finances. I started my FAFSA in mid October to be ready for January classes, and once they began, I was told I was going to have to wait another six weeks for my financial aid to come through, and they couldn't do a book voucher, leaving me with no options. Sad, really. I've already enrolled elsewhere, but good luck to those of you who do attend. It's a good school, just needs polished up.
Jan. 27, 2010, 9:15 p.m.
-2 votes/
Stay away from this university unless you are seeking plenty aggravation and a serious lack of organization. This is what I experienced throughout my entire process from the application process all the way down to, well I'm still experiencing aggravations with this university and I'm not attending there any more. I was a straight A student with a 4.0 GPA. That was until my wife became seriously ill and it forced me to not complete the classes that I was enrolled in dusing my last semester. As a result, I knew that I would receive failing grades in the 4 classes that I was enrolled in which as you can imagine was not what I wanted to do having maintained a 4.0 GPA up to that point but of course my family was my first priority at the time. At the end of the semester after receiving my report card I learned that 2 of my professors gave me a grade of "Z" and 2 of my professors gave me a grade of "E" which is the grade that I expected from all 4 professors. However, due to the grade being posted as a "Z" it caused the number of credit hours that I was enrolled in to drop from 12 to 6 which in turn reduced the amount of financial aid that I was awarded. As a result it left a balance due on my account. Let me also mention that I have talked to close to 20 different people at the university and not one of them has even asked how my wife was doing. Never the less, I have been trying to get my transcripts from Franklin since the end of the semester which they are now holding as ransom. Listen, I could go on for hours but the bottom line is this. Unless you are a glutten for punishment and don't mind talking to incensitive people and are prepared to go through a process like you have never experienced, don't ecen consider Franklin University as a place to further your education. Not when there are so many other good ones out there.
Dec. 14, 2010, 4:18 a.m.
0 votes/
No university will provide you transcripts unless your account is current.  The professors probably thought they were doing you a favor by assigning you a "z" for the course (I assume this means "incomplete"), because it would not count against your GPA.  You need an attitude adjustment!
Jan. 23, 2010, 9:41 a.m.
0 votes/
dam good school i think......
Dec. 18, 2009, 12:25 a.m.
0 votes/
I am an RN and I am currently enrolled at Franklin University pursing my BS in Healthcare Management with a minor in Human Resource Management.  I have absolutely no complaints about the program or this university.
May 29, 2009, 4:43 a.m.
0 votes/
Love the school, but the interface is brutal, non intuitive, and barely useable.
May 22, 2009, 9 p.m.
0 votes/
Love the student advisors, the technology reminds me of the 80's movie "Wargames" or the game "Asteroids" as far as interface is concerned.
April 15, 2009, 4:59 a.m.
+1 vote/
I am a current student at FU and I can tell you they have the worst financial aid advisors I have ever worked with. They do not advise you of Anything! They expect you to read through the entire school web site to get what little info they have available, and just Know. And yes there technology is way out of date. 80ish is putting it kindly. Although, they do have the Best student advisors I have ever worked with they should pay those guys more for the crap I know they get.
March 18, 2009, 2:12 a.m.
0 votes/
.
March 11, 2009, 6:53 p.m.
0 votes/
I like Franklin, but the user interface / class management system is ANCIENT!  No blackboard, Web CT, or anything close.  Very clunky, and 1980-ish.
Sept. 3, 2007, 3:41 a.m.
0 votes/
nothing could have given me greater
Nov. 29, 2006, 6:02 a.m.
0 votes/
From my experience, Franklin is a challenging school.  I've been reading the reviews on UO Phoenix and other schools where it sounds like basically everyone is getting 4.0's.  Not the case with Franklin, some very challenging courses, some of which students have to work extremely hard to earn a B or C.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Franklin University in any way.