Independence University

Accreditation: Distance Education and Training Council (DETC)
Non-Profit: Yes
Country: USA

Learn More about Independence University

Programs:

Read all 35 reviews...

Write a Independence University Review

Reivew Averages: 4.6 out of 10 (35 reviews)


Learn More about Independence University


Independence University Reviews:

18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
Respiratory Therapy
August 11, 2011
I have apply for their Respiratory Therapy program. I had apply for Financial Aid, Scholarships and Loans, being approved for all. The school is telling me now, they need to find an clinical site, before they can enroll me in there course of study. I sign up for there class enrollment for June 15th. Here it's August, still haven't located me an clinical site, yet. How long do it take. Any advice. [Read more]

17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
RIP OFF UNIVERSITY
March 12, 2012
Ive been un-enrolled from Independence for 18 months now and just got a phone call from collections saying I owe $2000 for books and courses Ive never taken.I paid the amount of tuition they told me when I first enrolled,which was for as many classes as I could finish in 1 year(I finished 10).Now they say I owe them for some reason.Some kinda fine print jargain.Cant get a straight answer or get anyone on the ... [Read more]

17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
Resp Therapy
October 29, 2010
I have found several sites for my clinical site and this school drags their damn feet!!!!!!! I can't understand how 5 different hospitals get the clinical contract then all of a sudden don't want me to do my clinical there. I have had the experience where they also NEVER SENT A DAMN THING where at the same time I have IU's rep telling me "oh they seemed very interested in a student"!!!! I have been ... [Read more]

16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
Horrible
March 26, 2012
I have been a student since January 2011 in the Respiratory program..After going through many academic , not having a clinical site to go to. Finally they kicked me out one year later because the clinical site that i was going to which was one hour and fifteen mins away did not have anyone to train me, they said it was my fault how ridiculous is that. Then told me they would re-enroll me all ... [Read more]

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
Do not waste your time or money
January 6, 2012
In short I have been in the respiratory program for 3 years I have 6 classes left and the schol kicked me out they said I did not turn my paperwork on time BUT I did and they said to re enroll my tuition would be substantially higher. I wrote a letter to the board and they denied my acceptance back and overlooked the fact I did turn it in on time there people just ... [Read more]

15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
Avoid!!
February 11, 2012
Scam. Run away! Do not come here. They will take advantage of you, give you a moving target with your degree, kick you out and re-enroll you to get more money out of you. Run away! [Read more]

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
Avoid this school at all costs
July 5, 2012
Absolutely no support! I had to secure my own clinical and testing sites and in some cases had to drive more than 80 miles to take a test. Once hospital administrators uncovered the persons and real name of the school,(IU) two hospitals backed out of their signed agreements with me sighting we do not want to deal with IU. This occurred at the last moment and just before I was to start final clinicals thus ... [Read more]

Read all 35 Independence University reviews...



Learn More about Independence University



Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Old Comments

Nov. 30, 2010, 6:04 p.m.
0 votes/
Where are you doing your PhD program?
Nov. 18, 2010, 4:05 p.m.
+5 votes/
Hi, I am a graduate of Independence University's Master of Public Health program (2008) and have been very satisfied with the education and support received from the university and its staff. During my studies at IU, I received a great deal of interaction and support from my professors and was always just a phone call or email away from timely support from the student help desk and/or academic advising. After graduation, I obtained a job as a regional epidemiologist and public health manager and had my master's thesis published in the Journal of Environmental Health (a peer-reviewed scientific journal).  I am currently finishing my Ph.D. degree in Public Health Epidemiology and feel that the educational foundation and mentoring that I received from Independency University has greatly increased my success as a public health practitioner and scholar. 

Thanks for reading!
June 6, 2011, 12:07 a.m.
-1 vote/
I am currently enrolled in their MS in healthcare administration, do you know of any schools that accepts their credits for Phd programs?
Oct. 25, 2010, 10:05 p.m.
-1 vote/
I going for my Bachelor at south University in savannah georgia. I was wanting to get my  masters from indepenendence. Would anyone tell me if this is a good school to go to? PLEASE feel free to contact me at groung_walking@yahoo.com.
Oct. 23, 2010, 7:31 a.m.
-1 vote/
Can anyone PLLEASE help me.  I have been looking into the RT program for over a year now.  I am FINALLY ready to make a move and get started.  I am a working father like most, so community college is not an option. Are there ANY people in the Atlanta, Ga. area that has completed the program.  You can contact me at kevindahunsi69@gmail.com
June 16, 2011, 10:09 p.m.
+2 votes/
Hello, I have been enrolled in IU for a month now, I'm actually finishing up my first class. I am in the RT program and I have already been placed at locol hospital here in cincnnati, oh. Actually their respiratory department is one of the best in the region. I'm very excited and things are looking great. In my current class I have chatted with people from al over tghe country and quite a few are from atlanta and other parts of georgia. The program cost $27500 split up in 8 month intervals. Under their program you complete classes every 4 weeks. The firs course by itself then the rest two at a time. Its tough because of how condensed it is but at the end of the day it really depends on how much time you put into it.
Oct. 7, 2010, 5:27 p.m.
-1 vote/
I am enrolled there, and the class was fine, different from the online courses I am used to though. Its pretty much very independent, I guess hence the name of the school. But you are enrolled, you get the book and you have 2 months to read, test and submit your final exam. When I was talking to an admissions rep, he told me I had a military discount and also that I would not have to pay for books. Well after I completed the first two classes, my "counselor" told me otherwise, and even after I forwarded the emails showing that the admissions guy did not indicate the costs of the books, he said I was still responsible for this. Another issue I had was that I am currently using a grant to pay for this and they are strict about dates. Well when I submitted the request for the classes (which has to be done before the start date) I put the date I was SUPPOSED to start on there, well after that, the admissions rep had a list of like 5 other things I had to do before he could enroll me, so I completed them and by then the start date I wanted came and went. When I finally did start, it wasn't until the last week came that my counselor emails me to tell me that the grant money was denied because the date was wrong. I again forwarded emails showing that I was initially supposed to start one day but because he failed to have me complete everything before I requested the funds, I started later. and guess what? Its not their fault again even though I have proof!!!!! I contacted someone in the financial dept and he said there was nothing he could do, when I told him I can't pay this right now, he sent me an email saying my grant wouldn't cover the entire tuition so at some point I would need to pay out of pocket. Little did he know I had other financial grants and assistance lined up...when I toold him this, then the ass-kissing started...

This was a huge mistake, luckily I finished my two classes and will get those paid for and I'm done. Today I got an email from one of them but I noticed the email was different and it was from a different ".edu" school. So I looked it up and found Stevens Hanager college. I then did a search on reviews (like this site) on that school and found on "studentsreview.com" that they had an overall grade ranging from D-F based on students...and also saw concerns students had about not transferring credits, the education quality, alot of other things. 

Needless to say I felt compelled to write this and also let others know. I am going to wait and find a local place where I can get a for sure quality education and a better price.
Oct. 31, 2010, 10:31 p.m.
0 votes/
Is there any preceptor in PA?  Please let me know.
Thank you.
Oct. 31, 2010, 10:21 p.m.
0 votes/
I am also interested in the RT program. Can anyone tell me  if this is a good school?  I've been searching for an online RT program, but this is the only school available. I am afraid to enroll because I don't know what's their success ratings,how hard it is,and is online support available at all times??? Is anyone outhere had graduated from this program? Please let me know.  Also, is their an entrance test?  Any advise is greatly appreciated.  Thank you.
Luz
Oct. 1, 2010, 3:55 a.m.
0 votes/
This college sucks! Go to a real university!
Sept. 27, 2010, 9:59 p.m.
0 votes/
I have been trying to find a clinical site in the Inland Empire with no luck at all.  Is there anyone in the RT program that lives in the Inland Empire that has any advice or knows of somewhere that will take IU RT students?  Any help would be great at this point.  The school itself will not help me unless I am enrolled but if I can't find a site I don't think I should enroll.
Sept. 25, 2010, 3:46 p.m.
0 votes/
JM said this on August 22nd: "I completed the MPH program in 2 years and had an excellent experience. The degree has helped my community College career." I responded with the following question "Can you please provide the name of the community (aka junior college) that hired you with an MPH from this DETC 'university'?" Community Colleges do not hire instructors with NA degrees! End of story! Does that make JM a liar???? You decide!!!
Sept. 25, 2010, 2:29 a.m.
0 votes/
can some one please help me with this question iwas a student at independence 8 months ago there classes are great i finished bio140 going on my clinicles but i had to drop out for the reason i was layed off and i had financial problems but thank god i started a good job and set aside a savings for my school i want to start on nov 1 2010 .........will iu accept me back .......has anybody had this problem please let me know ....my email is a_fernandez330@yahoo.com.....thankyou
Sept. 11, 2010, 4:16 p.m.
0 votes/
Just as I thought; no answer. That is because no school will hire a DETC MPH (or any other degree holder) to teach at their school unless the school is DETC. RA universities will certainly not hire you.
Jan. 2, 2013, 1:53 a.m.
0 votes/
Do not go here. It sounds easy peasy to get started in this school but it's a nightmare. I had so many issues with the preceptors paperwork and they absolutely could not find me a clinical site. It took forever for me to find a place and when I did, it was the smallest hospital I have ever seen. About 24 beds. The experience there was terrible and it was over an hour drive. The worst experience of my life. I got there and after nine months of getting As in all my classes, my preceptor kept getting mad for how little I knew. She knew that it was not my fault, yet the university's fault, thank goodness. I quit two months into clinicals. So bad.
Aug. 19, 2012, 4:11 a.m.
-1 vote/
DO NOT TAKE ANY COURSES AT THIS COLLEGE! I was in the Associate Degree Respiratory Therapy Program and in my 3rd week of class they kicked me out, saying I got a false start from the university. according to my education attorney, the school took over $50,000 of my Pell Grants, GI Bill, and loans and we have filed a Felony Theft case against them and also filed an accreditation false report, because IU is not accredited by COARC AND NBRC as they say.
Oct. 26, 2012, 4 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi I'm  enrolling in the RT program but I'm hesitant to complete the processes.  I came across ur comment and scares me know. They send me the Clep testing information to test out of some Gen Ed courses.. But now I don't know!! I'm concerned if  your saying that they are not accredited by the COARC and the NBRC why than students are taking the NBRC exam? I'm looking to start the program in November..
July 27, 2012, 2:31 a.m.
+1 vote/
I was with this school for 2 years and had problems from the get go.  Hard to find a clinical site, Advisers switch (and I had a horrible one that every time I asked for something, she responded with a question that did not pertain to what I asked). The school kept changing their attendance policies and kicked me out 2 weeks after they changed policies again. They asked me to re-apply, but to pay their new rates (I paid my tuition in full with cash). The new rates were double what I had originally paid.  I appealed the drop, but they denied it.  It has now been two months and I am still waiting for my refund.  I've sent many letters to the school to return my money.  The last communication I received, told me that I had to wait for their "refund committee" to "approve" my refund.  I'm sorry... Approve it?  It's my money.  
April 11, 2012, 9:21 p.m.
0 votes/
Can someone please tell me if this school is legit?? Im very nervous to sign up and waste all this money if im not going to get a clinical site or a job. I live in the Philadelphia area and this is the only online program for RT. Any information would be great!!! 
March 5, 2012, 10:18 p.m.
0 votes/
I'm in the R.T. Program and love it I  did my research in finding hospitals that are okay with doing clinical there and I found one I did this just because school like this have a lot of students to find sites so I know that I want to do this program so I did what I wanted to do.
Feb. 29, 2012, 7:44 a.m.
0 votes/
If you are getting a Bachelors degree or a Masters through Independence University, it will be very difficult to transfer credits to a regionally accredited University. IU  has only national accreditation (DETC,) but the credits taken at IU will not transfer to a regionally accredited university; which are most of the good universities.
Nov. 11, 2011, 6:45 p.m.
+1 vote/
DO NOT GO TO Independence University. They will indeed find a way to screw you over and then tell you some policy crap that they themselves do not seem to know how to follow. Invest your money in a more organized university. I am sorry that I signed up with them and want to write this post just to warn other students to STAY AWAY!!!
Nov. 11, 2011, 6:40 p.m.
0 votes/
I too will have to agree with some of the post on here. Independence University WILL find a way to screw you over! Every single aspect of this school is incredibly disgusting and I would NEVER recommend a student to sign up with this school. IT IS NOT WORTH IT!!!
Nov. 6, 2011, 12:15 a.m.
0 votes/
Hi I was writing to ask has anyone went to Independence University who live in North Carolina for the Respiratory Therapy program, specifically in the Raleigh-Durham area? If so then what hospital did you find a clinical site and preceptor?
Oct. 27, 2011, 3:46 p.m.
0 votes/
Has anyone taken the entry test yet?
Aug. 15, 2011, 5:12 p.m.
+1 vote/
I have about had it with IU.  I have been enrolled in in the RESP care program for almost 2 years and the school has continued to find ways to screw me over.  They are incredibly unorganized. I've had to switch advisors because of an advisor who is responsible for holding me back for 2 months on classes because she had no idea what she was doing.  Since March, I thought they were getting better, they received new and better accredation, etc.  They are still super unorganized and I feel as a student I'm not cared for at all!  I cannot wait to graduate and not have anything to do with this school EVER again...If you want attention and to feel important as a student, I would recommend taking your studies elsewhere.  
Aug. 14, 2011, 9:58 a.m.
0 votes/
Kenea. How long it took u to get in there RT program. I apply in May to be in there class for June 15th, here it is August. They still haven't found me an clinical site yet. I live in Arkansas. I sent them clinical site for Tennessee. Still no respond. So I ask you how long it took u to get into the program.
May 1, 2011, 3:29 a.m.
0 votes/
Hi everyone,
I applied for the RT program at IU (haven't actually started yet)but have started to second guess this decision, based on the cost and most everyones review. Is there anyone that is actually in or has graduated from the program that I could talk to? I work fulltime and have 2 children and applying to our local CC just isn't an option. My email address is flosstmg@aol.com. Thank you so much!!!   
April 11, 2011, 5:21 p.m.
+1 vote/
Do not, I repeat do not get your degree from here. I started out with them in Nov of 2004, and they told me I had six classes to finish with them in order to be eligible to sit for my CRT. Fast forward a year and half later while deployed to Afghanistan they told me that I would have to finish an additional 6 six classes than what they originally told me!! They said sorry for the inconvenience and that they would pay for the rest of classes for my trouble! C'mon now you already wasted my time, and I don't feel like that's worth it since I went in with 40 credits towards my Associates already. I refused to pay for the last class because of this, and it still went to collections. I ended up finishing my degree elsewhere in less than 6 months thanks to CLEP. Military RT's like myself are aware of how bad this school is, and students are told specifically to steer clear of this school. My Seniors have told me this school is not what it used to be. Guess what none of the five classes I took with Independence (formerly known as CA Coll) didn't transfer to any reputable school! REGIONAL Accreditation does make a difference when transferring credits folks. BTW Independence holds an INTERNATIONAL Accreditation (this is not the best accreditation). Do your homework and don't learn the hard way.

Matthew J., CRT

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply
March 3, 2011, 2:48 a.m.
0 votes/
Wow I couldn't agree more with the review that was posted about I.U. Origionally tried to start with this school in septemeber, here it is march and they still havn't been able to find a place for me to do my clinical hours. This school will not let you enroll if you don't have a clinical site. So i have just wasted the last 6 months. My recomendation to all is not to waste your time like i did. Find a different school that cares a little more about getting you on your way to a good career. 
Feb. 11, 2011, 8:04 p.m.
0 votes/
Just a reminder from the reviews:

Oct. 29, 2010

"I have found several sites for my clinical site and this school drags their damn feet!!!!!!! I can't understand how 5 different hospitals get the clinical contract then all of a sudden don't want me to do my clinical there. I have had the experience where they also NEVER SENT A DAMN THING where at the same time I have IU's rep telling me "oh they seemed very interested in a student"!!!! I have been waiting months on end and they never send an update or anything. If you want to be seriously disappointed then go ahead and WASTE YOUR TIME!"  
Jan. 31, 2011, 4:27 p.m.
0 votes/
I am interested in IU's AAS Respiratory program. Has anyone attended this program from Georgia? I'm just not sure that I will be able to find a job with a degree from IU. Also, how hard is it to find a clinical site? Thank you!
Jan. 24, 2011, 8:08 p.m.
-1 vote/
I'm a bit confused about the tuition. A couple of posts here say that it's $7,500 to $8,000/yr for unlimited courses. But the phone rep. I talked with today said that the entire A.S. in respiratory therapy program was around $27,000 and would take at least 20 months to complete.
Feb. 13, 2011, 6:50 p.m.
0 votes/
I'm a new student at I.U., just started in Jan.  I'm still confused about the total cost.  But I believe it has a lot to do with how much financial aid you receive along with the schools financing.
Jan. 18, 2011, 4:12 p.m.
+1 vote/
IU Rt program os a very good choice . I have been a student there for months and haven't had a problem . Any school you take online will cost more than the CC 
Jan. 9, 2011, 11:21 p.m.
+1 vote/
I am not sure what you are saying in your post. You said "The teachers discriminate because when they find out that you are a cash customer they will try their best to fail you so they can secure another year." What do you mean they discriminate? Can you be more specific? You are not using the word correctly. In addition, if they fail people, could it be because they deserve to fail (i.e. are not doing the work or passing the exams)? I do know that the University of Missouri is a highly rated university. Independence University on the other hand is not rated at all.
You also said "Everyone is hand in hand to bring you down so that they can secure their future." What in the world do you mean? 
In addition, you said "every program in the states has 25 or 20 students but because this program is run but theives who call themselves professors, no one wants to join!" To begin with "every" should be capitalized and "run but" should be "run by" and "theives" should be spelled "thieves". Besides the errors in spelling and grammar, I find it very hard to believe if I understand you correctly.  
Dec. 31, 2010, 2:19 p.m.
0 votes/
University of missouri respiratory program is the biggest mistake of my life. The teachers discriminate because when they find out that you are a cash customer they will try their best to fail you so they can secure another year. the students are a bunch of retards who are not worth anything. Everyone is hand in hand to bring you down so that they can secure their future. As everyone knows they only have 9 students! every program in the states has 25 or 20 students but because this program is run but theives who call themselves professors, no one wants to join! 
Sept. 5, 2010, 9:25 p.m.
+1 vote/
@eileen if your still looking into IU they are getting accredited to take fasa grants etc... and every year you don't work is a years salary you lose I've been takeing classes for a year and it took a while to get into a routine but I am doing very well now, it took a while to get the clinical site but overall thep program has worked well for me because there aren't any RT programs near me and I have 2 little ones good luck!
Aug. 25, 2010, 4:37 a.m.
0 votes/
Just as I thought; no answer. That is because no school will hire a DETC MPH (or any other degree holder) to teach at their school unless the school is DETC.  RA universities will certainly not hire you.
Aug. 24, 2010, 6:14 a.m.
0 votes/
Can you please provide the name of the community (aka junior college) that hired you with an MPH from this DETC 'university'?
Aug. 22, 2010, 10:21 p.m.
0 votes/
I completed the MPH program in 2 years and had an excellent experience. The degree has helped my community College career.
Aug. 3, 2010, 5:06 a.m.
0 votes/
Mike,
I was interested in RT but, no longer am. I'm going to stick with Legal Studies thats what I was doing when I was inquiring about other career options, and I still am. Right now I work as a paralegal in a law firm and I love it!

The only school I know of in Broward for RT is Broward College, Palm Beach ya have Plam Beach State College, and Miami Dade College. Nova Southeastern has a Health Science degree completion program if you have a diploma, certificate, or associates in respiratory therapy, ultrasound, or radiology. Concorde out here in Miramar has RT. Good luck with your search!
July 29, 2010, 6:25 p.m.
0 votes/
What do you plan on doing with your Independence University degree/certificate in public health? If you plan on getting a certificate, the University of Iowa and UCLA have online programs. In addition, there are other REAL UNIVERSITIES (R.A. universities) out there that have online degree programs. You want a degree/certificate from a university that everyone will recognize. Ask Independence if R.A. universities will recognize their credits and degrees. They will probably give you some b.s. about every university makes their own decision on whether to accept or reject credits/degrees/certificates. The fact is, there are very few if any R.A.universities out there that will accept Independence credits/degrees/certificates. My advice is: go to a real university (R.A. university). I will be happy to suggest more universities if you wish.
July 28, 2010, 10:45 p.m.
0 votes/
Is there any one enrolled in the Public Health Program?  I had started the program but had to stop because of health reasons. Really would like to know if anyone has had any experience with Public Health Program before I re-enrolled. Some of the information was very eye opening.
July 15, 2010, 3:38 p.m.
0 votes/
Add something important to the discussion please!
Sept. 19, 2010, 7:26 p.m.
0 votes/
hello i am the process in enroling into the RT program with Independence University. I want to hear from anyone who has actully compleated their RT associate degree...
July 5, 2010, 5:09 p.m.
0 votes/
I agree with the poster "@Eileen". His/Her suggestion to wait a year is an excellent one. Rather than going $40,000 in debt, a financial hole from which many do not emerge, the same can be achieved by attending a local community college for a tiny fraction of the cost. Here in California, community college averages about $26 per creditor $78 per class. That is a total 0f $1,560 plus about another $1,500-2,000 for text books. The total would run $3,060-3,560. That is about 7-9% of what it would cost to attend other schools like Independence. That is affordable. 
Yes education is an excellent investment. There is no better investment than education. However, there is also the financial reality that will ruin your life if you get into large debt because of education. Fortunately there is a 'happy medium'. Go to a community college and get the same education for a fraction of the cost.
Please take the time to look into this more carefully. There is an excellent PBS special 'College Inc.' which I feel everyone should view. The most telling statistic is the fact that the default rate on loans to 'For-Profit' universities is over twice the rate for those attending non-profit universities. The reason is very simple. The loan amounts are huge for those having attended 'For-Profits'. Students find that they cannot pay them back and their lives are ruined. Please take the time to view this important program. Thanks and good luck!
June 17, 2010, 11:17 p.m.
+1 vote/
Waiting 1-2 years might be worth avoiding a $30,000 (or more) debt. Look at these cold, hard figures and really think it over.

$30,000 loan @ 6% interest rate

You will have to pay $333 for 120 months (10 years). You will be paying $9,967 in interest! A $30,000 loan actually costs you almost $40,000. Do you really want to go $40,000 into debt?
June 15, 2010, 1:09 p.m.
0 votes/
I am presently checking into IU for RT. I did call the place in TX(RT board for accredidation) and was told IU is the "only" online RT program that is fully accrediated by them. Do your homework and weigh it all up. For any military our there (I'm a spouse) they do accept your MCAA and also post 9/11 GI bill. I too cannot go to our local CCs as they have long wait lists. I will continue to look into all aspects of this school and talk to some local hospitals including VA medical centers regards allowing me to do my clinicals there. Whatever this school promises you get it in writing. I had one heck of an experience with an online school recently with an advisor promising this and that, signed up and it was downhill from there. This review site is good. You can gather alot of info and then dig more and find out what you need. Good luck to everyone in their pursuit of a career. By the way I'm in Tampa Fl and have researched all the RT programs they have here. St Pete college has one of the best programs from what I hear but the wait list for acceptance is 2012.
June 13, 2010, 8:23 p.m.
0 votes/
To @ msWesternKY32:

Do not criticize others grammar and spelling if you cannot spell correctly.  The word "wiped" and wiping" is not spelt "whipped" and "whipping".  I am willing to let one misspell go, but you did it twice. I have no issue with correcting someone, but you have to tow the line yourself.
June 11, 2010, 7:30 a.m.
0 votes/
As with many other people on here I can not attend a regular college because all the local schools in my area offer the program on a full time basis only, That's Monday through Friday from 8AM to 5PM. I work full time putting in 48 hours a week in order to pay for living costs. I can't afford to quit my job or to work part time and go to school. 

Granted that it is expensive, you can pay more then 200$ minimum which will help you reach your pay off quicker. Secondly once you graduate and work in that field, if you can afford to, you can pay off more and more. You are not stuck sending in only the minimum payment. 

I was given partial financial aid through Fafsa but as you may know IU does not accept FAFSA. The rep I was speaking to explained that what I should do is go to my community college for the Pre-req course. That means that FAFSA is paying for 15 to 20 credits before I go to IU and they accept those credits. He explained that it would drop my total cost by at least 6000 to 8000.

Lastly, "MS GUCCI" I know its been almost a year since you posted but if you are still here I'd like to speak to you. I am in the Broward County area as well. I would like to know if you did start the program, how you like it and where you found a Preceptor.
May 28, 2010, 5:57 a.m.
0 votes/
You wanna talk about the cost of going to IU and the length of time it will take a person to pay off. well, all student loans wiil be through government funding. if the person does not have their loan paid off in 10 yrs, it will be wiped clean. i do not see a problem in going to this school. the community college in my area only selects 15 students every yr. a year, some of us do not have because of real life situations. we must work to the pay the bills we do have.
May 28, 2010, 7:15 p.m.
0 votes/
You said:

"You wanna talk about the cost of going to IU and the length of time it will take a person to pay off. well, all student loans wiil be through government funding. if the person does not have their loan paid off in 10 yrs, it will be wiped clean. i do not see a problem in going to this school. the community college in my area only selects 15 students every yr. a year, some of us do not have because of real life situations. we must work to the pay the bills we do have."

Wow!!! That was an unintelligent statement!!! I am not sure where to begin with this one!
“wanna” should be written as “want to”. “to pay off” should be “to pay off the loan”. “wiiil” should be spelled “will”. “if” should be capitalized in the next sentence. You didn’t capitalize “I” in the next sentence nor did not capitalize “the” and “we” in the next two sentences. 

Besides all the grammatical and spelling errors in your statement I have an additional problem with you. Are you saying that a person who hasn’t paid off their debt gets the loan whipped clean? Who do you think pays for that “clean whipping”? The tax payer does! Have you ever heard of meeting your obligations? If YOU take out a loan, YOU pay it off!!!! Defaulting is not the answer!!!! There is enough of that going on in the country!!!!

One final question: Is the 32 in msWesternKY32 your I.Q.?
May 21, 2010, 7:31 p.m.
0 votes/
Here is how it breaks down:

$27,000 loan @ 6% interest rate

You will have to pay $300 for 120 months (10 years). You will be paying $8,970 in interest!

This is based on a figure that is over one year old. The tuition and books may have reached $30,000 in which case you would pay the following:

$30,000 loan @ 6% interest rate

You will have to pay $333 for 120 months (10 years). You will be paying $9,967 in interest!

I believe that students need to know the facts! The costs are huge. Please consider this. Community Colleges will be a tiny fraction of the cost at IU. In addition you will have to consider if National Accreditation will be acceptable for further study. Many Regionally Accredited Universities will not accept Nationally Accredited degrees or credits. DO YOUR RESEARCH!!!! I hope this has help open your eyes. :-)
May 21, 2010, 7:25 p.m.
0 votes/
I wrote this Feb.2009 about IU:

"I looked at the application for Independence u. and it says that the associates in respiratory therapy is over $24,000 plus approximately $3,000 for textbooks and other fees. Therefore, I calculate the total to be about $27,000; is that correct? It seems like an incredible amount of debt to get into for the associates degree. Are you getting some kind of discount or grant to help you out? I was thinking there has got to be a better way. Have you really checked out all possibilities? I know "why" suggested the community college. You replied that you would have to wait a year; until 2010. I know community colleges would be very cheap in comparison to Independence u. (if you are a state resident)and I believe the difference in cost would well be worth the wait. I mean, a year goes by very quickly. In addition, most states have a great number of community colleges (unless you live in Wyoming or Alaska)and there must be a number of community colleges in your general area that may well offer night programs for working adults. In addition, there must be a college out there somewhere that has an online program for less than $27,000. Take another year to locate such a school and I believe you will find yourself in a situation that will allow you to finish your education at a much lower tuition cost to you."

One of the major problems that we are having is students who go very deeply into debt on student loans that they will never be about to pay off. The default rate is growing very quickly. The total tuition for an associates program seems to be about $27,000 including textbooks. That is a great deal of money. It will take many years to pay back. My next post will outline that for you.
May 18, 2010, 6:27 a.m.
0 votes/
Im considering IU, but im not sure of what to do. there is a local communty college in my area, but you have to apply before march 1 just to get into the fall semester. i didnt know the local college ofered such program. plus, there isnt a selection process like other medical programs. i dont want to wait another year to get into the program, thats why im interested in IU. will someone tell me their experiences. will previous college credits transfer? thank you in advance!
May 6, 2010, 9:47 p.m.
0 votes/
if you ever drop out, watch out about 2 years later. my girlfriend dropped out after two semesters. all bills were paid and checked over. than 2 years later a bill for 160.00 comes from a collection agency. talk about poor customer service.
May 3, 2010, 6:29 p.m.
0 votes/
I am looking for anyone who has taken the Associates in Early Childhood Education at IU, or has an opinion on how the school operates. How was it? How were the instructers? Was the coursework complete? I am trying to decide if this is the college for me, or if I will have any issues. Please let me know.
April 28, 2010, 5:36 p.m.
0 votes/
I was wondering if anyone can tell me where i can find a precept in Chester county PA? Please email me at goodguy3176@aol.com Thank you
April 23, 2010, 9:32 p.m.
0 votes/
The old CCHS was a good school.  The new CCHS (Independence "University") is an absolute disgrace.
April 18, 2010, 3:53 p.m.
0 votes/
Lindsay,

Can you give some more feedback about the program so far? I work full time and am a military wife and mother and my only option is to quit my job to start the local RT program...but my issue is I am de with our 2nd child in a few months so it doesn't seem to make sense for me to quit my job when I'll have 2 tuitions/daycares to pay for. 

But I would love to get more details on the program in your opinion! If you prefer to email me, pls do... kellie_proctor1106@yahoo.com

Thanks!
March 28, 2010, 5:35 p.m.
0 votes/
I am currently enrolled at IU in the RT program. I have really enjoyed it so far! It is very convient while I have to work full time at my job, as a wife, and a mother. I would recommend this school for anyone who doesn't have the time to go to school.
Feb. 5, 2010, 5:03 a.m.
0 votes/
I see a few people from GA.  I'm interested in this program.  It seems very hard to get information about the program.  I am interested in tuition & financing information for the annual tuition option.  Also, what is the best way to find a preceptor in Metro Atlanta area?
Jan. 31, 2010, 4:20 a.m.
0 votes/
Be very careful with Independence University.  If you pay the $7500. to take unlimited classes for a year, they fail to tell you that you must follow their schedule.  I've been waiting for 2 weeks to begin another class, but the university says I have to wait until the first of the month.  It's not what I was told in admissions.  They changed the rules after they got my money.  If you choose this route, make sure you have something in writing....
Jan. 29, 2010, 3:49 a.m.
0 votes/
I am a Department Head of a Respratory Department along with several other departments. I have been just reviewing these questions and I believe I can give some advise to you. I am very active with the AARC (American Association for Respiratory Care). I am an MS HCA, BSRC, RRT from a traditional college in PA (Indiana University of Pennsylvania). I just started taking students from Independence University a year ago. The school is doing a lot to get their name out there. I was hesitant before this year and I only hire RRT's from Youngstown State University or Indiana University of PA. Both are traditional BS schools with good track records. The reason you are havingdifficulties finding outher universities on line to get a respiratory degree from is because you can't. COARC which is the review board for schools for Respiratory Care will not give any more online permissions anymore because of difficulties with clinical rotations. Independence can charge what they want because of this. Missouri is an online BS school and it is just that. You can finish your degree there for your BS but you need to get your credentials before going. The last point to help you with our decisions would be when you receive advise from people discussing types of accreditation, you should just call some hospitals in your area and see what they have to say. I have been around for awhile and know alot of people and I honestly can tell you if you brought up what type of accreditation up a human resource department or RT director is going to just say is the school accredited. Nobody gives a crap as long as I go on and see it under the CAAHEP wesite and it says the schools is accredited nobody cares if its National or Regional. If they tell you they do they just like to be involved in the argument. God luck
Jan. 20, 2010, 9:35 p.m.
0 votes/
For God's sake, can anyone who is currently doing the R.T. online program through the Independence University write about the program?
I'd like to know detailed information about the whole program itself, if possible.
Jan. 18, 2010, 6:37 p.m.
0 votes/
I am about to start the IU respiratory program next month.  The cost is sort of high but I recently attended a university and the cost was over $9000 a year not including books, and this school only really costs $7,500 per year, give or take some....so really its not bad at all. Plus you are right in the program rather than wait to apply and compete against so many other students for so little spots.  I work at a hospital where there a few clinical preceptors for the RT program so it was very easy for me to find one.  I have followed a few therapists on the jobs and have seen first hand and spoke to a few students in the program and they love it and they said its difficult but if you put your time and energy into it, you will do fine.
Dec. 15, 2009, 7:55 a.m.
0 votes/
I'm hopefully will be attending iu for resp ther program cause just like others I'm a working mom and can't afford a ft babysitter and I've read everyones comments and I see everyones point and it would be easier just to go to a comm coll but when you have to wait years before you get into a program I feel its a waste of time and money.
Dec. 8, 2009, 3:53 a.m.
0 votes/
QUE ESTAN HABLANDO TODOS ESTOS BABOSOS..PARECE QUE ESTA CAGANDO MIERDA POR LA BOCA..MIND YOUR OWN FREAKING BUSINESS AND DO WHAT IS BEST FOR YOU....CIAO!
Nov. 7, 2009, 6:35 a.m.
0 votes/
I am considering getting into the respiratory therapy program and I live in Dallas tx. Before getting into the program I desparetly want to find a preceptor 1st - can anyone help me.  Is the system always down? Is the support that bad?

Can a recent graduate or recent RT student respond? How is the work load? I think I am leaning towards the annual tuition amount.
Oct. 28, 2009, 6:05 a.m.
0 votes/
Can someone tell me the cost of ENG 101 and ENG 210 at Independence?  I only need to finish my English requirements and then I'm finished with my bachelors in Health Care Management.  Waiting for IU to call me back.
Oct. 24, 2009, 6:24 p.m.
0 votes/
Nancy,  what school are you talking about?? IU or the school MS Gucci is talking about..
Oct. 15, 2009, 9:43 p.m.
0 votes/
please be careful with this so-called institue of higher learning.  i have been scammed out of $1400 as others....since they have no record of my withdrawl.
Oct. 3, 2009, 1 p.m.
0 votes/
Good morning all I've found an online college that offers an associates & and a bachelors in Respiratory Therapy. It's called Thomas Edison State College. They are accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools. This is a well known Regional Accreditation. They also have a campus which is in 101 W. State St, Trenton, NJ 08608-1176. 
The Associate in Applied Science (AAS) degree in Respiratory Care helps mid-career adults in a wide range of applied fields meet their educational and professional needs. While the Associate in Applied Science is considered to be a terminal degree, many but not all of the credits may be applied to one of the College’s bachelor degree programs. The degree is a 60-credit program. 
Subject/Category Credits 
I. General Education Requirements  21 
A. English Composition 6 
B. Humanities  3 
C. Social Sciences  3 
D. College Mathematics  3 
E. General Education Electives  6 
II. Area of Study 21 
III.Free Electives 18 
Total 60 credits 
This is all I saw it doesn't break it down like IU does but, you can't hurt for checking it out. 

Comprehensive Tuition Plan:  2009-2010 

  First Year   
 Subsequent Years   
 
New Jersey residents*    $4,695.00 $3,910.00 
Out-of-state residents  $6,720.00 $5,845.00 
Sorry I copied and pasted it. To break it down your first year is $4,695 and second year tuition is $3,910 as you can see the rates go down. Out-of-state tuition is $6,7720 the first year and $5,845 the next. Just to let you know they offer a variety of associates, bachelors, masters and certificates. Their tuition looks pretty reasonable but, at the same time PLEASE do your research, only yourself knows what you like! I'm going to check them out.
Oct. 1, 2009, 11:41 p.m.
0 votes/
Is Independence University the only online school offering Respiratory Therapy? I already know that there is a RT program at my local college but, there's a 2 year waiting list. I really don't want to wait that long. By that time I would like to be finished with everything. So please tell me about your experiences(especially clinicals) Thanks.
Oct. 2, 2009, 12:38 a.m.
0 votes/
To "Why" I looked up University of Missouri and they ONLY offer a Bachelors in Respiratory Therapy. If you guys know anything about an associates RT online program please let me know. I'd like to especially hear from students residing in the Broward County and/or Miami-Dade County area. Let me know how hard/easy it was to find a site for clinicals and a preceptor. Thanks a million!
Sept. 25, 2009, 11:53 a.m.
0 votes/
Shaun or Frank, where did you complete your clinicals? I live in Lower Bucks County and was interested in IU's RT program; however, I want to be certain I can secure a clinical site before enrolling. Any information would be appreciated.
Sept. 21, 2009, 3 p.m.
0 votes/
Hello everyone. I am looking into IU AAS respiratory program. Like many of the others that have posted. I have been accepted in an RT program at a community college as well that is much less expensive (apprx 170/per credit vs IU 325 credit) however the community college is about 2 hours commute for classes and clinicals and gas isn't cheap either or childcare. Anyway I am wondering for those of you who have gotten started with this program at IU what is your feedback? How many courses are you able to do at a time 1 or 2? Also since this school is not a title 4 school are there any grant options available? I know you can not apply for state or federal grants but what about private or RT specific scholarships? Appreciate any feedback (positive or negative) from someone who has first hand experience with IU.  Many Thanks.
Sept. 13, 2009, 6:18 p.m.
0 votes/
Help! I have been an OJT resp therapist for over 15 years in ny state. Now that I want to move to florida I basically have no license to practice  if I move. Checking into IU and would be able to burn off the program with no problem.( I precept comm. college students where i work now!) BUT>>>>>>>>ny is one of the states that will not allow clinical time to be done there. My employer cant do my clinical hours as in other states. I am moving to the clearwater florida area and if anyone knows of a site near there that would do my clinical PLEASE let me know.   Or if you have had any problems with IU also let me know. I havent even signed on and have already had numerous problems.  Jadeheart911@yahoo.com I am currently in the buffalo ny area.  thanks a million!
Sept. 12, 2009, 10:36 p.m.
0 votes/
Do the in-house loans have to be paid in full before a person can graduate and take the RT Test for the AS degree? 

Can the loans be paid out over a longer time then it takes to complete the corses? Just wondering.
Sept. 11, 2009, 7:42 p.m.
-1 vote/
Is there anyone in California who is attending IU? Do you have a clinical site set-up, and where?
Aug. 30, 2009, 3:57 a.m.
0 votes/
I would like to enroll into IU. If someone can tell me about the Resp.Care program.

Anyone in  Houston area?
Aug. 17, 2009, 8:15 p.m.
0 votes/
I am thinking of enrolling into IU. The problem is I am a Canadian and have been told by the advisor at IU that I will need to find a clinical site somewhere in states in order to finish my associates in RT. I was just wondering how hard is it to find a clinical site say somewhere in Buffalo. I live in Toronto so that works out best for me. However I don't mind going to any other state if I can find a site. Do the hospitals in states accept Canadians or agree to be their preceptor?
Aug. 12, 2009, 2:44 p.m.
0 votes/
I am enrolling at IU for AS Resp. Ther. I live in West Des Moines, IA. If anyone in the area is enrolling or is a RT please email me at sawyerjacobgould@yahoo.com. I would greatly appreciate it!

Thanks
Aug. 9, 2009, 3:57 p.m.
0 votes/
I enrolled in IU this August, and like many others I picked this school for a certain reason. Because of family obligations and work, I think this is a good program for those who's time is limited. I have a friend that attended this program and have been very happy with it. The school will try to help you with whatever problem you may have. I have a clinical site already line up, and can't wait to finish my classes and start clinicals.
Aug. 4, 2009, 10:39 a.m.
0 votes/
Hudidi

im going to IU, i picked the school for several reasons. I know most people think an online school will be viewed as a diploma mill, but not so amongst respiratory therapists. the hospital i work at has 6 therapists educated at IU, when it was california college. when i talked one of them he said he went not because it was easier or more convienient but because they had the highest rrt test pass rates. every RT i have talked to knows about this school whether they attended or not, and they have all held it in very high regard. one of our local nursing schools is a "traditional education" their pass rate this year was about 25% for nursing boards.
July 31, 2009, 2:54 p.m.
0 votes/
Think about this..two applicants send resumes out to prospective employers. One resume indicates an online school,the other a well known school. I can almost guarantee you, the individual from the traditional school will get the job.
July 31, 2009, 2:38 p.m.
0 votes/
Matt..Get a traditional education...You will save alot of money...Employers might round file resumes from online schools.
July 31, 2009, 2:12 p.m.
0 votes/
I am thinking about this program but I 'm really not sure if there is a place for me to do my clinicals in IN. South Bend.  Does anyone know?
July 28, 2009, 7:51 p.m.
0 votes/
Frank sorry to get back to you a month later. I have been very busy. Let me know if you are still looking for a clinical site.
July 24, 2009, 1:29 a.m.
0 votes/
I am enrolled in the program.  It wasn't hard to find a preceptor and the college will help you find one.  Just ask your enrollment advisor.  They do have a list of preceptors in the major cities.  They have contracts with hospitals.  They may not publish it, but they have it.  Just ask.  I think this will be a great program!!
July 23, 2009, 12:32 a.m.
0 votes/
Is anyone enrolled in  the Master of Science in Health Services-Health Promotion?  None of my local universities offer this masters program, so I began looking online.  IU's seems quite good and on par or even less expensive than the few other online masters in health promotion or health communication that I have found.  Appreciate your thoughts.
July 19, 2009, 3:22 a.m.
0 votes/
Has anyone in the metro Atlanta area gone through the IU program and if so, where was your preceptorship done. I plan on starting with IU in August but as current students know you have to have a preceptor first. If you know of any that are taking students in metro Atlanta please email me at benton2006@hotmail.com .
July 16, 2009, 2:07 a.m.
0 votes/
Has anyone actually completed this program?  If so, can you please provide your input as far as how long it took you to find employment in Respiratory Therapy?  Please also let me know if anyone is in the Chicago Suburbs.  Thanks so much! My email is amyil1234@yahoo.com
July 10, 2009, 2:49 a.m.
0 votes/
I appreciate everybodys feedback. Thanks. I too am very intrested in this program.
June 22, 2009, 9:07 p.m.
0 votes/
Shaun, HI, thank you for the encouraging comments about IU. I too am in the Philly area, and am in the process of finding a Preceptor. If you could tell me what Hospital you did (or do) your clinicals that would be very helpful for me. I may have found one here in NJ, but i will not know until another week or so. Thanks once again....you could email me if you would like at mumbles736@hotmail.com....thanks
June 12, 2009, 9:56 p.m.
0 votes/
I did my research regarding IU and I am planning to participate in the program but my problem is to find a preceptorship in Massachusetts. The 3 community colleges in my area only takes about 15 student every September in each college and I can't wait. I am also a single mom and worked with Respiratory Therapist for the last 7 years and they encouraged me to do the program online. If anyone knows any preceptorship in any hospitals, please let me know. For those who are thinking in applying to UI, go ahead.
June 8, 2009, 11:12 a.m.
0 votes/
Would someone like to pair up and study for the respiratory therapy program together? I have lways found it easier to work with someone completing the same program for example studying for finals etc. Im from New York by the way. Thanks.
June 6, 2009, 6:10 a.m.
0 votes/
The cost really is not that high if you take the utilize the annual tuition option, and take as many courses as you can. Granted it is challenging, but I like a challenge. I found an excellent clinical site in the Philadelphia area and have learned tons there. It is a very progressive and well respected Hospital, and everyone from the Chief Respiratory Therapsit to staff therapists know someone in the field who has gone through this program. None have had anything negative to say about it. In fact all have pretty much echoed the same sentiment, that no matter what school you go to if you do not study, and do not put forth as much effort as possible; especially in clinicals; you will not be succesful. I think the program is a great fit for working professionals who cannot just give up working to go to school. Figure out what is right for you, and go with it. As I said before the conveinience is perfect for me, and as far as price with the annual tuition if you do 36 credits per year it is just over 200.00 per credit, really not bad. Good luck to all.
May 28, 2009, 9:06 p.m.
0 votes/
It took me 3 weeks to get a Preceptor, but once I got it I called and registered for the program. The advisor helped me find a location and has called me every week just to see how I'm doing in the program. The cost is high, but it is more convenient. $7200 for one year, that includes books. I considered community colleges(near NY) but most of them had at least a 2 year wait list. AND, I got to start the program in April, which gave me a head start rather than waiting till September. Almost all the schools that I spoke to started their program during the Fall semester, which meant that i would have to wait another year. Overall, I like this program.
May 6, 2009, 2:58 a.m.
0 votes/
I think this is the way to go for me since not all of us can just quit work in the day and go to school! I am concerned about finding a preceptorship in Northern California although  I do believe someone will be kind enough... I will be starting with IU next month. Any suggestions?
April 9, 2009, 2:05 a.m.
0 votes/
Sorry about the reposts!
April 9, 2009, 2:03 a.m.
0 votes/
Okay, guys. I had brain surgery last year and that is why I am looking into the program. I had to regain the strength in my legs and make sure the seizures were under control before I could consider going back to school again.

First of all, you are paying for convenience. It will cost you more to have the convenience the University is offering you. Second, if you are going to be a professional, you have to behave like one right from the start and learn to *spell*. I have not found another college that is accredited by CAAHEP. If you don't see one there, they either have not applied or their letter is not on the website yet. DO YOUR RESEARCH. We can only answer so many questions here, we can't tell you what to do with your life. Later on, you'll wish you had made your own decisions. On the CAAHEP website, there is a drop down box that will allow you to simply put in the information. Also, the tuition IS very high. I agree. It is very difficult to find a preceptor and I agree that you should find the preceptor before you start the program.

For those who say the program is not respected, I don't understand what you are saying! If you are not prepared to do your clinicals, you will not be allowed to treat patients. Simple enough?
Prepare well for your boards by studying and not rushing through your courses.You will do well and it will not matter what school you attended. NO ONE is going to allow you to even **touch** a patient if you do not know what you are doing. You have to know CPR, BCLS, PALS, and no one is going to wait while you pause and remember how to place your hands and how to count. Certainly no parent is going to stand by and watch while you say "Hmmmm, how do I get this preemie breathing again..?" You will be moved aside and all you may able to do is watch. 
Don't worry about what other people think. You just get yourself together and ignore what the naysayers think. You cannot pass the boards without studying. I guarantee when IU has a 90-95% passage rate and the Therapists know their "stuff" (which I believe will happen) they will be inundated with students who are willing to take their courses
By the way it is spelled RESPIRATORY THERAPY - THERAPIST if you please. Kind of hard to be something you can't spell: "Hey I'm Doctar Nathan.. how are you?"
Another thing, just research the program and make sure it is right for you. If you really like the idea of being one, just do it. Don't spend years asking questions and doing nothing about your dreams.
P.S. Hopefully, I spelled all of my words correctely :-)
April 9, 2009, 2:02 a.m.
0 votes/
Okay, guys. I had brain surgery last year and that is why I am looking into the program. I had to regain the strength in my legs and make sure the seizures were under control before I could consider going back to school again.

First of all, you are paying for convenience. It will cost you more to have the convenience the University is offering you. Second, if you are going to be a professional, you have to behave like one right from the start and learn to *spell*. I have not found another college that is accredited by CAAHEP. If you don't see one there, they either have not applied or their letter is not on the website yet. DO YOUR RESEARCH. We can only answer so many questions here, we can't tell you what to do with your life. Later on, you'll wish you had made your own decisions. On the CAAHEP website, there is a drop down box that will allow you to simply put in the information. Also, the tuition IS very high. I agree. It is very difficult to find a preceptor and I agree that you should find the preceptor before you start the program.

For those who say the program is not respected, I don't understand what you are saying! If you are not prepared to do your clinicals, you will not be allowed to treat patients. Simple enough?
Prepare well for your boards by studying and not rushing through your courses.You will do well and it will not matter what school you attended. NO ONE is going to allow you to even **touch** a patient if you do not know what you are doing. You have to know CPR, BCLS, PALS, and no one is going to wait while you pause and remember how to place your hands and how to count. Certainly no parent is going to stand by and watch while you say "Hmmmm, how do I get this preemie breathing again..?" You will be moved aside and all you may able to do is watc., 
Don't worry about what other people think. You just get yourself together and ignore what the naysayers think. You cannot pass the boards without studying. I guarantee when IU has a 90-95% passage rate and the Therapists know their "stuff" (which I believe will happen) they will be inundated with students who are willing to take their courses
By the way it is spelled RESPIRATORY THERAPY - THERAPIST if you please. Kind of hard to be something you can't spell: "Hey I'm Doctar Nathan.. how are you?"
Another thing, just research the program and make sure it is right for you. If you really like the idea of being one, just do it. Don't spend years asking questions and doing nothing about your dreams.
P.S. Hopefully, I spelled all of my words correctely :-)
April 9, 2009, 1:57 a.m.
0 votes/
Okay, guys. I had brain surgery last year and that is why I am looking into the program. I had to regain the strength in my legs and make sure the seizures were under control before I could consider going back to school again.

First of all, you are paying for convenience. It will cost you more to have the convenience the University is offering you. Second, if you are going to be a professional, you have to behave like one right from the start and learn to *spell*. I have not found another college that is accredited by CAAHEP. If you don't see one there, they either have not applied or their letter is not on the website yet. DO YOUR RESEARCH. We can only answer so many questions here, we can't tell you what to do with your life. Later on, you'll wish you had made your own decisions. On the CAAHEP website, there is a drop down box that will allow you to simply put in the information. Also, the tuition IS very high. I agree. It is very difficult to find a preceptor and I agree that you should find the preceptor before you start the program.

For those who say the program is not respected, I don't understand what you are saying! If you are not prepared to do your clinicals, you will not be allowed to treat patients. Simple enough?
Prepare well for your boards by studying and not rushing through your courses.You will do well and it will not matter what school you attended. NO ONE is going to allow you to even **touch** a patient if you do not know what you are doing. You have to know CPR, BCLS, PALS, and no one is going to wait while you pause and remember how to place your hands and how to count. Certainly no parent is going to stand by and watch while you say "Hmmmm, how do I get this preemie breathing again..?"You will simply be asked to leave.
Don't worry about what other people think. You just get yourself together and ignore what the naysayers think. You cannot pass the boards without studying. I guarantee when IU has a 90-95% passage rate and the Therapists know their "stuff" (which I believe will happen) they will be inundated with students who are willing to take their courses
By the way it is spelled RESPIRATORY THERAPY - THERAPIST if you please. Kind of hard to be something you can't spell: "Hey I'm Doctar Nathan.. how are you?"
Another thing, just research the program and make sure it is right for you. If you really like the idea of being one, just do it. Don't spend years asking questions and doing nothing about your dreams.
P.S. Hopefully, I spelled all of my words correctely :-)
April 7, 2009, 5:40 p.m.
0 votes/
How hard is it to get a clinical site on your own here in Los Angeles?  Anybody?
March 11, 2009, 11:50 p.m.
0 votes/
I just talked to a rep. has anyone enrolled and how hard is it to get a clinical site, i too do not want to waste a year for the next class to start at a local college. Travlr how was your experience while attending IU respiratory program
March 8, 2009, 9:06 p.m.
0 votes/
I am not a big fan of any DETC college for three major reasons. To begin with, the credits earned at such schools are frequently not recognized by regionally accredited schools. Secondly, many employers seem not to respect the diplomas and degrees from these schools. That is not to say that you cannot get employed. Finally, such schools are usually very expensive. You will be in deep debt and many never get out. Look at the stats yourself. I would be very cautious with these schools.
March 7, 2009, 2:41 p.m.
0 votes/
I am looking into going to Independence University also because of the convenience. I have two babies, no daycare or babysitters and I work.  The convenience of studying and doing my coursework when I can is a great incentive. However I am scared that I am going to have a hard time learning soley from a book.  If anyone has attended this university, can you tell me what the support is like.  As far as professors answering questions, giving you study guides like a traditional college would, etc?  

Is there anyone out there who like this school?  What are the pros?
March 7, 2009, 4:06 a.m.
0 votes/
I was just curious in here who likes independence university and who doesnt?
Feb. 24, 2009, 10:15 p.m.
0 votes/
I just spoke with someone that told me that 1 year was $7500 for unlimited courses. I would do that if you have some time on your hands (I have 2 kids and can't afford FT daycare)...I am thinking about it. It is now Regionally and Nationally Accredited and the only online edication that is accredited with the CAAHP, and DETC. So eventhough you are spending that money, you are buying convenience. Make sure you find a Preceptor(a RRT Instructor) at a local hospital that will sign off on your credits also before you start any RT program, because the clinicals will be cruscial to your Degree/Certificate.
Feb. 5, 2009, 3:57 a.m.
0 votes/
J; I didn't realize that you were not in a ba/bs program. I will check around for an online associates.
Feb. 5, 2009, 3:42 a.m.
0 votes/
As i said above i don't have to time to wait to get into the program at my local community college and take the time off work. I wouldn't start the program until 2010. Also i have looked into schools online and most of them are for BA's. So if you have a better school that is giving an associates for RT then please let me know.
Feb. 7, 2009, 7:21 p.m.
+1 vote/
J;
I looked at the application for Independence u. and it says that the associates in respiratory therapy is over $24,000 plus approximately $3,000 for textbooks and other fees. Therefore, I calculate the total to be about $27,000; is that correct? It seems like an incredible amount of debt to get into for the associates degree. Are you getting some kind of discount or grant to help you out? I was thinking there has got to be a better way. Have you really checked out all possibilities? I know "why" suggested the community college. You replied that you would have to wait a year; until 2010. I know community colleges would be very cheap in comparison to Independence u. (if you are a state resident)and I believe the difference in cost would well be worth the wait. I mean, a year goes by very quickly. In addition, most states have a great number of community colleges (unless you live in Wyoming or Alaska)and there must be a number of community colleges in your general area that may well offer night programs for working adults. In addition, there must be a college out there somewhere that has an online program for less than $27,000. Take another year to locate such a school and I believe you will find yourself in a situation that will allow you to finish your education at a much lower tuition cost to you.
Feb. 2, 2009, 5:04 p.m.
0 votes/
I was just wondering J if you were able to get the grant and 50% off tuition. If not, I wonder how many folks actually get the 50% tuition reduction rate. I ask myself "why?" go to this school when there are other online programs in these subject areas at regionally accredited schools for about the same tuition. Take my example above. There are many others (R/A universities)as well. There are also community colleges which will cost you a fraction of the cost.So why go to Independence u.?
Feb. 2, 2009, 5:19 a.m.
0 votes/
Any online university that you go through is going to be expensive. This particular school offers a grant that can take 50% off tuition, i agree it is a bit steep but at the university i was attending tuition was well over $400 a credit hour and i had nothing but trouble with them. I called to request info and the person i talked to was nothing but friendly. They also have their own student loan offer that everyone is approved for regardless of your credit and it is about $200 a month. If you are able to take the time and do it through an unversity than i say go for it, but if you can't afford to rearrange your work schedule (like me) then online is the only way to go and this school works for me. Also regardless of where you go to school, if you sign up for classes, and miss the deadline to drop those classes you won't get your money back. It's the same anywhere you go...
Jan. 30, 2009, 4 p.m.
0 votes/
This is "why?". I checked your major for online BS programs.
The University of Missouri has an online BS Program in Respiratory Therapy at $370 per unit for out of state students. If I remember correctly, Independence u. wants $350 per unit (about the same). However, there is a HUGE difference between the schools. If I were you, I would check it out. There have got to be many, many other regionally accredited schools that have the program you need for about the same cost.
Jan. 30, 2009, 5:08 a.m.
0 votes/
I feel the pain of all those that have commented so far.  I'm currently enrolled with IU and I have not been able to complete my work for the past 2 weeks.  There website has constant issues.  I decided to go back to IU because I had completed the Respiratory Program when they were CCHS. I wanted to earn a BS and I figured going back to them would be the easiest thing; especially since I no longer live in the US.  NOT!!!  I'm almost to the point of dropping this all together.  -- As far as money, I chose the annual tuition option.  That worked well for me in that I could complete as many courses as possible within the year for the one flat rate.  The problem now is that the website is constantly down.  I pray they credit the time.

If anyone has any suggestions on other online universities, as well as degree options I'm all ears.
Jan. 29, 2009, 6:20 p.m.
0 votes/
Why pay for this school? I feel it is way over priced. You can do the same thing at a community college for a fraction of the cost. In addition, you won't get stuck with thousands of dollars in debt as we read above. Such a pitty.
Jan. 17, 2009, 6:08 p.m.
0 votes/
Well xingular, if I were in your position, I would look into a program at my neighborhood Junior/community college. The programs are accredited and the tuition will be low (if you are a resident of that state). Going to a private program will cost you big bucks. Just read some of the experiences here. It seems that Fran and Linda have had some bad experiences with this school for example. That should be a "red flag" for you! I know of other individuals that have gone to similar schools to this one and have had nothing but trouble.You need to do a little research into community colleges.
Jan. 7, 2009, 4:38 a.m.
0 votes/
HELLO

EVERY BODY CAN ANYONE SUGGEST ANY GOOD ONLINE SCHOOL FOR RISPERATORY THERAPIST I AM DEFFINATELY EXHAUSTED ON LOOKING..

PLS DO TELL...

I REALLY APPRECIATED.
Jan. 6, 2009, 9:35 p.m.
0 votes/
Linda; it sounds like you and Fran have similar experiences with this college. Thank you for the warning.
Jan. 3, 2009, 1:18 a.m.
0 votes/
I applied for and was granted a Salle Mae loan, however, I dropped out after the first semester due to health issues.  I went through all the channels, talked to all the right people,(or so I thought), and I never heard anything for 1 year, and then out of the blue I recieved a letter from a collection agency for $3,0000.00 I quess, as they said, I failed to read the fine print, or so the Attorney's Aide told me.  She said a lot of people get taken that way.  So...I am stuck paying it off, but just wanted to warn others.
Jan. 1, 2009, 6:21 p.m.
0 votes/
I can accept what "Mich" (I believe the name is "Mitch" but I could be wrong) said. My question is: "Why attend a college or university that is not regionally accredited?" The costs are very similar, as I found out when pricing a certificate program at Independence University and Penn State University, Iowa University and many others. These are well known, regionally accredited universities and one will surely not have any difficulties with transferring units and name recognition when interviewing. Why put up with the rejection during attempts to transfer units or potential employers saying "I have never heard of this school. Where is it? Is it accredited?" I would say it makes a lot of sense to go to a regionally accredited university and save yourself the pain and trouble involved with going to a school that isn't regionally accredited.
Nov. 19, 2008, 1:32 p.m.
0 votes/
I did the registry portion of the respiratory program at Independence when they were california college and it was very challenging. They had online tutors and phone support. They would also try to pair you up with students in your area that had already graduated or were listed as possible tutors for their program. That was a few years ago. My career has taken off and I'm doing really well now and advancing in my degree and feild. The only problem they have is that they're not regionally accredited but they're nationally accredited. Employers will accept them and some universities will ,but not all universities will accept all of their credits so I would check first before you enroll.
Sept. 23, 2008, 7:47 p.m.
0 votes/
I was stunned to see the tuition for the certificate in public health! I think it came to well over $5,000. That seems really expensive for this university doesn't it?  Nationally known universities have certificate programs for around the same price i.e. University of Iowa ($3,200), Penn State University ($5,500) among many others.
Sept. 10, 2008, 2:46 a.m.
0 votes/
I had completed one semester at Independence University. I dropped out due to student loan cost. Sallie Mae was offered at prime variable rate and the other option which I took at a fixed rate was basically paying on interest. When I dropped the program I had already paid a good sum of money which I found only a few hundred had gone to the principal of the loan and I still owed almost one whole semester's worth of tuition. The program itself is challenging, which I liked, but I also had to drive 45 minutes to another town to take my final exams. It just didn't work for me.

Check  it out for yourself at their website and compare their program and cost to other colleges before making a decision.
July 29, 2008, 12:41 a.m.
0 votes/
Can anyone make a comment about this school. Is the community health program any good?

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Independence University in any way.