Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

ITT Tech

1.9
18 Reviews
5 2 
4 2 
3 1 
2 2 
1 11 
0 0 

ITT Tech Reviews:

Too many Complaints and little is done...

Electronics - March 3, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I read and hear complaints all the time about this school, I have attended ITT Tech since 2009 and graduated in 2011. Three months before graduation I was hired in the oilfield business. I was happy and successful with the company until the oil prices started dropping. The kids that complain are either fresh out of school and trying to get things done the easiest and fastest way as possible. As others have mentioned before you get what you put in and that is true because of ITT Tech's help after graduation they still help you find a job if you need the assistance. Now I am back taking my Information Technology Course for BS degree and very happy. They have good staff and good facilities and instead of talking bad about a school and how much you are going to owe when done focus on what is important your future. Nothing in this life is free and you will get a bill from loan departments and that is normal and its called life...deal with it. YOU MAKE YOUR OWN EXPERIENCE THERE, DONT LET NO ONE MAKE THEM FOR YOU.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Stay away from ITT

Information System Security - November 6, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I went to ITT out of High School in 09. Had to drop out before semester started because of work. Now that I'm trying to go to finish my degree at another college they don't want to release my transcripts. I've been paying my federal student loans on time for the last 5 years owing $11k. I tried enrolling again but I non of the credits are accepted even through them. This is just ridiculous. Stay away. Go to a community college for free then finish your BA somewhere else. This place is a scam. I can't believe the government will even give you loans for this place. Look at their drop out rate and how much students owe to for-profit schools if you don't believe me. Now I have to figure out how to get my transcripts released.

Was this review helpful?

You get out what you put in.

Electronics - September 13, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Graduated in 2001 with Electronics Engineering degree. I was 40 yrs old when I attended. ITT placed me into 1 job while I was enrolled, and I found 3 other jobs on my own. I wanted as much experience as I could get before I graduated. Upon completion, I had 3 job offers of 30k+. One in oil and gas, one in semiconductor, and one in manufacturing and service. I took the manufacturing and service job and am still employed 14 yrs. later. Could ITT be better? Maybe, but I was very happy with my instructors, courses, material, and support. I can't stress enough that you will get out exactly what you put in.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

fraud

Criminal Justice - March 27, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I went to school in dec 2012 and I asked them to put me in criminal justice and they tricked me because they had me in criminalogy before i could catch now I owe them 2,700 and they scam people for money. something needs to be done.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Get Real

Criminal Justice - March 12, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have read many opinions about ITT. I am a fourth quarter student at the Springfield IL. The Springfield campus is a new campus, it started classes in Feb. of 2012. I have found that some of the reviews that I have read are partially true. ITT does enroll students that would not be considered even at most community colleges; it is my feeling that as a business of course they enroll everyone that they can. It is the challenge of ITT to its instructors and tutors to help bring the sub-par up to speed. In my experience at ITT my instructors have been top-notch. My CJ instructors are fulltime employees in the field, and have a passion to impart their knowledge and skills to us. I have done my own research, I contacted employers in my field that are based where an ITT has been established for a while. Most of the employers that I contacted told me that a degree from ITT in my field is the same to them as a degree from any of the local community colleges. I see all the complaints about not finding work in the field; get real. Try applying realistic expectations on yourself and others. If you cant find a job in your field locally, try a national search, or you did not apply yourself and got bad grades and who would want you? I think that if you are looking for individual attention, and someone to care if you show up and graduate ITT is a place that could work for you. The money is what it is, if you dont like it, go somewhere that has two hundred students in a class, and the instructors will never know your name.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Do your own legwork, find your own job

Itt tech, Breckinridge school of nursing - February 3, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I see the negative reviews, I beleive you get back what you put into your education. Yes, they are expensive, but you are not just another number! The classes are much smaller than state schools, therefore, you get more individualized education. Furthermore, I see that the students are upset that their are no jobs available to them after graduation. Well, guess what? Do your own legwork, find your own job, why are you relying on others to find you work? I am in the nursing class in Tampa, I went to USF where I got my BA in Psy. I had over 2oo people in my class, and my instructer never had time to see us for tutoring or any concerns that we had with the class. Moreover, the state schools don't find employment for the graduates either, they have to find their own. Stop playing blame game and find your own jobs. The 54,000 education is well worth all the attention I get from my teachers, and tutors in the school.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 16 people found the following review helpful

6000.00 OWED TO ITT??? LEAVING SCHOOL CANT GET TRANSCRIPTS!!!!!!

IT NETWORKING - January 23, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started attending ITT Cordova TN in 9/11/11. I was taking night classes, but they kept enrolling me in Saturday classes. I kept telling them NO, NO, NO and dropped them. After I had done this 10 TIMES the SH***Y DEAN advised me over the phone that I could not come back to ITT EVER!!!! I recently TRIED to transfer to Stayer. When getting my transcripts I was advised I OWE THE SCHOOL 6000.00 not finical aide!! (I was awarded 5,500.) I also owe 17,000.00 in student loans from attending ITT. I can’t get my OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPTS until I pay ITT the full balance. WTF????? NONE OF MY 36 CREDITS 36 WILL TRANSFER ANYWHERE WITH OUT OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPTS!!!! I will have to start over if I attend Stayer!!! I never received a notice I owed this money!! NEVER RECEIVED A BILL!!! They said the balance would not be owed till I graduated!! So I would not have been able to graduation until I paid off the balance!! I’m sure it would have been more if I stayed the full 2 years! I am taking the semester off to figure out what to do!!

Was this review helpful?

7 of 14 people found the following review helpful

ITT Revies

Electronics - October 22, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended ITT in Portland Oregon back in 1998. I had no issues with this school and graduated with honors while working full time.I think the school was fair, and understanding of this situation. While I will agree that this school will accept anyone willing to pay, I'll make the argument of why shouldn't they? Let's face it, many people who walk through their doors aren't going to get accepted into a "real" University. So, at least schools like this exist for people who have some desire to continue their education and attend college. The class started out with 30 students and only 15 graduated. Lazy people, mostly. I was a little older and was previous NAVY, so I maybe took it a little more seriously. Plus, I am not a big fan of starting things and not finishing. Was the school hard? Honestly, there were some things that were difficult for me, Math / Physics/ Computer languages were challenging for me. People did fail classes so it was not like some reviews I've seen where you could show up and sleep through class and pass. Not true, not in Portland anyway. I struggled with Physics and the teacher worked with me after class. Don't be afraid to ask for help. Only idiots thing they know everything. ;) I saw some students learn some amazing skills at this school. You really will get out what you put in. I thought the classes were well done, the teachers were good and helpful. I had a really great time at the school actually. I have been working in Semi-conductors ever since I left. No one has frowned upon my ITT degree as if were some sort of joke. That is the stuff of snobbery and elitism. Work hard for your employer, and it won't matter where you came from. That is the real world. We all have seen idiots from "good schools" and we have seen hard working, great people without degrees. But the world is changing and a degree is necessary to even get looked at for employment these days. Sucks, I know, but it is what it is. My advice, for what it's worth. Get a job anywhere, AND go to school. You can do it. I went to ITT (9-3) in the day and worked nights (4-mid). It was tiring but it went fast. My better advice: Since the reality of snobbery and elitism exists (although I haven't personally experienced it)...and all this accreditation stuff. IF you can go to a state school instead of ITT UoP or whatever, do it. If you cannot for whatever reason, (GED, drop out) then, I think, ITT UoP etc, are decent and really the only alternatives. A friend of mine recently went to ITT's nursing program and got a job at Vanderbilt in Nashville. So it wasn't frowned upon there. Here is the thing that does suck about ITT. The credits you earn don't really mean much to anyone if you want to go on and get your Bachelors degree. Keep that in mind. Some schools will accept them, many wont, do your research. I was young at the time and they just said they are accredited, and they are, and that was good enough for me. You have to look at who will accept that accreditation if you want to continue on. Here I am 15 years later, trying to get my bachelors and because I went to ITT my options are limited, BUT I do have options! I do not feel I was somehow ripped off or scammed at ITT. Just ask the right questions. Be prepared and have a plan. Don't give up. Education is important. If you screwed up in the past or don't have the means to go to a big university, you have options. Look into trade schools as well. Good Luck!

Was this review helpful?

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful

do not go here

IT NETWORKING - September 17, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received my associate degree there I had a ok time, there were a lot more of students and staff during this time some of the teachers where clueless to the programs and some teacher had very thick accents and they had the nerve to be teaching math or English why…… but then I decided to continue to get my bachelors that was a big mistake. They let all the good teachers go, we were stuck with some of the stupid teachers I ever seen one teacher would be in his pants playing with his self while giving a lecture smh… then some would run their own program nothing to do with itt cause they said itt course was out of date or out of touch with the real world and let’s not talk about career services. THAT’S THE BIGGEST JOKE OF ITT TECH. the best career services person left after my associate and I never received anything about a job smh I ask one day they told me I have not graduated yet I told them I have an associates from here.. O we need to update our information….. Another long story I would tell anyone not to go there don’t waste your money or time…..

Was this review helpful?

6 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Complete ripoff. The epitome of ineptitude

IT NETWORKING - May 29, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It became quite obvious that I made a serious mistake after attending this joke of a school after one week. They will enroll anybody for the money. I encountered one mistake after another by the administration. They didn't even have their own IT person on staff for the for the few weeks I was there! It is my opinion that ITT is nothing less than a front for white collar criminals preying on people who are tying to get a legitimate education to improve their lives. SHAME ON ITT!!! They should be closed down and prosecuted.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 15 people found the following review helpful

It's a scam!

IT NETWORKING - January 29, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from the St. Rose, LA (New Orleans) "campus" in 02. I learned NOTHING from this "school". I'm still paying on my student loans and work in the same industry I did before ITT. This company is strictly set up to defraud the Federal Govt. out of Pell grant and Stafford loan money. One instructor angrily quit while I was there and spread word throughout the student body how useless the place was. We then all received a letter from the dean denying his assertions. So if you're considering ITT, DON'T DO IT!

Was this review helpful?

16 of 21 people found the following review helpful

ITT Tech. is the biggest SCAM in the U.S.

IT NETWORKING - January 21, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated with 2 degrees from there. ITT = Business Scam! One giant, huge RIP-OFF. One of the largest mistakes in my life was going back there for a B.S. Degree in IT. I realized about 1/2 way in their program that I had made a serious error by going.. There are NO jobs waiting for students coming out of a school like that, you have to find your own job &/or business. They're NO help, yet they "promised" job placement from career services to help you find employment. They don't, esp. now in this economy. That is why schools like ITT & UOP, etc. have recruiters and try to get students to get others to sign up, so they can get more $_$ & that's all it is. A business & NOT a real college. I just do not understand why so many former students and staff from ITT are in denial. They ALL know it too & that it's true. I even used to have a part-time job at ITT as a work-study, while I was getting my A.S. That did help me out with gas for the car, etc. I will admit. But you PAY way more then the education you get is worth. Most of the so-called instructors there were assholes & a few did not know enough to be teaching the class. You're paying over $40,000 for a B.S. degree & then they treat you like trash. Now I'm stuck with a huge amount of debt., but I'm not scared any. ITT will be exposed for their fraud & what they really are some day soon. Then they'll all be shut down for good! That will be a good day. :] My sincere, serious advice? Stay far, far away from any ITT-Tech... If you're already a student in one, drop out of there NOW & leave. Get out & go to a real school that will give you hands-on training & actually teach you some skills for that work field.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Enrolled for a week, glad I got out of this diploma mill when I did

IT NETWORKING - September 26, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My wife signed me up on a website just to get information and ITT Tech were the first to call. They were very nice and very helpful at first and of course he walked me through the Financial Aid part of enrolling. Once they got the money, I was on my own. The teachers were generally as helpful as they could be but if you were to spend $45,000 a year and graduate, the degree isn't worth the paper it's printed on. I implore you, look into Community colleges or actual reputable schools before you waste your money on this garbage. Generally, if your credits won't transfer look elsewhere. SCAM, SCAM, SCAM. Thanks for reading and beware.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 23 people found the following review helpful

ITT TECH

IT NETWORKING - August 12, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

ITT is a good school if you wanna be ripped off. They are money hungry and also the books they give you are not real books. They make their own books and do anything to save the school money. They told me the school was only going to be so much money and instead of telling more information, they took out two loans and now im going to have to pay about 9500 back for reasons that I should not. Also, they are very strict about paper work. If it's not good enough for the school they WILL kick you out and leave you without a degree. This school isn't what is seems to be.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Too expensive for the education received.

IT NETWORKING - June 8, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Hello, I graduated from ITT Tech at the Pittsburgh institute. My experience was extremely dissatisfying as I now have 43,000 in student loans 65,000 with interest plugged in. This school was the biggest mistake/biggest money pit I will ever make the mistake of doing. The course work was ridiculous and the degree is worthless I learned more on my own than any of the classes offered here. They had the necessary tools but lacked in education and professor experience to successfully use them. If you are looking for a great education I would suggest just a community college for a fraction of what it costs to go here and the degree will be much more respected amongst employers. Please do not attend this school do some research and find the many schools that offer quality education rather than wasting years of your life on this place.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 22 people found the following review helpful

Itt tech can really hurt you.

IT NETWORKING - May 30, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school should be investigated because it is just ruining alot of peoples chance to get a real education. I cant go back to school until I pay this crap back, so no more school for me as I owe 30 grand for 1 year and cant find a job anywhere that pays enough to pay this back. I shouldent have even been admited into the school a 6th grader can pass admissions. The first 3 class's were really easy and pointless, and then they will write out the answers on the board, you get points just for being there. Teachers will quit every quarter and some of them dont even know what there doing. I was not really taught anything hands on, and they just hand out work and grade it. One teacher actually said "ehh we dont need to talk about this go home 30 minits early". They will give you filler classes just to keep you in the school for the full two years and they will be pointless to you. They will put you in a lab, give you work, and you cant ask alot of questions because there are so many people asking. They use out dated software, and its just a really bad school. The only people who can suceed are those who already have knowledge of there course. I would not recomend this school to anyone. I began asking myself why I'm here I could have used my own computer and just got the work. They dont have any kind of high tech equipment its just a little desktop computer, dont get fooled. I know they were just passing me in the class's because I dident learn anything. Then I get into computer programing part 2 and couldent even do the work at that point because I dident learn 1. I have a grade report where they went back and changed my grades to pass me. It is absolutly terrible and the people who work there know they are taking advantage of people. Yes I'm not perfect or very smart but they kept me in there just to keep getting money, they probobly tell teachers to just pass people. I knew I was going to quit and dident study for my final or do any homework and I still passed in two classes! When I told the dean I was quiting the guy says "your lazy, what have you been snorting up your nose, you have weak knees." How can you say that to someone who just took a huge hit financialy and credit report. Anyone reading this just go to community college they have all the same courses. itt charges about 400 dollars a class, its a total ripoff. Do yourself a favor and pass these preditors off to the next fool. I tried to sue them and was told they could do nothing. Dont bite the hook people unless you know what kind of work to expect. SCAM, SCAM, SCAM, I signed up for night school and they had me going in there in the morning so expect them to mess with the schedule. I cant believe this place is still geting away with there little game. They are wasting the governments money and putting people in a hole. "Education for the future" they taught me to not get scamed again or trust schools. Thats the education dont get screwed over. I hope this school fails someday and that would make me very very happy. I would say what I got out of it was worth 2 or maybee, MAYBEE 3 grand, not 30.... Basically I dident start learning my field until 6 monts in and thats why I stayed so long just to find out I dident like it. Its a mind game there. DONT TRUST THEM! AND theres almost no girls there either. LAME! No respect for the wellbeing of a human being, just big wigs driving expensive cars off my back.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 21 people found the following review helpful

ITT not recomend

IT NETWORKING - July 19, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Please I know the is a lot negative comment about ITT, but is true I just walk out from ITT in my third semester with a student loan of 14,000. And if you don't paid becarful the send that amount to collection. ITT only care about your money, no about your future. Another thing is NATIONALLY Accreditation. What you get there is a AAS associate applied, you cant use the credits from ITT in another institution. Please do some research before attend to this school. Is a SPAM..

Was this review helpful?

11 of 20 people found the following review helpful

The nastiest school on earth.

IT NETWORKING - January 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

At ITT TECH You are not a student you are a "start number". The tuition for associate degree is $43,000, ITT TECH is nothing but money launderers.can you imagine paying such a high cost for an unaccredited school, you cannot transfer credits to a different college. Once you start ITT, you're stuck there or you wasted a lot of money. Most of the students that started when I did have already dropped out due to misleading promises made by the recruiters. Itt tech was a disappointment, I feel like I wasted time and money ITT Tech is a joke, if you are serious about bettering yourself - steer clear of ITT.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 19 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with ITT Tech in any way.