Minnesota School of Business Reviews

Sort By

Most Helpful
Newest

Masters Programs:
MBA (3)


To link to this page:

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 5, 2017 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
too late now I know someone who graduated from this school from the Medical Assistant program-a single mother with 2 kids who hoped to use her education to support them. She ended up with a crushing loan burden with pages of conflicting and confusing paper work and no one to answer her questions about her loan. She discovered her credits won't transfer if she decides to go back to school to become an LPN or RN; she has to start over. Because the school closed she wonders if her current certification is valid for employment. Instead of being a step ahead it became a boat load of debt and not much in the way of future growth.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Anonymous (Graduate) on October 14, 2016 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Bachelor's Business Administration Horrible school! I spent $60,000 and earned my Bachelor's Degree in Business Administration just to be laughed at and embarrassed to go to a school that no credits will transfer because it is not accredited! On top of that, when I finally qualified for a job that required a 4 year degree, the school administration failed to do an education verification. This is the Plymouth Minnesota School of Business. I am so angry as I pay back my student loans and hear all the other reviews of this unethical and deceiving school! I hope this helps with anyone that has any hopes for a professional career after attending this school! Please do your research and think very hard about your future. This is not a school at all it is a business and should be shut down for the deception and unethical practices that they partake!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Benatkins145 (In Progress) on August 19, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Could not have been better I have a B.S. and M.A. from east coast colleges. I served in the military for 8 years, and I've worked in the private sector for 14 years. Several years back I decided to pursue the CPA, but I had never taken an accounting course (a minimum of courses are required to sit the CPA exam). MSB on-line was perfect to help me pursue this ambition. Flexible but rigorous. Textbooks and assignments were well-selected. Professors were very good - engaged, responsive, practical, and knowledgeable. I needed some hand-holding to develop an effective program given my background, and I received more than enough attention from the Dean of Student to professors. When it came time to study for the CPA, it was all a review. The MSB coursework covered nearly every topic in appropriate depth and format. At a time of increasing social inequality when a college degree is essential, MSB is an excellent program and an even better value.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 9, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Unranked, Unethical, Read for better options Do not attend this school, there are plenty of good state school's or private schools that are the same price or cheaper! Remember only attend non-profit schools and look at U.S. News and World report rankings. This school is unranked and very unethical. I transferred out of this school to attend another college that offered a significantly better education and support for less the cost and the school is ranked in the top 20 by U.S. News and World Report in my region. Lastly their sales tactics and marketing materials are falsified, research or google "Globe university lawsuits and for-profit school lawsuits", this is a serious issue and I do not want to see anyone fall into schools like this. Please take this post serious and I promise you will find a much better school to attend that fits all your needs, including cost!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 7, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Overall I used to work in Admissions for MSB. So I know the how everything operates from inside and out. There are a lot of positives and some negatives with attending here. The positives: You are going to get a very hands on experience with the programs. Your instructors are real people with real experiences. They aren't just reading out of a book. There really are great people and students that attend there. In all honesty, I went to an expensive private university for my degree, and I think in certain programs (vet tech, medical assistant, IT, Criminal Justice) students here may have a better education coming out of school than the big universities. The negative, though...and this needs to be heard...because I had a good many students come up to me and ask me about it, or complain why they couldn't do this...but credits almost never transfer to another college or university. It's a different type of program. If you are going in planning on transfering down the line, DO NOT ENROLL HERE. You can get a good education here, but if you aren't planning on sticking it out for the full hall, you are just wasting your money.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on February 18, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Information Technology I was a 2010 graduate with a Bachelors degree, I am still looking for work, they won't even hire me, they are looking for current students. I have been unemployed for over a year and was told that without hands on experience that it is almost impossible to get a job. I am over 50 and there is not much out there for the older working class. I feel like I was screwed out of at least $70,000.00. My advice would be to go to a school that offers internships!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on December 3, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Thank goodness. I am attending NHCC as I am writing this review, and THANK GOD I am. I've never went to MSB, but I will say that the experience that I had with the adviser was not a good one. So she called me up and basically tried to FORCE me to apply for MSB. I told her money was an issue, the school's too far, etc. She asked me which school I'm planning to go to and I told her that I was planning to go to NHCC. She asked why (I mean, really? Why the heck do you even need to know?) I told her I'm going to NHCC because my siblings go here and it's cheaper. She said if I attended MSB, I will get a better degree, etc... She basically said everything in the book to try to convince me to go to MSB. Even after I told her NO over literally 20x. I wanted to just hang up on her because she won't STOP. After a good 40 minutes of conversing with her, I finally said, "I don't want to go to MSB, it's too expensive, my family's income is very low and I won't be able to afford it. I made up my mind and I'm going to NHCC." .......*beep. She hung up. I was so furious, she seriously just hung up and couldn't even say, 'Thanks for taking your time to speak with me. Good luck.' So like I said, THANK GOD I didn't go to this college. I also want to thank everyone for writing the reviews to help out others.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on October 27, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
What a Joke This school was a joke. When they first opened, they were calling vet offices a week before classes started seeing if anyone wanted to teach classes. They had no teachers. So a week before classes start, that doesn't give them much time to screen their applicants or get good quality teachers. One of our teachers would rarely show up to class, our class about Nutrition- we never even discussed foods. Our instructor thought it was funny when we had to evaluate our teachers and a student said they didn't learn anything from her class. I hated this school, don't waste your time or money at this place. Also, if you plan to transfer to another school, your credits won't transfer.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Jhubred (Graduate) on September 18, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Former student in Graphic Design I had attended this school a couple years ago only to learn some of the Graphic Design programs I needed to help me run my screen printing business. I didn't finish the program and had no intention to from the beginning. Over-all, I can't really complain about this school. There were a couple instructors that I thought would be better working in their field than teaching me about it. But, at the same time, there were instructors that went above and beyond their call of duty to their teaching career. Is it the best school around? No. But, I truly believe that if you put your 110% into the classes, you will walk away with a great education. I think all schooling is you get out of it what you put into it. I also want to mention that the school always had the most up to date computers and software for me to learn on in their Graphic Design program. I hope this review helps. Happy Learning!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 23, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Minnesota School of Business I attended this college staring in the summer of 2007. I signed up as a single mother for the Bachelor of I.T program since the associates wages could not compare to my employment wages at that time. The recruiter and I talked it through and decided I should go for it but I could only do this part time. My first mistake was to take an I.T course from this school with its outdated material. My second mistake was to think going for a bachelors in the I.T. field as a part time student would be smart. MSB should not even think of allowing a student in I.T to enroll into outdated materials with six years remaining of education. If they were honorable they would have recommended a different strategy plan from day one. Never the less, I maintained a 3.94 GPA and completed approximately 70 credits in 3 years without guidance before the school contacted me by recommending I start taking 3 - 4 courses at a time to complete my degree in time and that I would need to start finding alternative ways to pay for school since my government funding was insufficient to complete my degree. This news was all brought to me when our economy was suffering the most. I had taken a $10,000.00 a year pay cut for some time and I had to sell my home as a short-sale. I knew I could not afford to keep things up so I re-routed to an associates degree so I would not leave school without a degree. However, because of the way this school works they would not apply my courses to the lower level of the associates. I was 3 classes from my associate’s degree and I asked about equivalents that I know for fact were used with other students to obtain their degrees. They refused to substitute however for me. These last courses were then needed to be paid out of pocket which was not possible and my credit was hurting from the short-sale to get a loan at an acceptable rate so I dropped the classes intending to go back. When I went back to the school again, the 3 courses turned into 5. I have completed 120 credits with this school and still do not have my bachelors or even my associate’s degree. As much of a waste of money (and TIME spent away from my daughter) this is; I realized it is a bigger waste to continue going for my associate degree needing $8,000.00 or more with training on outdated materials to make $40,000 a year with almost $75,000.00 in debt. If I wanted to ever get my bachelors with this school, I would have to pay for 20 extra credits at the end of that term as well. To me; it makes more sense going back to a community college for a $16,000 degree start to finish with current materials and then maybe transferring to the school of my choice to complete the degree. I say this because transferring MSB credits is also a joke to many of the schools I talk to with the exception of Phoenix which I would worry would end up the same situation again.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on August 1, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Don't go to MSB. For those of you debating or not about attending MSB, don't do it. Go to a community college or university. I attended MSB College Moorhead in which I graduated with my bachelor's in Business Administration. The turnover rate for teachers was unreal and we were basically given all the answers to the tests so we would pass. I had a job while attending MSB and after graduation, worked full-time in sales for the same company. After working 3 years in my position I wanted to see what else was out there. Looking for a job with a degree from MSB was an awful experience. Every company overlooked me because of where I attended colllege. I had a 3.7 gpa and 3 years of sales experience but was overlooked because I didn't graduate from an MSUM or NDSU. On top of that I am paying back over $40,000 in student loans from MSB. I am now going back to college at a major university to ensure I get the degree I needed years back. If your thinking of attending this school don't get caught up in the employment rates they give you. The career services department was no help in providing opportunities for employment. To save money and ensure job placement go to a community college or typical university to get your education. It will save you in the long run.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 20, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Colleges are what you make of it People choose different types of colleges for different reasons. I had tried unsuccessfully in traditional education. Going back to school at the age of 30, I wanted my BS degree without being in an environment of a large campus or auditorium classes. I found structure and support at MSB. Deciding to go back to further an education is a huge decision, but completing a degree takes sacrifice and commitment. School is hard sometimes. Did I pay a little more for my education, yes, but no one tried to hide the tuition rates, and I finished my degree. I honestly belive I would not have been successful in a large university. I have many friends who have accrued the same amount of debt as I going through the MnSCU system. There are "smart" ways to borrow money and small things one can do to reduce their debt in the long run. A student owes it to themselves to reasearch that. Before bashing this institution, one needs to take a look at themselves to see if they truely gave it their all and took it seriously. Different types of colleges fit different types of students that is why we are lucky enough to have a choice. MSB was a good fit for me. OH and yes I have a good paying job, and that WAS with the help of the career services team.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 7, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
chastised. Don't attend this business, & I say "business" because that's all it is. I attended this school for a year and a half. In that time they replaced the entire faculty 2 times, they took my degree out if their program completely,& managed to lose my entire student application; making redo the whole thing. This is NOT a joke, this really happened. Wait there's more... It was my last week, so finals. I had taken the day off & I was in the library studying. I should also add it was with my Turtor b/c thats the only way you learn anything, my actual online instructor lived in Florida. Most of the time it took her almost a week sometimes more to respond. I had just started my exam, and of course I had pee. Once I got back I saw the adjunct math instructor looking at my computer. She claimed I was cheating, because I just finished my tutor session (that MSB provided me with).. She proceeded to accuse me of "working the system." The instructor not only invaded my privacy as student, but also preceded to report me to the dean of faculty. I couldn't believe someone would have the audacity to do something as vindictive as that. I was lost for words. In the end the dean said it my word against the instructors & it was his decision, if passed or failed. Likewise I should also mention that I was scheduled to graduate in ONE week!!! If you want to never go anywhere, have your bank account & soul completely rape, and be continually chastised by faculty & instructors then attend msb.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 17, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Don't even bother looking into this school I was looking into going back to school and a friend of mine was going to MSB online; so I thought I would look into it seeing as how she had nothing too bad to say about the school. I spoke with an admissions rep and he practically forced me to apply. I felt that I was extremely rushed into making a decision. My mother had went to MSB yearsago and urged me to look into different schools. THANK GOD! I decided to go to Rasmussen (which is $150 cheaper per credit) I sent my admissions rep a very professional email stating that I decided to go to a different school due to finances. First, he called my mom and left her a voicemail stating that he was extremely confused as to why I would not pick MSB. He then called me and proceeded to yell at me like I was a little child! I understand that he was upset because I did not attribute to his paycheck, but honestly, if you want me to go there so badly, have a little better customer service. When I told him the school I was going to, he proceeded to tell me, "Well, you are not going to get anything out of Rasmussen, so you aren't even going to save any money. Not to mention, you didn't even mention when we spoke that money was an issue!" NEWS FLASH! Look at our economy! Everyone is worried about money! He knew from our previous conversations that I was 20 years old and living on my own. How could money not be an issue!? I am SO happy that I chose not to attend this college. His behavior gave me insight to how the next 3 years of my life probably would have gone. Don't even waste your time looking into this school unless you just want to blow $50,000. NOT WORTH IT!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on February 6, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
DO not Attend MSB if you wish to learn something If you want to get an actual College education, do not go here. If your teachers do not like you and you do not go out drinking with them, they will not pass you. Even if you have the correct answer on your test, they will fail you due to a glitch in the system and you will have to retake the entire class. Most of their programs have about a 28% pass rating which you do not find out until almost your last semester. The credits do not transfer to other schools and you are stuck trying to get a degree that ultimately they cannot place you in the field that you were attending for. So they try to pass you off on a sales career which needs no education to begin with. This is a huge waste of money. This school is all about making money and not about taking care of its students or their learning needs. Tell everyone to stay away, you will not learn anything attending here.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on December 11, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Intrested student I was interested in this school, so I decided to talk to some of the students that attended. From what I gathered from many people I talked to, there teachers were people that had there degree the field they were teaching form other schools, but had little to no teaching background. When these students asked there "Professors" for assistance they all received response such as: "Its in the book", "you will have to get a tooter"(at the expense of the student), "I don't have the time",...ect. The computer labs are only accessible during the week and are closed on weekends. I was completely blown away when I was told by some of the vet tec. students that they have a teacher that is so mean that she get joy out of intentionally making her students cry! I spoke with another student that transferred to a different campus and there previous teachers didn't teach to the curriculum of the school they transferred to (remember these schools are all owned by the same group), so this student was unable to preform the duties expected of them. When this student asked for help they got the same responses as I listed before. To me, a student goes to a professional institution to receive a professional education. From the people I spoke with, this institution does not sound like they have professional instruction. Judging form the words of current students, I have chosen to look any where else. I hope my words do not fall on def ears, for I feel this review may save a lot of people time, money, and possibly mental stability.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on August 30, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Minnesota School of Business Digital Video and Media Production As with any education, you get out of it what you want. If you truly want to learn, this is a great institution for learning and the staff and faculty bend over backwards to help you be successful. If a student fails, it is because they didn't want too.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 30, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great teachers I'm pursuing a Bachelor's of Business Management Degree and all of my teachers have been great. I've taken classes on campus and online. Many of the teachers have a master's degree and they're excellent instructors. It seems like the people who are dissing the schools had bad grades or bad experiences, but I've been going to the Woodbury campus and it's awesome. I've had lots of job opportunities and currently work for a medical device company.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

10 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on May 21, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Worst School Ever! Honestly, this was one of the biggest wastes of money. They promised a lot and delivered nothing. I have this piece of paper now, but no jobs. Career services has done nothing! I have done all my own work. Most colleges would at least help you and point you in the right direction. I want to send a special thank you to Eau Claire. Thanks for everything! I really appreciate you Career services. You've couldn't be less helpful. The career fairs are filled with a bunch of garbage.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Remiritello (In Progress) on April 28, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Can't please everyone People need to decide from their own experiences. Many students across this country are attending college and have trouble with: reading, writing, math, and many other subjects. Listen to some of the athletes coming out of the football programs from the S.E.C. Try and tell me they are a scamming kids and parents; as has been insinuated in some of these posts. Animals are never put to death after a lesson on campus, REALLY, how insane does that sound to you? The shelter they are returned to might do that, not any vet tech program! Listen, what college credit is cheap these days? The U. of Phoenix, Devry, ITT, The Art Institute? State funded or private, all education institutions are in it to make MONEY! This institution has very strict accreditation standards that they have chosen to place themselves under. They have been around for over 125 years, do your due diligence, get your facts just as you should when trying to make any informed decision.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

10 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 5, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Wished I never Went When I was 16 and still in high school I applied to their high school advantage program and took the school's accuplacer test. I past with flying colors, my scores were so high compared to the school's scores. I got 48% through the vet tech degree when I thought this is enough. The so called instructors were discouraging, rude, and one in particular thought every student in the room was stupid and not worthy to be in college. Come on, we were starting out of course were not going to know everything. I was already second guessing if this was right for me and that same instructor basically pushed me overboard after she insulted me during a final exam. I cried off and on for weeks and if I think about it too long I still cry. I was only 17-18 years old, how about that for real life experience. I dropped out 9 months ago and I couldn't be happier. I'm attending a community college near home and pursuing an RN degree to become a neonatal nurse. Way closer, way cheaper, and the instructors are tons nicer. Please don't waist your time or money. My only regret is that I didn't find this website before I applied to MSB and have $14,000 in useless student loans.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

14 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Kingrube9 (In Progress) on October 25, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Terrible This school is basically still funcitioning because it accepts anyone who has enough money to afford their tuition. People who are serious about obtaining a degree will not attend this school. This school seems to be intended for those students who can't make the grade at a real university. In my classes, I noticed a majority of my classmates weren't even aware of how to construct a proper sentence and almost all of them were horrible with grammar. If you're currently attending this school and you can relate to anything I've just typed, GET OUT NOW! You're too smart for this school. No joke. This school is only in business for those people who can't excel in a real university. Not all online/distance learning schools are like this, please do your "homework", and find a new school. Check PBS.org for a special concerning this school as well. It's a diploma/degree mill, that's it! Your "professors" aren't even holding a Master's degree or PhD. How are they able to teach you anything?
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

10 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Bohlertrade (In Progress) on July 9, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Poor Result Materials selected for classes were acceptable. The instructors are not well educated on how to teach. Support is very limited from administration or teachers. This is an expensive learning experience and value was not received for the cost. Animals are used for student trials and on occasion are put to death after the lesson is completed. For some students this may be hard to understand and may not be a good experience. Hope this review is helpful. Good Luck.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 12, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Online Masters Degree I am right about smack in the middle of my program. I have found the online program at Minnesota school of business has given me the flexibility I need to do school work between my job and my two kids.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No


You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about Minnesota School of Business