Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Mountain State University

2.4
11 Reviews
5 3 
4 1 
3 1 
2 0 
1 6 
0 0 

Mountain State University Reviews:

Outstanding program

M.S.S.L. - July 11, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The online Masters program in Strategic Leadership is an extremely well-designed and informative course of study. The learning opporunities are varied; from large group and small group collaborative work, to diverse writing assignments, to individual and shared reflections on learning. The materials, assignments, and interactions with staff and fellow students are rigorous, relevent and result in personal and professional growth. I found this to be highly rewarding learning experience.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME

Distance Learning - April 25, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

TERRIBLE SCHOOL. I tried to take IS classes. Biggest waste of my time. I ended up withdrawing because there is no structure, no feedback & so many typos on the exams that I'm ready to scream. The thing is, I already have a BA & I've been taking classes to get my science pre-reqs. In the IS class, you never get to see why you got the grade you got, you get exams & a few assignments but no feedback & not a lot of time on exams that are worded in a stupid fashion. Please don't waste your money or time like I did. You'll be a paying a school & trying to teach yourself. It sounds like a great concept, until you take an exam that you're unprepared for & email teachers who don't respond.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Good School

M.S.S.L. - January 28, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a student in my final semester. Overall, this has been a positive experience, even amid the turbulent times relating to accreditation difficulties.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Mountain State University needs to be shut down, They are scam artist. They are taking people for there money and not providing what they promise.IF THERE IS A LAWYER OUT "CLASS ACT LAWSUIT"

business administration HR concentration - September 15, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school sucks, don't every go to it. They will take all your money and never give you the right type of education you deserve when you pay that much money.

Was this review helpful?

Organizational Leadership

business administration HR concentration - May 13, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The school is accredited. The intructors vary in quality. Some are very helpful and inspiring and others are just not. The blackboard system used for online classes is good and the material is applicable to the degree plan and is hard enough to let you know your in college. The support is ok. As for the campus I have no idea since I'm attending online.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Don't waste your money

business administration HR concentration - May 6, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I would not waste my money on this University. With the pending lawsuits and questionable accreditation, hundreds of students are left with a degree barely worth the paper it is printed on. The University is currently under review by the HLC. I am both a student, and have worked for the University.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

DMS Program Online.

business administration HR concentration - December 6, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm looking for a lawyer I feel that on this awesome country someone has to do something so this university doesnt take the money of the students away any more...I'm still waiting for my clinical site and a year behind in my graduation because of it! Yes you are reading just fine, I cant graduate (I need the clinical hours) because Mountain State University didnt find a clinical site yet for me and they dont know when they will simple as they said it over the phone, they have students from 2008 waiting on clinical sites, I finish all my class except my clinicals (Mountain State is responsable to look a clinical site they dont even let you to contact a hospital for you to help on the process, I even pass my SPI exam. Dont choose Mountain State, you will regret it.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Great School...slackers are always haters.

M.S.S.L. - November 20, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great school. I used my degree from this regionally accredited school to get a better job. I liked the school because there was no guesswork on what you needed to do to complete the class. They provide guidance at every turn and the instructors I had were great

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Feedback about Mountain State University

business administration HR concentration - September 9, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Mountain State University offers Online Diagnostic Medical Sonography progam, but they have serious problems in arranging clinicals for their students. It seems there are very few hospitals that are willing to deal with MSU as the Online DMS students start with ZERO clinical hands on experience, whereas other DMS schools offer hundreds of hours in school lab scanning before the student is placed in clinical rotation. Just choose another school!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Mountain State University sucks

business administration HR concentration - September 1, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a Mountain State University alumni and would like to warn you about this school. First of all it would be a waste of your time to go there, because the quality of education is extremely low! Second they constantly raise the tuition and once you begin, the bill will go up every year. The staff is outrageously unprofessional and sometimes rude. 90% of the professors come unprepared to class! Most of the tutors are unqualified. Last but not least, the social life in the small town of Beckley, West Virginia is non-existent. Stay away from a school like Mountain State University with 100% acceptance rate and low graduation rate! That means they would accept anyone just to get their money and then many students drop out or transfer!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Great school

business administration HR concentration - May 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great school; most classes are challenging, and the school always reviews the teacher to maintain a certain standard of quality. The counselors are great; however, some student services clerks are jerks. Overall, a great experience.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Mountain State University in any way.