National American University

National American University offers the flexibility of 24/7 course access to online associate, bachelor’s, and master’s degree students. Subject areas include accounting, business, health care, and information technology. A dedicated support staff helps students enroll for classes, arrange tutoring sessions, navigate the course websites, and find employment.

Review Average: 3.4 out of 10 (22 reviews)

National American University Reviews:

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
HORRIBLE University and Employer
December 29, 2012
I have a complaint based on work place discrimination and National American University also violating rules set forth by the Department of Education. I worked at for-profit National American University in Austin, Texas for a year and it was a horrible experience. When I started training as an admissions advisor in 8/2011 there were 30 individuals being trained for the university's Texas locations in Austin, Georgetown, and Dallas. By the 10 month period over half ... [Read more]

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
Incompetent
April 2, 2012
Where does one begin... I wish I would have been more diligent in my search of a college to attend. Most of the advisors are completely incompetent. It takes forever to get a response. My status sheet was incorrect, stating I completed a course that I actually did not complete. Advisor and advisor stated that my status sheet was accurate and I had a few classes to complete before graduating. There was no empathy or ... [Read more]

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
Beware
October 9, 2007
I had several questionable incidents with NAU, mostly related to administration of records and office support. Beware that the college does not maintain records in the manner it should; it is not uncommon to have grades recorded incorrectly and to have to wade through their cumbersome grievance procedure to correct the errors. Due to the exceptionally high turnover in professors, academic deans, and other personnel you may experience other delays and annoyances. I stuck it ... [Read more]

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
Horrible - Will Sink You in Debt
February 11, 2011
Financial Aid here is a MESS. At one point it took me 6 months to get a loan for one quarter, and admin admitted it was their mistake and that it had been missed by 4 people. I have been at NAU for over a year and attend online as well as on campus as a Business major. It is very important for people thinking about attending NAU to be informed of several things, all ... [Read more]

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
Run Fast!!!!! The Worst School Ever!!!!!!
October 6, 2012
I enrolled this year for the Fall semester and it has been a nightmare ever since! The financial aid office has been telling me lie after lie about what is taking them so long to get my student loan money and grant money. I would not have enrolled without the money already in place, but they told me that they would provide me with a voucher because they knew the money would be coming since ... [Read more]

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
Online nightmare
November 28, 2011
This school is painfully understaffed on the financial aid side, but very well staffed on the recruiting side. Beware, they have students sign documents that the student is responsible for all fees up front but are slow slow slow in processing financial aid. Look at the fine print, "Financial Aid is Available." I would not sign up for classes until you are sure you have financial aid unless you have the funds to pay for ... [Read more]

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
Corrupt
June 2, 2013
Had several advisers while enrolled, on a couple of occasions advisers placed me in classes without my consent or knowledge which resulted in me having to pay for the class. Financial aid department also overcharged both student loan providers and VA costing the student money. The school sought reparations for overages 2 to 3 years after they happened. These "over payments" were taken care of with VA and student loan providers however the school is ... [Read more]

Read all 22 National American University reviews...

Programs:

Read all 22 reviews...

Write a National American University Review


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Old Comments

Nov. 6, 2010, 2:59 p.m.
+2 votes/
I am in a class right now where the teacher is mean, doesn't explain classes or assignments, posts hatefull things, and doesn't guide us at all.  More than one student is totally in the dark, and we're all flunking, which is making our GPA go way down.  We are doing on-line classes, and rarely does she come on and answer any questions, and just leaves nasty comments.  Some of us have gone to the "higher ups" and they basically have lied to us (me in-particular) stating that they were going to "look into the problem" but nothing has been done.  I went to another school before this one and graduated as a Med. Asst. with a GPA of 4.0, and have never had any problems with any instructors.  Besides, it is not just me, it is almost the entire class.  You have NO support if there is a problem, there are people that I am friends with who's financial aid is so screwed up that they are checking different schools to transfer to.  If you complain about an instructor, they tell you, "oh well, just try to understand her," that is about all the student support any of you are going to get.

I would absolutely NOT recommend this school, the classes are astonomical as they just raised the rates, and there is no support, and financial aid is non-existant.
Oct. 8, 2010, 1:13 p.m.
+1 vote/
NAU financial advisors have lacked in their proffessional responsibility to warn MANY students of situations that will (not could, but will) nip furthering their education in the budd, and cause obvious hardships.  Many of these situations have cause so much stress that even divorce and suicide contimplation (maybe suicide itself, research is being done) has been an outcome from the the financial sting and embarressment they have caused, where "the waste of time" isn't even near the top of the list.


I am gathering many together for a class action suite, if anyone is interested, please contact me at: michael.kleid@mac.com
Aug. 12, 2010, 9:36 p.m.
-2 votes/
My goodness you people whine too much.  Take responsibility, if you didn't like it you should've left and if money was an issue you should've found someone above financil aid to talk to, via supervisor.  I guess they told you "no" or something happend you didn't like and didnt try to do anything about it but complain.  Shut up!
Sept. 19, 2012, 9:48 p.m.
+2 votes/
Um... You DO know this is a REVIEW site, right?
Jan. 7, 2012, 3:13 a.m.
+1 vote/
education that the school is giving sucks as well  
Aug. 3, 2010, 4:31 p.m.
+1 vote/
I too, am currently taking classes at NAU.  Over satisfaction on most of my classes have been great except for one.  The one class has an un-reliable and un-helpful instructor.  Originally I wanted to drop this class, but no one could help me in the dropping and adding a class, as it seemed to be not an option for me.  I did not even register for this class.   I would not even registered for it, as I would of taking a database class more towards what I am currently doing now.  First, without any warning I had to upgrade with no discount MS Office 2007 (had issues), then I upgraded to MS Office (Access) 2010 which worked out better, except it is slightly different than 2007 Access.  I've put comments to the effect of my issues and received no help from the instructor.  Anyone considering taking Database class at NAU Online...  NAU should have MORE Database Classes to offer...  Consider SQL, that is what I wanted too, so I can beef up my SQL skills.  NOT Access 2007, that I may never use!!!
June 12, 2010, 8:10 a.m.
-2 votes/
I just don't believe some of the stuff people write about NAU. I attended NAU for two quarters, and I had a great time. The faculty is the best, yeah some of the instructors aren't the most friendliest people you ever met but the school itself is a real university where any one can receive a quality education. I was a candidate in the bachelor's of science (IT) management information systems program, and I loved every minute. I did so well that my confidence is at the point where I know know I can complete any program and become anything, thanks to good ole NAU.
July 15, 2009, 9:51 p.m.
+1 vote/
I too have had the same financial issues. The school that promised me FULL financial aid, now has me over 8,000 in debt! Disgusting! They messed up my classes, did not drop me, charged me.......... My campus has gone through 4 different financial aid reps, admitted to being "messed up" and still they charge me! 
I could go to a GREAT university for less money and have a better repor when I graduate, but I am now STUCK there until I repay my INSTITUTIONAL loans. 
I would NEVER reccommend this university to anyone! EVER! DO NOT GO! Not to mention, they just sent me an email telling me that in order to maintain such a "WELL DEVELOPED" campus, they will have to raise my fees. THEY ARE ONLINE CLASSES! WTH
March 21, 2009, 10:55 a.m.
-1 vote/
I am currently in my second class and NAU.  Its been a very good experience.  Everytime I call I get a person, or someone calls me back the same day.  They have been very helpful and most of all NOT pushy.  They transferred a fair amount of my previous credits.  The instructors have been great, grading on time, giving input.  The class length is 10 weeks which is a good length, you won't feel rushed and you have enough time t
March 14, 2008, 6:23 a.m.
+1 vote/
I have had numerous problems with the financial aid department and student accounts. The financal aid department has twice told me misonformation about financial aid (that it was covered by federal student loans) and then oops... later on they come back and give me an "oh by the way you need to come up with $8,000" out of nowhere. I was also locked out of my online classes by student accounts because they didn't receive paperwork from the loan company (the only one the school will accept by the way) on the same day that I had received the loan. I would not recommend this school to anyone. My friends that are going to more established online schools have never had the same problems that I hav had.
Dec. 13, 2012, 10:17 p.m.
+1 vote/
I worked for this school before.  Stay away! They're in it for the money not to provide you a solid education.  The "education" is a joke.  The only way it could benefit you is if you already had a Bachelors and decided to further for a Masters and thought it would look well on your resume...and then most people would say who the hell is National American University.  Unless, you're located in the midde of nowhere in the midwest and people would say NAU IS A JOKE!  It might also help you if you work there and you can get your joke of an education their for free and that might look good. Ever hear of a "degree mill?"...well NAU is one.
Dec. 3, 2012, 1:44 p.m.
+1 vote/
Please be aware. Do not sign on with NAU. I had enrolled a month before the Winter Quarter. I keeped in contact weekly with Financial Aid & my Admin Advisor. I was told weekly that everything was great. All my paperwork was filled out and there was nothing to do but come to orientation and grab my books. The day of orientation, the place was chaotic. There was only 4 new students, yet they had no clue what to do with us 4. Nothing was ready. They finally had us order our books. Then we went to see Financial Aid. I was then told to fork over $1500 before starting class, which was in 3 days. This is the first time they had ever mention anything about me paying an amount before school started. The Financial Aid guy screwed up on my application for the school loan. When asked about the books being ordered, they said I would have to wait unitl the books arrive. Then I had to spend my own money on the shipping cost to send them back. Which is not true! I found the email confirmation and sent the bookstore an email and had my books canceled same day. I did not have to wait for 21 days after the books get shipped to me. They are a bunch of shady people. They then called me the next day to try to get me to attend the following Spring. They said they would fix my financial aid to correct the mistake they did. They mis-calculated my income and made it seem like I made more money than I did.  I sent an email straight to the Director and had asked him to contact me asap, still haven't heard from him yet. It's been a week. If they can screw up this badly the first time around what will happen the next qaurter. I'm glad I left before even starting my classes. 
Sept. 23, 2012, 9:10 p.m.
+1 vote/
Wow what a horrible school.  First their many online instructors think they are professors and expect you to call them that.  Most don't have any teaching or education background, just worked in the field.  the financial aid is slow no one seems to know what is going on.  When you are due a stipend they hold it for 14 days, why that's not their money, I have to pay it back not them.  The dean never returns calls or emails.
Aug. 6, 2012, 2:15 a.m.
0 votes/
Financial aid is not like cash assistance from the gnvnromeet. It goes to your school to pay your bill first and if there is a left over amount, you get that back .You may it sound like you should be getting paid to go to school.Contact bursar on Monday and make sure you don't have a balance and if you don't, use that 200 for books.
Aug. 4, 2012, 2:19 a.m.
+1 vote/
National American University in Mesquite Texas is the most unprofessional school. The advisors look like hood rats and the dean never calls you back. There is one girl who is an advisor who lies to students and wears skin tight clothing and looks so ghetto. She had tatoos on her legs and arms and has the worst dirty clothes. I walked out disgusted that I wasted my time.  I would never go to that school.  It is a big rip off with stupid faculty that just wants your money.  What a mess.
July 12, 2012, 7:16 p.m.
+1 vote/
I just started with this school. I have been in class or about 5 weeks and have yet to recieve my financial aid and I can't get in contact with my advisor to see if I can add an extra class. I hope I dont end up with a nightmare story like others on here. Also, why does it take 90 credits fr a associates vs 60 credits???
Nov. 15, 2011, 12:03 a.m.
+1 vote/
Been going to school at the Colorado Springs campus and to add to the comments, the financial aid department is a complete "joke"....If you are a veteran look for another school. They have "no clue" what they are doing, with VA paying all my schooling they stated that "I OWED MONEY", well when the VA deposited my money for my next classes, they deducted what they said "I owed" without any kind of explanation on what the debt was for, VA in financial department is A JOKE! They won't respond to questions and noone is ever there. Have filed a complaint with the BBB and with gthe VA.....Veterans look for another school. Also try to transfer credits as I have tried, have a better chance of going to winning the lottery.
Nov. 8, 2011, 12:10 a.m.
+1 vote/
The administrators at the Tulsa OK campus are just after money. This school will have to closed its doors soon at this location. They have a lot of competition with many other schools that are actually good. Their customer service is horrible. They are rude and feel that the students are obligated to them. This school is a disgrace to the higher education industry
Oct. 19, 2011, 8:49 p.m.
0 votes/
This is the worst school. They only care about money. The people who work at the Tulsa Campus are horrible. No one gets back to you in a timely manner. They look at each student as dollar signs. Don't go here, waste of money.
Oct. 13, 2011, 5:11 p.m.
+1 vote/
National American Universities finance office is a joke!!! They have no clue what they are doing and to make up for that they will lie right to your face...
They messed up my pell refund and explained to me after a few lies that they would have it over nighted to the school for me to come pick up....surprise it seems that it still hasn't arrived????? Over Night does mean next day,right?
I would tell anyone looking to return to school to NOT return to this University!!!!
PS: Their credits don't even transfer to anywhere else....
Oct. 5, 2011, 2:38 p.m.
+1 vote/
I am currently attending National American in Colorado Springs and this will be my 2ND quarter and the biggest problem I have with this school is the financial aid office they have lack of training they are very rude and seem to be untrained. They have no knowledge of what they should be doing. I'm not the only student that they seem to jerk around with the loan process! It is several others! I think if they don't pull their act together or get staff who knows their jobs they will start to lose students in the Colorado springs campus! I so wish that I would have known how unprofessional they were before I enrolled but they get you with the no wait-list for the nursing program, don't get me wrong the Denver campus is amazing they seem to be on top of all their paperwork as well they are not rude. Kristi and Jessica seriously need to be retrained or fired for the lack of professionalism and ability to do an outstanding job!
June 6, 2011, 9:51 p.m.
+1 vote/
Beware of attending this school. High turnovers of "teachers" and the lack of communication is extremely upsetting. Could not even start my classes on time for the online portion because no one had any info to give me and they forgot to mention important processes that needed to be taken. I wish I never started with NAU. Not worth the money I will have to pay back. Go somewhere else please!
June 5, 2011, 4:36 a.m.
+1 vote/
i have had several problems with nau they promised me a maternity leave when i had my son and they did not give it to me when i comfroted them they told me they would contact my teachers they never did, my proffesiors changed my finals due date and did not notify me, they do not answer my phone calls nor emails. And they also changed my degree on mw without notifying me i wouldnt go here. 
May 27, 2011, 4:03 a.m.
+1 vote/
The worst administrative staff possible.  They seems so genuine on the recruiting end.  However, you find out how poor their record keeping is.  In my experience, they do not update transcripts received, erroneously drop people administratively, they fail to return timely phone calls, keep callers on hold for unreasonable lengths of time and totally blundered the financial records.  On top of that, they are gruesomely expensive.  I would never recommend them under any circumstance.
April 27, 2011, 3:20 p.m.
0 votes/
This school is a rip off. Seriously the financial dept does not take their job seriously. You can never get a phone call back and they take like 6 months to get your account right. You would be better off going to a better school. They charge way to much for all of their classes and the teachers really don't explain the assignments that well. Went for one semester and am changing schools for these reasons and I would not recommend this school to anyone.
March 21, 2011, 7:22 p.m.
0 votes/
I would tell you to not attend this college...the first thing you aren't allowed to transfer credits to any other school whichs limits you. Also I applied for an application on Feb 15, 2011, I called the SAME day to ask for a refund because after thinking about it, with my husband in the military I don't want to be stuck to one college if we move. Mary from Financial Aid stated I would be refunded by mail I have been trying to call and leave messages since then and she doesn't return my calls. My advice would be DON'T ATTEND THIS SCHOOL. 
March 14, 2011, 6:59 p.m.
0 votes/
I am a mother of 2 with a full time job. I wanted to take classes for a Medical Assistant. When I was looking into the information, they told me that I would be able to take all my classes online except my clinicals. GREAT!! In the middle of my second quarter, I only had one class at that time because my 2nd class had a late start. I told them I needed to drop my 2nd class (which again had not started yet) ok fine. They then wanted to go ahead and get me enrolled for my next quarter classes. When I was going over that with them, they proceeded to tell me that I was running low on the classes that I could take online. WHAT?? Come to find out I only had 7 classes that I could take online and the rest I would have to go to classes for. Not what I signed up for. Ended up having to drop all my classes because I could not go to classes w/ my job and my kids. I was so mad that I had to even go through this. So when it was time to make my pymt for the class I had dropped they tell me that they had to charge me a "Partial Payment" becuase I had logged in 1 time during that class in the first week. Are you kidding me?? Now that I am trying to get answers nobody is returning my phone calls and I cant get anything done. Im seriously thinking of getting a lawyer involved. This school is horrible!! WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL TO ANYONE!!!!  

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with National American University in any way.