National University

Review Averages: 6.5 out of 10 (33 reviews)
Ranking: #44

National University is a regionally accredited school based in Southern California. The school has satellite campuses throughout California and in Nevada, and it also offers degrees online. Distance learners choose from scores of degree options in the School of Business and Management, the School of Education, and other university departments.

Accreditation: Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges and Universities of the Western Association of Schools and Colleges
Non-Profit: Yes
Country: USA

Learn More about National University

Request Information »

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%

National University Reviews:

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Great school for some
Management - March 8, 2015
I believe this is a great school. I have had no problem with them. The tricky part is the hidden costs. I do feel like the cover up information until the last minute. However the costs compared to other schools is still low and the instructional format is phenomenal. I recommend this institution to anyone but do your homework first and see if its a good fit. They are not a rip off but they do need improvements in counseling and administration. Their degrees are regarded highly. I beat out many other people from the UC system for the job I have now.

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
They will educate you but will not hire you
Administrative Services Credential - December 19, 2014
I completed my BA, MS, and Admin Credentials at National University. I worked successfully as a teacher and an administrator and received recognition for my services as a teacher and an administrator. After recently retiring, I applied for an adjunct teaching position. I was told that they do not hire their NU grads as professors and hoped I understood why.

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
Great Program
MBA Human Resource Management - January 18, 2014
I just completed my graduate degree from NU and it was a great experience. I am in the military and I had previously completed two other graduate degrees from two well respected schools and the NU program was much more difficult. There are some individuals that bash NU and in my opinion it's because the school does not require standardized entrance examinations. Anyone with an accredited Bachelor's degree gets in. So you have individuals with poor writing skills that end up failing classes at NU and end up writing derogatory reports online. One of the previous graduate schools that I attended (Tier 1 school with GRE requirement) was an academic joke, but no one complained. Neither did I. Why would any of us complain if we're earning an easy degree from a well respected school? Again, schools with no entrance examinations, multiple campus sites in the US, and multiple online programs tend to get a bad reputation but consider this; NU is NOT a For-Profit school. I actually learned something (unlike previous schools that I attended) and the support staff and instructors legitimately cared about my success and my learning experience. I would recommend NU to anyone that wants a well-structured and quality education.

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
It's Only Worth Attending a "Ranked School"
Information Systems - January 13, 2014
I graduated in 2013 with the MS Management Information Systems. Now this was my second master's degree (full disclosure). I also have a bachelor's degree from a well known state school (AACSB Accredited), and another master's degree from a well known private school. So I've experienced both realms of education from public and private institutions. I would say National University ranked up there with both. The professors are well versed in the fields they instruct in. My National University degree not only gave me the knowledge and skills I needed for my current job, but also helped me secure a $93K salary. There was no questioning my degree by employers for the people that try to scoff at degrees that don't come from ranked schools. National University is a quality education. If you work full time, have a busy life, and want an education that is flexible, try National University. I will tell you it's hard work.

4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
Human Services
Psychology - December 28, 2013
I attended this school and was treated unfairly. I submitted my assignment but did not receive credit. I contacted the professor but she ignored my emails. At the ending of class the teacher stated that I was not going to receive credit.I repeated the course and receive the same scoring on every assignment from a different professor. The professor was anger because I tried to appeal the grade. I am looking for a different program.

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Best School I have ever attended and I have attended MANY!!
Interdisciplinary Studies - September 6, 2013
I have read the negative reviews and I honestly cannot believe these people are talking about NU. I am a military veteran, and I have been working on my degree off and on since I graduated HS in 2001!! I have attended 3 Jr. colleges and one state university in 4 different states (always moved before earning degree) and NU has truly been the best experience I have ever had. Most of my college credits were accepted and applied to my degree. I have not had a problem with financial aid, all of my instructors have been helpful, encouraging and very knowledgeable. My advisor is absolutely AMAZING and has been so patient with me and very motivating. I am a stay at home mom with 2 kids and a husband who is active duty in the AF. We lead very busy lives but I still find the time to do my work and the work is CHALLENGING! Lot's of reading, writing and researching. Not a diploma mill, you truly earn your degree at NU. I highly recommend this school for anyone who needs personal attention from advisors and professors during your educational pursuits.

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
Great School!
Management - June 6, 2013
I ended up at NU after finding out I was .5 of a unit short in transferring to SDSU after already getting an acceptance letter. POINT FIVE! I was crushed when my acceptance was withdrawn. I was still able to take a course at SDSU for a semester while being enrolled in units at my community college so I did get to sample SDSU as a school. After completing my .5 of a unit, I had a change of heart and decided that with the crowding situation at state I may be there for another 3 years instead of my preferred 2 years. I decided to look into NU but had doubts because of rumors that it was a diploma mill. I was lucky to have an acquaintance as an advisor and I was blunt about my concerns about diploma mills. He educated me that NU is a non-profit and private university that is accredited by WASC which is the same accreditor for SDSU. All classes could transfer from NU to SDSU without any issues if I should change my mind again. I chose to complete my education at NU with a BA in Management and concentration in HRM. I could not be happier with my experience. I was working full-time so I took a handful of my courses online and have never worked so hard in previous schools as I have at NU. Keep in mind I am an A and B student and always have been, anything below is unacceptable in my book. I've had courses where I had 4 papers, 4 quizzes, 4 discussions, 4 live chats, a midterm, final and a whole lot of reading all in 4 weeks! It was much tougher than the course at SDSU I experienced. However, this is not the school for you if you are straight out of high school and looking for campus life and community. This is for people who are looking to put aside the BS and get straight to the point. I just graduated recently and am thrilled! Commencement was an amazing experience and everyone was very proud of their accomplishments after working so hard. I noticed some concerns about NU's financial and academic advisors. However, I hope my story shows that this is not unique to NU. As a student and an adult, it is up to you to make sure your requirements are met. I looked over my own units and went to TWO advisors on multiple occasions at my community college and the .5 of a unit was overlooked by everyone. I would have to wait another year just to attend SDSU and would probably have to spend 3 years there due to budget cuts. I am so happy that there are other options out there. As a student, remember you must check, re-check, and check again! If something still gets messed up in the process, the good news is you have options! I am now looking into getting my MA in HRM and National University is at the top of the list of schools I am considering. I hope this review finds everyone well! As the President stated at commencement: NU may make it a little easier to get in, but you are going to have to work your way out!

7 of 16 people found the following review helpful
Not What Education should be about
Administrative Services Credential - May 1, 2013
If you just want a diploma mill, then this university is for you. The institution is all about the almighty dollar. They will milk you for every penny they can get out of you. Coming from schools that actually cared about their students, this was a difficult transition. I was able to get my required credential to move on, but the experience left a bad taste in my mouth. Not what education should be about.

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
MBA - International Business
MBA International Business - March 5, 2013
The MBA with a specialization in International Business is an excellent program. I am amazed at how much I learned and retained. The teachers are thorough and very much engaged.

12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
They Lie
Pre Law - January 16, 2013
From the first day I entered their facility I was lied to. I was told that I only needed a certain number of classes to graduate and they DOUBLED it on me half way through my education. They have this thing they call "Upper Division General Ed". General Ed is for junior college not getting your BA. They also lied and told me that a certain class would fulfill more than one of their general ed requirements, and then they went back on their word. And of course, shockingly, when I was ready to graduate, they were waiting in the wings and told me that I didn't earn enough credits at NU and had to take yet another class. Of course, because I was supposed to graduate in June, this extra class didn't happen until August, and what do you know, financial aid stops in June. So they tell me to reapply for the next school year, I jump through all those hoops only to get a nasty collection call telling me that I have to have 13.5 units to qualify for financial aid. Why did they tell me to apply if I wasn't going to qualify? Because they lie, and cheat, and steal and they aren't happy unless they are making someone else miserable. Do not go to this school, they treat you like a number not a person and all they care about is getting as much money as possible from you.

Read all 33 National University reviews...


Read all 33 reviews...

Write a National University Review

Learn More about National University

Learn More about National University

Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%

Old Comments

Nov. 8, 2010, 1:16 p.m.
-1 vote/
Hi Leona,
Excellent choice to attend National University. NU is a great place. You will find answers to your post on National University's facebook. There are advisors and students that can help you.

Good Luck
Oct. 22, 2010, 11:34 a.m.
-1 vote/
I think the best way to find info is to talk to NU current and former students on National University's facebook.
Oct. 3, 2010, 8:43 p.m.
-1 vote/
Does anyone know anything about the Environmental Science and Policy degree from National University? I would also like to find out the success rate and how many people graduate with this particular degree? I am looking into getting an Environmental Science degree and want to know if NU would be the right choice.
Nov. 1, 2010, 4:59 a.m.
0 votes/
Hello, I am a military spouse and I would like to know more about NU's online class format and the work load. I saw the online tutorial, which seem wonderful and simple with applicable class lessons on video, lectures that are audio, class discussion board requirements, a midterm and final. Are videos and audio lectures provided for every course? I am currently a student at UMUC and Davenport University online and some face to face classes with UMUC-Asia (science courses), so I am not afraid to work hard. I am concerned that the course load may be overwhelming since each course is only 4 weeks, whereas my current courses online are 7 and 10 weeks. Are there tons of papers to write within a short time period? If so what is the typical paper page min.? I am interested in the Bachelor of Science in Allied Health, so if anyone is currently in this program please give any advice and information you may have. Current students and alumni please join in with your guidance too. Thank you all in advance.
Sept. 27, 2010, 10:18 a.m.
0 votes/
Sept. 12, 2010, 1:22 p.m.
+1 vote/
People, let me tell you all the truth. Do not listen to those who failed their academics. They don't tell the truth and make stuff up. For my undergraduate I attended SDSU and those who failed called it "party school". I then attended National University for my graduate. National University is the BEST out there for working people. I was very happy with my program.
Sept. 12, 2010, 12:57 p.m.
0 votes/
I don't know what are you talking about?? How did you came up with them charging students with $50.000 for an online degree? I graduated from NU and I wasn't charged that much. Did you attend NU? Or it just he said/she said?? NU is private and they must have good markting strategy. Did you have a degree plan to follow??
Sept. 9, 2010, 2 a.m.
-2 votes/
need to know it that a good college to go to and also to meet great people
Nov. 7, 2012, 1:43 p.m.
-3 votes/
This school is a freaking rip off! To even apply to their stupid school they have a $60 fee that they dont tell you about til you are already halfway into applying. I didnt even finish applying for that reason and now I have an email sent from them saying I have a payment that is 60 days past. They are only interested in your money and dont even have the program that I want to pursue. This school is a POS school. 
Aug. 16, 2012, 11:21 p.m.
+1 vote/
I graduated NU with a MA degree in teaching in 2011.  It was a good move for me, as I am interested in autism.  The grades at NU were hard to come by, but I got a 3.75 GPA.  The key is to understand the books and keep up with the reading.  The semester is only 4 weeks, so you can't slack off.  National taught me the basics of education for autistic students and I am now pursuing a PhD in Epidemiology as a direct result of my positive experiences with NU.  If you are motivated and WANT to learn, I recommend it.  If you are one of those nitpickers that complains about every single assignment, go somewhere else or better yet just save your money.  National is a real school and online learning is hard. I have 2 BS degrees and a Doctorate from Brick/Mortar schools.  Considering the subject matter, the MA was just as rigid, in some cases MORE rigid, than the undergrad work I did elsewhere.  I also did some B/M graduate classes that were a joke.  This study was thorough and when you got through with it, you knew your stuff.  
July 18, 2012, 1:51 a.m.
0 votes/
Has anybody taken the online degree program with teaching credential through Bakersfield campus??  If so,  what did you think?
July 3, 2012, 12:06 p.m.
0 votes/
To answer some points raised in reviews:
1. NU is non-profit, at least on paper.
2. I've heard of state schools with biased instructors, those who would only give good grades if you agree with them.  Probably happens everywhere.
June 4, 2012, 4:49 p.m.
+1 vote/
HI! May I ask, which is campus is better? San Diego or Los Angeles?
Dec. 17, 2011, 10:08 a.m.
0 votes/
Excellent school!  Just finished my first course online and found it challenging yet extremely worthwhile!  I have a masters degree from another school and NU is much better.
Oct. 17, 2011, 10:12 p.m.
+1 vote/
I earned my teaching credential and Masters through National University.  The classes were easy, expensive, and unbelievably slanted in a liberal direction (especially in the Master courses)  but we all know people deal with this for speed and convenience.  The reason I rated it so low is because they have no honor.  They misinformed me repeatedly about the APLE program and in the end it cost me roughly $6000.  I explained it several times, went through the better BBB and they would not own up to their error.  I asked them to split the difference with me and they refused.  They made over $20,000 from my time there and would not own up to what would have amounted to a $3,000 mistake.  My experience has been shared with everyone I know in education and now all of you and I am sure it has cost them more than the $3000 they cheated me out of. 
Sept. 24, 2011, 3:15 p.m.
+1 vote/
Gucci, NU has all the good accreditations and has been around for a long time, any grad school would accept them.
Sept. 24, 2011, 2:23 a.m.
0 votes/
Hi, Im interested in the Bachelors in Pre-Law through National University, has anyone here took that major? Also, I want to apply to grad and/or law school would it be possible if I attend this institution? Thanks.
Sept. 19, 2011, 6:54 p.m.
0 votes/
About the same as a middle-ranked state university.
Sept. 19, 2011, 5:21 p.m.
-1 vote/
Lots of misinformation out there. Here are the facts about NU:
-Regionally accredited since 1977 (WASC).
-Has physical campuses.
-Not for profit.
March 28, 2011, 5:30 a.m.
-1 vote/
I would like to make a post for those veterans on active or soon getting out and planning to use there benefits to attend a school of higher learning. I do not recommend National University In La Jolla, Ca. I received very poor if not horrible treatment by the veterans office there. It was so bad I had to look somewhere else. They would not get back to me in a timely manner and made me feel as if I was a pest to be rid of. To make a long story short. Something that took them months to get back to me on and still not taken care of. Was done in two days by another schools VA office. I doubt they will address these issues for our future brother and sister Vet-applicants. Think twice before applying to that school, consider your selves forewarned.
March 2, 2011, 7:07 p.m.
0 votes/
I will be graduating with my BA in Criminal Justice from American Military University this year and am interested in NU's Master's in Human Behavior Studies. There are no local colleges in New Mexico which offer a similar program so I am forced to pursue an online degree...or sell my house and relocate which isn't going to happen. I intend to enroll in a brick and mortar school for my doctoral studies thereafter. Can anyone give me some solid advice as to whether or not NU is a good choice and if the degree will hold weight when I apply for a doctoral program? I have been satisfied with my online undergrad studies and am nervous about going to a different school for my Masters. However, my current school does not offer such a program.  
Dec. 31, 2010, 12:23 p.m.
0 votes/
National University is one of the best college's for none traditional students. No complaints at all. I know many people who could not make it through complained about this institution. 
Sept. 5, 2010, 11:38 p.m.
0 votes/
They engage in shameless marketing and self-promotion and have no standards.  They hide under the non-profit flag but they are crooks charging almost $50,000 for an online degree for a tier 4 school.  They spend a ton of this money on marketing instead of instruction - all over the radio and Internet like Phoenix and Kraplan.  National University is shameful.
Sept. 5, 2010, 1:28 p.m.
0 votes/
Hello CA,

At National University classes are intensive you need to do your work on daily bases. There are midterms and finals for each class. But it depends on who is teaching and what class you’re taking. You could also be requiring to do research papers. Almost each class I was enrolled I had to do one research paper. There could be in class individual or group presentation as well but again all this will depend on your major and who is the instructor for that particular class. For on-line option, students usually post threaded discussions, short weekly quizzes (sometimes), term paper, journey, power point presentation (sometimes), midterm and final.  It is just like any other 4 years college you attend except it is fast tract. Check National University’s facebook if you’re interested. You could get more information from current and former students. I personally had great experience and I really loved it.
Sept. 2, 2010, 10:12 p.m.
0 votes/
I am highly interested in taking classes through NU.. 
Can anyone give me a heads up on what the classes are like..for example, is there tests every week, midterm, final?
Is stats hard to take in 4 weeks? I am planning on taking it this year, so i just  want to make sure i know what im getting myself into.
thank you! : )
Aug. 30, 2010, 1:28 p.m.
0 votes/
National University, San Diego was great experience for me. If you want any future question to be answer check National University's Facebook. NU gave me the opportunity that no other school in my area could offer. I was enrolled in combined program (on-line and on campus). I loved it.
Aug. 27, 2010, 8:03 a.m.
0 votes/
Great place for graduate education
Aug. 26, 2010, 11:24 a.m.
0 votes/
GO NATIONAL UNIVERSITY. It is the best out there for busy people who want to continue their education dreams.
Aug. 23, 2010, 12:24 p.m.
0 votes/
I received my bachelor of science in financial management from National University. It was great experience to attend National University. Why spend over 40,000 on a degree if you can get it faster and cheaper at National University. These days many people can’t just offered to attend top ranking schools because of state budget cut, family, relocation costs, job and most importantly debit.  We are entering new technology era and National University made it possible for busy working people to achieve their education needs on-line and on campus. THANK YOU NATIONAL UNIVERSITY.
Aug. 21, 2010, 6:21 a.m.
0 votes/

What are you specializing in your M.A. in History? What are your plans after receiving your degree?
Aug. 20, 2010, 2:37 a.m.
0 votes/
I am currently in my eighth course in the M.A. History program at National University.  Overall I have been very satisfied with the level of instruction and the support that I have received from the instructors.

The cost at National is not inexpensive compared to public Universities, but is a bargain compared to other private schools.  My M.A. program will run me around $18,000, more or less, (tuition went up this month) but an M.A. from a school such as the University of San Diego, or USC, is about $30,000.

Viewed from that perspective, the cost at National University is a very reasonable.  

The majority of my instructors have been very knowledgeable regarding their subjects, and have been very good about feedback and response times.  So far I have no regrets about choosing National for my online graduate degree.  It fits my life situation perfectly.
Aug. 16, 2010, 11:55 a.m.
0 votes/
Yes go for it. National University is the best out there for none traditional and busy students. I graduated from National University in 2007 and went back to get my master. Great place for those who like to read a lot and enjoy doing homework.
Aug. 13, 2010, 10:04 a.m.
0 votes/
Is National University worth attending?
July 26, 2010, 9:16 a.m.
0 votes/
Thanks to all of your helpful comments. Most people look for brand name universities to attend. It will be the good option for those who have time and money to make it through. Typically, students who attended selective schools disapprove those who attended less selective institutions and so on. I know people who are very successful graduated from low ranked schools and I know people who graduated from top tiers yet can’t find a job or are trapped in lower management. School ranking these days is about profits. Ranking at Top Tier, would be excellent instrument to attract parents and students to pay the big $$$ for attending at these institutions. Please search for article by Lynn O'Shaughnessy, Aug 20, 2009 “Why US News’ College Rankings Are a Joke” On CBS
If you look at any employer job announcement (education requirement) they don’t mention anything about “Degree earned from TOP TIER COLLEGES” but rather from REGIONALLY ACCREDITED INSTITUTION.
July 26, 2010, 12:31 a.m.
0 votes/
The truth is that we are obsessed with college rankings. A college is more selective than another college does not necessarily mean that it is a BETTER college. National University (NU) is all in one, brick and mortar, online and hybrid and regionally accredited by WASC. I attended public school but I heard positive viewpoints from various people about NU. I am planning to pursue my graduate degree at NU. If you read about any university review you will find Negatives and Positives views. Those who failed and couldn’t make it will COMPLAIN. However, anyone who made it will SHINE about it. Almost all NU professors have PhDs in their field from very good universities. I even know some teaches San Diego State University as well. There are people out there who don’t like these nontraditional schools because it is taking away their profit and business. National University has the same regional accreditation as Cal states and UC system, The Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC). Regional accreditation is what matter if you are looking for good schools. National University is not for everyone. You have to know your needs and objectives. If (pop+ mom= rich) are paying for everything then attend IN or OUT of state selective/ Ivy League schools. If you want to party and get drunk every night then you should search for schools that are famous in this area. However, if you have full time job, children and family obligation then National University would be more convenience for you. (Jerry Sanders (BPA, 1988) current Mayor of San Diego County, Calif, (Adolfo Gonzales (BPA, 1986) current National City, Calif Police Chief and (David Bejarano (BBA, 1983) current City of Chula Vista, Calif Police Chief have been National University graduates.
July 25, 2010, 11:49 p.m.
0 votes/
National University is growing rapidly and it’s becoming more convenience for many people these days. Because of budget cut and etc., getting accepted into A public school is very difficult especially in CA. I don’t want to compare and contrast schools but there are many bad and good schools out there. Know what you want to study and what are you paying for. I went to top (tier 1) 110 ranked private Catholic graduate school. I was paying around $1200 per ONE credit. I later discovered that National University has A similar teaching method. I believe National University is best if you want to purse graduate degree.
Feb. 16, 2010, 11:45 p.m.
0 votes/
I would recommend National over just about anyone if you want to get a teaching credential.  Something like 25% of the licensed teachers in California came through NU, and there must be a reason for it.
Sept. 26, 2009, 11:39 p.m.
0 votes/

Let's put is this way, I wouldn't recommend UoP to anyone!
Sept. 26, 2009, 5:21 a.m.
0 votes/
Would you recommend National University over University of Phoenix?  I am going back to school to complete my undergraduate classes and obtain a teaching credential.
Aug. 14, 2009, 8:08 a.m.
0 votes/
I only took a few undergraduate courses for transfer from one of their Los Angeles satellite campuses, but they were good courses.  The instructors I had were very knowledgeable, handled the classes well and responded to questions promptly. I had no particular issues with any administration people. I see from the various posts, the admin seems to be a problem.

All of my units transferred with no problem and I motored on down the road at UCONN...........where I was a small fish in a very large bowl. Same textbooks, different treatment.

NU gets an A- from me.
Aug. 14, 2009, 12:08 a.m.
0 votes/
An excellent University if you are comfortable reading (a lot) and writing.  There is no pablum here, or support system for those who are not self disciplined.  Many matriculate only to fail at the research and Thesis stage due to a general inability to write to publishable standards. Professors are mostly credentialed experts in their fields.

Overall: A-
June 20, 2009, 5:27 a.m.
+1 vote/
been thinking of going to national university..all i hear so far is good things which is not common on this site for a lot of the other online school..
Sept. 26, 2008, 1:12 p.m.
0 votes/
I earned four degrees (an undergraduate [BPA-CJ] and three [MA/HRM, MA/MGT, & MPA] graduate) from National University while stationed in San Diego, CA. with the U.S. Navy in the early to mid 1990s. Ivy League it's not, but a solid education it is. Ninety-five percent of my Instructors were working professionals who brought great experience to the classroom; approximately 50% had earned terminal degrees. Five percent of the Instructors were, well, not so great, but I think that's the nature of any educational institution; however, now were malicious. My National University experience allowed me to later pursue a MBA in finance, and later an Ed.D in Organizational Leadership from reputable regionally accredited brick and mortar schools. I now have my own LLC, teach undergraduate and graduate studies as an adjunct at two universities in multiple academic disciplines, and attempt to give my students all the support and learning opportunities I was given by NU Instructors and Staff. Like most things in life, you get out of only what you put into any endeavor. National University was a great starting point for me and it has served me well.
July 22, 2007, 4:14 a.m.
0 votes/
I took 3 courses in their MS Software Engineering back in 2004. 2 were a joke and 1 was good and tough.
May 17, 2007, 8:09 p.m.
0 votes/
Great site.
May 15, 2007, 5:36 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi. Great site. is not affiliated with National University in any way.