National University

National University is a regionally accredited school based in Southern California. The school has satellite campuses throughout California and in Nevada, and it also offers degrees online. Distance learners choose from scores of degree options in the School of Business and Management, the School of Education, and other university departments.

Accreditation: Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges and Universities of the Western Association of Schools and Colleges
Non-Profit: Yes
Country: USA

Learn More about National University

Programs:

Read all 31 reviews...

Write a National University Review

Reivew Averages: 6.5 out of 10 (31 reviews)


Learn More about National University


National University Reviews:

13 of 39 people found the following review helpful
A Degradation of an American College Education
July 27, 2011
I can say with confidence - and can back with plenty of evidence (I am writing a book on this topic) - that National University (NU) represents everything wrong about the for-profit model and the subsequent degradation of the American college education. I recently graduated with a MS in Information System, 3.9 GPA and "Honors" Capstone. In my evaluation of the school (part of the graduation process), I gave failing grades in nearly every category. ... [Read more]

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
MA English
September 5, 2011
I completed my MA English degree at National a few months ago and I am very pleased with the entire program. The rigor, choice of courses, and the faculty were fantastic. I did not have a flaw in the program. I was worried about the thesis process, but the program has a very supportive process that put me at ease. However, be prepared to work very hard and do a lot of reading and writing. ... [Read more]

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
Happy online student
September 12, 2009
This is my third course at NU and in case you're wondering this is REAL school. I have two B&M degrees and I have to work much harder in my NU program just to make the grade than I ever had to in my prior schools. Be prepared to do a lot of reading and a lot of writing. Discussions are either once or twice/week depending on a professor and you are required to give ... [Read more]

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
BA Interdisciplinary Studies
February 18, 2012
I transferred from a California community college and completed my BA Interdisciplinary Studies at National and found my experience to be very good. The courses were very good and my professors (except a couple) were also very qualified in their subject. I found that when I had a question or a concern, my advisor was always available to helpful. Sometimes I thought I was a bother with all of my questions, but the advisor never ... [Read more]

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
National University - Masters of Arts- English Lit
June 24, 2008
An outstanding program. I expected a diploma mill, but was pleasently surprised to find the professors challenged me in every course. Brick-and-mortor and on-line classes available, I completed mine entirely on-line. Instruction was engaging and insightful. Thesis work was also challenging, however my advisor was very helpful throughout the process. [Read more]

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
Excellent
April 16, 2008
Excellent from start to finish! I received my MA in English from National University. The professors were great, and the material was very challenging. I encourage you to consider this university. [Read more]

9 of 19 people found the following review helpful
False Advertising
November 20, 2007
National University promises superior level of education, compassion, mutual respect, encouragement, support within classroom walls, facilitate educational access & academic excellence through exceptional management of operations. I did not receive any of the above mentioned they promised. The instructor did not provide any info on how to submit assignments but reserved the right to take points off which does not promote academic excellence nor it is superior level of education. When questioned about it, he ... [Read more]

Read all 31 National University reviews...



Learn More about National University



Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Old Comments

Nov. 8, 2010, 1:16 p.m.
-1 vote/
Hi Leona,
Excellent choice to attend National University. NU is a great place. You will find answers to your post on National University's facebook. There are advisors and students that can help you.

Good Luck
Oct. 22, 2010, 11:34 a.m.
-1 vote/
JT,
I think the best way to find info is to talk to NU current and former students on National University's facebook.
Oct. 3, 2010, 8:43 p.m.
-1 vote/
Does anyone know anything about the Environmental Science and Policy degree from National University? I would also like to find out the success rate and how many people graduate with this particular degree? I am looking into getting an Environmental Science degree and want to know if NU would be the right choice.
Nov. 1, 2010, 4:59 a.m.
0 votes/
Hello, I am a military spouse and I would like to know more about NU's online class format and the work load. I saw the online tutorial, which seem wonderful and simple with applicable class lessons on video, lectures that are audio, class discussion board requirements, a midterm and final. Are videos and audio lectures provided for every course? I am currently a student at UMUC and Davenport University online and some face to face classes with UMUC-Asia (science courses), so I am not afraid to work hard. I am concerned that the course load may be overwhelming since each course is only 4 weeks, whereas my current courses online are 7 and 10 weeks. Are there tons of papers to write within a short time period? If so what is the typical paper page min.? I am interested in the Bachelor of Science in Allied Health, so if anyone is currently in this program please give any advice and information you may have. Current students and alumni please join in with your guidance too. Thank you all in advance.
Sept. 27, 2010, 10:18 a.m.
0 votes/
NATIONAL UNIVERSITY IS THE BEST PLACE TO ATTEND.
Sept. 12, 2010, 1:22 p.m.
+1 vote/
People, let me tell you all the truth. Do not listen to those who failed their academics. They don't tell the truth and make stuff up. For my undergraduate I attended SDSU and those who failed called it "party school". I then attended National University for my graduate. National University is the BEST out there for working people. I was very happy with my program.
Sept. 12, 2010, 12:57 p.m.
0 votes/
Joe,
I don't know what are you talking about?? How did you came up with them charging students with $50.000 for an online degree? I graduated from NU and I wasn't charged that much. Did you attend NU? Or it just he said/she said?? NU is private and they must have good markting strategy. Did you have a degree plan to follow??
Sept. 9, 2010, 2 a.m.
-2 votes/
need to know it that a good college to go to and also to meet great people
Nov. 7, 2012, 1:43 p.m.
-2 votes/
This school is a freaking rip off! To even apply to their stupid school they have a $60 fee that they dont tell you about til you are already halfway into applying. I didnt even finish applying for that reason and now I have an email sent from them saying I have a payment that is 60 days past. They are only interested in your money and dont even have the program that I want to pursue. This school is a POS school. 
Aug. 16, 2012, 11:21 p.m.
+1 vote/
I graduated NU with a MA degree in teaching in 2011.  It was a good move for me, as I am interested in autism.  The grades at NU were hard to come by, but I got a 3.75 GPA.  The key is to understand the books and keep up with the reading.  The semester is only 4 weeks, so you can't slack off.  National taught me the basics of education for autistic students and I am now pursuing a PhD in Epidemiology as a direct result of my positive experiences with NU.  If you are motivated and WANT to learn, I recommend it.  If you are one of those nitpickers that complains about every single assignment, go somewhere else or better yet just save your money.  National is a real school and online learning is hard. I have 2 BS degrees and a Doctorate from Brick/Mortar schools.  Considering the subject matter, the MA was just as rigid, in some cases MORE rigid, than the undergrad work I did elsewhere.  I also did some B/M graduate classes that were a joke.  This study was thorough and when you got through with it, you knew your stuff.  
July 18, 2012, 1:51 a.m.
0 votes/
Has anybody taken the online degree program with teaching credential through Bakersfield campus??  If so,  what did you think?
July 3, 2012, 12:06 p.m.
0 votes/
To answer some points raised in reviews:
1. NU is non-profit, at least on paper.
2. I've heard of state schools with biased instructors, those who would only give good grades if you agree with them.  Probably happens everywhere.
June 4, 2012, 4:49 p.m.
0 votes/
HI! May I ask, which is campus is better? San Diego or Los Angeles?
Dec. 17, 2011, 10:08 a.m.
0 votes/
Excellent school!  Just finished my first course online and found it challenging yet extremely worthwhile!  I have a masters degree from another school and NU is much better.
Oct. 17, 2011, 10:12 p.m.
+1 vote/
I earned my teaching credential and Masters through National University.  The classes were easy, expensive, and unbelievably slanted in a liberal direction (especially in the Master courses)  but we all know people deal with this for speed and convenience.  The reason I rated it so low is because they have no honor.  They misinformed me repeatedly about the APLE program and in the end it cost me roughly $6000.  I explained it several times, went through the better BBB and they would not own up to their error.  I asked them to split the difference with me and they refused.  They made over $20,000 from my time there and would not own up to what would have amounted to a $3,000 mistake.  My experience has been shared with everyone I know in education and now all of you and I am sure it has cost them more than the $3000 they cheated me out of. 
Sept. 24, 2011, 3:15 p.m.
+1 vote/
Gucci, NU has all the good accreditations and has been around for a long time, any grad school would accept them.
Sept. 24, 2011, 2:23 a.m.
0 votes/
Hi, Im interested in the Bachelors in Pre-Law through National University, has anyone here took that major? Also, I want to apply to grad and/or law school would it be possible if I attend this institution? Thanks.
Sept. 19, 2011, 6:54 p.m.
0 votes/
About the same as a middle-ranked state university.
Sept. 19, 2011, 5:21 p.m.
-1 vote/
Lots of misinformation out there. Here are the facts about NU:
-Regionally accredited since 1977 (WASC).
-Has physical campuses.
-Not for profit.
March 28, 2011, 5:30 a.m.
-1 vote/
I would like to make a post for those veterans on active or soon getting out and planning to use there benefits to attend a school of higher learning. I do not recommend National University In La Jolla, Ca. I received very poor if not horrible treatment by the veterans office there. It was so bad I had to look somewhere else. They would not get back to me in a timely manner and made me feel as if I was a pest to be rid of. To make a long story short. Something that took them months to get back to me on and still not taken care of. Was done in two days by another schools VA office. I doubt they will address these issues for our future brother and sister Vet-applicants. Think twice before applying to that school, consider your selves forewarned.
March 2, 2011, 7:07 p.m.
0 votes/
I will be graduating with my BA in Criminal Justice from American Military University this year and am interested in NU's Master's in Human Behavior Studies. There are no local colleges in New Mexico which offer a similar program so I am forced to pursue an online degree...or sell my house and relocate which isn't going to happen. I intend to enroll in a brick and mortar school for my doctoral studies thereafter. Can anyone give me some solid advice as to whether or not NU is a good choice and if the degree will hold weight when I apply for a doctoral program? I have been satisfied with my online undergrad studies and am nervous about going to a different school for my Masters. However, my current school does not offer such a program.  
Dec. 31, 2010, 12:23 p.m.
0 votes/
National University is one of the best college's for none traditional students. No complaints at all. I know many people who could not make it through complained about this institution. 
Sept. 5, 2010, 11:38 p.m.
0 votes/
They engage in shameless marketing and self-promotion and have no standards.  They hide under the non-profit flag but they are crooks charging almost $50,000 for an online degree for a tier 4 school.  They spend a ton of this money on marketing instead of instruction - all over the radio and Internet like Phoenix and Kraplan.  National University is shameful.
Sept. 5, 2010, 1:28 p.m.
0 votes/
Hello CA,

At National University classes are intensive you need to do your work on daily bases. There are midterms and finals for each class. But it depends on who is teaching and what class you’re taking. You could also be requiring to do research papers. Almost each class I was enrolled I had to do one research paper. There could be in class individual or group presentation as well but again all this will depend on your major and who is the instructor for that particular class. For on-line option, students usually post threaded discussions, short weekly quizzes (sometimes), term paper, journey, power point presentation (sometimes), midterm and final.  It is just like any other 4 years college you attend except it is fast tract. Check National University’s facebook if you’re interested. You could get more information from current and former students. I personally had great experience and I really loved it.
Sept. 2, 2010, 10:12 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi..
I am highly interested in taking classes through NU.. 
Can anyone give me a heads up on what the classes are like..for example, is there tests every week, midterm, final?
Is stats hard to take in 4 weeks? I am planning on taking it this year, so i just  want to make sure i know what im getting myself into.
thank you! : )
Aug. 30, 2010, 1:28 p.m.
0 votes/
National University, San Diego was great experience for me. If you want any future question to be answer check National University's Facebook. NU gave me the opportunity that no other school in my area could offer. I was enrolled in combined program (on-line and on campus). I loved it.
Aug. 27, 2010, 8:03 a.m.
0 votes/
Great place for graduate education
Aug. 26, 2010, 11:24 a.m.
0 votes/
GO NATIONAL UNIVERSITY. It is the best out there for busy people who want to continue their education dreams.
Aug. 23, 2010, 12:24 p.m.
0 votes/
I received my bachelor of science in financial management from National University. It was great experience to attend National University. Why spend over 40,000 on a degree if you can get it faster and cheaper at National University. These days many people can’t just offered to attend top ranking schools because of state budget cut, family, relocation costs, job and most importantly debit.  We are entering new technology era and National University made it possible for busy working people to achieve their education needs on-line and on campus. THANK YOU NATIONAL UNIVERSITY.
Aug. 21, 2010, 6:21 a.m.
0 votes/
Peter,

What are you specializing in your M.A. in History? What are your plans after receiving your degree?
Aug. 20, 2010, 2:37 a.m.
0 votes/
I am currently in my eighth course in the M.A. History program at National University.  Overall I have been very satisfied with the level of instruction and the support that I have received from the instructors.

The cost at National is not inexpensive compared to public Universities, but is a bargain compared to other private schools.  My M.A. program will run me around $18,000, more or less, (tuition went up this month) but an M.A. from a school such as the University of San Diego, or USC, is about $30,000.

Viewed from that perspective, the cost at National University is a very reasonable.  

The majority of my instructors have been very knowledgeable regarding their subjects, and have been very good about feedback and response times.  So far I have no regrets about choosing National for my online graduate degree.  It fits my life situation perfectly.
Aug. 16, 2010, 11:55 a.m.
0 votes/
Hello:
Yes go for it. National University is the best out there for none traditional and busy students. I graduated from National University in 2007 and went back to get my master. Great place for those who like to read a lot and enjoy doing homework.
Aug. 13, 2010, 10:04 a.m.
0 votes/
Is National University worth attending?
July 26, 2010, 9:16 a.m.
0 votes/
Thanks to all of your helpful comments. Most people look for brand name universities to attend. It will be the good option for those who have time and money to make it through. Typically, students who attended selective schools disapprove those who attended less selective institutions and so on. I know people who are very successful graduated from low ranked schools and I know people who graduated from top tiers yet can’t find a job or are trapped in lower management. School ranking these days is about profits. Ranking at Top Tier, would be excellent instrument to attract parents and students to pay the big $$$ for attending at these institutions. Please search for article by Lynn O'Shaughnessy, Aug 20, 2009 “Why US News’ College Rankings Are a Joke” On CBS moneywatch.com
If you look at any employer job announcement (education requirement) they don’t mention anything about “Degree earned from TOP TIER COLLEGES” but rather from REGIONALLY ACCREDITED INSTITUTION.
July 26, 2010, 12:31 a.m.
0 votes/
The truth is that we are obsessed with college rankings. A college is more selective than another college does not necessarily mean that it is a BETTER college. National University (NU) is all in one, brick and mortar, online and hybrid and regionally accredited by WASC. I attended public school but I heard positive viewpoints from various people about NU. I am planning to pursue my graduate degree at NU. If you read about any university review you will find Negatives and Positives views. Those who failed and couldn’t make it will COMPLAIN. However, anyone who made it will SHINE about it. Almost all NU professors have PhDs in their field from very good universities. I even know some teaches San Diego State University as well. There are people out there who don’t like these nontraditional schools because it is taking away their profit and business. National University has the same regional accreditation as Cal states and UC system, The Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC). Regional accreditation is what matter if you are looking for good schools. National University is not for everyone. You have to know your needs and objectives. If (pop+ mom= rich) are paying for everything then attend IN or OUT of state selective/ Ivy League schools. If you want to party and get drunk every night then you should search for schools that are famous in this area. However, if you have full time job, children and family obligation then National University would be more convenience for you. (Jerry Sanders (BPA, 1988) current Mayor of San Diego County, Calif, (Adolfo Gonzales (BPA, 1986) current National City, Calif Police Chief and (David Bejarano (BBA, 1983) current City of Chula Vista, Calif Police Chief have been National University graduates.
July 25, 2010, 11:49 p.m.
0 votes/
National University is growing rapidly and it’s becoming more convenience for many people these days. Because of budget cut and etc., getting accepted into A public school is very difficult especially in CA. I don’t want to compare and contrast schools but there are many bad and good schools out there. Know what you want to study and what are you paying for. I went to top (tier 1) 110 ranked private Catholic graduate school. I was paying around $1200 per ONE credit. I later discovered that National University has A similar teaching method. I believe National University is best if you want to purse graduate degree.
Feb. 16, 2010, 11:45 p.m.
0 votes/
I would recommend National over just about anyone if you want to get a teaching credential.  Something like 25% of the licensed teachers in California came through NU, and there must be a reason for it.
Sept. 26, 2009, 11:39 p.m.
0 votes/
Michelle:

Let's put is this way, I wouldn't recommend UoP to anyone!
Sept. 26, 2009, 5:21 a.m.
0 votes/
Would you recommend National University over University of Phoenix?  I am going back to school to complete my undergraduate classes and obtain a teaching credential.
Aug. 14, 2009, 8:08 a.m.
0 votes/
I only took a few undergraduate courses for transfer from one of their Los Angeles satellite campuses, but they were good courses.  The instructors I had were very knowledgeable, handled the classes well and responded to questions promptly. I had no particular issues with any administration people. I see from the various posts, the admin seems to be a problem.

All of my units transferred with no problem and I motored on down the road at UCONN...........where I was a small fish in a very large bowl. Same textbooks, different treatment.

NU gets an A- from me.
Aug. 14, 2009, 12:08 a.m.
0 votes/
An excellent University if you are comfortable reading (a lot) and writing.  There is no pablum here, or support system for those who are not self disciplined.  Many matriculate only to fail at the research and Thesis stage due to a general inability to write to publishable standards. Professors are mostly credentialed experts in their fields.

Overall: A-
June 20, 2009, 5:27 a.m.
0 votes/
been thinking of going to national university..all i hear so far is good things which is not common on this site for a lot of the other online school..
Sept. 26, 2008, 1:12 p.m.
0 votes/
I earned four degrees (an undergraduate [BPA-CJ] and three [MA/HRM, MA/MGT, & MPA] graduate) from National University while stationed in San Diego, CA. with the U.S. Navy in the early to mid 1990s. Ivy League it's not, but a solid education it is. Ninety-five percent of my Instructors were working professionals who brought great experience to the classroom; approximately 50% had earned terminal degrees. Five percent of the Instructors were, well, not so great, but I think that's the nature of any educational institution; however, now were malicious. My National University experience allowed me to later pursue a MBA in finance, and later an Ed.D in Organizational Leadership from reputable regionally accredited brick and mortar schools. I now have my own LLC, teach undergraduate and graduate studies as an adjunct at two universities in multiple academic disciplines, and attempt to give my students all the support and learning opportunities I was given by NU Instructors and Staff. Like most things in life, you get out of only what you put into any endeavor. National University was a great starting point for me and it has served me well.
July 22, 2007, 4:14 a.m.
0 votes/
I took 3 courses in their MS Software Engineering back in 2004. 2 were a joke and 1 was good and tough.
May 17, 2007, 8:09 p.m.
0 votes/
Great site.
May 15, 2007, 5:36 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi. Great site.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with National University in any way.