Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

New York Institute of Technology-Ellis College

3.2
44 Reviews
5 10 
4 11 
3 6 
2 12 
1 5 
0 0 

New York Institute of Technology-Ellis College Reviews:

Credits not needed and scammed out of more money

Interdisciplinary - September 4, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is a joke right?! How many of you had to take an extra math science, and english class after having entered the school with an Associates in Science and an Associates in Arts degree. The college made me take their Human Anatony and Business English courses among others to complete my degree. I had to take an additional 30 plus credits. The school allowed me to enroll in 3 classes at a time. They certified my PRIVATE student loan with my mother as a coaigner who made 10 dollars an hour. I recieved a 40k loan and gave them the money upfront for my tuition. Plus they took out federal loans in addition to that loan. Today i am still in defauly on that private loan which is now at 120k. This school has ruined my life......i was young and niave and they took advantage of me .I graduated with a 3.24 and I have a B.S in Accounting. Which has been a nightmare with emplyers after the scandal. This school is a joke and it should have to pay for their wrong doings not pay the government in fines.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Solid curriculum created by four Ivy league Universities

Master of Business Administration - May 31, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I felt that obtaining a degree online would have little value until I saw that NYIT had developed a top-notch MBA program designed and created by professors from top global universities including NYIT, Stanford, University of Chicago, the London School of Economics and Columbia University. This was the single driving force in making my decision to go after an MBA. I wanted to be able to give myself an edge in the job market and I was only disappointed that my age has seemed to play more of a factor than the education I received in not getting much bang for my bucks. I do not blame Ellis College, but I do blame a culture that focuses on receiving higher education with the promise of getting further ahead but not changing the mindsets of employers who don't want seasoned workers who have remained current and kept up with the trends...the stereotypes if harming us in so many ways. If I had one complaint, and even this is not Ellis's fault, I was not prepared for the math which is intense and not easy to navigate in a virtual environment. I struggled with the higher math but ended up receiving my degree with a 3.48 GPA...I am sure I could have done better...the instructors were not accessible to the degree I would have liked in the math courses. And lastly, NYIT and other Universities need to make sure that they market their schools so that the students get the "value" that comes with obtaining the schools degree. If the only schools that employers thing are worthy of hiring their graduates from that does not include schools like Ellis College then I think it is up to the Universities to see to it that they are....just marketing the fact that Ellis college is a product of four Ivy league Schools would give it the "status" required to get the attention of top-level employers and organizations. Cheri D Coleman, Ellis College MBA-Organizational Leadership class of 2007

Was this review helpful?

BS Interdisciplinary

Interdisciplinary - February 13, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended NYIT when the Cardean group was in charge, I completed my undergrad degree, sat out a semester and then came back for graduate degree. Everything supposedly okay, never owed a dime. I withdrew, was able to request copies of all my transcripts for about two years, with no issues. All of a sudden, I receive notifications that I owed NYIT money. When I inquired why, I got no response other then that they sent the "situation" to a collection agency. Mind you, I had ALREADY graduated and received copies of my transcripts. If it was a bonafide debt, why would I have been allowed to obtain copies of my records? Why did it take them almost two years to tell me about it? Shysters, crooks. I would NEVER recommend NYIT or anything to do with Ellis to anyone EVER.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

online MBA great prep for consulting career

Master of Business Administration - April 9, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This program was very challenging and prepares you well for a career as a consultant or working in virtual teams. The biggest area for improvement would be in providing academic support. I would not have succeeded if it werent for the student social networking groups. Being two years removed from this MBA program I truely value the education, but like anything in life, "you get out of it, what you put into it."

Was this review helpful?

M.B.A. Program Coordinator

Master of Business Administration - January 24, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a current mba student at NYIT. My adviser is the M.B.A. Program Coordinator. I have had enough. She is the worst adviser ever!!! All she worries about is how fast she can get you out of her office. She does not care about anything else. This will be my 3rd semester now and every other time she has the worst attitude towards me. This semester, because of her lies and carelessness i am losing a semester. Good luck if you have to deal with her.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Love Ellis of NYIT, but Ellis University is a joke

BS Behavioral Sciences Sociology - October 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've been taking courses through Ellis since December 2007 after life circumstances brought about many state-to-state moves that interrupted my brick and mortar degree. I will graduate in Dec 2010 from NYIT. I warn anyone who decided to switch to Ellis U. When the press release came out I talked to my academic advisor as well as a representative from the ACCREDITING AGENCY. The rep basically told me that they've been on Ellis' case since December 2008 about separating from the Cardean Learning Group (a for profit organization). Ellis U hasn't done that and so the rep told me that as long as I graduate from NYIT before Feb 2011, I'm safe. Otherwise, they are counting on Ellis U's investors to pull out because the accreditation will be revoked due to their inability to be eligible for federal aid (since Cardean is a for profit company) and basically the school will not exist after Feb 2011. I feel sorry for the people who fell into the switch to Ellis U and didn't stick with NYIT. You were fooled into handing money to a company interested in your money and not with your education. For those of you who complained about finding out that you have to pay for courses without completing your degree...NEWSFLASH YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR SERVICES INCLUDING EDUCATION! It's your responsibility to finish and even if you take one or two courses you have to pay for it. Don't say that the school is horrible because you don't know how financial aid works. I too have had issues with financial aid, but it was a problem with the lender SallieMae NOT NYIT. I did the proactive thing and calculated how much my courses were going to cost me, when my academic year ended, how much if any in private loans I needed to arrange in order to make up the difference, etc. The Ellis of NYIT financial aid ladies knew me by name by the time I was done with my issues, but they were much more helpful than SallieMae ever was or will be. As for the course work, Ellis of NYIT should help remove the stigmas attached to distance learning programs. The coursework is challenging and I actually think that it has been more work taking online courses than it was sitting in a classroom. My average week schedule for just one class would include reading at least 100 pages in a textbook, making at least 1 analysis post to the discussion forum followed by 3 thoughtful responses to my classmates, an exercise from the textbook and finally an average of a 4 page essay every week PER CLASS. The entire textbook is covered in 6 weeks, not just 6 chapters. The end of each course usually requires a research-type project which ends up being a 15+ page paper. The professors are all really intelligent and active in discussion and open for questions. The professors are from prestigious colleges and universities. If you have a problem turning in your work, most of them will work with you, but they definitely won't baby you through the process. I'm proud to know that I will soon be a graduate of NYIT.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

They Will Screw You

Interdisciplinary - August 26, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The administration is incompetent, does not know what they are talking about, and you will get different answers to the same questions depending on which department you talk to - sometimes even by people in the same department. I STILL haven't received my diploma and graduated in march of 2007! Two years after I graduated (and I had been asking and asking where my diploma was) they told me I had a balance due (which of course was not the case according to 3 different administrators while I was attending). Then they couldn't even come up with a statement so that I could see how they miraculously came up with a debt. The made-up debt is paid now and I STILL have not received it. I believe that most of the teachers were decent human beings, however, some didn't know the subjects they were teaching any better than I did, some were too busy to answer questions, and some wanted to grade you on participation like we were still in junior high school. Overall, a horrible experience and I would advise anyone who is considering this school to seek education somewhere else. ANYWHERE else.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Fin AId

BS Behavioral Sciences Psychology - August 25, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The school after 6 years of not graduating from their is just now contacting me through a collection place stating I need a lawer, that I owe them 5 grand. This is just now being brought to my attention. I called after leaving their for I did not like the school asking if I owed anything and they stated not known that my aid is still pending. Never heard from them again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

ELLIS of NYIT is no more.. BUT!

BS Behavioral Sciences Psychology - March 10, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

First things first, The ELLIS COLLEGE administrative unit of NYIT is no longer in operation. All the students that stayed with NTIT are now NYIT students. All this will end in 2013 when the last students of this "campus" will have to graduate. FACT: The professors are good, as is the teaching model. FACT: CARDEAN/EU could have used technology a bit more, the current structure is old school BB style. The student forums are VERY old school. FACT: Anyone that graduates from the Ellis program from here on out will have no reference to Ellis College on their degree or transcripts. NYIT all the way! FACT: We get our transcripts from NYIT direct. FACT: The Bursar and student support suck but things have greatly improved since NYIT now oversees that operation. FACT: NYIT has now integrated to a great degree the former Ellis students into the regular student body with respects to, ID cards, facilities, NYIT email accounts, NYIT Alumni membership and so on.. FACT: Getting a degree from The New York Institute of Technology is the balls and has credibility no matter here one goes with it. Was this place the right choice--You bet, I'll take it! THOUGHTS: Read the negative comments posted here with a distinctive eye as to what motivated the review. What I have found is people know more about their situations then they let on, then blame others for their issues. Seems to be the way we do things in the US lately. Pointing fingers are everyone BUT themselves, Sh*T HAPPENS--FIX IT. Every issue I have had with "Ellis" has been addressed, why because I am PROACTIVE and make it happen. I don't let them ignore me (and several have tried) Ignoring an issue financial or otherwise is YOUR FAULT in the end if it goes bad. I guess it's like ignoring bill collectors then cry when they find out their FICO score is 450. Keep taking it up a level, everyone answers to someone. Worst case, take it outside the college to the department of education in NY. People tend to listen when the state starts asking questions. I had MANY issues attending "regular" college as well. The financial aid departments tend to suck as do the registrars and their evil assistance. Bottom line is you WILL have issues whether you attend a B&M school or a DL program. It's how you navigate the problems that will make or break you..

Was this review helpful?

Ellis and NYIT are crooks

Interdisciplinary - March 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school did not inform me that my student loan did not cover all of my tuition. Financial aid and the bursars office would not send me any documentation of the mistake they made, and now they sent me to a collections agency and will not release my transcripts.

Was this review helpful?

DON'T GO TO THIS SCHOOL! - I'M FILING A LAWSUIT!

BS Business Administration- Human Resources Management - February 4, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE! Yes, I completed my degree and the work was challenging and good but the financial aid department is/was HORRIBLE! If you value your credit, don't do it! Thank you for your online post about Ellis College. My story is very similar to many posted here - I knew nothing of a debt with this college until 3 years after I graduated (grad date 2006). In fact, this college sent funds “back” to Sallie Mae as late as 2009 for 2006! They NEVER notified me of a debt with them and NEVER informed me they were sending funds back to Sallie Mae! Look, I’ve been posting my anger since learning of my debt in June of 2009 and have received responses from several other Ellis/NYIT graduates. I don't intend on letting them ruin my excellent credit rating without a fight! I've already compiled a list of at least 10 people that have had the very same experience and will be glad to add more. A complaint has already been file with the District Attorney by one former student and I'm actively seeking legal assistance. Please email me at kmbrly_jnsn@yahoo.com if you want to joing the fight!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Solid education

Master of Business Administration - January 31, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The courses were created by professors from top global universities including NYIT, Stanford, University of Chicago, the London School of Economics and Columbia University. A lot of interactive online content, and team based learning environment. To get a good grade, the workload was sometimes too heavy for a working professional. I recommend not to schedule more than one course at a time.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

GO SOMEWHERE ELSE

BS Computer Science - January 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The texts are good and the teachers are decent, but the courseware is garbage, the responsiveness is slow and the terms are 6 weeks. The bursars office will never get their billing right, so expect them to put your classes on hold after they never sent you a bill.

Was this review helpful?

Avoid Ellis at all Costs, or It Will Cost You Big!

BS Behavioral Sciences Psychology - November 3, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Avoid Ellis College at all costs, or it will cost you BIG!! I suppose I will just add to the cacophony of people already disgruntled by the ineffective, careless and unprofessional way in which Ellis College conducts its business. First, I will say that I did enjoy the education that the professors provided. The college itself, however, is an absolute joke, especially the Bursar's and Financial Aid Offices. I completed a BS in 2006 and a Writing Certificate in 2007. I had requested that any money available after all tuition costs were paid be sent in the form of a refund in order to pay off the cost of books that I had put on a credit card. I (foolishly) assumed that when they verified an amount and sent a check to me that they had properly assessed my account. Since graduating, Ellis has released my transcripts, and I am about to finish my second master's degree. When I went to apply for PhD programs a few months ago, however, my transcript request was denied. In July of this year (2009) I received an email from Mary Friday of the Financial Aid department that I had an outstanding debt and that this debt had been sent to a collections agency. I responded to her email, beyond flabbergasted at the news, but she did not respond to my email. Prompted by the denial of my transcript request, I tried to reach her again. To make a very long story short, I just received word from the VP of Student Finance at Ellis that even though they had messed up, I was still obligated to pay the $5,500 before my transcripts were released. Online schools appeal to those in difficult life circumstances (adult learners, military students, working parents), and knowing that they present a viable option for completing their degree (in theory), they lure students into their schools. They are not, however, in any way altruistic. They are a money making establishment, and for that reason, should be better at the business side of their college. Online education is a great thing, and at one time, I thought that Ellis was a great school. We owe it to ourselves and those like us to know what Ellis is like and to spread the word. We may not be able to redeem our unfortunate circumstances, but we can prevent it from happening to others. I am starting a facebook group that will be an opportunity to provide fact-based information about the ineffective and insulting way that Ellis does business. If you would like to join, please send an email to russellkeys88@yahoo.com. We cannot allow this to continue unchecked.

Was this review helpful?

Military

Interdisciplinary - July 6, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a military student at NYIT (Ellis campus), I like most of the classes I take, the professors are pretty military friendly HOWEVER, some of the professors SUCK when it comes to our unique military situations namely the MARINES and ARMY members, being the field. At time one has to DRAG the cooperation out of an instructor if any. Most courses require an INTRO to the class, and that is when most military students put their situations out there for the class and instructors to see. It's after that is done is when the instructor will usually contact you explaining their views on your situation, or totally ignore it all together and nuke you when your on mission (away from the computer) for a week or so. That's pretty bad considering all we may need is some extra time to hand in an assignment OR to hand them in earlier if possible. The only fix is to withdraw an "hope" you next instructor is "military friendly", this is a pain in the ass. FINAL THOUGHTS: NYIT (ELLIS) has a good online program although it's closed to new students. It's too costly for the general public Their military friendliness is hit or miss with regards to instructors. The cost for undergrad military is the standard $250 per credit. Most schools charge this amount since its guaranteed revenue for them. The NYIT name is a good thing for the graduates. They have since removed the Ellis Faculty references from all diplomas since the Ellis Campus is closing.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great MBA Program

Master of Business Administration - May 22, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

NYIT Ellis College had a great program. The material learned was real world and very beneficial. After getting my undergraduate degree from a bricks and mortar college founded in the 1800s, I found the virtual experience much more rewarding and engaging. Unfortunately, this program is no longer available through NYIT.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great MBA Program

Master of Business Administration - April 20, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great Program While it is still under NYIT.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Ellis University: waste of time

Master of Business Administration - March 10, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had attended Ellis University for about 9 months and completed 7 courses. I have had a miserably unchallenging and unoriginal experience and since they do not have financial aid, I can't even go back there just so I can finish. What a waste of my time!!!! Zero support and career services are non-existent. I was told I had to pay cash! I could have gone anywhere and was misled to come here. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME. Check out the HLC disclaimer too... accreditation is in jeopardy.

Was this review helpful?

Excellent Education---

BS Behavioral Sciences Sociology - January 10, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Excellent. I am nearly done with my degree program. Soon I will have a BS in Sociology and I could not be happier. Anyone who is in need of obtaining an online degree should heed some important warnings. One is to make sure the degree comes from a school with a history, one and that is regionally accredited. Ellis of NYIT is regionally accredited and my degree will come from NYIT. Be wary of new schools popping up and schools without a history or brick and mortar exsistence. Good luck to all. Your education is what you make it! Get involved, work hard, interact with other students. Don't let the negative people bring you down!

Was this review helpful?

BEWARE....BAIT and SWITCH

Master of Business Administration - January 8, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I began the MBA program because I was told that the program was part of the New York Institute of Technology and that my degree would be from NYIT. I was forced to drop (as a result of being deployed to Afghanistan for a year as a Naval Reservist). NYIT responded by failing me for all of the incomplete courses and then telling me that because it's online, I could have completed the course (Anyone ever been to Southern Afghanistan).... While the online delivery is pretty effective, the instructors were at times petty (and I was forced twice to go to the Department Chair over grading issues)...additionally, unlike traditional business schools, they don't use Harvard Business Review articles that are reflective of current events in business, but instead use completely made up companies and scenarios with pre-determined outcomes that you are supposed to be able to arrive at. NOT Optimal in my opinion...but this is a preference... NOW I see that it's not Ellis College, New York Institute of Technology anymore, but a completely independent Ellis University with NO AFFILIATION effective December 2008. So tell me how this is a benefit having an online school that is not tied to a brick and mortar university and bound by their commitment to their accreditation and reputation?? Ask yourself these questions BEFORE you shell out $30K for an Ellis University MBA....

Was this review helpful?

On the contrary...

Master of Business Administration - December 13, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have read the extensive reviews bashing Ellis College and now Ellis University. I began my education at Ellis College and made the choice to become an Ellis University student to complete my MBA. I did this because a degree from a univeristy is always better than a college (you can research the difference online). Platforms are identical between the former and the new.... professors are top notch and coursework is as strong and informative as I could ask for. Advisors have been overly helpful and a great experience through 6 classes in the MBA. It is an online education and requires the utmost in dedication and motivation to successfully complete such a degree. If you do not possess these qualities you, more than likely, will not succeed, as is with anything in my experience. I've not been misled for a moment and still communicate with my advisor to this day.

Was this review helpful?

Excellent teachers, poor financial aid.

Master of Business Administration - December 7, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I liked the NYIT Ellis College MBA program. About 90% of the teachers were engaging. The knowledge gained makes me feel like I got my monies worth. I hope the real world feels the same. It took three months to get my MBA diploma. In all fairness, it took the local college about the same time to get me my undergrad diploma. My degree is upheld by the reputation of NYIT. Now that Ellis has broken away from NYIT, I am hesitant to make a recommendation. Also, the financial aid department was terrible to deal with. If you depend on financial aid for your education, be prepared to be challenged from beginning to end.

Was this review helpful?

NYIT FINALLY!!

Interdisciplinary - November 18, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

First off I am a military student, that's why I rated the VALUE section as a 10 otherwise tuition is too costly for most people paying out of pocket. Heck you can go to George Washington University for a bit less. The School is pretty good as is the "classroom" environment. Some of the teachers (the same happened during my regular courses as a B&M college) are not really that interactive, while other are over the top, but so far so good. Support services BITE! As mentioned above, ID's take MONTHS to get, diplomas take MONTHS to get after graduation, The financial Aid department OMG so bad it's not funny, Enrollment advisers have lied to several people I know to get them to enroll, No breaks between classes, the former Cardean Administrative people I spoke with were rude especially the former Provost of Ellis College (An NYIT PHd is now the Provost), I could go on.... All these things are too much for a student to be worrying about, classes should be the focus for us NOT the admin BS. Basically this review is mute because NYIT - Ellis Branch is no longer accepting students for their online program. And NYIT itself is now overseeing the former Ellis College of NYIT students. In the future NYIT will be doing the distance Ed thing again so this is for them! If it's an NYIT program GO for it, if it's an ELLIS UNIVERSITY or CARDEN LEARNING GROUP (of Chicago) program RUN AWAY and save your money. Until they get their act together in the Big Office going with Ellis University/Cardean LLC will not be worth the problems you'll have AND you will save money.

Was this review helpful?

Excellent School---Great Education

BS Behavioral Sciences Sociology - November 9, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have three more classes to complete at Ellis of NYIT. My degree will be from NYIT as will my transcripts. I will march in a graduation ceremony in Old Westbury New York this May and I will actually get my degree in March. The teachers have been excellent and I am proud of the work I have done. Do not let other people bring you down. If you want to learn you will and you can at this school. It is however up to each individual to make the best of every situation. I am a full time working wife and mother of a 7 year old. If I can do it...anyone can!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

Financial Aid Nightmare

Master of Business Administration - October 8, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had nothing but nightmares in dealing with the financial aid department and reading the other reviews here gives me additional insight. It seems like they are trying to overcharge me but I am trying to verify that. I feel like I am dealing with some pretty stupid people. I'm looking at this report for the 10th time and now I might see the answer to the question but I would think someone that was intelligent would have been able to faster. Do not work with the financial aid department unless you absolutely must. It's better to just find a loan on your own. They are absolutely incompetent. I know more than they do. How sad is that. I have worked in finance and banking. I have received a lot of training. I understand accounting and documentation. The courses are good. But 6 weeks goes by awfully quick and so does the money. So far I haven't been able to break into accounting, which was my goal from the beginning. I'm thankful to have a job but I am worse off. I hope it pays off in the future. Do not rush into this program. Take your time. If you make a mistake then you will pay dearly for it. It might be better to go to a brick and mortar school even if it's more difficult and takes longer.

Was this review helpful?

Great College, Bad Administration..

Interdisciplinary - September 26, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Let me clarify something FIRST, The NYIT-Ellis Academic Branch (or campus)and Ellis University are NOT the same school. The Corporation that administrated the NYIT-EC academic branch (Cardean Learning LLC) runs/owens Ellis University. The NYIT-Ellis Branch is run by and accredited under The New York Institute of Technology umbrella. Ellis College of NYIT students are in fact NYIT students. Ok, now for the review. NYIT - Ellis is getting much better now that Cardean is no longer overseeing that program for NYIT. The NYIT-Ellis College students are starting to get regular NYIT student benefits as we should have from day one. The Cardean people were VERY BAD at administration, everything from financial aid and student ID cards, to basic information like when a class started was lost with them. They honestly sucked. However, the courses are top notch and are very interactive. This college requires lots of student interaction and writing projects. It's a breath of fresh air to talk to ones classmates. Student Benefits: Six weeks courses Learning by doing Very interactive Great teaching interface/classroom Yourname@NYIT.EDU Email accounts (starting very soon) Access to all NYIT resources(On campus WiFi access, NYIT E-libraries, NYIT employment assistance etc...) Graduate Benefits: NYIT Alumni NYIT Degree NYIT Transcript services ***IMPORTANT NOTICE*** NYIT- ELLIS COLLEGE is NO LONGER accepting students into THEIR distance learning program, Ellis College will be fully integrated into NYIT over the next several months and will cease to exist. For the remaining students the courses will be still taught by adjunct faculty of Cardean and NYIT. Which is good because they have some impressively credentialed Professors teaching these courses. PLEASE!!!! DO NOT LET ELLIS UNIVERSITY ENROLLMENT ADVISERS TRY TO TRICK YOU INTO THINKING YOU ARE ENROLLING INTO THE NEW YORK INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY THEN ONLY TO FIND OUT LATER THAT YOUR AN Ellis University STUDENT. THE CUT OF FOR NYIT-ELLIS' FINAL ENROLLMENTS WAS IN AUGUST 2008.

Was this review helpful?

Ellis is the way to Go

Interdisciplinary - September 24, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I highly recommend this school to anyone considering distance learning. You get great faculty who care and assist all the way. I was skeptical at first but I completed 68 credits and am now in their MBA program offered at alumni discounted fee.

Was this review helpful?

Finanical aid-BEWARE PLEASE TAKE HEED!!!!!

Master of Business Administration - September 23, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I took the MBA program and had a full financial aid package last october 2007. The school never acknowleged or signed off on my student loan which was awarded. They kept saying the loan was waiting to be certified. Well certified means all they have to do is verify that you attend. they continued to allow me to take classes and rack up a bill because they knew i was awarded a full loan from Sally MAe, after about the 5th class i called again to see if progress had been made.They in turn proceeds to tell me that my lender went out of business and i had to re-apply again loan and my was no good. What the hell!!!! i was furiuos b/c not only could i not get another loan( b/c other lenders saw the approved loan for that academic year and felt i was trying to get over with financial aid process) i also couldn't find another co-signer. I went to school all that time and had a guaranteed loan of 18000.00 that they f#$ked up. i was way past furious. and then all they can say is you owe us 7500. WTF! first of all it's their own incompetent fault that they didn't get paid. i waited for about 6 months for a loan that was already approved sitting there for 7 months waiting to be stamped with yes or no i attend. I tell you guys what. The financial aid system there is less than retarded and please please please have your money together and don't count on financial aid. No-one knows what they are doing and everybody you talk too for help will pass the buck b/c they too are lost. I thought this was going to be a good experience b/c of all the MBA options they offer. Boy was i wrong. Also upon withdrawing from the school, i spoke with an advisor that told me this is the 4th time in two years that the financial aid department has been outsourced to another outside company! Come on people what university does this? That explains why the employees can't provide adequate service they get a new batch of financial aid reps like every 4-5 months that they have to train. I will close by saying that they will get 7500 from me when they pry it from my cold dead hands!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! L. Jackson

Was this review helpful?

Good School

BS Business Administration- Finance - July 23, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As of today, I've earned just over 30 credits at Ellis. I'm a junior in the undergraduate finance program. I'll give you a quick breakdown of my thoughts: The vast majority of professors are excellent with great credentials. They truly care about the subject and seem excited to teach it. Response to questions is typically within a few hours. Though, I have had a couple professors that were real duds. As a fellow student put it, "they were absentee landlords.” I’ve also attended a traditional state university and they had their share of “bad” professors as well. I would suppose this is the case at every university. It’s the percentage of good to bad that’s important, and I’d say Ellis is 90% good. The online platform is very easy to work with provides helpful video clips. Though, with technology advancing the way it is, it would be nice to see them add even more videos and advanced interactive learning aids. Basically, what they have is nice but if they could take it up a notch or two it would be excellent. Six (6) week classes are awesome. Right when I'm getting sick of the topic…it ends. I can't imagine going back to the old 16 week semesters that drag on endlessly. I wouldn’t be able to take it. The very next day after a class ends, another begins. This has allowed me to knock out a large number of credits very quickly. Though, a one week break here and there would be nice (Actually, I just heard from my advisor that Ellis is considering adding breaks within the schedule). I chose Ellis because the degree comes from NYIT, a brick and mortar school with three campuses in NY and a 50+ year history. I didn’t want to graduate and then be nervous every time I had to tell people where I graduated from. I wanted to feel proud of it and know that it might not be Harvard (what is?) but it’s a solid, respectable college that no employer is going to question. Sort of like buying a Honda…your friends won’t be in awe of you but they won’t make fun of you either. It’s a perfectly respectful, solid car. Classes are on the expensive side if compared to other online schools, but, compared to a brick and mortar school, which the degree comes from, it’s not bad at all. From the other reviews I’ve read it sounds like most people really like the educational part of the school (the most important part) but are having trouble with the financial aid department. I’m not personally using financial aid but I can see how that could be a serious issue. I’m taking some courses outside of Ellis and had to deal with the transfer department in assessing the transferability of the courses. They were reasonably quick to accommodate my request. I truly value what I’ve learned at Ellis/NYIT. I have about another 50 credits to go and I’m very happy that I’ll be finishing them at Ellis/NYIT.

Was this review helpful?

Great Place

BS Computer Science - June 17, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I love the School!!! I started off at the University of Waterloo in Canada, I was doing great but then I had to let go because of personal problems (5 people in my family died one after another). I was out for about 18 months, and I was embarrased to go back and continue because all my friends were in 3rd and 4th year. I wanted to catch up by taking some courses online and thus came accross Ellis. Since then I don't have the heart to move back. It is uber expensive, for example when I was in Waterloo I was paying $700 per course and now I'm paying about $1500 per course. However, when I'm learning soo much more in in an online environment then at a brick and motor university. All the professors are qualified with either a masters or PHD and have relevent work experince. They also answer all questions and make marck assigments truthfully. I mean they can just give you 100% for everything but they dont. Another good thing is, that the degree is nationally accredited which means you can walk out of Ellis with a NYIT degree which is worth alot. You can then go and apply at any University in the world, depending on your marks, and you will be sure to get in. They have real live graduation where you loved ones can join, a party for their grads and they even send you the grad suit early so you can take your grad pictures at a studio.. this is an awsome place to bee...i love it

Was this review helpful?

Avoid Ellis if Financial Aid is a Must for you

BA English Professional Writing - May 11, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

For the most part, the classes and the convenience of the English literature program was enjoyable. HOWEVER... federal financial aid was a MUST for me to pay for my education and Ellis does NOT have its act together in the financial aid department! There is little or no communication between yourself and the financial aid office. Not only was my aid continuously processed wrong, but on a number of occasions my funds were returned to the lender with no contact or notification as to why. The most recent case occurred on the Friday of my last week of classes (classes end on Sundays). $3500 was returned to the lender with no phone call or email as to why or what the problem was THIS time. To make matters worse, I did not see the new balance on my account until I logged in to submit my final assignment on Sunday morning. Of course I freaked since this was the very last day of my very last class with Ellis, but of courses all offices were closed. I checked and rechecked all voicemails and emails and not one person with the financial aid office contacted me to tell me money was being returned to the lender and why. Had they contacted me, we might have fixed the latest problem. However, when I called on Monday, I was told that there is nothing they can do to get the $3500 back because as of midnight the night before (just eight lousy hours prior), I was no longer a student because I had completed the program. I was told I can make payments to them but they will not confer my degree until the money is paid off - which for me will take a couple of years because not all of us can qualify for that kind of loan or credit card – not with the housing market the way it is right now! Not only have they screwed me financially, but they have ruined my future career and academic studies. I had been accepted to attend grad school at a state university for the fall but I've had to cancel my enrollment because Ellis will not relinquish my final transcripts or confer my undergrad degree. Their poor financial aid management has literally cost me my future career. So....unless you have the cash to pay out of pocket or a credit card with a big fat balance - DO NOT ATTEND ELLIS COLLEGE.

Was this review helpful?

Stay Away

BS Political Science - May 9, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started at Ellis College with what they call a "Bridge Program" It's for people who have been out of school and have not earned any college credits. So everything was fine, I took the first course, earned 2 credits, took the next class, earned another 3 credits. The problem came when I had to temporarily withdraw from school. I asked if any of the credits I earned would be applied towards the bridge program when I come back. They said no one is allowed to take a break on a bridge program, I either complete it in one shot, or withdraw and if I decide to come back, it will be starting from scratch. So I withdrew(personal reason-a family crisis), knowing that the 5 credits from 2 classes would be wiped out. Something that they should have told me before I signed on...Now I am out $2600, which went for nothing.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

I loved Ellis College

Interdisciplinary - April 8, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated with a degree in Interdisciplinary Studies in March 2007. I loved the online atmosphere. It is very interactive and I liked how I was able to have conversations in real time with other students in the class as well as be able to leave messages on the message board. Most of the teachers I had were great. There was one teacher who was horrible! He would answer student's questions with questions. The financial aid dept, bursar's office, and the other support services left a lot to be desired. It took about 6 months for me to finally get my diploma. Then when I got it, they spelled my name wrong!!! I still haven't got that fixed yet. My family and I went to the graduation ceremony in May 2007 and it was great. There was no difference between the people who went to Ellis and NYIT. I would attend Ellis again in a heartbeat!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Don't Hold Your Breath for Diplomas

Bachelor of Arts - March 2, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Oh, 9 of 10 professors for me were awesome. But admin... student services... the bursar's office... financial aid... they are all ridiculous. I actually finished my degree program in the beginning of September. Would you believe they promised that the diploma process would take a "short" three months? No lie, that's what they promised. Here we are in the beginning of May, just days shy of being a FULL SIX MONTHS, and I STILL do not have my diploma. I've contacted my advisor, who points me to student services, who points me to the bursar's office... and so on. No one answers the emails, no one returns the phone calls. THey told me to call a "Kevin Adams", with whom I've left a dozen messages, and I still have yet to be contacted. But I'm paid in full... why bother with me?? In short, the teaching might be great, but don't count on your diploma anytime soon... which, of course, as we know, affects jobs, pay scales, and many other things. Great teachers, but every other department has proven itself to be inconsiderate, careless, and lacking in the common decency and respect that one would ASSUME is necessary in Customer Service.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Very Good Program

Master of Business Administration - January 19, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Support systems underwent some difficulty during business changes, have not found problems other reviews mention. Excellent instructors all but two, one good, one brilliant, but not a good teacher ~ excellent average, comparable to B/M program, perhaps better. EXCELLENT, TOP NOTCH technology, best in field I think. Very fast, thorough response to technology problems. Both advisors college graduates, first working on MBA so suggestions were right on. I have found excellent fin aid, bursar, advisor, and administrative support (Deans). Online material/text in some cases out of date, but instructor/professors engaged/engaging and brought material current. Graduated "Ivy League" undergrad with 3.5; Ellis program entirely comparable in my experience.

Was this review helpful?

Good MBA Program

Master of Business Administration - October 31, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled in the MBA program and I am very satisfied with it. The technology for the online learning platform is very comprehensive and easy to use. The classes are well structured and seems to be very solid academically so far. The professors have been knowledgeable and helpful and the assignments are challenging yet convenient for a busy professional looking to earn an MBA at a pace that is appropriate to accomodate your work schedule.

Was this review helpful?

not bad

Interdisciplinary - October 31, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The school is a quick way to finish a degree. Admin is a bit messy, I had 4 advisors over a 2 year period. But I also had some personal problems which interfered with my progress and they were understanding. It is expensive, but the classes are pretty good, I had great instructors, and I have an accredited degree.

Was this review helpful?

Horrible experiance

BS Behavioral Sciences Sociology - August 17, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

So I have been in audit with this school about the financial aid for over a year now. I got stuck in this audit because they told me I wasn’t allowed to file independent (because I wasn’t married for long enough). So a year later I get called telling me the I have to change everything. So after I sent them the massive amount of crap they ask for, they have called and e-mailed me 3 times a week for the last three months telling me something is missing, till this poor girl on the phone (yes the dreaded middle man) finds it and sends it back to them. The middle man can always find it, yet the ones doing the audit always says it’s missing. It was suppose to take 3 weeks, but since their auditors don’t know how to read, it makes things difficult. As for the teachers, I tried asking questions when I had problems which was a big mistake. One teacher told me that I should ask my fellow students and not bother him with questions (and btw I’m the person that asks like one question a year because I just prefer to deal with less people as possible, I’m not the kid that asks why the sky is blue). Another teacher told me I was unmoral because I wanted to track game play for a research assignment (and game play is the same as crack apparently, “I shouldn’t be messing with people’s addictions, and most of all their head.”) There are a few good teachers, just nothing exceptional. They also overcharged me the first year I was there by about $300 per class, that too took forever to clear up, especially since they kept doing it.

Was this review helpful?

Okay degree,.but support is disorganized

Interdisciplinary - July 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed the degree program, but found the college overall to be unorganized with respect to their support services and financial aid. I had three different advisors in one year and my financial aid was process incorrectly every single time it was time to process it. I had to constantly keep accurate records of what had been paid because their online student account system was always wrong. My advisors were nice--they just kept changing them which was frustrating because I would keep having to introduce myself and explain what my goals were every time I called advising. The undergrad instructors were good and most were extremely supportive. The program is expensive but it is convenient. Definitely room for improvement and there is a huge disconnect between the NYIT portion of their "college". NYIT has little to do with Ellis College which is owned by the Cardean Learning group. Being associated with a brick and mortar school gives them some credibility but they definitely need to develop more bite when it comes to valuing students and organizing support services. If you are looking for a decent, accredited, and fairly quick undergrad degree they are okay. Just be prepared to spend a lot and I mean a lot of time on the phone and e-mailing financial aid, bursar, student records, etc. Once you get past that--then it is okay.

Was this review helpful?

I Love it!

Master of Business Administration - July 19, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a current student of Ellis and couldn't be more pleased! I've had some problems with the administrative departments of Ellis, but its worth it once you get to the course. The courses are fully interactive and the professors are quick with their useful replies. Great school!

Was this review helpful?

Admin Nightmare

Master of Business Administration - June 29, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you enjoy spending hours on the phone with outsourced financial aid and bursar's office employees, if you enjoy spending lots of time on the phone with your financial aid lender, if you enjoy being advised on your MBA by someone who hasn't even graduated college, if you enjoy school officials who lie to you about what your degree will say (Executive MBA vs MBA), and if you enjoy calling the NYIT main campus and have the folks on the other end respond, "Ellis, who?" then this is your program! The administration of the program has been completely outsourced to a company in Chicago which in turn outsources all the back end functions such as financial aid, bursar, and what not to companies across the country. My original advisor for my MBA progarm was not even a college grad. Eventually she was replaced with someone who is an MBA but he could care less about actually advising me and just wants to register me for courses. It hasn't been all bad. The prof's - all of them adjuncts, not an NYIT faculty member in sight - have been really great but they must teach the class as the school designed it so the prof's do not deviate from the lesson plan even if the students' really want to spend more time or want more resources on a topic. The bookstore they've outsourced to is pretty good - fast on email and shipping - but is very very very expensive. I'm leaving Ellis shortly to transfer into another distance MBA program. My first question to all the schools I've looked at is: How much of your program and admin features are outsourced? Trust me - it makes a huge difference

Was this review helpful?

Great College!

Master of Business Administration - April 12, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm currently a student at this school and think that it is exceptional. You've got to remember that online schools do cost a lot more than traditional schools. My BSBA was completed at another online school and was almost twice as much as my friends paid at a public university. The teachers are great and the e-classroom experience is outstanding!

Was this review helpful?

To Much Money

Master of Business Administration - January 20, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started Ellis College in January of 06. I find the online courses well laid out and the professors very good but the price per course is just ridiculous. a cost $1200 every six weeks and the and bursers and financial offices are incredibly incompetent. I have spent many hours of my time communicating information between these two officers because they are unable to talk to each other on the phone. They tell me they are only capable of communicating via e-mail or through updating their database which is not communicated to the other office until the next day so a simple message can take up to a week to be verified because of their refusal to communicate by phone. This will caused incredible frustration if you plan to use a student loan or grant. But, if you don't care about the cost I highly recommend Ellis Of the New York Institute of Technology.

Was this review helpful?

Great Education at a High Price

Master of Business Administration - August 11, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I give the college a nine overall for the sheer cost factor of the school. Tuition amounts to $1995 per class with twelve required for an M.B.A. and fifteen required for an M.B.A. with any one of their specializations. My current specialization is technology management. Over the course of the last year and a half I have learned so much more than many UoP graduates and have made friends that I will most likely keep for a lifetime. Their online system is unique to the college and allows for realtime chat, video conferencing, posting, etc. I also like that in addition to the books they provide online video's of a professor and of course a real life professor (9/10 containing a doctorate) to help you along the way. This is also great in the sense that the highly regarded NYiT is behind the issuing of the degrees and a real life graduation is attended with the rest of the NYiT graduates. If the cost was $500 cheaper per class I would put this at the top of my list! Go Ellis Go!

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with New York Institute of Technology-Ellis College in any way.