Park University

Park University, founded in 1875, offers regionally accredited degrees to distance learners and on military bases across America. Its online offerings include: a certificate in military history; associate and bachelor’s degree programs in criminal justice, management, and the social sciences; bachelor’s degree completion programs; and a number of graduate degrees.

Accreditation: North Central Association of Colleges and Universities
Non-Profit: Yes
Country: USA

Programs:

Read all 15 reviews...

Write a Park University Review

Reivew Averages: 8.3 out of 10 (15 reviews)

Park University Reviews:

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Human Resource Management
May 25, 2011
I loved my time (3 years) at Park. Unlike other institutions, the Professors taught and were always available. I attended a university that used numerous graduate school students to teach. Most of them barely spoke English and it was a horrible waste of time and money. Park's curriculum was tough, the Professors were superb; challenging me to excel. The skills and concepts I learned at Park more than prepared me for my career in Human ... [Read more]

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Park UNiversity
October 5, 2008
My only college experience has been with the traditional "brick n mortar" institute. Quite frankly, sometimes it was good, other times you got the feeling that once you "paid up," everything went downhill from there. It was time to try something new. I thought on line learning might be for me, and after checking out quite a few institutions on line, (weeding out the diploma mills and the questionable credential "colleges"), I decided on Park. ... [Read more]

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
BS Mgt/CIS On-Line
August 4, 2010
They jam 25 students into their on-line classes and the discussion boards are chaotic with that number of students. Instructors are forced into using course content from the department chairs and that are out of date (i.e. they have the students purchase the latest textbook, but the course content is from the textbook 2 editions prior). If there are issues with an instructor, there is no forum to bring it forward you basically have to ... [Read more]

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Absolute BEST University experience!!
April 30, 2013
Park University was one of the best decisions I have ever made! I transferred into Park with my Associates degree and graduated with my Bachelor of Arts in English. The English Dept. faculty are some of the most intelligent, experienced, dedicated faculty you will ever find. Their commitment to help me succeed (not only in class, but in my future endeavors) gave me a pivotal foundation for my life goals. The student to teacher ratio ... [Read more]

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Park University: BS in Management/Logistics
April 19, 2013
The diverse selection of courses required for this degree prepared me for a very broad scope of career fields. Many of my instructors were retired military officers and enlisted. They excelled at describing how military experiences directly relate to corporate environments, and how well those experiences serve them in their own corporate careers and business ventures. As of the date of this review, I am employed as a Quality Engineer for an aerospace manufacturing company ... [Read more]

2 of 22 people found the following review helpful
I realized I wasted so time and energy with Park.
March 5, 2013
I took all my required courses until I came upon the WCT. I couldn't pass the WCT and realized that my years at Park Univerity was for nothing. I acquired 120 credit hours with Park, but it all went down the strained when I had to transfer to another school. What a waste. [Read more]

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Criminal Justice Major
July 15, 2011
i'm a criminal justice student. enlisted in the military and on my way to getting my bachelors!! the school is very good, classes are challenging if you do the work. Not just look for answers but actually taking the time to read the book. i recommend the school for people that have busy schedules and the best thing: your degree will not say online school so its like attending the brick school! [Read more]

Read all 15 Park University reviews...



Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Old Comments

Oct. 9, 2010, 6:40 p.m.
0 votes/
I recently completed my B.S. in Management Computer/Information Systems with Park University and I must say I thoroughly enjoyed studying with this institution. I have never been to the main campus in Parkville as I completed my degree almost entirely online, but I do not think that the online experience took anything away from my education, in fact I think I may have learned more through online classes compared to past in-the-classroom experiences. Initially, I was very nervous about taking courses online, but soon found that it was the right method for me. The mobility of online classes are great, but the thing with Park is that you are required to be in one place at a certain time once each semester for a proctored final exam. While this sometimes became problematic with my current career in the military, I think the proctored exam policy that they implement keeps a higher level of legitimacy compared to other institutions that offer degrees online. Like any school (online or face-to-face) you will have good teachers, bad teachers, ambitious classmates, and slackers at Park, but in the end you will get out of it what you put into it. Great school, low cost, and would recommend to anyone looking to pursue an undergrad.
Feb. 21, 2012, 2:40 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi, I'm considering finishing my degree online through Park University. I just wanted to ask, if you don't mind, how much they charge per credit hour for online degree programs. I know their regular tuition fee is about $300 per credit hour, but I'm hoping the online degrees are a bit cheaper. Anything you can tell me will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Aug. 20, 2010, 1:57 a.m.
0 votes/
Currently a junior at Park Online, I have been going to school since March of 2009. I love it! The college is accredited and my advisors have been wonderful! You certainly have to work hard and be a self-starter, but it can be done and I work full time also. My instructors have almost all been professional and active with the class. Only had one that was a problem and she had some medical issues that finally were taken care of. I recommend Park highly and I also buy my books from Amazon.com or some other bookstore, which is ok with Park instructors. Go Pirates!
July 31, 2010, 3:59 p.m.
0 votes/
anyone here received a good paying job after receiving masters at Park?
May 18, 2010, 4:58 p.m.
+1 vote/
I am a recent University of Phoenix graduate in Information Technology and i am vetting for my MBA. what is the MBA accreditation? the U of PX is ACBSP and the gold standard is AACSB. Can anyone asnwer this question? It seems like the reviews on Park are great and want to look more into it as I progress forward with my career aspirations.
May 14, 2010, 9:54 a.m.
0 votes/
I have been with Park Since 04 and I am currently working on my MPA!  It was more difficult than Brick and Mortar school by far and I learned alot more...  I CAN'T stress enough how fantastic they are!  I'm prior AF and they have had my six through all of it!  Thanks Park and to the "haters"...you are the minority!  period.

Go Pirates!
April 24, 2010, 2:09 a.m.
+1 vote/
I have been attending Park University for many years. At first, I was attending courses on base and they were fantastic. Best professors, very engaging and very challenging. That was at the BS level. They are perfect for someone in the military or someone who travels. I have been taking online courses for the past three years to finally complete my degree. It's like this, you get back what you put out. The professors have a grading rubric. You do the work, you get a good grade. It's all spelled out for you. I have found each and every one of my professors to be supportive, exemplary and fair leaders. I am proud to be a Park graduate and I appreciate the ability to pursue my degree online with such an exemplary faculty. I have nothing but good things to say about my educational experience with Park. It has not been easy and I am grateful for that. I have been challenged to think and to write critically. No one has been easy on me just because I am taking an online course. I am very satisfied with my educational experience at Park. I hope that if you are considering a higher online education that you will seriously consider Park. They may not be snazzy but they will give you a serious education!
April 2, 2010, 6:20 a.m.
0 votes/
I attend the Davis Monthan AFB campus as well as take online classes from Park University, and I have to say it has been the best school for my needs. The accreditation is the same as the local university (University of Arizona) and the credits will transfer virtually anywhere. The campus is modern, up-to-date, and all of the students I've had the privilege of learning along side have been amazing. I'm a civilian taking classes and access to the base is easy. Most of my peers are current/prior military and have an excellent professional study ethic all while having a sense of humor. A+ school

As for the books for Park University, I tend to purchase my books from Amazon.com or Half.com since they are cheaper than the Park bookstore. Many times you can use the International Edition of texts books, and that can save you hundreds of dollars each semester/year. Many of the classes syllabuses are posted 6 months to a 1 year in advance, so you've got plenty of time to order books from online, and ask if International Editions are compatible with the instructors curriculum.
Feb. 27, 2010, 3:36 a.m.
0 votes/
To anyone:

I was looking at their Davis Monthan Air Force Base Campus and they have a BS in Management/Accounting program. What does the diploma say for those degrees Management or Accounting?
March 30, 2012, 5:25 p.m.
0 votes/
There is an additional fee of $25 per credit hour for online courses. So $25 + the regular tuition rate times the number of credit hours = total cost.
May 29, 2011, 6:29 p.m.
-1 vote/
Park University has some real leadership issues.  They fire the best faculty and keep on faculty who are mean to the students and who are not nearly as flexible as Park faculty used to be.  I started a degree in history and found it male-centered, with no female faculty.  I decided to change majors, but nothing else interested me.  So I took some English classes just to figure out what I wanted to do. In my English class, I had a professor who demeaned the students in front of others and she clearly had her "pets" in class; I was not one of them and endured some spiteful comments from her that she spoke openly. I took another class with the Chair of the department and found her cold and not at all willing to help students who needed it.  I have since moved on from Park.  I found the place depressing.  Avoid this school!  
May 24, 2011, 7:43 p.m.
0 votes/
Kim, I graduated with a Bachelor and was so busy after graduation, I had no time to persue a Master Degree. I have 3 incomes and am enjoying a life, that would not have been possible without the superb education received at Park. Please see my previous comment posted on May 24, 2011.
May 24, 2011, 7:28 p.m.
0 votes/
I loved my time (3 years) at Park. Unlike other institutions, the Professors taught and were always available. I attended a university that used numerous graduate school students to teach. Most of them could barely spoke English and it was a horrible waste of time and money. Park's curriculum was tough, challenging me to excel. The skills and concepts I learned at Park more than prepared me for my career in Human Resource Management. Within 2 years, I was the Corporate Vice President of the largest Home Improvement Company in Northwest Florida, obtained a Florida Roofing License and am the owner of a Roofing Company, Wrote, and Published a book of poetry, and started an internet specialty clothing company. None of this would have been possible if not for the exceptional teaching techniques that inspired me to believe I could do anything. I entered the business world confident and committed to success. I believe I succeeded and I join thousands of other students who received the same exceptional education, and who thank and rate Park University one of the top Universities in America. Without hesitation, I credit my Park education for success and give them my highest recommendation...go Pirates.
Feb. 23, 2011, 9:37 p.m.
0 votes/
I have never in my life been so upset with an institution. I have attended this University with transfer classes from MCC (which is a fabulous school by the way). I loved school. This school ruined it for me. The history department was okay. My issue is with the Education Department. They did nothing but disrespect me and treat me poorly. I got above a 3.0 and they still acted as if I were a horrible student. I had a hard time passing my praxis which then they gave up on me. You learn that a student will rise to your expectations and that's exactly what happened. I have no desire to spend anymore of my money at this place. I recently emailed my advisor in order to make plans for this coming semester and take a few extra classes. She hasn't emailed me back and that was 2 weeks ago. I have invested 20,000 dollars for them to break me, be disrespectful and not even answer my emails. Oh yeah. I failed to mention, my last semester my degree audit was messed up after my advisor told me I should take a look at my own degree audit and figure out what classes I need myself. 
Feb. 19, 2011, 3:20 a.m.
0 votes/
I just recently learned that Park University has undergone 2 Accreditation visits with the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) and has not passed, and remains on probation.  Its business program is also not accredited with the AACSB, and I understand Park University will not receive this significant accreditation since it will not hire full-time faculty necessary to handle its large student enrollment in all business courses.  As such, I plan to transfer to another university that has clear and solid accreditation from both the HLC and AACSB.  
Jan. 13, 2011, 7:34 p.m.
0 votes/
I am in my final semester of undergrad - BA Int'l Business. Park is a good school that enables busy people to complete their degrees. The scholarships are incredible and there are some great professors. When it comes to purchasing textbooks, use DealOz- a website used for finding cheap books. I have saved a fortune by avoiding the bookstore!
Feb. 23, 2010, 6:27 p.m.
0 votes/
To Jose:

Your Degree will be Park University
Nothing about online wil be there, you just took it online and thats it
Feb. 17, 2010, 3:23 a.m.
0 votes/
I was looking at Park University for online classes since it's very hard from to attend the classroom. I have a couple of questions about Park. 

Does your diploma says Park University Online or something to that effect?

I was looking at their Davis Monthan Air Force Base Campus and they have a BS in Management/Accounting program. What does the diploma say for those degrees Management or Accounting?
Nov. 12, 2009, 9:37 p.m.
0 votes/
I got my BS last year from Park Online..For those not in the know they are also a B & M school located in Parkville MO. It's actually quite a beautiful campus.

I thought the level of education is on par with any other "regular" school.. the instructors are all pretty good and just like any other schools some are harder than others. 
My experience have been very pleasant but even though I went to school online, you have to take your finals in person or get proctored. My academic advisors have been nothing but splendid in helping me chart my way. I think it helped that I was able to see and talk to them in person.
Nov. 6, 2009, 7:33 a.m.
0 votes/
Park has regional accreditation with the North Central AIHC Higher Learning Commission. Fully accrediited and recognized. Been in operation since 1875.....
Oct. 2, 2009, 11:59 p.m.
0 votes/
My Experience at Park University has been nothing but wondering... The instructors are great, they go out of their way to help you and it is an overall great university. The school is accredited and they were one of the few schools were the courses from my 2 year degree actually transferred, I have had nothing but a GREAT experience with this university, I would recommend to all.
July 21, 2009, 10:20 p.m.
0 votes/
Gretchen,

I'm a Managment/Finance Major, although I still have a good ways to go I'd be intrested in hearing about some of your issues with the finance courses
May 27, 2009, 3:03 a.m.
0 votes/
never mind
May 27, 2009, 12:35 a.m.
0 votes/
Hello,

I had a simple question to ask. What is the accredation for the school?
March 18, 2009, 2:51 p.m.
0 votes/
This school provides great online classes and is incredibly military friendly. I was able to take classes while in Iraq. The curriculm is challenging and relvant. At some colleges i felt i was simply doing busy work, i dont have the time or the patience to take on more busy work.
March 9, 2009, 3:30 p.m.
0 votes/
Interesting comments.  I'm about to start my last class at Park towards obtaining an online Management Bachelor's Degree.  I didn't have such a great time at Park as it seems a lot of other people did.  Some of the finance and statistics courses were awful.  I also heard about the internal struggles such as those mentioned by Christina C.  A few of the books were horrible (especially the ones written by past instructors).  I found the grading system, overall, was extremely easy.  I wasn't challenged as much as I thought I would be for a Bachelor's degree.  But, I can say that I am nine weeks away from getting that piece of paper, and that's all that matters.  I would recommend this school to a friend, but I'd highly caution them about the finance and statistic course problems.
Jan. 20, 2009, 1:27 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi , 

Question : I would like to ask some current students who take the courses online how do you get the books and materiel's ? " 

Answer : I am a current online student. First , the courses are made available for introduction information to the course usually 2-3 weeks in advance to the start date.  Next , you just go to the schools book website after you have properly registered , pick your year/campus/class( My Campus is ONLINE ) since Park University has at least 20 locations plus the online program , you pay for them , and the bookstore can ship them to you regular (5-7 business days most or immediate shipping.) You can also buy a downloadable E-BOOK for some courses in which you just download to your computer ( I have done .) and read it ! I prefer the physical book though ( less strain to the eyes) ! The bookstore will tell you what is required , and what is not ( it is very easy to use ! )

The instructors are sympathetic to those who do not receive their books ontime , and will take extra time out of their day to post chapters , materials , etc.... for the students to succeed , and this just recently happened to my Marketing 351 class online ! Many students did not receive their books on time since they ordered late , weather , or other reason(s) and the instructor gave them the proper material along with an extended due date in case the situation is severe ! 

If you are looking for a great school park is the one ! I honestly wish I could go to campus , but work/bills and all of the above force me to do online , and I was not sure at first , but glad I have as well as enjoy the format and presentation of courses. I am really glad I choose Park , although the classes can be tough it is rewarding and stimulation experience ! Go for it , I have learned a lot of new information that has been challenging , and interesting for my Degree , and career choice. Online learning is not always easy as when you are in a University many times you can just pick up on some of the information from the lecture , but online it is really good because it makes you read the information , discuss/response , powerpoints , video presentations , real world application , and test your-self on quize's.
Jan. 11, 2009, 2:38 p.m.
0 votes/
Hello,

I would like to ask some current students who take the courses online how do you get the books and materiel's (e.g. are they sent to you via postage overnight?)  Also, if there is a delay in receiving the books (e.g. 7-10 days) then when does your start date begin since there is a delay in receiving the materiel's.  How does the college handle this or how does it work?

All comments are welcomed!

Thanks
Jan. 8, 2009, 5:52 a.m.
0 votes/
Graduated from Park in 1970 with a Double Major--Business Administration and History. 154 Semester Hours. Career Military Officer, Retired USAF Age 70 Now.  Fond Memories of the Educational Experiences at Park.  Their Professors then-- as Now-- were-- and are Outstanding. I chose Park over a Major State University and have never regretted that decision.

Creative Thinking Skills coupled with Can Do Attitude were the two most valuable lessons I picked up at Park. Here, I learned about the universal "Commonwealth of the Mind" wherein sharing and caring were the two most important attributes in my relationship with my fellow human creatures on this planet.

In my Heart, I still hear Dr. Stanley Urban, the Head of the History Department, words of Wisdom and Encouragement for us Students in our future  endeavors. He passed away two decades ago, but his words are still with us today, therefore he still lives the Park Legacy.





Good Will and Fortune in Accomplishing Your Life's Goals

Mel Jones
Central Texas Hill Country
Oct. 14, 2008, 9:29 p.m.
0 votes/
Park University is excellence in all areas: quality of instructors, quality online platform and quality administrative staff.  If that is not enough; they were ranked as one of the top 25 onlines schools.  Quality education at a quality price...priceless.
Oct. 5, 2008, 9:20 p.m.
0 votes/
Sounds like Christina C. had a bad experience with Park, but my experience was quite good, actually. The support received was far better than what I had received previously at a typical "brick n mortar" community college. The counselour who took care of me was very knowledgable and never seemed to be "too busy" or bothered to answer any questions. The course itself was very good, and the teacher I had (who had her Doctorate) was probably THE best instructor I've ever had! I had taken just the one course since it was my first on line, and didn't know what to expect. I can honestly say, my experience at Park far exceeeded my expectations! I wish evereything I ever bought into was this good!
Sept. 23, 2008, 6:20 a.m.
0 votes/
Christina C., perhaps you have some intel information that is irrelevant to the quality of education received at Park. I have been attending Park for almost 2 years now and I've never been aware of internal problems within the school faculty, that is because even if there is, it does not reflect on their educational programs. Internal fighting does not mean the students suffer. There are people who teach because they truly have a passion for it, these same individuals tend to have the student's best interest at heart and know not to let the "institution's issues" get in the way of their teaching.
July 14, 2008, 8:21 p.m.
0 votes/
In regards to Chris M's comment...the MBA program used to require the GRE or GMAT but they don't anymore, because they never even looked at them anyway.  Oh and the 3.0 GPA requirement?  That's a joke too.  They will let pretty much anybody in.  They've been losing a lot of students to other universities because their faculty don't get along with their new dean.  Internal fighting means the students suffer.
July 18, 2008, 8:29 p.m.
0 votes/
Christina C., it is common for a university to waive the GRE/GMAT and GPA requirement if you earned an undergarduate degree with them. They do this because the student's abilities are already known.
June 2, 2008, 7:01 p.m.
0 votes/
I finished my BSCS at Park University and felt the education was spot on!  I have just applied to Park University's Online MBA program.  Unlike other online schools, Park University's requirements include a GRE or GMAT and a 3.0 GPA. I believe this gives a lot of weight to the qualtity of the education.
July 19, 2007, 12:21 a.m.
0 votes/
Park University was a great experience.  I am in my last week of school.  I have been going to Park Online for just about 3 years now.  I would have to say that Park exceeded my expectations for an online school.  I had taken an online course with a local community college (I do not want to slam anyone, so I will keep the name out of it).  The courses were more of a post and wait scenario.  With Park, you receive teachers that are moonlighting from highly noted institutions.  I had one teacher that mainly taught at Cornell!  The classes are broken into 8 week sessions.  Spring and Fall are split up, then you have an 8 week session in the Summer.  The course work islayed out for you each week.  You are told what chapters to read and what to do for your weekly assignments.  The instructor is there to facilitate and keep the class between the lines.  Be self motivated, and Park University can get you where you need to be.  I worked full time, travelled 70% with my job and was able to keep up with all of my course work.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Park University in any way.