Park University

Review Averages: 7.6 out of 10 (20 reviews)
Ranking: #21

Park University, founded in 1875, offers regionally accredited degrees to distance learners and on military bases across America. Its online offerings include: a certificate in military history; associate and bachelor’s degree programs in criminal justice, management, and the social sciences; bachelor’s degree completion programs; and a number of graduate degrees.

Accreditation: North Central Association of Colleges and Universities
Non-Profit: Yes
Country: USA

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%

Park University Reviews:

Financial Aid
Economics - July 24, 2015
The school and community created within my degree program was just what I needed in my college career. The environment is welcoming and the teachers are helpful. I have to say though their financial aid office is VERY poor. I got different answers in the same day to one simple question. I sent an email that same day inquiring about the difference and it has been days with no response. It seems as if no one in the financial aid department has been trained adequately or know that they are in a service field to Park Universities students. I am not one to review things but the way the financial aid department has handled and spoke on my questions is concerning when they are the ones who are handling my funds for school. Overall happy with all aspects of Park but their financial aid department really is a problem and I wish someone would get around to addressing it.

Don't Waste Your Money on a Park CIS Degree
Management Computer/Information Systems - June 8, 2015
I graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Computer Information Systems from Park in May 2014. The majority of the classes I took were online through their accelerated program, although I did take a half dozen classes at the downtown Kansas City location as well as one at their main campus in Parkville. I thought I had done fairly well for myself; my cumulative GPA was exactly 3.7 and I graduated Magna Cum Laude after holding the Dean's List for a number of semesters. I was excited (prematurely) and had read all of the positive reviews which left the impression that it had been worthwhile. Then post-education reality set in... While the course work did provide me with generic experience, I have since found much of the material which was covered to be outdated. For instance, COBOL was a degree requirement even though batch file processing is akin to knives and bear skins in the world of modern databases. Structured Query Language was barely glanced at in the curriculum despite my taking two database management courses. Other courses, such as the one I took on user interface design, were all theory with very little implementation. So, after wading through tedious but interesting concepts, I found myself completely unprepared to do any actual real-world work. Perhaps the most frustrating thing was the lack of any real support structure regarding a transition to something outside the virtual classroom. I remember being made aware of only two internship positions in IT via my student e-mail to which I applied, only to be given the virtual finger. Since graduating, my "luck" hasn't changed and I have found Park's alumni program to be impotent as far as help with job seeking. Being saddled with 20 grand in student loans doesn't help either... To be fair, I do know people working in IT with same Park CIS degree who are doing well for themselves. However, in every single one of those cases, the individuals had previous IT experience gleaned from time served in the military. I have found employers value the experience more than the degree as a rule. After seeing the other positive reviews which are undoubtedly inflated, I felt I had to comment to get the sickly sweet taste out of my mouth.

Challenging Education at a Decent Price
Management/Logistics - April 12, 2015
I just graduated from Park University and really enjoyed the experience. The staff was always helpful and I believe I learned a lot despite taking about half of the course as distance education. The school is very military friendly and with the satellite campuses at military bases its a great option to get a college education while serving your country. For the most part, the teachers were knowledgeable, experienced, and provided excellent education, however there were a couple instructors who didn't seem to know what they were doing. The price of education was great for military students and the school was very helpful with Financial Aid, Tuition Assistance, and the GI Bill. I am now considering pursuing my graduate education from Park...all together I think its a great school.

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Master of Business Administration - October 15, 2014
I applied and was accepted to PU. My employer was willing to pay %100 tuition, that would be over $20K for the degree, except for one bogus fee that would amount up to about $2500 for me to pay for. I asked to get this fee waived because my husband got his degree through PU and they worked with him and waived some of his fees. After going back and forth with clueless admin people I contacted the assistant to the dean, who said no it applies to all students. Do you know what this fee is for? To keep their program current!!! Really? This is the most pathetic fee, shouldn't it be a basic requirement to keep your program current as part of the tuition? I told her to dis-enroll me as I will take my GUARANTEED tuition elsewhere. What a fool. You would rather lose guaranteed $20K over a $2500 fee?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Poor Client Services
Human Rescouce Management - July 29, 2014
Park U is terrific. It's the poor customer service at the Davis Monthan campus that has swayed me in other directions. Service used to be stellar, now a joke. My husband and are so disappointed. After we returned from deployment and started back at Park we have decided to change institutions.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Social Psychology/social work
Social Science - Social Psychology - December 21, 2013
If you are planning on going to graduate school after taking Park University classes online make sure you already have your reference sources! Most of the professors with the online classes will refuse to write you a reference. I even had a professor that claimed I was an amazing student and after making a 104 for my final class grade she refused my request for a reference letter. I also had issues with the social work department. I was going to minor in social work and one of the instructors that were setting up a master’s program at the Missouri campus attempted to pull me into their program suggesting if I moved there I would have a 99.9% chance in getting accepted. I got an A in her class but when I told her I was going to apply to a different university she would not write me a referral letter. I was good for Park's program but once I decided to go somewhere else they threw me overboard. Yeah, I guess I'm still a little upset about it. Most of the instructors are amazing with the online classes and grade fair. I only had one instructor that was unfair with her grading and as the semester went on I discovered she was counting points off for stuff that was not even wrong. After she graded my papers I would have an English tutor look over her grading and it turned out she was counting points off for stuff that was actually correct. I finally sent one of my papers to Park's English lab to have them check my paper before she graded it to tell me what was wrong. They responded that nothing was wrong with the quality of my writing. I then emailed the response I got from the Lab to her along with my paper and I never got another bad grade from my essays. The cost of tuition is extremely high. 2,250 for two classes each sub-term for undergraduate. I am going to graduate school and I will only be paying A little over 4k for 16 hours. The quality of the education is very good with Park University and I feel confident that I learned the skills needed to do well in a master’s program.

Awesome school
Management Computer/Information Systems - December 19, 2013
Its a great school. Received my Bachelor and it was well worth it. The courses itself wasn't extremely challenging, but you will get something out of them. After I graduated I found a job at one of the best hospital in the nation in the IT department. Park set me up for success and i am proud to call myself a Pirate.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Absolute BEST University experience!!
Bachelor of Arts in English Writing - April 30, 2013
Park University was one of the best decisions I have ever made! I transferred into Park with my Associates degree and graduated with my Bachelor of Arts in English. The English Dept. faculty are some of the most intelligent, experienced, dedicated faculty you will ever find. Their commitment to help me succeed (not only in class, but in my future endeavors) gave me a pivotal foundation for my life goals. The student to teacher ratio is just the right size and the faculty are always available if you need extra help/guidance. I graduated with honors and received a job immediately upon graduating!

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Park University: BS in Management/Logistics
Management/Logistics - April 19, 2013
The diverse selection of courses required for this degree prepared me for a very broad scope of career fields. Many of my instructors were retired military officers and enlisted. They excelled at describing how military experiences directly relate to corporate environments, and how well those experiences serve them in their own corporate careers and business ventures. As of the date of this review, I am employed as a Quality Engineer for an aerospace manufacturing company in Queens, NY. I have been able to quickly begin providing meaningful and measurable contributions to the company.

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Social Science - Social Psychology - March 29, 2013
Park is an overall amazing school. Some teachers lack, just like every school, and a few of the courses are a little outdated, however, this is the easiest school i have attended and with the best teachers, ive been on the deans list every semester thus far and love this school. Recommend for everyone!

Read all 20 Park University reviews...


Read all 20 reviews...

Write a Park University Review

Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%

Old Comments

Oct. 9, 2010, 6:40 p.m.
0 votes/
I recently completed my B.S. in Management Computer/Information Systems with Park University and I must say I thoroughly enjoyed studying with this institution. I have never been to the main campus in Parkville as I completed my degree almost entirely online, but I do not think that the online experience took anything away from my education, in fact I think I may have learned more through online classes compared to past in-the-classroom experiences. Initially, I was very nervous about taking courses online, but soon found that it was the right method for me. The mobility of online classes are great, but the thing with Park is that you are required to be in one place at a certain time once each semester for a proctored final exam. While this sometimes became problematic with my current career in the military, I think the proctored exam policy that they implement keeps a higher level of legitimacy compared to other institutions that offer degrees online. Like any school (online or face-to-face) you will have good teachers, bad teachers, ambitious classmates, and slackers at Park, but in the end you will get out of it what you put into it. Great school, low cost, and would recommend to anyone looking to pursue an undergrad.
Feb. 21, 2012, 2:40 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi, I'm considering finishing my degree online through Park University. I just wanted to ask, if you don't mind, how much they charge per credit hour for online degree programs. I know their regular tuition fee is about $300 per credit hour, but I'm hoping the online degrees are a bit cheaper. Anything you can tell me will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Aug. 20, 2010, 1:57 a.m.
0 votes/
Currently a junior at Park Online, I have been going to school since March of 2009. I love it! The college is accredited and my advisors have been wonderful! You certainly have to work hard and be a self-starter, but it can be done and I work full time also. My instructors have almost all been professional and active with the class. Only had one that was a problem and she had some medical issues that finally were taken care of. I recommend Park highly and I also buy my books from or some other bookstore, which is ok with Park instructors. Go Pirates!
July 31, 2010, 3:59 p.m.
0 votes/
anyone here received a good paying job after receiving masters at Park?
May 18, 2010, 4:58 p.m.
+1 vote/
I am a recent University of Phoenix graduate in Information Technology and i am vetting for my MBA. what is the MBA accreditation? the U of PX is ACBSP and the gold standard is AACSB. Can anyone asnwer this question? It seems like the reviews on Park are great and want to look more into it as I progress forward with my career aspirations.
May 14, 2010, 9:54 a.m.
0 votes/
I have been with Park Since 04 and I am currently working on my MPA!  It was more difficult than Brick and Mortar school by far and I learned alot more...  I CAN'T stress enough how fantastic they are!  I'm prior AF and they have had my six through all of it!  Thanks Park and to the "haters" are the minority!  period.

Go Pirates!
April 24, 2010, 2:09 a.m.
+1 vote/
I have been attending Park University for many years. At first, I was attending courses on base and they were fantastic. Best professors, very engaging and very challenging. That was at the BS level. They are perfect for someone in the military or someone who travels. I have been taking online courses for the past three years to finally complete my degree. It's like this, you get back what you put out. The professors have a grading rubric. You do the work, you get a good grade. It's all spelled out for you. I have found each and every one of my professors to be supportive, exemplary and fair leaders. I am proud to be a Park graduate and I appreciate the ability to pursue my degree online with such an exemplary faculty. I have nothing but good things to say about my educational experience with Park. It has not been easy and I am grateful for that. I have been challenged to think and to write critically. No one has been easy on me just because I am taking an online course. I am very satisfied with my educational experience at Park. I hope that if you are considering a higher online education that you will seriously consider Park. They may not be snazzy but they will give you a serious education!
April 2, 2010, 6:20 a.m.
0 votes/
I attend the Davis Monthan AFB campus as well as take online classes from Park University, and I have to say it has been the best school for my needs. The accreditation is the same as the local university (University of Arizona) and the credits will transfer virtually anywhere. The campus is modern, up-to-date, and all of the students I've had the privilege of learning along side have been amazing. I'm a civilian taking classes and access to the base is easy. Most of my peers are current/prior military and have an excellent professional study ethic all while having a sense of humor. A+ school

As for the books for Park University, I tend to purchase my books from or since they are cheaper than the Park bookstore. Many times you can use the International Edition of texts books, and that can save you hundreds of dollars each semester/year. Many of the classes syllabuses are posted 6 months to a 1 year in advance, so you've got plenty of time to order books from online, and ask if International Editions are compatible with the instructors curriculum.
Feb. 27, 2010, 3:36 a.m.
0 votes/
To anyone:

I was looking at their Davis Monthan Air Force Base Campus and they have a BS in Management/Accounting program. What does the diploma say for those degrees Management or Accounting?
March 30, 2012, 5:25 p.m.
0 votes/
There is an additional fee of $25 per credit hour for online courses. So $25 + the regular tuition rate times the number of credit hours = total cost.
May 29, 2011, 6:29 p.m.
-1 vote/
Park University has some real leadership issues.  They fire the best faculty and keep on faculty who are mean to the students and who are not nearly as flexible as Park faculty used to be.  I started a degree in history and found it male-centered, with no female faculty.  I decided to change majors, but nothing else interested me.  So I took some English classes just to figure out what I wanted to do. In my English class, I had a professor who demeaned the students in front of others and she clearly had her "pets" in class; I was not one of them and endured some spiteful comments from her that she spoke openly. I took another class with the Chair of the department and found her cold and not at all willing to help students who needed it.  I have since moved on from Park.  I found the place depressing.  Avoid this school!  
May 24, 2011, 7:43 p.m.
0 votes/
Kim, I graduated with a Bachelor and was so busy after graduation, I had no time to persue a Master Degree. I have 3 incomes and am enjoying a life, that would not have been possible without the superb education received at Park. Please see my previous comment posted on May 24, 2011.
May 24, 2011, 7:28 p.m.
0 votes/
I loved my time (3 years) at Park. Unlike other institutions, the Professors taught and were always available. I attended a university that used numerous graduate school students to teach. Most of them could barely spoke English and it was a horrible waste of time and money. Park's curriculum was tough, challenging me to excel. The skills and concepts I learned at Park more than prepared me for my career in Human Resource Management. Within 2 years, I was the Corporate Vice President of the largest Home Improvement Company in Northwest Florida, obtained a Florida Roofing License and am the owner of a Roofing Company, Wrote, and Published a book of poetry, and started an internet specialty clothing company. None of this would have been possible if not for the exceptional teaching techniques that inspired me to believe I could do anything. I entered the business world confident and committed to success. I believe I succeeded and I join thousands of other students who received the same exceptional education, and who thank and rate Park University one of the top Universities in America. Without hesitation, I credit my Park education for success and give them my highest recommendation...go Pirates.
Feb. 23, 2011, 9:37 p.m.
0 votes/
I have never in my life been so upset with an institution. I have attended this University with transfer classes from MCC (which is a fabulous school by the way). I loved school. This school ruined it for me. The history department was okay. My issue is with the Education Department. They did nothing but disrespect me and treat me poorly. I got above a 3.0 and they still acted as if I were a horrible student. I had a hard time passing my praxis which then they gave up on me. You learn that a student will rise to your expectations and that's exactly what happened. I have no desire to spend anymore of my money at this place. I recently emailed my advisor in order to make plans for this coming semester and take a few extra classes. She hasn't emailed me back and that was 2 weeks ago. I have invested 20,000 dollars for them to break me, be disrespectful and not even answer my emails. Oh yeah. I failed to mention, my last semester my degree audit was messed up after my advisor told me I should take a look at my own degree audit and figure out what classes I need myself. 
Feb. 19, 2011, 3:20 a.m.
0 votes/
I just recently learned that Park University has undergone 2 Accreditation visits with the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) and has not passed, and remains on probation.  Its business program is also not accredited with the AACSB, and I understand Park University will not receive this significant accreditation since it will not hire full-time faculty necessary to handle its large student enrollment in all business courses.  As such, I plan to transfer to another university that has clear and solid accreditation from both the HLC and AACSB.  
Jan. 13, 2011, 7:34 p.m.
0 votes/
I am in my final semester of undergrad - BA Int'l Business. Park is a good school that enables busy people to complete their degrees. The scholarships are incredible and there are some great professors. When it comes to purchasing textbooks, use DealOz- a website used for finding cheap books. I have saved a fortune by avoiding the bookstore!
Feb. 23, 2010, 6:27 p.m.
0 votes/
To Jose:

Your Degree will be Park University
Nothing about online wil be there, you just took it online and thats it
Feb. 17, 2010, 3:23 a.m.
0 votes/
I was looking at Park University for online classes since it's very hard from to attend the classroom. I have a couple of questions about Park. 

Does your diploma says Park University Online or something to that effect?

I was looking at their Davis Monthan Air Force Base Campus and they have a BS in Management/Accounting program. What does the diploma say for those degrees Management or Accounting?
Nov. 12, 2009, 9:37 p.m.
0 votes/
I got my BS last year from Park Online..For those not in the know they are also a B & M school located in Parkville MO. It's actually quite a beautiful campus.

I thought the level of education is on par with any other "regular" school.. the instructors are all pretty good and just like any other schools some are harder than others. 
My experience have been very pleasant but even though I went to school online, you have to take your finals in person or get proctored. My academic advisors have been nothing but splendid in helping me chart my way. I think it helped that I was able to see and talk to them in person.
Nov. 6, 2009, 7:33 a.m.
0 votes/
Park has regional accreditation with the North Central AIHC Higher Learning Commission. Fully accrediited and recognized. Been in operation since 1875.....
Oct. 2, 2009, 11:59 p.m.
0 votes/
My Experience at Park University has been nothing but wondering... The instructors are great, they go out of their way to help you and it is an overall great university. The school is accredited and they were one of the few schools were the courses from my 2 year degree actually transferred, I have had nothing but a GREAT experience with this university, I would recommend to all.
July 21, 2009, 10:20 p.m.
0 votes/

I'm a Managment/Finance Major, although I still have a good ways to go I'd be intrested in hearing about some of your issues with the finance courses
May 27, 2009, 3:03 a.m.
0 votes/
never mind
May 27, 2009, 12:35 a.m.
0 votes/

I had a simple question to ask. What is the accredation for the school?
March 18, 2009, 2:51 p.m.
0 votes/
This school provides great online classes and is incredibly military friendly. I was able to take classes while in Iraq. The curriculm is challenging and relvant. At some colleges i felt i was simply doing busy work, i dont have the time or the patience to take on more busy work.
March 9, 2009, 3:30 p.m.
0 votes/
Interesting comments.  I'm about to start my last class at Park towards obtaining an online Management Bachelor's Degree.  I didn't have such a great time at Park as it seems a lot of other people did.  Some of the finance and statistics courses were awful.  I also heard about the internal struggles such as those mentioned by Christina C.  A few of the books were horrible (especially the ones written by past instructors).  I found the grading system, overall, was extremely easy.  I wasn't challenged as much as I thought I would be for a Bachelor's degree.  But, I can say that I am nine weeks away from getting that piece of paper, and that's all that matters.  I would recommend this school to a friend, but I'd highly caution them about the finance and statistic course problems.
Jan. 20, 2009, 1:27 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi , 

Question : I would like to ask some current students who take the courses online how do you get the books and materiel's ? " 

Answer : I am a current online student. First , the courses are made available for introduction information to the course usually 2-3 weeks in advance to the start date.  Next , you just go to the schools book website after you have properly registered , pick your year/campus/class( My Campus is ONLINE ) since Park University has at least 20 locations plus the online program , you pay for them , and the bookstore can ship them to you regular (5-7 business days most or immediate shipping.) You can also buy a downloadable E-BOOK for some courses in which you just download to your computer ( I have done .) and read it ! I prefer the physical book though ( less strain to the eyes) ! The bookstore will tell you what is required , and what is not ( it is very easy to use ! )

The instructors are sympathetic to those who do not receive their books ontime , and will take extra time out of their day to post chapters , materials , etc.... for the students to succeed , and this just recently happened to my Marketing 351 class online ! Many students did not receive their books on time since they ordered late , weather , or other reason(s) and the instructor gave them the proper material along with an extended due date in case the situation is severe ! 

If you are looking for a great school park is the one ! I honestly wish I could go to campus , but work/bills and all of the above force me to do online , and I was not sure at first , but glad I have as well as enjoy the format and presentation of courses. I am really glad I choose Park , although the classes can be tough it is rewarding and stimulation experience ! Go for it , I have learned a lot of new information that has been challenging , and interesting for my Degree , and career choice. Online learning is not always easy as when you are in a University many times you can just pick up on some of the information from the lecture , but online it is really good because it makes you read the information , discuss/response , powerpoints , video presentations , real world application , and test your-self on quize's.
Jan. 11, 2009, 2:38 p.m.
0 votes/

I would like to ask some current students who take the courses online how do you get the books and materiel's (e.g. are they sent to you via postage overnight?)  Also, if there is a delay in receiving the books (e.g. 7-10 days) then when does your start date begin since there is a delay in receiving the materiel's.  How does the college handle this or how does it work?

All comments are welcomed!

Jan. 8, 2009, 5:52 a.m.
0 votes/
Graduated from Park in 1970 with a Double Major--Business Administration and History. 154 Semester Hours. Career Military Officer, Retired USAF Age 70 Now.  Fond Memories of the Educational Experiences at Park.  Their Professors then-- as Now-- were-- and are Outstanding. I chose Park over a Major State University and have never regretted that decision.

Creative Thinking Skills coupled with Can Do Attitude were the two most valuable lessons I picked up at Park. Here, I learned about the universal "Commonwealth of the Mind" wherein sharing and caring were the two most important attributes in my relationship with my fellow human creatures on this planet.

In my Heart, I still hear Dr. Stanley Urban, the Head of the History Department, words of Wisdom and Encouragement for us Students in our future  endeavors. He passed away two decades ago, but his words are still with us today, therefore he still lives the Park Legacy.

Good Will and Fortune in Accomplishing Your Life's Goals

Mel Jones
Central Texas Hill Country
Oct. 14, 2008, 9:29 p.m.
0 votes/
Park University is excellence in all areas: quality of instructors, quality online platform and quality administrative staff.  If that is not enough; they were ranked as one of the top 25 onlines schools.  Quality education at a quality price...priceless.
Oct. 5, 2008, 9:20 p.m.
0 votes/
Sounds like Christina C. had a bad experience with Park, but my experience was quite good, actually. The support received was far better than what I had received previously at a typical "brick n mortar" community college. The counselour who took care of me was very knowledgable and never seemed to be "too busy" or bothered to answer any questions. The course itself was very good, and the teacher I had (who had her Doctorate) was probably THE best instructor I've ever had! I had taken just the one course since it was my first on line, and didn't know what to expect. I can honestly say, my experience at Park far exceeeded my expectations! I wish evereything I ever bought into was this good!
Sept. 23, 2008, 6:20 a.m.
0 votes/
Christina C., perhaps you have some intel information that is irrelevant to the quality of education received at Park. I have been attending Park for almost 2 years now and I've never been aware of internal problems within the school faculty, that is because even if there is, it does not reflect on their educational programs. Internal fighting does not mean the students suffer. There are people who teach because they truly have a passion for it, these same individuals tend to have the student's best interest at heart and know not to let the "institution's issues" get in the way of their teaching.
July 14, 2008, 8:21 p.m.
0 votes/
In regards to Chris M's comment...the MBA program used to require the GRE or GMAT but they don't anymore, because they never even looked at them anyway.  Oh and the 3.0 GPA requirement?  That's a joke too.  They will let pretty much anybody in.  They've been losing a lot of students to other universities because their faculty don't get along with their new dean.  Internal fighting means the students suffer.
July 18, 2008, 8:29 p.m.
0 votes/
Christina C., it is common for a university to waive the GRE/GMAT and GPA requirement if you earned an undergarduate degree with them. They do this because the student's abilities are already known.
June 2, 2008, 7:01 p.m.
0 votes/
I finished my BSCS at Park University and felt the education was spot on!  I have just applied to Park University's Online MBA program.  Unlike other online schools, Park University's requirements include a GRE or GMAT and a 3.0 GPA. I believe this gives a lot of weight to the qualtity of the education.
July 19, 2007, 12:21 a.m.
0 votes/
Park University was a great experience.  I am in my last week of school.  I have been going to Park Online for just about 3 years now.  I would have to say that Park exceeded my expectations for an online school.  I had taken an online course with a local community college (I do not want to slam anyone, so I will keep the name out of it).  The courses were more of a post and wait scenario.  With Park, you receive teachers that are moonlighting from highly noted institutions.  I had one teacher that mainly taught at Cornell!  The classes are broken into 8 week sessions.  Spring and Fall are split up, then you have an 8 week session in the Summer.  The course work islayed out for you each week.  You are told what chapters to read and what to do for your weekly assignments.  The instructor is there to facilitate and keep the class between the lines.  Be self motivated, and Park University can get you where you need to be.  I worked full time, travelled 70% with my job and was able to keep up with all of my course work. is not affiliated with Park University in any way.