Post University

Review Averages: 7.0 out of 10 (25 reviews)

Accreditation: New England
Non-Profit: Yes
Country: USA

Learn More about Post University

Request Information »

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Post University Reviews:

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
I wish someone had told me...
June 8, 2012
I'm going to share with you what I wish someone had shared with me. I learned the hard way that, while most other colleges and universities charge one full-time tuition rate for a 12+ credit course load, Post charges by the class. This means that (a) you're paying per class ($1575, as the tuition planner just told me) and (b) many students (like me) will not be able to take 3 courses per mod because of Financial Aid restrictions. I really do wish I had known that prior to enrolling. It would have been a deciding factor for me, and I probably wouldn't have enrolled. I feel as though I'm being cheated, and that's not a good feeling. Other than that, I am enjoying my time at Post. This is my third module and I've had mostly good experiences with mostly good (and a few GREAT) instructors. I've had to interact with my Tuition Planner, Academic Adviser, and had to appeal a grade. Each experience was good, and my inquiries were met with timely responses. The instructors are also very responsive, and most of them interact really well in the classes. As far as learning, it has been my experience thus far that a student can learn as much as s/he wants to learn. This program is not really for students who want to be taught traditionally, as most of your learning is going to come from independent study (reading assignments, watching lectures, watching related videos, discussions with classmates with occasional input from instructors). All in all, I'm enjoying it, but I really do wish I had known about the tuition situation.

11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
POST UNIVERSITY IS PERFECT
August 8, 2013
Post University is phenomenal!! This school is one of the best online schools. I never had a problem with this school. I've never had a problem with financial aid. All the faculty and staff have been really helpful. This is a great school for anyone 100% online, campus, and well known to have may military students!! The assignments are challenging and fair. Go on Facebook and Twitter, Post University is there, so you get to see on campus students!! You will also learn so much from your instructors and classmates in the forums. I have done really, really well. I'm a 2014 graduate with a BS degree in Human Resource Management!! Post University is the best decision, I have Ever made!! I feel blessed to come across this school. Sign Up!! :)

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
Great online experience with Post.
June 11, 2008
I've been participating in Post's online program for 18 months. They have 8-week accelerated courses called Mods instead of the traditional semester. They have 3 brick and mortar campuses about 3 hours from where I live. I felt more secure about being able to see them face-to-face if I wanted. It is an excellent school. I'll have my bachelor degree in Legal Studies by the end of next year, then I may go on to law school. The professors are phenomenal, and you will be graded by what you put into the course. You have to be very disciplined and motivated to work on your own, so it's not for everybody. You can't skate through by sitting passively in a classroom. You have to participate. You will be reading and writing a lot. You will learn--guaranteed! I don't regret my choice at all.

10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
WORST!
May 19, 2014
I wish I had read the reviews before enrolling in this school!!!! I was contacted by a guy and he talked up a good game and now I have no where to turn too because he lied about how many hours it would take me a week which he said was only going to be 2-3 hours tops out of my time and when i enrolled, you are required to complete a minimum of 17 hours! HE tells me i will be able to receive my disbursement with a week after being matriculated and I find out it is 4-6 weeks. I also wasn't told that I had to first submit an essay and I was later told I had to submit one in order to be completely matriculated! My success counselor is quite the joke as well!!! She has no interest in helping me to get through school, I was having a hard time in all aspects so i called her and i was crying because i was so overwhelmed! she says "oh it sounds like you are having a hard time, i see" and the whole time i can tell she was only half listening because she was doing other things on her computer! halfway into the convo she says "i don't think i pulled up the right students file, what was your name again?" I am finished with this school!

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
Good
October 11, 2013
The school itself is very good. Teachers are outstanding and most of the counselors are great. Financial aid is a nightmare. My tuition planner won't return calls or emails. If you are counting on financial aid I would advise to go to a different school.

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
post can start you off better classes
February 27, 2013
I have been attending post since Oct 2012 and my first module was a little crazy .they should start you off with English and not a life span class because English helps you more at the beginning of starting college.The second module i took English and I learn a lot from my English class and it was very helpful .Wish that I had took English first .The Advisor that I have is very helpful.After enrolling into the school I found out that you pay $500 per credit and they do not advise you about what to do about your reimbursement I think they try to keep the money but that is my opinion but other then that the staff is very nice and helpful once you start to ask questions .You are actually teaching your self when you go to online schooling so if you want more you might want to go campus.But if you are going on line when you get your award you should ask for your title 4 paper and check that you want your reward sent to you so that you can get your money that is one thing they do not tell you.so be careful because that money do belong to you .

9 of 24 people found the following review helpful
Post Is NOT WORTH it!!!
February 9, 2012
This program was a waste of time for me. The staff here is a joke. They charge a large amount of money and don't teach you anything. If you want to just get a degree without working for it or learning anything then this is the program for you. You will leave this program having learned little or no information. I was told the program would 100% online and was told later that I had to go to a facility for an assignment. I know the practicum is in class but nothing else was supposed to be. I had an instructor just give out 100% on everything without checking the work. If I turned in late work I still got 100%. On the 10 page paper I turned in 3 pages and got 100%. Very poor staff here. I moved on to a better school where instructors were there to teach not scam. The financial aid is a joke too, nothing but issues with them and lies. Stay away from Post!

8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
It's a scam
July 10, 2013
I was first contacted by them by phone after posting a resume at Career Builder. They called me repeatedly via numerous phone #'s. They finally stopped calling. Now 18 months later they have contacted me again. I told them to not ever call me again. Within one minute they had emailed me - something they had never done before. Scam in the worst way. All of the positive reviews have to be from them. Consider yourself warned.

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
Good choice if you're working
January 1, 2010
I have six more courses to go before completing my BSBA with a concentration in management. I have to say that I was skeptical about taking university courses since I work but am thankful that I overcame my concerns. Post has a very good curriculum for a working professional. I was able to transfer all my grades/credits earned from courses I've taken over the years from other colleges. If one is looking for a free ride or cheap degree, Post is not the place to go. You will earn your grades. You will spend as much time earning those grades as you will at practically any other university. The big advantage is that you can do it on your own time schedule within a weeks period. You must complete your work on a weekly basis but you can choose when, during that week, to do the work. It takes me about one hour a night during the week and about four hours during the weekend to complete the weeks work and I am carrying a 9.1 GPA for that work load. You will also learn at Post. This is not one of those degree programs where you enroll, pay some money, and get a degree without putting any effort into it. You will work for it and it will mean something when you finish the program. My company is a major aerospace employer and they think so much of the degree program that it is offered to their employees as part of a scholar program. While Post offers online courses, and there are a lot of horror stories about online university support, I have never had a problem getting help if I needed it at Post. Someone is always there 24/7 to help you with studies or technical issues. It is my opinion that Post has their act together when it comes to the complete package. They are not be the cheapest or easiest solution to your degree needs but they are competitive in price and the degree has value when you finish.

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
LPC licensed professional counseling masters degree
January 22, 2013
I am on my third module for the Licensed professional Counseling track which is a new program for post. It is a 60 credit Masters program which fits the criteria needed for my state. My first class was very challenging and not too supportive, however my next few classes were both supportive and challenging at the same time. I have gained more knowledge in these few classes than from my previous degrees. I am thank full for the relevant content relating to social welfare as it stands today. Be prepared to allow for enough time to complete weekly posts and or papers.

Read all 25 Post University reviews...


Programs:

Read all 25 reviews...

Write a Post University Review


Learn More about Post University



Learn More about Post University



Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Old Comments

Aug. 31, 2010, 9:30 p.m.
+1 vote/
they lie and steal ur work, trust me i went there,
Jan. 19, 2010, 1:56 a.m.
+1 vote/
I would definitely recommend this school for any of the bachelor programs they offer. I have been a student for eight months and I am majoring in accounting. I was skeptical at first because the school is so small and I had never heard of it. But after doing some research I found out Post is regionally accredited and so far all my accounting professors have been CPAs and the professors for the rest of my courses all held advanced degrees except for one who had a bachelor degree with extensive work experience in his subject area and he had also taught at bigger schools like UNC and UVA. All the professors so far have been really quick about responding to emails except for one who seems to only check for questions about three times a week.

Once I started my classes I compared the curriculum, the materials, and the textbooks we are using to bigger and more respected schools to compare the quality of the education I am receiving and so far, speaking for the accounting program, the curriculum is about 90-95% the same. I was never pressured into enrolling but it is pretty easy to get accepted if you have at least a 2.0 GPA. I have noticed that as the course level increases (300 and 400 level) the number of students in my class drops between 25-50% so it is definitely no cake walk. My intermediate accounting class went from 26 students at the beginning of the course to 12 at the end. The classes are accelerated 8 week courses so there is a ton of work at times.

So far I think I made a great choice by choosing Post for my BS degree. The only reason I do not plan on completing my MBA at Post is because I want a MBA from an AACSB school, I believe Northeastern is the only one mentioned on this site, but the requirements needed to complete my degree at Post are the same as those at AACSB undergrad schools so I will meet all the requirements when I choose an AACSB school for my MBA. I know this is a long review but when I was searching for an online school it was very difficult to find info on this one, so I hope this helps anyone who is looking at Post. Also the have really great tuition rates for veterans and active duty military.
Oct. 29, 2012, 4:27 a.m.
0 votes/
Post is a good school and the faculty are very responsive. Unfortunately, administratively, they are horrible. My student advisor was non-responsive and completely apathetic to my needs. She did not help me at all. However, when she left and I got a new advisor, no one ever told me, and the new advisor did not contact me, either.
Post will NOT help you find a practicum or work with you, either. If you are a graduate online student and hope to find an internship, do not expect Post to help you unless you in Connecticut or Waterbury, Connecticut. They cater to military students, but I do not see how they can help these students when they change policy without notifying them and offer zero assistance with finding internships. I think this is most important for military members and their spouses to understand when they think about using their Post 9/11 GI Bill. 
March 5, 2012, 9:28 a.m.
0 votes/
I agree with many of the former students stay away from Post. I could receive alot better help elsewhere. I can go to a division1 school and find better prices than post. Plus i dont like their intro classes. What a rippoff. Students nowadays can do better taking real classes that arent given another name and implie many subjects. I too am waiting on a refund and yet it takes almost two months too receive it at all. Too high priced for what you get out of it. Im quitting Post and a lawsuit is pending they hold your money and dont give you any info that you ask about it. Ripoff and needs a good lawsuit
April 10, 2012, 10:44 p.m.
0 votes/
Literally disgusted with program all around.At first was excited about Masters degree.I was placed on academic probation for a 2.7 ,then dismissed ,even though I brought my gpa up to 3.0 as instructed.Was told I could appeal dismissal,was told to appeal to the wrong department and then found out my appeal wasn't read.I reappealed to the Dean and he didn't read the 2nd either and just dismissed me anyways.Have truly contrmplated a lawsuit for all the crap that took place in between,a complete disregard for a disability and verbal abuse by their advisors.I now have half a degree thats useless.The other day I recieved an email from Financial Aid stating I needed to do my exit counseling because I hadn't been to class,which is laughable because the Dean said I was dismissed based on financial aid requirements,over 4 months ago.It makes me sick when I think of it.
Feb. 7, 2012, 10:50 p.m.
+2 votes/
cost to much to go to this school 
Jan. 24, 2012, 9:23 p.m.
+2 votes/
Post University is a joke. The instructors are very poor. One of my instructors just gave 100% on every assignment, din't even grade the work. The financial aid staff is a joke here too. Is is way too high to attend here. I didn't last 3 months. There are cheaper programs out there that won't waste your time and money. This place is a scam, still waiting on the money they took from account back. STAY AWAY FROM POST!!!!
Dec. 31, 2011, 12:14 a.m.
+2 votes/
I made a mistake... The classes are 495.00 per credit which is still to high to be sitting in thue comfort of your home.
Dec. 30, 2011, 9:14 p.m.
+2 votes/
Mike I have to agree with you. this school is nothing but a rip-off. I was reading all the good post that people put about this college and I said this has to be the staff writing this.I was there a very short time and got the hell out of there. for the amount  that they charge for online you are better going in the class.I would suggest anybody looking into going to school do your research, because it has to be cheaper out there. or you are better off going in the area where you live. instead of going here.all I can say is rip-off , staff unorganized....
Dec. 30, 2011, 8:41 p.m.
+2 votes/
I disagree with all of these comments. most of these comments have to be the staff. This is one of the worst, unorganized schools I have ever attended.for one , they are to damn high to be in the comfort of your own home, and basically teach yourself. that's the first red flag. when you call to the college. You can never get a direct answer about anything you call for, the staff acts like dumb and dumber when you call and ask certain questions.I wouldn't recommend this school to no one. I read on another site, that a student looked up a I nstructors m/o and she's been band from teaching , but Post University hired up, and when the student told them they was supposed to be checking into it . but evidently they didn't because the student said they never got back in touch with her.I had a friend tell me that she has seen on the news that they were being sued for over charging the students. which I can believe. $1400 per credit is just steep to be going online. to make a long story short stay far far  far away from this college because they are a rip-off 
June 18, 2011, 2:41 p.m.
0 votes/
Thanks for the helpful information

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Post University in any way.