Rasmussen College Reviews

Sort By

Most Helpful
Newest


To link to this page:

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 8, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
this school is a bunch of crock and a self esteem crusher After a 4 weeks of working my butt of to get good grades in Rasmussen I found out that I cant continue going to school there because of my background that happened years ago. I feel that if your going to do a criminal background check on someone DONT LET THEM START SCHOOL. I Was looking forward and so happy to be in these school. My self esteem was up and I felt good about myself. I was doing my twins sisters last wish and going to be something we wanted to be. But thanks to this HELL HOLE MY DREAMS GOT CRUSHED
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 9, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
So far so good I've been in the HIT program for a year now, fully online. This school has quite a few campuses in various states so maybe some are better than others. Anyway, All my instructors so far have god credentials and have been very helpful and easy to contact. Depending on your course load I think the material is challenging- I have gotten good grades but I have studied my butt off for them. The online format has been really nice and convenient. There was one minor glitch but the support center helped correct it promptly. The school is not cheap but overall I am pretty happy thus far. They assign you a student advisor and mine has been on the ball with whatever help I need. The one thing I think the school could improve on is the book ordering/exchange...could simplify the process a bit.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on December 17, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Criminal Justice, BS This school was the biggest waste of money every spent! They spend more time in meetings, to plan meetings, so they can prepare for more meetings. You can never reach anyone there. The front desk knew me better than any of the staff. The Dean and Assistant Dean are complete jokes, that is why they are at Rasmussen, no one else would hire them. If you would like to give away $15,000, call me, I will take you out back, kick you in the balls and you can pay me! All they are ever after are referrals, maybe they should focus on their very small and dwindling students that are already enrolled instead of shark hunting for fresh blood. I am furious. If you turn in a paper the first week, don't expect a grade until you graduate. The librarian is a nut, I called her and man, was that an experience. Their IT support was the only thing worth a penny, and after what I paid that school, I should have gotten much more than tech support. DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL! THEY COME AROUND SOOOO NICE, THEN BOOM, THE BALL DROPS AND YOU ARE OUT OF YOUR MONEY AND YOUR TIME! Plus you have to write discussion forums several times each week and respond to others. Great, if you could read what the other people were writing, they wrote, which was suppose to contain proper grammar, an entire sentence, and so on! How can you misspell something when you have spelling check right on the page, click the damn button! I could not read them, so I responded to what I assumed they were saying! ANYWAY, STAY AWAY FROM THIS SCHOOL, AND I HAD AN A IN ALL OF MY CLASSES AND DROPPED AFTER 9 WEEKS DUE TO THE LACKING IN PROFESSIONALISM AND ETHICS!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 15, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Worst School EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I went to Rasmussen for the Practical Nursing program and I would NEVER recommend this school to anyone!!! If you want to waste over a year of your life and 30K, then Rasmussen is for you. All they want is your $$$$$$$. They sold us on the "fast track" LPN-RN program, and once they go us signed on we were told they did not have the RN program in the Twin Cities. They also told us they had hospital affiliations and clinics and once we started the program we found out that they have NO affiliations with hospitals or clinics!!! They offered an evening program and said that clinicals would be a few night of week and every other weekend, come to find out...there were NO evening clinicals and they were EVERY Saturday. They lied to us from the beginning of the program. They are also not an accredited program so if you are looking to get into a bachelor's RN program or get a good job,don't go here!!!!! The only thing decent about our school was a few teachers....that is it!!! The clinical experience was the WORST...all long term care and you are at the same site the whole time. All you do is pass meds and do vitals signs. So save your $$$ and get your CNA and wait to get into a good RN program!! All your money goes to the employees commission...and the Bloomington campus. Now I am trying to get into an RN program and am going to have to start over from square one. Rasmussen does not care about your education...only your pocket book!! We went to the Dean numerous times with all of our concerns and nothing got resolved, we were better off talking to the wall and getting better results!! Oh and if you plan on making a decent living graduating as an LPN from Rasmussen....think again!!! You pay over 30K to go there and come out making maybe $16/hr. plus having to pay all your loans back.....stay Far, Far away from Rasmussen!!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

14 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Neisha_boddie (In Progress) on April 11, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Works for Me I just finished my first year at Rasmussen, and I've actually enjoyed it so far. I move a lot, so an online school was necessary for me to ever hope to actually finish college. My student adviser has always answered me promptly. The school did call me a couple of times in my first quarter for various reasons, but since then, I've communicated with all the school reps via email, which is my preference. All the representatives have made themselves available to me whenever I need them, but I don't feel as though they are intrusive. I may have lucked out, judging from other reviews, but all of my teachers have been fantastic. They've answered my questions, given me the feedback I needed for assignments, and have made themselves available when I needed. I'm STILL learning about all of the resources that have been made available to me through the school, and many have been extremely helpful. The main thing about this school is that they won't hold your hand and they treat you like an adult, which is different from the traditional colleges I attended. Personally, I like that. Here, YOU have to make the effort, YOU have to be responsible, and YOU have to take the initiative. I had my son in the middle of the quarter, soon followed by a move (military family). I let all of my teachers and my adviser know as soon as the quarter began, and again when the date was closer. I wasn't able to log in for a week and a half, and I was able to make up all of the assignments (except the Discussions-because the board locks), and my grades didn't suffer at all. This has been my experience, and I hope it helps someone out.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

15 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 16, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Absolute worst This was absolutely the worst decision of my life to go here. At first going in the school for the first time it did seem kind of like a car salesman trying sell me a car or an army recruiter trying to get me to enlist and I should have recognized that and walked away but It was convenient that I can take all of my classes online which I couldn't do at my local junior college and I wouldn't have had to wait weeks to meet with someone like at the junior college which now I look back and I wish I would have been more patient. As soon as I signed everything and my financial aid went through that’s when all there talk about were here for you to achieve went out the window and I could not reach my career counselor and he would never return my messages. The school goes by quarters not semesters as for the first quarter I took two classes and aced them both and was even on the dean’s list but at the beginning of the second quarter I had a couple of personal family issues that I was dealing with that was interfering with me being able to do my school work. After falling behind I was finally able to get a hold of my career counselor after several calls and explained the situation in depth to him in hopes that he would understand and I thought he did he said he realizes that I’m trying to make an effort and that they would have to withdraw me this quarter but I could comeback for the next quarter. So between the end of that quarter and the beginning of the next I spent my time again trying to get a hold of my career counselor with no success I even tried going up to the school where I was informed that he was on vacation in Las Vegas. So the next quarter begins with me still trying to get a hold of my career counselor I figured if I could get a hold of him I could just start the quarter late and make up the work. Finally after calling several times the secretary at the front desk put me on hold where she would usually tell me that my counselor wasn't in so I figured finally I’ll get some answers and be able to attend school again but I was wrong she ended up transferring the call to the financial aid department and the person answering the phone I believe was the head of financial aid I can’t recall. The secretary must have told her who was on the phone because the person already knew my name and immediately started discussing a repayment plan for me. I told her the reason I was calling was to get back into school and that I talked to my career counselor and he said that was ok. She ended up saying it was too late and I would have repay in order to attend school. I proceeded to tell her that I am unemployed and I can’t afford it I then told her of the situation that led me to get withdrawn from school which was very personal to me and something I didn't want to discuss but did anyway in hopes she would understand. Her response to me was that it wasn't her problem and when can she be expecting a payment from me I then hung up the phone. Now it’s fairly easy to communicate with someone at the college they call my phone, email me, and even send letters in the mail saying that they will either take my tax refund or garnish my wages which is kind of hard to do since I’m unemployed the letter also states that they could sue me which is also hard to do seeing that I don’t own any assets no vehicle or house and doesn't look like I ever will thanks to Rasmussen since I have no experience in anything and no education that’s why its practically impossible to find a job and also the reason why I wanted to go to college in the first place now I can’t go back until I pay back the loan. I owe almost seven thousand dollars for a quarter and a half of school maybe one day I can finally get a job as fry cook or janitor or even a bag person and then they can garnish those wages. Now I know I actually don’t owe Rasmussen I owe the government but Rasmussen didn't care about me all they wanted was the money and they made no attempt to help me get back to school. I write this review so maybe it helps someone not make the same horrible mistake I made and if you don’t believe me check it out for yourself and see if there not like a car salesman or army recruiter and also look at what they charge its almost double a credit hour compared to a junior college.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

14 of 25 people found the following review helpful

Carmenlaw (Graduate) on November 1, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
RASMUSSEN COLLEGE, A COLLEGE THAT ONLY CARES FOR THEMSELVES AND ROBBING YOU OF YOUR MONEY. THE ARE THE WORST, I GRADUATED THERE WITH A 2 YEAR DEGREE AND I OWE 45,000.00. WHATS EVEN WORST IS MY FAMILY DECIDED TO GO THERE ALSO AND ONE PERSON WAS 3 QUARTERS FROM GRADUATING AND THE DEAN OF NURSING KICKED HIM OUT FOR NO REASON... OHH WAIT ANOTHER MEMBER WAS 6 WEEKS FROM GRADUATION AND THEY ALSO GOT KICKED OUT FOR NO REASON. THEY SUX. I WISH THE ATTORNEY GENERAL WOULD GO AFTER THEM FOR ALL THEIR LIES, DISCRIMINATION AND OVERCHARGING TUITION AND ROBBING STUDENTS OF THEIR FINANCIAL AID AND GETTING EVERYONE STUCK WITH ALL THE LOANS. I WOULD NEVER EVER RECOMMEND A SOUL TO THEM. STICK TO PHCC OR SPC, CHEAPER, BETTER AND TEACHERS ACTUALLY GIVE A DAMN ABOUT YOU.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

20 of 28 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 13, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Teacher's perspective (and 1 course student) As with all colleges and universities, the success of the student depends on the student (their motivation, dedication, ability to learn, etc.). I teach part time at Rasmussen College (online). There are pros and cons to every online institution, but I'll be honest about this institution since it is not where I draw the majority of my paycheck from. I also took one class there about 10 years ago when seeking my CNA. (I'm not at all in a medical profession now, but that's unrelated). Rasmussen is a good school for most majors. Nursing, in particular, has an outstanding reputation for students passing their boards on the first try and getting hired at any kind of medical facility. However, the institution does charge quite a bit for tuition (almost more than I paid for my private liberal arts undergraduate education). I think part of that stems from convenience, though. They have a good mix of fully residential, residential and online, and fully online students, so the education opportunities fit just about any schedule. Also, unlike many of the online colleges listed here, they have great support staff. You can get hold of just about anyone during regular business hours and many people outside of business hours. I've heard good and bad things about other teachers, but we are supposed to respond to students within 24 hours (and most of us do). We are also kept to a weekly grading requirement (which most of us meet), so that students can successfully navigate through the 11-week quarters. Right now the company is growing, and there are some growing pains. If you are going for a school with flexibility--this is it. If you are going for the best value dollar-wise--go to a state school.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

21 of 32 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 4, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
DONT WASTE YOUR TIME I have been a student at Rasmussen for a year, 53 credits later and I am now in debt of 20,000 dollars. That’s right one year 50 some credits and 20,000 dollars. I decided midway to disenroll in their program, which was the business management and child development course. Best choice I ever made, did I make good grades…. absolutely, even made the dean’s list SEVERAL TIMES. I did all that without ever opening a book too. Either they have the worse standards or are I am a super genius who did not graduate HS and got my GED. Best part about leaving, is finding out how many employers laugh at graduates from this institution. My step mom is one of them who is the director of a hospice, and teaches at a local college. She informed me that she will not approve employee reimbursement for anyone who enrolls in this school. Why, because any nursing student that have ever come to her hospital to train were some of the worst, so much in fact that she will no longer allow them to do their clinicals there anymore. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS SCHOOL. I also have a friend who graduated their bachelor in criminal justices program at the cost of 80,000+ dollars and has no job.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No


You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about Rasmussen College