Regent University

Regent University is a highly-ranked provider of regionally accredited online education. The school’s online degree programs, which are infused with a Christian perspective, cover business administration, journalism, theology, and other fields. The school is a member of the Navy College Program Distance Learning Partnership (NCPDLP) and offers special military benefits.

Review Average: 8.8 out of 10 (3 reviews)

Learn More

Regent University Reviews:

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Doctorate in Educational Leadership
May 15, 2008
The doctorate program in Educational Leadership at Regent University is tough . . . and worth every ounce of blood, sweat and tears. If you want to BUY a degree, don't go to Regent . . . you will have to earn your degree here . . . and you will never regret it. The Christian foundation of this program is the main reason I selected Regent. I was not disappointed. [Read more]

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Excellent Opportunity and Support
May 15, 2008
I completed my Doctor of Education with Regent University in 2007. The University, instructors, technology and support are amazing. Years before, I completed my Masters at Regent and always felt as though the University and professors cared about me, as well as my academic pursuits. I was always able to find help when needed and support for times when I just didn't understand the content. They are willing to offer additional instructional resources and provided ... [Read more]

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Regent EdD Alumnus
May 15, 2008
I found the Regent EdD program to exceed my expectations. I needed a program to meet my work demands without relocating. The professors were excellent and provided real-world assignments. I highly recommend Regent as an institution and the EdD program specifically. [Read more]

Read all 3 Regent University reviews...


Learn More

Programs:

Read all 3 reviews...

Write a Regent University Review


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Old Comments

July 23, 2010, 1:13 p.m.
+2 votes/
Concerned - Regent's motto is "Christian Leadership to Change the World." While the natural/hard sciences are important, they are not the types of fields that fit with the school's motto. I agree that you will certainly EARN your degree at Regent - from BA all the way to the doctorate programs. The professors here are knowledgeable, experienced, and demand a lot from students.
April 27, 2010, 3:09 p.m.
+1 vote/
The other posts that warn of an arduous schedule, they are right on. I'm currently an online govt under grad student. I appreciate the challenge that the school offers but I pay for it huge sacrifice it requires of my time. 

Most of the assignments I must say are relevant but demanding nonetheless. Honestly, every session I find myself praying for a good grade. In other words, I'm never complacent here.

The post that say the instructors care is pretty much dead on as well. They will not hold your hand or give you a free ride; however, most of them are understanding and will help where they can.

Overall, it's a good school that provides a quality education. When you finish, you will feel accomplished and be proud to have made it through. I'm not sure why they don't rank higher among other private colleges and universities.
Jan. 18, 2010, 3:45 a.m.
0 votes/
Why does it not offer any degree programs in the natural or hard sciences?
Jan. 8, 2010, 12:02 a.m.
0 votes/
I finished my Undergraduate degree on-line in Organizational Leadership and Management after a 25 year absence from school. Regent challenged me to become a real scholar, and transformed my cognitive abilities into a tool I can now use. The programs are aggressively demanding, but rewarding for those who want a real degree. I am now in the last semester of a Masters in Counseling, and will assuredly continue to the Doctoral level next year. Regent more than lives up to its promises, it delivers transformative change! If you want to really learn, here is your opportunity.
Oct. 7, 2009, 2:16 a.m.
0 votes/
I'm Currently working on my PhD in Organizational Leadership, this is an online program with yearly residences...It is a tough program, it requires lots of dedication and hours of work, if you have the flexibility between work and family to spend an average of 15-18 hrs per week, yes, this is almost a part time job,  between assignments and reading, then I recommend you to attend the program, if not, do yourself a favor and don't waste your $ (the school is expensive) and time, an average of 50% or more students drop during the 1st year, almost half after the first class. 

The learning experience is good, and keep in mind that this program is from a Christian school, so you will be required to use and learn about analyzing biblical texture in your quest for your PhD, all have a relation to leadership of course, I had and still do, a hard time with this part of the program.

The faculty and support staff are wonderful, they really care about the students, but with that being said, no one will hold your hand throughout the program, you are accountable and responsible for your work and time. 

Hope this helps.
Sept. 20, 2009, 9:16 p.m.
0 votes/
I am looking to double major (Or do a joint-degree) in Criminal Justice and Psychology (Pursuing my masters). I need an online college, but I do have the potential to relocate in the next 3 years after my time in Active Duty is up.  DOes anyone have any advice or opinions or anything to add about either of these subjects?
Feb. 27, 2009, 3:48 a.m.
0 votes/
I am also considering the doctoral program in counselor edu. and supervision though I plan on taking the online courses. Can anyone offer any insite as to what I can expect from this program.
June 21, 2008, 7:06 p.m.
0 votes/
I am considering applying to the Doctoral program in Counselor Education and Supervision at Regent. Any comments from people who have knowledge about this program would be greatly appreciated.
MANY THANKS!
May 13, 2008, 7:01 a.m.
0 votes/
What makes is so tough.  Are you doing the distant learning version?
April 30, 2011, 5:51 p.m.
+2 votes/
I can answer that question. Discussion Board posts with citations in APA, MLA or Turabian style. Never heard of any of them at other universities I had attended until I got to Regent. Lots and lots of reading. The online school is difficult and pretty impossible. I am saving my money and going elsewhere. Just failed one if not two classes. I am really upset with this University. I feel they think too highly of themselves. Not to many people are even familiar with this school and it is not Ivy League, so I am not really sure why they have to make the classes so difficult for students. You seriously can not have a life outside of school if you are a full time, online student. I spent the last 8 weeks studying ridiculously hard with no time for anything else and still failed. After the amount of money I have spent on classes, I will go to a public school where I can at least pass. Because the classes are so short, a lot is expected to be learned in a little time. I really do not recommend this school. I am sorry I have wasted 8 months of my time with their unrealistic expectations. 
Dec. 14, 2007, 4:47 a.m.
0 votes/
I am currently a student in the program. I'm sure you have collected information from Regent's website, but let me assure you: it is very rigorous. Most students drop out within a year, so keep in mind it will take a great deal of dedication. The learning, however, is transformational; you will learn a great deal and will notice a change in your reasoning and leadership understanding after one semester.
Nov. 24, 2007, 6:45 a.m.
0 votes/
I am considering applying to Regent's PhD in Organizational Leadership online program.  Does any one have any info/experience with this school? Thanks.
Feb. 28, 2012, 2:49 a.m.
-1 vote/
If you are not Evangelical don't even bother applying. Their faculty members asked me a question about what faith I was practicing during my PhD interview, to which I answered "I had none" and although I had a very strong BA/MA in communication with 3.5 GPA and currently teaching at two universities as adjunct professor "one of them is the second largest catholic university in the US", but they still didn't accept me. Thanks for making my anti religion convictions even stronger..
Dec. 18, 2012, 6:44 a.m.
+1 vote/
Why would you have wanted to go to Regent, in the first place, if you weren't Christian?  The university's prevailing culture would have been very difficult for you to function within, unnecessarily, in addition to the stress of your studies, it seems to me.
Oct. 5, 2011, 10:34 p.m.
0 votes/
Im considering attending Regents and majoring in Psychology...any suggestions..

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Regent University in any way.