Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Regis University

  • Regis University Reviews

    Ranking: #65
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central

2.9
43 Reviews
5 8 
4 16 
3 2 
2 2 
1 15 
0 0 

Regis University Reviews:

Horribly inadequate. How did they get ABET accreditation!?

B.S. in Computer Science - May 13, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I quit after my first semester because my experience with the instructor who was head of the department was so awful. Each week consisted of a nothing more than power point like presentation riddled with spelling and even factual/technical errors. The learning materials were entirely inadequate, so much so that it was not even possible to figure out how the hell to find good information using outside sources or by asking the instructor because the lessons were so unclear. A horrible experience, waste of time and money, and the only F on my transcripts. That being said, I did have a good experience with the intro to OOP class. The teacher was great and the learning materials were much better. I quit because the awful class was written by the head of the department. In addition, he was rewriting the course materials DURING OUR CLASS, so were basically his guinea pigs. I think I'm going to give Thomas Edison State University a go with prior learning assessment for the CS curriculum.

Was this review helpful?

HORRIBLE

Master of Science in Software Engineering - March 26, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Worst school I have ever went to. I've been to a lot of schools before. I've attended DeVry, LSUS, SNHU, and more. Regis is the bottom of the barrel. I'm in my third class which is one of the most important for my track, the professor is a lazy, good for nothing dip. I've been waiting over a week for grads. I started this degree in August and the up until last week I've spent my time writing APA papers on SCRUM. The first two classes have no technology in them at all. I think you take a total of about five tech classes. It is an horrible school. I've spent less time on the grad work than I did on my undergrad work and I have a 4.0.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Horrible, but the only online accredited option

B.S. in Computer Science - September 21, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is a horrible online university, with the worst professors I have ever encountered from any other university (a small handful of good ones). The college claims that it will allow you to maintain a professional life while still getting your degree, which is why I chose to attend. My schedule does not permit me to have time for in person courses. I have done more work per undergraduate course than my friends do in their MS and PhD programs, and it is due primarily to one thing : TEACHERS DO NOT TEACH. They moderate, and barely so at that. They are also much more pretentious than the average professor which is odd considering they are basically online moderators, and it is very easy to get on their bad side. If they don't like you for whatever reason, they can make it show on your grade and get away with it, knowing it would be too much effort for you to pursue. There are no lectures, and every week is literally 'Read these chapters, do this homework, and 'participate' by posting in a forum with 3 different assignments (which is not true participation btw, but rather an extra assignment in which you are graded for on a right/wrong basis). Teachers are lazy, unresponsive, and inconsistent. It costs the same as a normal college class, and provides nothing related to an actual class experience. They have a 'leading computer school', yet don't even have the competence to produce a decent functioning educational site (they can't even implement a basic smooth functioning email system). If you are a very fast and good reader you may be able to get through this fine, but do NOT plan on this as being something you can balance well with a professional life. If coursera.org, a FREE ONLINE COLLEGE can offer full lectures, assignments, and timely support, why does the college THAT I PAY 1380 a course for not offer even a basic functioning site. I thought an all online program would allow me the flexibility and time to work and still finish my degrees. If I had known how bad this would be, I would have sought out night courses somewhere else. Though I have invested too much already, and need to finish what I have started.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Not worth your time or money

B.S. in Computer Science - February 5, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After two terms of technical difficulties and non-help from online "facilitators" who can't explain course concepts, I've decided to go elsewhere for my degree. Overpriced for what they offer -- courses that are irrelevant and out of date.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Overpriced, Enormous Student Loan

Online Accounting Degree - November 12, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I wish I had chosen a different school. I have five classes left to graduate and a $40k student loan that I have no idea how it will be paid off. There are a lot of terrible teachers with a hand full of amazing ones. Being a single mom, the appeal of getting school done quicker was too enticing to pass up. The accelerated classes make it difficult to have a proper foundation in remembering the course work. Be wiser and go elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

RHSHCP was excellent

.. - July 23, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I understand mileage may vary. I found my time at Regis to be excellent. the professors were all very good and the school was flexible. the students often are teh greatest source of future contacts and knowledge. All of which I found to be excellent. I am not sure of the bad reviews and cannot speak to the experience of others but I have always found the staff to be incredibly helpful. from the first person who answers the phone to walking for my degree, I found Regis to be a supportive enlightening experience. I am sorry for others who have felt otherwise.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL...RUN AWAY AS FAR AS YOU CAN

MS in Accounting - January 8, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I agree with other students that the books are insanely priced at this school. During my first term at the online school, I had ordered a book. After a week, when it did not arrive, it took several tries to call the bookstore and talk to someone. When I finally conversed with a bookstore employee I was told they didn't have the book I ordered and did not know when it would be in stock. This information would have been nice to know when I ordered the book, instead of during the first week of class. I do not and will never recommend this school for their Accounting Masters program. When I calculate the good teacher/bad teacher ratio, I have had 50% of good teachers, 50% of bad teachers. This university could care less if the student is unhappy about their teacher. The only resource a student has to voice problems with instructors are the academic advisers and I can tell you from experience, the academic advisers are too busy to deal with your problems and if you are lucky enough to be contacted by an adviser, they aren't interested in helping you or advising, they are more interested in telling you how wrong you are and how right they are. In other words, this school could care less if a student is having a problem and seeking ways to address that problem. Some of the online problems deal with an incomplete syllabus, missing items on the syllabus, teachers that do not grade homework in a timely manner, teachers who do not respond in a timely manner. I have gone weeks before my assignments were graded and 3 - 4 days before the instructor responded to an email. Online school is very different from physically attending college because it strongly depends on critical communication skills. When communication is not present, or muffled, as in the instructor cannot efficiently answer a question, it causes great stress on the student. This school evidently wants their students to be stressed because it refuses to do anything to alleviate the problems or find a solution. If you ever want to feel unloved, insignificant, ignored or tortured, this school may just be your answer. Other comments are their online library is just about as difficult as it gets. You will spend hours upon hours in frustration learning how to use it and retrieve materials. At least their library staff is very good at what they do and very helpful. Equally as positive is their IT staff. They are magnificent! Those are the only good points of attending their online classes. Also note that online students have to access three different websites to interact with this school which is equally frustrating. There is very little online instruction regarding how to use their three sites.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful

My experience was bad

B.S. in Computer Science - December 17, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The employees at the traditional college treat the adult section as if it is not a "real" college and openly belittle it. The professors in the traditional college are paid more than those in the adult college. At least one professor in the adult section thinks of the college as a diploma mill.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Crapp

MSM - Organization Leadership - October 12, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Poor, poor quality education and highly expensive. For the most part, you can breeze through with half a brain, but the facilitators are a mixed bag of total inconsistent practices. The worst facilitator of all for me, contrary to some other posts was my MSOL capstone. PhD, but so theory driven and inexperienced in business (whole career almost 100% academic), she could apply "relevant" to exercises or dig her way out of a paper bag in a real business environment. totally liberal and imposing of that attitude if you didn't share that position. One of those I know everything even though I have no real experience - shouldn't be allowed to instruct business courses and certainly not capstones. Dumb as a rock in my opinion with respect to theory vs. practical applicable of something as simple as "critical thinking". Oh, and assistant dean of College of Professional Studies by the way.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great Education.

Online Business Administration Degree - June 1, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I spent months searching for an online degree in Business Administration. I wanted a brick and mortar school that offered online degrees and I came across Regis University. Its a well ranked school with great quality education. I am in the process of earning my BS Business Administration and I have learned many skills to grow my business. If your going to take courses here then be prepared to work hard. If your the type of person that learns better with teacher standing in front of you, then this is not for you. Overall I give the education here an A. Great school, Great Education.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Came Through Exceptionally Prepared!

Master in Education Degree - May 3, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The Regis M.Ed plus license program afforded me the opportunity to do field work in a wide variety of schools;exposing me to a variety of approaches, contributing, expanding and challenging my own philosophy. The approach was such that by the time I entered my practicum period, I knew exactly what type of environment I wanted, and why. I was prepared to take over the full responsibilities of a teacher. My continued investment in research and more progressive ideas were honored and appreciated by both my cooperating teachers and Regis. The research I invested in, not because I was asked to...but because I had the desire...helped me contribute to what became the first public Expeditionary school within DPS. I got everything I needed (plus some) from my time at Regis...but..I put in a lot! You could invest less of yourself, but I don't suspect you'd get as much out of the program.

Was this review helpful?

In the adult program you will teach yourself and pay a pretty penny for it...

.. - April 6, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

What a disappointment. This is the most unorganized department I have ever encountered. You will be teaching yourself and paying a pretty penny to do it. Very unfriendly staff. It is completely unethical how the students are treated. Students are paying for the departments errors. Be very careful before you dive into such a disappointing program.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Regis University MBA program

MBA - March 20, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I went through the program in 3 years. Overall, I would have to say that I really had a good experience with the Regis MBA program. But keep in mind, you must put the time in, if you’re not a self starter or able to figure out things !!!! Online classes might not be for you.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Overall, Great!

Applied Psychology Degree Online - June 19, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall, this is a great school, but only when a student has proper expectations. Firstly, there are NO professors, just facilitators. They are not so much there to teach, but rather to confirm that a student can demonstrate learned knowledge. Secondly, regardless of what online school someone attends there are always going to be many students that are mediocre at best. Some students just don't place a huge importance on school and do just enough to get their funding at get their grades. Typically, they will not last, and are simply left with a huge debt and no degree. Thirdly, despite the online programs they offer, this school has several locations throughout Denver, and is a real brick-and-mortar school. The school has deep spiritual roots and is apart of a large alliance of national university with stellar reputations. The tuition may seem high to some, but unlike the savory reputation and poor course materials for-profit universities have, it is quite substantial. Some of the test books lacked some extensive information, however, overall the learning materials are thought provoking. The college is designed for very strong, disciplined students, who are self guided. I have found that the facilitators can be good and bad, and that is a frustration, but I don't pay that any mind, and just continue learning and sending my assignments. It is a well-rounded traditional learning structure, but in an online accelerated format. For the person who said that they can't be part of the tradition college environment, perhaps this author should note that the purpose of CPS(Regis) is strictly designed for working adults and not for those that attend the traditional college. If that is the experience they want then go to a school that is open (there are countless in Denver Metro area)to both traditional semesters and hybrid classes. One "teacher" explained that she was accused of cheating. While I am sure there is considerably more to the story, keep in mind, any person who has attending five other higher institutes of learning is likely a questionable student to begin with. Problems are not with the school, purely the students who had unrealistic expectations.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Very very satisfied

Computer Information Systems - April 29, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my bachelors degree in Computer Information Sysems. All my classes were done online and they were all very challenging. As a working professional living outside the US, I found the experience very wortwhile. The texts used are excellent. I cannot underscore enough how good the texts and the supplemental material are to the overall pedagogical experience. Each online course lasts 8 weeks which I think is just right. The shorter 5 week courses I think are too condensed and students focus on passing rather than on learning. The cost is cheaper than Phoenix online. I know because a co-worker of mine took that route and has paid more by about 30%. I did have one bad experience with a professor who I swear was bi-polar. But that was 1 out of 20 and the other 19 were top notch. I recommend this school's online degree program.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful

You get out what you put in

MSM - Organization Leadership - April 11, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently completed my MSOL degree and I am quite pleased with Regis University. Over the last two years, I've read several reviews and from my point of view, what you get out of the program is what you put into it. My experience at Regis was very positive and would advise students to comparison shop for your books (like with Amazon for example). I also thought the Blackboard could use some updating. For the most part, all of my facilitators were excellent and if there was a situation when the facilitator wasn't excellent, our advisor was available and helped us do something about it. The courses in my program had immediate application for me on the job and that made learning that much more interesting. My classmates were professional, cordial and really wanted to be in each of my classes; this makes for a very positive experience, especially in group work. At the end of the day, I feel Regis University offers a really great program that requires students to put forth effort to achieve their goals. At the end of the day, I feel Regis University offers a really great program that requires students to put forth effort.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

never again

Online Business Administration Degree - April 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started this university in the middle of the year they have sense of anything when u call to talk about ur tuition account. No one knows what they r doing. The professors aren't really professors they r dumb people who have no clue about what they r talking about. I have always been an a student and suddenly after 3 and half years this school took that away. All Bc I asked a question. Don't go here.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 34 people found the following review helpful

Good Value

MSM - Organization Leadership - March 27, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed an online graduate program in 2011 (MS - Organizational Leadership). In summary this program was a good value. The entire curriculum includes an ethics component which differentiates this program. If you are self-sufficient and a strong communicator (writing in particular), you will do well. If you need alot of personalized instruction, this may not suit you (as is the case with other online programs). Coursework requires a great deal of independent reading and a fair amount of research. Having professional experience is helpful as the coursework is both practical and theoretical. I was able to complete the program in approximately 3 years but it's possible to do it much more quickly if you have the time and inclination. Some of the courses seemed to have redundant content but all required research and papers. The online tools and library work well - I never had any major issues. The students that I met were great - virtually all were mature professionals. Most of the facilitators were consultants of some kind but generally were not that engaged in the work. I found most of the facilitators to be enthusiastic and helpful but there were exceptions as you would expect in any graduate program. I have recommended Regis to my coworkers.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Being overcharged just to be segregated

Online Business Administration Degree - March 27, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school puts non-traditional students in evening or online classes ONLY! Its a form of segregation that I cannot believe continues to happen. Its a good institution if you can attend the actual University but adults are forced to attend long even classes or terrible online courses where you feel like you are teaching yourself. If you are an adult, save the $460 per credit and go somewhere that treats you like part of the school.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Terrible Online Program

Online Business Administration Degree - December 26, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Program: Software Engineering The other review was right, the online programs are horrible. They are not real teachers, just facilitators. They offer no real help. It wouldn't have been so bad if the overpriced book for the class would have pertained to the questions being asked. Don't waste your money, there are plenty of other great online schools.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Business Technical Management Degree (Good or Good Enough?)

Online Business Administration Degree - July 5, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started out with Regis in 2005 as my Employer recommended Regis for their CPS programs and they also provided Tuition Reimbursement. I found I was not real motivated at the time by Regis' online technical courses, materials, and support/resources so I took only a few courses then shortly dropped it all together. When they incorporated their Business Technical Management degree program I thought I would give them another try and have now to complete approximately 40 more credits toward my degree. Some courses have been great, while others have been not so great, but I am trying to finish what I started here at Regis. I do believe the online courses although as a great alternative to not being able to be physically in the classroom has its challenges; the minimum interaction with the "facilitator" and the limited functionality of the online course/forum. They have made a few updates since 2005 but the technology is still lacking. Because the online courses are taught by online facilitators, actual engagement with interactive discussion and "lecture" has been limited in my experience and communications and attachments can sometimes get "fouled up", and trying to contact the facilitator by emails or by phone does not always seem practical. Most of my learning has been straight from textbooks and by research and now at a high cost without tuition reimbursement. I finally had the opportunity to take a few class-room based courses last summer and I now see the full benefit of being in the classroom with the "professor" instead of online with the "facilitator". As an adult it can seem like a double-edged sword as the online course offers limited learning but great flexibility, and class-room based offers great learning but less flexibility (with family, etc.) As a learning adult and after this long juggling college courses I have learned to pick my battles along this journey with Regis and have learned to accept the bad with the good! Thanks

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Excellent experience thus far

Master of Science in Software Engineering - May 24, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am quite surprised by some of the negative feeback about this university. I am currently pursuing an MS in Software Engineering and have found the course work to be difficult and beneficial. I assume that many negative comments stem from a bad experience such as not receiving an answer that they wanted to hear or perhaps even getting an F in a course. I will say that this school is great and if you have a chance to visit the campus, I highly suggest it! It is beautiful. Just like any program, you can cruise through this one and 'just get by' or you can apply yourself and really get a lot out of it. I do agree that certain instructors are not very helpful and don't provide very much support but a majority of them are more than happy to give out their phone numbers, etc. The online environment does need an update as it feels a bit dated. Perhaps some real-time interactive content, chatting, video, etc would be nicer. But the online software used for the classes is not what provides a good education. Many professors in the program have been working simultaneously in the IT field for years and are very knowledgeable. Some may think this is a form of self-validation or whatever, but I have other degrees from state universities and I can honestly say the experience and knowledge gained at Regis is great!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Regis - Great Education

MBA - May 9, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently completed my masters in accounting at Regis. I found the professors to be excellent and the material to be challenging. What surprised me was that the books and other material that we used were also used by other graduate programs such as Wharton, Northwestern and the University of Chicago. My professors were engaging and really challenged me. Overall, I thought the program was an excellent value.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

You should be cautious of taking online courses here

Online Business Administration Degree - April 6, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The textbook prices at this school are outrageous. It's cheaper to purchase the books on Amazon. There isn't any materials for the course work. There isn't any video lectures. There isn't a chatting room where a student can chat with a professor. The instructors rely heavily on reading the assigned textbook. There isn't any help or REAL input from the instructor. The people "teaching" these online course aren't professors, they are facilitators. Basically you will receive a low grade "teaching" if you want to call it "teaching". Students only write papers, post to a forum and reply to a post from other students. They don't have their PhD's. In fact, a lot of them graduated from Regis Online MBA Program. I didn't have any type of interaction from the institution. There isn't much support. Regis online forum crashes often. They tell you not to upgrade your Internet portal in fear of it not being compatible with their "blackboard". Overall, this place was a waste of my time. Thankfully, they won't see a dime of my money. There are a lot better online Universities out there. I suggest you do your research before taking classes at Regis. A student, it would be better for you to take a course in class so you can receive real instruction. Don't under value the importance of human interaction.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Great university!

Online Business Administration Degree - December 19, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated this month at Regis University College for Professional Studies with a degree in Business Administration. The concept of the Jesuit mission gave my education a little something extra. The religious course requirements were so enlightening although at first I was not certain as to why I had to take them! My advisor was incredible and extremely helpful and prompt with every issue. Well-worth every penny. I highly recommend this university to anyone with a global conscious and question themselves on how they ought to live.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

MBA Review

MBA - April 27, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I believe that the Regis online program is an excellent value. The MBA program offered a very rewarding and educational experience. As I was completing my program, I had friends that attended MBA programs in class at well know universities. Their program was less intensive, required much less work and generally used the same materials that Regis used. The Regis program utilized a mix of regular professors and adjunct professors that provided real world experience.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Excellent experience

MBA - December 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a healthcare executive I have found that the Regis MBA has been extremely valuable to me over the years. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to move up in the ranks of management within their organization, or pursue managerial opportunities elsewhere. The teachers were knowledgeable and made the classes interesting. Regis is just a fine, well respected Denver area institution that delivers a quality educational experience.

Was this review helpful?

What a scam...

MBA - July 15, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

For an exclusively online program, this school is terrible. They sell their online program by starting out with a very video oriented classroom environment and sell you the idea that you can complete your classes while running on a treadmill, etc....however this is not the case after the very first course. The next 12 courses barely utilize the "online classroom" environment, which is nothing more than a low-tech discussion forum. Regis puts no money at all in to their online program. They actually don't even have professors teaching the courses, they have "facilitators" who actually have a policy to not assist students, rather defer you to other students for help. They are all about the money, and operate at the lowest cost possible...embedded in the course materials you will find advertisements, links to 3rd party tools, etc... I got a call one day from a Regis faculty member who called to "verify" my personal information, was very nice, chatted for a while, and then asked for a donation which is all he was really after. The quality of students in this program is terrible. Most of them can't even spell. I think this says a lot about their program since this appears to be who they gear their program towards. Most of these students really think they're making something of themselves and refuse to believe they have been conned by Regis. I am near completion of my MBA, and for the very little work I have put in to maintain a 4.0 GPA, I already know that this degree will be worth nothing when I finish. VERY disappointing. I would be completely outraged had I been the one paying the tuition rather than my employer. I would recommend the Regis MBA to anyone that has their employer paying for the degree, and is only after a piece of paper that says "MBA" on it. Word to the wise, do not expect to gain any knowledge or business experience through the course of this program. The only "Masters" are those who created the Regis MBA program. They have truly built a complete gold mine scam out of a .edu website and continue to scam thousands of students across the country out of $30,000 for a worthless degree. It is one thing to run a smaller scale university and provide a reasonable education to their on-site students, but whoever is responsible for the MBA program should be ashamed of themselves. The funny thing is that Regis refuses to comment on any complaints submitted about the program, which only further proves that they are fully aware of the situation they have created, and want to ride this out until the law otherwise prohibits.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Exceptional education

Organizational Development - June 3, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Exceptional institution ! It was everything that I had heard that it was and more. I took classes on campus and via distance learning- both were rigorous, well organized, and worthwhile. Just a great overall experience at a top notch school. For undergraduate work I attended a very well known eastern institution, and I feel there was no comparison in the quality of education that I received. Regis hands down was superior in every aspect.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Very good.

MSM - Organization Leadership - May 20, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Regis University is a very good Colorado based school that is part of the Jesuit alliances of schools; ones who pride themselves by offering rigorous programs that keep Jesuit ideals at the forefront. For many consecutive years US News and World Report has ranked this school high, and rightfully so. Whether it is on campus, or via distance learning, you cannot go wrong with Regis. Regis University has provided exceptional learning since the 1800s, and unlike many other traditional universities- they are not afraid to change with the times.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful

MBA - Regis review

MBA - May 10, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've found the MBA program at Regis University to be quite good. I reside in Colorado and have other local schools to choose from as well as the plethora of onlin &/or brick-mortar choices. I've had experience with graduate schools in my life-long learning both with Colorado schools and schools such as University of London. I chose Regis for MBA because it is a Jesuit institution with a reputation for excellence. It is known amongst MBA programs as being among the best. As for being Jesuit, any person Catholic or not would feel very comfortable at Regis (as so many non-Catholics have told me whom have attended). What makes the Jesuit part cool is that their goal is to get you to think and analyze and come to defensible conclusions. In this way it is very much not cookie-cutter as MBA programs go. Another benefit is that you don't spend your life relying on partners in group projects to get things done. Again, the focus is on your learning and your thinking (great if you're a busy professional taking class online).

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Regis MBA

MBA - April 30, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I travel constantly for work this was my only option. I researched other programs but felt a bricks and mortar institution was a better investment. The MBA education is good; you get out of it what you put into it. If you are a self starter and can succeed on your own you will do fine. I completed the course in two years without any breaks. Having attended law school which I can use as my only comparison to gradute course work, I felt I spent an equal amount of time required for the class work.

Was this review helpful?

Regis MBA

MBA - March 19, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall, I would have to say that I really had a good experience with the Regis MBA program. At first, I was a little apprehensive about it due to its lack of professional accreditation (AACSB, ACBSP), but I was quickly put at ease by my academic advisor and the outlook of the institution. The learning model is structured in a way to teach current business trends by way of practitioners in the field. All of my instructors were well qualified and the subject matter was extremely relevant. I attended a large state university when I was younger and I would have to say that the attention I got from Regis faculty was above and beyond what I had gotten from any other institution. The online platform is pretty innovative and the school uses it as best they can. During several of my courses, they actually had streaming video recorded interviews of leading business professionals that provided valuable insight and supplemented the subject matter nicely. This was extremely helpful and I wish they had that for all the subjects. Every course had some sort of end goal, which made the material a little easier to digest. As an example, in finance, the course was set up as a large case study where we were the CFO's making the decisions for the entire course. One suggestion I would offer is possibly changing the first two foundation courses, Essentials of Business Development I & II. The courses are composed of clusters of subject matter and take an integrated approach to foundational business learning. I would suggest replacing those two courses with two solid courses that focus on two separate emphasis areas (i.e. accounting, information systems, general management, etc). Regis is a well established school with a reputation for quality. The program is very solid in content and delivery and I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Regis is a joke

MBA - January 20, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I got involved in this program because my company would cover all the charges. My other option was University of Denver but the cost was so much higher, so I took the Regis route. This is a 1-800 anyone get a degree college. If you disagree, you are just trying to validate yourself, for waisting your money, I didn't pay for it. A majority of the professors only have Masters Degrees. One of my professors is getting his PHD at Colorado Tech, another joke school. I did my undergrad at CU and I'll tell you, the quality of professors there vs. Regis is night and day. A lot of professors work for the government. If you don't get why that is potentially poor for your education, I really feel bad for you. I had group members, who's quality of work was so poor, I couldn't even believe they finished undergrad. I come from a family of educators, so I feel confident that I'm a good judge. I did have a couple good Professors, so I apologize to them, however, the rest are a joke. My cousin went to a top 10 business college and graduated with an MBA. He came out with me and a couple of friends and talked to us about his degree. We sounded like we had never even went to an "mba" degree. We were lost. Other students felt the same way, the ones who say how great it is, are not that bright and could never make it anywhere else.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Regis University MBA

MBA - December 22, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience has been pretty good. The classes range from very challenging to rather easy. The best part for me is the flexibility, the sessions are 8 weeks and no travel is involved. Another advantage for me is that most assignments are individual based rather than team based. I expect that this will be well worth the investment of time and effort, as I expect a 40K annual salary boost when I finish.

Was this review helpful?

Good IT Program

MS in Computer Information Technology - November 23, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I found the MSCIT program to be a great value for my money. Many of the teachers have worked or are currently working in the IT field and have a great deal of practical experience. Some of the database related courses were very challenging and I am using what I learned in them on the job today. Halfway though the program I changed my focus from systems engineering to database technologies because of a job opening at my company. I talked to my advisor and was able to make the change without much difficulty. One complaint is that some of the courses I wanted to take weren't available often enough, such as the database tuning course. Also, trying to get in contact with your advisor can be difficult sometimes. All things considered, I would recommend the MSCIT program.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great Program for Working Adults

MBA - September 9, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently taking my final course in the online MBA program and I must say that the past year and a half has been a challenging but very useful experience. The courses are not independent studies nor are they like undergrad lectures, as no graduate program is. I believe the research and discussions among students helps managers open up a new line of thinking to their respective area of responsibilty, as it did for me. The previous negative posts appear to be about negative isolated incidents and not really related to the program itself. It does require alot of determination and self-discipline, but the information gained was well worth it for me. As each course builds upon the last, looking back I realize that I have learned a considerable amount about where my firm's focus should be and how I can help it reach it's goals. Also, the staff at the campus was very helpful with everything from Alumni contacts to resume revision to job placement. One example: Regis is a part of the Jesuit network (Loyola, Georgetown, etc.) so I was able to attend a MBA students only career fair at Fordham University (Jesuit) in NYC because of this. All in all, I think its a great program.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

TERRIBLE!

MBA - May 19, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I hate this school. Their billing practices are extremely opaque and they will try to get money out of you at every opportunity. Colleages in the MBA program were really incompetent and unable to do even simple presenations with professionalism. With a handful of exceptions, I would never hire anyone in my classes. Though I had one good instructor, the others were really terrible. I have withdrawn from this school and I will stress that everyone I meet never attend!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

You Get What You Give

MS in Computer Information Technology - April 1, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Since this school has brick and mortar roots and holds Christian ethics up to be valued and practiced, I found the IT program a solid value. More plainly said, if you are an honest student who is willing to work/participate in your own education, a person who cherishes excellence, you can get a lot out of the M.Sci. program. You need to do the assignments and seek help when struggling. Just as you can hide in a real classroom you can do so online. You can copy the work of others just like real-world students... in short, your education and perception of Regis is a reflection on your own character and ambition. I witnessed students that just wanted to "get by" and punch a ticket at Regis, but I also saw those same types on campus at state colleges. At the time I attended (2001-2003) there was no interactive technology like Live Meeting. I am in the industry 30 years and web casting and interactive (shared desktop over internet) meetings and demos occur everyday. I complained about the lack of this sort of technology and the lack of simple teleconference bridges for key class "lectures" or discussion. I don't know if Regis has sought to take the lead in application of technology to online education. If they did I'm sure today's student value it. If not, I'd look for a school that teaches IT using the latest IT. Yes. What I studied I used in industry.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Regis University is not worth it.

MBA - March 22, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started the MBA program at Regis and was cruising along nicely unitl I took Finance. I was struggling to maintain a low B/high C average with 3 weeks left in the course. 2 other classmates emailed me and wanted to work together on some assignments because our instructor (A WOMAN NAMED ALEX) was not helpful and actually very rude to each of us when we asked for help. Anyway, we would all work thru problems on the phone and on IM to try to better understand the materials. I'm a teacher and what we were doing would be considered peer tutoring, but Alex said we were cheating. She then failed me for the course. I took the issue up with the Dean but never had anything resolved and later found out the other two students did not suffer my fate. This soured me on Regis and I switched to another school and changed my Masters area even though I had completed 21 of the 36 hours towards my MBA at Regis. As far as other teachers go, they were not bad at all, but my experience with Alex and the lack of a resolution from the Dean get Regis a low score from me. Another issue with Regis is the cost. It is more expensive that JIU, Walden, The University of Phoenix, and a host of other schools, yet their degree is no more prestigious than any of those I listed. The one good thing I about Regis is they do mail you the best course materials of any of the universities I've attended(5). The stuff was great and very easy to read and absorb.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great Experience with Regis

MBA - December 13, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had an excellent experience with Regis. I felt the quality of the education I received online has been on the par with the brick and mortar experience. The instructors had not only a great academic background but also provided some real world situations for discussion. The utilization of materials from the Harvard Business School was terrific. I found that a friend who was obtaining his MBA from Berkeley and another friend who was at ASU were going over the same materials as I was and even utilizing similar text materials. This gave me a sense of confidence in the design of the education and its curriculum. The only down side I found in my experience were that the videos provided for each course did not provide much to the experience. I found that the information posted by the professor, the interactive chat between class members and other online resources were much more effective than the video lecture. I found myself using them less and less as my courses went on. The only course I found them effective for was some of the financial and statistical classes. Overall though, I would highly recommend the experience and would recommend the online version if you are self motivated, goal oriented, flexible and determined.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Exceptional School with great Resources

MBA - October 9, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After looking at several schools, I chose Regis University for my degree for a number of reasons. First, the reputation of the degree received from Regis University is excellent in the business community. More so in Colorado than other states, but even back east, those in the know, know of Regis' strong academic reputation. Class schedules have so far worked out for my evening class time needs as I work during the day. I like to take a mix of online and in-class courses. My general preference in in-class, just because I like the personal interaction better, but the online class has been good too so far, even though it took a couple of days to get the feel of how to get the most out of the online class experience. The instructors and curriculum are challenging and always relevant to what I'm doing in my career, so it's great to be able to directly apply new things I learn right away. As for support, I think its great. They have a student support line with extended hours and you can call for help in finding research items through the online library to getting your email account set-up. Always very nice and helpful. Tuition seems a bit high, but where isn't it these days? Overall, I beleive I made a good choice in selecting Regis University for my Marketing degree. Can't wait to wrap it up!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Stay away from this school

MBA - August 9, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had a bad experience in this school. They seemed very unorganized. Very difficult to get any type of help with technical issues, questions about the course etc etc. The lectures were very generic and I felt like I was teaching myself everything. I would not recommend this school.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Regis University in any way.