Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Rushmore University

3.4
15 Reviews
5 4 
4 6 
3 1 
2 2 
1 2 
0 0 

Rushmore University Reviews:

Great University

MBA - April 23, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my MBA in two years; the quality of the faculty is high and I never had such a support in the past on my University in Rotterdam (Holland)

Was this review helpful?

Quality instruction

MBA - July 29, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Rushmore University has allowed me to work directly with very talented professors. I have been pleasantly suprised by the quality of my educational experience, so far. I was happy tp see that Rushmore has achieved accreditation from the Chartered Management Institute for various courses including it's CMI accredited MBA.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

This university doesn't even check if you have a Bachelor's

MBA - June 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This university granted a MBA to a person I know isn't even a high school graduate. She didn't graduate from any college or university but just indicated that she did on-line because she assumed they would not check. They didn't.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Think twice before enrolling

MBA - May 30, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I studied for an MBA degree, which I completed after just about 11 months. The work involved is not hard, provided you have some academic experience. It is pure essay writing, which in itself is perhaps not a disadvantage to written exams (contents of which we all forget very quickly afterwards). However, there is no inter-human skill taught here, as you work only via email with your professor, and there is no alumni for the same reason. I also found disappointing that some professors were clearly marketing their own books (which in case of one professor, was really not an academic work at all). The actual diploma was printed upside down, which meant I cannot show it to any serious employer. Finally, I took my Rushmore MBA off my CV, to not look ridiculous with it. However, the Rushmore experience does teach you discipline. It is not easy to sit down after a days work and work on your next essay. This lesson in discipline still serves me today. Also to think for yourself, rather than be a sheep like most academics. Some professors are clearly in it for their own ego and to market their books (Donald Mitchell, this is for you). Others are there to share their wisdom and you would never have met them otherwise. I strongly suggest that if you pursue any course here that you interview your professors and only work with them if you feel completely comfortable with them. I do not regret having done this, but it was a waste of time and money, in my opinion.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Absolutely NOT A Diploma Mill

Oxford Teaching Method Program - October 14, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed their MBA program in just less than two years, and it couldn't be further from a proverbial diploma mill. The program I completed was chock full of course materials and required significant amounts of written papers for review by both the editorial staff as well as the individual course professors. During the two year program I was in constant contact with professors by email and phone. Anyone calling Rushmore a diploma mill is simply uninformed.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Rushmore University

Oxford Teaching Method Program - March 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Rushmore University is a unique institution that assist individuals to open up opportunities for life in the real sense. Their flexibility way of teaching, the hard work required to earn required credits and so on make this university very cridible and innovative. Those people trying to negate it are simply weak in innovation and have no crue on what a graduate programme should like like. I have completed an MBA at this institution and I am very confident of what I did. Only a warning: If somebody is lazy and wants a quick degree, Rushmore cannot help. They require hard work and extensive research to be able to have enough credits for the degree.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Don't do it!

Oxford Teaching Method Program - March 1, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It is a diploma mill. Not only will you be involved with a fraud but any future employers will judge you on this very negatively. I promise.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Rushmore University - PhD

Information Systems Management - January 23, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This program was actually very good as far as "learning" in the real sense. However, be advised that if you want some government jobs that require degrees from regionally acredited institutions, or you wish to teach at a traditional school they will not recongnize this degree. That said, I do consulting and having a PhD helps with credibility in conjuction with experience of course, and ultimately no on really cares where you got your degree from.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Rushmore University

Oxford Teaching Method Program - June 10, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great set up. Not recommended if you plan on using the degree in the workforce. Not recognized anywhere!!!

Was this review helpful?

7 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Learning in the Real Sense

Oxford Teaching Method Program - December 15, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Rushmore and its use of the Oxford Tutorial Method provides an opportunity for individuals to learn and expand their knowledge in a way that allows personal growth and intellectual development second to none. The quality of the professorial staff who work one on one with students is world class. They have been there - done that and mentor from their vast knowledge and experience in the subject matters they teach.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Worthwhile

Oxford Teaching Method Program - August 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Rushmore faculty work you hard and only except high standards of work that demenstrates a thorough understanding of the material and a logical analysis of a problem before grades are awarded. Different to most University courses is that you have to produce evidence of your practical experience in applying what you learn besides the required whitepaper. Therefore it is not just about learning books and listening but about thorough research, developing your own theories from what you read and from that a hypothesis, working them through in your place of work and writing the resulta out in your report. You need a grade B or about 75% to pass and move onto the next module. Studying with Rushmore is a worthwhile endeavour. You study with some great men well known and respected in the business world. Its about learning from those who have been there done that and probably still doing it.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 9 people found the following review helpful

CHALLENGING EXPERIENCE

Oxford Teaching Method Program - June 28, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I AM DOING A MASTERS IN MANAGEMENT CONSULTING.FROM MY EXPERIENCE THE RUSHMORE PROGRAMME HAS BEEN HIGHLY CHALLENGING.I FOUND OUT THAT YOU HAVE TO BE HIGHLY SELF-MOTIVATED.THE ADVISORS ARE VERY EXPERIENCED PROFESSIONALS WHO KNOW WHAT IS REQUIRED TO EARN A HIGHER DEGREE.THEY REALLY WANT YOU TO SHOW THAT YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU ARE SAYING.IT IS NOT AN EASY WAY TO EARN A DEGREE.IT IS QUITE CHALLENGING.CONSIDERING THE RIGOR AND THE WORK THAT IS DONE I THINK THE INSTITUTE SHOULD SEEK AN ACCEPTABLE ACCREDITATION.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Definately not a Diploma Mill

Oxford Teaching Method Program - February 2, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you're looking for a Diploma Mill, where you can just buy a degree, then look elsewhere. Rushmore advisors, from my experience, really work you but in a very supportive way. They want you to succeed but not at the expense of Rushmore or their names. You can model your own degree to suit your career and therefore is not really suitable for those just starting out. Also, as many of the courses have a strong practical orientation, rather than just studying from case notes and using hypothetical discussions and simulations as learning aids, the student must be in a position that can allow this. It takes approximately 10 - 15 courses to acheive the Rushmore MBA and forget the 3,000 word limit on course work they mention. From my experience you should be aiming for 5,000 or above per course if you want the credits, and multiple citations throughout from at least 10 different sources. Though not being accredited (by choice) it definately provides high quality education suited to modern life.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Withdrew after discovering it was a degree mill

Oxford Teaching Method Program - October 21, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a working adult with an MBA, I have been looking at distance education options that would allow me to receive a doctorate, despite my rural location. I saw an ad for Rushmore and thought it seemed like a good fit. Having no experience with online, I wasn't sure what to expect. Finally after my second class, I started to get suspicious and did some independent research to find that it was completely unaccredited in the US and largely considered a fraud. As far as European use, they list a European accrediting agency, but I have been unable to verify that that accrediting agency means anything or if it really exists for any other purpose than a phony plug for Rushmore and others like it. I did learn some interesting things reading the texts, but it won't contribute towards meaningfull progress to any type of valid credential. Buyer beware! On the upside, I have found many great resources for independently research higher education institutions.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Ph.D. in Humanities & Letters

Oxford Teaching Method Program - August 14, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed this degree after being accepted into the school based on holding 90 college credits and having a verified extensive reading list of great works during the admission process. To complete the degree I had to complete fifteen tutored topical courses with qualified instructors holding graduate degrees and a dissertation defended before my tutors and a faculty professor. Not a fast or easy process- nor was it inexpensive. I did this for personal reasons and cannot attest to the value compared to industry standards as in academia. My experience was positive overall I had to work for my degree and that doesn't make this a degree mill by any means. Also I'm the first humanities student to graduate from the program and set the standards for arranging outside tutors for certain areas. In my case my studies focused on a study of great works and modern academic texts with the dissertation bringing this together. I know by taking to other graduates and students the business programs are more established and suspect stronger in content- but they can arrange education it seems in all non-applied medical majors. Example Hospital Administration not a MD could be arranged but in these matters check with the school.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Rushmore University in any way.