Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Seton Hall University

  • Seton Hall University Reviews

    Ranking: #4
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Middle States Commission on Higher Education

4.5
75 Reviews
5 45 
4 28 
3 1 
2 1 
1 0 
0 0 

Seton Hall University Reviews:

Excellent program!

Master of Arts, Counseling - May 7, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Excellent program and many amazing professors to work with. The weekly discussion was great but at times it was difficult due to life obligations. This program is rigrious and requires a lot of reading and writing and research! You must be motivated and committed to work hard if not it is very easy to fall behind! Having a strong support team of friends, family, and classmates makes it all worth while! Many of the professors are accommodating and wants their students to succeed but the student have to show the committment. Despite all the sleepless nights and endless weekends on the computer writing. I am please and genuine proud Seton Hall Graduate class of 2016!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

MASCL works if you work

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - February 25, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

MASCL works if you work. This program will give you all the tools, an amazing education and the support you need. All you have to do is do the work. I know easier said than done. But if you put forth the effort and study and retain the information and put out quality work, you will succeed. Everyone will help you but no one will hold your hand, so if you are ready take the leap.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

SHU MASCL Program A+

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - September 5, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The past 18-months in MASCL has helped me embrace my inner leader. The lessons that the Instructional Team and the Learning Team provided gave me an opportunity to apply them immediately in my current organization. Seton Hall University has designed a program that is interactive that has a real classroom feel. The Instructional Team is comprised of seasoned professionals in the business world that possess strong academic backgrounds. MASCL has a tremendous workload and throughout the program the Instructional Team along with the Learning Team provided unlimited support. The past 18-months of MASCL has been the most enriching academic experience that I have ever had and I am proud to say that I am an Alumnus of Seton Hall University and MASCL.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

MASCL Delivers

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - August 27, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

MASCL delivered on its promise of an engaging, challenging, and incredible learning experience. I was concerned that an online program would not deliver the same quality of an education and that I would not have the opportunity to learn as much from classmates as I have in the past in a traditional classroom. i was wrong. I learned more. And I worked harder than I did in a traditional classroom. If you are looking for a program that will take your leadership and communication skills to a new level this is an excellent choice.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

MASCL

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - August 27, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

MASCL has taught me a tremendous amount about leadership, communication and culture. My most inspiring moments occurred daily as I read and contributed to the threaded discussions with my colleagues. You will meet the most talented, dedicated and open individuals who want to grow and learn as much as you do. As my program draws to an end, I am wanting more to continue this amazing experience!

Was this review helpful?

MASCL at Seton Hall

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - May 6, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I loved the program and worked very hard to graduate. We had about five drop out or asked to drop out. But we also a had a couple who were allowed to graduate who clearly should not have. They would have trouble graduating with a BA. Their graduating was an insult to the rest of us who worked our asses off. They were a joke to the rest of us! You have to wonder if a race card was played.

Was this review helpful?

Amazing Experience

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 20, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

MASCL represented a singularly important period in my life. It is not a traditional online program. Rather, it is a rigorous, dialogue-intensive, highly regarded graduate program that leverages internet-based technologies to bring learners together. Frankly, MASCL is not for everyone. It is, though, perfect for anyone looking for a life-changing scholarly experience. One of my professors told me, "learning is much more interesting than knowing it all." Got that right!

Was this review helpful?

Program exceeded my expectations

M.A. Human Resources Training and Development for Law Enforcement Officers - March 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The M.A. Human Resources Training and Development for Law Enforcement (M.A.H.R.T.D.) at Seton Hall University is an excellent online program. The instrutors are outstanding and the on campus orientations allow you to meet your classmates/peers in a classroom environment. Your not just a userid and password but an important member of the student body.

Was this review helpful?

Room to improve

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - March 10, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The MASCL program was rigorous, but often I wondered whether it was rigorous enough. The books were great, but the additional reading materials and assignment instructions were riddled with grammar and spelling errors.

Was this review helpful?

Seton Hall MASCL

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - March 9, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

MASCL was NOT an easy program by any means...but it was probably the most rewarding academic experience of my life. The instructors are tough, but they are attentive and always make time for you. The work is difficult, but eye opening. The program is competitive, but there is a palpable espirt de corps among students. If you want to change the way you lead, or are a budding leader, this program is for you!

Was this review helpful?

MASCL is worth it!

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - February 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

MASCL was a very demanding program but it was a great learning experience. The online program is intense but it allows you great flexibility to do your work when it is easiest for you. As a result, you can successfully manage work, school, and family.

Was this review helpful?

Awesome program

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - February 16, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This program is not for the faint of heart. I am in my second course and I continue to be rewarded by the professional instructors and the relationships I have forged with classmates. However, make no mistake, this online instruction team will keep you engaged and searching for answers even when you thought you were finished.

Was this review helpful?

Disappointed

Master of Arts, Counseling - October 18, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Some of the teachers were supportive, others not at all. The administration was miserable to deal with. Many people dropped out of my group.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

enlightening / challenging / valuable

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - September 29, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Just finished MASCL in Sept. 2009 and it was one of the most enlightening, educational, challenging, enriching, and overall most rewarding experiences of my life. Don't kid yourselves -- it's tough and not for everyone. If you're looking for a program that you can fly through and go through the motions just so you can put "Master's Degree" on your resume, then this is not the program for you. Its rigorous online/in-person residency curriculum will challenge even the most dedicated student. Couple that with the fact that we are all busy, hard-working professionals, many of whom have families and other outside obligations, you will be put to the test. But in a good way. You'll come out on the other end with a new outlook on leadership and business.

Was this review helpful?

Seton Hall MASCL for Leadership Skills

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - August 27, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

MASCL is a great program for anyone wanting to develop from being a manager to a leader.

Was this review helpful?

Seton Hall MASCL Program

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - August 22, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Finishing up the MASCL program and, quite frankly, a bit sad that it soon will be over. What a great experience. Professors were outstanding, subject matter was relevant and useful, and I am proud to have completed a program that saw 5 of my classmates drop over an 18 month period. If you are looking for a "creampuff" graduate degree, move on, this isn't for you. If you are looking to be engaged, learn excellent material that you will use professionally immediately, and don't mind spending about 15 hours a week (on average) on your studies, this is the program for you.

Was this review helpful?

Light a personal fire

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - January 12, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

MASCL's organization, pace and process is logical. It makes sense, helps you build a feel of engagement and momentum, and leads you small successes that lead to bigger and better ones. The instructors care. They're engaged and passionate. And they're very good at what they do. The instructional material is priceless. Rarely easy but always rewarding. Constant productive dialogue builds friendships along the way, and the residences cement them. When you've finished, and accomplished, and finally wave goodbye to one another at the end, only then will you discover MASCL's only weakness: that it has to end. You will miss these people you learn with. And you will miss MASCL.

Was this review helpful?

MASCL the key to lead

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - August 24, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The MASCL program inspires you to lead and become a contributor to your organization. This is not a typical on line pay for a degree type of program. A lot of the work is on line, however you are required to attend Seton Hall three times during the program. I enjoyed the connection to the school. My degree has more meaning being able to attend classes on campus versus my desk top. It is a program that is high pace, challenging and worthy. From day one I was able to use material at my organization. You truly will see the rewards immediately. MASCL is a degree I wanted from a top notch university. I will be graduating in a few weeks, however I wish the program would not be ending. Most graduates cannot wait to get out of school, most MASCL students will wish they could stay.

Was this review helpful?

My second review.

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - February 28, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I wrote a brief review last May when I was about mid-point in this program. I had positive comments then and they've only gotten better. I'm a second-generation MASCL student from my organization (hi Darci!) and our third student (hi Angela!) is currently in the process of enrolling. What I love most about this program is that it's based on real human values. Sure, you learn theory and you put in a lot of reading and writing time, but most of all, you really get a chance to share interpersonal beliefs and approaches toward leadership. If you have an intuitive sense of what leadership should and can be, and you know that people really want to feel connected to their leaders and their organizations, then this is the program for you.

Was this review helpful?

Learn it today, use it today...

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - February 22, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Robert February 22, 2008 at 12:44 p.m. I was initially suspicious of a distance learning program. Online degrees have the reputation for not being legitimate. Let me put your concerns to rest. Seton Hall offers what it calls a rigorous program and it lives up to its billing. I had the opportunity to speak to a graduate class at another university in NYC that happened to be studying the same subject matter. It made be appreciate the academic focus Seton Hall places on its online program, which was hands down superior to what I witnessed in the traditional classroom. If you think you know online programs, you probably don't know online programs. Seton Hall will make you a believer, a better student, and a better leader. And you can apply today what you learn today.

Was this review helpful?

MHA

Master of Healthcare Administration - October 26, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

At the end of the day, not a bad program; worth the money based on reputation and study body.

Was this review helpful?

surprise of my life

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - August 10, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Attending school on line was the greatest surprise of my life. I had sworn that I would not venture doing any school work on line. But guess what, I will be completing my MASCL in September, 2007. I can not believe that I am making it through because of all the challenges, assignments, readings, but the professors are lovely people, Dr. Karl, Prof. Loyd, Dr. Dool, Msgr. Mahon, they worked really hard to get me on board. Thanks you all. Please, if you are scare like me, you can make it, and do not pass up this opportunity of your lifetime. You would not need to worry about driving to school because you will learn time management, discipline of the self, self-leadership, team work, etc. Good luck and please go for it here at SEtonworldwide.

Was this review helpful?

Completion of a Dream

MSN Health Systems Administration - August 7, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The online program enabled me to work full time, deal with family obligations ans still keep up with the courses. My employer also has supported Seton Hall's programs for their employees and reimbursed tuition.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

WHNP

MSN Nurse Practitioner - August 7, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The quality of the professors and their teaching methods far surpassed what I had expected. I had heard professors talking about taping their lectures for online courses in another university but SHU gave me a superior product compared to what I had expected. SHU professors (with the exception of two) were engaged with me every step of the way and challenged me. The online learning gave me a chance to pursue the information and get feedback on what I had digested. There was much more "classroom discussion" than I would have received in a traditional classroom setting. Because of their dedication, I have more skills and advanced critical thinking than I would have achieved in a regular classroom.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Program

MSN Nurse Practitioner - August 7, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I learned a lot at Seton Hall University and I really believe that the program has given me the tools to be an exceptional practitioner.

Was this review helpful?

M.S.N. in Health Systems Administration degree

MSN Health Systems Administration - August 6, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently graduated with the online M.S.N. in Health System's Administration degree. I rate the program overall a '10' and the program advisor Jamsetta Halley-Boyce a '10' as well. Although I have been employed as a Registered Nurse for almost 23 years, this program has taken my career and knowledge to the next level. I have learned the value of critical thinking and EBP. The program is challenging, but the rewards well worth the challenge. It allowed me to continue working full-time and to access my classes 24/7 part-time. Seton Hall has an excellent reputation as a leader in nursing education!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Follow Up Review

MSN Nurse Practitioner - August 6, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated in August 2006 with an MSN/ NP Women's Health. I would not have been able to do it if I had to attend all the classes on campus. SHU was excellant!!!

Was this review helpful?

MSN-HSA

MSN Health Systems Administration - August 6, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

During the months of class work, the instructors were outstanding and professional. The online environment provided me with an opportunity to converse and share experiences with nurses from several states and Canada. Having served in many leadership nursing roles earning my masters at SHU online MSN-HSA was very rewarding and practical. We were able to achieve and accomplish; research projects, leadership internships, and has valuable feedback from experts in several fields of nursing. I also accomplished presenting a project from this program at the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society in Montreal in 2006 with the assistance and support of Dr. Tom Cox. I would recommend this program to any busy nurse leader who wants to establish themselves for future endeavors.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great Program

Master of Healthcare Administration - July 17, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have completed one year of the MHA program at Seton Worldwide. It has been a great experience so far. The instructors and staff have been great. They are very supportive and really care about the students.

Was this review helpful?

MASCL

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - July 16, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I began this program very unsure of myself and my ability to complete such an intense program. Paddling through the first module, I slowly began to realize that I did indeed fit in and belong. MASCL gave me the hope that I couldn't find within myself, it gave me opportunity that I didn't know existed, and it gave me inspiration to understand and know that life had so much more to offer. With this program, I was allowed to grow and become the person I was always meant to be. MASCL gave me self-esteem and with that came courage to reach for more. In those times when I wasn’t so sure I could do something, MASCL taught me that I could do anything if I wanted it. Most importantly this program provided the very foundation to continue growing and achieving all that life has to offer.

Was this review helpful?

MASCL - Ideal for Frequent Travelers

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - July 5, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a proud graduate of Seton Hall's MASCL program. The program content was interesting and challenging and the instructors were excellent. I was able to complete this program from no less than six different states and three European countries. The program is ideal for students who want to participate in a rich learning experience, but who are unable to attend traditional classroom classes. I also completed a classroom based Master's program and enjoyed the online program much more. I felt deeper connections with students and instructors and I use what I've learned every day.

Was this review helpful?

Variety and Cross-Disciplined

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - July 4, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The MASCL program uses lots of variety in faculty, assignments and working with colleagues. The content is an excellent mix of OD principles and corporate communication. It sits at the intersection of two growing areas in business. I am very impressed!

Was this review helpful?

Transformation

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - July 3, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The past two years of my life have been challenging and extremely rewarding. The learning team invests in one another alongside the professor which has created a community like nothing else on line. The transformation that has happened while applying our leadership knowledge and assignments to the workplace has been unreal. Life will never be the same after MASCL because you will be a leader equipped to lead others to places they never thought they could go.

Was this review helpful?

MHA IS WAY TO GO

Master of Healthcare Administration - July 1, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

HELLO, MY NAME IS LYUDMYLA. THIS IS MY SECOND SEMESTER IN MHA PROGRAM AT SETON HALL. I AM EXTREMELY SATISFIED WITH EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS AND COURCES TOUGHT AT MHA. MOST OF ALL I AM HAPPY WITH HELPFUL, UNDERSTANDING, POLITE, INTELEGENT, AND KNOWLEDGEABLE PROFESSORS AT THIS PROGRAM. I WAS VERY ANXIOUS GOING BACK INTO SCHOOL BEEING PREGNANT, HAVING A SIX YEAR OLD DAUGHTER, AND A FULL TIME JOB. BUT ALL MY FEARS ARE GONE NOW. I KNOW I CAN DO IT, SO CAN YOU! DO NOT GO LOOKING FURTHER, MHA IS THE BEST PROGRAM OUT THEIR FOR YOU. SINCERELY, LYUDMYLA FROM LEARNING TEAM 22.

Was this review helpful?

MA Strategic Communication and Leadership

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 30, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The Seton Hall MASCL program is a rigorous, high caliber program that provides the foundation for shaping tommorow's leaders. The program allows students to explore the abstact nature of organizational culture into that which can be understood, meaningful and practical thus, can applied in various occupations. The diversity of the professionals in the learning teams, instructional staff wide range of research, theory and sharing of real world experiences contribute to a unique forum of learning that promotes insightful and critical thinking. No question-this is a valuable and highly recommended program.

Was this review helpful?

Seton Hall - MHA

Master of Healthcare Administration - June 30, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This program was highly beneficial to me and my career as I am a military member. It was easy to continue during my PCS. The faculty even faxed some information to me to one of my hotels during a move to Alaska! The course materials and interactions with the threads were outstanding. I couldn't recommend a better course or staff.

Was this review helpful?

MASCL- A unique program

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 29, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The MASCL program is a unique approach to online learning. The initial residency allows students to become acquainted with classmates who will march through the program with them over the ensuing 20 months. Personalizing the program in this fashion, and allowing the same core group to remain together throughout the program provides an unparalleled learning platform. The instructors are truly expert in their subjects and are present on a daily basis, with continuous feedback provided to each student. Guest instructors- practitioners in their area of specialization - add a crisp flavor to the discussions and trigger lively debate, enhancing the learnings. The program coordinator is probably the best instructor I have ever had the privilege to study under, and provides keen insights, great references and challenging questions. MASCL is not an easy program, yet it is almost addictive. I think every graduate will tell you that although it is incredibly demanding, it is equally rewarding and is sorely missed when graduation is complete. I cannot praise this program enough- it lived up to every expectation, and then some.

Was this review helpful?

SHU - Master's Healthcare Admin.

Master of Healthcare Administration - June 28, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This was an outstanding program dedicated to the working professional focused on academic advancement. An excellent marriage of technology adaptation and the application of healthcare management theory in the work place as a learning lab. The staff were all seasoned professionals who's concepts were based as heavily on reality as theory. I did substantial research prior to selecting the MHA program at SHU and found it to be the highest quality, with the most flexibility, to have a good mix of distance and onsite learning at an affordable cost.

Was this review helpful?

Seton Hall World Wide

Master of Healthcare Administration - June 28, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Seton Hall World Wide was a great experience. It allowed me to complete my degree where a conventional program was not possible without sacrificing the quality of classes and teachers.My learning team was diverse and each student brought a wealth of experience to the group.

Was this review helpful?

Seton Hall's MASCL Program Demands Excellence

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 28, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Selecting the right academic program is one of the most important and potentially laborious experiences one can undertake. Clearly there is a certain amount of consternation because to be honest, you don't want to make the wrong choice. Marketing materials and PR buzz are often promotional tools of lackluster programs that over promise and under deliver. If there is a constructive criticism of MASCL, it is probably that they don't do enough self-promotion. While that is admirable on some fronts, on others it opens up the possibility of being short changed and lost in the pool of "also rans." Seton Hall’s MASCL program is one of the premier distance learning programs in academia. The following brief provides a review of a program that I regard as one of the most significant personal and professional learning experiences imaginable - the MASCL program at Seton Hall University. Seton Hall University's commitment to excellence, servant leadership and global achievement spans over 150 years, with the momentum building at every turn. Selecting this program after over 5 years of research and due diligence was indeed one of the most significant and on point decisions of my life. The depth and breadth of theory and practicality of immediate application is priceless. Specifically focused on participation, team work and collaborative learning, the MASCL program is not for those who think they can sit on the sidelines and coast through. It is a program that demands excellence, mandating that each member of the Learning Team not only challenge conventional learning theorems but also through deliberative dialogue, change the envelope versus pushing the same piece of paper. The end result is the opportunity to design an invigorating environment where others can flourish outside the box. My cognitive acumen was enhanced; my spirit and conscience as a leader and change agent are bolstered. Thanks to MASCL I have an even more pronounced commitment to redefine the ethical landscape in any organization with which I am affiliated. Learning from and sharing life experiences with the members of a tremendously gifted Learning Team was one of the greatest values of the MASCL experience. This program delivers more than it promises. Anyone who gives their selves the gift of a master's degree in Strategic Communication and Leadership from Seton Hall University is to be commended for making one of the most informed decisions of his or her lifetime. My journey continues as a life long learner thanks to MASCL. This fall I enter doctoral studies in Organization Change confident that the platform for success that originated at SHU and MASCL will most certainly under gird my academic and leadership sojourn.

Was this review helpful?

Mid-Career Learning

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 28, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was in Mid-career when completing my Masters Degree. Seton Hall provided an exceptional experience through the expertise of the leadership and teachers, challenging and robust conversations with peers and unique reading materials. This degree prepared me to take the next step in my career. This college was held in high esteem with the professionals I work with in the Midwestern states.

Was this review helpful?

SHU MASCL

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 28, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a graduate of Seton Hall's MASCL program (May 2006), I found this program to be of immense value to my life, personally and professionally. What I liked most: cohort program allowed me to really connect with my classmates over the 20-month time period; residency time to interact with professors and classmates makes the program more personalized and it gave me a sense of pride about attending a top-notch college while walking the historical, beautiful campus; and last, the professors - they were teachers, coaches, friends, and when need be, motivators to keep going! This is a challenging program but I found it to be well worth the effort of juggling a career, my personal life, and the course work.

Was this review helpful?

An Investment Worth Making

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 28, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The MASCL program at Seton Hall University should not be mistaken for some of the online programs that essentially let you buy a degree. At Seton Hall you earn it. The learning program is a collaborative one, where you go through each module with your classmates. You are encouraged to learn from each other as much as you are learning from the texts provided. Don't think you can get away with an occasional post on a bulletin board, either. If the professors aren't engaging you in a dialog about the subject, you can be sure your classmates are. In the end, it is a lot of hard work, but it is an investment in your future that is worth the time and effort. The friends you make along the way are an added bonus!

Was this review helpful?

MASCL - Hard Work. Outstanding Results.

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 28, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a proud graduate of the MASCL program. I found the program after a long and frustrating search for programs that fit my schedule, interests and future plans. The applicability of this program is not to a single career path - MASCL has prepared me for countless opportunities. It has given me a great deal of flexibility in my choices and strengthened me greatly as a leader. This program is NOT for someone who is not internally motivated. Do not join MASCL to "put a check in the block" for your Master's Degree. You will not complete the curriculum - the content, professors and even classmates expect a great deal of effort to maximize everyone's experience. If you do dedicate yourself to the program, you will not regret it; Seton Hall has established a method that builds lasting relationships among students - even when your classmates live thousands of miles away. It is an experience that not only made me smarter and more educated, the relationships I built with my classmates have made me a more well-rounded person.

Was this review helpful?

Outstanding Program - Great University

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 27, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The Master of Arts in Strategic Communication and Leadership at Seton Hall University (SHU) is an intensive, highly interactive, leadership development program that provides professionals the opportunity to expand their capabilities and become a highly effective leader. A fast paced curriculum enables you to understand and operate at a strategic level while enhancing your organization and your personal effectiveness. As a 21 year Army Soldier, the program allowed me to continue to serve, deploy overseas, interact with my team / professors, learn and enhance my personal and professional life. The program is not built on archaic theories, dusty textbooks or outdated instruction. SHU uses current technology, events and each students experience to emphasize learning and how leaders can become more effective while operating at a strategic level. SHU also accepts military Tuition Assistance and was understanding of the often bureaucratic military process for completing the paperwork. There are three on-campus residencies; short but intensive Friday to Sunday sessions. This is where your cohort team begins to bond. Each period provides time to talk to other teams in mid and final stage. These weekends are critical for you and your learning. The first residency works on your presentation abilities and provides feedback from peers, professors and corporate speaking coaches to enhance your skills. The program has five modules, each approximately twelve weeks long. A combination of reading, online threads, individual and group projects keep the module extremely busy. I put in 40 hours of work per week on each module. This may cause alarm for many, it’s a graduate course and your professors and peers expect you to operate at that level. Mid-residency after Module 3 focuses on group presentations, a taped studio session, peer feedback and a press conference. This time helps to reinforce and strengthen your team’s relationship and motivation to work through the next two modules and towards graduation. The final two modules focus on your personal strategic communications plan, team project and presentation. Your team is operating at a higher, more productive level, and you can see the difference in both your professional and personal life. Your final residency is one of the most intense weekends of your life and the program. The time is dedicated to rehearsals of your presentation, refinements and final presentation. The weekend concludes with an amazing dinner and an emotional graduation on campus at the chapel. The professors and adjunct professors at SHU are the most professional, insightful and talented people I have ever met. Always challenging, never easy, extremely compassionate/passionate, each one of these professionals made you want to learn. You have to want the challenge, be motivated and want to be a better leader that can operate at a strategic level.

Was this review helpful?

MASCL - Seton Hall University

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 27, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My MASCL LT15 (2003-2005) experience impacts the ways I live, learn, and lead. MASCL led me to the become the person I am today -- personally and professionally. If you are seeking a graduate program that not only adds to your education but also enriches your life, MASCL offers the best of both worlds.

Was this review helpful?

MASCL - Strategic Communications & Leadership Prog

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 27, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great program - worth every penny!

Was this review helpful?

Excellent Experience

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 27, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Five years later I still get excited talking to others about the Seton Hall MASCL program. I has been by far one of the best decisions I have made on both a professional and personal level. I was 52 years old when I started the program and really do not think I would have been able to complete a traditional program while working full time. The program was very organized, provided top quality professors who consistently interacted with students, provided the opportunity for everyone to meet 3 times during the program, provided top quality books and articles and discussion. I have recommended this program to many of my work colleagues and 3 others have completed the MASCL program and one is currently considering it. Since graduating, I was chosen as a member of my department's leadership team, and a new taskforce that has been asked to develop a program to change the departmental culture and my Strategic Development Plan from the MASCL program was used in my department to better market the department to the rest of the organization. I was recently approached and offered a position within another area of the department I work in. This was a promotion and I did accept...

Was this review helpful?

Forget whatever you thought about e-learning

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 27, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This truly is an immersive enviornment. You will feel you are in a classroom because you are. Forget what you think you know about distance learning. The Seton Hall program is both challenging and rewarding. You will learn things that make an immediate difference in both your life and career, not to mention a graduate degree from a respected institution.

Was this review helpful?

MASCL- Learn and apply

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 27, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

MASCL is a fast-paced look at the issues of communication and leadership. There are few weeks during the program where the information presented is not used at work. It is truly a learn and apply environment, in my experience. The material is usually well thought out and the course objectives are solid. The majority of the instructors are practicing professionals who understand the demands of full-time work and the demands of the program. I would recommend the program to friends and family alike.

Was this review helpful?

Exceptional Preparation for becoming a Counselor

Master of Arts, Counseling - June 26, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This MAC program was extremely rigorous in nature. We were expected to read every page assigned and respond thoughtfully to discussion questions on a regular basis. I was a full-time teacher with two small children and delivered my third near the end of a 9 credit semester. The only way I was able to accomplish this was due to the support of the other cohort members, professors and overall flexible programs. I graduated with a very thorough preparation. I am currently pursuing a Educational Leadership degree on-line through SHU (SWW), as well. The online programs work for me. I highly recommend SHU.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

MASCL: The Best Investment In Graduate Education.

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 26, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

In my humble opinion, Seton Hall University's MASCL online program (SetonWorldWide)is the best investment in graduate education one can make! In today’s global and diverse workplace, organizations are full of major challenges, but solutions are at a premium. One such answer is the MASCL program (Master of Arts in Strategic Communication & Leadership). This intense journey of learning serves as a roadmap of discovery for key competencies in effective leadership and enhancing communication skill sets. Just as essential, it also has prepared me to continuously ‘look in the mirror’ at my own development, potential and perspective as a modern leader. The 21st century learning environment of the online classroom proved to be a valuable team-based curriculum. At first, this highly interactive platform may seem a bit intimidating, but relax – the exciting journey you are about to embark upon will be propelled by the online experience and simply put, will serve as the ride of your educational life! The academic experts/instructional team is top drawer and exceptional; the materials and assignments provide the latest weapons and armor in effective leadership and communication strategy. In short, the rest is up to you. Besides mastering a highly specialized learning discipline, your effective leadership will be making a positive difference and lasting impact for the future of your organization. That’s not all - you will be stoking the flames of self-awareness, ambition and commitment for a lifetime…I highly recommend the ride!

Was this review helpful?

MY IMPRESSIONS

Master of Arts, Counseling - June 26, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I found it academically challenging and flexible to my work schedule. Now I am a Nationally Certified Counselor, doing well. What is unique about Seton Hall is the academic environment that makes everyone feel connected to each other. It is a great University to achieve your life's dreams for a better future! Davis Chackaleckel Columbia, TN 38401

Was this review helpful?

Excellent Online Program!!

Master of Arts, Counseling - June 26, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The Seton Hall WorldWideWeb is exceptional and the Masters in Counseling online degree program is excellent! I learned so much and was so ready for my internships that I was able to excell at my sites so much that I was hired by the site where I did my internship. A very complete, comprehensive program which exceptionally prepares you for your desired career. Thanks Seton Hall!

Was this review helpful?

Excellent Graduate Degree Program

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 26, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

One of the most comprehensive On-line learning experiences available at the graduate level.

Was this review helpful?

Howard Steiger, M.A.

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 26, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you are looking for a challenging opportunity to balance career, family, and continuing education, MASCL is a great candidate. Globalization of industry and the intense pace of technological advancement have created the environment where a modern MBA does not address the true concerns of business with the current economic business models. MASCL is able to balance the need for leadership and communication. As I prepare a SMART action plan review for my team of twenty-four direct reports, MASCL has made a difference. Every module focused on increasing the bottom line for a company with real case studies from The Harvard Business Review, papers from former graduates, guest lectures, and the assignments directly correlated to real world examples. This happens while the threaded discussions balance the virtual learning environment as to touch many other examples from your Learning Team’s composition and the Instructional Teams feedback. As a mainframe programmer and web designer, I was conscious of wasting time in communication and leadership. However, MASCL delivered a course work that made applying the theoretical and conceptual with day-to-day business. I am able to apply the learning directly to my business objectives increasing productivity and especially moral. Yet, there is so much more. Every Learning Team is able to build on the experiences of the previous, and the Instructional Team is able to harness the inertia into a morphed academic itinerary that is organic in nature. This creates a learning environment that can blend the virtual classroom with the residencies, and capture the true reason for education, which is to grow as a student. The support of the faculty was phenomenal. One can only want to take it to another level when completed; it is truly a different level of learning.

Was this review helpful?

Challenged!

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 26, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The MASCL program is tough, and I was challenged in every area of the communications field. There is no room for half-stepping, and you will master the skills needed to make you a leader in this industry. I didn't think I was going to make it. However, with the help of some dedicated instructors and the college behind me, I pushed myself to the top and I'm loving it. I'm finally doing what I've wanted to do all of my life, but felt I didn't have the skills. I would choose Seton Hall over any other available program.

Was this review helpful?

Seton Hall University- MASCL

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This program is truly outstanding. It requires good writing skills and approximately 12-15 hours of work per week on average. I looked at several distance programs before choosing SHU. I chose SHU because of the reputation of the University and the enthusiasm of the program staff,Dr. Soehnlein and Michelle Leacock (a MASCL Alum)are outstanding. Once the program began it definitely exceeded my expectations. The residency weekends, curriculum and professors were all first rate. The residency weekends are a key part of the program. It is so much better to be able to put a face with a screen name and have some personal connection with the members of the learning team (LT). It makes the medium of threaded discussions much richer and misinterpretations of meaning less likely. Also, the individual and group presentations will improve the skills even the most polished public speaker. The MASCL curriculum is truly use it as you learn it. The leadership lessons, communications strategies, change principles and the understanding of organizational culture are applicable to just about any workplace. As you move through the program you truly begin to see your organization through a different lens and develop a deep understanding of why thing are the way they are. (And how to make effective change in them.) The IT (Instructional Team) are more than just academics. They each have substantial experience in the private/public sector. They also are committed to making the MASCL program more than just a degree, they pride themselves on making it an experience. They push you to challenge yourself and to find/refine your leadership voice. The only knock I can make on the program is midway through they changed the software they use (blackboard) and the new version, in my opinion, was not as good as the old version.

Was this review helpful?

Indispensible, Visionary, Valuable Program

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you care about the future, if you think you understand leadership, if you care enough to build yourself and your organization into something that is better than good, you must take part in this degree program. This program has been at once rigorous and rewarding. It builds on your professional experience, and that of a small class of adult professionals like yourself. I have had no in-class experience at any level of education that was as important as this. This experience makes me ready to take on any organization, anywhere. Further, the MASCL experience inevitably creates an amazingly close-knit group of student colleagues. Many of us, I'm sure, will be friends and mutual admirers for life. For the price of a car payment, this is an investment you will never forget, and never regret. You, your family, your organizations will be the better for it. Call Seton Hall today. Don't wait. Education gets no better than this.

Was this review helpful?

If you're serious...

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As you suspiciously surf the internet for a reputable online degree program, stop and seriously give Seton Hall University your consideration. 18 months ago I was in the same boat - knowing that I wanted and needed a relevant Master's Degree and worrying that I might waste my time and money if I chose incorrectly. I was not disappointed with my choice. Seton Hall is a class act. I chose the program first because of the University's reputation (I'm a Syracuse/Utica College Graduate - SHU is part of a great Big East b-ball rivalry) and secondly because the program in Strategic Communication and Leadership (M.A.S.C.L.) exactly matched the type of subject matter I wanted to study. Don't let the online part fool you, though. This is a fairly intense, time consuming way to earn a degree. Almost daily participation is required and "fluff" work will be sniffed out rather quickly. Don't enter the program unless you are serious about wanting the degree and serious about doing the work. The work is time consuming and the assignments are well-thought out. They are designed to assist the student in practically applying what is being learned. The first-rate instructional staff consists of SHU faculty and industry professionals who know their stuff - and the residencies (there are three) allow the student to put faces with names. I will graduate in September of 2007. I feel that I'll be well prepared and very marketable as I enter the second phase of my life and likely a new career (I can collect my pension in 3 years after 20 years in public service). Not only can I use my newly acquired knowledge in my current line of work (almost everything we learn is immediately applicable) I look forward to making a difference in any new ventures.

Was this review helpful?

MA Strategic Communication Leadership

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Seton Hall - The professors are very supportive. The degree does require a large amount of reading and can be even more valuable when augmented with extensive outside research. Chief value is the extensive daily interaction with classmates from a wide variety of fields and employers.

Was this review helpful?

MA in Strategic Communication and Leadership

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The MASCL program was very challenging but with those challenges there came many rewards that I still feel today. The program allowed me to grow as a leader and communicator but more importantly as a well-rounded leader and communicator. The lessons that I learned not only helped me advance my career but helped me in my personal life to be more successful. The course work was blended excellently with hands-on, group work, readings, personal reflection and instructor support. I would recommend this program to anyone who is looking to become a more strategic and effective communicator and leader. Be ready to put in the work this program requires and at the end of it you will be amazed at how far it will take you.

Was this review helpful?

Seton Hall offers an Exceptional Learning Experien

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a public relations professional living in Anchorage, Alaska. I obtained my Master of Arts in Strategic Communication and Leadership (MASCL) from Seton Hall University (SHU). The program was intensive and challenging. I did check out other universities that had communication degrees that you could achieve with distance learning and found Seton Hall to be the leader. A big factor in making my decision was the fact that Seton Hall has an extremely well established university (est. 1856) with an excellent reputation. I knew that if I was going to be investing my time, energy and money I did not want a “Johnny come lately” or a “fly-by night” school. I wanted my degree to have significance for decades to come. The three residency stays in New Jersey are critical. It gave you a chance to bond with your team members and intensified the cohort experience. One of the benefit’s of the cohort experience is that your team members encourage you through the program. You expand your knowledge because of the shared experiences from all of your cohorts professions. After the first module, a couple of people dropped (perhaps they were looking for an easy degree and after the first residency realized Seton requires you to work very hard and progress to a higher level). After the first module though – we did not lose one team member. Sometimes your cohorts become the wind beneath your wings during this intense time. We all made it through and graduated in the most beautiful and meaningful graduation ceremony imaginable. My boss, who is the chairman of the board of our top Alaskan business, Chugach Alaska Corporation, told me that she has seen my professional growth while I was going through the MASCL program at Seton Hall. I felt that I was growing in leaps and bounds, but it was great to hear someone who has perspective on my career give me that feedback. MASCL Assistant Academic Director Karl M. Soehnlein, Ph.D., is one of the great professors working with this program who challenge you more than you thought you could be challenged. He teaches the first two modules of five modules. This is an excellent way to start off the program. In the program, besides leadership and communication, you really delve deeply into communication involved in corporate change. In our changing society this knowledge is something that may make you stand out from the rest with your professional colleagues. If you have more questions on my experience with this program please feel free to email me at alaskagrad2b@yahoo.com.

Was this review helpful?

Great Experience

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The program is challenging, but very practical. Everything I have learned I have been able to apply to my real world professional experience. The structure takes some getting used to, because the instructional team expects daily participation online in addition to all assignments. Though this is beneficial it is extremely time-consuming. However, in the end you come away with a better relationship and understanding of your instructors and learning team. I would highly recommend this program to anyone seeking to acquire a communications degree, especially if they are concerned about class attendance. You can always participate in this program, regardless of where you are or what time you want to work - because it's available to you 24/7. It's not easy, but it is worth it in the end.

Was this review helpful?

MASCL Review

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Be prepared to invest time in this program! It is WELL worth it. We were told at the beginning that after we graduated, we would miss the interaction with our learning team, and they were right! A very rewarding and interactive environment. Very "real life" focused. Knowledge gained can easily be applied to career and personal life. Online interaction is very strong with both team members and faculty. By graduation, I felt like I knew my team members better through the online environment than I would have had it been a bricks and mortar program!

Was this review helpful?

1st Semester Graduate Student

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Rigorous program and very well done. The degree is well respected. I have completed one semester and it takes a great deal of time each week to complete the work but it is manageable. The 1st semester is the study of the book "The Leadership Challenge" and is fantastic. Grading is tough! Final is a group project.

Was this review helpful?

Seton Hall was OUTSTANDING

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The MASCL program was outstanding! The faculty, the online community, and the learning support I received was second to none. In an otherwise OUTSTANDING program, the only area that I felt could improve was responsiveness from the financial aid office. Phone calls were not returned and getting information in a timely fashion was often not the practice. However, the program directors made sure that nothing stopped my progress within the program. I'm waiting for Seton Hall to add a Ph.D option. The masters program was outstanding....I learned so much in a dynamic, professional, and flexible environment. And, I've made some lasting friendships with professionals from across the globe!

Was this review helpful?

Making a Difference

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Being able to complete my masters degree online with three short residencies enabled me to continue working full time and go to school. It was important to me to get my degree from a traditional college with no differentiation on the diploma. When I first began to interact with the faculty, I was impressed with the collegial nature and respect they had with each other and with the students. Attending residencies (with convenient time at the bookstore) on campus helped us all to feel a part of the Seton Hall environment. The small learning teams helped to build a cohesive learning unit. I wouldn't have the job I do today without my masters degree, nor would I have the friendships I formed during the program. Seton Hall is a special place with a committed and dedicated faculty with terminal degrees. I highly recommend this program!

Was this review helpful?

MASCL: The best for bridging theory and practice

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The MASCL program is a true testiment of how to bridge theory and practice in 21st century learning. It is an academically rigorous program with a global view. This appplied approach is really far more valuable than I ever imagined. The learning teams were supportive and available by phone and e-mail which was a major concern for me. I have been able to take what I've learned and appply it to my current position, as well as confidently build a consulting business.

Was this review helpful?

Excellent for academic continuation

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

A very well conceived program that address all the issues of strategic communications and leadership. The format is very succint and productive in helping the student to acquire the knowledge necessary to succeed in his or her academic and professional climate. The staff is willing and very available. I personally found the program as a vital link from my undergraduate to a future sought PhD. It brought me up to the level of current students in graduate programs even though my undergraduate degree was over two decades old. The faculty understood my intention and help me to mold my academic ways to work toward my goal of further eduaction beyond the Masters degree.

Was this review helpful?

Perfect for all executive upward mobility

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This program taught me how to really relate to my upper executive teams and how to anticipate their needs, and thus, how to meet them. I am a Marine Officer, and considered myself a good leader. This program taught me to be a great leader. I learned so much from my fellow classmates because of their high quality and caliber that they are screened for by the Seton Hall Staff. Not only did I learn of great academic acumen, but learned how to form winning teams with a diverse team. The course is extremely time consuming. If you don't have 2-3 hours everyday to devote, don't enroll. The staff is willing to work with your work schedule, as long as you are showing your quality work ethic. Some of the books were a bit extraneous in their offereings, but because the authors were Seton Hall alumni, or partnered with the school, we used them. Those books and their subsequent lectures were not useless by any means, but could have been left out and I still would have felt like I got my money's worth. The course is expensive compared to certain MBA's and a few other communications programs, but I have gotten so much use out of this course, and it's continuing support from the alumni program, that I continually consider it to be of great value.

Was this review helpful?

MASCL

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is an extremely rigorous program that requires a very high degree of online interaction coupled with the regular use of individual and team written assignments that often overlap each other. The curriculum covers leadership, organizational change, speech writing and presenting, negotiation, diversity, and strategic communication planning. Instructors look for students to create meaningful dialog, forward learning with new thoughts, opinions, and examples, and support their analysis with cited materials. There are three residencies in this program at are held at Seton Hall University in South Orange, NJ. At the residencies, students give individual and team presentations which are videotaped and critiqued by instructors and classmates. This program transforms students into skilled communicators and leaders. If you are looking to stand out and/or move up in your career, this program will be the catalyst.

Was this review helpful?

Online Excellence

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

MASCL is a well crafted program. I'm part of the 21st learning team. The university's experience with delivering a quality online edication experience is quite evident, and as a result, the students are the big winners. The faculty is superb and the caliber of my fellow learning team members is outstanding. The program offers practical "use it now information" yet provides us with a strong scholarly foundation. MASCL challenges each student to find his/her leadership voice. I'd recommend it highly.

Was this review helpful?

Hard work and worth it

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The Seton Hall experience is just that - experience - useful knowledge learned and applied simultaneously which is especially useful for working adults. Academically, the program is a challenge that both the student and the student's family need to be prepared for as the reading and interaction required from the learner is substantial - but also pivotal to the learning experience. The learning team model provides students an opportunity to get to know and learn from their peers and the residency requirements allow students to interact with peers and faculty on both professional and personal levels. I wanted a masters degree that was from a reputable institution; a degree that challenged me personally and professionally; a degree that was worth more because of the effort it took to earn it; and a degree that I would be proud to recommend to others -- Seton Hall provided all of that and more and I'm proud to be a 2004 graduate of MASCL.

Was this review helpful?

Outstanding program

MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 25, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This program is simply outstanding in every respect. The instructors were incredible, the feedback in threaded discussions was daily, on target and greatly enhanced out understanding. The MASCL administrator is probably one of the most intelligent people I have ever met- with ability to convey information logically and demonstrate the utility and operationalization of materials. The program is unique in that the students meet each other at an initial residency, and remain as a team throughout the program. I cannot describe how big an impact this had on the ensuing discussions. We have made lifelong friends through MASCL. Guest instructors were also part of the program- highly educated people in very unique positions and their inclusion in the discussions was invaluable. Also- for the first two semesters, we had a writing instructor who critiqued our papers as a separate process from the instructor who graded on content and comprehension. This was just a tremendous boost to developing my writing skills, and helped me in business writing as well. I can't say enough good things about the program- I would do it again in a heartbeat, and highly recommend it to anyone interested in a program that teaches you more than just what the syllabus contains.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Review accredited on line colleges like these Universities at eLearners.com

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Seton Hall University in any way.