Seton Hall University

Review Averages: 9.0 out of 10 (75 reviews)
Ranking: #6

Seton Hall University, a private Roman Catholic school in New Jersey, is America’s oldest diocesan university. The school’s academic programs are consistently ranked high in national media. Online offerings include several certificate programs, an RN to BSN degree program, and master’s degree programs in communication, counseling, educational leadership, and nursing.

Accreditation: Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Non-Profit: Yes
Country: USA
Website

Learn More about Seton Hall University

Request Information »

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Seton Hall University Reviews:

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Excellent program!
Master of Arts, Counseling - May 7, 2016
Excellent program and many amazing professors to work with. The weekly discussion was great but at times it was difficult due to life obligations. This program is rigrious and requires a lot of reading and writing and research! You must be motivated and committed to work hard if not it is very easy to fall behind! Having a strong support team of friends, family, and classmates makes it all worth while! Many of the professors are accommodating and wants their students to succeed but the student have to show the committment. Despite all the sleepless nights and endless weekends on the computer writing. I am please and genuine proud Seton Hall Graduate class of 2016!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
MASCL works if you work
MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - February 25, 2015
MASCL works if you work. This program will give you all the tools, an amazing education and the support you need. All you have to do is do the work. I know easier said than done. But if you put forth the effort and study and retain the information and put out quality work, you will succeed. Everyone will help you but no one will hold your hand, so if you are ready take the leap.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
SHU MASCL Program A+
MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - September 5, 2011
The past 18-months in MASCL has helped me embrace my inner leader. The lessons that the Instructional Team and the Learning Team provided gave me an opportunity to apply them immediately in my current organization. Seton Hall University has designed a program that is interactive that has a real classroom feel. The Instructional Team is comprised of seasoned professionals in the business world that possess strong academic backgrounds. MASCL has a tremendous workload and throughout the program the Instructional Team along with the Learning Team provided unlimited support. The past 18-months of MASCL has been the most enriching academic experience that I have ever had and I am proud to say that I am an Alumnus of Seton Hall University and MASCL.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
MASCL Delivers
MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - August 27, 2011
MASCL delivered on its promise of an engaging, challenging, and incredible learning experience. I was concerned that an online program would not deliver the same quality of an education and that I would not have the opportunity to learn as much from classmates as I have in the past in a traditional classroom. i was wrong. I learned more. And I worked harder than I did in a traditional classroom. If you are looking for a program that will take your leadership and communication skills to a new level this is an excellent choice.

MASCL
MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - August 27, 2011
MASCL has taught me a tremendous amount about leadership, communication and culture. My most inspiring moments occurred daily as I read and contributed to the threaded discussions with my colleagues. You will meet the most talented, dedicated and open individuals who want to grow and learn as much as you do. As my program draws to an end, I am wanting more to continue this amazing experience!

MASCL at Seton Hall
MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - May 6, 2011
I loved the program and worked very hard to graduate. We had about five drop out or asked to drop out. But we also a had a couple who were allowed to graduate who clearly should not have. They would have trouble graduating with a BA. Their graduating was an insult to the rest of us who worked our asses off. They were a joke to the rest of us! You have to wonder if a race card was played.

Amazing Experience
MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - June 20, 2010
MASCL represented a singularly important period in my life. It is not a traditional online program. Rather, it is a rigorous, dialogue-intensive, highly regarded graduate program that leverages internet-based technologies to bring learners together. Frankly, MASCL is not for everyone. It is, though, perfect for anyone looking for a life-changing scholarly experience. One of my professors told me, "learning is much more interesting than knowing it all." Got that right!

Program exceeded my expectations
M.A. Human Resources Training and Development for Law Enforcement Officers - March 29, 2010
The M.A. Human Resources Training and Development for Law Enforcement (M.A.H.R.T.D.) at Seton Hall University is an excellent online program. The instrutors are outstanding and the on campus orientations allow you to meet your classmates/peers in a classroom environment. Your not just a userid and password but an important member of the student body.

Room to improve
MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - March 10, 2010
The MASCL program was rigorous, but often I wondered whether it was rigorous enough. The books were great, but the additional reading materials and assignment instructions were riddled with grammar and spelling errors.

Seton Hall MASCL
MA Strategic Communication&Leadership - March 9, 2010
MASCL was NOT an easy program by any means...but it was probably the most rewarding academic experience of my life. The instructors are tough, but they are attentive and always make time for you. The work is difficult, but eye opening. The program is competitive, but there is a palpable espirt de corps among students. If you want to change the way you lead, or are a budding leader, this program is for you!

Read all 75 Seton Hall University reviews...


Programs:

Read all 75 reviews...

Write a Seton Hall University Review


Learn More about Seton Hall University



Learn More about Seton Hall University



Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Old Comments

Jan. 11, 2009, 2:39 p.m.
0 votes/
Hello,

I would like to ask some current students who take the courses online how do you get the books and materiel's (e.g. are they sent to you via postage overnight?)  Also, if there is a delay in receiving the books (e.g. 7-10 days) then when does your start date begin since there is a delay in receiving the materiel's.  How does the college handle this or how does it work?

All comments are welcomed!

Thanks
July 15, 2008, 6:07 p.m.
0 votes/
Are you not going to come here to promote your RA decision to enroll at Seton Hall as a top notch high quality education same as CSU? Perhaps, and if you are able to finish which I doubt, will be the best decision you have taken towards your education.
April 10, 2008, 10:35 p.m.
0 votes/
That's good!  Online education is the wave of the future and anyone denying that fact will be left in the dust.  I have no problems telling my employer I earned my education online.  If anything, it earned me a lot of respect being able to juggle work, family and school.
April 7, 2008, 10:05 p.m.
0 votes/
Hide the fact... I don't think so.  I just want to avoid discrimination whenever possible.  If they ask I will of course tell the truth.
March 31, 2008, 6:59 p.m.
0 votes/
Joe,

If you're so worried that the diploma and/or transcript says "online" you shouldn't be attending an online degree program.  Are you trying to hide the fact that the degree was earned online?  Are you going to lie about it on an interview?  There is no shame in earning a degree online.  

By the way, most schools do not post "online" on the diploma and/or transcript.
March 13, 2008, 10:29 a.m.
0 votes/
Seton Hall has a good name... my question is do their diplomas or transcripts say online on it?
July 7, 2007, 5:41 p.m.
0 votes/
The SetonWorldWide online MAC program provided the academic training required to work in the field as a competent professional counselor. Overall, all of the courses were helpful and contributed to my growth as a counselor. However, the courses that involved group interaction were the most significant. These courses helped me to improve my critical thinking skills and to provide constructive feedback to others. In addition, the group format allowed me to understand others’ view points and also gave me a chance to present my own. Presenting in this format kept me motivated and provided an opportunity for me to do more in-depth research on the different topics. This experience enhanced and enriched my learning. 

The professors responded appropriately to the class and provided appropriate and timely feedback during each course. They demonstrated knowledge and experience with regards to the course material.  The course textbooks were appropriate for the courses. The work was challenging and rigorous at times. However, perseverance and hard work paid off. There was a great sense of relief when the program was over. The benefits and experience were tremendous. One of the benefits of this program was that it allowed me a chance to gain the professional training I needed without leaving my current job.  

To future students I would say to please make sure you have to good working computer and some basic computer literacy skills and be prepared to work hard.
June 26, 2007, 7 p.m.
0 votes/
I am currently enrolled in Seton Hall's MASCL program.  I decided to enrole in this program for several reasons.  I liked the concept of having an online program and a residency associated with the program.  It makes you feel connected to the university and your classmates. The program is challenging, however it will be a degree that I will earn from a, "Big time university" that is respected.  I work in the law enforcement community and I have found the program to be very useful for my profession. I was informed about the MASCL program from another law enforcement manager, who graduated from the program.
June 26, 2007, 6:28 p.m.
0 votes/
I chose Seton Hall University for the Academic excellence and flexible online class schedules. It was very hard in the beginning and I was almost giving up,but the continuing support and encouragement from the dedicated and caring staff made me to complete the course with a 4.0 GPA. After the completion of M.A in Counseling last year,I passed the National Certification Examination. Now doing well as s  private practitioner. I would recommend this University for anyone looking for an academically challenging University to climb the ladder of success in life.
June 26, 2007, 4:53 p.m.
0 votes/
I spent two years reviewing programs before I finally settled on Seton Hall's World Wide program in communication.  Amazing!  The courses were challenging - the professors top notch - and my peers were some of the most amazing professionals I've ever met.  I made great friends over the two years I spent working on my degree. I've seen my income go up by $40k a year (I attribute this to my MA).  AND I published my first book based on the research I did as part of my course work!  If you can do it, I encourage you to enroll.  You will never doubt your decision.
June 25, 2007, 5:53 p.m.
0 votes/
I am a public relations professional living in Anchorage, Alaska. I obtained my Master of Arts in Strategic Communication and Leadership (MASCL) from Seton Hall University (SHU). The program was intensive and challenging. I did check out other universities that had communication degrees that you could achieve with distance learning and found Seton Hall to be the leader. 

A big factor in making my decision was the fact that Seton Hall has an extremely well established university (est. 1856) with an excellent reputation.  I knew that if I was going to be investing my time, energy and money I did not want a “Johnny come lately” or a “fly-by night” school. I wanted my degree to have significance for decades to come.

The three residency stays in New Jersey are critical. It gave you a chance to bond with your team members and intensified the cohort experience. One of the benefit’s of the cohort experience is that your team members encourage you through the program. You expand your knowledge because of the shared experiences from all of your cohorts professions. 

After the first module, a couple of people dropped (perhaps they were looking for an easy degree and after the first residency realized Seton requires you to work very hard and progress to a higher level). After the first module though – we did not lose one team member. Sometimes your cohorts become the wind beneath your wings during this intense time.

We all made it through and graduated in the most beautiful and meaningful graduation ceremony imaginable. 

My boss, who is the chairman of the board of our top Alaskan business, Chugach Alaska Corporation, told me that she has seen my professional growth while I was going through the MASCL program at Seton Hall. I felt that I was growing in leaps and bounds, but it was great to hear someone who has perspective on my career give me that feedback.

MASCL Assistant Academic Director Karl M. Soehnlein, Ph.D., is one of the great professors working with this program who challenge you more than you thought you could be challenged. He teaches the first two modules of five modules. This is an excellent way to start off the program.

In the program, besides leadership and communication, you really delve deeply into communication involved in corporate change. In our changing society this knowledge is something that may make you stand out from the rest with your professional colleagues. 

If you have more questions on my experience with this program please feel free to email me at alaskagrad2b@yahoo.com.
June 25, 2007, 3:38 p.m.
0 votes/
Great team of professionals, very open minded and eager to explore and discuss worthwile educational topics of interest to working professionals.

Review accredited on line colleges like these Universities at eLearners.com

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Seton Hall University in any way.