Southern New Hampshire University

Review Averages: 6.6 out of 10 (33 reviews)

Accreditation: New England Association of Schools and Colleges
Non-Profit: Yes
Country: USA

Learn More about Southern New Hampshire University

Request Information »

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Southern New Hampshire University Reviews:

72 of 77 people found the following review helpful
Not Harvard But Not UOP Either
August 25, 2013
I see all these negative comments, and why not? After all, people are more likely to write a negative review than write something positive. This is just a part of the human experience. SNHU cannot expect everyone to like the program. OK, so the reason I began with classes at SNHU is it is regionally accredited and has a real campus, plus it is not for profit. There is no indication it is like Keiser, Kaplan or UOP at all. It is a real college with dorms, on campus education, and the rest of the college experience (if you want it). Now I went to this college because at the time it was the only one with any online degree programs in liberal arts (that is, English, History etc). It also did not require the insanity of obtaining very advanced mathmatics courses, even if I wanted a degree that was not mathmatically oriented. Also, many colleges require, not just foreign language courses, but two foreign language courses in a row. While I understand that this broadens a student's horizons, there were no local schools for me to take Latin or Greek at, and too few that offered those languages online. If there is one deficiency, it is the lack of a foreign language program, and that is the same deficiency that exists in many schools. I had the advantage of already graduating from Eastern Florida State College, and had taken courses there. The work was essentially the same, and the evaluations of my work largely have depended on the professors. I messed up and did not study as I should have for my macroeconomics final. I wound up with a C+ in the course. So far from being a college that requires no effort, a lack of effort has cost me. On the other hand, in creative writing classes, I would guess that generally an elective kind of subject like that would get most people an A, even at a state university. But I managed to get a C in computer systems as well, this because of a lack of interest and lack of effort on my part. I don't want to advertise my weaknesses here, but I just want to say that anyone talking about the grading not being hard enough apparently had different professors than I did. I have not had adjunct professors (I suppose that means with a master's degree, as if that weren't enough...isn't that a little snobbish?) but a mix of professors with master's degrees and Phd's. I didn't find much difference between them, so the idea this makes a difference, I think, is perhaps all in ones head. I have taken some courses at schools, including the Ivy League schools, and found the content to be about the same. The difference is that the Ivy League schools do a lot more lecture and have longer reading lists. Still, the overall content and point of the courses is the same. I would not rank SNHU as the best school in the United States, but there is really nothing wrong with it either. I believe the people who have a problem with the university are acting perhaps a little out of a single bad experience, so they sort of try to flame the whole school.

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
Definitely Not a Terrible Program
August 13, 2013
I'm not sure where a lot of people are coming from, but I can only share my experience with SNHU. I transferred from a for-profit school due to the complete lack of academic rigor. I consider myself a fairly intelligent person, and I am able to complete my assignments without too much difficulty. It doesn't mean they are easy, nor does it mean I am not learning anything. Quite the contrary. The academic support has always been extremely receptive and proactive in assisting me. I'm a very independent learner, so I have no real need for them to follow up with me constantly. They do call me frequently though and ask if they can be of any help. This is the first university I've attended where I have, knock on wood, never had a problem with my financial aid. It was awarded correctly, and I have received my refund the date they tell me without fail. I have had, as all college students have had, professors who are both good and bad. That is the nature of the beast, I'm afraid. A Film History class I took was rather painful, but I completed it with an A. The text selected was so dry that it, literally, put me to sleep. The best professor I have ever had was at SNHU for a philosophy course. She worked with me through some personal health issues, and she made sure that I was able to complete the course. She was tough but fair. Her grading was spot on. As for the courses themselves, as I said earlier, I may be a poor judge. I've never had issues in academia, as I am a fairly good student. I apply myself, do my readings and listen to lectures as available, and complete my discussion board postings on time. Discussion boards are, as with most schools, nothing more than busy work. There are some great discussions to be had, especially if you are passionate about the subject. Don't expect that type of involvement in entry level survey classes though. The only complaint I have is the textbook/bookstore situation. They do not allow you to charge textbooks to your account, so you will be paying out of pocket. I don't have a huge issue with that, but I do have issue with the required materials for the Fine Art survey courses. They are required for my major. The materials themselves are made by the school. You access them through Blackboard. You have to pay for the course, then pay $99 JUST to access the course in Blackboard. That is not acceptable. Not even remotely acceptable. If I pay tuition for a course, you can provide me access to materials you created at no cost.

40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
Great School! Awful Reviews, but bad grammar.
June 23, 2014
I love this school. I am shocked to see so many bad reviews, but I don't take them too seriously, since a majority have bad grammar and punctuation errors. For people who want a real review and not some bias view from an average/not good student, then listen to this review. The teachers are actually very helpful, if you give them a proper amount of time to respond to your emails and they are very courteous and helpful. I am glad that now I have an advisor that is permanent, because within the first few terms, of the Undergraduate program, you get a few different advisors. My advisor is Samantha and she is awesome. If in regards to the actual website, it is very easy to handle and understand. I have been an A student for my entire life and I am still keeping that same pace in this school and I am putting in the same amount of work. When I hear that this University just hands out grades, it is merely not true. In society, establishments do not just hand out grades, because then it would reflect badly on the school. If you are going to write reviews, be honest and not have some moralistic vendetta against something that you were not good at, because like a reviewer said earlier, "A person is more likely to write a negative review versus a positive one." This is the truth, but in every situation there is always something that you enjoyed in that program. Also, the Financial Aid Department isn't bad at all. I have never had an issue with them and they have been nothing but helpful and sweet. Thank you for reading my review and I hope you all have a wonderful day! Jean-Marc

39 of 47 people found the following review helpful
SNHU is the best online school I've tried
September 11, 2012
I have audited or taken classes at many online schools including Kaplan, ITT Tech, ECPI, Phoenix, and DeVry. SNHU has been a superior experience from my initial contact with the school to classes to advising. All of my interactions with staff from advising to financial aid has been world class. I find the coursework challenging and fulfilling, more so than any other school I've tried. I have attended a brick and mortar school local to me several years ago and my experience at SNHU is the closest to going to a traditional college than any other online school I've tried. The best part is I don't feel like I'm getting extorted with high tuition rates. With grants my total cost of attendance for a BS degree will be under @28k. Phoenix and Kaplan were both over $60k. Also, I've contacted a few admissions departments in regards to graduate programs and Penn State, Virginia Tech, Virginia Commonwealth, and Old Dominion all said my degree at SNHU will enable me to attend grad school. Education is what you make of it. I really do not understand how some of these folks could have had such a poor experience. I highly recommend SNHU if you are a busy working adult that is seeking a quality education.

38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
Love the program
January 8, 2014
I attended this school back when they were only a brick-n-mortar private college. I chose to attend them again to finish my new RN degree because of their past good reputation and because I trusted the school to provide quality courses. Is this school a Yale or a Harvard?, of course not, are they equivalent to a standard state University? Yes, I believe so. I have attended many colleges from my first experience with SNHU when it was named New Hampshire College, to Southern CT State U, a private CT nursing college, and a CT community college. SNHU courses have been the same in terms of quality, and learning experience, and in some cases I can honestly say I have learned much more in my classes with SNHU. A lot of comments imply that going to actual classes in rooms are more conductive to learning, but I disagree. Honestly, how many of us have spent countless hours in a classroom with nothing more than a Professor lecturing on & on & on. I like being able to focus my studying and time on what I feel I need to learn & not wasting time on nonsense. If I have a question, or issues I can post for discussion or contact my Professor directly here at SNHU. Nowhere else in any other college experience has a Professor provided me with their private phone #. At SNHU they have. My Professors have been timely & extremely knowledgeable, as well as extremely helpful. In my other classroom courses, it was; drive to school, sit in class, listen to lecture with powerpoint or on chalkboard, drive home (any questions or issues-Good Luck in scheduling time with the Professor or TA, MOST Professors only have limited office hours for student questions or problems), but at SNHU, it was: log in, get comprehensive week course instructions, watch lectures, pause if needed, rewind to review, take notes, do assigned readings & research, review lectures, contact Professor for immediate response, post extensive,cited researched discussion posts & replies, write papers & do work, as well as discuss course & questions with other students & Professor on discussion boards or with Adobe Connect live, etc...and repeat the next week. SNHU is NOT easy. It is the most writing and research I have ever done for class work. I would say a great education for the price.

34 of 63 people found the following review helpful
DO NOT!
June 10, 2013
The school is interested in MONEY from their online students. They make little or no attempt to assess students prior to assigning them to an adviser; mine was inept and the fact that she was a new employee was apparent. Her communication with me was so poor that I requested she send all communication in WRITING as she denied things she'd said in a call. By my 3rd 8-week session, I got the feeling that they had a certain amount of money they had to make off me and they did all in their power to hit that mark! Things like, telling me about the ability to CLEP (prior learning) after it was too late to do so; failing to give me proper credit for units transferred from a California State University. My issues were evolving WEEKLY! I'm not an unreasonable person but I expect professional, honest communication and I got the exact opposite here! If you are planning to attend SNHU, good luck!

34 of 56 people found the following review helpful
Such a Joke
November 26, 2012
SNHU is of a joke. They masquerade around as a brick and mortar with a good reputation, but when in actuality, they are EXACTLY like University of Phoenix, Kaplan, and (insert for-profit name here). The instructors are all adjuncts, and with the exception of a SMALL handful, they know nothing about the subject they are teaching, so do not expect any guidance if you do not understand the material. I was made to feel like a part-time, insignificant obligation by almost all of my instructors, was graded incorrectly by many, and received no guidance. Fortunately the online learning systems used are manageable- myitlab/mymathlab, so are you are able to learn if you REALLY put your best foot forward. I was fortunate enough to transfer my credits to a good school and pursue a degree that will actually mean something. Look elsewhere for a meaningful degree.

32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
SNHU is AWSOME
June 29, 2014
I am actually attending the online course as we speak for my Bachelors in Science for Healthcare Management. My experience so far has been amazing! I love my counselors, my advisers, and my my teachers. They really help you understand what you are doing, and walk you through the start process. If you are looking for a legit school, SNHU is the place to be. Not for profit and is accredited, which a lot of the online schools out there are for profit, which doesn't look good for employment. It took me awhile to find them, but I am sure glad I did and didn't waste my time with some washed up school like Everest or Phoenix, which would have just put me in debt, without a job in the field I studied. Everywhere else I was going for my Associates, they offered and talked me into Bachelors, and I am so glad they did, I am doing what none of my family has done. p.s. What is sad about the grammar misspellings is that this offers text correct and they still chose to look ignorant. tisk tisk

32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
So far, so good
April 1, 2014
I am in my first term at SNHU working towards a BS in Healthcare Management. I have tried 3 other online school prior to committing to SNHU. This by far has been the BEST online program I think anyone could experience. However, the adviser I currently have isn't exactly the most attentive or helpful person, but, overall, I love the set up of the coursework using BlackBoard modules and the interactive learning materials that they use. I feel that this is the next best thing (If not better) than sitting in a classroom with a professor and peers. I would highly recommend this to anyone seeking a online program who is unable to attend a brick & mortar school!

32 of 43 people found the following review helpful
SNHU Online could learn from University of Phoenix
March 18, 2013
I completed a Bachelor's and an MBA through University of Phoenix (UOP). The first through a ground program (sitting in classrooms) and the MBA was mostly online. I listened to the critics say UOP was a "diploma mill" and decided to try a "real," not for profit school for my 2nd masters. I am an accounting professional with more than 35 years of experience working full-time with some travel, so online is really the only format that works for me. SNHU was the only not for profit Universerity I could find with an online Masters in Accounting program. I found both programs (UOP and SNHU) very similar. The level of difficulty was about the same but I would say the instructors at UOP were probably a little more responsive (but that may have been a function of program structure). The online environment and program structures were very similar. UOP has been doing online longer, so you decide who is copying whom. While tuition was slightly cheaper at SNHU, they made up for it in textbook costs since UOP provides all course materials online for a flat fee per class and one SNHU course has a $200 textbook! The SNHU classes take 11 weeks (on a quarter system) where UOP graduate courses are 6 weeks. I spent less time per week at SNHU than UOP, but I would say they require about the same time in total per course. However, with UOP you can begin classes anytime, not just at the start of the quarter. My grades were about the same, but I found I became bored after 6 weeks with SNHU stopped trying, eventually only pulling a B in my last class. Advisor support is less personalized at SNHU. You are required to use their snhu.edu email for all correspondence with not only your instructor and classmates, but with your advisors. I sometimes has issues connecting to that email, and so when I notified my advisor from my personal email that I needed to withdraw from a class, I missed his auto-response to the snhu.edu email regarding the proper forms required for a withdrawal and ended up responsible for the full course cost (non profit?). I even tried to appeal the charge with no success. I ultimately decided that while the level of difficulty of classes was about the same as UOP, SNHU makes the administrative part of going to school as a working adult too difficult (not as user friendly as UOP). If you feel that an education has more value when it's difficult to register for classes, make changes to your course schedule, or handle other administrative tasks, then by all means, SNHU provides a better value. Based on educational and instructional content, however, there is really very little difference. As someone in the profession already, I found either program educational and of value to me. However, for someone changing careers or just starting out with no prior knowledge about the subject matter, either program would be equally difficult, in my opinion.

Read all 33 Southern New Hampshire University reviews...


Programs:

Read all 33 reviews...

Write a Southern New Hampshire University Review


Learn More about Southern New Hampshire University



Learn More about Southern New Hampshire University



Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Old Comments

Nov. 16, 2010, 1:25 p.m.
+8 votes/
I have been taking classes online with SNHU for two years. I can only say that I question what I am paying for everyday. I teach myself the material, most of the tests are graded instantly by the system and there is no follow up on anything. You can't look back if you have made a mistake because you are only given an answer with no teaching taking place. One investment class adjunct professor had students invest in a mock portfolio, this adjunct professor invested in Harley Davidson, GM and a bunch of other companies that had been going down the tubes for years, I invested in Chinese solar companies and my stock increased in 5 weeks by 300%, the "professor's" dropped a LOT. I was excited and posted my gains but apparently the posting was in the wrong section of the myriad of areas to post and he struck my work for the week off the system and "reprimanded" me in the online forum. Bottom line is I have nothing to learn from someone who doesn't know their business, if this was an experimental class to give this adjunct Professor Stoner experience it was a failed one. Another class "Humanities" found the professor working hard for females in the class and just put a bad taste in my mouth...what desperation. It is a sad school, at this point I am not sure I want my diploma from this "institution of higher learning".
Nov. 16, 2010, 1:32 p.m.
0 votes/
Wow $2600 to teach a class....my wife made that at the community college level teaching a class for a certification. How sad. SNHU is a money making machine! 

When I get my BS and then my masters and finally my Phd from SNHU I want to work there. It will probably be the only place that would be hiring someone with such a useless bunch of diplomas. I can't wait to be underpaid.
Nov. 16, 2010, 1:53 p.m.
-3 votes/
A school rep obviously wrote the great review up. That's how things work there.
Nov. 16, 2010, 1:38 p.m.
-4 votes/
In classes at SNHU I was often looking around worrying that the caliber of students and teachers was on the low end of the spectrum....5 courses in my worries turned to a realization that this school will accept anyone as a student and attracts teachers that can't get jobs in the real world not to mention other schools. If you want to learn nothing and buy a diploma this is your school, come with cash or lots of loans you will go far.
Oct. 29, 2010, 6 a.m.
+6 votes/
This is an excellent university whose reputation is on the upswing.  SNHU is now a Tier 1 school, and they are steadily expanding and improving their programs.  Numerous awards have been bestowed on this university, too.  As an online student, I can confirm that this is not a degree mill.  Many students flunk out because they can't handle a real challenge.  Faculty members are typically very helpful, and they always have solid credentials.  SNHU degrees are exactly the same no matter if they're earned online or on-campus.  If you want a real degree, especially in business, try SNHU!
Nov. 3, 2010, 7:17 p.m.
+6 votes/
I know for a fact that you are not allowed to take 3 classes at once without discussing it with an advisor and getting approval from the school.  Once you agree that you have the ability to handle 3 classes at once, you can't turn back.  If you can't keep up, that is your problem, regardless of the issue(s) keeping you from completing your work.  You got yourself into the problem and couldn't get out of it..and then you slander the school like it was their fault.  Nice.
Sept. 21, 2010, 11:48 a.m.
+12 votes/
Positive, positive experience! I earned a B.S. there! Currently pursuing a MBA there. I am sorry to hear about the negative comment, but in classes there was also a lot of students who came to WORK, and some who came for the ride! It was all work here! This school is not easy, and it also has a tutoring program! If you failed maybe it is because you just were not ready to be in school. I know at least 8 grads from the online program, and not only did we find great interviews after graduation, we found great jobs and careers!
June 29, 2010, 1:42 p.m.
+5 votes/
I came to SNHU to start earning my Bachelors degree after a break from earning my Associates degree at another college.I am going on my fourth class at SNHU and I have not had nearly the same problems as other people, in fact it's been a pretty positive experience. I will say that you may not always know exactly what to expect but a week before the class even starts the instuctors post the syllabus so you have somewhat of an idea of what's to come. My advisor was pretty good, I was taking a math class that wasnt going as well as i thought and i felt i should move to the lower class to refresh my memory I did this on the first week of class and my advisor helped me switch to a new class without any hassle. The classes can be very challenging seeing how they are squeezing 16 weeks worth in to 8 weeks but for the most part I feel they instructors have done a good job. Like anything some people have positive experiences and others have negative. I havent gotten to any point where i need to go outside of the online classes. Maybe that doesnt fall under a business degree but i wish those other people would have shared what class that was for. Otherwise how true can it really be if you cant explain what it was.
June 22, 2010, 6:52 p.m.
+4 votes/
This is a very good school. I am a sophomore in the online undergraduate program, you have to work at it, but this grading is fair and the instructors are usually quite supportive.
June 18, 2010, 4:06 p.m.
-5 votes/
Oh and one other thing, before I go. I find it strange that the best positive comment on here has a full fledged rating score and everything. How come no else  can provide a score? Hmmmm I wonder if that is a school representative writing the comment. It sure sounds like it is!

Well I am a REAL student, and I don’t work for the school. For the record, most online degree programs at other schools offer math online, as well. The tuition is not at all competitive, and classes are definitely not worth the money. They are far from challenging, and the course descriptions are misleading...something you won't know until you pay for and start the class, because the advisors do not give you that information. Oh be prepared to teach yourself if you do a class online. You will be wondering, "Why am I paying all this money to teach myself?" Again, stay away!!
June 18, 2010, 3:59 p.m.
0 votes/
All the negative comments, particularly the ones from Jennifer and April are true. The faculty are atrocious, and April I couldn't have said it better. They act like they don't care! They make no effort to help the student. My advisor didn't even seem educated or experienced enough to even give me advice. I am not trying mock anyone, but isn't that the whole point of an advisor. My experience is that you don't feel like a valued student there, no matter how well you do. They make you feel like you are expendable, and "well if you don't like it, you can go to another school." Well you know what SNHU, I will, you just wasted a lot of my loan dollars, but you won't get another cent. Word of the wise, stay far away from this school. It is really as bad as they say. When a school can make someone like me cry and feel like there is no where to turn, then you know it is a bad school!!!
May 22, 2010, 10:55 p.m.
+1 vote/
I attended SNHU and earned my Master’s Degree.  It was academically challenging, both online and on campus.  It was the best schooling I was ever taught.  I was instructed by all PHD’s and the Dean himself for two classes.  This was a great honor.  At this school I was taught how to think, not just to memorize and regurgitate answers from a book, or research from the library.  The professors are also technicians in the field of study and are on the ground floor of Community Projects locally and around the world(at least the department that I was studying under).  When I graduated, Barak Obama spoke at the graduation (Pre-Presidency) and it was very clear that I made the right choice attending this school.  This college is an old Brick and Mortar school that has been around for along time.
May 13, 2010, 3:09 p.m.
-2 votes/
I taught for SNHU and can say that without a doubt this is the absolute worst online school I have seen in my 15 years of teaching.  They pay their faculty $2600 to teach graduate-level course and pay them as CONTRACTORS so that they can get away with not paying FICA.  No other online school does this (and I teach for several). And for those of you that don't know much about faculty pay, $2600 is less than what a COMMUNITY COLLEGE pays for an undergraduate class which runs 8 weeks (and my course was 11!).  At most accredited schools, faculty if paid upwards of $5,000 for a graduate class.  Oh, but they don't tell you this until AFTER they make you attend a 6 week training course on how to use their LMS (Blackboard) - which, of course is also unpaid!!  I taught their twice and that was enough - I was making less than minimum wage with a PhD!   So folks, you get what you pay for - SNHU is a degree-mill with faculty that are the bottom-barrell (after all, the topi tier folks aren't going to put up with these conditions).  Go somewhere else and get a real degree, with faculty that care about your learning and not just going through the motions of passing students.
Feb. 17, 2011, 4:49 a.m.
+27 votes/
I'm not sure how much trust I would place in a review from a former faculty member who makes spelling and usage errors in his or her writing.  It sounds as though you were a faculty member who did not care about student learning, but rather what you felt you should have been paid.
April 29, 2010, 7:02 p.m.
+1 vote/
I agree with Jennifer. I have the same issues! Huge lack of advising and empathy. They pretty much say well that is the way it is there isn't anything we can do. I too spent alot of money and want to get the most for it. I am looking for somewhere to transfer now in hopes I can finish this degree. I was taking three classes at once. I had a situation come up where I had personal family issues. Two of the classes were almost over and I passed, but the one that continues was a 16 week class. I was terribly behind and was not understanding the information. There was no way to catch up. I tried to drop the class to be met by an email with no name or information just DENIED per policy. See I was a week late in my request to drop the class. I called my advisor, big mistake, she just patranized me saying online school is not for every one. I then asked do you know how many classes I have taken here? I only had 6 left. What an idiot. This left me with little faith. I think it unfair to just put up with this. Yes I can take the class again, but the F I am about to get when this class ends will stay on my transcript forever. Thanks. I am penalized for fally behind and not asking to withdrawal in time. I was not expecting a refund or any sort just the chance to retake the class so that I could fully understand it and get my moneys worth without it negatively effecting my transcript.
Jan. 3, 2013, 6:22 p.m.
+4 votes/
Yea after numerous emails to help me out I received a "sorry too late you failed your course" email from my adviser and no reply from the instructors.  I will be taking my $1000 a class elsewhere. 
Feb. 26, 2010, 4:27 a.m.
+4 votes/
I am an SNHU online student who is in the process of transferring elsewhere for my B.A. If you are an online degree seeking student, please wary of the program you choose and the classes that you would need to take (particularly if you are a working student simply looking for the convenience of an online only school), because your advisor will more than likely not be up front and honest with you. In fact, the advisors really don't do much to advise you. I spent a lot of blood, sweat, and tears (and money!!) at this school. Upon only having a few classes left in order to graduate, I found out on my own (because my advisor didn't tell me) that I had to take a class that would require me to go outside of the online education environment, even though I was pursuing an online only degree. This wasn't feasible for me in my working situation, and completely defeated the purpose of me attending the school's online degree program in the first place. When I tried to fill out a request to waive the class (using a form that seems to be basically useless, it’s a wonder why the school even has one available for students) and take something in its place, the school immediately denied my request without really hearing my side of the story. In fact they were quite rude about it. As an honor student with only a few classes left at the school, I was basically told I could change my major or find another school. Wow! Thanks for nothing, SNHU!!! I would have been graduating in a few months, but instead I am now stuck trying to find another school to transfer to. Needless to say the school's online program is quite deceiving and is falsely advertised. Had I known this a few years ago, I would have never even enrolled in their program. Yes, the classes are great and I learned a lot from the professors, but their faculty is horrible and do not give a darn about the student. I have had several problems with them from the get go, but was willing to overlook them for my education, but I should have seen the warning signs….this was the last straw. This is not a bash on the school, but the God's honest truth about how this school works. I wish someone would have told me this before. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL!!
Dec. 28, 2009, 1:43 p.m.
+6 votes/
I earned my B.A., degree at SNHU through the online program. SNHU is a challenging school, well organized, and I'm really glad I earned my degree there!
Jan. 21, 2013, 3:19 a.m.
0 votes/
Are proctored exams required by SNHU Online for any of their undergrad programs?  Or are grades based solely on course work and assignments, quizzes, etc.?
Jan. 14, 2013, 2:52 a.m.
-1 vote/
Honestly, you pay for what you get in the sense most colleges in this tier are the same. Teachers don't care, they are getting paid and you are expected to do bare min. work for a degree. They take your money like any college find any excuse to keep you there. I transferred here from another private profit college; nothing has changed. No one truly cares, but alas we need a degree to go anywhere in this country. If I knew what I know now, I wouldn't have started college at all. Not all of us are blessed to have a free ride.
Jan. 9, 2013, 5:11 a.m.
-12 votes/
I accidentally click the button but as I was saying I've literally ran into problems at Southern New Hampshire. No will consider taking your complaint serious. I Felt offended for grammar in Human  the Instructor  Jamie  Marich was awful.  A indication  just because someone sitting behind the screen criticizing your work. Inclusive lower graded   just for  any reason to make themselves feeling good. Well they were wrong when I became  a student I stood up for myself and refuse to be  treated like I  attending kingergarten. I couldnt take the abuse anymore, sure my work my needed a polish but not a F in Human  you have to  be kidding me.  Also your phone calles and email will go unanswered it occured to me. I couldn't believe it like a conspiracy no one will be on your side not even COCE  what a waste of time she is ridding the clock with no real time result and should be fired the dean and instructor including student affairs Helen at Southern New Hampshire.  She wasting company money just riding the clock. If you've been out a long time and warming up this place is not  for you, get ready for unprofessional and critism from the staff.  Its challenging but you can do it for a while just don't forget to stand  up for yourself. I want a refund for poor services and unsatisfactory for 960 my time and I feel ripoff. SNHU  is the worst University Ive ever attended for Hybrid online's activities. You teach yourself by the material then comes to the unfit and fake on called Instructors has the nerves to lowers for foolishness and ignorance. I no longer attend and in the process for New enrollment they want stop me from earning a Bachelors degree. Im taken my power back from so called idiots. This  school is straight crap after while if you can stand heat and discouraged from their poor Instructors.
Jan. 9, 2013, 4:33 a.m.
-7 votes/
I would like to inform stay away if you doubt your writing skills.SNHU will allow there so call online's Instructor's to be rude. I know for over a year  I literally ran into disrespectful Instructors and the be careful the dean will make in between the line's remarks. Not  to mention Helen in COCE failed to help students she'd riding the clock like everyone else's. Of course once you  failed to cooperate to accept lower grades you must sign a misconduct form.  Aftercarefully considerable reason I spoken my mindve to 
Dec. 16, 2012, 6:52 a.m.
+1 vote/
This school is a joke. It is not quite a degree mill, but they give out 4.0's for merely completing the work; the objectivity needed to require quality work is definitely not there for the instructors. It's obvious the university condones grading easily to keep the average student happy. Keep in mind this is a private university, and they rely mostly on enrollment fees to subsidize operation costs. High GPAs= happy students= student retention. I'm assuming most of the positive reviews are from students that are feeling joyous that they've retained a high GPA with little work. Those of you that do work hard, kudos, but it is definitely not required.I, however, have always been more concerned with receiving a quality education, and I can honestly say; I got a 4.0 with learning little to nothing that was not achieved through extra curricular learning.

Bottom line:
Yes, they are better than for-profit universities such as UoP, Devry, and Kaplan. 
No, they are not anywhere near equal to state universities and the academic difficulty resembles that of a high school classroom.

My Advice:
Venture elsewhere if you're able. If you're required to get a degree for career advancement, therefore not requiring much of a knowledge gain from your degree, then yes, SNHU will suit you just fine, but don't expect it to be highly revered by anyone.
Sept. 30, 2012, 7:57 a.m.
+11 votes/
I'm 55 and I've taken 10 classes online from SNHU. Before that, I took classes online from the U of Louisville. The  profs at U of L treated everyone like we were irresponsible 18 year old kids who only wanted to get by with slacking. I got tired of the disrespect, so I switched to SNHU. I've had only two pros at SNHU that were bad. Neither of them engaged in the discussions and one of them was clueless about how to use some audio technology. I have an AAB that I earned from a brick and mortar university. I prefer online classes and observed that the profs you get are pretty much a crap shoot for both online and traditional schools. The only difference is that an online prof might be wearing PJs while reading your term paper. 
Sept. 27, 2012, 9:50 p.m.
+4 votes/
I transferred into SNHU online from Ashford University. SNHU is cheaper than Ashford and I feel I'm learning more. There was a massive jump in quality of posts from fellow students at SNHU than at A.U.  At A.U. I often pondered how some of my fellow students were passing. The classes are harder and more intense, I feel I'm learning more at SNHU. I never have any issues getting a hold of my Academic Advisor or my professors. I've had professors call me to check up on me which is great. I felt that at A.U. Was just barely teaching and wasn't being taught but SNHU I get a better hands on education. At SNHU you take two classes each term and that can be hard for some especially with some classes. Like any school experience, you get what you put into it. 
Oct. 29, 2012, 8:03 a.m.
+2 votes/
Aimee,  I am currently an Ashford University student and applied to SNHU this past week.  I am happy to hear SNHU  offers a more hands on educational experience.  I'd love to know what the class structure is like compared to A.U., and how streamlined their programs are.  Considering SNHU is cheaper, has solid accreditation and is non-profit, I will more than likely be starting classes in January.
Oct. 21, 2012, 8:09 p.m.
+3 votes/
Aimee, upon reading your post I could not help the urge to reply to it. I, too, am transferring from AU to SNHU for basically the same reasons you've included. Although my experience at AU was not too bad in terms of professor/advisor interactions, the level of education I was receiving, to me, did not go in accordance to what I was paying for the classes. Also, the classes were very much 50/50, with some being fairly challenging, while others simply weren't.  I am yet to star my classes with SNHU (currently scheduled for the 2013 Spring semester) though I sure hope for an experience as rewarding as yours has. 

P.S.
Another thing, your post is dated Sept 27...my birthday. ^_^
Dec. 26, 2012, 5:49 p.m.
+2 votes/
Just stay away from certain instructors like Hakim. It is hit or miss, not all of the instructors are bad.
Aug. 23, 2012, 8:31 p.m.
+7 votes/
I am currently in my fourth term @ SNHU Online, attending full time (2 classes)and aiming towards my BS in Business Administration/Small Business Mgmt. I've had classes that were relatively easy and those that were quite a challenge. Most of my classes seem on par with what I experienced at a traditional state university & community college. Some have been much more engaging since you are required to participate in the discussions and learn quite a bit from your fellow dedicated students. While some of the instructors weren't very active in the discussion groups or very responsive on graded papers, I've had some really great professors that were beyond encouraging, helpful and really knew the material and were more than willing to help me achieve success. 

My advisor is a great help when it comes to picking the order of my classes and questions I have about ordering books and supplies, as well as getting a better picture of what the course really is. She is quick to answer my emails and before I even started at this school, I was required to have a person to person phone conversation with her where we discussed my goals, etc. 

I think this school will work for those who are dedicated, organized and resourceful people. This isn't a program for someone who needs everything explained five times and begs for makeup work and re-tests. It is what you make of it. Being an adult learner (almost 30, went to community college and state schools right after highschool for three years) who's working full time in the field I'm studying, my coursework tends to relate to my job and experiences, so it's a win-win for me. In my first term I utilized the online tutoring program a lot to get back in the flow of writing papers and such (I had never even heard of APA format before). I'm hoping to be finished with my degree by December 2013 and am seriously thinking about continuing on to earn my MBA.
April 8, 2012, 10:15 a.m.
+6 votes/
I am a retired lawyer back in school to get my degree in English Lit so I can teach. SNHU is my third on-line school.  I tried UMUC and UOP - both disasters.  SNHU is not the worst - but it sure leaves a lot to be desired.  I have had a couple of great teachers who participate and engage with the students - but most are "ghost instructors" - barely available to answer basic questions.  This is definitely a program where you must teach yourself - but aren't they all?  

My real gripe has to do with the exams they use - they apparently purchase these from a third party and the instructors are not required to take the exam themselves to verify validity and accuracy.  I have challenged these exams (true/false and multiple choice) and had questions thrown out or changed.  I am in the middle of another one of these controversies. 

So my question is - does an online program exist that really is what it says it is and provides a quality education?  I am not sure such a program exists.

Sharon
July 19, 2012, 3:55 a.m.
+2 votes/
Odd, I've never taken a course at SNHU where I was forced to take a multiple choice exam. All of the assignments have been in essay or discussion board format.
March 9, 2012, 3:49 p.m.
-3 votes/
Hello, I have credits from Warren National University, an unaccredited university that is no longer open.  I have been told that SNHU will allow me to transfer in.  Is that correct?
July 25, 2012, 5:24 a.m.
+3 votes/
No regionally accredited university will accept credits from a non accredited programs. It is bad for their reputation.
Aug. 19, 2011, 4:10 p.m.
+3 votes/
Not sure what all the negative comments are all about. I am currently taking classes for my MS in IT degree and have had nothing but positive experiences. The classes are challenging and are relevant to the real world. So far I've only had one bad professor who had a teaching style I wasn't crazy about. I am also taking these classes on the campus in Manchester, never took an online class with them, could be a totally different experience I guess. One thing I have a problem with is the advising office... they are totally useless and refuse to help with simple problems. Other than that, I believe the actual education I am getting is worth the money I am spending.
Aug. 10, 2011, 2:27 a.m.
+12 votes/
So after reading all of these comments I'm noticing a trend: 

1. Students who like the school who have graduated.
2. Students who don't like the school who have not graduated.
3. Teachers with sour grapes.

Newsflash: If you have sour grapes, 90% + of the time it's because you haven't done your due diligence in research about your program or your job prior to jumping in.  At that point, of course advising isn't going to help and you're going to be upset about compensation.  

Gotta love the Internet.  Free speech without responsibility.
July 6, 2011, 10:39 p.m.
+1 vote/
2004 Business Graduate!!!! If you are a student planning to transfer to a college, SNHU is the best choice. I completed an associate degree at a school that is on a trimester basis and went on to pursue my bachelors. My senior year i went part time at that school and took time off. When i contacted SNHU in reference to transferring to the school, SNHU accepted 75% yes i said it 75% of my classes. I only had to complete 10 courses in which half we almost electives and they have short summer terms. I enrolled 3/03 and graduated 5/04 on mother's day. My husband and I flew from Gerogia to New New Hampshire for graduation and it was a beautiful ceremony. I could not have asked for anything more
April 24, 2011, 3:26 p.m.
0 votes/
Why are there so many negative comments? The positive ones are so open ended, I wonder if they are legit. 
April 13, 2011, 3:17 a.m.
+3 votes/
The instructors they use for online programs are terrible...ive been in a an online program for 2 years now and all but 2 or 3 instructors fail to reply to emails and  queries in a timely manner. Dont expect much help from your instructor. At about $900 a class, its a decent price though. I would advise anyone to avoid this school unless they absolutely have no other option. Not the worse online school, but for the money, choose a better one.
March 4, 2011, 7:17 p.m.
-5 votes/
The school is a good school. For any school be it online or at the school, the student has to learn that is study. The reason why you bought the textbook is not only to make your posts but read the textbook.
I know very well about the so called ADJUNCT PROFESSOR STONER who is not only a failure, BUT A FREAK. I once took his class, even if I sneeze he will penalize me. From day one to the end of his class.I felt different, but one thing I KNOW FOR SURE HE CANNOT FAIL ME, BECAUSE HIS INTENTION WAS QUITE OBVIOUS TO ME. If hitting the books will make pass I will pass, I might not get what I am suppose to get.First assignment I got all the answers right he penalized me by a Point for answering one question more. He has done everything to fail, but he could not. He will make the questions tricky, but I will still get all correct, but he will look for something to finalize me for. He likes to call himself a Professor,when he is not. He is a real bluff, nothing more. There is no bad school, SNHU like any other school is good. Try to study as much as you can, not only for the exam. Be knowlegeable about the class, understand the fundamentals on your own, not only for the quiz/test or exam. I do not care which school you go to, if you do not befriend your textbooks you will never know anything about your field of study. It is hard but with or without the professors' help, teach yourself more and will always be fine.
ADJUNCT PROFESSOR STONER OF ST.LOUIS IS NOTHING BUT A FREAK, A BLUFF AND A FAILURE TO ALL HIS STUDENTS AND COLLEAGUES.
March 4, 2011, 11:04 a.m.
+6 votes/
To be fair, SNHU is not a diploma mill. The problem appears to be quality of teachers SNHU is hiring for the online program. The teachers aren't necessarily  well versed in the Blackboard system/used to teaching online. The teachers aren't real staff, and just need the extra money. I've noticed that many of the teachers are working other jobs and pursuing their own higher education (PhD), so they are too busy to actually teach. They don't manage their classes, and try and hold the students responsible for the results of that lack of organization and clarity. 

Teachers should be real staff and better quality. SNHU should slow down the expansion of the online program. It's an ethical issue, I hope SNHU starts doing the right thing.

Jan. 25, 2011, 11:07 p.m.
+1 vote/
I find that some students are there to learn and some are there to punch a ticket toward graduating. It is like any other school in that regard. 
However, their grading standards are lower than most community colleges, with a real reluctance to give away "too many C's" or lower. They only pay about 1800 per class. 
Although the school is upgrading facilities is is all from the boom of their inititial online program. Having taken an online class there, it is remedial reading and output with variable grading. not worth the money.

The work is easy and the quality of grading is mostly poor. The school overcharges for most classes as it cant figure out its priorities, other than making money, it fails to invest in teaching quality.
Jan. 24, 2011, 6:01 a.m.
-1 vote/
Currently in my first term at SNHU online. So far, not impressed. The teachers are not good at what they do. Their communication is lackadaisical and inconsistent, and the grading is arbitrary.

The reason the classes are writing intensive is because the teachers aren't teaching; they a post a bunch of assignments that tell you which pages in a book to read and then have you write a paper about it. Then they free associate on the grading criteria and you get the results.

The most ridiculous part is when they want you to interject your personal experiences into your writings. Instead of being able to focus on the standardized information that the classes are supposed to impart, everything is some creative writing excersize.

The teachers free associate because they don't teach you anything; it's just what you read out of the book against what they know (or what their opinion is).

The discussion board posts aren't about critical thinking or quality, they're about quantity. Make sure you put in a bunch of irrelevant personal experiences that are disassociated from the DB question, and then go around agreeing with other peoples posts and you'll be fine. Say something to intelligent and they'll pick at you because there is no reference points that you can hold them to.

I wouldn't know the difference except that I took about 20 online courses from a killer community college where most of the teachers were actual staff and the ones that weren't somehow taught their classes anyway.

I had an almost 4.0 GPA that SNHU tossed out when I transferred my credits over and even though I currently have an A in both my classes, I can see the reluctancy to grade over a 94 and keep me in the A- to B+ range, regardless of the quality of the work.

I suspect this is some method of creating a false impression that SNHU is no pushover.

Basically $900.00 per course to self study. I might as well CLEP.

Definately rethinking completing my degree there. What will it be worth in out in the market?

 
July 21, 2012, 3:47 a.m.
+5 votes/
It's funny that in your post you complain about grading being too stringent, then in other posts, people say SNHU grades too easily. Always funny how different people interpret similar experiences.
Jan. 6, 2011, 10:08 a.m.
-2 votes/
hi guys i am frm india i hav finished my be ( computer science engineering )i am planing to do my master's in snhu tell me plus and minus of the univ is master's degree worth doing in snhu .tell me abt the placements 
Dec. 2, 2009, 11:23 p.m.
+4 votes/
Let me begin by stating that if you are looking for an easy degree, than SNHU is not for you. This university is, in my opinion, top notch. The online classes are writing intensive, and even though they are only 8 weeks long, the information and learning experience a student receives is equal to or greater than the traditional 16 week classes. I can't say enough about SNHU, but don't take my advice alone. Go out and do your research. What you will find is that SNHU is one of the best.
Nov. 11, 2008, 6:55 p.m.
+4 votes/
Great School and 8 week classes are wonderful.  Pretty intensive but the Teachers actually do work with you.  SNHU is a Tier 1 school that gives online classes and I am actually learning despite past experiences at Ellis which was my only online experience.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Southern New Hampshire University in any way.