Southern New Hampshire University Reviews

Sort By

Most Helpful
Newest

Certificate Programs:
Graduate Certificate in Accounting (1)

Bachelor Programs:
Social Science (4)
Business Administration (4)
Bachelor of Arts in Creative Writing with concentrations in Screenwriting and Fiction (4)
BS Computer Information Technology (3)

Masters Programs:
Organizational Leadership (1)


To link to this page:

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Tasha_ernst (In Progress) on June 29, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
SNHU is AWSOME I am actually attending the online course as we speak for my Bachelors in Science for Healthcare Management. My experience so far has been amazing! I love my counselors, my advisers, and my my teachers. They really help you understand what you are doing, and walk you through the start process. If you are looking for a legit school, SNHU is the place to be. Not for profit and is accredited, which a lot of the online schools out there are for profit, which doesn't look good for employment. It took me awhile to find them, but I am sure glad I did and didn't waste my time with some washed up school like Everest or Phoenix, which would have just put me in debt, without a job in the field I studied. Everywhere else I was going for my Associates, they offered and talked me into Bachelors, and I am so glad they did, I am doing what none of my family has done. p.s. What is sad about the grammar misspellings is that this offers text correct and they still chose to look ignorant. tisk tisk
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Jean-marc.fraysse (In Progress) on June 23, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great School! Awful Reviews, but bad grammar. I love this school. I am shocked to see so many bad reviews, but I don't take them too seriously, since a majority have bad grammar and punctuation errors. For people who want a real review and not some bias view from an average/not good student, then listen to this review. The teachers are actually very helpful, if you give them a proper amount of time to respond to your emails and they are very courteous and helpful. I am glad that now I have an advisor that is permanent, because within the first few terms, of the Undergraduate program, you get a few different advisors. My advisor is Samantha and she is awesome. If in regards to the actual website, it is very easy to handle and understand. I have been an A student for my entire life and I am still keeping that same pace in this school and I am putting in the same amount of work. When I hear that this University just hands out grades, it is merely not true. In society, establishments do not just hand out grades, because then it would reflect badly on the school. If you are going to write reviews, be honest and not have some moralistic vendetta against something that you were not good at, because like a reviewer said earlier, "A person is more likely to write a negative review versus a positive one." This is the truth, but in every situation there is always something that you enjoyed in that program. Also, the Financial Aid Department isn't bad at all. I have never had an issue with them and they have been nothing but helpful and sweet. Thank you for reading my review and I hope you all have a wonderful day! Jean-Marc
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 18, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Transferred from a Cal State School I Don't get the bad reviews at all. This school is as good as or better than Cal State East Bay. All of the professors have been passionate, intelligent and available to me whenever I had a question or concern. The only complaint I have about the school is one IDS 400 class that I have to take in order to graduate. It's a diversity class and it doesn't relate to my major in any way. That is my only complaint. I have taken ten classes so far and I have 7 classes left. I only disliked one class out of ten. Pros: Advisor rocks, professors rock, classmates rock, course layout rocks, term schedule rocks. Cons: SNHU Onecard sucks, Rude Financial aid dept sucks, pretty much anyone who deals with money and tuition sucks. HOWEVER, advisor has your back and will fight for you if you need help. So it's whatever. :) Good school, worth every dime.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 1, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
not sure that snhu/coce degrees are taken seriously Transferring to another school. SNHU online has competitive tuition, that's it. Save a few $$ to buy a diploma that's already considered a joke? No thank you. Some of the teachers don't know their stuff or can't teach. Others don't care. Advisors are a mixed bag, financial aid run by children. Expensive advertisements try to save the day. Dishonest people.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Kylemullins (In Progress) on April 1, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
So far, so good I am in my first term at SNHU working towards a BS in Healthcare Management. I have tried 3 other online school prior to committing to SNHU. This by far has been the BEST online program I think anyone could experience. However, the adviser I currently have isn't exactly the most attentive or helpful person, but, overall, I love the set up of the coursework using BlackBoard modules and the interactive learning materials that they use. I feel that this is the next best thing (If not better) than sitting in a classroom with a professor and peers. I would highly recommend this to anyone seeking a online program who is unable to attend a brick & mortar school!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Bricci3 (In Progress) on March 30, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great School I was very surprised to see the negative reviews. I attended online classes at a couple of traditional University's and by far find this to be the best experience I've had. What first attracted me to SNHU was the shorter time of completion and price. I was surprised at how many times my advisor contacted me before the start of classes. I never talked to my advisor at any of the other schools, I'm not even sure if I had one. My advisors at SNHU, answered all my questions and are readily available. The second thing I found is the course work was actually providing me with information I can use. Those other schools had one management class, no HR and no organizational behavior classes. I have to 7 of those to graduate. I've taken 7 classes and have 6 more to go. While working full time, I only have one year left. In a traditional school that would take a minimum of a year an a half or up to, three years. I think one bad apple shouldn't reflect your option of a whole university. It's about the education your getting.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Sapphire753 (In Progress) on January 8, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Love the program I attended this school back when they were only a brick-n-mortar private college. I chose to attend them again to finish my new RN degree because of their past good reputation and because I trusted the school to provide quality courses. Is this school a Yale or a Harvard?, of course not, are they equivalent to a standard state University? Yes, I believe so. I have attended many colleges from my first experience with SNHU when it was named New Hampshire College, to Southern CT State U, a private CT nursing college, and a CT community college. SNHU courses have been the same in terms of quality, and learning experience, and in some cases I can honestly say I have learned much more in my classes with SNHU. A lot of comments imply that going to actual classes in rooms are more conductive to learning, but I disagree. Honestly, how many of us have spent countless hours in a classroom with nothing more than a Professor lecturing on & on & on. I like being able to focus my studying and time on what I feel I need to learn & not wasting time on nonsense. If I have a question, or issues I can post for discussion or contact my Professor directly here at SNHU. Nowhere else in any other college experience has a Professor provided me with their private phone #. At SNHU they have. My Professors have been timely & extremely knowledgeable, as well as extremely helpful. In my other classroom courses, it was; drive to school, sit in class, listen to lecture with powerpoint or on chalkboard, drive home (any questions or issues-Good Luck in scheduling time with the Professor or TA, MOST Professors only have limited office hours for student questions or problems), but at SNHU, it was: log in, get comprehensive week course instructions, watch lectures, pause if needed, rewind to review, take notes, do assigned readings & research, review lectures, contact Professor for immediate response, post extensive,cited researched discussion posts & replies, write papers & do work, as well as discuss course & questions with other students & Professor on discussion boards or with Adobe Connect live, etc...and repeat the next week. SNHU is NOT easy. It is the most writing and research I have ever done for class work. I would say a great education for the price.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 25 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on December 20, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
RUDE !!!! These are the rudest people ever. I have never dealt with people that treat a person in that fashion. I asked how many credits are needed in the program to graduate, reply: Didn't you read the email. I asked "I am needing the fax number please for transcripts, she replied which dept? I said: To send transcripts, she replied: "well I have 100 fax machines in this building with a snotty voice.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

44 of 47 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 25, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Not Harvard But Not UOP Either I see all these negative comments, and why not? After all, people are more likely to write a negative review than write something positive. This is just a part of the human experience. SNHU cannot expect everyone to like the program. OK, so the reason I began with classes at SNHU is it is regionally accredited and has a real campus, plus it is not for profit. There is no indication it is like Keiser, Kaplan or UOP at all. It is a real college with dorms, on campus education, and the rest of the college experience (if you want it). Now I went to this college because at the time it was the only one with any online degree programs in liberal arts (that is, English, History etc). It also did not require the insanity of obtaining very advanced mathmatics courses, even if I wanted a degree that was not mathmatically oriented. Also, many colleges require, not just foreign language courses, but two foreign language courses in a row. While I understand that this broadens a student's horizons, there were no local schools for me to take Latin or Greek at, and too few that offered those languages online. If there is one deficiency, it is the lack of a foreign language program, and that is the same deficiency that exists in many schools. I had the advantage of already graduating from Eastern Florida State College, and had taken courses there. The work was essentially the same, and the evaluations of my work largely have depended on the professors. I messed up and did not study as I should have for my macroeconomics final. I wound up with a C+ in the course. So far from being a college that requires no effort, a lack of effort has cost me. On the other hand, in creative writing classes, I would guess that generally an elective kind of subject like that would get most people an A, even at a state university. But I managed to get a C in computer systems as well, this because of a lack of interest and lack of effort on my part. I don't want to advertise my weaknesses here, but I just want to say that anyone talking about the grading not being hard enough apparently had different professors than I did. I have not had adjunct professors (I suppose that means with a master's degree, as if that weren't enough...isn't that a little snobbish?) but a mix of professors with master's degrees and Phd's. I didn't find much difference between them, so the idea this makes a difference, I think, is perhaps all in ones head. I have taken some courses at schools, including the Ivy League schools, and found the content to be about the same. The difference is that the Ivy League schools do a lot more lecture and have longer reading lists. Still, the overall content and point of the courses is the same. I would not rank SNHU as the best school in the United States, but there is really nothing wrong with it either. I believe the people who have a problem with the university are acting perhaps a little out of a single bad experience, so they sort of try to flame the whole school.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 13, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Definitely Not a Terrible Program I'm not sure where a lot of people are coming from, but I can only share my experience with SNHU. I transferred from a for-profit school due to the complete lack of academic rigor. I consider myself a fairly intelligent person, and I am able to complete my assignments without too much difficulty. It doesn't mean they are easy, nor does it mean I am not learning anything. Quite the contrary. The academic support has always been extremely receptive and proactive in assisting me. I'm a very independent learner, so I have no real need for them to follow up with me constantly. They do call me frequently though and ask if they can be of any help. This is the first university I've attended where I have, knock on wood, never had a problem with my financial aid. It was awarded correctly, and I have received my refund the date they tell me without fail. I have had, as all college students have had, professors who are both good and bad. That is the nature of the beast, I'm afraid. A Film History class I took was rather painful, but I completed it with an A. The text selected was so dry that it, literally, put me to sleep. The best professor I have ever had was at SNHU for a philosophy course. She worked with me through some personal health issues, and she made sure that I was able to complete the course. She was tough but fair. Her grading was spot on. As for the courses themselves, as I said earlier, I may be a poor judge. I've never had issues in academia, as I am a fairly good student. I apply myself, do my readings and listen to lectures as available, and complete my discussion board postings on time. Discussion boards are, as with most schools, nothing more than busy work. There are some great discussions to be had, especially if you are passionate about the subject. Don't expect that type of involvement in entry level survey classes though. The only complaint I have is the textbook/bookstore situation. They do not allow you to charge textbooks to your account, so you will be paying out of pocket. I don't have a huge issue with that, but I do have issue with the required materials for the Fine Art survey courses. They are required for my major. The materials themselves are made by the school. You access them through Blackboard. You have to pay for the course, then pay $99 JUST to access the course in Blackboard. That is not acceptable. Not even remotely acceptable. If I pay tuition for a course, you can provide me access to materials you created at no cost.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

20 of 37 people found the following review helpful

Selenia_1998 (In Progress) on June 10, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
DO NOT! The school is interested in MONEY from their online students. They make little or no attempt to assess students prior to assigning them to an adviser; mine was inept and the fact that she was a new employee was apparent. Her communication with me was so poor that I requested she send all communication in WRITING as she denied things she'd said in a call. By my 3rd 8-week session, I got the feeling that they had a certain amount of money they had to make off me and they did all in their power to hit that mark! Things like, telling me about the ability to CLEP (prior learning) after it was too late to do so; failing to give me proper credit for units transferred from a California State University. My issues were evolving WEEKLY! I'm not an unreasonable person but I expect professional, honest communication and I got the exact opposite here! If you are planning to attend SNHU, good luck!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

18 of 31 people found the following review helpful

Awillowsdream (In Progress) on April 19, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Creative writing without the screenwriting actually Hi, been here a little over a year now and let's start out with the FINANCIAL AID DEPARTMENT IS RUN BY THE STUDENTS!!! They often barely speak english, you do not get a finaid advisor and the students have access to all of your information. Random students work in finaid and control your future! They lie, they cheat, they berate you over the phone, even in emails. My actual advisor stood up for me a bit when I was getting berated for turning in my paperwork, they lost it, never told me, then told me I need to get more organized! I have been in school for ten years, I am so educated in financial aid now that I was schooling them, and it didn't matter, they literally stole over $6,000, and now I do not have enough loans left to complete the degree. They laughed and said I should have been more diligent. You can't check your own information, you must go through them, yet they tell me I messed up for not checking on my own, I mean where?!!! The classes are a joke, have little to do with your degree and are so incredibly easy a highschool student could complete this crap within a year if they could come up with the money. The instructors don't even study the course material, barely glance at your papers and seldom answer questions or give advice. The classes are only 8 weeks, I noticed a previous post claimed differently. I'm supposed to be learning how to get published and be a great writer, yet we study boring classics, are forced to trumpet their value with paper after paper, week after week on the same book! How many times can I write a paper on The Great boring Gatsby!? I wrote 8 papers and 12 blogs, and they turned what may have been something good into something so hated and I still do not feel it is helping with my own future. What a joke! You might find a cool teacher or two, one english teacher said she would help me with my math, because she also teaches that at another school, so that is cool, but mostly you will find bored people who hate, hate, hate questions or suggestions. You do not see each other's papers, so there is no critiquing, no way to improve. Oh, if you do go here, find your books online as downloads for free, or go to amazon or ebay to find them used, never order from the school, you do NOT want them to have access to your credit card number. Again, kids run the financial aid department that are not finished with school, and their degree of study may have nothing to do with working in financial aid, such as creative writing students having access to my social security number, bank account, fafsa...and we all know they can't possibly yet understand the fafsa or how to finish it correctly as they have only filled it out themselves once or twice, or their parents do it for them as in the case of my pos sister. They are so very kind when you are first signing up for school, but then they are rude, cruel, and have no qualms with lying, cheating, stealing, or yelling at you. I have to be honest though, I already have an art degree from AAU, and the finaid was helpful, the teachers were cruel, and my hubby goes to U of Phoenix and they never give him his refunds, he's on his third try for the last class for his degree and gets no extra help and the classes are just as much a joke of ease and relaxation other than the math of course. Online may be the wave of the future, but the degrees are not as meaningful, you don't learn as much as in the classroom with the actual teacher and actual students, but just like most, we don't all have the time for this! Accredited or not, the teachers do not put much time into easy money like this, and the schools don't care.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

14 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 14, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
SNHU a great experience I am in my first year at SNHU. I am endeavoring to work through the BS in Healthcare Management. Because SNHU has an open enrollment policy, a good percentage of my classmates do not make it through the first few weeks. I have read other reviews that say SNHU is easy. It is not. I have attended traditional Universities and this in some ways is harder. Since you are responsible for getting the work done quickly (8 week courses) it moves fast. If you get behind, there is no wiggle room. I find the adjunct professors I have had this year to be helpful. Like everything in life, there are the good, the bad, and the ugly. My over-all experience has been excellent. My adviser is fantastic. She has been very helpful and has been available anytime I have needed assistance. The online library is great too. The librarians have been extremely helpful in my research paper needs. Lastly, I find a post on this site for review suggesting that the University and by proxy "being in New Hampshire" racist. I live in New Hampshire. I can tell you that it is very much the opposite. This state is very welcoming and I have NEVER seen any racism in my community or in the schools - at any level. Yes it is true we are predominately white in this state, but being white does not constituent being racist. I would like to remind the writer that this state, like many northern states opposed slavery and were very active in the underground railroad. Enough said.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

19 of 25 people found the following review helpful

Jumpn4 (In Progress) on March 18, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
SNHU Online could learn from University of Phoenix I completed a Bachelor's and an MBA through University of Phoenix (UOP). The first through a ground program (sitting in classrooms) and the MBA was mostly online. I listened to the critics say UOP was a "diploma mill" and decided to try a "real," not for profit school for my 2nd masters. I am an accounting professional with more than 35 years of experience working full-time with some travel, so online is really the only format that works for me. SNHU was the only not for profit Universerity I could find with an online Masters in Accounting program. I found both programs (UOP and SNHU) very similar. The level of difficulty was about the same but I would say the instructors at UOP were probably a little more responsive (but that may have been a function of program structure). The online environment and program structures were very similar. UOP has been doing online longer, so you decide who is copying whom. While tuition was slightly cheaper at SNHU, they made up for it in textbook costs since UOP provides all course materials online for a flat fee per class and one SNHU course has a $200 textbook! The SNHU classes take 11 weeks (on a quarter system) where UOP graduate courses are 6 weeks. I spent less time per week at SNHU than UOP, but I would say they require about the same time in total per course. However, with UOP you can begin classes anytime, not just at the start of the quarter. My grades were about the same, but I found I became bored after 6 weeks with SNHU stopped trying, eventually only pulling a B in my last class. Advisor support is less personalized at SNHU. You are required to use their snhu.edu email for all correspondence with not only your instructor and classmates, but with your advisors. I sometimes has issues connecting to that email, and so when I notified my advisor from my personal email that I needed to withdraw from a class, I missed his auto-response to the snhu.edu email regarding the proper forms required for a withdrawal and ended up responsible for the full course cost (non profit?). I even tried to appeal the charge with no success. I ultimately decided that while the level of difficulty of classes was about the same as UOP, SNHU makes the administrative part of going to school as a working adult too difficult (not as user friendly as UOP). If you feel that an education has more value when it's difficult to register for classes, make changes to your course schedule, or handle other administrative tasks, then by all means, SNHU provides a better value. Based on educational and instructional content, however, there is really very little difference. As someone in the profession already, I found either program educational and of value to me. However, for someone changing careers or just starting out with no prior knowledge about the subject matter, either program would be equally difficult, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

20 of 38 people found the following review helpful

Sacrificethery (In Progress) on December 16, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Happy I Got Out This school is a joke. It is not quite a degree mill, but they give out 4.0's for merely completing the work; the objectivity needed to require quality work is definitely not there for the instructors. It's obvious the university condones grading easily to keep the average student happy. Keep in mind this is a private university, and they rely mostly on enrollment fees to subsidize operation costs. High GPAs= happy students= student retention. I'm assuming most of the positive reviews are from students that are feeling joyous that they've retained a high GPA with little work. Those of you that do work hard, kudos, but it is definitely not required.I, however, have always been more concerned with receiving a quality education, and I can honestly say; I got a 4.0 with learning little to nothing that was not achieved through extra curricular learning. Bottom line: Yes, they are better than for-profit universities such as UoP, Devry, and Kaplan. No, they are not anywhere near equal to state universities and the academic difficulty resembles that of a high school classroom. My Advice: Venture elsewhere if you're able. If you're required to get a degree for career advancement, therefore not requiring much of a knowledge gain from your degree, then yes, SNHU will suit you just fine, but don't expect it to be highly revered by anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

13 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on December 12, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
SNHU - M.S. Community Economic Development After completing an MRP (concentration - rural development policy) at UMass-Amherst, I enrolled in SNHU's M.S. in Community Economic Development as I thought it would broaden my thinking and expand my "tool kit." Though pre-online (15 years ago), it was nontraditional, meeting face-to-face for 3 days (over a weekend), for 21 months. We had nationally-known faculty, and I felt it was a worthwhile effort. As importantly, it opened doors in my (so-called;) career, including the opportunity to work at Cornell University. As an alum I get a fair amount of info, and am sure that there are some issues related to the rapid growth in online programs, but I am certain they value students and suspect they are TQMing like the dickens to address those issues. It is still a fairly small institution, but with some serious aspirations. It might be worth checking out what others are saying, and since we can't post URLs here, so I will offer these three word clusters you can use with your search engine to bring up some articles, and you can make up your own mind as to whether it is an institution worth considering. Here we go... (Fast Company Most Innovative SNHU) (Lumina Foundation Focus SNHU nimbleness) (Christian Science Monitor LeBlanc SNHU)
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

25 of 38 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 26, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Such a Joke SNHU is of a joke. They masquerade around as a brick and mortar with a good reputation, but when in actuality, they are EXACTLY like University of Phoenix, Kaplan, and (insert for-profit name here). The instructors are all adjuncts, and with the exception of a SMALL handful, they know nothing about the subject they are teaching, so do not expect any guidance if you do not understand the material. I was made to feel like a part-time, insignificant obligation by almost all of my instructors, was graded incorrectly by many, and received no guidance. Fortunately the online learning systems used are manageable- myitlab/mymathlab, so are you are able to learn if you REALLY put your best foot forward. I was fortunate enough to transfer my credits to a good school and pursue a degree that will actually mean something. Look elsewhere for a meaningful degree.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Smkeelan (In Progress) on October 26, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Very little quality control I enrolled in the Graduate Certificate program in accounting as a career change. The admissions staff was helpful and punctual. The MBA course (503) I took as a required prerequisite was interesting and reasonably well taught. In taking the entire sequence of 3 Financial Reporting courses, I was distressed by the apathy of the instructors- assignments were often returned misgraded (which I had to point out) and instructors were sometimes also teaching for the notorious for-profit schools, which I was specifically trying to avoid. When, as someone with no previous accounting experience (in contrast to virtually the entire class in each course, a fact I had to discover on my own), I asked for clarification on the highly abstruse accounting problems, I was simply told, "It's your assignment to turn in and be graded." I also could not get a clear answer from the school whether completing the program would enable me to sit for the CPA exam, a key credential for accountants. By the third course like this, despite getting good grades with great effort, I felt like an exploited cash cow and withdrew.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

26 of 32 people found the following review helpful

Iheartthepatriots (In Progress) on September 11, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
SNHU is the best online school I've tried I have audited or taken classes at many online schools including Kaplan, ITT Tech, ECPI, Phoenix, and DeVry. SNHU has been a superior experience from my initial contact with the school to classes to advising. All of my interactions with staff from advising to financial aid has been world class. I find the coursework challenging and fulfilling, more so than any other school I've tried. I have attended a brick and mortar school local to me several years ago and my experience at SNHU is the closest to going to a traditional college than any other online school I've tried. The best part is I don't feel like I'm getting extorted with high tuition rates. With grants my total cost of attendance for a BS degree will be under @28k. Phoenix and Kaplan were both over $60k. Also, I've contacted a few admissions departments in regards to graduate programs and Penn State, Virginia Tech, Virginia Commonwealth, and Old Dominion all said my degree at SNHU will enable me to attend grad school. Education is what you make of it. I really do not understand how some of these folks could have had such a poor experience. I highly recommend SNHU if you are a busy working adult that is seeking a quality education.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

13 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 18, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Southern New Hampshire is Dishonest and Morally Bankrupted Some of the instructors were awesome. They were very knowledgeable and helpful. Others were not so helpful; this was a part-time job for some whom held down full-time day jobs at junior colleges. Because of all the new advertisements the school financial aid is behind. I was billed for a term while attending on financial aid. I contacted financial aid and my advisor about dropping the classes, both advised me not to drop. On the day it was too late to drop without a charge someone from financial aid contacted me about a statement. I was away at the time and did not see how I could provide the statement. Therefore, I asked about dropping again and was told, "It's too late." I informed them I was told not to drop the classes, they said, "We can't tell you what to do." I found away and sent in the statement the same day. What is the use to speaking with them if later they through it back at you with "We can't tell you what to do"? Then I had a problem in one of my classes. The instructor did not follow the rules of the rubric. Instead of any of the faculty listening to my concerns, they ignored the issue and tried to dismiss my complaints by focusing on things they thought would shut me up. To date no one has honestly addressed the issue of my financial aid or the rubric. I filed a complaint with the BBB, they responded with lies and accusations. This university is morally bankrupted; after they get you enrolled, you become a number and nothing more. In the end they are a business and I am a consumer. I should not have to take a course I found not to be up to par, with an instructor that did not follow the rubric. What is the rubric for if the instructor can do as she pleases? All I wanted to do was drop the course and take it with another instructor; in hope of a better instructor, which knew the purpose of a rubric. My advice to new students is to always make sure you document all correspondence with SNHU. Try to do most of it through e-mail, as to keep a record. Because if anything go wrong they will not be honest, they will do anything to try to dismiss you including stooping to dishonesty.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

22 of 29 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 18, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MS in Organizartional Leadership I am just four courses away from completing the MS in OL from Southern New Hampshire University. When I began this program, I was impressed by the friendly, welcoming attitude of the office of continuing education. My original enrollment advisor was an exception - she continued to ask me questions that I had already answered and almost sent up enough red flags for me to change my mind about SHNU. Then, that advisor was no longer assigned to me and things went smoothly. Financial aid - a very important thing to me - was easy and quick. The financial aid person called me at home and emailed me to ensure that my questions were answered and kept me informed of the status of my award. One thing I was not happy with is that I was not able to charge my books to my financial aid account and had to pay up front. Of course, when your refunds come, it's wise to save enough back for the next quarter's books so it isn't such a big deal. That first quarter, however, was a blow to my budget. The tuition is reasonable. It's not the best and it's not the most expensive - but considering that SNHU is a brick and mortar school offering online education as well, it is competitive and far less than a for-profit institution. The instructors I've had - with the exception of one economics professor - have been friendly and easy to contact with questions. One of my current courses is terribly designed and I would not be surprise to see the instructor terminated; most of my fellow students have complained about this. Courses involve online discussions, extensive reading (bear this in mind if you have never taken online courses - you spend lots of time in your books!) and in most of my classes, short papers are assigned (in APA format) every other week or so. One class involved a paper every single week in addition to a blog and the discussion questions - so be sure you are comfortable with writing a lot. A visit to the school's web site will help you to see the various programs offered. One of the selling points for me was that I was able to take courses that gave me a grad certificate in HR Management that also counted toward my MS at no extra cost. There are various graduate certificates that can be earned like this, and that can't hurt your resume one bit. Course textbooks are often available on various online bookstores or you can order them from Follett (usually way expensive!). My pet peeve is that three courses thus far have required me to purchase a book ONLY available from the campus bookstore that was between $80-110 for a 50 page paperback, the contents of which can often be purchased online or even found for free. These are called "course packs", and are unfortunately a part of a few online schools requirements. I had them as an undergrad at another school. I must say, though, that the coursepacks used by SNHU are high quality materials from Harvard Business School. I like the fact that SNHU participates in community activities in its local area. Another thing that impressed me is that when a student unfortunately died, the entire SNHU community reached out to the family and provided the necessary lodging and transportation for them to make funeral arrangements, etc. I doubt you'd find that from Strayer or Walden! Explore all the schools in which you have an interest and then make the decision best for you. I believe you'd be happy with your studies at SNHU - but only you can determine the best situation for your academic career.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

12 of 29 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 7, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Horrible Experience Wow, where do I start! My experience with this school has been absolutely disappointing and disheartening. The staff are extremely rude, nasty, uncooperative, and unhelpful; as well as lack the ability to effectively communicate with students. I experienced a problem and ended up involving the highest ranking staff members, from the president to the provost, to the dean of students; and was met with prejudice and racism like you've never seen. The school is located in New Hampshire, enough said. In one course, there was a group assignment, and all of the minority students were placed in the same group! The professor claimed that he had no control over the assigning of groups and that the school actually had done so. Before deciding to enroll in this school, do yourself a favor and check out other online universities whose reputation is rock solid. SNHU does not cater to the needs of its students.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

18 of 26 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on July 22, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
So-So School This school is not great, nor is it awful. The coursework is generally painfully easy. I've had some great professors, and some awful professors whom were obviously not well versed it the English language (SHOULD NEVER HAPPEN AT AN ONLINE INSTITUTION BASED IN A COUNTRY WHERE THE NATIONAL LANGUAGE IS ENGLISH). The class format is nice- mostly short essays and discussion board pots with out the pointless multiple choice tests. My biggest complaint is the grading- it's way too lenient. While school has never been a struggle for me, I should not be getting a 4.0 when only dedicating 4 hours a week to studies (while taking 2 classes a term). SNHU appears to be expanding its online program too quickly while not paying attention to the cardinal rule of maintaining a respectable reputation as an online school-academic quality at all costs.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 29, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great staff and challenging coursework I have 19 classes left towards my BS in Business and IT,I can tell you that the staff at SNHU is awesome, they use skype,email and phone very effectively to advise you and communicate with you. They help you pick your courses based what you need to graduate and based on what interests you. The coursework is very challenging and interesting, the teachers are most of the time easily reachable by email. Ask for Amy or Bladimir to advise as they are the best advisers there! The only thing I found is that the books are not always available online so if you are international you might have to dig online for ebooks or pick a dif course.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

17 of 26 people found the following review helpful

Tiffany95356 (In Progress) on August 8, 2009

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great School!!! I have six classes left at SNHU to finish my B.S. in Business. I chose Southern New Hampshire becuase it was a traditional school with a great online program. I had previously taken classes online through a local junior college, so I felt comfortable with the format. Be prepared...these classes are challenging, they make you earn your grade! The other thing I liked about SNHU is that they allow you to take your math courses online. The cost is reasonable and the support is amazing. The classes are only 8 weeks long, you get a lot done in a short amount of time. Check it out, I'm sure those of you who check out SNHU, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No


You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about Southern New Hampshire University