Southwest University

Southwest University is a distance learning school based in Louisiana. Southwest offers a variety of certificates, undergraduate degrees, and masters degrees in business, management, marketing, and criminal justice. Most courses can be completed in six to ten weeks. Military tuition assistance at Southwest covers a military member’s entire tuition bill.

Review Average: 8.6 out of 10 (9 reviews)

Southwest University Reviews:

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Value for money
September 20, 2011
I graduated from Southwest with a B.S. as a foreign student. Yes, there are better schools than Southwest but where I am concerned, the fees fitted into my budget, and the open enrolment suited my hectic and unpredictable work schedule. Though the degree did not help me to get a promotion or land a job, it did improve my work skills tremendously, and I am now the author of several books. [Read more]

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Very pleased!
September 9, 2006
Excellent materials and individual attention. Very prompt in returning grades and answering any and all questions. I would recommend this school to anyone. [Read more]

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
MBA student review
August 12, 2013
I am in the MBA online program. This program is challenging and VERY ORGANIZED. The instructors are completly dedicated. I have a science degree from a Big Ten and this school requires you to work, but the work is doable. Just keep up and you will do fine. Whenever I need help the admin team is friendly and "on it". It is AACSB? No. However the lectures are AACSB videos and the texts are from ... [Read more]

Graduate
February 19, 2011
I had an excellent experience going to Southwest University, and my degrees have greatly helped me in my career both in knowledge and advancement. [Read more]

Excellent College & Programs
December 5, 2008
The coursework and study guides are well designed and easy to folllow. Courses can be completed in the time alloted and exams are well put together. Assistance is always a phone call or email away. I am working on my B.S. in Criminal Justice and will proceed through my M.S. in the same. [Read more]

Decent Program
June 22, 2008
Currently, I am in my sixth class in the MAOM program. I will admit that the course work might not be as hard as say Yale or Harvard. However, there is a good amount of work and the staff is very helpful. I know that the school being only DETC accredited might cause problem for some. Nevertheless, I have spoken with some regionally accredited schools that will accept me into their PhD programs. Anyway, for ... [Read more]

Great Service
January 23, 2008
The staff at Southwest University have been great. A co-worker who is in the military with me told me about the university. He is currently preparing himself to become a police officer. I am in the Masters in Organizational Management program and it has been great. The program is very flexible and works well with my family and work life. [Read more]

Read all 9 Southwest University reviews...

Programs:

Read all 9 reviews...

Write a Southwest University Review


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Old Comments

July 3, 2010, 2:47 p.m.
0 votes/
The website needs a lot of work. Not very professional or even enticing...
Jan. 2, 2009, 4:33 p.m.
+1 vote/
I graduated from Southwest Univ. in 1991 with both my MBA and my PhD. In those days they offered a PhD in Business. I have been very pleased with my degree and have been teaching as an adjunct in several colleges and universities since I graduated. I have found that my education is in no way compromised by graduating from a non-traditional university. You get out what you put in and the support I had from Dr.Lee and others was extremely helpful.
June 13, 2008, 1:28 a.m.
0 votes/
Southwest is a good small university.  You get a lot of one on one with your instructor.  Dr. Lee is very personable and responds quickly to any and all questions.  The course are independent.  Therefore, you are not require to log on or anything like that.  You can work at your own pace. I have attended other colleges, which your work was based off of team  projects.  This method of learning seems to work best for me.
June 9, 2008, 6:04 p.m.
0 votes/
anybody doing the BSBA degree at southwest. if you are please contact me.

Blissfulkittycat@yahoo.com
May 30, 2008, 12:37 a.m.
0 votes/
Shawn I am happy to hear from someone who graduated from Southwest.  Currently, I am taking my sixth course in the Master of Arts in Organizational Management.  I would agree with that the customer service is great!  I have enjoyed being a part of a small university.  At Southwest I feel like a student and not a number.
May 25, 2008, 6:47 p.m.
0 votes/
I had a great experience with Southwest and I completed the MA in Organizational Management as well as the MBA program. The instructor interaction is great and the customer service is top-notch.  The courses are challenging and the course materials are very well put together.  You must have discipline to make it work though!!
May 7, 2008, 4:19 p.m.
0 votes/
Who cares about your arguments concering DETC schools.  They provide a service that working adults need!  They are good enough for the needs that people desire.  Therefore, if you are not a Southwest student then get off the site and get a life!
April 10, 2008, 2:22 a.m.
0 votes/
Read and learn the truth about DETC accreditation...

http://distancelearn.about.com/od/accreditationinfo/a/DETC.htm
Oct. 16, 2011, 10:08 p.m.
0 votes/
hmmm, not sure when it changed, but this school is now fully accredited by the Higher Learning Commision (HLC)  North Central Association. That is the same as all the major Universities. 
Feb. 27, 2008, 6:55 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi Sarah,

I emailed you and have not yet received a response.  However, if you have any questions or concerns just send me a post.
Feb. 25, 2008, 2:14 a.m.
0 votes/
Hey shadeed7 contace me. Blissfulkittycat@yahoo.com
PLEASE
Jan. 31, 2008, 9:26 p.m.
0 votes/
Southwest University is a very small university.  The university is small but the customer service is great!  The tutition is not that bad there as well.  The courses are only $750 a class.  The only draw back is you have to pay for your books and materials to be shipped.  However, the university is a good place to get an education.  I would recommend the university.
Nov. 18, 2007, 8:03 p.m.
0 votes/
Yes, southwest university is an online school. I do recommend any degree program to any busy adult individuals that need flexiblity and personal attention. I have less than a year left and will transfer to another school to get my masters, but as far as my bachelors...there is nothing better.

tom
Dec. 31, 2006, 5:35 p.m.
0 votes/
I had a great experience with Southwest University. I would recommend for graduate programs and continued education. Continuous interaction with instructors and the same program available at most schools.
Sept. 14, 2006, 2:43 a.m.
0 votes/
For-Profit, Yes

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Southwest University in any way.