Thomas Edison State College

Thomas Edison State College in Trenton, New Jersey helps adult learners finish their degrees from anywhere in the world. Up to 120 transfer credits can be applied toward the college’s online associate’s, bachelor’s, and master’s degree programs. Professional certificates in health and paralegal studies are also offered for online learning.

Accreditation: Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools
Non-Profit: Yes
Country: USA

Learn More about Thomas Edison State College

Programs:

Read all 82 reviews...

Write a Thomas Edison State College Review

Reivew Averages: 6.9 out of 10 (82 reviews)


Learn More about Thomas Edison State College


Thomas Edison State College Reviews:

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
You be the judge
January 21, 2012
I've been a student at TESC for about a year and a half. Here is what I think. I am 45 and have worked for about 20 years in my degree area. Pluses: 1. It's regionally accredited. If you're not sure what this means, I encourage you to spend a new minutes to google it. It's important. 2. Great for professionals who have a lot of experience in their subject area. There are several ways ... [Read more]

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
JUST READ THE REVIEW
November 22, 2011
I went to Rhode Island College for three years before joining the military. I served six years in the military. While in the military I finished my degree with TESC. With my military experience and TESC degree I was able to get a job in the civilian sector starting at $90,000. I do not work at a nuclear plant or nuclear facility. I never work on the weekend and never have to do shiftwork. This ... [Read more]

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
Accredited, but not very challenging.
September 22, 2012
I completed the SOC program through TESC for a BSAST in Clinical Laboratory Sciences. I had previous college credit, so I only had to satisfy the 18 credit hour residency (which, as of Oct 1, 2012 is 24hrs for a Bachelor's degree). My TA covered everything, and I bought the books used online--not from TESC's bookstore. The quality of the classes was okay, but I found myself inadequately challenged. The assignments were extremely easy, and ... [Read more]

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
I have to laugh reading some of these reviews
September 19, 2012
I LOVE people who write these comments and complain about the amount of work they had to do. This is COLLEGE people!!!!!! Ok now...I took some time off after high school and when I went back to community college at age 24, online learning was just starting to take off. I preferred it better to going and fighting for a parking spot, so I took as many online courses as I could. When I graduated ... [Read more]

15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
Not worth your time or money
August 20, 2011
The financial aid department at this school is awful. They consistently gave me wrong information. Now I am left with one class to graduate and I am not eligible for any type of financial aid, not even a loan. I put a complaint in with the Better Business Bureau. A representative front the school called me and asked me to remove my complaint. I refused. I want to let others know how this school operates. ... [Read more]

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
Not Issues Here!!!
March 14, 2012
I have just finished my BSBA at TESC and I have not complaints. Can somethings be improved at the school? YES, but this is everywhere. You will never find a school that is 100% perfect. The staff at TESC have all been professional and extremely helpful even at times when I knew I was being a pain (LOL). Professors were all great and gave me a nudge when I needed it to get through. Look ... [Read more]

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
Accounting Degree
August 16, 2011
I have to give TESC an overall 8 to 9 score. As an adult student that manages a full-time accounting job, I found the on-line program the best for me. Students must be self directed and self motivated. Those that are not will have issues. Stay on schedule, live by your appointment book, and please do not forget to block out time for reading. Since there is not professor in front of the class providing ... [Read more]

Read all 82 Thomas Edison State College reviews...



Learn More about Thomas Edison State College



Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Old Comments

Nov. 30, 2010, 5:36 a.m.
+1 vote/
I just began my application process with TESC so far the evaluation process has been good. Prior learning evaluation was done in a timely manner any and all questions submitted via emails are answered timely as well. Will continue to post reviews as I start classes next month.
Dec. 19, 2012, 12:43 a.m.
+2 votes/
Enrollment is a problem. The school has a very big disconnect problem from one office to another. Even getting a username and password (you need two usernames and two passwords)is a mess. The website runs you around in circles. I took two classes earlier this year(ending around April) having paid the application fee and the enrollment fee and the tuition costs and the cost for books. Then in Nov. of the same year I decided to take two more, this is when the problem started. I had to pay a $75.00 re-enrollment fee and fill out the forms all over again, then fax them over. Then when I received an email from them I had to email the financial aid office and let them know I was enrolled. Only then could I start the course selection process. It takes forever. I have taken courses at my local CC and all you have to do is register. Why is TESC so heavy on all the administrative BS?
July 18, 2012, 1:43 a.m.
-2 votes/
Hello. I have a BA in psychology and was hoping to embark on a teaching program. Unfortunately my GPA is too low to be accepted and I was informed that this school would allow me to take some courses and up my existing GPA. Any validity here? Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks 
Aug. 25, 2011, 3:06 a.m.
-4 votes/
I've been taking courses at TESC for a couple weeks now.  I'm taking 16 credits through them and it's a whole lot easier than taking 16 credits at a local school.  I get the impression the instructors don't really care too much about your work.  I can honestly say that online distance learning is MUCH easier than taking classes in person.  I wouldn't recommend the school to someone who wanted to learn a whole lot.  I'm just doing it because it's really easy and I'll get a degree.
July 24, 2011, 2:54 a.m.
+1 vote/
I have been a student at Thomas Edison for about a year and a half.  I would not recommend this college to anyone.  Yes, there is a lot of work, but if you can write and research you will have no problems in the courses.  The problem I have with TESC is the midterm and final exams.  I am not sure who develops these exams, but for the most part they are difficult to pass because the mentor has done little or nothing at all to prepare the students for the exams.  Most of the exams are made up of topics that are not even covered.  My suggestions is do the best you can on the writing assignments and discussion groups.  I guess the grades are so low on the exams, most of the courses offer a midterm and a final paper instead of a final exam.  The college is very slow to change and I am not sure they even read their own surveys.  
May 29, 2011, 3:15 a.m.
+2 votes/
Well, I graduated from TESC about 8 years ago with a BSAST in Computer Science. The degree was good enough to get me into Columbia's graduate program and I now have a 2 year old MS in EE which--being from Columbia--no one argues with.

It is true that TESC is not a great customer service organization. I did take one class online just to see how it worked (Sociology) and I was not impressed. But overall TESC provides a great service for people like me.

I had a lot of credit (well over 60 hours) from 3 or 4 institutions and I had a lot of publications and a huge amount of work experience. So I TECEP'd what I could (easier to take a test than do a portfolio). Then I did portfolio's for the rest (except Sociology, as I said). So I took exactly one online class and it wasn't so good. But if you are taking tests, portfolio, or classes elsewhere, you are ok.

I was signed up for a year of tuition at the flat rate (not sure they still do that) and then at the end of the year, oops. They had certified me to graduate but suddenly realized one of my transfer classes was 1 hour instead of 3 so I only had 119 hours! And gee whiz it was too late to do anything about it.

Well, I could have got mad, but instead I got a hold of someone at the top, explained to them that I really wanted to graduate now and was not happy to be forced into paying more tuition since it was there fault they miscounted. Had I known they had not given me 3 hours on a transfer, I would have done something to make it up. They agreed to FedEx my proctor an exam on Basic Computer programming. I took it, had the proctor FedEx it back, and it was hand walked through so I could graduate.

Lucky I am an old guy because with was like 1978-era Basic. A VB programmer would have flunked, but I aced it because I grew up programming that stuff.

So it all worked out. For what it's worth, Columbia's online program isn't really much better, although it was perhaps slightly more rigorous. 

So if you need 100 hours of class room, maybe TESC isn't it unless you go somewhere else and bank the credit with TESC. And if you aren't someone who can start and complete things on your own to a schedule, don't even think about it. But if you have your own ways to earn credit and you can discipline yourself its a great way to get the degree monkey off your back. And like I say, good enough to get me into 2 graduate schools including my latest alma mater, Columbia (the one in New York, not the one in Bogata ;-) )

Good Luck!
May 15, 2011, 4:56 p.m.
+1 vote/
It's interesting how peopele have different opinions about TESC. I started my " long" academic adventure through John Jay College of Criminal Justice, " Brick and Mortar" type, however I remember going to classes and coming home, nothing specail or extravagent. Further due to circumstances I quit and decided to join the Army. In the Army I was afforded to go to schools such as Austin Peay, Hopkinsville Community College, Central Texas and the University of Maryland, Asian Division. Everytime I tried to meet the residency requirements for any of the schools mentioned, I  would receive a set of orders sending me somewhere else. Finally, I enrolled in Thomas Edison State College and graduated with a BA in Liberal Stuides in 2010. Would I have wanted the State University experience, Probably yes, but that wasn't in my "academic adventure plan", due to lack of such tution funds. TESC is a good school, it met my needs and ultimately, I received a degree. The only negative experience I had with this college was " a mentor" for ENG 101 who failed me and designed my papers with red ink. Interestingly, she assumed that the reason I was having trouble with my writing was because I was bilingual,and could not write. Again, this was my only negative experience, nevertheless TESC is great for "non-traditional" students, if you are the " I graduted 17 type with parents who have a lot of cash and can afford State Univeristy tution fees," TESC is not for you. Bottom line, State Universities are great, and so is Thomas Edison State College.


May 13, 2011, 2:33 a.m.
+2 votes/
I'm 45. Started TESC in Oct 2010. Studying for my BSBA. Should finish March 2012. Had almost 50 prior units that they accepted. So all in all it will take me about a year and a half to finish.

It is a good school for highly motivated, and self directed adult learners who already have college units. If you scroll down and read the review from Jack on July 17, 2010, his review is pretty much what I have to say about TESC. 

If you need a lot of teacher interaction, then TESC is NOT for you. If you are looking for a traditional college experience, TESC is not for you. 

If you like to read, have good writing skills, are willing to study on nights and weekends, AND ARE HIGHLY SELF MOTIVATED, then you may have found the answer to your prayers in TESC.
May 4, 2011, 5:40 p.m.
-2 votes/
Thomas Edison is the worst piece of garbage ever to call itself a college!!! The administrative staff are the rudesit idiots who have ever answered a phone!!! They will do EVERYTHING they can to get you off the phone with the smallest amount of effort on their part as possible. The smallest request is turned into a gigantic ordeal by their LAZY staff, who are so stupid the can only be graduate of this school for retards!!!! Getting a degree from this school will be great for applying for jobs at hamburger joints or the janitorial field! STAY AWAY, GO TO A LOCAL COMMUNITY COLLEGE, AND TRANSFER TO A REAL UNIVERSITY!! STAY AWAY!!!
Feb. 5, 2011, 12:07 p.m.
+1 vote/
This college is a real one with professors with real PhD's.  I graduated with a BS in homeland security and I can tell you that I am overall happy with my experience.  The classes are very challenging and very relevant.  Only take this college if you are serious about doing work on your own....as another person noted, there are a lot of essays.  My capstone paper was 25 pages as well...all in all, its a lot of work but well worth it.  I got accepted to Boston University's MCJ Program so I am really happy about that.
Jan. 13, 2011, 7:44 p.m.
+1 vote/
I earned a BA in the Humanities and am quite happy with the TESC experience...
Nov. 19, 2010, 11:13 p.m.
0 votes/
I used TESC to finish my AAS in 2008-2009.  They accept a lot of transfer credits and have a 9 credit residency requirement.
I've taken both classroom and online courses at different institutions, including the Virginia Community College system.  I have to say, the TESC courses are every bit as challenging as the community college courses, if not more so.

I think the reason it seems like a degree-mill to some people is the distance learning aspect, and the low residency requirement.  

As another poster noted, I used this school to keep my resume at the top of the stack.  In my field, it's rather frivolous to attain an AS/AAS, but HR people like to see it.

As a further note, the degree seemed to be very effective on my resume and during the job-interview process.  When an employer sees "Thomas Edison State College", they're not going to think "Oh, degree mill."  They're going to think, oh, that must be some low ranking state school I've never heard of in Trenton New Jersey, because that's exactly what it is.
Anyone ever heard of University of Mary Washington (formerly Mary Washington College)?  Probably not if you're not from VA, but it's a reputable school.  Point is, no one has heard of Thomas Edison State College either, which can be a good thing.
Nov. 5, 2010, 6:02 p.m.
+3 votes/
I have to wonder whether some of the negative reviews about TESC are either fake or motivated by something other than real experience.  I have been at TESC for two years, and though I won't say the school is perfect, I have been getting an excellent education there.  Most in my family attended Ivy League schools and I wondered whether I would find TESC 'good enough.'  It's far better than I hoped.  I do have to agree with some posters-- this is a school for motivated learners.  That said, ALL schooling require motivation to learn.  It should.  Any person who complains that TESC doesn't offer what they need might want to ask him or herself whether he or she has what it takes to succeed at all.
Nuff said?
Nov. 1, 2010, 3:34 a.m.
-1 vote/
Some of the advisors have no idea what they are talking about. Each advisor gave me different answer when I asked them about the graduation requirements. Also, evaluators messed up and evaluated my transcript wrong, but eventually was caught and fixed. So, I am not sure, I hope I just finish my BA and say "good-bye."
July 17, 2010, 11:32 a.m.
+1 vote/
In my second semester of TESC, I have a good idea of the workings of this college. TESC is NOT right for you if:

You dislike writing essays (Usually 1 per week, per class)
You want an even blend of professor interaction and competence
You like having the weekends or holidays off.
You want a "college experience".

It's perfect if:

You like hard, consistent homework (300/400 level classes are loaded)
You'll do 15 weeks worth of work in 12.
You can write and research your butt off.
You are willing to put up with a poor registrar and evaluation process.

If you can write papers well, you're halfway to a good grade. Essays and final papers are between 50-75% of your final grade. Some professors are 'easy', and a steady flow of good work will suffice for a solid B+ or A-. A couple "sticklers" will be on the discussion board constantly, prodding you and asking questions that you would be wise to research and answer. They will also grade a little harder than most on the papers.

I found that my intake of material was somewhat overwhelming, especially 400 level classes, and studying 4 classes simultaneously is really rough. My writing ability kept me afloat, and good studying habits make a difference when there is so much material. Evaluations take 4-8 weeks, and usually come back with errors that you must call, email, call and email again and correct. 

 If you want to graduate in less than 3 years and for a really good price and will sacrifice your evenings, weekends and holidays for it, TESC can help make that happen.
July 9, 2010, 4:39 p.m.
0 votes/
Actually, I had leerburger for a Homeland class. I thought she was terrific. She was in class often, answered all the postings, and added ideas of her own. I also had her for a Chinese history class and loved her there, too.
July 6, 2010, 10:37 p.m.
0 votes/
Jimmy,

Thanks for the laughs, if you actually did the work rather than cheat then you may have learned something.
June 19, 2010, 3:49 a.m.
-1 vote/
Bob, you must be talking about Marian Leerburger!  I had her too.  Seemed like she didn't read the papers at all! But she would tell me that I mispelled a word or didn't have proper sentence structure....This class was about Homeland Security and I could have turned in papers on how to go shopping at the grocery store and she would not have even noticed...lol
June 18, 2010, 3:45 p.m.
0 votes/
I completed my BSHS (Emergency and Disaster Services) in December 2009, but it was not without its share of problems.

To begin with, after sending my application and other paperwork to their offices, I heard no reply -- for several months.  When I contacted them, they HAD received it but somehow forgotten to send me my "academic evaluation" showing what units were credited, etc.  Then, they told me that they only allows six months for me to register; after that, I would have to apply again.  NO WAY!  Their error now puts a one-month deadline on ME?  They finally saw it my way and granted me another six months if I needed it.  This was just the beginning.

Basically, do not depend on the administrative help.  You will have to stay on top of EVERYTHING you do...and everything they should be doing, too.

On another occasion, I pulled my current academic evaluation to see how I was doing.  I noticed that some credits were switched around since the last time I saw it.  This resulted in three units of History being lost somewhere.  What bugged me, too, was that I was never notified that the evaluation was changed.  I raised hell and they fixed it.  What if I hadn't noticed and thought I had finished my requirements?  See what I mean?  Check your records -- constantly!

The professors that I had were okay.  One, however, a woman who works with emergency and disaster services students, was obsessed with the construction of my sentences and how my written work was organized.  When I did a bit of Googling on her name, I found that she teaches and coaches on how to write theses and other papers.  Aha!  Then, I went back to review all comments received by her.  NOT ONE comment had to do with the content of my work; it was all about the grammar and paragraph structure.  There was no evidence she knew anything about homeland security or emergency management.

Other professors were much better, notably Stephen C. Prier, a very knowledgable professional and one with whom I would welcome further collaboration.

So, bottom line: Keep on top of the admin people!  They need some help doing their job for some reason.
June 1, 2010, 3:39 p.m.
+2 votes/
Mary, you are absolutely correct.  I feel very sorry for Mr. Jimmy. He managed to cheat his way through completing a college education.  The value of an education is predicated on the student following the school's policy and guidelines.  He has illustrated lack of good ethics.  Because Mr. Jimmy decided to commit a serious infraction (plagiarizing), which would have been punishable at any college or university if he was caught. I have attended colleges such as Maryland University, Saint Leo University, to name a couple, and found some of their courses extremely simple, but then again, I was a motivated student.  In those situations I still learned a lot unlike Mr. Jimmy who stated he did not learn anything about his major.  You will not hear me bashing these colleges because I respect all forms of higher-learning.  

I strongly disagree with Mr. Jimmy and his condescending remarks about an institution he went on to earn a degree.  The man (Mr. Jimmy) in the mirror would be the real joke, because TESC has proven it is a reputable college.  Mr. Jimmy is merely a small ungrateful grain of sand on a beach of grateful students who value the education they acquired, not only from a fine institution such as TESC, but from any other accreditated college/university.  Everyone can not afford to go to college or have the opportunity.   I feel very sad for Mr. Jimmy and wish an investigation could be conducted against him about his cheating ways. This shows a lot about his character... which can be described as a moral joke.
May 28, 2010, 4:30 a.m.
0 votes/
Jimmy- if the school was such a joke why did you continue? If you weren't learning anything about the major why didn't you go to a 'more challanging' school. It appears that you have no problem bragging about the fact that you cheated (plagerized)on papers which makes me really sad for you. You should be ashamed. 
Mary
May 26, 2010, 12:56 p.m.
-5 votes/
TESC is a joke.  I completed my BS in Homeland Security and didn't learn anything about Homeland Security.  The classes are not challenging enough.  You can turn in Plagerized papers and the instructors could care less.  Reviews on the work completed is usually a simple one line that says "nice job"...

This college is a regionally accredited degree mill
April 14, 2010, 7:37 p.m.
+1 vote/
I have attended TESC since 2006 and finished with a BSBA in Management IN 2009. Took about 3 years and I went part time. For all of you that don't know already TESC is an accredited college and well respected on the East Coast especially the tri state area. I was in the military the first two years of the program and they were very flexible with extending couses when I was deployed and taking the Tuition Assistance offered by the Army which is the GI BILL.  The work load is tough usually 6 online discussions, 8 written assignments, a midterm, and a final give or take in 12 weeks is a lot of work to handle,  I recommend taking 3 courses at a time if they are difficult and more if they are easy, you have to use strategy. Registering for courses is very easy to do, the college does lack the personel on campus to effectively help you with certain issues, you usually have to wait a week to discuss your program options with a TESC counselor. Also they are slow with mentor issues, grade appeals, and graduation processing. I have had many great professors every semester, but you have to watch out because there are quite a few horrible teachers as well, check with rate my professor, if you see a professor has 100 negative comments get the hint.  I have had enough bad teachers that if they send your work back in the first week or give you a 40 on thr first assignment, withdrawl from the course and re registor with a new mentor and resubmit the same assignment and get a 100.  I do agree from a post above that they have entry level people working there with little education or backround and they are essentially like the receptionist to the college, it takes time to speak with the professionals you need to, you have to weed your way through the people that anwser the phone because they don't care they are working 9-4 and thats it, get names and save documentation there are instances that the people that work there don't do there job.
April 13, 2010, 2:54 a.m.
+1 vote/
I am currently enrolled at TESC and I am excited since I will be done w/ my degree in 1 year verses 2. I have attend the traditional community college and university. I have attend two online schools (Strayer University and Troy University) I love online and at each of the two above schools, you have a weekly discussion board (which is used to replace the class discussion that you get a a traditional school) and you had to respond to two classes mates (not just say you agree or disagree, but actually post a response or rebuttal) This was in addition to what ever you weekly assignment, quiz or test was. So the work at TESC is the same as any ordinary online college (please do your research) Any accrediated online college is going to require you to work hard at it, but so is anything that you want in life. I've had my share of issues at Strayer and Troy and decided to go to Thomas Edison so I can complete my degree sooner rather that later, since I had well over 70+ credits. I recommend Thomas Edison to anyone. Just do your research, online is not for everyone and I don't know one single university that is perfect. They all have rude staff, overworked and underpaid, misplace things (we are all human) and even some teachers are burnt off.  You may not have a complaint about that university or college, but someone else will. So people do your research, if it not for you, then it's not for you, if it is then push through it. God Bless!
March 21, 2010, 2:06 a.m.
+1 vote/
I graduated in 2009 with a BSN (Bachelor of Science in Nursing) I have been a nurse for 30 years, this program is no joke! I worked very hard every night. yes, there are alot of papers and reading but that is the point for us self directed learners, isnt it? I am now 1/2 way through my MSN in Nursing Education; this program is very difficult. My mentors are amazing women who have a passion for teaching. They teach or have taught in brick and morter classrooms all over the country. I am learning every day. An unintended consequence of hours of homework each night? Tendinitis of my elbow!
I would not hesitate to refer my nurse peers to this program especially since we recently received accreditation for the MSN program. 
Mary McDermott, RN, BSN, CCM
March 1, 2010, 12:09 p.m.
+1 vote/
I am proud of the degree I earned from TESC. I held on to the belief that I would graduate as long as I didn't give up. I, like many students attending this school, transferred in credit form other schools. This wasn't a cop-out or a short cut. The credits I earned were difficult and challenging classes earned from accredited institutions. They all held value and taught me something. My degree from TESC is MORE valuable because it is a collaboration of 20 years of effort; refusing to give up on myself. I appreciate the recognition to individual achievement TESC offers for non traditional students.
Feb. 2, 2010, 5:22 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi all, I live in Trenton, I am in high school, and I am going to be taking courses there in the summer. For those who are saying TESC is a degree mill, or think it's not a "real school," you can always come here and visit the place.  Walk into one of the buildings and yell "degree mill."  Doubt any of you would, because you're not sitting safely behind your computer screen.  Why are you spreading lies?  Oh and PLAs can be done at TONS of schools,,,and 90 credits can be transferred to TONS of schools, TESC just accepts more...what is the big beef here?
Jan. 30, 2010, 9:01 p.m.
+1 vote/
I mean, here we have morons committing acts of plagiarism at a school to go online and write a review about how it can be done. 

Here’s what you do then whiners, submit your full names and student ID numbers here. So that the ‘Paper Mill’ can follow up! See how big a Paper Mill the school is when your degree, certificate and or classes is/are recalled and revoked. 

Some people are utterly amazing, amazingly stupid in their discourse. I hope that anyone that see this realizes that there are people who attempt to cause harm, and that is their Modus operandi, to engage in debunking or discrediting activities, when it is themselves that make fools of themselves – as they would claim to commit acts of prohibited writing activities just to come here and try to play the school down that they did the acts at. 

One should wonder, right off the bat, at what type of deck of cards are such clowns dealing with, and what are their particular motivations.
Jan. 30, 2010, 8:59 p.m.
+1 vote/
I sincerely hope that no one looks at any of the negative reviews here as reason to not go to a fully accredited university or college, either via the Internet or the brick and mortar classroom setting. Thomas Edison State College has been fully accredited by the Middle States Commission of Higher Education for decades. In fact, the famous New York Institute of Technology was first awarded accreditation from the very same higher education commission in 1969, Thomas Edison State College was first accreditation awarded in 1977. There is a very rigorous compass that a fully accredited institution must fulfill and continue to fulfill in order to, one become accredited and, two stay accredited. A word to the wise, there are negative reviews by ‘whiners’ about any and every university and college in the United States. There will be those that cry about how classes at Yale University didn’t meet the whiners’ particular standards or their own benchmarks. There are those that cry that Harvard University has been letting in too many minorities into certain programs over the majority race. There are ‘whiners’ that say MIT doesn’t providing enough ‘online’ learning for an institute that promotes technology, this is part of the reason MIT decided to create: (weblink ommitted) which is free courses offered by MIT online for no credit just to shut up critics. There will be reviewers, negative reviewers about any and every school you can think of. Whiners are just that, whiners, their dispositions and words are their own, please do not process their beliefs as the norm regarding Thomas Edison State College or any fully accredited school. Those that complain about essays most likely struggle with English Composition or have other issues and problems that they should address for themselves. 

For those that commit acts of plagiarism to somehow point out that it can be done at Thomas Edison State College, well they are obviously engaging in acts of institutional sabotage, and it is them that do not have any creditability to boot. They are the ones that should be ‘reviewed’ based on their personal integrity matrix, not the school.
Jan. 22, 2010, 3:50 p.m.
+1 vote/
I have been with TESC since August 2008. My biggest deciding factors to attend: Regionally Accredited, accepted all my credits form various brick & morter colleges spanning 20 years, accepted financial aid, reasonably affordable since we are military.

Have I enjoyed my experience:  YES.  
I hated traditional college due to irritating liberals shoving their politics down my throat while trying to learn. Traditional college professors didn't give a hoot if you had problems getting an assignment in on time or not. TESC's mentors usually work very well with students with allowing extensions in assignments due IF you are responsible enough to contact the mentor.

Is the course work hard:  YES....it IS COLLEGE, not elementary school. 
If it wasn't demanding, I would be questioning the validity of their accreditation.

Student services reliable, etc:  for the most part YES.
Just like with everything else in life, you have to take the initiative and ask questions, demand answers. TESC has a wonderful online Help/trouble desk system, that has worked for me, if it doesn't, I pick the phone up and find someone that can help.  COMMON SENSE people!

Are there a lot of essays:  Depends on the class!
In statistics, NO. In english, management and business policy, YES. How else are the mentors/teachers going to know if you comprehend the material studied?  

Grading:  An A average is doable...IF you apply yourself. Give it half ass work, you get the grade to reflect it!

Biggest thing to remember:  THIS IS COLLEGE, they expect you to be responsible, mature and motivated. They are not going to hand you a degree without showing you comprehend the material. No one ever said college was easy. College is supposed to "enlighten" and challenge you, not be a cake walk. 

May 2010 I will complete my BSBA in Accounting from TESC.
Jan. 8, 2010, 1:44 a.m.
+1 vote/
I enrolled in TESC and this school worked with me all before and during my surprise deployment. My teachers were just as flexible and helped/supported me the entire time as long as i kept in touch weekly. I got a surprise tranfer from kuwait to afghanistan during my deployment too..I was able to extend my classes and turn in my assignments a few weeks late. This school is flexible but sometimes you will have to fight with the little people and find a way to the top yourself (to the more understanding folks). I agree that the assignments are a serious workload.. but i thought thats what separates the determined students from the undetermined? Make it worth it- and enroll to this school. This is NOT an easy way out, if thats what you are looking for. As for myself, I believe in hardwork and mental stimulation. So TESC is the right school for me.
Nov. 28, 2009, 5:27 a.m.
0 votes/
There are a few problems with TESC. The first problem is the amount of work that is required of you. Each online class requires you to post on a message board every week to have group discussions. This is on top of the 60 or so pages you need to read. These things aren't too difficult until you take into account that almost every class requires you to write WEEKLY essays. Sometimes these essays have two separate questions with four parts per question. In other words...1a, 1b, 1c, 1d, 2a, 2b, 2c, 2d. Each part requires 500 words. So you are essentially writing between 2000-4000 word essays once a week for every class you have. Try take 4 or 5 classes and having to read 250 pages, write 20,000 words in 5 essays and participate in online discussions every single week of class.

The classes are set up to make you do essays and not learn anything in the process. How can a person possibly study anything if they are trying to cram in 5 different essays every single week of classes? 

Another problem is with the teachers. Don't try to call them or email them for assistance. They take FOREVER to respond. I'd say 75% of the mentors are MIA. 

I went from a straight A student at Rutgers to getting a B- average at Thomas Edison. Give me a break....
Sept. 22, 2009, 1:31 a.m.
+2 votes/
(Continued) damn 3000 character limit!!

Those who are interested, just know there is always going to be a stigma associated with the college as “degree mill” because it is quote unquote easier to get a degree versus traditional schools. I can tell you from personal experience that every time someone says where is your degree from I feel I need to give them the whole story because it isn’t  Penn State (which needs no explanation). 

I sent in all my credits which took about 2.5 years after my first contact with TE, and I paid the $1,600 plus graduation fee to get my degree. 

I joined the military because my parents couldn’t afford college and neither could I, nor did I want to walk away with a 120K student loan, from a school like La Salle in Philly. So, while I was in the military I took full advantage of tuition assistance and TE helped me finish my degree. 

For all the negative people get a freckin’ life and go to your fancy “expensive” school and let the people who don’t have money or the resources -get their education anyway they can. For all you 40 and up congrats and it’s never to late to finish school!!!!!!

P.S I DON’T WORK FOR TE, I’m an Air Force Vet who lives in south eastern PA and I’m a bad ass triathlete –so suck it negative folks!
Sept. 22, 2009, 1:29 a.m.
+1 vote/
I was Active Duty Air Force for several years: prior to entering the military I had an AA from a local community college. I maxed out 80 credits from that community college (which was brick and mortar institution). The last 40 credits: I took upper level classes from 8 colleges and universities all over the country depending on where I was stationed. I got credit from LSU, UNC at Chapel Hill, College of Sante Fe, Wayland Baptist just to mention a few. 

I also received various credit for military education and my private pilots license. I didn’t take any take Clep or Dantes exams, though you can. I can say it took me a while to finish my degree which was a BA in Political Science because life in the military was always demanding. I just simple couldn’t get a degree at a brick and mortar school because if I started on a schools curriculum I would usually be moved to another base within 2 years. So think about this, say I worked for 2 years to build off my AA at an accredited state school like Valdosta State University, in Valdosta Georgia (where I was stationed). Quite feasibly I could have ended up just a few credits shy of a degree from that school but if I moved early or got deployed and couldn’t take the final credits, that previous 2 years of work would have been for nothing, because my next assignment and new school most likely wouldn’t take all those previous classes. 

So, I had to take credits where I could, and dumped them into TE. 

I will say, that when I say I have a degree, its sucks that I cant say “its from LSU or UNC”, I have to say “well I took the non-traditional approach and went to 8 colleges and universities all over the country to finish my degree.”

While  I don’t believe TE is a degree mill, their approach is definitely “NON-TRADTIOANAL.” But on the flip side consider this: Most schools don’t accept the credit that TE does, because they’re in it TO MAKE MONEY!!! The more classes they decline to accept as transfers means more money for them. TE operates on a different plan which works for them. 

Additionally, I don’t think a degree mill could have the same accreditation as Princeton, Penn State, or Villanova (just to list a few WELL KNOWN SCHOOLS). Also, the government shuts down degree mills which usually operate overseas, A degree mill def wouldn’t have a couple buildings in Trenton New Jersey as TE does. Lastly, how many degree mills do you know that hold regular graduations in public places i.e., Patriots Theater at War Memorial which is a state owned building!!

So, for those who think TE is a degree mill, why are they listed on the “Middle States Commission of Higher Learning” as accredited???? Check it out msche.org
Sept. 19, 2009, 4:15 a.m.
0 votes/
Can someone tell me more about the tuition plans they offer.  If I were to receive financial aid, would I still need to pay what they call either the comprehensive tuition plan or the enrolled options plan.  Little confused on that.  Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Sept. 11, 2009, 3:48 p.m.
0 votes/
Nice job mongoose65.......on an additional note, I dont need a classroom desk, a lecture and a chalkboard to learn the same material presented by in-room colleges.  College campuses are starting to become what the pencil is to microsoft Word.  We just dont need babysitters at 45.
Aug. 22, 2009, 1:08 a.m.
+1 vote/
You can cheat anywhere.  It's your loss and it can come back to bite you later.  There are Senators with diploma mill degrees.  Sooner or late they are found out.  A regionally accredited school is not a diploma mill.  Even if it is non-traditional, they still have rigid criteria to follow and are audited by their accrediting bodies.  TESC (and Excelsior) did not hand me a single credit I didn't earn either by testing (which required study or proven mastery of the material) or certification.  In ten years, programs like these will be the norm.  There will be a revolt. When a $50,000 degree does not guarantee someone a job, it stands to reason they will demand less expensive ways to acquire the degree.  I have 25 years of business experience and had to spend 10 months taking exam after exam (including core courses that are not pertinent to my profession).  I felt these were a waste of time, EXACTLY like I felt at my old brick and mortar school!!  A diploma mill would have cost me $500 bucks, a short essay and I would have an UNaccredited piece of crap.  From TESC I paid $3000 (plus exam fees), studied my ass off, took nerveracking exams and received a regionally ACCREDITED bachelors degree.  I appreciate the opportunity.  I hope jerkoffs like "TESC=Diploma Mill"'s moronic posts don't stigmatize a good thing for us 40 and over students with jobs and lives who need a degree to keep up with our resumes.
Aug. 5, 2009, 3:11 a.m.
0 votes/
Wow! I am surprised by the two cut and paste people.  I would think that if you are paying for it yourself that you would at least want to learn something from it.  Why cheat yourself?
May 4, 2009, 2:41 a.m.
0 votes/
Sonia,You need to educate more about big 3, Its Legitimate degree ,respected and accepted by all other major schools
March 20, 2009, 6:14 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi- I have degree in psychology and want to get my masters degree online.  My problem is that I am in process of getting my student loans out of default and will have to wait until the fall to get my transcripts.  I need to take at least one or two masters courses between now and then to satisfy my employer.  Does anyone know if this school will let me take several courses before I actually matriculate?
Feb. 11, 2009, 6:22 a.m.
0 votes/
The PLA are for undergraduates. Hence, you are correct.
Jan. 20, 2009, 8:48 p.m.
0 votes/
Sonia, thank you for your response.  As far as the comments relative to PLA, isn't that strictly for people pursuing an undergraduate degree.  Even so, I can't imagine it being nearly as easy as stated.
Jan. 18, 2009, 5:30 a.m.
0 votes/
The cut and paste worked for me.  I did that for 18 credit hours.  They don't run PLA through the plagairism checker as that is reviewed by non-faculty.
Jan. 15, 2009, 9:28 a.m.
+1 vote/
Hello Trevor:

I am currently seeking the Masters degree in HRM and it is well respected. I work as a education center and I am very familiar with many institutions and their programs.Thus, I can honestly say that TESC is a great institution for a self-directed adult. This institution is "Regionally Accredited" and the classes are very challenging. 
As far as some comments about being a diploma mill. That is false. PlA course are only available to students who have a knowledge in the field and have to be approved. Really the cut and paste will not work!
Jan. 8, 2009, 5:06 p.m.
0 votes/
Is a graduate degree from TESC respected?  Someone with a graduate degree please answer.
Jan. 1, 2009, 6:29 a.m.
-1 vote/
Thomas Edison is nothing but a Life Experience diploma mill.  You can find PLA for just about anything you have done.  All you have to do to get it is go on wiki, cut/paste the article and viola, you have credit!  You can transfer in almost your entire degree.  I feel so sorry for all you saps that fell for this scam but as the saying goes... buyer beware.
Dec. 30, 2008, 3:14 p.m.
+1 vote/
I am going to finish my degree from TESC in a matter of weeks. I had a two year degree in horticulture and this was the only college that offered a BA completly online. I agree with a previous post...they are great at giving you options for previously earned knowledge. I was worried in the beginning that the degree wouldn't be taken seriously but after going through it - I can say without a doubt the program was very rewarding. Everyone around me sees how hard I have had to work and the commitment needed. No one doubts that this is "real" college. I will stress that some of the courses were more difficult then I had ever encountered before. I did hire tutors for things like pre-calc and chemistry. I guess bottom line is that I am extremly happy that TESC was an option for me. I feel that I recieved a great education that fit well into my schedule.
Dec. 29, 2008, 8:30 p.m.
0 votes/
Questions:

For those current or former students, how is the Master of Science in Management program?

How long are the online courses?

For graduates of the Master of Management program, how well has the degree been regarded?

What financial aid is available?
Dec. 26, 2008, 8:01 p.m.
+1 vote/
I graduated from Thomas Edison State College with a Bachelors of Science in Human Services Degree June of 2008 and continued on with TESC in a Masters of Science in Management degree program.

Thomas Edison State College is a regionally accredited academic institution that is geared to "self-directed, independent learners". If you need a professor to offer intensive 1:1 training in the subject matter, this is not the college for you. However, if you can follow a course syllabus, with some (limited) direction from a professor/mentor and you are a good problem solver, TESC can be a great option.  

When I read one post on this board, I was concerned that the post while probably accurate did not tell the whole story. When someone says that they completed their degree in 110 days, sure that is possible, but in fairness what did that student "bring to the academi8c table"? Because of Thomas Edison State College's liberal credit acceptance policies (of accepting credits from other regionally accredited colleges and universities), if I entered the college with 99 credits, it is possible to complete another 21 credits in 4 months. However, the student must be very intelligent, well organized and motivated. 

Thomas Edison State College offers a variety of course delivery methods: guided study, online, TECEP (college developed exams which cover standard course material), E Pack Courses (no professor, online independent self-directed study), and prior learning assessment (PLA) courses (these PLA courses, must demonstrate that the student has the requisite knowledge of key theories and can apply those theories ina a demonstrated manner).

So if a student were to take three (3) credit courses in a semester, the student might also be able to take a couple TECEP exams, if his or her personal schedule allows it (full time jobs, family obligations and other time commitments can affect the progress). However, for a person who does not have all the time commitments mentioned above, he or she could certainly meet all the course/credit requirements for graduation in a more expeditious manner and timeframe.

What Thomas Edison State College is not is a Diploma Mill. What it is is a good college with some excellent options for a student who has been in the workforce or militray and who has amassed some college credits. TESC is a great degree completion college/university and very financially competitive. 



Brian
Dec. 6, 2008, 12:47 a.m.
+1 vote/
I am considering starting college for the 1st time! Being a mother of an 11yr old, it's very easy to stay motivated! The economy is terrible! This has me worried that the field that I am in now-maynot be so secure afterall. I thought of the Unviversity of Phoenix, then DeVry. Living in NJ, I have no extra money to allocate to outside colleges. I strongly want to embark on  a career in broadcast communications. I do have a passion for writing, so that energy would be moreorless comedy, t.v. or movie scripts!
I only hope for the best on 2009!
Dec. 4, 2008, 7:29 p.m.
+1 vote/
TESC had a great program. I spoke to an academic advisor and had a course map planned out. I was amazed at the credits from traditional college they accepted. I didn't think that many would transfer over. I have habitually entered a program and when the financial aid money runs out, I am forced to drop out. Spend X number of years paying off the loans and then going back to start again. When I first spoke to TESC, I chose them as a NJ resident because I was promised financial aid would more than cover the costs and I could easily complete my degree without facing the same financial roadblock. At the 11th hour, they added "fees" and changed the story that they would not allow the use of Federal loans to pay for books. They also forgot to mention that you have to pay proctoring fees to your local community college for testing. They also said I should start with one class to get in the flow, and then start the second class the beginning of the next month to break down the out of pocket costs for books and wait for the some of the tuition reimbursement to roll in to cover the next courses unexpected out of pocket costs. When it came time to register for class, I was could not register because they refused the financial aid disbursement. The story changed that to use any financial aid, I had to use traditional semesters Fall/Spring and their solution to reduce costs on books was to take "electives" that didn't require books such as basket weaving theory 101. If you can pay cash, it is an excellent low cost program you can get through in record time. If you are relying on any type of Federal Aid, expect a lot of different and inconsistent rules for your program. Ultimately, I was told the BA Degree did not accept any Federal Stafford disbursements at all. Currently picked up a part time job to pay for Clep tests when independently drive my local librarian nuts with taking out books for independent study. :) When I finish the CLEP's and get enough saved up, I am planning to just roll over into another school - more than likely FIT or AMU. FIT is very expensive but they allow financial aid to pay for books and out of pocket is about half the out of pocket expense of TESC. AMU also allows financial aid to pay for technology fees/books and runs maybe 10% more in tuition than TESC. A second possibility.
Oct. 8, 2008, 1:01 p.m.
+1 vote/
TESC processed my application very quickly, and i'm pleased that i can enroll so i'm happy with that experience so far. let's see what happens with actual classes.
Oct. 6, 2008, 5:09 a.m.
+1 vote/
TESC has been the right approach for my education needs.  I had 90 University credits that mostly transferred in, plus a ton a credits from military.  All I had to do was complete the basic residency requirements, which included a couple core courses and a couple electives.  The courses were not easy, but the grades were.  Some of the work I submitted that I anticipated would be a C with university-brick-and-mortar standards almost always got an A.  But why complain about that?  If it were not for TESC it would not have been possible for me to complete my degree that I started almost a decade ago.  Going to school is not as easy as it was right out of high school, and TESC makes accommodations for that.
Sept. 15, 2008, 3:58 a.m.
+1 vote/
I just graduated with a BA in Natural sciences / Mathematics in June of 2008 at TESC, I can tell you that after attending and earning over 100"s credits from others colleges (including a AS), TESC evaluated and received 105 of the required credits for my BA, my time spent at TESC was short but rewarding. Their exams as in many others RA colleges have to be proctored, I can tell that in many ways the exams are well structured and challenging, the questions on the exams are not just multiple choices, but also essay questions (they really test your knowledge of the courses taken) I also got a mentor for each course taken, the mentors were able to support me with some questions I had regarding the coutses, and were in charge to grade the exams. Well to not make it long, I can tell that I have been approved for an alternative teaching credential program, I will teaching middle school science probably by spring of 2009.
July 15, 2008, 7:01 p.m.
+1 vote/
I graduated from TESC in June 2006 with a Master of Science in Management, Leadership concentration.  My experience with TESC was mainly good, but I'd have to agree with a few other reviewers in that there are good, and bad mentors.  I'd also offer that that's probably true in ANY school, any program, be it an online school or a "brick and mortar" campus.  I've attended a total of 11 universities and colleges thanks to Mother Army moving me every 1.5 years, and have found consistently that all schools have the good with the bad, and all courses are as challenging as YOU make them.  If you skate by and do the bare minimum, you may score an A, but have nothing to be proud of.  Given the online forums within e-classrooms, I've found that the students who get in there and engage other students, bring up interesting points, etc., are the same who enjoy their experiences, say great things about the school and program, and basically get something for their tuition money.  While comparing online with traditional programs, just keep in mind that you can go to the BEST traditional campus and have a horrific experience - if that's what you choose to do.  It's all about your attitude.  TESC has two thumbs up from this alumnus.
June 4, 2008, 4:19 p.m.
0 votes/
in regards from 4Ever Learning what did you major that you recieved your degree in 2 years did you have accredits before or from start to finish only took you 2 years?
May 12, 2008, 4:41 p.m.
+1 vote/
TESC seems to be the most flexible school for adult education when it comes to accepting credit for military and commercial training. I was very surprised when I found out they would transfer in more than 50% of the B.S. credit requirements based on training. Their degree programs seem to be well accepted my corporations, since some HR departments recommend TESC to their employees and provide tuition assistance.
May 11, 2008, 10:43 p.m.
+1 vote/
I am graduating from TESC in June.  I completed my BA in two years taking mostly proctored TECEP tests and two online courses.  The TECEP's required some serious studying to pass and the online classes were challenging.  

I have been accepted to Seton Hall University for a graduate degree and have already started.  They knew of TESC and had no problem admitting me into a competitive program.

I highly recommend TESC for adult learners that need the flexibility it offers and are prepared to independently study for their degree.
April 16, 2008, 1:36 a.m.
+1 vote/
Decided to go back to school after 15 years.  I transfered 70 credits from a college I went to 15 yeras ago.  I was able to finish my BA in 3 semesters.  I took a lot of CLEP tests and DANTES tests which are a great way to get your basic classes out of the way.  This school is great for those of us who have to work or have a family and want to finish a degree or start a new one.  You can  submit proof of life experience for a class and get credit for it, which is wonderful.  I'm happy I went.
Someone posted it was the same as a diploma mill, but it's not.  You have to work for it.  All the tests I took I studies A LOT for.  All the classes had a lot of homework and a proctored final, which means someone (as in a teacher or a testing center) has to watch you t ake the test so you cannot cheat.
At any rate I was able to get into a popular nj campus based university for my master's and they did not  mention anything about TESC so being an online college did not pose a problem.
April 14, 2008, 4:03 p.m.
-1 vote/
Stay away from this school. 

This seemed like a good idea at first. Take online classes to finish a degree. 

I signed up for an online class here. I received federal financial aid. The school took $2100 for an "Annual Tuition Fee" and then charged an additional fee of $870 for the class. The entire financial aid award was eaten up by their so called "fees" and little applied to any real learning or credits. Every time I called to enroll in another class, I was told that I had no financial aid and that I would need to reapply. 

I now owe Sallie Mae about $3,000 on a loan from this place and all I have to show for my $3k is the completion of one, yes ONE lously online class! 

Stay away. No colllege should be allowed to charge those kind of fees.
March 31, 2008, 6:17 a.m.
+1 vote/
I believe in TESC is an excellent college.  While in the US Coast guard I wanted to complete a degree from this college, but I never did. After the military I attended Pacific Lutheran university one of the best colleges in WA State. However, I'm going to complete a BA in Political Science from TESC.  I'm really ecited about their transfer policy for completing this degree.
March 3, 2008, 6:06 p.m.
0 votes/
I am a working mother and am about 30 credits from finishing a degree in Religious studies.  My goal is to go on to graduate studies and accomplish an Mdiv. I would very much appreciate  sincere feedback and response from mature students who have or are studying in the religious studies program at TESC. I love the learning process and was at a great bricks and mortar school in Philadelphia but left in pursuit of a better balance  between work and family. And, ultimately, I really need to finish my B.A. so that I can move on to the next part of my goal. 

Thanks very much.
Jan. 5, 2008, 5:52 p.m.
+1 vote/
Our country needs more institutions like TESC.  The college makes earning an ACCREDITED college degree a real possibility to the many Americans who would otherwise be unable to do so without tremendous hardship.  TESC quickly reviewed and transfered credits for me from 4 separate universities, and made it possible for me at 46 years old to pick up where I left off many years ago.  TESC honors and respects the body of my education and acknowledges that it still counts for something worthwhile.  Now I am elibible for to enroll in a Masters program anywhere I want.
July 8, 2007, 4:52 p.m.
+1 vote/
I recently finished my BA in English with TESC. Overall, my experience has been a very positive one. The exams are challenging and you really have to know the subject matter before you take one. Many of the mentors cared about my progress, some just gave me a grade without comments, for which I had to ask for feedback. The single comprehensive fee covers everything for the year. I would recommend TESC to anyone looking to earn a degree online.
May 23, 2007, 5:01 p.m.
+1 vote/
Will be graduating from TESC in June and after attending 2 different traditional colleges, I can say that TESC really works with you to get your credits transferred on a timely basis. The work was challenging and the professors were readily available and answered emails within 24 hour turnaround. I completed most of my degree requirements while at Sea (I have since left the Navy), and found that I was able to complete my work after long shifts into the night and early morning hours. Highly recommend TESC as an accredited school and good choice for active duty military, businesspeople, stay at home parents, and any other adults with active, on the go lifestyles. Very flexible learning experience.
May 30, 2007, 8:50 p.m.
+1 vote/
I highly recomend TESC. I enrolled and got my BA in two years. But the best thing was that I was accepted into a very competitive Master's program at USC with this "online degree." The program's director actually said he finds an online degree more impressive, it shows hard work and determination, as well as discipline and desire to learn. Therefore, I am very happy I did not waste thousands of dollars at a brick and mortor school... I have thousands to pay off now with my Master's Degree, but that's another story... :)
Good luck to you all!!!
Feb. 23, 2007, 8:42 p.m.
+1 vote/
I've taking courses from several different colleges, starting with a 2 yr degree, SUNY-College of Engineering, NC State, Queens College, UNC-C, etc.  Each time I transfered, it was a fight to transfer credits.   

Finally said, screw it and sent all to Thomas A. Edison State for evaluation ($8/per credit hr, cheap back then!).  They took most of the credits and gave me a list of courses to take at any accredited college, finished with BSAST in computer science and technology.   Much has changed since then...
Feb. 6, 2007, 9:54 p.m.
+2 votes/
I have been a student for three years now (post AA Degree from local CC) and am very happy with my experience at TESC.  I find their classes challenging and rewarding.  Additionally, I am attending LSU Independent Study to transfer upper-level courses to Thomas Edison State College and the experience at LSU is very similar to my home institution (TESC).  I give Thomas Edison a thumbs up and will be applying for graduation in the summer.  We will see how well the final few months go and I will post again after the degree experience is finalized.
Feb. 6, 2007, 1:52 a.m.
-1 vote/
So far TESC has been terrible. I have 128 credits from other schools and applied at TESC in August of 06. They had all of my transcripts in late August and told me that I would have the evaluation in a few weeks. In October I called to ask what the hold up was. They said good news, they no longer required the $400 to review your credits. I told them that would be great had they not cashed my $2,800 dollar check a month before. It is now February 07 and I still have no credit review. I have demanded that they place in writing that my 1 year starts ticking when I receive my credit review. I am then transferred and put on hold for a while then an answering maching takes over. I have left several messages and no one has ever called back. I am now demanding my money back.
Oct. 26, 2006, 10:04 p.m.
+1 vote/
I Did my first 90 credits via traditional colleges, but the constraints of those schools were going to make the final 30 or so credits very slowly earned.   

I looked into a few alternatives, and settled on Thomas Edison State College because it's part of the NJ state college system.   The fact that it was created by the NJ state gov. gave it some serious credibility in my mind.

As a NJ resident I was able to pay reasonable tuition fees (although the yearly comprehensive charge wasn't fun).   Since I was able to do the work when I wanted to (middle of the night usually) I was able to take classes all through the year and earned my last 33 credits 2 years.   Would have been quicker if I didn't drop Statistics twice.

I recommend the school, but I also recommend looking into other schools.   There is a stigma attached to distance education, and many traditional schools offer online options now, so read up!
June 19, 2007, 12:53 p.m.
0 votes/
I transferred in the maximum, 80 credits, from traditional colleges.  My experience at TESC has ranged from horrible to wonderful, all dependent upon the mentor and/or college representative dealt with.  I believe the requirements for the courses, particularly history, are challenging.  However, I feel the mentor's often (not always) put very little effort into giving a fair assessment of work submitted.  IOW, it was an easy ride on many assignments.. so I often felt cheated on the review.  I'd rather get a fair B than an easy A... but what is done, is done, and I have my BA now so it is time to move on to my MA elsewhere.
Sept. 12, 2006, 5:41 a.m.
-4 votes/
I got a BA in Humanities in 110 days!  Almost as good as a degree mill except more expensive.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Thomas Edison State College in any way.