Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Troy University-Main Campus

3.6
18 Reviews
5 6 
4 7 
3 1 
2 3 
1 1 
0 0 

Troy University-Main Campus Reviews:

Financial Aid and Advisors- not for the faint of heart.

eCampus-Bachelor of Science - March 10, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am not sure what their function is. Nothing ever gets done unless you bug the crap out of them. Seriously, submitted for financial aid in Nov. Everything they asked for was completed by the middle of Dec. Here it is 2 weeks before class (March) and I have heard nothing from financial aid. I never had to call financial aid at the other colleges I have been to. NOW they tell me, uhm, I do not know what is happening, we have everything, it is just sitting there since Jan 8th. I call back 3 days later, same answer after they assured me it was going to be escalated. Now I am not going to be able to get my award before classes start and I will not have my funds to buy books!!! GRRR This is the second term I will miss because of financial aid not doing their job(there is more to the story where they have failed, it is long). And transferring my credits from another school, JOKE. I think monkeys are in that department. Instead of listing my classes that transferred as the class it is, they just put TROY-ELECTIVE and a date. They gave me credit twice for 2 classes and ones that were blatant transfers were not (i.e Foundations of Speech for Intro to Speech). I submitted paperwork to have this all fixed. They told me it would take 2 weeks, well it has now been 3! I finally got the 2 of the 4 I had submitted approved (they tell me the other 2 are in progress still) and my program evaluation does not reflect even though I have papers saying it was approved. And the advisers.... I do not know what they do, I know what they are supposed to do - ADVISE me on what path of classes to take. NOPE! They do not seem to care unless you ask them for the name of their supervisor. They forget to turn your papers in, they forget to update you when there is a status you are waiting on; I have proof! Really, I am not one to cause ruckus, but getting anything done on the administrative side is like an act of congress. I will spare you all of the details, just be prepared to stay on top of them if you need anything done. I mean STAY ON THEM. I just want to go to class :-(

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

troy dothan

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - February 22, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Is anyone else having trouble getting the correct amount of financial aid refund? Everything was great until recently. The problems seems to be in the billing department not financial aid. I have had to fight to get my full refund and charges to my account keep changing. I finally get the full refund then later I get a bill for $755. The charges are dated from the previous term which I would not have been able to enroll if I had a balance. Therefore, I have to pay the balance in order to enroll in my next classes. I only have 5 classes to finish therefore it would really be a hassle to transfer. I really believe that someone is stealing money and is trying to cover it up. Jennifer

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Great School

eCampus-Bachelor of Science - July 23, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm an older adult, and a junior at Troy, taking classes through eTroy. Before enrolling at Troy in 2011, I looked at numerous schools, both traditional and online, before deciding that Troy was the right choice for me. While I have read both positive and negative reviews on this sight regarding Troy, I have to say that my experiences have been positive. As with any institution, there will be some policies and procedures that students will disagree with....this is a given. In one sense, it is the same as having a job. Your employer has policies that you must follow, even if you do not completely agree with them. It is the same with Troy University, or any college or university for that matter. Troy is a regionally accredited state institution, with a proven track record, and the value of the education for the money is unbeatable. If you are looking at taking classes through eTroy, I will say this....YOU have to be self driven. As the university tells you upfront, these are not correspondence. There are deadlines for course work, exams and such. Since you are not sitting in a classroom listening to the instructor lecture, you need to have the drive to read the assigned materials, both textbook and lectures, and complete your assignments. Online learning is not for everyone. While I've 99.9% of my Troy instructors to be extremely helpful, they are not there to hold your hand. You as the student have to take responsibility for completing the work that is assigned. Instructors will work with you, but you have to communicate! Waiting until the last week of class to tell the instructor that you haven't understood anything the whole term is not going to cut it. If I have anything to say about eTroy that I don't particularly care for, it is that 98% of the textbooks come as custom editions, meaning that contain only select chapters that are used in the courses. Since this is the case, you are generally forced to buy all of your textbooks new, as these custom additions are not available for buyback from the bookstore. You can sometimes find them used on various websites, but you run the risk of them being outdated, unless you've confirmed the edition and ISBN numbers match. Overall, I find that Troy provides a great education for the money. I would recommend this school to anyone that wishes to return and finish a degree they began years ago (such as myself), or students looking at schools to attend when they graduate from high school. Others may not agree with me, and that is fine. We are all entitled to our opinions.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Program

Master of Science in International Relations - May 30, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Troy University has an excellent International Relations degree, focused on writing and research, which is essential in this field. I have been in the national security realm for over a decade, in and out of uniform, and I found the professors extremely knowledgeable and proficient. I learned an enormous amount, built both research and writing skills, and have advanced my career. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Disrespectful towards military and veterans

Troy State University Main Campus - October 17, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was given completely conflicting information when I was enrolling at Troy from Ft. Bragg. After I had already bought books and paid admission/transcript fees, Troy switched up all of their information and jacked the prices of their classes. I was holding the new student packet IN MY HAND when I called the campus to get clarification. The woman I talked to was immediately condescending and disrespectful, additionally, she refused to work with me only stating that I was wrong. To make a long story short, this set off a relationship with Troy where every time I needed help dealing with conflicting statements within their own admissions section I would get ignored or talked down to. In addition to the bait-and-switch they pulled regarding their tuition costs for military, I was forced to deal with employees who made it seem as if it was a great honor and privilege to be allowed to speak with admissions. I was always on the defensive rather than on a level of mutual respect. This school may have been a military favorite a few years ago but now they are leaches on service members just like so many other institutions. DO NOT GO HERE IF YOU ARE ACTIVE OR A VET. Please do not give them your GI bill money

Was this review helpful?

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

My only Complaint

Master of Science in International Relations - May 21, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am pleased with the e-learning and the university. My only complaint is having to wait 6 month to have my degree awarded. I finished in April but the next graduation is Oct. This provides a hardship as I can't move forward in my career without the diploma. I do not need to walk just need that piece of paper!!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Knowledge is truely POWER.

Applied Computer Science - April 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a junior at Troy University (Montgomery Campus).For those who are complaining about Troy’s policies and their staff, I challenge you to find a better education for the money. Troy is a fine, affordable institution. Troy does have iron clad policies when it comes to things like financial aid, graduation requirements, and/or dropping and adding classes. If anyone did not receive money or financial aid for classes they wanted to take after a dropped semester, it was definitely because the class was dropped outside of the one week grace period and that financial aid had been used to cover the remaining period. For example: Student A drops classes 1, 2, and 3 during the first week of classes in Fall 2011 Term A. Student B drops the same classes 1, 2, and 3 during the 5th week of classes in the same term. BOTH STUDENTS HAVE FOLLOWED THE GUIDELINES FOR DROPPING CLASSES, HOWEVER, ONLY STUDENT A IS ENTITLED TO A FULL STUDENT LOAN REFUND AND ELGIBLE TO ATTEND CLASS THE NEXT SEMISTER. THIS IS DUE TO FEDERAL FINANCIAL AID GUIDLINES, NOT TROY GUIDLINES. CHECK THE MASTER PROMISARY AGREEMENT SECTION AT FAFSA.GOV. The reason student 2 is only entitled to a partial refund and not eligible for classes the next term is because financial aid was used to pay for the first 5 weeks of class, thus using the entitlement. Think of it like trying to take back something after you have used half of it. This is the same concept. Even if the item was purchased back, you would still be charged for the portion used. Overall, if a student is willing to take responsibility for him or herself and is willing to do the work required, Troy University is the place to go in Alabama. I too have been to another more expensive University, and have received the same quality education elsewhere however, when I separated from that University, I had spent the same amount on one semester that I would have spent in One year at Troy University. “I am sorry to think that you do not get a man's most effective criticism until you provoke him. Severe truth is expressed with some bitterness.” Henry David Thoreau quotes (American Essayist, Poet and Philosopher, 1817-1862)

Was this review helpful?

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Not academically challenging but okay - Atlanta Campus

Master of Science in Human Resource Management - March 1, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall I enjoyed my experience with the school but I found that most of the instructors were just collecting a check. Only a couple of professors actually taught class, while most used the class as an opportunity to run their mouths about their own stuff. Very little instruction time. Just a lot of busy work. The program should have much more case study method involved and they should look at what more challenging schools have to offer. That would make the school more on par with other schools. I thought the program was pretty easy and they are very convenient. I thought the school would be harder, but it was too easy. People who had nothing to do with HR were able to easily get straight A's.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Weak academic, awful staff

Master of Science in Management - June 8, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I got both bacholer and master degree in Troy main campus. I love the school deeply. However, my personal feeling toward University means nothing to those staff here. They are not really service student. I have been literally humiliated by those staff here in Troy. I don't know whether Troy has really "Academic". Because all the class is just about the textbook. I learned almost everything all by myself except few courses. When I finish the school, I believe my college time is really just abou self-study. A lot of my friend transfer to different school after one or two years. Most them consider the time they spend in Troy actually means nothing to their future career. My sister went to University of Iowa. When she graduated, she only took one month to find a decent job. When I finish my MBA in Troy with almost 4.0 GPA, MOST OF COMPANIES DENIED my application because I only have Troy degree. Folks, you can spend one or two year here to improve you GPA and enjoy your first two years college life. BUT YOU NEED TO GET OUT OF IT AFTER THAT!!!!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Great Place to Get an Online Degree

Political Science - October 10, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The Troy eCampus is a great way to get your degree from a legitimate respected institution online. The classes are challenging, the teachers are real, published academics, and you'll have a degree that means something. I have experience at B&M tier 2 state institution, online for-profit, and Troy eCampus. Troy compares favorably with my experience at a B&M state school. The for-profit I attended was a regionally accredited school but was nowhere near the same league as Troy. What you won't find at Troy is the hand holding and hard sell techniques you'll find at for profit schools. Its really, really sad that so many other reviewers are turned off by this. I feel I am in the majority of college students who couldn't care less about the quality of the support staff or advisors. These are not services I will need more than a handful of times in my college career. If someone is going to be a college graduate they should be capable of setting up a proctored exam and reading degree requirements and financial aid forms. Whats important is to me is that I am getting a quality education from legitimate professors. This is not what I have found in other online programs. If you are someone who feels entitled to being babysat through your college career you should probably look at University of Phoenix or American Public University. If you want a legitimate degree that people aren't going to snicker at, try Troy.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful

wonderful

MBA - April 20, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My time at Troy has been with their e-campus which doesn't have a review spot. I am a soldier who is within two classes of completing my degree and after 50 hours at Troy I feel that my degree will be at a par with any University on the planet. The teachers have been extremely helpful for someone who is constantly on the move, like our modern soldiers. The value of the institution is in my mind immesurable.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Working fine for me

Master of Science in International Relations - February 21, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been with ecampus since May 09 in three different states (AZ, NC and GA) and I have not had trouble worth complaining about. The instructors are sound and provide a great deal of help, if needed. The course materials have been wonderful but not quite sure it is graduate material (most likely the material would be the same used in an undergraduate class). Advisors aren't forthcoming, therefore, it would behoove you to call, call, call, email, email, email until you get an answer. Very affordable and the VA certification has worked (make sure to email or call). Essentially, this school is what you make it. Do not wait for them to contact you, take your education in your own hands and you'll be just fine.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Was it just a coincidence?

MBA - May 9, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Their student interface was always down. For classes like Biology that had an online science lab, there was little -no support for technical support or teacher guidance. One professor gave me an F on my proctored final.He said he did not recieve it. It was proctored by TROY staff. I also had no one call me back on so many occasssions it's unbelievable. Me and several others were talking in the gym about finishing school and we all started at Troy and finished somewhere else. I thought my many many awful experiences were unique to me but they were not. Then an ex-teacher told me that it was an easy job. You don;t have to do anything but print the papers and grade them and she had the student discuss back and forth. That was always obvious in my classes. I could go on and on but there are so many other choices why pick TROY? The ecampus program in GA, particularly in ATL sucks. We all decided to post comments to warn people. My stress was compiled because my husband was deployed and since we are military wives we think it must be an attitude towards us. I really don't know.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Troy University provides quality education

Troy State University Main Campus - November 17, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended Troy University via the Augusta site in Augusta, GA and majored in Business Administration. I found Troy University to be very educational and revived my hunger for education. Prior to Troy, I had attended college for nine years and had attended four different institutions. Different colleges have different reputations, but regardless of which school one attends, two plus two will always equal four has been my experience. I don't really know of the reputation the university has in Georgia, but I recently visited the main campus in Troy, AL and learned that the college is adored in Alabama! The main campus has quite a great college atmosphere to it, and there are so many proud alums. The mayor of Montgomery, AL, which is the capital city of the state, happens to be a proud alumnus of Troy University. Overall, my educational experience was a very good one; however, I must admit that I'm not exactly sure how my degree will be received by potential employers here in Georgia because most of them have never heard of TROY or think that the small satellite campus here is all there is to the university. Yet, it has gotten me into a very regionally respected graduate school. Regardless, I hold a certain amount of patriotism for my alma mater.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Good teachers, horrible institution

Master of Science in International Relations - June 17, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended Troy at a branch on the west coast; Ft. Lewis, WA, to be exact. What a miserable experience that was! The Army paid my tuition through tuition assistance. So I was not liable for the tuition. However, due to trying to plan my wedding, which was to take place 3000 miles away, I had to drop out during one semester. Since I dropped out, I had to re-pay the Army for the tuition. Before I got the Army re-paid, Troy started sending bills to me claiming that I owed them tuition. This was clearly a mistake since the Army had paid them up front. So I called and tried to square it away over the phone. I was treated terribly by the staff at Troy. After a few more weeks of getting notices from them, I went to the education center to talk to them face to face. No help at all. But I was told it would be taken care of. About two weeks later, I got another bill from them. Around this time, I was getting out of the Army. After a final check of my finances, the Department of the Army decided that I owed nothing to Troy State. So I was discharged. After several months of living in my new house, 3000 miles away, I started getting bills from Troy State, demanding the full tuition (around $1500). I called the main campus and tried to get it cleared up. I was treated like a criminal! Needless to say, I stopped holding my tounge when she called me a deadbeat. I gave her a piece of my mind. So I contacted the education center at Ft. Lewis. I spoke with a counseler who looked up my records and said that I had re-paid the Army and I owed nothing. I asked him to fax this to me, which he did. I then sent that to Troy State. I didn't hear from them for a long time. I moved to another state. Somehow, Troy State found me again! And again, they started sending letters demanding $1500 for tuition. On a random check of my credit report, I noticed TSU had reported me as delinquent.I called the main campus and spoke with several people, who treated me very poorly once I gave them my name and a chance to look up my file. I again, sent the paper work to them, proving that I didn't owe them anything. About a month later, I got a bil from them for $88. I was told that it was an application fee that I never paid. I remember when I submitted my application, I asked if there was an application fee. The lady said that there was no fee for active duty military. But now, three years later, they decide that since they couldn't stick me for the tuition, they would try to at least get something from me. Finally, I realized that as long as I didn't pay it, these people would continue to make my credit rating take the hit. So reluctantly, I sent a check even though I didn't owe anything. Avoid this place at all cost.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Great school!

Master of Science in Management - December 19, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Troy's distance learning program is as good as it gets. Extremely challenging and a very intense work load. Be prepared to take proctored exams, develop well written papers, and dialogue in conversation. Very reputable school! USNews best graduate school in 2006!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

MSM Program

Master of Science in Management - October 3, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I found the program both challenging and valuable. The diversity of instructors from different locations across the country provided a very intriguing learning environment. I took two of the twelve courses in the classroom and believe I gained just as much, if not more, when taking courses online. I would strongly recommend this program to anyone interested in online learning.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

A Challenging Program

Master of Science in International Relations - May 1, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Beginning the program in 2004 and finishing in 2006, I worked feverishly to "make the grade" while in this program. The admission requirements, although perhaps not the most tenuous imaginable, do exclude some based on undergraduate GPA and GRE scores. Professors teaching in the program all have terminal degrees in the appropriate fields (political science and history) and are both knowledgeable and accessible. The coursework is rigorous and the time constraints (ten week terms) force students to do much in a fairly short period of time. One class per term is manageable but taking two per term is quite difficult. I was pleased with the manner in which my master's degree was perceived in the doctoral admissions process. It was my initial thought that the degree would be viewed in a negative manner by some due to the delivery. However, I was unconditionally accepted to doctoral programs at both Indiana University and Indiana State University upon application.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Troy University-Main Campus in any way.