Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

University of West Alabama

3.8
9 Reviews
5 2 
4 5 
3 1 
2 1 
1 0 
0 0 

University of West Alabama Reviews:

Master better than Ed.S.

M.Ed in School Counseling - August 3, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my Master's in School Counseling in a year and a half. Then, a year later, I decided to go back for the new Education Specialist in School Counseling. I wish I had not. During this time, I found out that the school had been put on probation for accreditation (they did not lose their regional accreditation). I have grown discontent and now that I'm one class away from finishing I would not go to that school if given other choices. The pacing of the program is too fast. Eight weeks for a class. The quality of most teachers is subpar. They want students to read 2-3 chapters per week. Some classes use two textbooks. I even had one class where we had to read 6 books and write essays on each one. Some teachers just assign "busy work" that does not make sense. Then for each class you take a midterm and a final exam using a Remote Proctor that records the session. Many of the questions are essay questions and in most classes you are not supposed to use the book or notes. How can a person, especially someone who works full time, have children, and many obligations, learn by heart a whole book of new materials? I do have to say that I have had two wonderful instructors out of the ten that have been my teachers throughout my Ed.S. journey.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Good School but Confusing Degree Title

Master of Science in Continuing Education - February 18, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have almost completed my MSCE degree at UWA. As with everyone else, the MSCE is somewhere confusing and not initially received well with people who I present it to. While I am uninformed regarding SACS requirements for degree titles, it seems that specific degree titles would not only benefit students greater, but also benefit the school for marketing purposes. Rather than an MSCE degree, UWA would definitely see positive growth and feedback by offering degrees such as MS in Psychology, MS in College Student Development, MS in Library Media, etc. While the comprehensive exam is a necessity for a reputable program, UWA's specific comprehensive exam requirements are much more stringent and vague in comparison to many of its contemporaries. Overall, I have enjoyed my online classes and instructors. The format and use of technology is worthy to be praised!

Was this review helpful?

Useful in the right circumstances

Masters of Science in Continuing Education in Counseling/Psychology - December 14, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have 4 more classes to go in my MSCE, and I've got a 4.0. I've completed all but one course toward an M.Ed. with another university (42 hours) and have a 3.6 at that school... so it's within a reasonable range. The courses I've taken thus far at UWA have been about what I expect from distance education. Really, you get out what you put in. I'm able to tailor my program in light of my previous training so that I can qualify for licensure just about anywhere I'd like to practice. The individual who indicates that the degree is useless is really off of his/her mark. While it's absolutely true that the MS in Continuing Education is not a particularly well-known degree, graduation from a CACREP school is NOT required for licensure in most states. That being said, certain requirements (CACREP curricular equivalence) are typically still mandated within a frame of usually 48-60 graduate semester hours. With the proper wording and an adequate explanation, there's absolutely no reason to think that this degree is any less useful than any other graduate degree. If that's not enough... I'll leave you with this tidbit.... When I was a nurse, we were told that it doesn't matter where you graduated, what your GPA was, or what your score on the boards were... what matters are the letters you're allowed to put after your name. When all is said and done, I'll have the same letters and, at least comparable training, to any other beginning professional in the counseling field... and, I really couldn't reasonably ask for much more.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

UWA MSCE Counseling/Psychology review

Masters of Science in Continuing Education in Counseling/Psychology - July 18, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just finished my M.S.C.E. in Counseling/Psychology. The program was right for me. Cons for UWA include lack of name recognition, MSCE is a strange set of initials, and not CACREP accredited. Pros for me. It is a graduate degree in the field I need. This program is fairly inexpensive because you only need 11 classes. I had some very good professors. I was in control of interaction. For a few classes I did only what was required and found interaction with the professor and other students limited. In other classes I actively participated, posting more than required on the discussion, and emailing questions to students and the professors. I found this option provided me with a great deal of interaction. If you take the right courses this program can meet the educational requirements for the Georgia LPC. Finally, even though the person I interviewed with did not know UWA, and asked what MSCE stands for, an explanation of the program and its regional accreditation must have been sufficient because I was offered the position.

Was this review helpful?

You get what you pay for......

Masters of Science in Continuing Education in Counseling/Psychology - August 14, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Never received the degree after completion..... Disaster waiting to happen....Employers do not undersrtand the MSCE and the program is not CACREP accredited. So basically you are with a bachelor's degree because the degree does not exist...The only plus in the degree is that it can be applied to hours for licensure after completing a CACREP accrediated program which takes another two years so no bang for your buck.....Be careful....

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

My only concern is the name of the degree

Masters of Science in Continuing Education in Counseling/Psychology - July 2, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled in the MSCE in Counseling/Psychology. Although, I find the program exceptional I am concerned with the unusual name it has. The denomination Masters of Continuing Education has raised a few questions from prospective employers.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Beware of instructors

M.Ed in School Counseling - June 19, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Please beware of the instructors. I am currently a student in the counseling program. Some of the teacher's i've worked with are horrible. They barely respond to you on your work. The class is not interactive. They give you 4-5 chapters to read each week. Some teachers have the attitude like I have it and if you don't well sorry for you! I've had an instructor try to give me a complete 0 in a class even though I turned in ALL assignments! Remote Proctor is another issue. I've experienced some teachers who will not let you turn in assignments due to the proctor even though I called tech support for help and forwarded all the emails to the teacher explaining the situation. As if I can fix the proctor myself! BEWARE OF THE INSTRUCTORS!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Great

M.Ed in School Counseling - October 27, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my master degree online in a year and half. The staff was great, supportive and always available for student assistance. I loved the fact the program was really thought out and required the taking and passing of a comprehensive examination at the completion of the program to test your knowledge base.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Great School for School Counseling Degree

M.Ed in School Counseling - February 10, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received my Masters Degree totally on-line. This was my first completion of an on-line degree. It was convenient. There were no live chats required, which I love. There was use of a discussion board, but it was done on your own time. I totally enjoyed the entire experience. I had to work for my degree and sometimes it got tough, especially in Statistics and Research, but I learned a lot. There is a practicum and an intern required at the end of the program. Which is good because it allows a chance for hands on learning and not all on-line.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with University of West Alabama in any way.