American InterContinental University

American InterContinental University maintains three campuses in the U.S., a campus in London, and an extensive distance learning program. Blended programs are available to students on campuses in Atlanta, Houston, Los Angeles, or London. Subject areas include: business administration; criminal justice; education; healthcare management; information technology; marketing; and visual communication.

Accreditation: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools
For-Profit: Yes
Country: USA

Learn More about American InterContinental University

Programs:

Read all 47 reviews...

Write a American InterContinental University Review

Reivew Averages: 6.9 out of 10 (47 reviews)


Learn More about American InterContinental University


American InterContinental University Reviews:

24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
AIU Teachers, Resources and Admissions Advisors
May 27, 2012
Let me keep it real for you here. First of all the financial aid office is open 7 days a week. You are assigned a lead fin. aid advisor that has a team of people available to help you. Your stipends are not issued for 10-12 weeks, usually after the quarter, which is in your best interest. Why? Because if you fail the class you will need that money to pay to retake it and ... [Read more]

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
It is not a diploma mill
September 22, 2011
I am currently in this college. It is a great place for the parent who isnt able to attend a traditional college. Those who say its not hard or who state that it is not a good place to go and they dont learn anyting are just being pompous jerks. frankly if you didnt learn anything its your own fault for not trying. Furthermore, if you thought it was easy your sorley mistaken. It is ... [Read more]

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
This school is for forward thinkers and take-charge personalities
August 21, 2012
AIU gives you the opportunity to get your hands on to a college degree with a lot of flexibility. In order to do well, you've got to read twice as much materials in one week than you usually would have to in a regular University. If you are in it to barely pass, this is NOT the University for you. The information is practical and applicable to the real world. If you don't put all ... [Read more]

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
GREAT SCHOOL
August 28, 2012
I attended AIU for my Bachelor in Business Administration and it was great. The courses were very challenging but I made it. As for financial Aid, I had no problem, infact they helped me when I ran into some difficulties. The professors I had were good and bad as you find in any other college. I really think AIU is better than the university I am going to right now for my Master's in many ... [Read more]

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
Offer materials and support to meet different learning styles but it's not cheap
August 2, 2012
My experience at AIU – Online has been great up to this point. In my opinion the Pros and Cons are as follows: Pros: The staff is very supportive and knowledgeable. As in most schools, some of the teachers are more engaged then others. However, all of the teachers up to this point have been available when necessary. They offer tons of content on their library which is extremely helpful when doing assignments. The support ... [Read more]

11 of 19 people found the following review helpful
Just in it for the money
February 14, 2012
I have attended AIU for four years now and have always had difficulties with the financial aid department. Financial aid claims to have an “Additional Funding Team” that projects how much and when you will receive any excess financial aid in the form of a stipend. This alleged “team” does not speak with students, so trying to contact someone directly is fruitless. The financial aid department directs any and all responsibility for additional funding to ... [Read more]

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
Amazing
February 10, 2010
AIU is an extremely UNTRADITIONAL school. This is what makes it immensely valuable in our world today - especially in the IT field. Schools adhering to antiquated techniques and approaches are slow to produce trend changing business/technology integrators. To establish my credibility I will say that I have attended a hand ful of institutions – in each instance I had a purpose of obtaining some knowledge base in my curriculum. I did not seek degrees ... [Read more]

Read all 47 American InterContinental University reviews...



Learn More about American InterContinental University



Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Old Comments

Oct. 15, 2010, 9:04 p.m.
+1 vote/
This school is so expensive I almost fell on the floor when they told me the tuition. I can't even say it here because you would think I was joking. They are NUTS, Needless to say I did not go there. Plus their accreditation was revoked a few years ago, they got it back but that still looks bad.
Jan. 8, 2013, 5:54 a.m.
-1 vote/
I went to American interContinental university (AIU) and drop the class after a few months because I was used to the traditional college, and what a mistake, I went back to AIU to finish my associates degree and not only that but I completed the Bachelors degree and what an amazing experience it has been after;I include these accomplishments on my resume with pride. I am able to pick and choose what job I want.  so far I am working as a Financial Advisor through XAX Advisors. Thanks to AIU and the staff.  I recommend and plan on getting my masters in a few months, its how I got to this comment section.  Go for it guys and stop procrastinating by listening to the negative comments!  That's what I did
Jan. 8, 2013, 5:54 a.m.
-1 vote/
I went to American interContinental university (AIU) and drop the class after a few months because I was used to the traditional college, and what a mistake, I went back to AIU to finish my associates degree and not only that but I completed the Bachelors degree and what an amazing experience it has been after;I include these accomplishments on my resume with pride. I am able to pick and choose what job I want.  so far I am working as a Financial Advisor through XAX Advisors. Thanks to AIU and the staff.  I recommend and plan on getting my masters in a few months, its how I got to this comment section.  Go for it guys and stop procrastinating by listening to the negative comments!  That's what I did
Jan. 8, 2013, 5:54 a.m.
-1 vote/
I went to American interContinental university (AIU) and drop the class after a few months because I was used to the traditional college, and what a mistake, I went back to AIU to finish my associates degree and not only that but I completed the Bachelors degree and what an amazing experience it has been after;I include these accomplishments on my resume with pride. I am able to pick and choose what job I want.  so far I am working as a Financial Advisor through XAX Advisors. Thanks to AIU and the staff.  I recommend and plan on getting my masters in a few months, its how I got to this comment section.  Go for it guys and stop procrastinating by listening to the negative comments!  That's what I did
Oct. 13, 2012, 7:08 p.m.
0 votes/
I am a graduate of this school with a bachelors degree in business. If you're a parent or the student looking for college, this school is going to cost you at LEAST $50,000 this is without interest. So your monthly payments are going to be at least $500.They do have some great teacher, but there are alot of teacher that are irresponsible, and there just to make money. The counselor there are FOR the school and themselves. They had convinced me and my sister to take  school loans(PRIVATE school loan). That we are presently not able to make any payments towards. With all the interest my school loan has reach to $80,0000. I may have to claim for bankupty because of this. There are other cheaper schools besides this one. If could turn back time, I would not go this school and go to a community college and stay away from private loan(they have a balloon effect) moderate payments will eventually lead into much higher payments. Say no to this school. 
Sept. 20, 2012, 6:08 a.m.
+2 votes/
I got my BBA in accounting and finance from AIU Online and had no problem scheduling my CPA exam with California state board. They accepted my transcript. Also I had no problems applying for accounying jobs wiring BBA in accounting from AIU on my resume. School is accredited!! :-) 
Sept. 14, 2012, 6:23 a.m.
0 votes/
I would like to know if the university require as student to complete a rtesidency and a dissertation?  If the answer is no the university does not ask the student to complete a residency or present a dissertation.
July 20, 2012, 1:38 a.m.
0 votes/
I absolutely LOVE American InterContinental University! The entire staff is amazing! They are so caring and happy to assist you. This will be my first year in college, and I already love it. Plus, Financial Aid was super quick and super easy. Honestly, I don't care what anyone thinks. I LOVE THIS SCHOOL. And I am looking forward to a ground graduation with them! 
June 27, 2012, 10:14 p.m.
+1 vote/
I'm taking microeconomics at AIU right now. I call my professor on the phone once a week. That lady is awesome ! she answers my questions and gives me encouragement! her mastery of economic terms is amazing. I currently own a small security guard company and these classes are making me a better businessman. I'm coming right back to AIU for my masters.
May 30, 2012, 8:44 a.m.
0 votes/
So my fellow citizens, I have to thank you for curbing my appetite for knowledge and whetting it with remembrance of what it would mean. I guess I'll try to see if I can get the degree I'm after through a legitimate on-ground university that has online courses and will never distinguish between its online and on-ground, but know that they are one in the same, thereby making the degree obtained from it that much more respectable.

I know that the University of Florida, University of Wisconsin and a few other state universities are beginning to offer such courses, but if they have it in Art / Fine Arts yet, I don't know.  If not, I might have to scrap it all until I can move to a city where I can attend via on-ground because after the very sad situation with KU and the mistreatment at UOP (University of Phoenix - said they use teams, but when I did all the work of the team - was given a 'D' and 'team'mates who didn't do a lick of work were given 'A's because the teacher was trying to score with them as they were attending through work and she wanted a job with that company >:-\ it was wrong--luckily, at my request that was wiped from my record and I maintained my 4.0 GPA) 

But yes after all of that, I was still willing to try as I want the degree, but I think as I said to the Senator, that they need stricter watches over these online schools - they need tight tests to make sure students are getting the education. Heck my husband knew more than one of my IT Profs at both UOP and KU!!!?!!

I can only say that some people are treated better than others but I can say in all truth that at KU one of their personnel laughed at me and said, "You're a middle aged white lady, what kind of help did you THINK you'd get? No, you won't even get to apply for any scholarships." But, I know too, unfortunately that if this had been said to a non-white, it would've been national news, but because it was me, it was okay. I think they should not have any color/age discrimination for anything so that everyone can get stuff on the merit of their mind and personality alone. I was taught that America is the great melting pot and that it had fair practices and great education for all, but in reality, all I got was a robotic email apology and was never did allowed to apply for any scholarships. 

I know I sound schizophrenic here LOL but really, when one's mind is screaming for its undying craving for knowledge and learning, one wants to believe that there would be a school to fulfill that need, but then when slapped around, called a liar, taught nothing and charged thousands for it...the cynic rises from that treatment much like a phoenix from the ashes...

...and yet, despite everything the tiny angel of hope still whispers in the aspiring student in me, she's still there with her ears pricked, mind alert and heart full of the joy of learning hearing that angel whispering...maybe...
May 30, 2012, 8:43 a.m.
0 votes/
Thanks! You all have probably just saved me another major headache/heartache/wallet-ectomy. I guess AIU is the same as KU and UOP *sigh* 

I'd had to make an actual federal case out of my time at Kaplan University Online. I name it that because when I tried to negotiate with their on-ground version in Davenport, IA, that office told me they are not affiliated with the online version - weird because their TV ad to date still insists they are. 

Sen. Harkin (D-IA) is the current Head of the Senate H.E.L.P. Committee (Health, Education, Labor & Pensions) and he has my case there. Why? Because KU and other online schools are charging 3x or more per course than highly respectable on-ground universities. I know, I contacted UC-Berkeley and the same IT course KU had me in at $1,800 per was only $600 per from Berkeley, online!!! What the hey hey?!!

Also, I 'walked' into KU with a sterling 4.0 GPA and because  t  h  e  y   forgot to tell me about having to purchase a required program, I was leaped out of / into courses at the 1/2 mark which had a failing domino effect on my GPA. 

Then they had the nerve to kick me out even though by their own rules there were no grounds to do so (i.e. to be kicked out, according to their rules one would have to have had under a 2.0 GPA for 3 terms and I did not).

After all that they even tried to charge me for a class I never had, after I contacted the Senators from Iowa, Illinois, and Florida, the U.S. Dept. of Education, Iowa Dept. of Ed., Illinois Dept. of Ed, Florida Dept. of Ed. and KU itself they finally retracted that charge.

But here I sit with 180 college credits from 3 universities (1 on-ground and 2 online), no degree and a mountain of student loan debt that I know the U.S. Senate is looking into for me and many, many (probably millions) of other students across the U.S. in the same boat as me.
July 20, 2012, 1:39 a.m.
0 votes/
AIU is the best college. These people do not know what they are talking about. I love this college and everything they have to offer.

But everyone is also, entitled to their own opinion..
May 19, 2012, 6:58 p.m.
+1 vote/
anyone know about the BA in criminal justice-forensic sci. program? I am interested in this area but unsure about how they teach sci/lab courses online.
July 20, 2012, 1:40 a.m.
+1 vote/
I'm in the Criminal Justice (Forensic Science) program at AIU. It's off to a good start for me.
April 20, 2012, 11:39 a.m.
+1 vote/
I would like to state that AIU is a formible school for an MBA program.  Yes, financial aid can dig their heels in issuance of stipends at the end of the program, and yes, the guidance counsellers change from time to time, as I have had two in my accelerated MBA program.  They always get back to me.  I have had feedback from the teachers that is invaluable, and they respond quickly to questions.  Anyone that thinks that you can do this course without studying and reading the material and doing the assignments with HARD WORK is Kidding themselves.  I graduate with honors this May and I am proud of the association from the school.  Also the staff on the career guidance reviews your resume and tries ot help you find a job and how to market your skills.  This is why I attended this school.  Avoid this school, do not!  It is a solid school, expensive, but not just for profit people as you need to study at all schools you go too.  Do the work and you will do fine here.
April 2, 2012, 11 p.m.
0 votes/
WHEN I STARTED THIS WHOLE PROCESS THE LADY WAS SO NICE AND ASSURED ME THAT THEY HAVE MEDICAL TRANSCRIPTIONING, AND THAT I SHOULD GET AN ASSOC  IN BUSINESS TOO, WELL WHAT EVER SO I DID, AND WHEN I GOT TO THE LAST FEW CLASSES WHICH WERE THE MEDICAL PART THEY WERRE BILLING AND CODING, AND NOW I CANT PAY BACK A LOAN BECAUSE IM NOT DOING BILLING AND CODING AND THEY REALLY PRESSURED ME INTO SOMETHING I DIDNT WANT TO DO
March 13, 2012, 11:46 a.m.
0 votes/
to those commentator and anyone who dare to take a challenge, AIU is the one for you.  like others have said, this university is a challenge due to the material that we cover and the time that is given to finish.  they don't have time to play, so the student can't procrastinate either.  I have sat at traditional schools but without AIU it would of been hard to reach my goals this fast.  speed is everything with AIU and I am happy to have a univeristy that has supported me every step of the way.  thank you!
Feb. 22, 2012, 3:48 a.m.
0 votes/
HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE BEEN EXSPELLED IN 2012? 
Feb. 9, 2012, 1:14 a.m.
0 votes/
Currently I am attending Art Institute of Pittsburgh online for my Associates in Graphic Design.  I was thinking of going here American Inter Continental University online for my Bachelors in Graphics.

I noticed the prices aren't that much different.  They are both hi but I was wondering how the online classroom experience was in this field.

Any comments or feedback would be appreciated. 
March 25, 2012, 4:44 a.m.
+1 vote/
This school is easy. I have been attending and i do my assignments before wednesday so there is no issue of is it done on time. Look if you are an unorganized person and have no intention of getting on the internet to do some good, this school is not for you. any jackass can complain about going to school and not getting anywhere but technology has changed over the years and so have many attitudes.
Feb. 3, 2012, 7:15 p.m.
0 votes/
I had a lot of trouble there from some guy named Frank Cleary.  He is a scammer, so make sure you're really dealing with IAU people.  After my trouble with him (he barely speaks english), I looked up more on the school and got out while I could.  Nothing but trouble there, expensive trouble.
Jan. 29, 2012, 11:20 p.m.
0 votes/
LISTEN YALL, I WENT TO AIU BACK IN 2006 THEN CAME HOME IN 2007 BECAUSE THEY HAD ME COMPLETELY OUT OF THE SYSTEM. I AM FROM SOUTH CAROLINA AND FROM HERE TO GEORGIA, ITS LIKE 4TO 5 HOURS TOPS. EVERY WEEK, I HAD TO GO TO THE OFFICE TO SEE WHY MY NAME WASN'T ON THE ROLE AND MIND YOU ALL THE WORK I HAVE BEEN DOING WASN'T GETTING ACCOUNTED FOR BECAUSE I WAS NOT ON THE ROLE. IT WAS LIKE I WAS TRESPASSING!! BUT MY EXPERIENCE THERE WAS NOT GREAT AT ALL. I AM IN DEEP DEBT BECAUSE OF THIS SCHOOL. PLEASE DONT GO THERE ITS A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY AND IT WILL HURT YOU IN THE END. I DIDN'T GRADUATE BECAUSE THEY WERE SO UNORGANIZE! MAKIN ME MAD THINKIN BOUT IT!!!!
Dec. 14, 2011, 4:28 p.m.
+1 vote/
The dominant theme in the foyer is medievalism with a life-sized knight in shining armor guarding the large double doors, and an equally threatening armored warhorse peeking around the corner.
June 8, 2011, 11:07 p.m.
+3 votes/
OMG WOW none of my credits transfer from A.I.U.Really 30 grand in debt no job 2 years later after a college education. These people are so wrong they know that you cant find a job nor transfer. The truth is no one respects this school they take this education as a joke. Man this is crazy and so sad these schools get away with this. 
June 8, 2011, 10:57 p.m.
0 votes/
Please dont do it go to A.I.U truth and find out the real deal and please believe it is the TRUTH
April 12, 2011, 12:06 a.m.
0 votes/
This school is so freaking expensive I can't understand why anyone would go here. Was the salesman kidding? $3000 per class? WHAT?!?
July 20, 2012, 1:44 a.m.
+1 vote/
This is another...LIE. about AIU.
March 30, 2011, 6:07 p.m.
+1 vote/
I graduated from AIU in August 2009 with a M.Ed. degree in Instructional Iechnology.  I was accepted into the four doctoral programs I applied for.  I chose Regent University ove GW, ODU and Nova Southeast.  AIU adequately prepared me for my doctoral studies.  AIU offers an outstanding and relevant curriculum with practitioner based instructional staff.  The only negative is their financial aid and accounting departments which are among the worst I have encountered.  
March 26, 2011, 5:27 a.m.
+1 vote/
The cons I have for AIU so far as the ebooks. But, to my understanding these are only issued for the Associates and you receive actual books for the Bachelors.   Also, you will find some instructors who have boring live chats and just narrate a powerpoint presentation.  Also, for some of the classes such as Accounting instead of learning accounting and doing exercises which I did in a previous Accounting class I had in high school, you will just be writing papers about accounting concepts which teaches you nothing IMO, but then again this is an associate degree. I think the main thing people should get in their head is an Associates Degree is like a High school diploma.  It just demonstrates you grasp the basic concepts of whatever your major is.  It will not get you a Job.  Most people think any kind of college degree means they will get a great job which is not true. It depends on your field and what the employer is looking for.  Getting a rushed Associates isn't going to get you any better job, an associates is just for demonstrating you can move on to a Bachelors. 

I suggest to anyone to take as many of your general education classes at a local community college then moving on to an online college after that. It will be cheaper and easier when its comes to taking classes like College Algebra if you aren't good at learning in an online setting.
March 26, 2011, 5:25 a.m.
+1 vote/
I started my online degree experience last year around May. I first attended AIO (Art Institute Online), but after 2 classes I realized I would it was a rip off. It would have taken me until 2013 at the rate I was going to finish my Associates there and a total cost $89,000 that they don't disclose. My financial aid didn't even cover all my tuition and I was going part time. So I did my research and decided to give AIU's Web Design and Development BFA a try.  

First my admissions advisor was very nice and answered all my questions clearly.  The financial Aid process was easy and I actually got a "refund" after my first few classes.  I had no problem transferring over half of my credits from my previous Community College Associates program I didn't finish from back in 2006.   This lowered my tuition a lot of also made it to where I only had to take about 9 classes to finish my Associates with AIU.  I did a regular Associates of Business with no concentration.  I am currently in my very last class for my Associates and will continue to my BFA in Web Design and Development next month.  The process on continued enrollment was also easy and only took a few steps and I can already view the classes I will be taking for the next 9 months (all my associates classes transferred over and also credits from my previous college transferred over to my Bachelors)  So,  for my Bachelors I will only have about 10 classes to complete which is basically the "core" classes of that degree program.   

Like some have  said no matter whether its online or a  brick n mortar college a degree is what you make of it.  The associates program was mostly easy in my opinion and If you can write a good 3 to 4 page essay for projects and can cite sources correctly then you should have no problem keeping all A's.   Lucky for me I took all my core general education classes at my local college so those transferred over.  I couldn't imagine have to take a College Match class online.  But, classes like Business etc aren't hard to complete in an online setting since it consist of writing tons of papers. I don't really plan on doing anything with the associates degree since my main goal is a web design/development degree. But as with any college you have to take those boring "General Education" classes before you get to your core classes. 

I can't comment on the BFA program yet since I haven't started it, but I think in order to get a good education and learn from an online setting, you have to be willing to learn on your own and teach yourself.  I am not going into the BFA web design course as  complete newbie with no previous knowledge.  So I expect to build upon the knowledge I already have and learn things I don't know along with a degree and a decent portfolio.  

March 18, 2011, 2:11 a.m.
+1 vote/
I just signed up for AIU. I have had a good experience thus far w/ Financial Aid. There admissions department are extremely nice. However, I do understand they have to be to sell you their school. All are that way. With that being said, I've been told twice that I would get a returned phone call and I am the one who ended up having to call them back. I do feel that the school is cheaper than Kaplan University. My whole degree w/ AIU Bachelors in Business Administration Specializing in Business Management is less than $26,000. I went to school at Kaplan for less than one year and already owe that in student loans and still needed 4 years before I graduated. Not to mention Kaplan is money hungry and their Financial Aid sucks! 
Anyway, back to AIU....I hope that I have a better experience here than I did at Kaplan. After reading the reviews, I can't help but hope I didn't make another bad decision w/ this school. I don't like the reviews about the group projects and the faculty reviews kind of scare me! I can always leave if it's not my cup of tea. I just hate to go through all the crap of changing schools...We shall see! 
March 29, 2011, 8:14 p.m.
+2 votes/
DUDE, back out NOW man....Anyone that  goes to this school is looking to get screwed, trust me...I'm posting right now, GET OUT WHILE YOU CAN.  The degree is worthless, the curriculum is moronic...I swear man, this school wouldn't challenge a drunk 12 year old writing with crayon.
March 3, 2011, 6:58 p.m.
0 votes/
Can someone please write a comment about their experience with the Business Administration online
course? I just want to get some kind of feedback. 
With all the negatiave comments I'm not sure I want to sign up. What about financil aid, did anyone have a good experience....bad experience? Please comment, I'm doing research and it doesn't look good with some of these for-profit schools, it's like someone said, "Their like shark in water, and were're the fish". I'm contemplating on just signing up at my local college, but many don't have online studies. What about Drexel University? Can someone comment on their experiences with them? I checked out their classroom demm, and it's very high tech. I wrote a comment on FEB 25th, but you can't read it.
Hopefully this one will show up complete. Please comment, anyone! Thanks.

June 26, 2011, 7:49 p.m.
+1 vote/
MS. Unsure - 

I am about to complete my BA this August 2011 and as a working professional I can tell you with all certainty that this program is worth the time and effort. I can tell you also that each of the classes that I have taken I have actually been able to use and apply at work, or helped me to understand WHY things were going in a direction they were going. I was able to then chime in and give my OPINION with a certainty that I did not have before. Yes, some of the classes are easier than others, but don't let that fool you. I am also just under your age by about 8 years, so If I can do it, you can. Just make sure you understand how to get around a computer and choose a degree program that you work in now or have the chance to move into - that's the problem. People go to school/college/tech and try to learn a new career, but don't want to start off at the bottom or start over. Most companies today are not going to hire you if you don't have some type of experience. What I am personally seeing is that if you don't have an MBA, then you better start looking at a way to get there. One DB said that a AA is like a H.S. Diploma, that's basically true. The BA is accredited and will get you into management. The MBA is accredited as well and in fact they are moving to have an additional certification applied to make it more stellar and prestigious.  Several people have taken and used the MBA program to advance. You can not beat the time savings of not having to drive to a campus, work on school work from work on lunch and so on. Just do it.
Feb. 25, 2011, 10:29 p.m.
0 votes/
I'm a 50 year old single parent, I put my six children through school, three are still in school, 1 at a state university. I am considering taking online courses to get my Bachelor's in Business Administration and Human resources, but from reading all the negative comments and good, too! I'm so confused now as to which one is really the right one. I have considered Ashford, but too many bad comment's. The I looked at Rasmussen College and there's very few comments. Can anyone comment about Ashford's Business Management courses? Or can I get a comment on anyone who has taken these courses through an different college or university and post their experiences. I'm really interested to know if there is something better out there. I've been out of school for thirty-come years now, but I have been accepted at Ashford University, but not so sure now! I'm applying for finacial aid, and that's another subject in itself. Thanks for your comment if anyone can help me out. I'll be looking for it.
Feb. 4, 2011, 3:15 p.m.
0 votes/
im beginning classes at a community college starting next june and found out this morning that ALL MY CREDITS FROM AIU WILL NOT BE TRANSFERRED and that i basically wasted all my money and time there... GET OUT WHY U CAN.. it's not a school its a business FOR PROFIT ...Im lucky that i didnt rack up any more debt from them as it is
Jan. 25, 2011, 12:57 p.m.
0 votes/
Vanessa, although it really sucks to be in your position, you have nobody to blame and certainly not AIU.  No college guarantees that you will get a job once you get a degree so how can you actually blame AIU, let alone make remarks about suing them?  I mean, come on.  You are better off now than you were before.  Maybe not financially because you currently don't have a job, but as far as a future employer is concerned, you are better off with the degree than without.  This economy sucks and so does not having a job but it is not the responsibility of AIU to get you a job, that is your responsibility.  
Jan. 19, 2011, 4:47 p.m.
0 votes/
I attended AIU online under the understanding that my enrolling in the Business Administration coursework with a minor in criminal justice would actually help get me a job.  I graduated in December 2008 with my Associates in Business, minoring in Criminal Justice.  I HAVE YET TO FIND A JOB!!!  My student loans, now about $18,000 after all the deferments and interest have built up, are COMING DUE and I have no money to pay them! I look for jobs daily, evening reconsidering going back to my previous work as a legal assistant.  I cannot even get back into that field because most employers want at LEAST Bachelor's degrees or Paralegal certs.  Instead of wasting my time on-line for 2 years getting this useless degree, I could have obtained a Paralegal Certificate from my local community college and been back to work by now.  I wish I could sue the pants off of this school for making me waste my time and money! When I quit work to raise my 2 kids, I was bringing in nearly $50K a year. Now, I have NOTHING, a worthless degree, no job, and no way to pay back the student loans.  My husband works his butt off to support a family of four and I feel like the biggest loser/dumba** ever born.  The ONLY thing AIU taught me was how to research scams on the Internet!  DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!!!!!
Sept. 7, 2010, 4:35 p.m.
0 votes/
I am completing the Dual Masters (Operations, and Marketing) The truth is simply this: it is what you make it.  Dr. Cash, Dr. Scott (atlanta) and all the other teachers are nothing short of amazing.  The online classes..well some are hard, and others are easier.  Just like other schools.  The teachers teach at some of the more prestigious schools and we are getting quality education.  The price..well it is what it is!  I am on to pursue my Ph.D.  I am pleased because I got exactly what I put in....if the challenge is not present...create it for yourself.  Crack the book on your own...look up terms and definitions on your own.  The real world at the end of the day wants experience anyway...the degree means nothing...you have to prove yourself, remain teachable and keep it moving!

I promise you...I am not AIU staff. But one day i will submit an application to teach...this economy has shaken the educational system and schools like this will remain.  There is still a chance to touch someone's existence in a huge way...I am Happy.
Aug. 20, 2010, 3:15 p.m.
0 votes/
I would like to say that I went to a traditional university before I enrolled in AIU.  I know what traditional classes in the university setting are like, and I would agree with some that the college is a little unconventional,but I would have to disagree about what I mostly read  about the Professors and Instructors. I am about to finish my fourth and fifth class for an associates in Business Administration.  The Instructors  I had so far have been knowledgeable and helpful throughout the entire six months that I have been enrolled.  I am currently on the Dean's list like another commentator said he was on.  It is not as easy as the other person said it was to get a 4.0.  I spend literally 16 to 20 some odd hours to get where I am at on the Dean's list there.  Some of the classes are challenging and not easy in the slightest.  Like I said I spend over twenty hours a week preparing for the papers and discussion boards.  I guess what I am saying is that in fact this school is for real. I feel like I  am learning alot. The professors and instructors have been software makers and users for years that taught the Office class and he was extremely competent and helpful.  I had a class with an MBA and Lawyer for a legal class and the class was challenging and insightful.
Aug. 14, 2010, 6:40 a.m.
0 votes/
Obviously, this is just the South, so just imagine how many non-profit schools across the country offer online courses and/or programs.
June 23, 2010, 4:19 p.m.
+1 vote/
Ok, so I'm having to retake math again since I failed it before. And yes! this is a 5 week class. This is what happens when you take online classes. They are so fast that if you have a job and there is stess there, taking math add to the frustration. The instructors will not respond back to your emails with 24 hours like they said. As far as the books are concerned, why do we not get a math book? The solutions manuael doesn't help that much because it works with the odd pages?? I would not recommend AIU to anyone and I have voiced my opinion to them also. Good Luck! to anyone that will be or is still attending that school.
May 21, 2010, 9:38 p.m.
0 votes/
Here is a cold slap in the face of financial reality.
Let's assume that a bachelors program at AIU has a total tuition cost of $32,000 (not including textbooks) which we see on their online tuition schedule. Let's also assume that you get a loan at 6.5% interest (the average rate). You would then pay the following:

$363/month for 120 payments (10 years)
$11,600 in total interest
$43,600 total owed (not including textbook costs which could run $2,000-$3,000). 

Currently, we are at all time highs in student loan defaults. This is because they seem not to understand the real total costs. It can be worse than this. Some owe much more than $43,600. However, I would say that if you can go to a community college and then transfer to a public university you will be able to complete your education for a tiny fraction of this total. 

Think it over well before making a terrible mistake with your life.
May 13, 2010, 11:55 p.m.
0 votes/
This school seems WAY TOO EXPENSIVE for what it is. Thirty thousand for a Master's????? I have priced online graduate degree programs at much higher ranked universities for a fraction of the cost. Why go here???????
April 16, 2010, 12:06 a.m.
0 votes/
I see all these comments going back and forth, back and forth. Now I'm going to go opposite of what Tasha said and say the school is great. I really like AIU. Some classes are 6 credits, others are 4...complete a class in a month...I like all that. A lot of my friends all attend different online universities, so I've been able to see other online colleges in action. I've been attending AIU for 5 months now and I personally really like it. Haha, I think it's funny how students think that people who work for AIU come on here and try to convince people their college is the best even though it's not? Uhh... come on crazies. Anyways, moving on.. I know some people can't do it and talk bad about it, but let's be realistic, you know if you would've studied more you could've passed. If I end up failing a class I'm not going to blame the school.. that's ridiculous. Now it's time for someone to bash AIU Online...ready...go!
April 15, 2010, 1:44 a.m.
0 votes/
I think this school is NOT all of that because I remember when I had to take a trip to S.C (very important) I did my homework but I so rushed it that everything that I put on that paper was stuff I copyed and paste but I did site my sources its just I didnt do what the teacher really wanted me to and guess what? I recieved an A knowing darn well that i should have flunked it. I just felt like some teachers was in it just for the money. I recommend people to take Westwood College. I withdrew from that school because of some issues but that school is GREAT!! ALLL the teachers interact with you. In te discussions, they help you and they answer questions for you and I mean its just awesome. They truly care about you. They also have test and quizes which were a lil hard but you learn so much. I learned more in that school than I am now
Dec. 19, 2009, 12:40 a.m.
0 votes/
I went to AIU for a couple of their 5 week "programs" and then I researched with my local community college how much it would cost me there to get my Associates in accounting. The results were amazing, maybe 6k (before any grants, where at AIU its 21k, yeah it will take u 2 years but at least you have a set ground. If you want to get your bachelors or masters then attend and online university. As for taking the CPA that's hard when you have only attended the online universities, they require a certain number of "lecture hours". Something this school cant sign off on for you.I am attending the community college, where I will be taking all but 2 courses online. I am learning more in one day then I did in 5 weeks at AIU. To sum it up I agree with the older posts that they do just give away A's at AIU
Nov. 8, 2009, 4:05 p.m.
0 votes/
I am looking at enrolling at AIU.  I will probably start with the AA and go through the MBA in accounting.  I did the online chat thing with someone named Terry and they said that even though I complete an MBA degree with AIU I would have to take other courses at some other college to be eligible to take the CPA exam.  Does anyone know how many courses you would have to take on top of this expensive degree?
Oct. 21, 2009, 8:53 p.m.
0 votes/
I have received my AABA in Business w/concentration on HR from AIU-Online and in March 2010, I will have my Bachelors in the same field....then I am going straight into the PHD program. I have enjoyed the journey. You must know what you are looking for in a University....that be online or attending the physical building. It is important to understand that education is the key but your attitude and professionalism should follow. Employers look for people with education and a proven ability to want to start at the bottom and work their way upward. Don't judge a book by its cover. Everything is expensive. Focus on what you want to do and strive hard to get it. I am currently working in accounting but my desire has always been HR. I choose this university because of convienence and classes. I have enjoyed it thus far.Good luck to all.
Oct. 13, 2009, 9:36 p.m.
0 votes/
Marty you said:
"Now AIU wants to charge me an extra 2108.00 for the course that I had to repeat. I didn't get an extra set of books. I will not pay for a course that I had to retake because of their technology."

MAKES SURPISED AND SHOCKED FACE!

How in the world would they charge that for one course??!!! The entire year is 11K. Please help me understand.
Oct. 4, 2009, 7:48 a.m.
0 votes/
Currently am going through a hard decision making whether or not I should drop from AIU. I have found out that the credits are hard to transfer to other colleges. I am planning to earn my BA and do my Master at a state university but how am I suppose to do that if the University will not accept any of the credits. Does any one know something about this issue please give me advice. I hope I did not spent time and money for nothing :(


I also feel that the AIU degree is less attractive to both colleges and employees
Sept. 26, 2009, 12:16 a.m.
-1 vote/
Reading all of these complaints I find myself realizing how rediculous people really are.  I researched a lot of schools before deciding on AIU to continue my education simply due to the fact that I had been burned by a local brick and mortor school in the past.  One thing that comes to mind are the number of people complaining about the degrees received within the IT field, stating it is useless and they can not find jobs.  Do you realize in an IT field, your education provides you with a base knowledge to build upon?  Most employers are looking for people with certifications in specific areas (A+, VB, C#, C++, Network+, etc...).  Now if the employers are looking for these qualifications and you simply walk in with your "Degree", are you really qualified?  NO!  You're not.  It would be like a Harvard Law student complaining they can't find a job as an attorney when they haven't taken a bar exam.  Would that be the school's fault too?  NO!  Get your certifications in the specific areas you are seeking employment in, and you will find yourself qualified.  I will graduate from AIU with my Bachelor's in IT Programming in February.  Do I expect to run right out and get a job at a international corporation, programming?  No... I expect that I will continue working while I study the specifics of many certifications, to become qualified to be a candidate for the position I want.  If you are so slow or lazy that you are not willing to put in the effort to obtain what is needed, you shouldn't be in the field anyway... Any degree program can put you in a position, but it is up to you to keep updated on current trends, practices, and advancements.  If you're not willing to make the effort, you are already right where you belong.
Sept. 19, 2009, 5:33 p.m.
0 votes/
I am looking to attend AIU for my AA degree in Marketing. I was told by my advisor if I take 2 courses per 5 week term I can earm my degree in as little as 13 months. I was wondering if this information is accurate, and if so is it strenous work taking two classes per term? I've looked into some other schools but all of the prices were comparable (UOP,Kaplan) so i thought if i can get my degree in a shorter time frame i would choose AIU. i've been reseraching other things and have read all of your comments. Any feedback is helpful. thank you!
Sept. 12, 2009, 12:47 a.m.
0 votes/
Thanks for all that info. One final question:

What is the maximum number of transfer units that AIU will allow for the A.S. degree?
Sept. 10, 2009, 5:57 p.m.
0 votes/
I am currently attending AIU-Online to get my Associate Degree in Business Administration. The tuition is $250 per credit hour with free books and sofware. I took a class from Capella University,MN and the tuition is $310 per credit hour, not including software and books. I also tried University of Phoenix and it cost $325 per credit hour not including books or software. My only complain about AIU is that the staff of different department does not communicate with each other. For instance, the financial aid office ask for paperworks that I submitted weeks ago with student records. They don't communicate if they recieve my official transcript from the previous college I attended. They also requested my high school transcript but I did not hear from them if they recieve it or not. My graduation team (academic advisor, financial aid advisor, etc.) did not communicate with me. To get an associate degree will cost $22,500. I don't know if the tuition varries by State.For the three online Universities I attended, Capella University is the best one. Capella is a top rated online University. They offer a quality education. The only reason I did not finish my degree with them is that they do not offer Associate Degree, only Bachelors, Masters PhD and much more.
Aug. 27, 2009, 3:20 p.m.
0 votes/
What is the maximum number of transfer units that AIU will allow for the A.S. degree?
Aug. 27, 2009, 7:20 a.m.
0 votes/
Back in 2007, I was dealing with a admissions advisor that was so pushy and was not answering all my questions in detail that I did not enroll at that time. A few months past in that year and finally I decided to give it another shot. This other advisor I was dealing with was very fair, honest and patient with me. After dealing with this advisor. I decided to enroll. I completed my AAS in BA in early 2009 with honors and attending AIU was a great move for me. Unfortunately, I graduated during a economic downfall in our country so I have not received a job in that field plus having a bachelors degree is where it's at so I re-enrolled in AIU and I am pursuing my bachelors degree in IT. 

Now I understand there is some controversity with this institution but do not let that fool you. You will learn a great deal at this college. I attending com. college in the past and I wasted ALOT of time there. AIU's tuition is cheap compared to a ground university and especially ITT Tech which was my premier choice. Here's food for thought, most ground professors lecture on things that do not pertain to the class so stick that in your pipe and smoke it to all those AIU nay-sayers. AIU professors are professionals who have the working experience unlike some professors at a ground university who just get a bunch of degrees and base their knowledge on just studying versus performing work. 

Over all, AIU is a great school and yes, you have to make the most of your experience at AIU just like you would have to do at any other school. To those that dislike AIU cause they failed a course, didn't apply themselves right or are simply disgruntled former employees, put a sock in it. Some people do not have the time to attend a ground school. People have full time jobs, families to support and other activities in life. I, myself am a full time employee and I have many other activities in life that prevents me from going to a ground school. AIU has been on probation but its been lifted and they are now accredidated by the North Central Association.
Aug. 25, 2009, 9:41 p.m.
0 votes/
I find it hard to believe that you were just kicked out of this university for no reason. Use you Crystal ball and tell us what really happened.
Aug. 22, 2009, 10:16 p.m.
0 votes/
The School is a Rip-Off and I was exspelled in My last Class in BA in Accounting...I don't understand why I was exspelled and now I have to pay back this school and I don't have my Associates Degree nor my BA degree...all I am left with is a 40,000 BILL from the college...I didnt learn anything from this school
Aug. 22, 2009, 8:30 p.m.
0 votes/
I have been with AIU since March 2009 and will graduate with a AAS in Business Administrative in March 2010 but deciding if i want to continue with the bachelors. My career path i choose is graphic design. I simply was attracted to the AIU because they offered a digtal design program, which is the same thing as graphic design and it seems pretty affordable for an online school. Now that im in a couple of months at AIU im having second thoughts about my decision just because i don't think its going in the direction of my career path. 

Pros: great technology, love how they have 24/7 support, teachers reply back very quickly, course work is graded very well and with lots of comments, they provide lots of information and tools to help learn the material such as; chatting with instructor, listening and watching instructors perform problems or work, videos about the assignments, and of course a book, and an online library. 

Cons: very repetitive in each class you take, every class is 5 weeks, work due on sunday, group project, 1-2 independent work assignments, 1 discussion board topic. I also noted that the the past 8 classes i have taken do not change their course material!! if you type in a question from a biology/math homework into an answering website such as yahoo answers you will see tons of people who ask for the answers and if you noticed some are from 2 years ago!! I do not like that makes me fill like the assignments are not original and they are lazy to change numbers or different works, something at least! Another thing im not liking is the e-books (books on the computer) sure it saves paper but i wish there was an option to have the actual book, i sometimes forget i have them and i have not looked once at my college algebra book! Some classes don't really teach out of the book the teachers give there input and summarize the chapters (even upload a lecture or outline) so you really don't have to look at the book. and as far as work load goes...its not really that much each week (a paper that is about 1-3 pages, a discussion topic about 1-3 paragraphs, and comment on other students posting), i wish they would give out more assignments.

I feel that AIU is great for business and education degrees but i don't think it is suiting up to my expectations for a visual degree, they keep telling me "the fun stuff" starts when you get to the bachelors program...well dear im ready to have fun now and get something out of the degree that im paying 12k for!
Aug. 18, 2009, 8:29 p.m.
0 votes/
So you only needed 12 units to complete the degree? That must be the minimum number of units students must take then, isn't it?
Aug. 15, 2009, 3:40 a.m.
0 votes/
It took 68 credit hrs. for me to get the Associate's degree in 2003.  It may be less now.  I was able to transfer 56 credit hrs. from other colleges and only took 12 with AIU to get the degree.  They offer challenge exams that give you credit hrs. as well.  Those are free hours if you can pass the exams that can also transfer!
Aug. 13, 2009, 3:51 a.m.
0 votes/
Thanks for the link! I will check it out. Would you happen to know what the maximum number of units can be transferred to the A.S. program?
Aug. 13, 2009, 1:41 a.m.
0 votes/
Here's the link to the 2009 academic fee calender hope they'll let me post it. Still $22,950 for the Associate's program.  Not sure why but they must've decided to bring the cost down from the 2006-07 scale that you're looking at.

mycampus.aiu-online.com/schools/5/pdf/tuition_schedule.pdf
Aug. 9, 2009, 7:11 a.m.
0 votes/
I want to preface all my comments with the fact that I am a former employee, but I am not disgruntled in any way.  Coming from the inside I can tell you exactly how this place works.  First of all you have to remember that this is not your typical "not for profit" university.  Their goal is to get as many people enrolled in their university as possible and their admissions advisors are taught to do whatever they can to keep the potential "student" on the line so you can get them enrolled.  If you think you are anything but a number you are kidding yourself.  Their philosophy is that all online schools are created equal, so their isn't any need for our students to look around and make an educated decision on which school they attend so get them to sign up now!  They even went so far as to tell us to try and talk our potential students into degree programs that we offered even though the student was looking for something that we didn't.  Their thought was that our student wasn't smart enough to know what they wanted anyway.  The reason that I am not longer working there is because it was against my better judgement to not let my potential students do all their research and then make a solid decision on where they wanted to go.  When you do get your degree it doesn't say anything on it about being online.  The only problem is that AIU online is the second largest online university, so now there are a lot of companies out there that know AIU is synonomous with online university and that is their first assumption.  If online university is your only option to get your degree then I would definitely recommend it, just make sure you do your research!  If you get anything out of this review, just keep in mind the type of people you are dealing with on the other side of the phone line.
Aug. 2, 2009, 6:28 p.m.
0 votes/
Thanks for the information. They must have a different tuition scale for different cities then??? I am looking at the 2006-07 academic calander catalog from AIU, specifically at the tuition schedule. They list the tuition costs for an AA degree between $27,678 and $32,788 (dependig on the program). That I assume is from "ground zero" to use your term. Strange that the tuition schedule I have from AIU is $5,000-$10,000 more than the tuition you paid for the AA degree. You have to also remember that the tuition schedule I am looking at is almost 3 years old. More likely than not, tuition has increased. Why do you suppose there is such a large difference?
Aug. 1, 2009, 9:26 p.m.
0 votes/
I think that AIU is for people that are working full time and do not have the schedule to attend a traditional university. With that said, these are usually people that are working people. If you decide to take up your degree at AIU, you are usually an adult! Therefore, you should know what direction you want to take your life and how to get there. I read a review that said their AIU degree meant nothing in the fashion industry?!! Why would it? These day a bachelors degree improves your chances, but it's still a competitive job market. Anyone paying for any degree should have a clear path of how this degree will further their career, or they are wasting their money. A Bachelors degree from an accredited University will take you as far as you work it!!! You still need experience, skill, confidence, interviewing skills, etc... A degree is just another couple of lines on your resume, that you use to promote yourself! Stick to it if you are in AIU and use the degree to the fullest!
Aug. 1, 2009, 1:21 a.m.
0 votes/
I have completed more than 13 classes at AIU and can honestly say that I am VERY HAPPY! Yes, some of the classes are somewhat "easy" but believe me when I say that some are rather difficult! I'm sure at any school you will have your easy classes and at times you will have your harder classes..... Yes, the school is a bit expensive however, your books get sent to you either online or in the mail and are included in your costs. My admissions advisor made it easy for me to apply both for my associates and bachelors degree programs. I too like most online students have a full time job and a child. Being in the Military, going to school online was really my only choice. The time that you can recieve your degree in versus the time it would take to sit in a actual class room is amazing. Now, there will be long nights but I believe that it is well worth it! I do not have anything bad to say about AIU but that the staff is great help and as for the instructors, some are better than others (but isn't this with every school?). I recommend AIU! And if you are a vet or in the military I can honestly tell you that the staff makes the process more than easy! One more thing, AIU is Accredited by the NCA!
July 24, 2009, 1:28 a.m.
0 votes/
Thanks for the information. They must have a different tuition scale for different cities then??? I am looking at the 2006-07 academic calander catalog from AIU, specifically at the tuition schedule. They list the tuition costs for an AA degree between $27,678 and $32,788 (dependig on the program). That I assume is from "ground zero" to use your term. Strange that the tuition schedule I have from AIU is $5,000-$10,000 more than the tuition you paid for the AA degree. You have to also remember that the tuition schedule I am looking at is almost 3 years old. More likely than not, tuition has increased. Why do you suppose there is such a large difference?
July 22, 2009, 3:17 a.m.
0 votes/
The tuition for the A.A. degree at AIU is $22,500, but that's starting from ground zero.  If you're a transferring student from another accredited college, they'll generously accept your credits if the credits apply to the degree plan you choose with them.  That way the cost can be much less.
July 13, 2009, 9:16 p.m.
0 votes/
It may be my imagination, but this university seems to charge a much higher tuition than most of the other on-line universities I have checked out. Do you think it is too expensive?
July 7, 2009, 6:03 p.m.
0 votes/
Congratulations on finishing your A.A. degree and your higher pay! Can you give me an estimate on the tuition cost of that A.A.? My guess is around $35,000, is that about right?
July 3, 2009, 5:54 p.m.
0 votes/
I finished the A.A. degree at AIU and it wasn't "worthless" as others have stated.  This is not a diploma mill because people do drop out and fail!  You really have to put forwarth some effort or you won't make it.  Show up for chat room discussions and turn in your assignments so they can be graded.  I'm a single male making $63,000 a year because of my associates degree from AIU.  I live in Lubbock, TX, and for that salary it's a decent living, well above our median household salary of $41,000!  So don't believe the people bashing the school, putting it down probably because they couldn't do it.  They are wrong.
June 22, 2009, 3:27 a.m.
0 votes/
What was the total tuition for the MBA at AIU?
June 21, 2009, 4:12 p.m.
0 votes/
I am about to graduate with an MBA (Fin) from AIU and I can tell you - IT WAS NOT EASY....THE sleepless nights and endless hours.... needless to say my GPA will be 4.0 when I graduate. It is really how much effort you put in.
June 9, 2009, 7:14 p.m.
0 votes/
I agree with some of what you said. For example, you are correct about online programs being much more difficult than many expect. In addition, online education is the future. 
I checked out AIU when I was looking into a Master's program. They were one of only five regionally accredited universities with an online master's program in the concentration I was interested in. The program seemed to be fine. The difference was in the tuition. I found only one of the five to have tuition as high as AIU's. Here is what you said:

"AIU's tuition includes needed books & software."

That's great! However, the tuition rate for my program was $23,550 at AIU. I found three programs that were considerably less. In fact, the tuition I paid for my Master's program was $14,300, which included books. So the difference was over $9,000!!!! 

As I said, the program seemed fine and I liked the set-up. However, the difference in tuition was huge.
May 24, 2009, 2:08 a.m.
0 votes/
I've almost completed my BA from AIU, and let me tell you that while some classes may be easy for some, many are very challenging! As others have stated, you get out of it what you put into it. 

Many posts here that strive to provide negative impact on AIU is b/s and from years of experience at AIU I can tell you some of it is not true (79k in tuition after FA is far from the truth, so either you where lied to or are lying). 

Yeah some of the employees and few of the instructors would be more help at Burger King, but most are amazing teachers and provide useful advise. 

The real problem here is that many EXPECT online schools to be a piece of cake and dont want to give it a chance. Hate to break it to you....but online education is the wave of the future, accept it or move on.

For those wanting information, AIU's tuition includes needed books & software. The library, labs,tutoring live chats and instant messaging other students can be of great value to your success here. Yes its expensive, but you get what you pay for. 

Also, I checked into many well known schools in my area (WI STOUT, etc) and my credits will ALL transfer. I have no intention of transfering at this point but I wanted to double check the value of my credits before continuing on. Everything is legit, just do your homework and find the best fit for you :)
May 7, 2009, 1:39 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi I wanted to compare MBA in International Business from AIU and Masters in Marketing Management from Boston University. Pls Help
April 29, 2009, 8:37 p.m.
0 votes/
I have gone to AIU and it is a school like any other you get out what you put in. It is quite expensive but what online school isn't.
April 28, 2009, 3:11 p.m.
0 votes/
I have been enrolled since august 2008 and expect to graduate in march 2010.  i work full time, just got married and have a kid on the way.  it is a pretty challenging curriculum and will eat up your free time if you want to do well.  the classes are not too hard if you put in the work, but you have to put in the work.  i have learned a lot, the online interface is easy to use, the books are included with costs, the professors are readily available, and support is extremely helpful...overall it's been a great experience so far... my only complaint is that it's very expensive.  most of my core classes from where i attended college earlier transferred over, but i'm still paying $37,000 for roughly two at this college.
April 16, 2009, 5:44 p.m.
-1 vote/
I was enrolled in AIU a few years back. The work was like that of any other online school. I had a pleasant experience. I did my research and the school is accredited and in good standing. I am going back. Whatever school you choose I truly believe its what you make of it. Fortunately for me nobody cares where my degree comes from as long as I received it and the necessary skills to do the job thats all that matters.
April 14, 2009, 2:36 a.m.
0 votes/
I have to say from researching and from knowing others doing online schools and have been to traditional schools and tech schools I really feel AIU online is the choice for me. My husband is getting deployed I have a baby coming in a few months and I have two other elementry school children as well as a needy dog. So I think it is the experience of the individual as the outcome you will receive. I also looked into South University and it was okay, but it's more expensive you have to buy your books and tuition was crazy and they don't give you discounts on the application fee or your tuition. AIU online does offer that for the military service memeber as well as the spouse. I think that's very important. I'm majoring Criminal Justice with the concentration in Forensic Science. I was enrolled in the local community college for Diagnostic Medical Sonography. I already have a degree in Medical Billing/Coding that i'm not using I graduated 2nd in my class with a 4.0 and nothing to show for it. I have been out for 2 years now. I've had lots of interviews and I know my stuff, but I don't have experience in the medical field at all. So i'm trying a new approach by going into criminal justice. I'm hoping I have better luck. I know lots of people who attended Universities and local colleges and they have had bad outcomes, experiences regardless what it was you have them every where you go. So it will be your own personal experience. Good Luck with your research as i've just finished mine.
March 4, 2011, 4:47 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi Mel,

I'm looking to AIU online majoring in Criminal Justice focusing in Forensic Science.  I have already attended Kaplan University majoring in Criminal Justice focusing in Crime Scene Investigation, with one year left, I feel that I may benefit by changing courses.  I am curious to know how your experience was/is, and if you're still satisfied with the change that you made?  I look forward to hearing back from you.  Thanks.
Feb. 26, 2009, 5:26 p.m.
-1 vote/
I was contacted years ago by AIU when looking at schools to finish my bachelors. It just so happened on the day I was leaving for Vegas to get married I was called by a school rep. He proceeded to yell at me and even berate me for not committing to the school right then and there. Needless to say I finished my degree elsewhere.
Feb. 8, 2009, 5:22 p.m.
0 votes/
I'm graduating with my BFA in Visual Communications tomorrow. I'm a veteran, have my AS in Business Management from a California College and have had a VERY POSITIVE experience with AIU. I've read people complaining about the price of education at this school; for one thing, the degree program they offer is ACCELERATED and includes the cost of books. I've received books for my design degree that are very useful and that I will continue to use throughout my career.

Next thing, people are complaining about credits not transferring, ALL my credits from my AS transferred over to AIU. Also, the reps for AIU are unbelievably helpful, always keeping up with communications, helping me with professor issues, and by the way, I also had to file an appeal, and the issue was resolved. The website keeps up with their technology, and the staff is incredible understanding and does their best to resolve any issues you might be having. 

The course work is challenging, especially when you only have 5 weeks to learn the course, and every week you have assigments to turn in. This program works well with students who can't do a traditional school schedule (like myself) and need the convenience of online. 

I love AIU, they've helped me immensely, with my Veteran's benefits and GI Bill, and the accreditation of this school, I don't see how I couldn't have chosen a better online school. I did my research for months before finally applying with AIU, and I am impressed with the institution. 

I've spoken with several people who attended University Of Phoenix, and had negative experiences with their school and the communication with professors just wasn't there. It seemed that they had to learn the course work all their own, which at AIU, the professors have AT THE LEAST 2 one hour sessions to go over the lesson for that week, plus an open office conference time, and they respond to emails and phone calls within 48 hours. 

I am not a "marketing rep" as some of you claim write these comments. I made the most of my experience with AIU, and got the best out of it; and it was well worth my money. People tend to forget how quickly you can get a degree with this school. Do your research before you start complaining about stuff that could have easily been explained or just read about. 

I would recommend this school to those looking to have a wonderful online education experience in a fast-paced, accelerated program. 

And one more thing, for those saying that the degree was wortheless or what have you, let's not forget about the economic state the country is in right now. No one is hiring, so take that into consideration...
Jan. 28, 2009, 7:44 a.m.
0 votes/
I am completing my BIT right now at AIU-Online. I like the school. I have been to both a brick-n-mortar school and online and I much prefer the online classes. I have much more time to actually learn. I save a ton of time not having to commute plus I can concentrate on one class at a time which makes learning the material much easier. As far as choosing AIU-Online, I was leaning towards Univ of Phoenix but they wouldn't transfer any of my previous college credits (credits from a SUNY NY school!), plus they called my house and work 10 times a day for weeks straight trying to get me to enroll (very annoying!). AIU-Online is cheaper than UOP and will take your credits. I have a friend that went to Kaplan college and after seeing their online campus and classrooms first hand I can honestly say AIU-Online is a better school. I dont know why everyone is knocking the school. I recommend it.
Jan. 27, 2009, 5:04 p.m.
0 votes/
all the book are online there are no books mailed to you. I graduated from there last year. I dropped them the first I went and then I ended up going right back. If you go there just keep in mine that no matter is if you understand or not turn in your work!!Good or bad you will get a grade and some assignments are graded according to effort. I promise. Take this advise how ever you want too.
Jan. 14, 2009, 8:53 p.m.
0 votes/
Hello,

I would like to ask some current students who take the courses online how do you get the books and materiel's (e.g. are they sent to you via postage overnight?) Also, if there is a delay in receiving the books (e.g. 7-10 days) then when does your start date begin since there is a delay in receiving the materiel's. How does the college handle this or how does it work?

All comments are welcomed!

Thanks
Jan. 12, 2009, 2:44 a.m.
0 votes/
I attended AIU for 2 reasons,.. to get my A.A and to get it fast.  It cost me 21,000.  That is alot of money so It's like I paid a high cost for a short period degree.  When I was in my interview interviewing for this current job that I am now,.. it felt real good to say that I had at least an A.A with AIU.  Some of the class work was easy and some of them were challenging like any other Colleges if It wasn't for AIU I would still be in a junior college now. It is a teach your self experience that's what I didn't like but being a strong person that I am,.. I made it.. other than the cost my personal experience with AIU has been great.  I'm looking into UOP right now and I'm not to sure about it.
Jan. 6, 2009, 10:18 p.m.
0 votes/
Let me clear that up. $79 K. for the total program, deducting the financial aide reward. And then after that he still has to get over $35 K., in student loans....OUCH!!!
Jan. 6, 2009, 10:16 p.m.
0 votes/
I would have to say that after reading all of your entries. I think that AIU is what you make it. If you want a walk-in-the-park degree, that you will not have to work all that hard for, then you will have to pay the price for it. The school is a very expensive "for-profit" school, that cares about one thing, and one thing only. "Money"

The school does NOT care about you. Only thier money. You can tell that by the way they market you on the web and on the television. NEVER give them your number either.

I have a friend that attendeds AIU and he loves it. He goes on-campus and he said that the work is so easy it is a pleasant experience. The bad part that he does not like is the fact that the total cost for his program is $79K. YES THAT IS WHAT I SAID!!!! $79,000.00 I think that the easier the school the mose costs. The less cost, the more work you will do. Just put two and two together kiddies...
Jan. 2, 2009, 3:15 a.m.
0 votes/
So I was reading the reviews, and I thought I would share my view as a current student.  My family situation and current job situation do not allow me to go once again to the old bricks and morter style classroom setting; so I have to do my MBA online.  The reason I selected AIU was because I could service my MBA 100% online, and that it was faster than other online schools.

3/4 of the way through, I have had ups and downs, but over all I would recommend the school to others.  Like in any school, you have great teachers and others who are not.  Most of the teachers I have had have been outstanding.  

The level of communication from Professors is within hours or at most one day.  The volume is tough; much more than at former colleges and universities; maybe up to a third more.  The content is good and I am learning a great deal. Other students have a good feeling about where they are at; we each berail the amount of work; one however would expect this in an MBA program.

Just make sure you are a self starter as assignments are do each week; ususally two of them per week.

When I was studying out MBAs, I found, regardless of the school, Univ of State (etc), Yale, or which ever school, they all share in common a high drop rate from their MBA programs.  So I figured I would enter one that was shorter, thus helping my percentage of probability in finishing by having a shorter calendar schedule.  The blogs are filled with people who started MBAs but never finished; so I selected one of the shorter MBA programs out there; actually about the shortest with no residency. 

So far, 3/4 of the way through my MBA, it has been the right selection for me and my family.  

Having not been in school for many years, there are a few things I would do differently.  The first is to take a course on Word, and Excell, and other related computer programs.  We did not have these when I went to school.  AIU has some great labs, and mentors; with Live Chat sessions, but I found with working and family plus the regular assignments, I did not have the time to fully use the labs.  So before you start, get these basic modern skills down.  The other thing is a fast computer; the one I use works but it is slow. 

Don't let age or economic situations keep you from a higher degreee. 

His Peace to each of you as you pursue your dreams.
Warmest Regards,
Kyle
Oct. 30, 2008, 5:53 p.m.
0 votes/
I've been attending AIU going on 5 months now, and have to say they so far it's been great. The assignments are challenging especially since you only have a week to turn in 4 lengthy assignments. I've been reading a lot of negative comments about the school, such as harrasment and constantly being called and emailed with useless information etc...
That's just ridiculous, I've never been subjected to any of that. As for people who quit or get fired are always going to try and discredit and bash the person or place.
Oct. 26, 2008, 4:29 a.m.
0 votes/
I transferred from UoP to AIU..  In my opinion both schools have their issues..  UoP rates go up by the course you are taking and you don't get very good assistance.  AIU was a complete waste a money and time because once you get the degree it isn't worth anything.  I wasted 3 yrs of my time obtaining an ABA and BS degrees that are not worth anything.  I didn't realize that my degrees didn't mean anything until I went to apply for a Master's Degree and nothing from AIU was taken, so I am starting over from the bottom with my general courses and then on to my real degrees.  :-(  It was a learning experience for me....  I should have stuck with UoP most of their classes are accepted. In my opinion if you have the time to go take on-campus classes... do so, stay away from online classes unless its dual on/off campus. 
Yes I understand its up to the school to transfer the credits, but out of 180 credits something should transfer over.
Oct. 27, 2008, 8:36 p.m.
0 votes/
Honestly, ok i have to admit, most of you people are idiots.  For one, people complain about the cost at aiu online? take a look at the traditional schools out there.  It is 30k a year, x 4 years. 120k for their degrees.  You are getting a bachelors degree for 50k.  Its accreditated, IT DOES NOT SAY ONLINE ON THE DEGREE, i have mine hanging up in my wall.  I honestly feel like some people prob. failed out of school and are complaining about their experience at aiu.  Honestly do yourself a favor.  Get a clue, do your research like an ADULT and go from there.  I received my masters in education from AIU online and i have gotten a job that i would not have had with a bachelors degree.  are some classes easy, sure they are.  However my online classes were more challenging than my classes at Michigan State University, where i earned my Bachelors.  So please stop with the bashing, look at yourself next time you want to point fingers.

JOHNSON OUT!
Oct. 10, 2008, 7:50 p.m.
0 votes/
I am currently doing my BA right now. i finshed my AA with A.I.U. online because my work schedule was getting to crazy for me to go to school full time at a campus. I really enjoy this school. I can log on at whatever tiem I want to complete my asighnments. Of course you have to read a lot but that goes with any school you attend. I would recomend this school to anybody who has a really busy life as far as work and family. It is kind of pricey but it is worth it especially if it only takes about 2 and a half years to complete college. Now i am eleigble to work at higher positons at my job. If I would have kept going to my local college it would have taken me 6yrs to get my BA. Thanks to A.I.U. my dream is almost a reality
Oct. 2, 2008, 5 a.m.
0 votes/
You got to be kidding when you say AIU uses marketing staff to do this... because almost everyone had somethin bad about AIU Online.. So how would that work?
April 20, 2008, 12:05 a.m.
0 votes/
Thanks for the advice Happy! I just withdrew from UOP because in my opinion, it is a terrible school. I was very hesitant to try this school because of their two year probation. I did speak with their ombudsman about that which was very helpful,and I have also read several reviews from students as well. Overall I think the education you receive has everything to do with your own attitude. I am very excited to be attending AIU.
April 9, 2008, 11:03 p.m.
-1 vote/
I would be hard pressed to accept a review from people who can't even spell or use correct grammar (John Dole and Out of luck student).   I am currently attending AIU and  the course work is comparable to many other schools. FYI Kallen, currently in my Marketing class,  we have quite a few students left UOP online and enrolled at AIU and they are very pleased with the program!
Jan. 23, 2008, 6:43 a.m.
0 votes/
9 credits per 5 week course!!!  How is that possible?
Jan. 22, 2008, 2:07 a.m.
0 votes/
You guys stated AIU has no weight but is that based on Rep?  I ran them and they are accreditted by CHEA like all Universities in the southern district.  I was comparing AIU and South University for online they offer the same short 5 weeks courses except AIU give you 9 credits that allows you to complete the program a lot sooner.
Feb. 2, 2008, 5:49 a.m.
0 votes/
I'm currently attending University of Phoenix online, however, I'm now considering transferring over to AIU online. I want to make the right decision as to what college I should attend. I need to know if AIU is a good reputable college?
Jan. 17, 2008, 10:01 p.m.
0 votes/
I must say the price of the program could be somewhat less expensive, nevertheless, it did not lessen the experience that I had while attending AIU.  For me, my circumstances were probably similar to many adults who have to take care of a family while holding a full-time job.  Each individual's experience will be different regardless of the school they attend but I will say that I have been accepted into several recognized universities since completing my studies nearly three years ago.  Maybe things have changed considerably since I graduated but as for my experience it was both challenging as well as rewarding.  I have degrees from regionally accredited universities and I can truly say that my studies at AIU were sometimes more intense.  I am not a faculty member and no one has coerced me to make this post, I just think it is very important for each individual to do their research and make decisions about which schools to attend based on what is best for their particular situation.
Jan. 2, 2008, 8:53 p.m.
0 votes/
AIU is nothing that my admissions rep promised me.  I understand it was her job to get me to sign on but what she promised me was that the school would support me in their program

I had to take college algebra for the program.  When I took the class, the live chat did not work with the instructor, I couldn't understand the material.  My student advisor just told me to read my book.  Oh my goodness, as if I didn't try that.  I'm not a complete idiot.  Anyway, I failed the course.  When I retook it, the live chat did work and I understood the material.  I got an A.  Now AIU wants to charge me an extra 2108.00 for the course that I had to repeat.  I didn't get an extra set of books.  I will not pay for a course that I had to retake because of their technology.

I am in a heated dispute with them because I am asking for them to not charge me the extra money.  During the first algebra course I emailed my adivisor and anyone else I could including my admissions rep who no longer worked there.  Everyone gave me the same answer, "read your book." 

DO NOT sign with AIU, you will regret it. I have asked for an appeal and I cannot get my complaint past their dean of students.  The student ombudsman is an employee of AIU who will side with the school.  My next step is the accrediting board and the BBB.  No wonder they were on probation.
Dec. 10, 2007, 9:24 p.m.
0 votes/
Please don't put yourself through the agony of this school.  This school costs was to much, and doesn't hold any weight with employers. I have a $30k piece of paper. :\
Nov. 14, 2007, 7:43 p.m.
+1 vote/
AIU is accredited and after much research, it appears to be legit.  I am interested in enrolling because of the fast pace online learning environment.  I researched the Department of Education and AIU is in good standing and not on probation according to the latest status dated 11/14/2007.   I guess some additional research is in order before I apply to AIU but so far everthing is on the up and up.  Additionally, AIU is approved for Veteran's benfits such as the GI Bill, Tution Asssitance, and grants which are a rather tough standards by themselves.
Oct. 22, 2007, 8:50 p.m.
0 votes/
I went to A.I.U. and got a Bachelor's Degree that is not worth anything in the fashion industry. Waist of time and money in my opinion. Even had a professor take my work and get another job with it.
Sept. 15, 2007, 8 p.m.
0 votes/
American InterContinental University is a "for profit" university.
July 12, 2007, 3:36 a.m.
0 votes/
Don't you love when schools have thier marketing staff write reviews on sites like these.  If you work for AIU and your reading this, please thinking about what you are doing and who you are working for.  You are using your time, training, and skills to sucker people into spending thousands of dollars for a low grade school.  Your smart, there are other jobs you can get.
Aug. 24, 2006, 6:33 p.m.
0 votes/
Great program and a great interactive learning platform. The work is demanding and you will acquire great research skills during the degree program. It is in an accelerated format so the pace is intense. Overall, great programs.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American InterContinental University in any way.