Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Charter Oak State College

3.8
16 Reviews
5 9 
4 2 
3 2 
2 0 
1 3 
0 0 

Charter Oak State College Reviews:

A Good Foundation

General Studies - August 16, 2018
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Hello evryone, I am graduate of Charter Oak State College (COSC). Like many, life's balderdash obviated degree completion for me. COSC apportioned the vehicle for compendious toward the first undergraduate degree. Later, accepted into graduate school, two year later, I hold an MBA. 6 years later in 2014 graduated with honors with a Ph.D. This all started with Charter Oak State College. I read this complaints and wonder what are the underlying issues regarding this sure foundation, COSC. College, Life and Love is what we make it.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Great Experience!

General Studies - January 1, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just earned my AS degree through COSC and I only took ONE class through the school. All my other credits were either transferred in or I took them through other online venues that were cheaper. Whenever I emailed the school prior to enrollment or after, I always received a prompt response. I found my advisor and counselor to be very helpful and supportive. If I had a question on whether a class would transfer in, the registrar's office answered my questions. The only thing I felt lacking, was the actual online course I took. I felt the instructor was slow to respond, which is an issue in an 8-week course with several assignments due each week. I also felt like the books used for the course were lacking. With that being said, I would definitely recommend COSC.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Excellent School! I loved it!

General Studies - March 24, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I cannot say enough good things about Charter Oak. I loved it, and wish that I had gone there at the beginning (as opposed to transferring there halfway into my degree). The education is exceptional, the online platform and course designs are very user-friendly, the classes are engaging, and the faculty & staff were very helpful. I went to two very reputable (and expensive) schools prior to transferring to Charter Oak, and I did not feel challenged or inspired until I got to COSC. The professors are accessible, knowledgeable, and supportive. Before COSC, my drive and passion to learn was non-existent, but thanks to my overwhelmingly positive experience at COSC, I have decided to continue my education and get a Master's. There's still hope for a good education at an affordable cost!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Deteriorating in recent years!

General Studies - December 21, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

COSC deteriorated since 2007 from a viable degree program to a capricious financial trap, as several expressed on yelp. After followimg my recommendation, a student became painfully aware of new requirements for redundant objectives, fees every semester to stay matriculated, course facilitators who lack pedagogical skills, and broken processes for reviews, including degree applications, billing, and grievances. Hopefully a full report can restore integrity to this once helpful untraditional approach.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Perfect program for me

General Studies - September 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was able to transfer in all my credits from almost a dozen schools to complete my degree. I was accepted into several graduate programs including Califoria State University and the University of Florida. COSC was helpful, affordable, and perfect for me.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Not good enougH

General Studies - April 8, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I took classes at COSC for two semesters. The professors had variable levels of interest in teaching an online course; I suspected some of them were in it to make a quick, hassle-free buck. Of course, this is encountered at a traditional school as well. The materials and assignments were also comparable to what one would find at a public college. There is potential for more student accountability at COSC because of the heavy use of discussion boards in most classes. I say potentially because the biggest problem I had with COSC, and the reason I transferred to a traditional bricks-and-mortar university, were the other students. There are no admission requirements for COSC. Consequently, there were a lot of idiots who couldn't spell or write a coherent sentence, much less formulate an original thought. This made responding to discussion boards (a requirement in three of my classes) extremely painful. I felt like I was talking to kindergartners, and I knew I wasn't gaining anything of value from such discourse. I began to wonder if employers would respect a degree earned from COSC. I wondered if I would value and be proud of my college education if I remained there. I decided "no" on both counts, took the credits I had earned, and ran. That was two years ago. In five weeks I'll be graduating with my BA from a traditional state university, an accomplishment I'll be proud of for the rest of my life.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Excellent

General Studies - October 31, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The best way for a working adult to complete their degree. Charter Oak was founded as a degree completion state school and they deliver on that mission. The value is exceptional, the staff is incredibly supportive and the coursework is challenging and rewarding. This is not a fly-by-night operation. I would recommend this regionally accredited school to any working adult who has credit sitting about and wants to finish their degree.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful

There's really nothing negative to say

General Studies - March 18, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Without this college, getting my B/S would take forever! It only took me one year after all my transferred credits to graduate. I love Charter Oak and if I had to do it again, I would still choose Charter Oak State College!

Was this review helpful?

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

History Course (A people & A Nation)

General Studies - August 9, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a class taker at Charter Oak allow me to offer this review to any potential student thing about attending this fine college. The course was very interesting, the instructor was always in contact with the students, and the material was top notch. However, the quality of the VHS tapes was rather poor from usage. From the beginning to the end Charter Oak State College was number one in all aspects! The military department ar COSC is also top notch and they handle all military amd non-military issues with respect and speed. Overall a very nice experience..

Was this review helpful?

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Charter Oak State College in any way.