Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Commonwealth Open University

4.2
17 Reviews
5 5 
4 11 
3 1 
2 0 
1 0 
0 0 

Commonwealth Open University Reviews:

Criminology

MA in Criminology - July 19, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am so astonished by what is achieved by so many in the Commonwealth University. Part from the fact that the degrees are not recognized by any other University for further educstion, you must not allow this to put you off! Obtaining a P.HD in just six months should really be your aim. Who do you want to impress anyway? Other Universities - never. It is there to boggle the brains out of other family members only, who may never know any better, and voila! mission accomplished. I can recommend OCU to anybody. it is really as common as that.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Thank you for everything

MA International Relations - March 12, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Studying with COU has been an exciting and wonderful experience. Thank you for everything.

Was this review helpful?

Review

Social Science/Psychology - November 7, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

An excellent experience. Professional, efficient and substantial in all regards. Not for everyone. For those with discipline, sincere motivation, COU offer the opportunity for success and rewards.

Was this review helpful?

Thank you to COU

PhD in Education - September 5, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Studying with COU allowed me to adapt my Doctorate studies around my professional commitments, independently but with the right balance of support. Thank you to COU.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful

General review

Social Science/Psychology - August 7, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I really appreciate the COU consistent and continuous demonstration of support, consideration and understanding. It is a battle to defend the positives of this visionary Institution, but we are doing it with courage. My experience has been extraordinary. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Accreditation

MSc in Public Relations - May 12, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Accreditation is simply a validation process by which institutions of higher education are evaluated. The standards used to conduct these evaluations vary. During the 1990s, controversy arose over the accreditation of completely virtual universities like COU. This issue has not yet been settled. Some of us think that new standards are needed to properly evaluate distance education. The fact is that many distance education programs cross regional borders and are offered all over the world. New international standards and bona fide agencies are needed in order to evaluate these virtual schools. Just because an institution is accredited does not mean that you are guaranteed a high quality education. Even if two institutions are accredited they may not allow you to transfer credit from one to the other. You should avoid an accredited or unaccredited institution that grants degrees without ensuring students are properly qualified. It is necessary to work a lot in order to get a COU degree.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 10 people found the following review helpful

A fine option....

Social Science/Psychology - May 5, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This was an excellent experience, with many rewards. The process start to finish was efficient, professional and a great value for doctoral students with work their program or transfer credits. This is a fine option and opportunity for informed, motivated students that require flexibility not offered elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Thanks to all of you at COU.

BSc in Life Sciences - April 5, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

They gave me the opportunity for studying Biology and Life Sciences at my own study pace. Thanks to the staff and faculty of COU. I appreciate very much your effort and understanding.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Best approach

Social Science/Psychology - May 3, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have pursued other programs at other schools and I can say that the best approach to distance education is provided by Commonwealth Open University.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Very high value

MA in International Relations - October 27, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have learnt very much and would hope that I can share my knowledge in a valuable way with others and in particular the international community. I attach very high value to the knowledge gained.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 7 people found the following review helpful

High satisfaction

Social Science/Psychology - July 27, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my MSc in Information Technology with a high degree of satisfaction.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 7 people found the following review helpful

MSc

Social Science/Psychology - June 19, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I would like to compliment the Commonwealth Open University for all The support, assistance, and efficiency over the three years.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Efficient administration

Social Science/Psychology - June 8, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I continue to be impressed with the focus of the course assignments and the efficient administration that COU provides. The caring attention from COU made the difference in my growth and experiences.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Very proffesional

Social Science/Psychology - June 3, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had successfully completed my doctorate. I will not hesitate to recommend the University. Just prepare yourself to study hard as I did.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 8 people found the following review helpful

MSc in Corporate Finance

Social Science/Psychology - May 31, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Very pragmatic and excellent degree program in Corporate Finance. Very useful. I apply everyday the concepts.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Good program

Social Science/Psychology - May 31, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am very satisfied with the MA in Sociology I completed at COU in 2004. Excellent course material and support. Great experience.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Review of PhD program

Social Science/Psychology - October 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It was a reasonable program, with transfer of credit for previous course work and thesis.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 15 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Commonwealth Open University in any way.