Jones International University

With world-renowned professors from some of the most distinguished institutions in the world, Jones International University® (JIU®) offers 100% online, nationally accredited, respected degrees in business and education. It’s all part of why we’ve become known as The Gold Standard Online University™.

Accreditation:
For-Profit: Yes
Country: USA

Learn More about Jones International University

Programs:

Read all 22 reviews...

Write a Jones International University Review

Reivew Averages: 6.0 out of 10 (22 reviews)


Learn More about Jones International University


Jones International University Reviews:

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
Re-think your decision
September 9, 2011
This school was chosen by me because of the convenience that it offered. The professors are good and the curriculum is acceptable. The concerns that I have are with the financial aid department. The stipends that you are to receive from your funds, are always sent out 2-3 months later than they are supposed to be. They tell you that they are having trouble with the department and it is almost time for the next ... [Read more]

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
Expensive, bad services and little learning required.
March 22, 2011
This is one of the most expensive universities in the US. My papers have never been corrected for gramatical errors and it shows in the forums that other students are not either. At the master's level, AT LEAST basic grammar should be required. The BIGGEST issues is the lack of support and service. My "academic advisor" is still working on his bachelor's degree yet is "advising" me on my master's. Financial aid is a joke!!!!!!! ... [Read more]

7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
Worst experience ever!! Run do not go to this school it should be shut down!!
October 22, 2012
Let me start off by saying this school is the worst school ever, they lie to you to get you on aboard with a degree only to find out that where I live its not credited. Oh they may say they are fully accredited school where they are but not where I live. I can not use their degree its just a expensive piece of paper. I couldn't even get any help with exams here ... [Read more]

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
The positives and the negatives...
May 6, 2012
I am currently enrolled. Positives. Great career counselor. No problems with financial aid. Overall a very pleasant experience. Technology. You are exposed to it, but it you do not know how to use it, what good is it. I was told I would learn how to build charts and graphs in excel. Sorry, no one to help from the school in real time. Most teachers are good, because they have worked in the real world ... [Read more]

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
What a big mistake JIU was!
February 15, 2012
The most incompetent student services I have ever encountered in any educational program. JIU "double counted", (an accounting term) my credits that allowed the JIU financial aid system to throw me out of their system, because instead of having 21 credits, up to date, it actually showed 42 credits in my 36 credit hour program. This action by the JIU financial aid department disrupted my whole MBA program and took 4 months to get me ... [Read more]

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Something wrong here
January 1, 2013
My son was called by Jones International University about taking on-line classes which he was thinking about taking in the future. After explaining to the person on the other end of the line that he had just gotten out of the hospital after suffering from a severe case of Infectious encephalitis (inflammation of the brain) and was still suffering from memory problems the person on the other end tried to get my son to sign ... [Read more]

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Scam alert.
October 30, 2012
This is a scam. They offer a four week "no risk". It is bogus. After a week of not being able to log in or access any information I dropped. Everyone told me I dropped in time. Now a debt collector is stating I owe them 1,800$. They are threatening legal action. Meanwhile I have a message on my voicemail of Jones asking me to re-enroll. Scam! [Read more]

Read all 22 Jones International University reviews...



Learn More about Jones International University



Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Old Comments

Nov. 23, 2010, 10:30 p.m.
0 votes/
POOR CHOICE! The staff at JIU is completely incompetent.  They cannot even fill out a  simple form that is needed by Veteran Affairs certifying my enrollment. This is supposed to be a military affiliated school and they do not even know what the form is.  

Sonovia Duncan
(Senior Financial Aid Officer/VA Certifier) was rude and hung up on me.  She told me that she would not sign the provided form because she does not know exactly what it is.  This has been going on for three weeks now.  I have explained what the form is several times. It is not my fault that she has not received proper training.  

I would not recommend this school to anyone.  Go elsewhere.  My husband and I will be transferring schools.  This is not the first instance with the staff that has led to this decision.
Nov. 23, 2010, 10:29 p.m.
-1 vote/
POOR CHOICE! The staff at JIU is completely incompetent.  They cannot even fill out a  simple form that is needed by Veteran Affairs certifying my enrollment. This is supposed to be a military affiliated school and they do not even know what the form is.  

Sonovia Duncan
(Senior Financial Aid Officer/VA Certifier) was rude and hung up on me.  She told me that she would not sign the provided form because she does not know exactly what it is.  This has been going on for three weeks now.  I have explained what the form is several times. It is not my fault that she has not received proper training.  

I would not recommend this school to anyone.  Go elsewhere.  My husband and I will be transferring schools.  This is not the first instance with the staff that has led to this decision.
Nov. 10, 2010, 6:08 a.m.
0 votes/
Overall I enjoyed the classes very much.  I understood the materials discussed and actually found it relevant in my line of work.  BE PREPARED though.  The people running the Financial Aids office are morons.  You'd think someone dealing with money would understand the fundamentals of credit and debits.  I don't care of they use a third party for the incoming/outgoing wires/disbursement.  Where is the responsibility to make sure that their associates are doing what they're hired to do?  "I don't know" isn't good enough, epsecially when an issue dragged on for a year out of a 2-year program.
Oct. 27, 2010, 11:35 p.m.
0 votes/
I attend JIU and will receve my MBA in December. I found the courses to be challenging and the professors very helpful. I do not think the school is as bad as people say. My experiences were good. Students will work at JUI so be prepared. 

Sincerely,
Gary
Oct. 7, 2010, 4:11 p.m.
0 votes/
Be aware!!!!

I filed a complaint regarding JIU today about issues with a refund they did back to my University.. Here's what I wrote..

----- Forwarded Message -----
From: 
To: StudentAffairs@international.edu
Sent: Thursday, October 7, 2010 10:02:58 AM
Subject: Complaint

My name is Audrey, and I am a former employee of JIU. I have been attending JIU since April 2010 and still to this date even though I am no longer employed by JIU. I totally believe in JIU and like what you all have to offer. 

This is a complaint regarding accounting manager Heidi B. I called with a simple question and was originally speaking to Mary K and had been calling regarding a wire that they had sent back to Direct Loans in September 8, 2010 for $4,394.00. According to Direct Loans I had called them two weeks ago and they had no wire and/or check that had been sent back do to me going less than half time. I called them again today Direct Loans and again they have no proof that a wire has been sent to them. This time they will be sending me a letter that I will receive in 7-10 days that will say they have no wire from JIU. 

I explained this to Mary K and she had informed me that usually it will take Direct Loans 30-60 days to apply credit and according to Direct Loans that is not true. All I asked Mary K for was a confirmation number so that I can give to Direct Loans and she put me on hold and got me over to Heidi B. 

First of all Heidi B. was upset and would not even let me get a word in. She was rude, and I had to tell her to calm down and she was upset by me telling her that even more. Finally after she calmed down she said that they use an outside party for refunds and wires. I let her know that made a lot of sense why she nor Mark K could not tell me. Heidi B. said that I would need to contact Stacey B. with Financial aid and she would transfer me however, before she transfered my she ask were you a former employee here at JIU and I said yes and she transfered me. 

When the phone started ringing Heidi B. picked up and she said very rude and loud.. Audrey I said call Stacey B. and I tried to tell her that the transfer did not go through and she hung up the phone.

Now I know that this job can get frustrating however No one deserves to get this type of treatment no one. I would like an official apology from Heidi B. for the treatment I received from her.

Sincerely,

Audrey.
Sept. 23, 2010, 5:36 p.m.
0 votes/
I am currently enrolled in this school and it is rather easy.  It doesnt take much to get an A in any course.  The messed up my financial aid and I have been waiting over 2 months for a disbursement.  When I contact them about the situation i get no reply.  They were really anxious to get me in and now their hands are up in the air when I need help.  If I was not 3 courses from graduation i would disenroll.
Aug. 14, 2010, 10:34 p.m.
0 votes/
I was enrolled at JIU from January through June of 2010.  I have switched to another university that I found offered the Phd program I actually wanted.  In the time I spent at JIU I found that my academic and financial aid advisors were great!  Unlike some of the experiences others have had, mine were all positive.  Yes, JIU is expensive, but it is less expensive than many of the online alernatives.  Yes, some of the professors could use some additional instruction themselves, but I think that is the case at any university.  All in all, I think JIU is on the right track and would recommend them to anyone seeking an online education!  If things do not work out with my new university, I may just head back to JIU!
July 23, 2010, 5:24 p.m.
0 votes/
Well I two just recently enrolled at JIU online, and I will say I am in between. I love my classes, and I think they are challenging enough. On the other hand the staff from the enrollment conselors, academic advisor, financial aid staff all SUCK.... I am working full time, going to school fulltime, and doing the work for them. I never get a call from anyone following up on my financial aid and other paperwork that has been missing. I have to do the outreach, and when I do it takes me hours or days to hear back from anyone whether email or phone. This part has been a nightmare for me.
May 23, 2010, 5:14 p.m.
0 votes/
I have an MBA from JIU and also working on my M.Ed through them.  I have gained a lot of high credibility from the school since joining.  I am currently a chairman of a business program and also an online professor for business and General education for several online/on ground campuses.  I own my own training business "757 ITC".  The point is, no mattter what degree you obtain, it is what you apply in the end. Jones International University is an awesome platform to launch your career endeavors, with great professors and technology to assist you going forward.  I still maintain contact with my professors today, they are from around the world.  Thats another beauty about JIU, Obtaining a world class perspective, i.e. studying Marketing with a professor from london and students studying from other countries, talk about perspectives.

Good Luck to all of you.

Shaun Manzano, M.B.A,
May 29, 2012, 10:05 p.m.
0 votes/
Every single negative review on this forum is correct...please reconsider if you are thinking about attending this place...Financial Aid is a JOKE for real...this is my first and last semester at this school.
May 23, 2012, 2:31 p.m.
0 votes/
This is the worst school to even THINK about attending. They are on the verge of losing accreditation, so for all of you who are wanting to attend, or just started, the school is "On Notice", meaning they have their accreditation; however, they have to "clean up" their acts on some things. JIU won't tell you this when you call and ask them about it. They tell you to email them and all they "claim" they have is an email address. DO NOT GO! If you are finishing up, great! I wouldn't recommend taking time off to come back, because you may come back to a school that isn't even recognized. Their faculty in the Education Department (both JIU faculty and professors) give very poor service. Don't do it to  yourself. And then, when people ask you what school you attend, and you say Jones International University, they say "What? What's that?" HA! NO one has heard of them. Gold standard online university... YEAH right! You're better off going to Caplan or Liberty or some other well KNOWN school with better all around service. 
May 12, 2012, 2:02 a.m.
-1 vote/
very good, it's very useful to me, thank you very much!
Jan. 18, 2012, 2:23 a.m.
-1 vote/
Professors were great, classes were mediocre (boring!), projects were redundant, mentoring was random and not appropriate for a doctorate level situation, and student services (or what they like to call "advising") was NOT advising at all. In fact, due to 3 "glitches" on their part, I was delayed... and let's not even talk about trying to get someone to actually give you advice or help you. Overall, they get the job done, but for the $$ they charge, you'd expect a LOT more. 
Nov. 28, 2011, 6:16 p.m.
-1 vote/
How do I apply for a loan discharge.
I was scammed by a online college, and services were not provided. I did received 2 checks from them to be able to buy my books and notebook, but they signed me to classes before theses checks arrived so I could have access to the services, this was one in several issues I had with the school.
I need someone to help me ASAP, as I would like to pursuing my degree but this time with a local college. I think the department of education should investigate colleges further before approving loans within them. I had no idea in what I was putting my self through the whole online college education became a stressful nightmare. The first person who approach me from JIU from their admissions department was did not provide me with the true. English is my second language and I got my degree in Brazil. She said my English would be sufficient to understand and follow the classes and the teachers would be helpful and patience with me. Well not true. I had questions about assignments try to log in into their servers numerous times without success, got no answers on several emails I sent to instructors seeking for help in trying to understand the whole JIU system and assignments. My next issue with them was that they assigned me to classes without my knowledge since I was already failing for not understand how to work the system and not being able to properly follow classes due to my poor written English and understanding and comprehending the entire classes by myself. To make things worst in July 7 I suffered a car accident and was out for treatments during 60 days.
I view the whole JIU as the biggest education scammed one can possibly imagine. You get approach by a nice sales person who talks you into the whole college process saying how easy it will be and the many scholarship and grants they will be able to get for you so the entire process will be basically almost cost free. The first two sets of classes instructors were very nice and helpful you get a call weekly from a guidance counselor, but this is just so until they get hands on the money they make you liable for.
I am very sad for believing them and ask your help in how I can solve this whole situation
Oct. 8, 2011, 1:37 a.m.
0 votes/
I have a question does anyone knows how financial aid refund works. starting school on the 2nd of October and on October 3rd it said,  it tell me the check#/ref and the amount balance is that what I owe the school or my refund. One more thing after the school receive their money when do i get my disbursement check 
Oct. 1, 2011, 6:32 p.m.
0 votes/
So far i have had best experience learning with Jones International University I am an MBA from Pune University from India and completing MBA Information Technology I hope the best from the University
April 22, 2010, 4:41 p.m.
0 votes/
I am just completing my MBA here and have found the instruction to be relevant and stimulating. I have been able to use my course projects in my current work enviroment on a daily basis and feel strongly that the curriculum has been directly responsible for the raped growth of both my salary and position. Great school!
Feb. 19, 2010, 3:58 p.m.
0 votes/
I am currently working on my masters in curriculum, instruction, and assessment.  I really like it so far.  It is a lot of work! I spend hours a week reading, and more hours writing.  I think the education program is very strong! It is just as hard as if I were sitting in any of my classes I attended in person.
Feb. 10, 2010, 4:12 p.m.
0 votes/
I have found JIU to be a good fit for me.  I am a professional that wanted to go back to school part time and found that Jones International fits into my busy work week well.  I am about 1/3 of the way completed and have found the courses to be informative, real life and enjoyable.
Dec. 5, 2009, 5:52 p.m.
0 votes/
I am thinking about JIU for an MBA with a Healthcare concentration.  I read an above post about 20% for military veterans (which I am). Can anyone give me an idea of the costs to obtain this degree?  My wife and I have started an new business so money may be an issue.
Nov. 22, 2009, 2:22 a.m.
0 votes/
Has anyone enrolled or have experience with JIU's MBA with a concentration in Healthcare management?  I would appreciate the feedback.
Nov. 8, 2009, 4:24 p.m.
+1 vote/
Jones is the WORST.  I would go as far as saying don't even bother with checking into it.  I am getting a Masters in Business Communication with an emphasis on Project Management.  You would think my thesis would be on my concentration, but it's not.  It's on Action Research which is teaching different things that what are taught in the PM classes.  So while I want to be a PM, I am writing a thesis on something completely different.  

They have one class to prepare you for the final class.  What the instructor taught in the preparatory class was completely different than what I found in the final class.  I got an A in the preparatory class, but nothing I learned nor the papers I wrote were acceptable in the final class.

To make matters worse, right now they are "upgrading" their system and now the access to the classes is gone.  That's right - we have no access to the classes, the assignments, etc.  It's a joke.

This school is a joke.  It really is.  People rave about it because it's easy.  I once turned in an assignment but forgot to attach the paper.  The instructor commented, "Good work, Lucy!" and gave me an A.  There was no assignment attached.  It's a joke.

Oh yeah, and I've had more academic counselors than I have variety of instructors.  Don't bother with this school.
Oct. 28, 2009, 3:05 p.m.
0 votes/
I'm starting from scratch and never attended college but I hoping that I can grab on to everything that is about to be put before me. Real nervous about maneuvering through the website.  Hopefully I will able to do my first paper. Real nervous. Any suggestions out there?
Oct. 27, 2009, 1:38 a.m.
0 votes/
I have taken two classes so far. Im enrolled in the Master of Education program. The classes are challenging.  I spend about 5 hours a week reading, 3-5 hours on my first weekly assignment, and 3-5 hours on my second assignment. My final paper is usually around 30-40 pages long, including an abstract, reference page and appendices. The class design is great for adults who are working and have busy schedules. The academic books they select for you are great. Each class has an individual project designed to incorporate theories into practice so you better understand the concepts and reasoning behind them. Never had any problems with the main office and I doubt all the other happy and satisfied classmates of mine have. The quality of my classmates differ. Some have great writing abilities and other have great ideas. Everyone is different, the difference is that you see everyone's work - something I never did in a B&M so I would never know how well others did. Maybe at my B&M, the students did poor work or maybe they did excellent work. Point is, I have  been very happy I selected JIU after extensive research. The Internet is full of haters and losers, be careful aobut what you read and who is writing it. Good luck!
Oct. 6, 2009, 8:05 p.m.
0 votes/
I agree with Maria, Jones has been the biggest let down in terms of the quality I expected for the high tuition costs.  Instructors fail to reply to questions, there have been several errors in which classes I was supposed to take, I've had to take an extra quarter of classes because I was given two courses which weren't part of my degree.  I went to 2 years of junior college and struggled more there in one class than all of my classes at JIU put together.  It's a joke, I do my homework for all my classes for the week in 2 hours max. Also they've made errors that have cost me 800 dollars out of pocket.  Like when they had me order the wrong books and I had them shipped to Brazil where I live express. Nobody knows anything and whenever I have a question it takes about two weeks of e-mailing everyone in the faculty to get an answer.  That's because everybody seems to be on vacation when I call in.  It's been a terrible stress.  Plus even though I constantly make sure I don't want subsidized or unsubsidized loans somehow they make the mistake of putting them on my ISIR, which I have to correct every financial period.  Ridiculous honestly.

This school is a money grubbing joke, they have counselors that are students who get discounts on there degree programs and are kept dumb and uninformed of what's really going on.  The poor guys are left to handle everything without knowing how to handle the situation.  The School has hardly any upfront for staffing or materials yet still rapes it's students for far below par level education.  They must be paying someone to keep there accreditation marks.  Everyone who liked the school likes it because it's easy as pie to finish.  The sad part however is when they enter the real world and realize they didn't learn anything at JIU.
July 20, 2009, 5:42 p.m.
0 votes/
The WORST university.  I would not recommend this school to anyone for any reason.  I've had problems with this school on just about every level.  The right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing ... I've also had the same instructor for 5 classes ... the level of instruction is poor ... they seem to let everyone in because the level of writing of the students is terrible.  Just got off the phone with them to un-register me for a class that is not even in my degree program ... Either this is par for the course, or I'm the one in a million that has this many problems with them.  Either way, I would not recommend this school.
June 3, 2009, 8:15 p.m.
0 votes/
I have just entered the Doctorate of Business program at JIU.  I'm a veterean and love the way the treat their military and veterans.  Because I served my country I got a 20% scholarship which knocks off a nice chunk of the overall cost.  Also, the folks at JIU are awesome.  This is an excellent accredited school and would be a great choice IMHO.
Feb. 11, 2009, 2:55 p.m.
0 votes/
I am about to graduate with my BA in Admin FROM JIU, it took me almost five years to complete my degree from scratch but it was all worth it. The classes are very challenging but worth it because it is designed in a way that allows you to directly incorporate what you have learned to your professional life. My experience was one of a kind and worth every dollar. I highly recomend this university for any serious student who values a high level of education.
Jan. 2, 2009, 11:49 p.m.
0 votes/
I am a recent graduate of JIU- the Masters of Education program.  I am very happy with the education I received.  The classes were great, professors were great.  I only have positive things to say.  If you are considering JIU, look no further.
May 26, 2011, 5:13 p.m.
0 votes/
have you found a job teaching? I am applying to JIU for Masters in Education and I wanted to know if you have had a lot of job offers 
Sept. 28, 2008, 11:06 p.m.
0 votes/
No, John, not all colleges are "for profit."  Please educate yourself on the term and how it relates to institutions of higher education.

A Professor
June 10, 2008, 11:17 p.m.
0 votes/
All colleges are "for profit" you moron. How else do coaches and other ranking staff get such fat bonuses?
Jan. 3, 2008, 8:48 p.m.
0 votes/
Anyone can give me some feed back about this school?
Sept. 15, 2007, 8:06 p.m.
0 votes/
Jones International University is a "for profit" university.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Jones International University in any way.