Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Jones International University

  • Ranking: #62
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation:

2.9
26 Reviews
5 9 
4 3 
3 2 
2 5 
1 7 
0 0 

Jones International University Reviews:

Miss you sad I did not complete

M.Ed. Educational Administration & Leadership - January 13, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Miss this school! Ok set the record straight. It was a lot of hard and I mean hard work. Deadlines,partners,papers,reading,internship etc....Some personal stuff happened at the end of my Doctorate degree and even the Dean yes the Dean and CEO and Professors called me.. I could have used more insight an help during my Principal internship that was hard to get on my own but I accomplished that task nd passed my exam too. My comp exam is where I failed life was failing me and I could not swim anymore. It just wasn't my time yet.. Brenda The school could have been a bit less confusing with doubling assignments organization mainly and they fixed it after I was done.

Was this review helpful?

Scam

BA - October 16, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Had a half load of classes. Took the first year of classes no problems passing every class. Then my counselor enrolled me into an English class I already took. I tried to drop the class before the 2 week period was up and was told it was a couple day processes. Called back after a 3 days, the last day of the 2 week period, and was told it was too late to drop the class.

Was this review helpful?

Acandy

MBA-General - February 19, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Up until now I questioned my decision attend JIU. JIU told me that they in my last semester since I am only takig one course that they wont order my financial aide until the 8th week and that I wont receive all of the funds until after I graduate per the federal student aide department. If this is happening to you please comment. They are not follow some rules or something.

Was this review helpful?

WoW!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Elementary Curriculum,Instruction,and Assessment w/Licensure - April 22, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had many issues with JIU and with a lot of hard work (on my part) and time I was able to get some type of help. It was often that the help I needed was not useful I did continue with my Second Masters In Elementary Education. I do agree with comments made about student support services, financial aid, however my issue is more in depth. If you noticed I stated second Masters so does this make me any smarter than any of you? Well it should have but it didn't! I should have checked this college out better than what I did, meaning I am disabled and have had several life changing events while attending school The latest being surgery on eye, which left a huge cataract. I was in the flood where I had over 5 feet of water in my home. I lost school work and pretty much everything else. I asked JIU to honor a leave of absence for medical reasons and was told no. I had to fight, I mean fight with JIU to give me an involuntary leave which messed up my financial aid. I explained to them that I would need another eye surgery to correct the last one and that I had to have another hip surgery (by the way which will be worse than the first)because the hip I was given is being recalled. I fall and am in pain 24/7 365. This surgery is scheduled for May 20th. I have finished all the classes with a 3.49 GPA and have the 2 student teaching rotations and my certification test left. Did JIU understand any of this, NO! I was told that if I was not back in class by June 1, 2014 I would be KICKED OUT! WOW, I have taken this complaint to the BBB and other agencies because JIU feels that they can treat their students any kind of way and have stated to me several times "I COULD TELL WHOM EVER I WANTED THEY CAN DO WHAT THEY WANT TO DO!" Well I will continue to fight for my education not only because it is the right thing to do, but BECAUSE I WANT TO HELP OUR CHILDREN! Lost and Confused

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Pretty Comparable to Most Online Universities

MABC - February 23, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Pretty comparable to most online universities. I have earned two degree and a certificate from three different online universities. Teachers are very responsive, and often use text, phone, and Skype to interact with students. If I would happen to pursue another degree I would not hesitate to enroll again at JIU.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Foul school

M.Ed. Educational Administration & Leadership - September 20, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school needs to be shut down. I feel bad for all the existing students still trying to obtain their degree here. I worked at this place and they would seriously do everyone a favor by shutting down shop. High turn over and you get a different answer to your question depending on who you ask.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

thirty grand gone!

MABC - July 26, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I might as well have voted for Obama than expect any respect for a Masters degree from this joke of a school. I have gotten drunk with many of the faculty in the final stages of old age and their golden parachute funded by my federal dollars. I turned in complete garbage for most of my assignments and still managed to graduate with honors.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Jones International University Technology and Cybercrime

M.Ed. Educational Administration & Leadership - May 2, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was only setting up an application for the course, but the pushie admission advisor had me registered. I told her that I was not trying to register yet and she assured me that it was not a registration and only an application. She lied. I am already registered against my will.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Something wrong here

BA - January 1, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My son was called by Jones International University about taking on-line classes which he was thinking about taking in the future. After explaining to the person on the other end of the line that he had just gotten out of the hospital after suffering from a severe case of Infectious encephalitis (inflammation of the brain) and was still suffering from memory problems the person on the other end tried to get my son to sign up for classes starting Jan 2013 and to apply for financial aid to pay for the classes. After listening to my son asking "What do I put in this block" time after time I went over to see what he was doing. He was filling out the form to apply for financial aid over the internet on his laptop. Sorry but if a person can not remember what city he lives in, his street address or what his first name is perhaps you should not be having him apply for financial aid. Yes my son is interested in going back to school when he gets better which is why he was trying to get information. Perhaps it would be a good idea to have him fill out the forms when he knows and can understand what he is doing.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Scam alert.

M.Ed. Educational Administration & Leadership - October 30, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is a scam. They offer a four week "no risk". It is bogus. After a week of not being able to log in or access any information I dropped. Everyone told me I dropped in time. Now a debt collector is stating I owe them 1,800$. They are threatening legal action. Meanwhile I have a message on my voicemail of Jones asking me to re-enroll. Scam!

Was this review helpful?

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Worst experience ever!! Run do not go to this school it should be shut down!!

MED K-12 Curriculum Instruction and Assessment - October 22, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Let me start off by saying this school is the worst school ever, they lie to you to get you on aboard with a degree only to find out that where I live its not credited. Oh they may say they are fully accredited school where they are but not where I live. I can not use their degree its just a expensive piece of paper. I couldn't even get any help with exams here where I live they told me to go to another state to pass. Hello I live in this state not another state I have a family I am not going to move just because you won't help me pass the exam for a license here. If I would of know all these things I would never have applied, talked to adviser anything. Plus speaking of advisers I never had one adviser they changed advisers like people change their socks. So please if anyone is going to think about this school, DON'T do it, its a waste of time and money, plus stress.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 16 people found the following review helpful

LOVED IT!!!!

MED K-12 Curriculum Instruction and Assessment - August 3, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I personally had a very easy time with this program. I got the financial aid I needed, my classes were perfect in my learning. I was able to work full time while getting my masters which worked perfect with my lifestyle. I recieved my degree on the exact day I thought I would! It was a wonderful experience, the teachers were great and I enjoyed every minute of it.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 11 people found the following review helpful

RUN!!!

BA - June 12, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you are looking for a good online school experience this is not the school for you. Unfortunately, I have too much invested to switch or believe me I would. Financial aid is a joke, rather the school aids themselves with YOUR money. I have repeatedly complained to student affairs for a lack of care handled on my account. Every term since the beginning my financial aid funds have been inaccurate, sent late and handled by a staff completely incompetent. This review may sound harsh but I truly believe it needs to be voiced so others don't get suckered in like myself. Save your time and money (JIU is among the highest tuition among other online choices)along with HORRIBLE in student services. Class courses could be challenging but a lack of feedback from professors has me wondering if anyone reads coursework handed in (punctuation errors, grammar, etc.) This school is only interested in receiving YOUR money. RUN!!

Was this review helpful?

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Horrible

MED K-12 Curriculum Instruction and Assessment - May 25, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Where to start... well the student support is horrible at best. Confusion abounds on what the requirements are for graduating. I was allowed to take capstone courses based on state exams I took, yet when it comes to official graduation those tests suddenly became invalid. What? After two years I would call this school mildly effective at best and a money grab at worst. My capstone courses had nearly zero support from my teachers. I had to arrange and finalize my own student teaching sessions with little to zero assistance. My mentor teachers pretty much in every case gave JIU "zeros" in terms of support - my first mentor never even got a single correspondence from my prof. Add up what it will cost you to this school and then invest it in lawn seed. Your yield in the end will be better.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

The positives and the negatives...

MBA-General - May 6, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled. Positives. Great career counselor. No problems with financial aid. Overall a very pleasant experience. Technology. You are exposed to it, but it you do not know how to use it, what good is it. I was told I would learn how to build charts and graphs in excel. Sorry, no one to help from the school in real time. Most teachers are good, because they have worked in the real world and not just the classroom. Then there are those who are just old school and will give you only 10 out of 50 points because you accidentally used the 5th Ed instead of 6th Ed or forgot to punctuate correctly. These are the teachers I find too harsh. They have only taught in the classrooms and have no business experience. Put the instructions in ONE place in the module! Teachers should be limited to the standards of the school manual. Do not write a dissertation! Give me the bullet points! I do not have time to decipher your directions! I work, I have kids, and I need what is just straightforward expectations. Again, I have loved most of the teachers I have had. The classes are not easy by any means. But a great teacher inspires and helps you through your difficulties. Those are the ones I want to learn from. A couple of classes have required way more than the 15-20 hours a week due to not only reading the chapters, but all the extra papers, simulations, videos. I feel a review needs to be done on some of the classes to set just how much of this "extra" stuff they can include. School should be hard, but not 35-40 hours a week for one class. I love the school, it is just the mean teachers that piss me off. I AM paying their wage by attending this school! JIU administration needs to take reviews of these kinds of teachers seriously. Thank You.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Best decision ever!

MBA - Project Management - February 23, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I love JIU, it was a completely error free process. Admissions Counselors are awesome, the support team was solid, I really feel like I cannot lose here. Project management is certified by the PMI as well and I'll be graduating in 4 months from March ready to take my PMP!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful

What a big mistake JIU was!

MBA - Project Management - February 15, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The most incompetent student services I have ever encountered in any educational program. JIU "double counted", (an accounting term) my credits that allowed the JIU financial aid system to throw me out of their system, because instead of having 21 credits, up to date, it actually showed 42 credits in my 36 credit hour program. This action by the JIU financial aid department disrupted my whole MBA program and took 4 months to get me back on track to finally complete my degree program. This JIU experience was a total nightmare! Save yourself the grief and don't even consider this online Jones International University scam.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Re-think your decision

M.Ed. Educational Administration & Leadership - September 9, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school was chosen by me because of the convenience that it offered. The professors are good and the curriculum is acceptable. The concerns that I have are with the financial aid department. The stipends that you are to receive from your funds, are always sent out 2-3 months later than they are supposed to be. They tell you that they are having trouble with the department and it is almost time for the next disbursement before you get your late one. They do not know how to handle accounts. The staff is very unprofessional and uncaring and make excuses for their mistakes. The cost is also extremely high which means that the majority of your disbursement is eaten up in their charges. I would not recommend this school to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Expensive, bad services and little learning required.

MABC - March 22, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is one of the most expensive universities in the US. My papers have never been corrected for gramatical errors and it shows in the forums that other students are not either. At the master's level, AT LEAST basic grammar should be required. The BIGGEST issues is the lack of support and service. My "academic advisor" is still working on his bachelor's degree yet is "advising" me on my master's. Financial aid is a joke!!!!!!! I have been burned so many times that I started checking weekly to make sure I didn't have to pay out of pocket again. Even after being told in writing on 7 separate occassions (over 7 weeks), it was messed up again. Several hours of phone calls finally got it fixed a few weeks later. My financial aid was received a month ago an I still haven't received my refund. I filed taxes 2 weeks after JIU had my money and I got my taxes sooner. SAVE YOUR TIME AND MONEY!! There are a few state schools that offer online degrees. It's a better reputation, better support and less money. I transferred to Colorado State University and couldn't be happier!

Was this review helpful?

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Great School- Military friendly!

MABC - February 1, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently a student with JIU in their MBA program. I truely enjoy this program and institution for many reasons. This is the only school that i know of that offers the same military pricing for Vets and spouses that they offer to actives. Not only that but they truely have all the support I nee to get through this program with confidence. I am excited to finish this degree and put it to use. You cant go wrong with JIU!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

You'll work for your degree

MABC - December 17, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

JIU isn't really used by students in California, so I heard about it via word of mouth. I am a police officer in a very busy city. A "brick and mortar" school isn't for us and we just don't have the time. After researching a multitude of online programs, I found that JIU was a legitimate institution that wasn't a paper-mill. I wanted to earn my degree and truly learn. I ended up investing a lot of time into each class and took about two at a time. My entire program was only 1 year! Overall, it was an excellent program. It was kind of expensive, but I feel like it was worth the price. Professors make themselves available to the student and I never felt like I was on my own. I was assigned personal academic and financial aid advisers to assist with my experience. That was a perk! Great school. You get what you pay for, so choose wisely when shopping.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Great School

MBA - Project Management - October 30, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall, JIU has been a great experience for me. I had initial reservations about online, but the support, the quality and the knowledgable and approachable staff and professors has really made JIU an unforgettable experience. I love that the MBA Project Management program is actually written with the Project Management Institute, so that I can be confident that my degree will prepare me to sit in for the PMP exam.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

really happy

MABC - October 20, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was pleasantly surprised at how much interaction I had with my professors. When I ran into trouble areas (in my Capstone class), my professor went out of her way to contact me early and set me on the right path. I really enjoyed the experience of school again at 5o years of age!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Excellent

M.Ed. Educational Administration & Leadership - October 14, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am working toward my Master's in Education at JIU. I must say that it is working out very well. I work full-time and have a family, but the organization of the courses is manageable. The professors have been very active and supportive, and I even feel that I have gotten to know my classmates. They make you feel that your success is a goal for them.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful

J.I.U. is tops in online universities!

MABC - October 7, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

One of the best online universities for continuing education. The staff, professors, and students excel all acceptations based on my own personal experience.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Great Experience

M.Ed. Educational Administration & Leadership - March 29, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

From the Admissions Counselor, to Academic Advisor, to instructors, I found the staff at JIU to be great. They bent over backwards for me. The website was reliable, books arrived on time, the library was more than sufficient. Classes are project based and related directly to my professional career. I had no problem having previous graduate credit transferred. There are online universities that are less expensive, but you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Jones International University in any way.