Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Kennedy Western University

2.9
53 Reviews
5 5 
4 22 
3 7 
2 5 
1 14 
0 0 

Kennedy Western University Reviews:

Quality Manager

Engineering - February 6, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had gone to a brick and mortar business college and received 3 Associate Degrees. Having no schools in my area that offered a BS degree unless you attended day school, I enrolled in KWU and got my BS Degree in Quality Control and Quality Assurance Engineering in 1992. This was paid for by the company whom I worked for after they checked on the school's accreditation and reviewed my credits and assigned courses. I have seen on line criticisms of the school and realize the critics did not attend the school nor did they review the course work required. So how can they comment on the quality of the school? Myself, I had to read all the course books and having already been in QA/QC field for many years recognized the authors of the books to be the prime references in the QA/QC field world wide....Deming, Crosby, Bhote',Juran, and Taguchi. Likewise, I had to take tests on the material. In a number of cases I was not sure of the answer and found I had to read some of the material more than once to find the answer and/or make sure of the facts....a THOROUGH education. I applied for, did the course work, wrote my Thesis, and acquired my Master's degree in 1996. Now retired, I can fondly look back on the "Quality Manager" position I held in a number of companies. Each new company was a step up in size of the organization, the size of the QA/QC department, the number of people and multiple Quality Standard Certifications our companies won (ISO-9002, ISO-9001, QS-9000, TS16949, ISO-14001, CQI-9, AS9100b, Ford Q1, AS910C,and NADCAP.. All primed for success with the education I got at KWU.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Fine line to determine a diploma mill

Engineering - November 11, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had completed a bachelors in Electrical Engineering years back from an "Accredited" University, and decided to continue my education by completing the masters program at KWU. While I immediately noticed the coursework was not as intense in Mathematics as my BS degree, the coursework was not at arbitrary or mundane...it was very good and on topic for the electronics fabrication industry. I nearly finished my masters degree when KWU dropped the program then closed. There was not ANY online colleges offering the same type course work related to my degree. I am upset not to have finished my degree, but I live in one of the states that eventually passed a law to not recognize KWU diploma. I remember my frustration with the accredited colleges taking hours and hours of classes that didn't have anything to do with my area of study. I'm glad others found the course work thorough and challenging, maybe different than other courses, but valid and useful for working people. This is a case that the result of the study seemed more of a which hunt with people whose minds were already made up. Non-accredited in certain states is much different than the term diploma mill. This was not the latter.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Diploma Mill - Closed but still in circulation

Healthcare Administration - August 30, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This diploma mill was shut down several years ago, but the "degrees" are still in circulation, as a cursory look through LinkedIn or other sites will show. The unaccredited school changed locations several times, and names once as Kennedy Western University / Warren National University. The most detailed information about this business can be found in a Senate Diploma Mill investigation titled "Bogus Degrees and Unmet Expectations, Are Taxpayer Dollars Subsidizing Diploma Mills" I personally applied to the PhD program with a real MBA. Based on a brief conversation with their staff, they waived over 50% of the course requirements based on "life experience". This was consistent with the findings in the Diploma Mill investigation. The coursework for a PhD was laughable and I cut my losses after only a small $$ investment.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful

PhD from Kennedy Western University

Healthcare Administration - August 20, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from KWU in 2002 with PhD in Healthcare Administration. I had previously earned a BSN, and MSN from a large accredited university. I was also a registered nurse. I had a strong desire to earn a PhD. I applied to KWU and as others have stated, took a test and supplied information on previous academic experiences. I worked for my PhD and learned more that I actually thought I would since I had never experienced on line course work. The faculty member that served as my advisor was employed at a well respected university and was a great help to me. Earning a PhD served as a valuable tool in my profession. I performed a research study in diabetes and completed my desertion using the research results. My regret is that I did not follow the advice of my advisor to have the desertion published. I could never have accomplished earning a PhD without the online corse from KWU. We must keep in mind that KWU was brave as a pioneer in virtual learning. There were few, if any virtual learning programs in the 1990s. Let us applaud this group of professionals who had the courage to step up and take advantage of technology for advanced learning. I worked full time while earning my PhD. I studied and did my classwork in the evenings and on weekends. This took discipline,integrity, and many long hours. I feel like I did offer something to the community and to the people who have diabetes by my efforts by improving knowledge and passing that on to others. I will have to admit that when the news came out about KWU being a diploma mill, I was reluctant to tell anyone where I earned my PhD. After reading the good reviews about KWU, I felt strongly that I should write this review. Congratulations to those of us who will stand up for a school that for whatever reason closed. I will never be ashamed of saying that I received my PhD from KWU. Betty Powell Sherouse, PhD

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Bachelor Degree Obtained

Business Administration - May 26, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received my Bachelor Degree in October 2005. Prior to entering the program, I had KW send me documents and paperwork to allow a review by my company to occur, prior to me enrolling. They accommodated and a complete review was performed by our company HR organization. Upon completion of the review, I received approval to enroll and was authorized to receive tuition reimbursement. Once I submitted my enrollment paperwork I had to complete a series of tests, through KW, to ensure I was eligible to enroll. They were not just simple exams. Upon completion of the exams with a passing grade, I was told I would receive some credit for my previous working experience, but was only given a certain number of credits for that work. I was then provided a total number of classes I would be required to take in order to finish up a degree. It took me two years to complete the classes identified, write a 100 page document, submit it and receive approval, prior to receiving my diploma. I am proud to say I received my degree in October, 2005. I am certainly disappointed that I was not aware of this diploma mill situation until after the fact. I found my experience with KW to be extremely difficult but yet rewarding. To date my company has used my degree to allow me to move forward within the company and continue to allow me to broaden my horizons.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Good school

Engineering - December 21, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

While not being nationally accredited, the company I worked for, a nation wide telecom company, found their program acceptable for people like me who worked too far from a brick and mortar school. They paid for my BSEE, accepted it, and promoted and paid me as a an individual with a degree. I found the course work challenging, and the proctor administered tests tough. The hardest part was writing the 135 page final paper. It is too bad that the school had to close because it fell into disrepute because of other non accredited diploma mills. KWU was definitely not one of those.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

An Inquiry Into The Principals of Total Quality Management and The ISO 9000 Quality Standards and Their Application To The Safety Function

Engineering: Safety - December 9, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from K.W. in 2002 and my thesis was copyrighted. I retired in 2011. My K.W. masters degree in Safety Engineering was accepted by all my employers, OSHA and attorneys without question. I am proud to be a K.W. graduaate.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Worthwhile

Business Administration - November 7, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

KWU/Warren National University is a quality education at an affordable price. Top notch support and use of on-line materials. Accredited through the state of Wyoming, they applied for regional accreditation, but could not afford the process in the economic downturn in 2008, so they closed. There are thousands of brilliant and satisfied graduates throughout the world who would agree with my assessment.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

You comments will effect how people perceive your degeree

MBA - September 25, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school offered me an opportunity to continue my education. Even though they never received accreditation, it did not devalue the learning experience. I have a BA degree from a college that is accredited and after I received my degree an employee in my area would not hire employees from this school because of the bad experience they had from gradutes of that school. Education is what a person makes of it and then uses the skills in the workplace. I have a complaint about these certificate programs offered in the medical field. I know people going to a 3 month program and getting a certificate. These people are being employed in the medical field taking your blood pressure, taking blood, doing EKGs and reading them. REALLY!!! How is this happening? Kenneday Western offered people the opportunity to learn requiring them to study, take tests and write papers. Yet they were not accredited but these certificate programs (which are a slap in the face to colleges) are recognized. I know no one will read this but I have voiced by opinion.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

?

Engineering - September 7, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I got a PhD from KW and now I'm getting a PhD from an accredited traditional University. I find them different. But to say an education by the format of KW is ignorant in the true sense of the word. What I learned via the KW format has served me well. When I finish my second PhD I will attempt to return to this page and tell the God's honest truth about the KW education and the value it was to me. As an adult learner I did my research and learned a ton. I didn't require a professor 24/7. I was able to go right to the authors of the books or the experts in the field of study to get my questions answered via the wonders of the internet. In some ways I worked harder and learned more than the traditional way. Well as soon as I get that second PhD I will be able attest to the value of both methods. BTW the KW one cost me 10 K and the accredited one about 50 K. It's all about the money and who's in the club people. Come on!

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Degree Accepted at major corporation

Management Information Systems - August 28, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received a BS in the MIS program in 2000. This was before they had everything online. I would study the book for an hour every morning before work taking notes and reviewing weekly. Then at the end of the month I would go to a chosen proxy site who would administer my exam and verify I took it alone. I passed every class and received my diploma. I worked at Dell Computer at the time and could not apply for most upper level jobs because I did not have a BS level degree. I produced my degree to HR and was then allowed to apply for other jobs. My salary was increased by 30%. It took me six months to finish the classes and write the final paper. I was given credit for previous college courses and industry certifications that allowed me to reduce the number of classes. They did exactly what they said and I now make a lot more money because of that decision it changed everything. Most companies want to know you put the effort forth and do not really do much research. I work as an engineer today in the IT field and continue to have companies hire me and still recognize Kennedy Western as a requirement completed. I did sign up for the Masters program but never completed it, just got too busy and started traveling as a public speaker for Dell.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Good courses but not accredited

Engineering - July 24, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

KW's BSME course was difficult due to the non-classroom structure. However, the texts were first rate and the subject advisors were very helpful. Unfortunately KW folded before I finished my Masters so that is money down the drain.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Buildings or prestigious names doesn't make you intelligent

Business Administration - March 8, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had to have 60 hours credit, and pass a test before being accepted at Kennedy Western University. I didn't pass my test the first time and wasn't accepted in the program. I hired a tutor, and it took me nine months to pass the test and finally I was accepted in the program. My teachers were there for me, suggested expert tutors, taught me how to research pertinent information revelant to Business Administration, and to manage my time wisely. They suggested an internship and I acted on their suggestion. I volunteered at a local business on weekends and learned so much. Experience is one of the keys to success. I am proud to be a graduate of Kennedy Western University. My teachers were magnificent. Kennedy Western University was a private school and licensed in Wyoming like so many more colleges/universities. I studied hard and took each test in front of a proctor. My proctor never let me take one minute over the time that was alloted for a test, and he mailed the test. I am a success because I read, listened,and stayed focus. The organization I worked for gave me a 12,000.00 yearly increase because they saw a positive difference in me and the success of their organization after I graduated in 2002. Buildings or prestigious names doesn't make you intelligent.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Qualified but not Accredited

Business Administration - January 6, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Kennedy Western University has been instrumental in achieving my career goals. I was a director level manager of a fortune 500 company. I had reached a level in my career that a BSBA was required to position myself for the next executive level. To accomplish this goal an HR representative recommended KWU with the full financial support of the corporation. It was explained to me that Kennedy Western University was a mid-career institution supporting corporate managers meet their professional goals with accreditations. The course work was extensive and test proctored. My final exam was a 100 page theses. The theses was returned to me and was read by the professor, marked throughout the paper identifying mistakes with recommendations. In 2003 I received my degree. I continued to work my way up to an executive level position of a fortune 100 company for the past 6 years. I believe KWU was one of the pioneering online institutions. The professors were contracted from much larger fully accredited colleges and universities. My professors were excellent replying to question and supporting the learning process. It was not an issue of quality education rather it is mater of well-heeled institutions protecting & maintaining their competitive enrollment advantage at the time. Today most Colleges, Universities and Private Universities offer online programs as a norm. Kennedy Western University is not a degree mill it was simply an institution ahead of its time, I believe if they would have had more financial backing they would have received full accreditation. For those reading this post, I recommend looking into what it takes to become accredited a real eye opener you will be suppressed. Recently, I decided to pursue an MBA for personal satisfaction and learned of all the bad PR KWU had received and other institution not accepting KWU transcripts for further education. With Respects, Qualified but not accredited

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

I was told it was accredited

MBA - February 8, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was told when I enrolled in the school that it was accredited. I received my MBA in 2006 and am just finding out that it was not accredited. Was anyone else out there told the same thing?

Was this review helpful?

7 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Kennedy Western University Was a Major Help

Engineering - November 10, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Like so many others have said, my degree from KWU has been extremely helpful in advancing my career path in the petro-chemical environemental engineering field. The depth of learning is, like everywhere else, how far you wish to go, and the usefulness of the degree is what you make of it. In the mid nineties, when I enrolled, it was about the only option I had as a highly tasked executive in a quickly growing company. The instructional materials were top notch, and I had no problems with support at that time. Since completing the PHD program, the credential has definitely benn recognized by multinational corporations where field performance counts a whole lot more than "the brand" of the degree. Again, it is what you make of it.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Very dissappointed

Healthcare Administration - October 24, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my Healthcare Administration Degree at Kennedy Western and have never had an employer challenge it. The school was accredited (or falsely claimed it was) when I enrolled. The primary issue now is obtaining transcripts! I have divorced and moved across the country and cannot locate my original transcript. Everything I have read and followed through on as a transcript source has not panned out!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Help Please

Business Administration - August 28, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I already had two years college credits and was trying to finish my degree while working full time. I paid over $8,000.00 and took one class. I took off a few months due to working so much overtime but was told I had up to five years to complete my degree program. I called back about six months later due to I was unable to enroll online. I called and emailed them numerous times and never received a response. Can anyone advise if Western International is the same company or if I can stil be a part of the class action suit? I have never sued anyone, but I do not think this is or was a company with integrity and should be responsible to all of the students they misrepresented. Thank you kindly for any information. Anonymous

Was this review helpful?

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Unrecognized, Useless, & Out of Business

Engineering - August 7, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

An unusable degree issued by an unrecognized business (should never have been called a University) that is now thankfully out of business. The only saving grace is that I was granted enough free credits for life experience that the cost wasn't too bad. Easy courses, take an exam (with or without studying) and get credit.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Harder than Traditional Institutions

Engineering - July 31, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Harder than Traditional: Graduate (BS Mechanical Engineering)- personally my experience with KW was that it was extremely challenging and a most difficult program with strict checks and balances. The specific nature of KW programs require one to essentially learn every page in each text and the final thesis was brutal by all accord. At no time, was I awarded credits merely for work experience.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 14 people found the following review helpful

I do not regret it.

Healthcare Administration - July 28, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I do not regret getting a PhD from KWU. I got what I paid for. I do not list it on my resume because I know it is not accepted but I still make reference to the fact that I have a PhD in healthcare administration. I did study and I did learn. I already had a B.A., an A.S. and a M.P.A. from accredited universities. I am a nurse by profession therefore the courses I took at KWU were very apropos. This experience is what opened the door for me to study quantum mechanics and move on to other subjects. I believe that there are really no mistakes in life. Rather there are stepping stones to other dimensions.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Confused & Disappointed

Business Administration - July 10, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After 18 months of hard work and a gruesome thesis, I earned my MA degree in Bus Admin back in mid 2004 (I even went to CA to finalize paperwork for degree). I never had a problem with potential employers until last year when I applied for a job and during background check I was informed that KW was no longer in existence. My main concern: is my MA degree still valid?

Was this review helpful?

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Fake Degree, KW Eagle Poop

arnettsand - May 31, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

What a total rip off this degree was. They gave me a 50% coursework reduction for life experience (that should have been my first clue it was a fake). After 6 classes and long paper that nobody even read I had my worthless KW degree in my hands! After getting turned down by a potential employer I threw it in the trash where it belongs. I went back to school got a real degree and will not even ADMIT to anyone that I attended that fake school. In a real college your work gets progressively harder as the classes get tougher and tougher. At Kennedy Western you just ordered the book and took the test. 3 of the classes I passed without even reading the texts. It didn’t get accredited because it sucked.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Confused

Management Information Systems - March 31, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I chose Kennedy Western primarily because it was recognized by the US Government (including the military), and it allowed me to work at a pace that fit with running my own business. I found the course work comparable with universities in my area, as I checked first before committing to the program. I worked hard on the thesis and my adviser was first rate. I've been confused by all the criticism and would put my Thesis up against any other, and have had many requests for it over the past five years since its completion.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Hard work for a worthless degree

Engineering - March 22, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my degree in 2006. It was hard work. The course content was every bit as good as other colleges I've attended. It took me two years to complete and I am very angry that identifying this school on applications is having a detrimental affect on my job search.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 9 people found the following review helpful

abandoned and no degree

Engineering - March 1, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

finished all my course work, was 25% into my final thesis... no word, no email, no phone call... i try to log into my account with no luck, phone calls were disconnected. worse part... after a month of searching, i found warren, warren university that took over would not take my credits.... absolutly worthless and disgusted!!!

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

DISAPPOINTED, HURT, AND MAD

Management Information Systems - February 7, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After doing a web search, I find that Kennedy-Western University no longer exist. I'm left with three words to describe my thoughts and feelings; DISAPPOINTED, HURT, and MAD. I feel as though I was taken advantage of and nothing can be done about it now. If this was to get back to the job, Can anyone imagine the gossip amoung co-workers about this worthless degree. Its like not having a degree at all.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful

NON-Accredited Schools are FAKE

Business Administration - January 27, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

They sent me all kinds of certification including what appeared to be a genuine accreditation certificate. It turns out they lied to me. I didnt find this out until they had all my money and I finished my courses with them. I applied for a job as a probation officer, and found out that this school was just a diploma mill that no one recognized when you want a job that requires a college degree. I threatend to sue and they offed 1/2 my tution. i sent them back their check and demanded a refund in full. They agreed to this as long as I didnt sue them. I finished my degree online through Indiana State Univeristy and am now a Chief Probation Officer.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Left without my Degree

Engineering - November 30, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I finished 7 courses and was half done my Thesis when they stopped answering my emails and phones messages. Then they changed names and closed. The money I paid and the Degree I deserved went with it. Now I'm left with nothing. Now what?

Was this review helpful?

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Floored

Engineering - November 20, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm applaud at what I'm reading and finding out this degree is garbage, I completed the studies and graduated and have transcript and diploma. Also IRS wants more information from(that I don't)they needed to fill a 1099 T something they were suppose to fillout and didn't what total disrespect for any of us.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 7 people found the following review helpful

No Better No Worse

Engineering - September 3, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have 6 other degrees, including a professional degree via conventional programs. I chose to do K-W courses instead of going to seminars etc. for my continuation training. These courses were paid for by the federal government and I studied hard and used my grades to document completion to the tax payers. I found the study to be just as hard or easy as you wanted to make it. My dissertation I would put up against any program. And some of the course work was better than the conventional programs. K-W was strongly involved with distant learning long before state universities began offering distant programs. I think K-W got a bum rap when compared to some of the programs available at this time. Any agency that would hire solely on the basis of a PhD in my book is more corrupt than any so called diploma mill. I am retired now so the degrees mean nothing to me ... the education does and I gained an education from k-w based on the amount of work I put into the study.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Got what I put into it... NOT MUCH

Business Administration - July 14, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Received 40% "life experience" towards my DBA. Took some fairly simple repeatable exams for coursework. Wrote a long dissertation that I found very rewarding and interesting, but nobody at the University ever read it that I could tell. So an interesting experience in limited self-study, but certainly not an academic acheivement of any sort.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Worth the time and money

Business Administration - June 29, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Kennedy Western University was a well founded establishment with a solid foundation of professors. As with most schools, the experience was whatever the student made it. I started out slowly and soon learned that it was up to me to step up the pace and get more involved. There was a plethora of information and resources to access if one was to do so. I completed my degree at Warren National with no regrets. The knowledge I acquired through both schools has helped me trememdously in my career.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful

The KWU PhD in Business was damn tough 2000-2003

Business Administration - March 17, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I did get three courses waived for "life experiences," but that's because I provided KWU the course completions from Wharton and Sloan graduate level seminars done earlier via executive education, and also proof of my then current job as EVP of a $25m annual revenues manufacturer. The taken courses were based upon excellent texts and the exams difficult and proctored. The dissertation took 1,700 hours to write. I know there are "diploma mill burn-them-all-at-the-stake zealots" out there that trash KWU for not achieving regional accreditation, but the course work was tough, the submitted work tougher, and the knowledge learned invaluable still to date. The degree was earned. I work today with several PhDs, some of them dumb as rocks that have their doctorates from very questionable, but indeed regionally accredited, institutions.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Even a university can fail

Engineering - November 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Be carefull which online school you attend! Failure of this school ruined many lives and left many people in debt including me. It was a sham. They sold you inch thick text books and you take one test. No lectures, no teacher or student interaction, no progressive learning. They lied. The smartest people at this school were the administrators that walked away with our money and turned off the servers and locked the door. They didn't even file for bankruptcy. Word to the wise - Use only nationally accredited schools that have strong financial backing!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful

PHD Engineering Management

Engineering - October 20, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have completed my PhD in Engineering Management in 2003, It was a great program, excellent communication with faculty team and appointed advisor. Kennedy Western was rated third in top twenty. The change of name to Warren National and then closing the operation, put me and my degree in a very embaressing position withing my company and business community. This is a loss of credibility I am facing now, which is to me a big disappointment after all. nevertheless, I am still pround of Kennedy Western and the degree I have obtained.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful

PhD Engineering management

Engineering - July 5, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The program was very beneficial in helping me grow personally and triple the size of my medical device business. My dissertation on Polymer Nanotechnology yielded four US and international patents. I had a BS from UMass Lowell and an MS from UConn prior to Kennedy Western and the course work was comparable, maybe a little more challenging because you were mostly on your own, which is real life after college. You should never stop learning especially in mid carreer. This program allowed me to meet and exceed my professional goals while running my business and participating in an active family life.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful

AN EXCELLENT PROGRAM

Business Administration - July 4, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience at Kennedy Western was very good. I was able to speak with the faculty when needed, the curriculum and text books were excellent and I felt very good about the effort expended and the results received. I think it is unfortunate that Kennedy Western was singled out when so many other universities take advantage of their students and call it "accredited" education. Kennedy Western worked for the working man who couldn't leave work to get to a class at 6PM.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Business PhD, not usuable throughout my career

Business Administration - May 14, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received my business admin PhD in 1995 but have yet to find any acceptance for it in the workplace, whether in the higher ed field or in private employment. My current employer does not recognize it or incent me for it, nor am I allowed to use it on any work stationery or communication.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Kennedy-Western/Warren National: Good schools

Business Administration - May 5, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Kennedy-Western offered a very good PhD in Business Administration with courses, textbooks, and tests more difficult than my master's work (resident degree, top 100 tier 1 college). The dissertation was very long to research (my choice of the subject, but approved by university) and took me 15 months to write. Accepted, and I subsequently used it to change parts of my company's business operations and some of the major HR programs (Fortune 1000 company). Wyoming Higher Ed accredited, they did not get regional accreditation before changing ownership and name to Warren National. WNU was unable to attain full WACS accreditation despite good effort (endowment flow issues) and closed its doors for good couple years ago. KW-WNU had a good run of 25 years. Definately NOT a "diploma mill" like some zealots claim. Difficult, but worthwhile degree.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 10 people found the following review helpful

PhD Candidate Experience

Healthcare Administration - February 27, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If a former student ever comments that their experience was excellent and the school curriculum challenged them with a complete and comprehensive educational experience, then you have to assume the student never really experienced a true, top 50 postgraduate program before going through this online program. I completed an Executive MBA program in 1995 at Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge, LA. That program was very flexible and fit my professional schedule because classes were held on campus every other weekend. A lot of information was crammed into 19 months but I feel the experience was both challenging and academically satisfying to me. In 2005 I enrolled in Kennedy Western's PhD Health Care Administration Program. The online program was very flexible and was really the only way I could ever receive a PhD in my feild of practice at this stage of my professional career. Although it was the only way I ever want to or could ever go through a PhD program, I have to admit that the program was just a general overview of postgraduate health care administration material. It contained only the basic material needed to be considered postgraduate work. I did not finish the program because I had one final course to complete and then I needed to finish my dissertation. I wish I would have finished the program just to get the degree, but in all honesty, I would never have felt that I had earned a legitimate PhD. It was basically a review of material that touched on several areas of management and health care, but would have only been a few steps up from purchasing a PhD online, such as those bogus degree purchase programs that are offered online all of the time.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 8 people found the following review helpful

PhD/BA review

Business Administration - February 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Demanding courses, excellent texts, difficult tests, good faculty help whenever needed. Dissertation research long and time consuming, graded and passed by PAC 10 tenured professors. State accreditation. Regional failed to attain. For-profit owners pocketed all proceeds; invested little back into programs--NACS wouldn't accept excuses. Had almost 25 year run. Still excellent online education attained.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Worth the Time and Money

Engineering - December 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The materials were great and courses were legitimate. While it is always better to have an accredited degree, I am glad I was able to complete the Kennedy Western engineering degree program. I learned a lot.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 8 people found the following review helpful

M.S. Environmental Engineering

Engineering - November 10, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I also abandoned ship around 2001 due to the lack of support and discovering that their engineering program was worthless. In fact, it was softer than an environmental science program. The books were pretty good, but their idea a study was to read and learn every page of every book. I could have done that on my own without having to pay so much cash. I sould have known something was going on when I received the school package with a drawing of a crying baby stating, "I'm sorry."

Was this review helpful?

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

KWU out of business with my money

Management Information Systems - September 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had one course to complete and write the final paper for my business management degree when WNU merged / changed to KWU. I couldn't get access to the on-line system and the student advisor was of no help. I suddenly receive an email from KWU about the realtionship with Grand Canyon and only found out KWU was closing its doors when I went to their website. I spent close to $9k plus books and all I have to show for it are the books. I had to challenge several final exams because of inconsistencies between the books and the tests ‘correct’ answers. The only requirement to passing a course was to read the book and pass the final exam. This wasn’t what I expected and really didn’t see much value in what they offered. The degree wasn’t for job advancement or to satisfy a job requirement. I enrolled to finish something I had started thirty plus years ago and to motivate my son to earn his degree. Basically, if dad can work 40 plus hours a week and still have time for school work why not the son (who wasn’t working).

Was this review helpful?

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Mixed feelings

Engineering - July 18, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had to abandon my last class due to lack of support. Although I believe I got some out of the subjects that I did complete. I could have gotten the same by going to the library. I attempted to get them to change my degree, but was refused and told that I would have to spend another 5K. I wish that I could have finished the last math class, just to say I accomplished it, but I felt all alone with no help to support me.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Masters of Health Administration

Healthcare Administration - July 6, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently completed a Masters degree program with Warren National University and thought the program was amazing.... The faculty and staff were very supportive and always ready to help. I thought the materials were very comprehensive and directly related to my position in hospital administration. My current employer has been interested in my studies from day one, they have also reviewed the curriculum on several occasions and were very pleased with the length and breadth of the materials. This was a fantastic experience and I'm proud to have graduated from such a comprehensive program.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 10 people found the following review helpful

NOT harder than traditional

Engineering - June 11, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I abandoned ship after discovering the bogus nature of this outfit and the worthlessness of any "degree" earned. There is a lawsuit in progress against them and for good reason. I am a member of the group of plaintiffs and I invite anyone else to check it out. Here's a link to a good source of information about that degree seller: www.cheyenneherald.com .

Was this review helpful?

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Harder than Traditional

Engineering - June 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated in 2006 based on my previous "traditional" and KW coursework. At no time did I get credit for any sort of work experience. I worked harder at this school than the traditional classes because I had to make the time and use internal determination. The 75 page final paper was brutal and the school review team reviewed it in DETAIL before approving. The only negative was getting a support from faculty given the method. I am overwhelmed with anger and disgust that my diploma is not worthless!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 7 people found the following review helpful

many lost $$

Healthcare Administration - October 18, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After they did a hard sell and had me sign the payment plan...everyone became nearly impossible to reach, then the name changed. Everytime I tried to contact someone to find out what was happening, what the next step was-I never received a reply. The 'degree' is long paid for, and now their web site states they are not accepting or 'reactivating' students....and they still have not responded to calls and emails. What a major $$ rip off!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Refunds

Healthcare Administration - August 21, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

3 weeks into my courses, and my loan, we had a sudden and major illness in my family that prevented me from continuing my courses. After many requests for a refund I was denied....I was the sucker....they were simply heartless.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Not a piece of cake

Management Information Systems - January 12, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The professors were excellent, a were currently holding full time positions at regionally accredited (RA) universities. The text books and courses were the same as what they taught at their RA universities. Because of completing this program, I have been offered teaching and consulting positons. It was well worth the investment in time and money. WNU has a well organized staff and management. They shouldn't have any problems achieving regional accreditation.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Unaccredited, hokey, but OK self-study CPE

Healthcare Administration - February 8, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Yes, I've read the fake degree testimony, yes, I know it is an unaccredited "university" and is generally ridiculed. But... for an individual course, the text wasn't too bad as a self-study continuing education item. If you leave it at that, I think you can find some value here. try finding a Doctoral Level Healthcare Admin course, the field is pretty limited.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Kennedy Western University in any way.