Sessions College

Review Averages: 7.3 out of 10 (22 reviews)
Ranking: #25

Accreditation: Distance Education and Training Council (DETC) and Professional Design certificate programs are accredited by Middle States Commission on Secondary Schools.
Country: USA

Learn More about Sessions College

Request Information »

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%

Sessions College Reviews:

You will get out of it what you put in.
Graphic Design - November 16, 2015
I am currently working on my under graduate certificate in graphic design. Where I live, there's not many affordable options when it comes to an art degree, so I did some research. Sessions quickly started to pop up everywhere I looked, I found it to be strange since I have never heard of the college. After comparing all of the different schools and options that were open to me, Sessions was at the top of the list. All of the courses are very flexible and you have all of the material up front so you know what is going to be expected throughout the semester. The staff is great with any question or concerns that you might have responding in a prompt manner almost always, that being huge to me since I take classes online. I would without a doubt recommend Sessions College to anyone who is looking for a flexible online degree program.

AOS Degree in Graphic Design Thoughts
Graphic Design - November 10, 2015
Sessions College For Professional Design is that college that will provide both quality and quantity. The overall experience has been great, and the quality of course content is fantastic (detailed and thorough). Their course content is always being updated to remain relevant with software updates, and they are continuously adding new courses. There are not many schools that can provide this quality of education at a fair price like Sessions College, and this was one of the points that caught my attention when looking for an online school. The instructors are well experienced in their respected creative fields, and many have won awards both as designers and teachers. The learning environment is immersive, and we get to collaborate with many like-minded classmates both within our school platform, as well as on our social pages. This interactivity has lead to some great discussions and the entire program has been a gratifying experience. The instructors and staff all provide helpful feedback and guidance when needed, and they provide flexible scheduling that allows me to learn at my own pace. I can honestly say Sessions College has helped prepare me to be a successful multi-disciplined designer in this exciting field. I highly recommenced this school to anyone who is looking for an affordable quality education with flexible scheduling. If your looking to take that next step on your creative path, Sessions College is a great place to start.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
A lot of info, not alot of instructor guidance
Web Design - October 27, 2014
I learned alot from the Professional Web Design program. Tons of info in a short amount of time. I was in the VRAP so it is definitely an accelerated program. In my opinion it would be more efficient if the methodology was kept down to one procedure. I found it difficult to retain the information. Not only because of the accelerated program, but I found the lessons to be too information intensive. I couldn't afford Adobe and found great open source software that worked great and was easier to use. Adobe is just too redundant with so many ways of doing something, it's almost ludicrous. I found the majority of the instructors spent no time "correcting" lessons and exercises. In a class room environment assignments are returned with corrections and comments. Maybe even help completing a task. Not so with Sessions. I was on my own to find solutions with the comments limited to what was wrong. Nothing as to how to fix anything. Networking could definitely be greatly improved. I made no connections or contacts. I would have liked to have met other students. There is a Facebook page but participation is almost non-existent. I think networking should be highly promoted, maybe even required. I'm leaving with no contacts or possibilities for future work with fellow graduates.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
My Opinion
Graphic Design - September 24, 2014
I'm happy with Sessions, it's an online course and of course it is what you make of it. The courses are good, and the teachers (most of them anyway) are receptive to questions. There are a few that I had to e-mail a few times before getting a response a few days later, and a few that would respond almost immediately to any question I had. One teacher in particular was very helpful and was willing to help with any question. I think this is pretty common with any school. I made sure to inform the school of my opinions of the instructors because I'm not paying for someone else to half ass my education. It's what you make of it. The curriculum is good, it gives a nice foundation to build on. Although I think it's a bit pricey considering what I'm getting. Overall though, I would suggest this to anyone who is looking for a solid foundational education who isn't afraid to make some noise to get what they want. I have never had anyone be rude or non compliant, when asked I was helped, overall a good experience.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great Skills Learned, Little Student Interaction
Web Design - September 17, 2014
Sessions has been great for me to learn Web Design. I feel challenged every week that I get a new assignment. The teachers provide really great feedback on the work you have done and give you the opportunity to implement that feedback and resubmit. You also get to see other students' work which really helps to see how others interpret the same assignment you did. It is amazing to see the different abilities that students have. The schedule for the lectures and assignments is very regular, so you always know what to expect each week of the program. It does take some effort to fit everything in, but it doesn't really take as much time as you might think to fit it all in. If you love doing the work, it isn't really a chore anyway! I have found that the lack of community can be a little challenging at times. I would really like to connect more with my classmates. There isn't really a good forum to chat or connect with students or exchange ideas when you get stuck on assignments. There are discussions with other students, but they aren't very lively. You enter with a group of students, but you don't stay with that group of students all the way through. New people come in and others you know move on to other classes. I feel like I will leave this school experience with no comrades or network to work from when it comes to looking for jobs or comparing notes on how life after school is going. Overall, a lot of great skills can be gained at this school. I have a lot of positive things to say about the knowledge I have gained and I have seen a massive improvement in my skills. If you are looking for really strong student community, it isn't the best for that.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Overall Positive
Graphic Design - September 10, 2014
As a certificate program student, I have been very pleased with my overall experience at Sessions College. Years ago, I was a successful marketing executive when I decided to leave the workplace and stay home to raise my family. I am so glad I did. However, with my children now in school full time, I wanted to update my skill set and have confidence reentering the creative job market. Sessions met that objective for me. It was imperative to me that I receive thorough instruction in the Adobe design software. Online tutorials were one option, but I found that by having access to my Sessions instructors allowed me to ask questions and get clarification easily. The deadlines helped me stay on track too. The courses are broken into 3 or 6 lessons. Each lesson has a lecture section and then an assignment section. At the end of both sections, I felt confident I was given the necessary information to tackle the exercise with success. I loved having the student gallery to browse through and see the quality work that was coming from fellow students. But my highest praise for Sessions College is for the fact that you can customize your certificate program to suit your evolving needs. For example, I enrolled as a Graphic Design concentration. Switched to Marketing Design and then later still, I realized I wanted to swap one of the marketing courses for a website software course instead. I felt I was able to get the most for my money. So overall, I recommend Sessions for anyone wanting to gain useful skills in the field of design.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
The Good and the Bad
Web Design - January 4, 2014
The Good: self paced, no interaction with other students, no interaction with teacher unless one has questions, overall, the material is very good. The Bad: No one proof reads the material. An 6th graded could find typos and major issues in the material that this college seems to miss. I have taken 9 classes and every single one of them has had typos in almost every single lesson and exercise. Some of the typos are syntax issues, some are major flaws/errors in the teaching. I have written comments on all these and they tell me they will correct them right away. The issue is that I shouldn't have to find errors that they missed. The JavaScript course is also severely lacking and I completed the entire class in 2 days. The assignments were a joke and the teaching was too. I have used what I learned a lot but the class was not worthy of 3 credits. The tuition for advanced certs is a joke and costs 2-3 times what the classes taken separately cost. Given that there is no difference in class work and no teacher interaction, I am not sure why an advanced cert costs so much and the school has not been able to answer this for me. All in all the school is great but I am very disappointed in the proof reading this college does given that the printed material is the only class material as there are no lectures or books to buy. One would think that given this is their only material for the class, they would review it with a fine tooth comb.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Misrepresented price of the program :(
Graphic Design - December 9, 2013
I decided not to go with this school. The school counselor did not communicate with me how much money the program would cost. If my GI Bill did not come through promptly, they were going to take a lot of money out of my checking account. So, luckily, I did not sign the contract. In addition, they were trying to force me to work in cohort groups and I found out they're not even accredited in my local area, Phoenix. I am much happier with my less expensive "Web Design" program at my local community college and they are definitely accredited. I am glad I didn't make this mistake.

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
current student in web design professional certificate program
Web Design - July 28, 2013
For what it is, an online school, it is very good. I had attended another very well known media arts schools' online web development program in the past so I have something to compare it too, and I can say that Sessions is very good, much better than the other school I had attended, and much less expensive. As far as interaction with other students, I can honestly say that there is not much. Basically, you have up to 3 or more courses going at a time, and you can access any one of those courses at anytime, so you have "real" classmates which attend the same classes at the same time as you. I have been taking this program for 8 months now and have never chatted with another student. I classes can be very demanding. I was already somewhat versed for example, in HTML/CSS, and each individual assignment still was time consuming, so I can see how people that have no familiarity can be somewhat lost at first. I had taken Adobe Illustrator, and Photoshop before attending sessions, so again I was very familiar with these software programs but I can honestly say that I learned much more in the Photoshop and illustrator classes at sessions than I had learned in other school courses. The quality of the courses is very good, in my opinion. I'd also like to talk about the interactions with the instructors. Unless you ask questions via Email, the only time you will hear from the teachers is via the grade and feedback they give for each assignment. This is not necessarily a bad thing because they do give very good feedback, and if you need to correct things, you read their feedback, do the corrections, then resubmit the assignments. The course materials...there is none, except what you read on the course assignments web page. Again, this is not a bad thing because the assignments are broken up into two part, you have the lecture and the exercise. In the lecture portion they explain how to do the assignment, tell you tips etc (a lot of instruction, links to read more as well) then in the exercise portion they talk about the assignment and actually give you further instruction. I have found this to be more than sufficient. If I had one complaint, it would be that in the orientation, they said that you can do an assignment (lecture and exercise) in about 10 hours. I have found that to really learn a the material and do a good job with everything, I am spending on average 2/3 longer than that. I hope its just not me, haha. I must reiterate that this is an ONLINE school, you can learn great skills as long as you put the effort in, and it being online means you have to try extra hard to stay motivated because there is no one else to motivate you, except you. I recommend this for anyone wanting to learn web and graphic design.

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
This college is a rip-off and completely unprofessional.
Marketing Design Certificate - April 28, 2013
I don't know where to begin. I am a service member and always had a positive experience with online schools up until I reached this school. I had five different people taking care of my admissions. It was so confusing and unprofessional. I completed 3 courses and they failed to notify the VA so I can receive my GI Bill benefits. When there was a suspension with TA, the VA counselor insisted I use my GI Bill which I kindly declined and he sounded very defensive. I even reported this behavior to the CEO which she retaliated and stated that they will refuse to report my completed courses to the VA! WOW! I cannot believe this. I will not recommend this school EVER to anyone. Very unprofessional and so ungrateful. I'm so appalled and if they decide to come back telling them I owe them money? I am so prepared to show all documentation. Please do not go to this school or waste your time. You can spend more money going to a real, credible design school. With this said, I think the VA should know what types of schools are treating servicemembers like they are worthless to their business!

Read all 22 Sessions College reviews...


Read all 22 reviews...

Write a Sessions College Review

Learn More about Sessions College

Learn More about Sessions College

Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%

Old Comments

Oct. 25, 2012, 7:20 p.m.
0 votes/
Sessions charged me even after I submitted my notice of cancellation, then breached their own contract when my refund was not tendered to me within 30 days.  I would stay away from this school as it is not run professionally, nor do they respond to your inquiry/requests in a timely manner. is not affiliated with Sessions College in any way.