Sessions College

Review Averages: 7.3 out of 10 (26 reviews)
Ranking: #25

Accreditation: Distance Education and Training Council (DETC) and Professional Design certificate programs are accredited by Middle States Commission on Secondary Schools.
Unknown
Country: USA
Website

Learn More about Sessions College

Request Information »

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Sessions College Reviews:

Total Waste of Money!
Web Design - March 10, 2017
What a total waste of money. If I could give this NO STARS, I would have. I've been working in the print industry for 14 years but I need to learn how to code web pages in order to get a new job. Nobody hires just print artists anymore. You need web knowledge. And even though I have an AA degree from a different college, I was told I had to take all the preliminary classes - again. As I figured, I didn't learn anything. But with all the hoops you have to jump through, it still took me several weeks to get through those classes each, even though I treated them like a job working 8+ hours a day, when they say it should only take you around 15 hours to complete a class. So I finally get to the HTML/CSS class. This stuff is hard to understand, and I told them BEFORE I signed up that I am a visual learner and that I was concerned with this type of curriculum because I'm not a book learner. But I was assured I would have plenty of help. HA! No there isn't. Not even close! It's all just reading a short little paragraph, and if you don't understand it, you're outta luck. There is no one to verbally ask questions to. You can however email your instructor, but it will talk a minimum of 24 hours to receive a response; sometimes as many as 4 days, and meanwhile you have another handful of questions. Occasionally there's a little minute-or-so video that basically reiterates what the paragraph above it just said - sometimes verbatim. That's all you get. The curriculum is written for those who already understand it. It's only easy when you know how to do it. And there are so many errors in the curriculum, that other people before me have complained about as well, that still have never been corrected. Didn't anyone proof this before it was uploaded? How am I supposed to trust that the information is correct when there are so many errors?? Knowing nothing about coding, even I knew that organized lists and unorganized list can't both be coded <ol>. One of them is WRONG. I was having a hard time understanding pseudo classes. I spent over 8 hours a day for 10 days straight trying to figure it out and all I got from Catherine my instructor was a link to something that looked absolutely nothing like the curriculum which was no help whatsoever. Gee, thanks. Another time I asked about what the indenting protocol was for the Style Sheet, and she told me that she couldn't design my website for me. WHAT? That's not what I asked!! Did she even read my question? When I asked her again - and had to wait ANOTHER 24 hours, she told me I could do whatever I wanted. I found out later from a tutor that there IS proper protocol. Um, hello? I don''t want to just get by, I need to use this knowledge to get a JOB and "do whatever you want" and forming bad habits isn't going to increase my chances of getting a job. Isn't that what I paid for??? So then I had to find other sources for help, because the school is no help at all. I Googled; I bought books; I asked a total stranger at the book store; I hired a tutor and paid him $50/hr; and I found someone from my church who gave up his date night with his wife to help me.....and I only got through 1/2 the HTML/CSS class. I couldn't try any harder!!! And they DON'T CARE. So now I'm locked out of my classes because I didn't "finish in time" and I was given an extra 2 months, however it was already 1/2 way through the month and I SILL don't have access to the curriculum. What's the point of that? So then I was told if I needed more time after that I could pay $30/month or $200 to reactivate my curriculum if I wanted to take some time off. After all, I'm not a kid living with my parents. Eventually I have to do some work to keep the lights on and a roof over my head. Then just the other day I received an email telling me that I would have to pay a prorated rate on the classes I didn't finish. Are you kidding me? They keep changing the rules. I'm out of money. I'm living on savings as it is, and the last thing I'm going to do is give this joke of a school more money. In a nutshell, keep looking for another way to learn coding. EJ Media has a whole bunch of videos on YouTube, and FreeCodeCamp.com were much more helpful. Sessions College is clearly ALL ABOUT THE MONEY and not about their students succeeding.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
I made the right choice, You should too
Graphic Design - March 3, 2017
I am currently enrolled at Sessions for the Graphic Design degree and let me tell you, it has been well worth the time, effort and money. The ease of online classes, the staff and administration, the course work...all of it has been great thus far. I was very skeptical about pursuing an art degree online but the way Sessions has everything laid out makes it work very well. The portal is easy to navigate and understand, the lectures are well described and lengthy, the teachers are easy to communicate with and if you happen to have a question they'll return your email in a very timely manor. I am so happy with my decision to join Sessions and continue reaching my goals. Oh, and the tuition is a lot cheaper than many other schools i looked into. you get A LOT for what you pay for with Sessions. The course work is challenging and really pushes you to be creative as well.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Highly Recommend
Graphic Design - February 21, 2017
Sessions College has opened up many opportunities for me. Without the school I would not be able to work full-time and be a mom. I'm happy to work at my own pace. The teachers promptly answer all my questions. How I look at it is, you get what you want out of the school. I would highly recommend attending Sessions College. I look forward to my future with all the added skills I've gained from Sessions.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Online Learning Perfectly Done
Web Design - February 17, 2017
I went to CMC & RRCC for my first degree and I learned fast I did not like the in classroom experience. There was not many job opportunities that worked around my class times. So when I decided to go back to school I researched online learning and Sessions was the first college to pop up. After studying and comparing this school to others I choice this one and am happy with my choice. Pricing is not bad and I still get a college experience with the time I can. It is accelerated learning. Meaning you go to school in the summer and do not get spring break and other holidays off. However, you get a nice break after a semester and then jump right back into it. Sessions gave me the time to learn what I wanted to and get the degree I wanted.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
You will get out of it what you put in.
Graphic Design - November 16, 2015
I am currently working on my under graduate certificate in graphic design. Where I live, there's not many affordable options when it comes to an art degree, so I did some research. Sessions quickly started to pop up everywhere I looked, I found it to be strange since I have never heard of the college. After comparing all of the different schools and options that were open to me, Sessions was at the top of the list. All of the courses are very flexible and you have all of the material up front so you know what is going to be expected throughout the semester. The staff is great with any question or concerns that you might have responding in a prompt manner almost always, that being huge to me since I take classes online. I would without a doubt recommend Sessions College to anyone who is looking for a flexible online degree program.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
AOS Degree in Graphic Design Thoughts
Graphic Design - November 10, 2015
Sessions College For Professional Design is that college that will provide both quality and quantity. The overall experience has been great, and the quality of course content is fantastic (detailed and thorough). Their course content is always being updated to remain relevant with software updates, and they are continuously adding new courses. There are not many schools that can provide this quality of education at a fair price like Sessions College, and this was one of the points that caught my attention when looking for an online school. The instructors are well experienced in their respected creative fields, and many have won awards both as designers and teachers. The learning environment is immersive, and we get to collaborate with many like-minded classmates both within our school platform, as well as on our social pages. This interactivity has lead to some great discussions and the entire program has been a gratifying experience. The instructors and staff all provide helpful feedback and guidance when needed, and they provide flexible scheduling that allows me to learn at my own pace. I can honestly say Sessions College has helped prepare me to be a successful multi-disciplined designer in this exciting field. I highly recommenced this school to anyone who is looking for an affordable quality education with flexible scheduling. If your looking to take that next step on your creative path, Sessions College is a great place to start.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
A lot of info, not alot of instructor guidance
Web Design - October 27, 2014
I learned alot from the Professional Web Design program. Tons of info in a short amount of time. I was in the VRAP so it is definitely an accelerated program. In my opinion it would be more efficient if the methodology was kept down to one procedure. I found it difficult to retain the information. Not only because of the accelerated program, but I found the lessons to be too information intensive. I couldn't afford Adobe and found great open source software that worked great and was easier to use. Adobe is just too redundant with so many ways of doing something, it's almost ludicrous. I found the majority of the instructors spent no time "correcting" lessons and exercises. In a class room environment assignments are returned with corrections and comments. Maybe even help completing a task. Not so with Sessions. I was on my own to find solutions with the comments limited to what was wrong. Nothing as to how to fix anything. Networking could definitely be greatly improved. I made no connections or contacts. I would have liked to have met other students. There is a Facebook page but participation is almost non-existent. I think networking should be highly promoted, maybe even required. I'm leaving with no contacts or possibilities for future work with fellow graduates.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
My Opinion
Graphic Design - September 24, 2014
I'm happy with Sessions, it's an online course and of course it is what you make of it. The courses are good, and the teachers (most of them anyway) are receptive to questions. There are a few that I had to e-mail a few times before getting a response a few days later, and a few that would respond almost immediately to any question I had. One teacher in particular was very helpful and was willing to help with any question. I think this is pretty common with any school. I made sure to inform the school of my opinions of the instructors because I'm not paying for someone else to half ass my education. It's what you make of it. The curriculum is good, it gives a nice foundation to build on. Although I think it's a bit pricey considering what I'm getting. Overall though, I would suggest this to anyone who is looking for a solid foundational education who isn't afraid to make some noise to get what they want. I have never had anyone be rude or non compliant, when asked I was helped, overall a good experience.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Great Skills Learned, Little Student Interaction
Web Design - September 17, 2014
Sessions has been great for me to learn Web Design. I feel challenged every week that I get a new assignment. The teachers provide really great feedback on the work you have done and give you the opportunity to implement that feedback and resubmit. You also get to see other students' work which really helps to see how others interpret the same assignment you did. It is amazing to see the different abilities that students have. The schedule for the lectures and assignments is very regular, so you always know what to expect each week of the program. It does take some effort to fit everything in, but it doesn't really take as much time as you might think to fit it all in. If you love doing the work, it isn't really a chore anyway! I have found that the lack of community can be a little challenging at times. I would really like to connect more with my classmates. There isn't really a good forum to chat or connect with students or exchange ideas when you get stuck on assignments. There are discussions with other students, but they aren't very lively. You enter with a group of students, but you don't stay with that group of students all the way through. New people come in and others you know move on to other classes. I feel like I will leave this school experience with no comrades or network to work from when it comes to looking for jobs or comparing notes on how life after school is going. Overall, a lot of great skills can be gained at this school. I have a lot of positive things to say about the knowledge I have gained and I have seen a massive improvement in my skills. If you are looking for really strong student community, it isn't the best for that.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Overall Positive
Graphic Design - September 10, 2014
As a certificate program student, I have been very pleased with my overall experience at Sessions College. Years ago, I was a successful marketing executive when I decided to leave the workplace and stay home to raise my family. I am so glad I did. However, with my children now in school full time, I wanted to update my skill set and have confidence reentering the creative job market. Sessions met that objective for me. It was imperative to me that I receive thorough instruction in the Adobe design software. Online tutorials were one option, but I found that by having access to my Sessions instructors allowed me to ask questions and get clarification easily. The deadlines helped me stay on track too. The courses are broken into 3 or 6 lessons. Each lesson has a lecture section and then an assignment section. At the end of both sections, I felt confident I was given the necessary information to tackle the exercise with success. I loved having the student gallery to browse through and see the quality work that was coming from fellow students. But my highest praise for Sessions College is for the fact that you can customize your certificate program to suit your evolving needs. For example, I enrolled as a Graphic Design concentration. Switched to Marketing Design and then later still, I realized I wanted to swap one of the marketing courses for a website software course instead. I felt I was able to get the most for my money. So overall, I recommend Sessions for anyone wanting to gain useful skills in the field of design.

Read all 26 Sessions College reviews...


Programs:

Read all 26 reviews...

Write a Sessions College Review


Learn More about Sessions College



Learn More about Sessions College



Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Old Comments

Oct. 25, 2012, 7:20 p.m.
0 votes/
Sessions charged me even after I submitted my notice of cancellation, then breached their own contract when my refund was not tendered to me within 30 days.  I would stay away from this school as it is not run professionally, nor do they respond to your inquiry/requests in a timely manner.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Sessions College in any way.