Sessions College

Review Averages: 7.2 out of 10 (20 reviews)

Accreditation: Distance Education and Training Council (DETC) and Professional Design certificate programs are accredited by Middle States Commission on Secondary Schools.
Unknown
Country: USA

Learn More about Sessions College

Request Information »

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Sessions College Reviews:

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
current student in web design professional certificate program
July 28, 2013
For what it is, an online school, it is very good. I had attended another very well known media arts schools' online web development program in the past so I have something to compare it too, and I can say that Sessions is very good, much better than the other school I had attended, and much less expensive. As far as interaction with other students, I can honestly say that there is not much. Basically, you have up to 3 or more courses going at a time, and you can access any one of those courses at anytime, so you have "real" classmates which attend the same classes at the same time as you. I have been taking this program for 8 months now and have never chatted with another student. I classes can be very demanding. I was already somewhat versed for example, in HTML/CSS, and each individual assignment still was time consuming, so I can see how people that have no familiarity can be somewhat lost at first. I had taken Adobe Illustrator, and Photoshop before attending sessions, so again I was very familiar with these software programs but I can honestly say that I learned much more in the Photoshop and illustrator classes at sessions than I had learned in other school courses. The quality of the courses is very good, in my opinion. I'd also like to talk about the interactions with the instructors. Unless you ask questions via Email, the only time you will hear from the teachers is via the grade and feedback they give for each assignment. This is not necessarily a bad thing because they do give very good feedback, and if you need to correct things, you read their feedback, do the corrections, then resubmit the assignments. The course materials...there is none, except what you read on the course assignments web page. Again, this is not a bad thing because the assignments are broken up into two part, you have the lecture and the exercise. In the lecture portion they explain how to do the assignment, tell you tips etc (a lot of instruction, links to read more as well) then in the exercise portion they talk about the assignment and actually give you further instruction. I have found this to be more than sufficient. If I had one complaint, it would be that in the orientation, they said that you can do an assignment (lecture and exercise) in about 10 hours. I have found that to really learn a the material and do a good job with everything, I am spending on average 2/3 longer than that. I hope its just not me, haha. I must reiterate that this is an ONLINE school, you can learn great skills as long as you put the effort in, and it being online means you have to try extra hard to stay motivated because there is no one else to motivate you, except you. I recommend this for anyone wanting to learn web and graphic design.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
A lot of info, not alot of instructor guidance
October 27, 2014
I learned alot from the Professional Web Design program. Tons of info in a short amount of time. I was in the VRAP so it is definitely an accelerated program. In my opinion it would be more efficient if the methodology was kept down to one procedure. I found it difficult to retain the information. Not only because of the accelerated program, but I found the lessons to be too information intensive. I couldn't afford Adobe and found great open source software that worked great and was easier to use. Adobe is just too redundant with so many ways of doing something, it's almost ludicrous. I found the majority of the instructors spent no time "correcting" lessons and exercises. In a class room environment assignments are returned with corrections and comments. Maybe even help completing a task. Not so with Sessions. I was on my own to find solutions with the comments limited to what was wrong. Nothing as to how to fix anything. Networking could definitely be greatly improved. I made no connections or contacts. I would have liked to have met other students. There is a Facebook page but participation is almost non-existent. I think networking should be highly promoted, maybe even required. I'm leaving with no contacts or possibilities for future work with fellow graduates.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
The Good and the Bad
January 4, 2014
The Good: self paced, no interaction with other students, no interaction with teacher unless one has questions, overall, the material is very good. The Bad: No one proof reads the material. An 6th graded could find typos and major issues in the material that this college seems to miss. I have taken 9 classes and every single one of them has had typos in almost every single lesson and exercise. Some of the typos are syntax issues, some are major flaws/errors in the teaching. I have written comments on all these and they tell me they will correct them right away. The issue is that I shouldn't have to find errors that they missed. The JavaScript course is also severely lacking and I completed the entire class in 2 days. The assignments were a joke and the teaching was too. I have used what I learned a lot but the class was not worthy of 3 credits. The tuition for advanced certs is a joke and costs 2-3 times what the classes taken separately cost. Given that there is no difference in class work and no teacher interaction, I am not sure why an advanced cert costs so much and the school has not been able to answer this for me. All in all the school is great but I am very disappointed in the proof reading this college does given that the printed material is the only class material as there are no lectures or books to buy. One would think that given this is their only material for the class, they would review it with a fine tooth comb.

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
This college is a rip-off and completely unprofessional.
April 28, 2013
I don't know where to begin. I am a service member and always had a positive experience with online schools up until I reached this school. I had five different people taking care of my admissions. It was so confusing and unprofessional. I completed 3 courses and they failed to notify the VA so I can receive my GI Bill benefits. When there was a suspension with TA, the VA counselor insisted I use my GI Bill which I kindly declined and he sounded very defensive. I even reported this behavior to the CEO which she retaliated and stated that they will refuse to report my completed courses to the VA! WOW! I cannot believe this. I will not recommend this school EVER to anyone. Very unprofessional and so ungrateful. I'm so appalled and if they decide to come back telling them I owe them money? I am so prepared to show all documentation. Please do not go to this school or waste your time. You can spend more money going to a real, credible design school. With this said, I think the VA should know what types of schools are treating servicemembers like they are worthless to their business!

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Great Courses
April 3, 2013
I am currently pursuing an online degree in web design. I have to say I'm extremely impressed with my courses thus far. I was also in a competitive marketing working environment and realized that I needed to differentiate myself by gaining creative skills. I have a prior bachelor's degree in Business from one of the top universities in the country, and I know this might sound crazy but I'm learning faster and about more real world applicable things online at Sessions College than I ever did in my 4 years gaining my bachelor's degree. I work a very stressful full-time job- and basically my days consist of waking up early and studying and then going home after work and studying. I don't think I would be able to keep up this busy schedule if I wasn't so engaged by my classes at Sessions.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Very Satisfied!
March 27, 2013
I am currently pursuing the Marketing Design certificate with Sessions College. After graduating with a B.S. in Marketing from a 4-year university and being in the workforce for over two years, I’ve learned that the marketing/advertising industry is highly competitive. I considered pursuing a MBA in Marketing to gain a competitive advantage in the field; however, I didn’t see the value in spending $30K to do so. After doing some research, I came across the Marketing Design certificate program with Sessions College. This program in particular has allowed me to build-upon my background in marketing and develop essential design and branding skills. Although I was hesitant to pursue an online program, it’s been great thus far because the program is flexible enough for me to still manage the daily stress from my full-time job. I would definitely recommend this program and Sessions college for anyone looking to enhance their design/marketing skills and further their career progression.

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
BE WARNED!!
December 7, 2011
Be warned - make sure you keep all correspondence between you and the college. Make sure you know the courses you are taking are for credit. I was told mine were, until I recieved my transcript then I found out mine were considered not-for-credit :-(

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Associates Degree in Graphic Design
January 27, 2011
I decided to attend Sessions College for Professional Design, for an Associate’s Degree in Graphic Design, after spending months researching different online schools. I wanted to find a school that had the reputation, accreditation, and creative drive to meet my educational needs. Since I’ve joined, I’ve found them to have a very progressive learning environment that’s anything but ordinary, and the interaction I’ve experienced with representatives from every level of their organization has been excellent from day one. I expected online learning to be an impersonal and isolated experience, but the classes at Sessions are anything but. The constant interaction with faculty and students, as well as the discussions and exchange of ideas that takes place in their online student areas really bring you together. I have no problem recommending Sessions College for Professional Design to those who are seeking an excellent education. They’re way ahead of their time, and it shows in the quality of education they provide.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
My Opinion
September 24, 2014
I'm happy with Sessions, it's an online course and of course it is what you make of it. The courses are good, and the teachers (most of them anyway) are receptive to questions. There are a few that I had to e-mail a few times before getting a response a few days later, and a few that would respond almost immediately to any question I had. One teacher in particular was very helpful and was willing to help with any question. I think this is pretty common with any school. I made sure to inform the school of my opinions of the instructors because I'm not paying for someone else to half ass my education. It's what you make of it. The curriculum is good, it gives a nice foundation to build on. Although I think it's a bit pricey considering what I'm getting. Overall though, I would suggest this to anyone who is looking for a solid foundational education who isn't afraid to make some noise to get what they want. I have never had anyone be rude or non compliant, when asked I was helped, overall a good experience.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Overall Positive
September 10, 2014
As a certificate program student, I have been very pleased with my overall experience at Sessions College. Years ago, I was a successful marketing executive when I decided to leave the workplace and stay home to raise my family. I am so glad I did. However, with my children now in school full time, I wanted to update my skill set and have confidence reentering the creative job market. Sessions met that objective for me. It was imperative to me that I receive thorough instruction in the Adobe design software. Online tutorials were one option, but I found that by having access to my Sessions instructors allowed me to ask questions and get clarification easily. The deadlines helped me stay on track too. The courses are broken into 3 or 6 lessons. Each lesson has a lecture section and then an assignment section. At the end of both sections, I felt confident I was given the necessary information to tackle the exercise with success. I loved having the student gallery to browse through and see the quality work that was coming from fellow students. But my highest praise for Sessions College is for the fact that you can customize your certificate program to suit your evolving needs. For example, I enrolled as a Graphic Design concentration. Switched to Marketing Design and then later still, I realized I wanted to swap one of the marketing courses for a website software course instead. I felt I was able to get the most for my money. So overall, I recommend Sessions for anyone wanting to gain useful skills in the field of design.

Read all 20 Sessions College reviews...


Programs:

Read all 20 reviews...

Write a Sessions College Review


Learn More about Sessions College



Learn More about Sessions College



Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Old Comments

Oct. 25, 2012, 7:20 p.m.
0 votes/
Sessions charged me even after I submitted my notice of cancellation, then breached their own contract when my refund was not tendered to me within 30 days.  I would stay away from this school as it is not run professionally, nor do they respond to your inquiry/requests in a timely manner.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Sessions College in any way.