Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Sessions College

3.7
28 Reviews
5 6 
4 16 
3 1 
2 2 
1 3 
0 0 

Sessions College Reviews:

Good School for Specific Needs

Graphic Design - June 21, 2018
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

For all those interested in attending Sessions College, there are two main areas I would address. I’ve been attending Sessions for three semesters now, the first two at full time and the third at half time, studying in the AOS of Graphic Design. First, if (like many) you are skeptical due to Sessions’ size and lack of renown amongst its peer schools, no worries. Despite it being relatively small, Sessions is a good, thoroughly accredited school. Curriculum is kept up to date, and when I have noticed anything is not, teachers always tell me they are working on updating it. As for the instructors, all are working professionals. Most are active in the design field and many have years of personal experience with the subjects they teach. The classes themselves are neatly presented, which makes it easy to navigate the online format. Additionally, the consistency across all their classes and submission times makes it reliable and expected for students with odd study schedules. Most importantly, the things they teach are applicable to the real world. No underwater basket weaving classes, as I like to put it. Everything either works directly into a toolbox of marketable skills, or they boost your overall capability and quality of work as a designer. It isn’t a “top of the line in every way” kind of school, due to its smaller size and scope, but they are professional and dedicated. Second, Sessions College is a unique school that meets a specific kind of need. For those looking for quality achievable classwork in a flexible online environment, it is an excellent fit. Myself, I live in a rural location (over three hours from the nearest Wal-Mart or movie theatre, for context) and also travel often in addition to regular life. On top of that, I have never been interested in the “starving artist” idea, so I wanted a school that taught practical skills at an affordable price. These are all things Sessions provides. However, the reality is that there are a few things that kind of specificity implies, and it could make the difference in your student experience. Here’s why: You get out what you put in; the flexibility means you must be a self-motivated learner to excel. You need to keep yourself accountable, hunt down what you need, and be present and persistent with both coursework and interactions with school staff. Further, the online environment and lack of scheduled “meeting” times, (although highly convenient for people with inflexible lives), also mean that there is limited interaction with other students and the teachers compared to normal schools. While teachers are available via email, and some will answer within the business day, it can take up to two days for a response sometimes. In my case, I regularly use alternate sources for additional learning and for help with minor problems. Interaction with fellow students is limited to commenting on discussion board posts. Again, these are all things that work to my advantage, but if you are someone who needs a lot of dedicated help or interpersonal interaction, it is something to be aware of. Long the short of it, Sessions College a great school that has met my needs, with the benefits I gain vastly outweighing the negatives. I have enjoyed attending. For those who can’t get to physical classes, have demanding work schedules, have families they must work around, like to work at their own pace, or any other of similar life scenarios, I would quickly recommend it.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Graphic Design Certificate

Graphic Design - May 20, 2018
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I loved these courses! They were extremely well written and informative. The lessons were extremely detailed, which was helpful for a complete Adobe software beginner like me. The exercises that went with each lesson did a fabulous job of helping me learn how to apply the skills. The color theory, logo, and typography class were amazing. The information they shared, along with the projects that I completed were very in-depth. The feedback from the instructors was high quality and detailed. I am planning on taking additional classes to achieve and advanced certification in logo and branding.

Was this review helpful?

I made the right choice, You should too

Graphic Design - March 3, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled at Sessions for the Graphic Design degree and let me tell you, it has been well worth the time, effort and money. The ease of online classes, the staff and administration, the course work...all of it has been great thus far. I was very skeptical about pursuing an art degree online but the way Sessions has everything laid out makes it work very well. The portal is easy to navigate and understand, the lectures are well described and lengthy, the teachers are easy to communicate with and if you happen to have a question they'll return your email in a very timely manor. I am so happy with my decision to join Sessions and continue reaching my goals. Oh, and the tuition is a lot cheaper than many other schools i looked into. you get A LOT for what you pay for with Sessions. The course work is challenging and really pushes you to be creative as well.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

You will get out of it what you put in.

Graphic Design - November 16, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently working on my under graduate certificate in graphic design. Where I live, there's not many affordable options when it comes to an art degree, so I did some research. Sessions quickly started to pop up everywhere I looked, I found it to be strange since I have never heard of the college. After comparing all of the different schools and options that were open to me, Sessions was at the top of the list. All of the courses are very flexible and you have all of the material up front so you know what is going to be expected throughout the semester. The staff is great with any question or concerns that you might have responding in a prompt manner almost always, that being huge to me since I take classes online. I would without a doubt recommend Sessions College to anyone who is looking for a flexible online degree program.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

AOS Degree in Graphic Design Thoughts

Graphic Design - November 10, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Sessions College For Professional Design is that college that will provide both quality and quantity. The overall experience has been great, and the quality of course content is fantastic (detailed and thorough). Their course content is always being updated to remain relevant with software updates, and they are continuously adding new courses. There are not many schools that can provide this quality of education at a fair price like Sessions College, and this was one of the points that caught my attention when looking for an online school. The instructors are well experienced in their respected creative fields, and many have won awards both as designers and teachers. The learning environment is immersive, and we get to collaborate with many like-minded classmates both within our school platform, as well as on our social pages. This interactivity has lead to some great discussions and the entire program has been a gratifying experience. The instructors and staff all provide helpful feedback and guidance when needed, and they provide flexible scheduling that allows me to learn at my own pace. I can honestly say Sessions College has helped prepare me to be a successful multi-disciplined designer in this exciting field. I highly recommenced this school to anyone who is looking for an affordable quality education with flexible scheduling. If your looking to take that next step on your creative path, Sessions College is a great place to start.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

My Opinion

Graphic Design - September 24, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm happy with Sessions, it's an online course and of course it is what you make of it. The courses are good, and the teachers (most of them anyway) are receptive to questions. There are a few that I had to e-mail a few times before getting a response a few days later, and a few that would respond almost immediately to any question I had. One teacher in particular was very helpful and was willing to help with any question. I think this is pretty common with any school. I made sure to inform the school of my opinions of the instructors because I'm not paying for someone else to half ass my education. It's what you make of it. The curriculum is good, it gives a nice foundation to build on. Although I think it's a bit pricey considering what I'm getting. Overall though, I would suggest this to anyone who is looking for a solid foundational education who isn't afraid to make some noise to get what they want. I have never had anyone be rude or non compliant, when asked I was helped, overall a good experience.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Overall Positive

Graphic Design - September 10, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a certificate program student, I have been very pleased with my overall experience at Sessions College. Years ago, I was a successful marketing executive when I decided to leave the workplace and stay home to raise my family. I am so glad I did. However, with my children now in school full time, I wanted to update my skill set and have confidence reentering the creative job market. Sessions met that objective for me. It was imperative to me that I receive thorough instruction in the Adobe design software. Online tutorials were one option, but I found that by having access to my Sessions instructors allowed me to ask questions and get clarification easily. The deadlines helped me stay on track too. The courses are broken into 3 or 6 lessons. Each lesson has a lecture section and then an assignment section. At the end of both sections, I felt confident I was given the necessary information to tackle the exercise with success. I loved having the student gallery to browse through and see the quality work that was coming from fellow students. But my highest praise for Sessions College is for the fact that you can customize your certificate program to suit your evolving needs. For example, I enrolled as a Graphic Design concentration. Switched to Marketing Design and then later still, I realized I wanted to swap one of the marketing courses for a website software course instead. I felt I was able to get the most for my money. So overall, I recommend Sessions for anyone wanting to gain useful skills in the field of design.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

So much more then i expected!

Graphic Design - March 11, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a graduate of the certificate program and i loved it so much i went back for my associates degree. I am so pleased with the school and the way it is set up. I am able to communicate with my fellow class mates and discuss our projects, and they are incorporating group projects! I feel very confident with the lectures they give and i look forward to my assignments. The teachers give great feedback and give you room to improve, which is exactly the push i needed in school!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Perfect foundation for Design

Graphic Design - March 8, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have recently finished a certification in graphic design with an emphasis on web and print production. It's an ideal program if you want flexibility and a self-starter/motivator school. The courses are developed by successful designers themselves, which is reassuring. The lessons are practical, real world scenarios almost every time. This is a perfect solution if you are wanting to be get into design or a freelancer because it is built around your initiative and drive to get things accomplished.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Perfect option for anyone working full-time

Graphic Design - April 13, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

What I love most about the experience that Sessions College offers is the feedback you receive from both other students and instructors. The class sizes seem to be small enough that you get a really personal critique from the instructors on each project. Each course offers much more than simple tutorials, and the instructors are always happy to answer questions about an exercise, or just answer any question you have about a tool or technique in the Adobe program you are learning. I currently work full-time and feel that Sessions offered the best option for me to get my AOS degree in Graphic Design online. I was skeptical at first, but extremely happy with the results after just two semesters in the program. I will post more reviews as I move further along in the program and have a better feel of how the program is progressing.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

BE WARNED!!

Graphic Design - December 7, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Be warned - make sure you keep all correspondence between you and the college. Make sure you know the courses you are taking are for credit. I was told mine were, until I recieved my transcript then I found out mine were considered not-for-credit :-(

Was this review helpful?

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

An Engaging, Challenging and Fun Exeperience

Graphic Design - April 17, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I came to Sessions to begin a new career as a graphic designer. Other than limited exposure to the subject and some second-hand software, I had no training whatsoever. Due to some physical limitations, I wanted to attend an online school. I compared programs and tuition and found Session to be tops in everything. It was affordable, offered a certificate progam in graphic design and did not require any additional purchases of books or software. Adobe CS5 was included with my tuition when I started in 1/2011. So far the school has completely exceeded my expectations. The instructors, lessons, student advisors and fellow students have all been what I hoped for when I began. I have already learned so much in my first course and am eagerly looking forward to more. I can't say enough about this school. I went through a lot of schools before landing at Sessions and it wasn't always a great experience. Recruiters would call constantly and pepper me with hard sell sales pitches. Sessions was never that way. They were always straightforward and never pushy. Their tuition was the best deal and it didn't take me long to find they had the best reputation for this program. If you are looking for the best training and educational experience, I can't think of a better program or school that the Graphic Design program at Sessions School of Professional Design.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Associates Degree in Graphic Design

Graphic Design - January 27, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I decided to attend Sessions College for Professional Design, for an Associate’s Degree in Graphic Design, after spending months researching different online schools. I wanted to find a school that had the reputation, accreditation, and creative drive to meet my educational needs. Since I’ve joined, I’ve found them to have a very progressive learning environment that’s anything but ordinary, and the interaction I’ve experienced with representatives from every level of their organization has been excellent from day one. I expected online learning to be an impersonal and isolated experience, but the classes at Sessions are anything but. The constant interaction with faculty and students, as well as the discussions and exchange of ideas that takes place in their online student areas really bring you together. I have no problem recommending Sessions College for Professional Design to those who are seeking an excellent education. They’re way ahead of their time, and it shows in the quality of education they provide.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Sessions College in any way.