Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American Sentinel University

  • Ranking: #44
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Distance Education and Training Council Accrediting Commission

3.3
33 Reviews
5 10 
4 9 
3 5 
2 5 
1 4 
0 0 

American Sentinel University Reviews:

Vanderbilt should be proud of its online-experiment...

Information Systems - January 23, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

ASU is not for the undisciplined or unmotivated. However, the school does allow for maximum flexibility for working adults to complete their assignments and coursework at a reasonable pace. The tuition costs are very competitive with similar colleges. It is accurate to say that some professors there are clearly better than others at the online interactive environment format when it comes to overall helpfulness or their responsiveness to students. But, this is not unusual; I had very similar experiences at Strayer University, too. ASU could also benefit from continuing to move beyond the asynchronous format for some programs and course selection to help further enhance and expand collaborative learning principles.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Need to Be Sel-Motivated

Information Systems - December 10, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It took me some good time to finish my degree. Did this school add value? definitely yes. This school requires you -the student - to be 100% committed and self-moivated, so I can understand why some people may give this school poor reviews. Irrespective, and overall, I think that ASU is a good place to study at.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Anon

Information Systems - May 18, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Best for the independent learner type who read their textbook at home in high school and wished they didn't have to waste time in class.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

American Sentinel University MIS program

Information Systems - April 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my Bachelor's degree in MIS over a year ago, and I am now enrolled at ASU for my MS in Information Systems. As another reviewer wrote, if you are not self-motivated, you will not obtain your degree in this college. 3-credit classes are 8 weeks long, the 4-credit programming language classes are 12 weeks long. You read the book, complete assignments and finish a final. There are no videos of professors to watch (a big selling point for me). I can complete the work on my schedule. I had zero issues with the professors and staff. If you're military or retired, the tuition is inexpensive and your books are free (yes, FREE!) for undergraduate programs. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Don't waste your money like I did.

Information Systems - November 12, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended American Sentinel for 9 months at the Master's leve. I found the school to be not well organized. Some instructors are good and some are horrible and I have doubt that they are qualified. The academic advisors are definitely not qualified and may not even have any degree. How can someone like that advise a Master's degree student?

Was this review helpful?

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Poorly run school

Information Systems - September 23, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is such a disappointment. The majority of the teachers don't care about teaching their students as much as just giving out grades. Courses are offered, but not ready for students. I paid for one degree path and the teacher just stopped replying. After talking to the CEO of the school, who promised to help me....nothing happened. The degree path was put on hold and my money was returned after numerous phone calls and emails. Degrees and official transcripts are not delivered in a timely fashion. It almost takes an act of congress to get support from the school when it is needed. This school is an IT school that uses the excuse, "we are currently upgrading our records" so I haven't received my transcripts for over 5 months. Really it takes 5 months for a database upgrade?? My recommendation would be to choose a different school, one that will support its students.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Great, affordable program

Information Systems - March 25, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed the Bachelors in Information Systems over the course of 6 years. The courses were relevant, thorough, and challenging. You have to be able to learn on your own from a book. I rarely asked for help from my professors, but when I did they were helpful. They have one of the more affordable tuition rates out there. Also, they do a commendable job of consistently improving the course delivery and services technologies.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Overall

Information Systems - November 10, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall the cost of tuition is too high compared to other schools. My experience has been OK, but the staff has not been that great.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Sentinel University in any way.