Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American Sentinel University

  • Ranking: #44
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Distance Education and Training Council Accrediting Commission

3.3
33 Reviews
5 10 
4 9 
3 5 
2 5 
1 4 
0 0 

American Sentinel University Reviews:

My Experience

Computer Science - July 21, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

There are a lot of schools out there and after a long search, I chose ASU for one reason, the price. It is cheaper than any other school out there for a computer science degree. I am almost finished with my degree and there have been some consistent problems and some consistent benefits. Despite some of the other reviews, I have found the teachers to be great. Most have been very helpful and quite knowledgeable in the material. That has been the only plus for me though. My biggest complaint is the management. They schedule these courses for 8 weeks. If you need more time, they will charge you for it. It can be a tight schedule to get all the work done. They will not give you the syllabus for your next class even if you finish the previous one early, which means if the class runs you longer than the 8 weeks, you will be paying more. There is just no reason to put these kinds of restraints on online students. They have completely removed the flexibility that makes online learning a good option. My next biggest complaint probably stems from the first, and that is the staff. They are horrible. It takes a ridiculous amount of time for anything to get done. The "student success advisor" will not help you out in any way other than to get you in a class and take your money. It took 3 attempts and a lot of time to get my degree plan right from the registrar's office and all I can do at this point is hope it's not so bad that I wont be able to graduate. When I try to get an invoice, which I need for reimbursement from my company, half the time they are wrong and sometimes they forget to send them to me. Not to mention the annoying fact I've had to type in a lot of redundant information just to get one sent. Before I finish up, I would like to talk about the classes. They are challenging. Some because of how much reading there is to do, some because of how much writing and some because the math is hard to grasp in such a short timeframe. I am excellent in math but Discrete Mathematics and Theory of computation both did a number on me. All in all I would say that the school is not fun to deal with. I would liken it to going to the DMV. You don't deal with them because you enjoy it. You deal with them because you have to. This is still the cheapest school to go to though. Just know what you make up for in tuition cost, you pay for in frustration. I would have made a different choice if I had known this school would be such a pain to deal with.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Great program with reasonable cost

Computer Science - May 23, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have joined a MS in computer science and the program now is updated to be the degree I dreamed on. The cost is reasonable and I think it is the best choice for me because I like the plan and the convenient time schedule .. I am free on my time to arrange it plus new degree courses are wisely selected. Not sure if it will be suitable for other but for me YES it is suitable and I like it.

Was this review helpful?

Not Regionally Accredited

Computer Science - April 6, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I made the mistake of dropping thousands on their CS program many years back. WARNING: Their degrees are not regionally accredited and will not likely be recognized by any commercial company in the real world (maybe various departments in the U.S. government or political position but that’s about it). Do yourself a favor and look at UoP or NJIT.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Very Good University

Computer Science - February 27, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have a bachelors degree in computer science from American Sentinel University. Everything about this university was great. Expect a lot of hard work and a well deserved degree. I have since worked for a couple of fortune 500 companies and they respect my degree by all counts. I am thinking about doing my masters there as well.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Excellent MS Program

Computer Science - September 26, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my Master's degree in Computer Science in 2010. It was a very stimulating and rewarding experience for me. I needed the additional knowledge to help my career as a Patent Attorney. I had previously earned my BS in Computational Math from a private college in the Midwest, and I had nearly 20 years of professional experience as a Software Engineer. I went on to earn my JD. The school was more than adequate for my needs. About accreditation, the process to become regionally accredited takes a long time. No surprise that very legitimate online schools haven't obtained the honor yet. ASU is nationally accredited by the DETC. I found this to be adequate for my needs. What you know is more important than where you learned it.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

lacks regional and/or national accreditation for MSN program

Computer Science - August 21, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Part way through the MSN and have been informed by employer they will not acknowledge the MSN degree because the university does not have regional or national accreditation ! Make sure your employer or potential employers accept this universities degree!

Was this review helpful?

13 of 21 people found the following review helpful

I regret getting a ASU CS degree

Computer Science - May 21, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My degree from ASU is worthless. I can't get into any regionally accredited MBA school, aside from crappy online institutions like UOP and Capella. I called every single AACSB university only to be told Sorry. Do not go to this school...yes it's cheap (affordable) and convenient but totally worthless. But at least I can say I completed my bachelor's...congratulations idiot.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Don't bother

Computer Science - September 20, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The university was great at first. As a military memeber, they provided the books for "free" with tuition. I initially found the online university somewhat pleasing. Over time it become obvious, this is just a step above paying for a degree. One class I took, the teacher didn't even bother looking over anything. I knew I had errors in some of my questions answers but still recieved a 100%. Other times I knew my answer was correct but missed some points based on technicalities in a difference of opinions on how the question should have been answered. I recently will be leaving this college after taking multiple classes with them due to not only average at best online environments, but have ran into multiple professors that won't help that much. The most recent case, the professor wouldn't even take a call from me (claiming they didn't have a phone and that since they were adjunt... they weren't required to call me). Disappointed to say the least.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Computer Science Masters program

Computer Science - April 5, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is an excellent school to earn a Masters degree in Computer Science and it exceeded my expectations. I am studying to become a patent attorney and it was critical for me to earn my degree at a school that I felt was challenging and legitimate. It's nationally accredited and incrementally making changes to become regionally accredited as well. Regional accreditation is inevitable since I can't imagine a better place to earn a Masters degree. I had been a software engineer for over 17 years when I applied and flexibility was very important since I had to work. Each class was stimulating. Every professor was very knowledgable in the subject matter and many of the course textbooks were the same books being used for the graduate classes at Stanford University. Nearly every textbook was a leading book on the subject. The programming assignments were challenging. The professors worked hard to encourage creativity and novel approaches to the homework problems. Excellent program. The professors were always available and helpful. Technical support readily available and the school staff treated me as though I was party of a family. The degree has boosted my career and enhanced my knowledge in the field. I would highly recommend this school.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

BSCS degree

Computer Science - December 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Received a BSCS over the course of 3 years, basically like independent graduate study work you'd have to do at a major university. If you are not self-motivated and able to work through problems and tasks on your own with some or indirect help from teachers (they will not give you the answers only point you in the right direction), then online education and ASU isn't for you. ASU is much harder then going to a brick and mortar university (I started my degree at large one). With my degree I landed a well paying job working for the govt. and in the aerospace industry side of it.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Sentinel University in any way.