Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Ashworth College

3.3
188 Reviews
5 48 
4 73 
3 15 
2 19 
1 33 
0 0 

Ashworth College Reviews:

Ashworth is not worth the headache, complete Scam

Early Childhood Education - October 1, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended Ashworth before I read reviews and clearly that was a mistake. I attended Ashworth for two weeks before I realized they were a scam. They don't actually have books, they have "Ashworth" college books that they send you. I wish I could post a picture because this book looks like the little workbooks I used to make for my cousins when we played pretend school. I was never able to get ahold of anyone, my teacher, customer service, no one. When I finally got into contact with Ashworth, I asked them to cancel my classes, cancel my payments, everything. I did not want to attend that school. They said they would and I kept getting bills. I called and called, never got an answer. Finally, I check credit karma and they sent me to collections, claiming I owe them $600 for classes. WHAT?!!! Now my credit score has dropped and I was working very hard to get that where I need it to be and Ashworth scammed the hell out me. I know I am not the only one, I've seen that I am not the only one. Do not do it to yourself.

Was this review helpful?

31 of 40 people found the following review helpful

Jobs wont Accept my Associate Degree

Early Childhood Education - June 29, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I took Ashworth on line all my materials arrived on time and any question I asked where answered with great help. My biggest issues is the school is not accepted as an Accredited College here in Texas. So I'm having trouble in some areas of employment.

Was this review helpful?

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful

Childhood Education

Early Childhood Education - June 7, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from the early childhood education program. It was ok. Ashworth has some ups and downs but the ups are much better than the downs you experience. I'm working with children now and that was my dream. I say go for it at ashworth, but be prepared for anything. Just march along.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful

no regrets

Early Childhood Education - November 2, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm currently enrolled in Ashworth College I read the reviews but I decided to enroll here. I was a bit scared at first because I wasn't sure what to expect. I haven't had any problems so far and I only have 3 1/2 semesters left until Iam done. They accepted a lot of my credits from another school that I attended so its not taking me long to earn my Bachelors in Early Childhood. If your not sure about something make sure you ask question. I had to pay an extension fee once because I was aware of the time period you have to finish the semester out. So now I make sure I ask question now so you get you what you pay for. Its affordable for me and I don't have to sit in a classroom and work at my own pace.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Worried they are not what they seem

Early Childhood Education - March 31, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My daughter and I looked over this college and thought with our finances and circumstances this would be the way for her to get her Early Childhood Education Assoc Degree. She had issues getting books the whole first semister. She got two books 2 weeks after enrolled then she was late December early January getting the last book she needed . Then started this last book and called questioning numerous times why information in the book and teachers notes didn't match up with the information for the tests. Finally after she completed 6 of 8 lessons they told her they updated the workbook/testbook and would send her a new one. She finally got it 2 or 3 weeks ago. She called because some of the tests for the class were reset but was told if she didn't fail them not to retake them because if she did they highest score she could get would be a 60% on each of them.....OK so they mess up she's stuck with a lower grade then she should have because of there book problem. So she finished the semister with 2 A's and 2 B's which both were only one percent away from and A in those classes and then supposedly fails her 3 classes of the 5 classes 10 question semister exam. If she got basically 4 A's and the C in the class she had all the book issues with how could you fall 3 of the 5 classes in the exam???? Doesn't make sence and now she is already a month behind because of all the issues with this class and this will set her back farther as she only has one more chance to pass the test or has to repeat the semister. Even her protor said that something isn't right with they test. Very frustrated to say the least.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Too mich info real or not what is it?

Early Childhood Education - August 6, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I live in Louisiana it is not regionize in this state. All you can pretty much do is keep kids in your home with a BA in Early Childhood. No state school will hired you coming out o f Ashworth. I fell a little disopointted that the state will not aaccept your degree , but you can start your own childcare center and still do good. My review are bad / with some good.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Unfriendly and Rude Customer Service/Rep

Early Childhood Education - November 9, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just want to say that I don't like the Customer Service/Rep in this school. They are very rude and unfriendly to their clients or customers and not to mention they tell you different informations which is very confusing to the students. They are supposed to support the students especially the newbies by guiding and giving enough infos about how the site works. But instead, they will bluff and very rude and mean everytime they deal with their students. They should improve their service! Not good!!

Was this review helpful?

13 of 21 people found the following review helpful

BA

Early Childhood Education - October 25, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm almost done with my BA and it has been a great experience. Ashworth is accredited (I checked with DCFS in Illinois). You don't have the attention from the teachers like you would in the transitional school setting but you are able to communicate with them and they do give you feedback. The price for a degree is unbelievable so I can complain about the insinuation. I'm happy and excited that I will have a BA degree that's accredited with no debt; to me you can't bet it. The people who are negative about the school are people that were not persistent in their school work. If you work hard and is diligent in school you will graduate. I'm grateful for Ashworth and will be enrolling in their Master program. The only thing with the Master is that you first have to pay off your BA degree but I don't have a problem it helps in the long run. All I can say is that I've been horrible in school my whole life, and if I can make it you can as well. Let nothing or no one hinder you from that.

Was this review helpful?

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful

Affordable, prompt manner of receiving education.

Early Childhood Education - July 10, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed high school through Ashworth's James Madison Program and am currently enrolled in one of their bachelor's programs. This school has done quite a bit of updating in recent years, and not some classes are almost entirely paperless. In high school, some of the study material and test books seemed out of sync, out of date or just plain wrong. The work around was easy, however, by doing just a little extra curricular research (which was far more enjoyable and propaganda free than reading from those old U.S. of 'Merica high school books). Overall, it was a good experience. If I had issues, I contacted the school and although wait times could be insane, customer service was always polite and understanding. I never needed a tutor, so I can't comment on that aspect. My bachelor's program has been a breeze thus far. The information can be somewhat dated, but this is typical of any college program. The important thing is still to research subjects thoroughly, using both course provided information and extra curricular reading to broaden your understanding of a subject. It's easy to get through college by skimming paragraphs and dotting lines, but it won't do you any good in the long run. Speaking of the long run, this is a nationally accredited program. So the complaints about employers rejecting the credentials are misleading, in that these are in no way fraudulent diplomas, nor is Ashworth a "degree mill". The problem either lies with the employer's bias or lack of research, or far more commonly the lack of *state* accreditation in jobs where this is needed. For example, earning your degree in Early Childhood Ed. is useful if you're looking to join a teach-abroad program, or at a school where regional accreditation is not necessary. If I wanted to teach in the state of Texas, I'd have to have a degree that is certified by the state (along with other state licenses.) Billing seems to be an ongoing issue with this school, but as they update this problem may disappear. It's an affordable school that gets the job done. Don't expect Harvard-level education, but don't underestimate the value of the program you enroll in. For me, it beats the bloody hell out of attending community college.

Was this review helpful?

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Don't waste your money!

Early Childhood Education - May 5, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Wasted a lot of money at Ashworth College Fan Page. Hope everyone knows their policies inside and out because as of now I'm out of over $1200.00 and in order to complete a degree program that I was supposed to have loads of time to take I'm now being told that my grades were erased and I have to take the lesson i already completed all over again. O yeah I'm not even permitted to take ALL of my semester courses (or even get the books i paid for) although the semester is paid in full... I won't be recommending any of my friends or relatives to go to this school. I should have listen to all the bad reports i saw on the web because they told the truth this school is a DIPLOMA MILL! I hope you all are forewarned!

Was this review helpful?

26 of 38 people found the following review helpful

Psychology Degree (Associates)

Early Childhood Education - December 5, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled in the psychology degree program. I'm satisfied with tuition cost and course curriculum. But I take issue with some of the course material. For instance, the information in the text book for the "Introduction to Psychology" course, is not consistent with the information on the test. Granted, there are times when you have to reason your way thru a test question. But it seems that the text book, and test questions and answers are out of sync. This was also the case with another course. I was proactive and challenged several answers that I believed were correct, but were scored as incorrect. But I have not received a reply yet. It does seem like you are on your own, teachers are not readily available to communicate with (via email or online blackboard). Since teachers are not available, it is impossible to obtain clarification questions for when there are inconsistencies between the text and test. Their support could use some improvement. However, their customer service reps will do their best to answer questions. I have always talked with courteous customer service reps; when they didn't have the answer they placed me on hold to obtain it. After I finish this semester (1st one), I will most likely transfer to another college that better suites my needs. If I do not complete the entire semester, I'll end up paying for it anyway (or they will charge a cancellation fee). Wish I had paid more attention to their cancellation fee policy...I found out the hard way, like another student. I wanted to move on before taking the "intro to Psych" course but felt stuck. lesson Learned!!

Was this review helpful?

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful

false information

Early Childhood Education - September 23, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The anonymous person who stated that you cannot work in the Public sector of early childhood in Florida has FALSE infromation. The Palm Beach County School District accepts degrees that are recognized by the US Department of Education. YOu can also look on line at the teacher credential program and it states the same.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Credits not accepted by employer

Early Childhood Education - January 7, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am an assistant pre school teacher in New Hampshire, and needed 9 credits to become an associate teacher, and 18 credits to become a lead teacher. Ashworth seemed the answer as I work full time and felt it would be easier than attending the local community college. I realised that as Ashworth is NATIONALLY accredited and not REGIONALLY accredited for this course, so I would probably never be able to transfer the credits to another college. But I thought, I just need these credits for my promotion. So I handed over my money and got to work. I completed the first 6 credits and then one day my director said to me 'Your couse is REGIONALLY accredited, isn't it?' NOPE. Well, it turns out that the New Hampshire education department WILL NOT ACCEPT NATIONALLY ACCREDITED COURSES. I spoke to the man who inspects the day cares and pre schools in our area and he confirmed it. He said that they have this problem all the time. People take these NATIONALLY accredited online courses, not realising that they will not be accepted by the state education department. He told me to go to my local community college. In New Hampshire you can take 3 credits per semester in early childhood education, free (worth $600)if you work in a state registered center. Maybe your state has something similar? If you want to learn as a hobby, then this college is great. If you need the credits for your work, you may as well present your employer with a diploma written on toilet paper. THEY WILL PROBABLY NOT ACCEPT THEM. These people will tell you anything to get you to sign up. They told me FOUR times that their early childhood education course would be accepted by the education department. At the New Hampshire state level (which is what counts) THEY ARE NOT. Stupid me for being so trusting. I didn't expect to be repeatedly told such bare faced lies. The debate about whether or not they will transfer is a red herring. What matters is that they are not accepted by many employers. Check Ashworth out on the Better Business Bureau site. As I type they have a D+. If you have already signed up and try to cancel, they will tell you that you have to pay a cancellation fee or (as in my case) kept calling me to demand that I pay $900 for the rest of the course. Kick up a fuss and refuse. They will back down and put your account to 0.00. Get them to email that to you and send you a hard copy. If you have nothing in writing from these people, then it didn't happen. They know every trick in the book. I suspect that the good reviews are written either by company employees, or those who have not yet tried to use their Ashworth credits out in the real world.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Don't Attend If.....

Early Childhood Education - October 23, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Do not attend this school if you want to transfer "credits' later on. I tried 6 colleges/universities and I was unable to transfer...SAVE YOUR TOME AND MONEY AND GO TO AN ACTUAL SCHOOL. REMEMBER IF A PAYMENT OPTION IS NOT THERE FOR GOVERNMENT FUNDING LIKE PELL GRANDS OR LOANS DO NOT ATTEND THAT SCHOOL. NO GOV FUNDING MEANS FAKE CREDITS.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Awesome college

Early Childhood Education - January 7, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was reading many of the other comments on Ashworth College, and I am different than most. I was impressed, when I first started, at their prices. Their prices are low, compared to many other schools. I have seen schools with over 14,000 a quarter, and my program will end up costing a little over 4,000 for an Associates. Also, they sent my materials quickly. I get my books before my current class is even done, and they have never forgotten anything at all. They respond to my emails usually within the first day I send them, and they always assure me to talk with them whenever I have a problem. I am impresed with their materials. All updated, revisied, etc, with in the last couple years, and the book publishers are good institutions. I have learned hoardes of informations from them, and they give those who may not have lots of time to study plenty of time. They give you 4 years to complete an Associates. Plenty of time! This program works well for me, a student with lots of other stuff going on in my life. I am enjoying Ashworth completely. But if you need someone, a teacher and a class, to keep you motivated in studying, then you probably should not do homestudy. I think Ashworth is a great college, 5 stars on their every service and materials!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Accociate of Science

Early Childhood Education - November 19, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have two children and work full-time so it was very difficult for me to get to classes after working a full day. Ashworth College allowed me to obtain my associate's degree without interferring with my work-life balance. If you are dedicated and a self-learner with ambition, you will be able to achieve your goals. The financing was great and the feeling of joy that overcame me when I receive the actual degree certificate was overwhelming. I am now obtaining my Bachelor's degree through Ashworth.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Satisfied Student

Early Childhood Education - September 14, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently completed my Associates degree in Early Childhood Education with Ashworth College. Overall I really liked the college. The online exams were great! I recieved my grades the minute I submitted my test. (No waiting and waiting forever for results!) And the tuition and payments are GREAT!!!!!! The only problem with the college is there is really no teacher that helps and guides you through the program. This college is for people who like to "do it on your own!" Also, if you go to Ashworth I would suggest that you stay on top of student services to make sure that shipments are sent... I waited 2 months one time for a semester Exam. After that I would call and remind them that things needed to be shipped and I didn't have anymore problems! (I know that isn't the student's job... but it could be worse!) I learned a lot through the college, and I was able to transfer 53 of my credits to the college that I am going to now(Ashford University)!! I would recommend Ashworth College to friends and family. (Oh, I would like to mention that you get a LOVELY class ring when you graduate from Ashworth!!

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Ashworth College in any way.